Weave Communications Announces First Quarter 2023 Financial Results

•First quarter total revenue of $39.6 million, up 19% year-over-year.
•First quarter net cash provided by operating activities of $1.5 million, up from net cash used in operating activities of $4.2 million last year.
•Positive free cash flow of $0.6 million, up from negative free cash flow of $5.1 million last year.
•Significant gross and operating margin improvement year-over-year.

LEHI, Utah—May 3, 2023 – Weave Communications, Inc. (NYSE: WEAV), a leading all-in-one customer communications and engagement software platform for small and medium-sized businesses, today announced its financial results for the first quarter ended March 31, 2023.
“I am excited to share that we kicked off the year with strong operating results and accelerating revenue growth in Q1. We built our plan for the year to accelerate our path to profitability with the goal of exiting the year with positive free cash flow. Through revenue overachievement and continued operational improvements, we were able to deliver positive cash from operations and positive free cash flow in Q1.” said CEO Brett White. “These results clearly demonstrate that we are making progress in delivering on this large and underpenetrated opportunity, and our business model enables us to deliver a combination of revenue growth and improving path to profitability.”
First Quarter 2023 Financial Highlights
•    Total revenue was $39.6 million, representing a 19% year-over-year increase compared to $33.3 million in the first quarter of 2022.
•    GAAP gross margin was 67.1%, compared to a GAAP gross margin of 58.7% in the first quarter of 2022.
•    Non-GAAP gross margin was 67.6%, compared to a non-GAAP gross margin of 59.1% in the first quarter of 2022.
•    GAAP loss from operations was $8.5 million, compared to a GAAP loss from operations of $13.5 million in the first quarter of 2022.
•    Non-GAAP loss from operations was $4.0 million, compared to a non-GAAP loss from operations of $10.1 million in the first quarter of 2022.
•    GAAP net loss attributable to common stockholders was $7.9 million, or $0.12 per share, compared to a GAAP net loss attributable to common stockholders of $13.8 million, or $0.21 per share, in the first quarter of 2022.
•    Non-GAAP net loss attributable to common stockholders was $3.3 million, or $0.05 per share, compared to a non-GAAP net loss attributable to common stockholders of $10.4 million, or $0.16 per share, in the first quarter of 2022.
•    Net cash provided by operating activities was $1.5 million, compared to net cash used in operating activities of $4.2 million in the first quarter of 2022.
•    Free cash flow was $0.6 million, compared to free cash flow of negative $5.1 million in the first quarter of 2022.
•    Dollar-Based Net Retention Rate (NRR) was 97% as of March 31, 2023.

•    Dollar-Based Gross Retention Rate (GRR) was 93% as of March 31, 2023.
•    Cash and cash equivalents plus short-term investments was $112.6 million as of March 31, 2023.
Business Highlights:
•Weave launched Response Assistant, which enhances the product to further save customers’ time by using AI to draft responses and other content. The first use case allows users to implement AI to draft responses to patient reviews with one click
•Weave launched Bulk Texting to give customers the ability to send a single text message to thousands of their patients at once
•Weave extended our partnership with Stripe, deepening our relationship, and expanding mutual business objectives
•Weave announced Marcus Bertilson as Chief Strategy & Services Officer
Financial Second Quarter and Full Year 2023 Outlook
The company expects the following financial results for the three months ending June 30, 2023 and full year ending December 31, 2023:

	Second Quarter	Full Year
(in millions)
Total revenue	$39.5 - $40.5	$160.5 - 163.5
Non-GAAP loss from operations	$(5.0) - $(4.0)	$(18.5) - $(15.5)
Weighted average share count	66.8	67.3
The guidance provided above constitutes forward-looking statements and actual results may differ materially. Refer to the “Forward-Looking Statements” safe harbor section below for information on the factors that could cause our actual results to differ materially from these forward-looking statements.
Non-GAAP loss from operations excludes estimates for, among other things, stock-based compensation expense. A reconciliation of this non-GAAP financial guidance measure to a corresponding GAAP financial guidance measure is not available on a forward-looking basis because we do not provide guidance on GAAP net loss from operations and are not able to present the various reconciling cash and non-cash items between GAAP loss from operations and non-GAAP loss from operations without unreasonable effort. In particular, stock-based compensation expense is impacted by our future hiring and retention needs, as well as the future fair market value of our common stock, all of which is difficult to predict and is subject to change. The actual amount of these expenses during 2023 will have a significant impact on our future GAAP financial results.
Webcast
The company will host a conference call and webcast for analysts and investors on Wednesday, May 3, 2023, beginning at 5 p.m. EDT.
Individuals interested in listening to the conference call may do so by dialing (412) 902-1020 or (877) 502-7186 for toll free. Please reference the following conference ID: 13737671 . The live webcast and a webcast replay of the conference call can be accessed from the investor relations page of Weave’s website at investors.getweave.com.
About Weave

