Exhibit 99.1

RISK FACTORS

An investment in our common stock involves various risks and uncertainties. Our stockholders should carefully consider the following risk factors in conjunction with the other information contained in this prospectus before purchasing our common stock. The occurrence of any of the risks discussed in this prospectus could have a material adverse effect on our business, operating results, prospects, financial condition, ability to pay distributions and the value of an investment in shares of our common stock. The risks and uncertainties that we currently believe are material to us are described below. Unless otherwise indicated or the context requires otherwise, in this prospectus, references to “our company,” “we,” “us” and “our” mean American Realty Capital Hospitality Trust, Inc. and its consolidated subsidiaries.

Risks Related to an Investment in American Realty Capital Hospitality Trust, Inc.

We have a limited prior operating history and rely on our advisor to conduct our operations; our advisor has limited operating history and limited experience operating a public company.

We have a limited operating history and our stockholders should not rely upon the past performance of other real estate investment programs sponsored by the parent of our sponsor to predict our future results. We were incorporated on July 25, 2013.

We have no direct employees. We have retained the American Realty Capital Hospitality Advisors, LLC (the “advisor”) to manage certain aspects of its affairs on a day-to-day basis. American Realty Capital Hospitality Properties, LLC or one of its subsidiaries (collectively, the “property manager”), serves as our property manager and the property manager has retained Crestline Hotels & Resorts, LLC (the “sub-property manager”), an entity under common control with the parent of American Realty Capital IX, LLC (the “sponsor”) to provide services, including locating investments, negotiating financing and operating certain hotel assets in our portfolio.

Our advisor has had no operations prior to the commencement of our initial public offering pursuant to a registration statement on Form S-11, which included common stock offered pursuant to our distribution reinvestment plan (the “DRIP”), which we are now offering pursuant to a new registration statement on Form S-3, and a “best efforts” primary offering up to $2.0 billion in common stock conducted by Realty Capital Securities, LLC (the “dealer manager”), which is under common control with the parent of our sponsor. Our executive officers have limited experience managing public companies. For these reasons, our stockholders should be especially cautious when drawing conclusions about our future performance and our stockholders should not assume that it will be similar to the prior performance of other programs sponsored by the parent of our sponsor. Our limited operating history, our advisor’s limited prior experience operating a public company and our sponsor’s limited experience in connection with investments of the type being made by us significantly increase the risk and uncertainty our stockholders face in making an investment in our shares.

We have a history of operating losses and cannot assure our stockholders that we will achieve profitability.

Since inception in July 2013 through September 30, 2015, we have incurred net losses (calculated in accordance with GAAP) equal to $59.3 million. The extent of our future operating losses and the timing of the profitability are highly uncertain, and we may never achieve or sustain profitability.

Our stockholders may be more likely to sustain a loss on their investment in our common stock because our sponsor does not have as strong an economic incentive to avoid losses as does a sponsor who has made significant equity investments in its company.

The special limited partner, which is wholly owned by our sponsor and wholly owns our advisor, has invested only $200,000 in us through the purchase of 8,888 shares of our common stock at $22.50 per share, reflecting the fact that selling commissions and dealer manager fees were not paid on the sale. The special limited partner may not sell this initial investment while our sponsor remains our sponsor but it may transfer such shares to affiliates. Therefore, our sponsor has little exposure to loss in the value of our shares. Without

this exposure, our investors may be at a greater risk of loss because our sponsor may have less to lose from a decrease in the value of our shares as does a sponsor that makes more significant equity investments in its company.

There is no public trading market for our shares and there may never be one. Therefore, it will be difficult for our stockholders to sell their shares.

