A M E R I C A’ S B L U E - C H I P L A N D L O R D ™ Griffin Capital Essential Asset® REIT *All tenants, properties and data as of December 31, 2020. Dear Valued Shareholder, We are excited to welcome you as a shareholder of Griffin Capital Essential Asset REIT, Inc. (“GCEAR”). Our merger with Cole Office and Industrial REIT (CCIT II), Inc. (“CCIT II”) successfully united two cohesive portfolios of high-quality assets and tenants. As a result, you now own shares in one of the largest office and industrial, net-lease REITs in the United States. The GCEAR platform was founded in 2009, and since our inception our mission has remained the same. We seek to generate consistent, sustainable income by combining the: • Durability of creditworthy, blue-chip corporate tenants; • Stability of long-term, net leases; and • Power of proactive management. To achieve this mission, we have leveraged the skills, experience and longstanding industry relationships of our dedicated professionals. These individuals have valuable expertise across a wide range of disciplines, which allows us to proactively take advantage of opportunities to generate growth and stability in our portfolio. They are led by an accomplished senior management team, with an average of 30 years of real estate industry experience among them. We are confident the combined company is well-positioned for future opportunities. Importantly, we believe the merger has significantly enhanced potential opportunities to maximize value and liquidity for all of our shareholders. We are dedicated to achieving this outcome, and we look forward to sharing our future results with you. Sincerely, Michael J. Escalante Chief Executive Officer and President Griffin Capital Essential Asset REIT, Inc. Exhibit 99.2

P O RT F O L I O O V E R V I E W Combined Company Total Asset Value $5.8 billion Net Asset Value $3.2 billion Net Debt/Enterprise Value 43.2% Number of Properties¹ 123 Leased² 90% Size of Portfolio 30.8 million sq. ft. WALT² 7.0 years Investment Grade3 63.7% 2020 Rent Collections 100% Property Type4 C A PI TA LI ZA TI O N P O R TF O LI O Industrial/Manufacturing/Flex 13.6% Office 86.4% Source: Company filings | Note: All figures as of December 31, 2020, unless stated otherwise. 1. As of February 28, 2021. 2. Pro forma based on square feet. 3. Reflects the percentage of pro forma, 12-month forward net rent generated by properties leased and/or guaranteed, directly or indirectly, by companies that have investment-grade credit ratings or what management believes are generally equivalent ratings. 4. Pro forma based on 12-month forward net rent.

P O RT F O L I O O V E R V I E W Note: Logos shown are those of tenants, lease guarantors, or non-guarantor parent companies.

For more information on Griffin Capital Essential Asset REIT, please call 888.926.2688 or visit www.gcear.com. Experienced Executive Management Team Michael Escalante CEO, President and Director 33 Years Javier Bitar Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer 33 Years Nina Momtazee Sitzer Chief Administrative Officer & General Counsel 28 Years Louis K. Sohn Executive Vice President 20 Years Scott Tausk Executive Vice President 33 Years Bryan Yamasawa Chief Accounting Officer 30 Years * Trailing five year average as of December 31, 2020. E X P E R I E N C E D T E A M O F R E A L E S TAT E P R O F E S S I O N A L S Leveraging our professional expertise in: Asset Management | Acquisitions | Strategic Investments | Corporate Finance Senior management team with average experience of 30 Years Assets Under Management $5.8 Billion Average Leasing Volume* 1M SF/yr EA-IU110100(0121)