Weave is a leading all-in-one customer communication and engagement platform for small- and medium-sized businesses. From the first phone call to the final invoice and every touchpoint in between, Weave connects the entire customer journey. Weave’s software solutions transform how local businesses attract, communicate with and engage customers to grow their business. Weave has set the bar for Utah startup achievement & work culture. In the past year, Weave has been named a G2 leader in Patient Engagement, Optometry, Dental Practice Management and Patient Relationship Management software. To learn more, visit getweave.com/newsroom/.
Forward Looking Statements
This press release and the accompanying conference call contain forward-looking statements including, among others, current estimates of second quarter and full year 2023 revenue and non-GAAP loss from operations and statements in the quotes of our Chief Executive Officer.
These forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. If any of these risks or uncertainties materialize, or if any of our assumptions prove incorrect, our actual results could differ materially from the results expressed or implied by these forward-looking statements. These risks and uncertainties include risks associated with: transitions in company leadership; our ability to attract new customers, retain existing customers and increase our customers’ use of our platform; our ability to manage our growth; the impact of unfavorable economic conditions and macroeconomic uncertainties on our company; our ability to maintain and enhance our brand and increase market awareness of our company, platform and products; customer adoption of our platform and products; customer acquisition costs and sales and marketing strategies; competition; our ability to enhance our platform and products; interruptions in service; and the risks described in the filings we make from time to time with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), including the risks described under the heading “Risk Factors” in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2022, filed with the SEC on March 16, 2023, which should be read in conjunction with our financial results and forward-looking statements and is available on the SEC Filings section of the Investor Relations page of our website at investors.getweave.com/.
All forward-looking statements in this press release are based on information available to us as of the date hereof, and we do not assume any obligation to update the forward-looking statements provided to reflect events that occur or circumstances that exist after the date on which they were made.
Channels for Disclosure of Information
Weave Communications uses the investor relations page on our website, blog posts on our website, press releases, public conference calls, webcasts, our twitter feed (@getweave), our Facebook page, and our LinkedIn page as the means of complying with our disclosure obligations under Regulation FD. We encourage investors, the media, and others to follow the channels listed above, in addition to following Weave Communications’ press releases, SEC filings, and public conference calls and webcasts, and to review the information disclosed through such channels.
Supplemental Financial Information
Dollar-Based Net Revenue Retention (NRR)
For retention rate calculations, we use adjusted monthly revenue (AMR), which is calculated for each location as the sum of (i) the subscription component of revenue for each month and (ii) the average of the trailing-three-month recurring payments revenue. To calculate our NRR, we first identify the cohort of locations (the Base Locations) that were active in a particular month (the Base Month). We then divide AMR for the Base Locations in the same month of the subsequent year (the Comparison Month), by AMR in the Base Month to derive a monthly NRR. We derive our annual NRR as of any date by taking a weighted average of the monthly net retention rates over the trailing twelve months prior to such date.
Dollar-Based Gross Revenue Retention (GRR)

To calculate our GRR, we first identify the cohort of locations (the Base Locations) that were under subscription in a particular month (the Base Month). We then calculate the effect of reductions in revenue from customer location terminations by measuring the amount of AMR in the Base Month for Base Locations still under subscription twelve months subsequent to the Base Month (Remaining AMR). We then divide Remaining AMR for the Base Locations by AMR in the Base Month for the Base Locations to derive a monthly gross retention rate. We calculate GRR as of any date by taking a weighted average of the monthly gross retention rates over the trailing twelve months prior to such date. GRR reflects the effect of customer locations that terminate their subscriptions, but does not reflect changes in revenue due to revenue expansion, revenue contraction, or addition of new customer locations.
Number of Locations

We measure locations as the total number of customer locations under subscription active on the Weave platform as of the end of each month. A single organization or customer with multiple divisions, segments, offices or subsidiaries is counted as multiple locations if they have entered into subscriptions for each location.