Our charter does not require our directors to seek stockholder approval to liquidate our assets by a specified date, nor does our charter require our directors to list our shares for trading on a national securities exchange by a specified date. Our shares of common stock are not listed on a national securities exchange, there is no public market for our shares and there may never be one. Until our shares are listed, if ever, stockholders may not sell their shares unless the buyer meets the applicable suitability and minimum purchase standards. In addition, our charter prohibits the ownership of more than 9.8% in value of the aggregate of outstanding shares of capital stock or more than 9.8% in value or number of shares, whichever is more restrictive, of any class or series of our stock, unless exempted (prospectively or retroactively) by our board of directors, which may inhibit large investors from purchasing our stockholder’s shares. In its sole discretion, our board of directors could amend, suspend or terminate our share repurchase program upon 30 days’ notice. Further, the share repurchase program includes numerous restrictions that would limit a stockholder’s ability to sell his or her shares and our board of directors has the right to reject any request for repurchase. Therefore, it is difficult for our stockholders to sell their shares promptly or at all. If a stockholder is able to sell his or her shares, it would likely be at a substantial discount to the public offering price. There also can be no assurance that we will be able to generate capital required to fund repurchases under our share repurchase program. It is also likely that our shares would not be accepted as the primary collateral for a loan. Because of the illiquid nature of our shares, investors should purchase our shares only as a long-term investment and be prepared to hold them for an indefinite period of time.

We suspended our primary initial public offering, which was our primary source of capital to implement our investment strategy, reduce our borrowings, complete acquisitions, make capital expenditures and pay distributions, and we may not be able to obtain additional capital from other sources.

We have historically been dependent on proceeds from our primary initial public offering adequate capital to implement our investment strategy, reduce our borrowings, complete acquisitions, make capital expenditures and pay distributions, but we do not expect to receive any capital from our primary initial public offering in the future.

On November 15, 2015, we suspended our primary initial public offering effective December 31, 2015, and, on November 18, 2015, the dealer manager suspended sales activities it performs pursuant to the dealer manager agreement for our primary initial public offering, effective immediately. The DRIP and our share repurchase program, both of which were initiated in conjunction with our primary initial public offering, remained in place following this suspension. On December 2, 2015, the parent company of the dealer manager announced that its board of directors had authorized plans to wind down the operations of the wholesale distribution business of the dealer manager, with the process commencing immediately and expected to be completed by the end of the first quarter 2016. On December 31, 2015, we entered into a termination agreement with the dealer manager to terminate the dealer manager agreement. Due to these circumstances, it is not likely that we will resume our primary initial public offering. We registered $2.0 billion in shares of common stock for sale in our primary initial public offering and, through December 15, 2015, we have sold approximately 36.2 million shares of common stock in our primary initial public offering for approximately $900.7 million in net proceeds, all of which had been invested or used for other purposes.

Because it is not likely that we will resume our primary initial public offering, we may require funds in addition to operating cash flow to meet our capital requirements during the fiscal year ending December 31, 2016, and may be required to pursue, among other methods for providing funds, deferrals of capital expenditures, deferrals of asset management fees payable to our advisor, sales of assets and additional debt or equity financing. There can be no assurance that we will be successful in obtaining sufficient proceeds from any of these pursuits to meet our obligations. Our inability to meet our capital requirements could cause us to

reduce or eliminate distributions, default under our indebtedness and other obligations and otherwise have a material adverse effect on our business and results of operations.

Our primary initial public offering has raised substantially less proceeds than expected and we do not expect to raise additional proceeds in our primary initial public offering. As a result, our portfolio will be less diversified than previously planned and we may suffer other materially adverse consequences.

Our investment objectives were originally premised on the amount of proceeds we expected to raise in the primary initial public offering. We registered $2.0 billion in shares of common stock for sale in our primary initial public offering and, through December 15, 2015, we have sold approximately 36.2 million shares of common stock in our primary initial public offering for approximately $900.7 million in net proceeds, all of which had been invested or used for other purposes. Our primary initial public offering has been suspended and we do not expect to raise additional proceeds in our primary initial public offering. To the extent we raised less proceeds than registered, it could adversely affect our ability to achieve our original investment objective. We will make fewer investments than we would if we were continuing to raise proceeds in the initial public offering, resulting in less diversification in terms of the number of investments owned, the geographic regions in which our investments are located and the types of investments that we make. As a result, the likelihood of our profitability being affected by the performance of any one of our investments is increased. Investments in our shares are subject to greater risk to the extent that we lack a diversified portfolio of investments.

In addition, to the extent that we raised less proceeds than expected in our initial public offering, our fixed operating expenses as a percentage of gross income, our financial condition and our ability to pay distributions could be adversely affected.

