Exhibit 99.1

ContraVir Pharmaceuticals to Present at Biotech Showcase 2016

Edison, NJ, January 5, 2016 — ContraVir Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (NASDAQ:CTRV), a biopharmaceutical company focused on the development and commercialization of targeted antiviral therapies, announced today that it will present at the Biotech Showcase 2016 to be held January 11-13, 2016, at the Parc 55 San Francisco.

James Sapirstein, Chief Executive Officer of ContraVir, will provide an overview of the Company’s business during his live presentation and will be available to participate in one-on-one meetings with investors who are registered to attend the conference.

Event:	Biotech Showcase 2016
Date:	Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Time:	4.00pm (Pacific Time)
Location:	Parc 55 San Francisco, Track D, Room Powell

The presentation will be webcast live and remain available for 90 days following the presentation. To access the webcast, please visit the investor relations section of the ContraVir website at www.contravir.com/ctrv.

About ContraVir Pharmaceuticals

ContraVir is a biopharmaceutical company focused on the discovery and development of targeted antiviral therapies with two candidates in mid-to-late stage clinical development. ContraVir’s lead clinical drug, FV-100, is an orally available nucleoside analogue prodrug that is being developed for the treatment of herpes zoster, or shingles, which is currently in Phase 3 clinical development.  In addition to direct antiviral activity, FV-100 has demonstrated the potential to reduce the incidence of debilitating shingles-associated pain known as post-herpetic neuralgia (PHN) in a Phase 2 clinical study.  ContraVir is also developing CMX157, a highly potent analog of the successful antiviral drug tenofovir, for the Hepatitis B virus.  CMX157’s novel structure results in decreased circulating levels of tenofovir, lowering systemic exposure and thereby reducing the potential for renal and bone side effects.

Forward Looking Statements

Certain statements in this press release are forward-looking within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These statements may be identified by the use of forward-looking words such as “anticipate,” “believe,” “forecast,” “estimated” and “intend,” among others. These forward-looking statements are based on ContraVir’s current expectations and actual results could differ materially. There are a number of factors that could cause actual events to differ materially from those indicated by such forward-looking statements. These factors include, but are not limited to, substantial competition; our ability to continue as a going concern; our need for additional financing; uncertainties of patent protection and litigation; uncertainties with respect to lengthy and

expensive clinical trials, that results of earlier studies and trials may not be predictive of future trial results; uncertainties of government or third party payer reimbursement; limited sales and marketing efforts and dependence upon third parties; and risks related to failure to obtain FDA clearances or approvals and noncompliance with FDA regulations. As with any drug candidates under development, there are significant risks in the development, regulatory approval, and commercialization of new products. There are no guarantees that future clinical trials discussed in this press release will be completed or successful, or that any product will receive regulatory approval for any indication or prove to be commercially successful. ContraVir does not undertake an obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statement. Investors should read the risk factors set forth in ContraVir’s Form 10-K for the year ended June 30, 2015 and other periodic reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

For further information, please contact:

Tiberend Strategic Advisors, Inc.

Joshua Drumm, Ph.D. (investors)

jdrumm@tiberend.com; (212) 375-2664

Claire Sojda (media)

csojda@tiberend.com; (212) 375-2686