As a reminder, we only provide customer location information on an annual basis with annual and Q4 results and do not provide this information with financial statements or earnings releases covering interim periods.
Non-GAAP Financial Measures
In this press release, Weave Communications has provided financial information that has not been prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles in the United States (GAAP). We disclose the following historical non-GAAP financial measures in this press release: non-GAAP net loss or non-GAAP net loss attributable to common stockholders, non-GAAP net loss margin, non-GAAP net loss per share, non-GAAP gross profit, non-GAAP gross margin, non-GAAP operating expenses, non-GAAP loss from operations, non-GAAP loss from operations margin, adjusted EBITDA and free cash flow. We use these non-GAAP financial measures internally in analyzing our financial results and evaluating our ongoing operational performance. We believe that these non-GAAP financial measures provide an additional tool for investors to use in understanding and evaluating ongoing operating results and trends in the same manner as our management and board of directors. Our use of these non-GAAP financial measures has limitations as an analytical tool, and you should not consider them in isolation or as a substitute for analysis of our financial results as reported under GAAP. Because of these and other limitations, you should consider these non-GAAP financial measures along with other GAAP-based financial performance measures, including various cash flow metrics, operating income (loss), net loss, and our GAAP financial results. We have provided a reconciliation of these non-GAAP financial measures to their most directly comparable GAAP measures in the tables included in this press release, and investors are encouraged to review the reconciliation.
Non-GAAP net loss, non-GAAP net loss margin and non-GAAP net loss per share
We define non-GAAP net loss or non-GAAP net loss attributable to common stockholders as GAAP net loss attributable to common stockholders less stock-based compensation expense and non-cash cumulative dividends on redeemable convertible preferred stock, and non-GAAP net loss margin as non-GAAP net loss as a percentage of revenue. Non-GAAP net loss per share is calculated as non-GAAP net loss divided by the diluted weighted-average shares outstanding.
Non-GAAP gross profit and non-GAAP gross margin
We define non-GAAP gross profit as GAAP gross profit less stock-based compensation expense, and non-GAAP gross margin as non-GAAP gross profit as a percentage of revenue.
Non-GAAP operating expenses

We define non-GAAP operating expenses, in the aggregate or its individual components (i.e., sales and marketing, research and development or general and administrative), as the applicable GAAP operating expenses less the applicable stock-based compensation expense.
Non-GAAP loss from operations and non-GAAP loss from operations margin
We define non-GAAP loss from operations as GAAP loss from operations less stock-based compensation expense, and non-GAAP loss from operations margin as non-GAAP loss from operations as a percentage of revenue.
Adjusted EBITDA
EBITDA is defined as earnings before interest expense, provision for income taxes, depreciation, and amortization. Our depreciation adjustment includes depreciation on operating fixed assets and does not include amortization of finance lease right-of-use assets on phone hardware provided to our customers. We further adjust EBITDA to exclude stock-based compensation expense, a non-cash item. We believe that adjusted EBITDA provides management and investors consistency and comparability with our past financial performance and facilitates period-to-period comparisons of operations. Additionally, management uses adjusted EBITDA to measure our financial and operational performance and prepare our budgets.
Free cash flow
We define free cash flow as net cash provided by (used in) operating activities, less purchases of property and equipment and capitalized internal-use software costs. We believe that free cash flow is a useful indicator of liquidity that provides useful information to management and investors, even if negative, as it provides information about the amount of cash consumed by our combined operating and investing activities. For example, as free cash flow has in the past been negative, we have needed to access cash reserves or other sources of capital for these investments.
The foregoing non-GAAP financial measures have a number of limitations. For example, the non-GAAP financial information presented above may be determined or calculated differently by other companies and may not be directly comparable to that of other companies. In addition, free cash flow does not reflect our future contractual commitments and the total increase or decrease of our cash balance for a given period. Further, adjusted EBITDA excludes some costs, namely, non-cash stock-based compensation expense. Therefore, adjusted EBITDA does not reflect the non-cash impact of stock-based compensation expense or working capital needs, that will continue for the foreseeable future. All of these limitations could reduce the usefulness of these non-GAAP financial measures as analytical tools.
Investor Relations Contact
Mark McReynolds
Head of Investor Relations
ir@getweave.com