In addition, failure to fund closing consideration for our multiple pending acquisitions could cause us to forfeit up to $45.5 million in non-refundable earnest money deposits previously paid or required to be paid prior to the relevant scheduled closing. Furthermore, failure to fund capital expenditures required under our indebtedness and pursuant to our franchise agreements could cause us to default under the related agreements and failure to fund interest and principal under our mortgage indebtedness or make mandatory redemptions of the preferred equity interests (the “Grace Preferred Equity Interests”) we issued to finance a portion of the purchase price of interests in 116 hotels in February 2015 (the “Grace Portfolio”) could cause us to lose control of the Grace Portfolio. Our failure to raise the capital we require could materially adversely impact our financial condition, results of operations and the value of an investment in our common stock.

Acquired properties may expose us to unknown liability, which could adversely affect our results of operations, cash flow and the market value of our securities.

We may acquire properties subject to liabilities and without any recourse, or with only limited recourse, against the prior owners or other third parties with respect to unknown liabilities. As a result, if a liability were asserted against us based upon ownership of those properties, we might have to pay substantial sums to settle or contest it, which could adversely affect our results of operations, cash flow and the market value of our securities. Unknown liabilities with respect to acquired properties might include:

•	liabilities for clean-up of undisclosed environmental contamination;
•	claims by tenants, vendors or other persons against the former owners of the properties;
•	liabilities incurred in the ordinary course of business; and
•	claims for indemnification by general partners, directors, officers and others indemnified by the former owners of the properties.

We may not, in whole or in part, complete our pending acquisitions on the currently contemplated terms, other terms or at all, which could cause us to forfeit all, or a part of, $45.5 million in non-refundable earnest money deposits previously paid or required to be paid prior to the relevant scheduled closing.

In June 2015, we entered into a series of agreements to acquire an aggregate of 44 hotels, which we refer to as the SN Acquisitions, from three different independent parties for an aggregate contract purchase price, as amended, of $740.3 million in eight separate closings, each of which we refer to as an SN Closing. The hotels

to be acquired in the SN Acquisitions included: (i) 26 hotels to be acquired from affiliates of Summit Hotel OP, LP, the operating partnership of Summit Hotel Properties, Inc., which we refer to, collectively, as Summit; (ii) 13 hotels to be acquired from affiliates of Noble Investment Group, LLC, which we refer to collectively as Noble; and (iii) five hotels to be acquired from affiliates of Wheelock Real Estate Fund, L.P., which we refer to, collectively, as Wheelock.

In August 2015, we entered into a term loan facility, which we refer to as the SN Acquisitions Term Loan, with Deutsche Bank AG New York Branch and Deutsche Bank Securities, Inc., with we refer to collectively as Deutsche Bank, pursuant to which we had the right to incur up to $450 million in additional debt funded on a delayed draw basis in advances secured by mortgages on the hotels to be acquired in the SN Acquisitions.

In October, November and December 2015, we completed the first three SN Closings and acquired 10 hotels from Summit and four hotels from Noble for aggregate closing consideration of approximately $257.7 million, funded with approximately $15.6 million previously paid as earnest money deposits, approximately $76.9 million from our primary initial public offering and approximately $165.2 million from the incurrence of debt pursuant to the SN Acquisitions Term Loan, which we refer to as SN Mortgage Debt.

On December 15, 2015, we terminated our agreement with Wheelock relating to the acquisition of five hotels scheduled to close in December 2015 and forfeited $10.0 million in earnest money previously deposited. On December 29, 2015, we terminated our agreement with Summit relating to the acquisition of ten hotels scheduled to close in December 2015, and forfeited $9.1 million in earnest money previously deposited.

During November and December 2015, our primary initial public offering was suspended, and we were required to seek out alternative sources of capital to obtain the funds we need to complete the remaining SN Closings, which are comprised of the following: (i) six hotels from Noble on February 29, 2016 for an aggregate contract purchase price of $101.1 million, of which $8.0 million will be funded through previously paid deposits; (ii) six hotels from Summit on March 7, 2016 for an aggregate contract purchase price of $108.3 million, of which $18.5 million will be funded through previously paid deposits; and (ii) three hotels from Noble on March 31, 2016 for an aggregate contract purchase price of $91.4 million, of which $14.0 million will be funded through previously paid deposits. In addition, we are required by January 25, 2016 to make an additional $5 million deposit, which we refer to as the extension deposit, that was required in connection with our exercise, in December 2015, of an extension of the closing date with respect to the first of these closings.

The SN Acquisitions Term Loan currently provides for unfunded commitments for up to approximately $284.8 million in additional advances to fund the completion of these pending acquisitions, although we do not expect that more than $225.0 million in additional advances will ultimately be available when required because the SN Acquisitions Term Loan also provides that if, as of February 15, 2016, the aggregate unfunded commitments exceed $225.0 million, then all unfunded commitments in excess of $225.0 will be automatically deemed terminated and reduced to zero as of February 15, 2016. Moreover, our ability to incur SN Mortgage Debt is limited by the requirement that no advances may be made after June 30, 2016 and no advance may exceed the least of (i) 65% of the aggregate appraised value of the hotels acquired and pledged as collateral, (ii) 65% of the aggregate purchase price of such hotels, and (iii) the adjusted net operating income for such hotels pledged as collateral divided by 11.5%. In addition to any SN Mortgage Debt we incur, we will require additional debt or equity capital, such as a mezzanine loan, to complete these pending acquisitions, and there can be no assurance that such additional capital will be available. It is also possible that recent adverse developments we have experienced, including the suspension of our primary initial public offering and our expectation that we will not raise additional proceeds in our primary initial public offering and the forfeiture of $19.1 million in earnest money deposited during December 2015, could be deemed to be a material adverse effect by Deutsche Bank and used as a basis not to fund any future advances of under the SN Acquisitions Term Loan, in which case we would require additional capital to complete these pending acquisitions or pay the extension deposit. There is a significant risk that we will be unable to obtain sufficient funds to allow us to complete these pending acquisitions, which would cause us to default under the

underlying agreements and forfeit the previously paid deposits. There can be no assurance as to whether any of our pending acquisitions will be completed on the currently contemplated terms, other terms or at all.

Moreover, whether or not we complete the pending acquisitions, in whole or in part, we will still be subject to several risks, including the incurrence of substantial legal, accounting and due diligence costs relating to the pending acquisitions that are payable whether or not the pending acquisitions are completed, and the fact that the focus of our management will have been directed toward the pending acquisitions and integration planning instead of other opportunities that could have been beneficial to us or our ongoing operations at hotels we have already acquired.

In addition, failure to realize the expected benefits of the completion of the pending acquisitions, within the anticipated timeframe or at all, or the incurrence of unexpected costs, could have a material adverse effect on our financial condition and results of operations and our ability to pay distributions from cash flow from operations.

We are required to apply 35% of any equity we raise, to make mandatory redemptions of the Grace Preferred Equity Interests, which may limit our ability to meet our other capital requirements.

As required under the terms of the Grace Preferred Equity Interests, we intend to continue to use 35% of the proceeds from the issuance of interests in us or any of our subsidiaries, to redeem the Grace Preferred Equity Interests at par, up to a maximum of $350 million in redemptions for any 12-month period. As of December 31, 2015, approximately $294.5 million of liquidation value remained outstanding under the Grace Preferred Equity Interests.

Using proceeds from the equity we raise to make mandatory redemptions of the Grace Preferred Equity Interests will reduce the available cash flow to fund distributions to our stockholders, working capital, capital expenditures, including the funding of PIP reserves required under our indebtedness, and other general corporate purposes, which could have a material adverse impact on our business and reduce cash available for distributions to holders of our common stock.

Moreover, to the extent we are required to use a portion of the proceeds to make mandatory redemptions of Grace Preferred Equity, it may be more difficult to obtain equity financing from an alternative source in an amount required to pay closing consideration with respect to the SN Acquisitions or for other purposes.

Because we do not expect to raise additional proceeds from our primary initial public offering, which is now suspended, we may be unable to pay future distributions at the same rate.

We do not expect to raise additional proceeds in our primary initial public offering, which is now suspended. We have paid all of our distributions from proceeds from our primary initial public offering since our inception in July 2013. Our cash flows provided by operations were $3.3 million for the nine months ended September 30, 2015, but we have had negative cash flows from operations since our inception and our ability to use cash flows from operations to pay distributions in the future may also be adversely impacted by our substantial obligations under our indebtedness, including the payment or principal and interest and required reserves for capital expenditures. There can be no assurance that we will generate sufficient cash from our operations in the future to pay future distributions at the same rate as we have previously paid distributions. In addition, we may pay distributions that exceed our funds from operations, or FFO, a non-GAAP measure that we use as a performance measure.