WEAVE COMMUNICATIONS, INC
CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
(unaudited, in thousands except share amounts)

	March 31, 2023	December 31, 2022
ASSETS
Current assets:
Cash and cash equivalents	$56,081	$61,997
Short-term investments	56,530	51,340
Accounts receivable, net	3,051	3,296
Deferred contract costs, net	10,129	9,881
Prepaid expenses and other current assets	5,815	6,374
Total current assets	131,606	132,888
Non-current assets:
Property and equipment, net	10,621	10,773
Operating lease right-of-use assets	44,211	45,110
Finance lease right-of-use assets	10,578	10,589
Deferred contract costs, net, less current portion	8,134	8,146
Other non-current assets	868	843
TOTAL ASSETS	$206,018	$208,349
LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Current liabilities:
Accounts payable	$4,151	$3,793
Accrued liabilities	14,798	13,636
Deferred revenue	34,598	34,136
Current portion of operating lease liabilities	3,735	3,662
Current portion of finance lease liabilities	7,038	6,992
Current portion of long-term debt	—	10,000
Total current liabilities	64,320	72,219
Non-current liabilities:
Deferred rent	—	—
Operating lease liabilities, less current portion	45,980	46,914
Finance lease liabilities, less current portion	5,919	5,997
Long-term debt	10,000	—
Total liabilities	126,219	125,130
Stockholders' equity:
Preferred stock, $0.00001 par value per share; 10,000,000 shares authorized, zero shares issued and outstanding as of March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022	—	—
Common stock, $0.00001 par value per share; 500,000,000 shares authorized as of March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022; 66,337,452 and 65,739,053 shares issued and outstanding as of March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively	—	—
Additional paid-in capital	319,339	314,884
Accumulated deficit	(239,495)	(231,636)
Accumulated other comprehensive loss	(45)	(29)
Total stockholders' equity	79,799	83,219
TOTAL LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY	$206,018	$208,349

WEAVE COMMUNICATIONS, INC
CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
(unaudited, in thousands, except share and per share data)

	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2023	2022
Revenue	$39,565	$33,272
Cost of revenue	13,031	13,753
Gross profit	26,534	19,519
Operating expenses:
Sales and marketing	17,218	16,220
Research and development	7,694	7,204
General and administrative	10,140	9,604
Total operating expenses	35,052	33,028
Loss from operations	(8,518)	(13,509)
Other income (expense):
Interest expense	(472)	(293)
Other income (expense), net	1,151	(4)
Loss before income taxes	(7,839)	(13,806)
Provision for income taxes	(20)	(32)
Net loss	$(7,859)	$(13,838)
Net loss per share attributable to common stockholders - basic and diluted	$(0.12)	$(0.21)
Weighted-average common shares outstanding - basic and diluted	65,954,521	64,583,714

WEAVE COMMUNICATIONS, INC
CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
(unaudited, in thousands)

	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2023	2022
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES
Net loss	$(7,859)	$(13,838)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash provided by (used in) operating activities
Depreciation and amortization	3,045	3,375
Amortization of operating right-of-use assets	938	908
Provision for losses on accounts receivable	422	150
Amortization of deferred contract costs	2,976	2,640
Loss on disposal of assets	3	—
Stock-based compensation	4,513	3,425
Net accretion of discounts on short-term investments	(687)	—
Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Accounts receivable	(177)	12
Deferred contract costs	(3,212)	(2,409)
Prepaid expenses and other assets	534	950
Accounts payable	355	148
Accrued liabilities	1,162	69
Operating lease liabilities	(900)	(332)
Deferred revenue	428	731
Deferred rent	—	—
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities	1,541	(4,171)
CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES
Maturities of short-term investments	13,000	—
Purchases of short-term investments	(17,485)	—
Purchases of property and equipment	(620)	(541)
Capitalized internal-use software costs	(334)	(367)
Net cash used in investing activities	(5,439)	(908)
CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES
Principal payments on finance leases	(1,960)	(2,176)
Proceeds from stock option exercises	73	559
Payments for taxes related to net share settlement of equity awards	(753)	—
Paid offering costs	—	(400)
Proceeds from the employee stock purchase plan	622	—
Net cash used in financing activities	(2,018)	(2,017)
NET DECREASE IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS	(5,916)	(7,096)
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, BEGINNING OF PERIOD	61,997	135,996
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, END OF PERIOD	$56,081	$128,900
SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOW INFORMATION:
Cash paid during the period for interest	$472	$293
Cash paid during the period for income taxes	$20	$32
SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF NONCASH INVESTING AND FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
Equipment purchases financed with accounts payable	$3	$20
Finance lease liabilities arising from obtaining finance lease right-of-use assets	$1,928	$2,027
Operating lease liabilities arising from obtaining operating lease right-of-use assets	154	—
Unrealized gain on short-term investments	$18	$—