Our board of directors may change our distribution policy, in its sole discretion, at any time, especially if the distributions paid in any particular period exceed our FFO. Distributions in excess of FFO may indicate that the level of distributions may not be sustainable going forward. Distributions funded from offering proceeds are a return of capital to stockholders, from which we will have already paid offering expenses in connection with this offering. We have not established any limit on the amount of proceeds from this offering that may be used to fund distributions, except that, in accordance with our organizational documents and Maryland law, we may not make distributions that would: (1) cause us to be unable to pay our debts as they become due in the usual course of business; or (2) cause our total assets to be less than the sum of our total liabilities plus senior liquidation preferences, if any.

Because distributions have been funded with proceeds from our primary initial public offering and may be funded in the future from cash flows provided by operations, we have less funds available for acquiring properties or other real estate-related investments. As a result, the return our stockholders realize on their investment in our common stock may be reduced. Funding distributions from borrowings could restrict the amount we can borrow for investments, which may affect our profitability. Funding distributions with the sale of assets or the proceeds of this offering may affect our ability to generate cash flows. Funding distributions from the sale of additional securities could dilute our stockholder’s interest in us if we sell shares of our common stock or securities convertible or exercisable into shares of our common stock to third-party investors. We also have partially funded, and expect to continue to partially fund, distributions from proceeds from the DRIP, which will reduce the funds available for acquisitions, capital expenditures and for general corporate purposes. Payment of distributions from the mentioned sources could restrict our ability to generate sufficient cash flows from operations, affect our profitability or affect the distributions payable to our stockholders upon a liquidity event, any or all of which may have an adverse effect on our stockholder’s investments.

We may not be successful in integrating and operating the hotels we have acquired and any other hotels we may acquire in the future.

We acquired the Grace Portfolio in February 2015. We have acquired 14 hotels pursuant to the SN Acquisitions in the fourth quarter of 2015 and may acquire up to 15 additional hotels in 2016 pursuant to the SN Acquisitions. We may, in the future, acquire, or enter into agreements to acquire, additional hotels. There are many challenges related to our achieving the expected benefits associated with integrating and operating the hotels we have acquired, and any other hotels we may acquire in the future, including the following:

•	we may be unable to successfully maintain consistent standards, controls, policies and procedures;
•	the integration of the hotels we have acquired and any other hotels we may acquire in the future may disrupt our ongoing operations or the ongoing operations of those hotels, and our management’s attention may be diverted away from other business concerns;
•	the hotels we have acquired and any other hotels we may acquire in the future may fail to perform as expected and market conditions may result in lower than expected occupancy and room rates;
•	we may spend more than budgeted amounts to make necessary improvements or renovations to the hotels we have acquired and any other hotels we may acquire in the future;
•	some of the hotels we have acquired are, and some hotels we acquire in the future may be, located in unfamiliar markets where we face risks associated with an incomplete knowledge or understanding of the local market, a limited number of established business relationships in the area and a relative unfamiliarity with local governmental and permitting procedures;
•	the hotels we have acquired and any other hotels we may acquire in the future may subject us to liabilities and without any recourse, or with only limited recourse, with respect to unknown liabilities;
•	even if we enter into agreements for the acquisition of hotels in the future, these agreements are subject to customary conditions to closing, including completion of due diligence investigations to our satisfaction and other conditions that are not within our control, which may not be satisfied, and we may be unable to complete an acquisition after making a non-refundable deposit and incurring certain other acquisition-related costs;
•	we may be unable to finance any future acquisitions on favorable terms in the time period we desire, or at all;
•	we may not be able to obtain adequate insurance coverage for new properties acquired in future acquisitions; and
•	we may incur significant costs and divert management attention in connection with evaluating and negotiating potential acquisitions, including ones that we are subsequently unable to complete.

Failure to realize the expected benefits of the acquisition of the Grace Portfolio and the SN Acquisitions or to identify and successfully complete future acquisitions, within the anticipated timeframe or at all, or the incurrence of unexpected costs, could have a material adverse effect on our financial condition and results of operations and our ability to pay distributions from cash flow from operations.

In addition to other capital expenditures, we are required to make substantial capital expenditures pursuant to property improvement plans to comply with brand standards under our franchise agreements and to make regular deposits to partially reserve for these amounts under our indebtedness, and our ability to fund these obligations may be adversely impacted by the suspension of our primary initial public offering.