WEAVE COMMUNICATIONS, INC
DISAGGREGATED REVENUE AND COST OF REVENUE (GAAP)
(unaudited, in thousands)

	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2023	2022
Subscription and payment processing:
Revenue	$37,692	$31,950
Cost of revenue	(8,978)	(8,821)
Gross profit	$28,714	$23,129
Gross margin	76%	72%

Onboarding:
Revenue	$784	$262
Cost of revenue	(2,125)	(2,586)
Gross profit	$(1,341)	$(2,324)
Gross margin	(171)%	(887)%

Hardware:
Revenue	$1,089	$1,060
Cost of revenue	(1,928)	(2,346)
Gross profit	$(839)	$(1,286)
Gross margin	(77)%	(121)%

WEAVE COMMUNICATIONS, INC
RECONCILIATION OF GAAP TO NON-GAAP FINANCIAL MEASURES
(unaudited, in thousands, except share and per share data)

The following tables reconcile the specific items excluded from GAAP in the calculation of non-GAAP financial measures for the periods indicated below

Non-GAAP gross profit
	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2023	2022
Gross profit	$26,534	$19,519
Stock-based compensation add back	213	148
Non-GAAP gross profit	$26,747	$19,667
GAAP gross margin	67.1%	58.7%
Non-GAAP gross margin	67.6%	59.1%

Non-GAAP operating expenses
	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2023	2022
Sales and marketing	$17,218	$16,220
Stock-based compensation excluded	(964)	(697)
Non-GAAP sales and marketing	$16,254	$15,523

Research and development	$7,694	$7,204
Stock-based compensation excluded	(930)	(552)
Non-GAAP research and development	$6,764	$6,652

General and administrative	$10,140	$9,604
Stock-based compensation excluded	(2,406)	(2,028)
Non-GAAP general and administrative	$7,734	$7,576

Non-GAAP loss from operations
	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2023	2022
Loss from operations	$(8,518)	$(13,509)
Stock-based compensation add back	4,513	3,425
Non-GAAP loss from operations	$(4,005)	$(10,084)
GAAP loss from operations margin	(22)%	(41)%
Non-GAAP loss from operations margin	(10)%	(30)%

Non-GAAP net loss
	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2023	2022
Net loss attributable to common stockholders	$(7,859)	$(13,838)
Stock-based compensation add back	4,513	3,425
Non-cash cumulative dividends on redeemable convertible preferred stock	—	—
Non-GAAP net loss attributable to common stockholders	$(3,346)	$(10,413)
GAAP net loss margin	(20)%	(42)%
Non-GAAP net loss margin	(8)%	(31)%

GAAP net loss per share attributable to common stockholders - basic and diluted	$(0.12)	$(0.21)
Non-GAAP net loss per share attributable to common stockholders - basic and diluted	$(0.05)	$(0.16)

Weighted-average common shares outstanding - basic and diluted	65,954,521	64,583,714

Adjusted EBITDA
	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2023	2022
Net loss	$(7,859)	$(13,838)
Interest on outstanding debt	472	293
Provision for income taxes	20	32
Depreciation	592	685
Amortization	299	280
Stock-based compensation	4,513	3,425
Adjusted EBITDA	$(1,963)	$(9,123)

Free Cash Flow
	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2023	2022
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities	$1,541	$(4,171)
Less: Purchases of property and equipment	(620)	(541)
Less: Capitalized internal-use software costs	(334)	(367)
Free cash flow	$587	$(5,079)