We expect that we will be required to make substantial capital expenditures over the next few years to maintain and improve our properties, including capital expenditures our franchisors required pursuant to property improvement plans, or PIPs, which set forth their renovation requirements. The PIPs were required in connection with our acquisition of the Grace Portfolio and the SN Acquisitions and will also be required in connection with any hotels we acquire in the pending acquisitions and, likely, in connection with the acquisition of any additional hotels in the future. Part of these PIP expenditures will be funded through PIP reserve deposits that are required, or expected to be required, under our existing indebtedness. We also intend to make additional capital expenditures improving our current properties beyond what may be required by PIPs. In addition, we will likely be responsible for any major structural repairs, such as repairs to the foundation, exterior walls and rooftops.

Pursuant to the terms of the indebtedness we assumed secured by 96 hotels in the Grace Portfolio (the “Assumed Grace Indebtedness”), we are required to make at least an aggregate of $24 million in periodic PIP reserve deposits during 2016 to cover a portion of the estimated costs of the PIPs, and we entered into a guarantee with respect to the difference, if any, between (i) the actual cost of the PIPs with respect to those 96 hotels during the 24-month period following the acquisition of the Grace Portfolio on February 2015, and (ii) the amount actually deposited into the PIP reserve with respect to the Assumed Grace Indebtedness during that period.

Pursuant to the terms of the indebtedness we incurred secured by 20 hotels in the Grace Portfolio and one additional hotel (the “Additional Grace Mortgage Loan” and, together with the Assumed Grace Indebtedness, the “Grace Indebtedness”), we are required to make an aggregate of $13 million in periodic PIP reserve deposits during 2016 to cover a portion of the estimated costs of the PIPs on the total 21 hotels collateralizing that debt. The Grace Indebtedness also requires us to deposit 4.0% of the gross revenue of the hotels into a separate account for the ongoing replacement or refurbishment of furniture, fixtures and equipment at the hotels.

Pursuant to the SN Acquisitions Term Loan, we have agreed to make periodic payments into an escrow account for the PIPs that will be required by franchisors in connection with the new long-term franchise agreements we have entered, or expect to enter, into with respect to hotels serving as collateral for SN Acquisitions Mortgage Debt, and to guarantee the first half of those payments. At this time the total PIP reserve payments during 2016 are estimated to be approximately $5 million funded in multiple deposits. We will also be required to make additional PIP reserve payments during the remaining term of the SN Acquisitions Term Loan.

We have been dependent on proceeds from our primary initial public offering to fund a significant portion of our capital expenditures, including PIP reserve deposits required under our indebtedness, and there can be no assurance we will be able to fund these expenditures with cash flows from operations or obtain alternative financing to meet these capital needs on favorable terms, or at all, following the suspension of our primary initial public offering effective December 31, 2015. Our ability to meet our capital expenditure requirements through alternative financings may also be adversely impacted by the fact that, to the extent cash flows from operations are insufficient, we may be required to use the proceeds from any such financing to serve other capital needs that we had historically been dependent on proceeds from our primary initial public offering to meet, such as distributions to our stockholders, the redemption of the Grace Preferred Equity Interests and the payment of consideration in pending acquisitions.

Any failure to make PIP reserve deposits when required could lead to a default under the relevant portion of our indebtedness. Moreover, in connection with any future revisions to our franchise or hotel management

agreements or a refinancing of our indebtedness, franchisors may require that we make further renovations or enter into additional PIPs. In addition, upon regular inspection of our hotels, franchisors may determine that additional renovations are required to bring the physical condition of our hotels into compliance with the specifications and standards each franchisor or hotel brand has developed.

Our capital expenditures with respect to PIPs will be substantial and could adversely affect our ability to pay distributions, or reduce our borrowings, complete the pending acquisitions, make capital expenditures or use capital for other corporate purposes. In addition, if we default on a franchise agreement as a result of our failure to comply with the PIP requirements, in general, we will be required to pay the franchisor liquidated damages and the franchisor may have the right to terminate the applicable agreement, and we may also be in default under the applicable hotel indebtedness. To the extent that failure to comply with PIP requirements causes us to lose a brand license, we will be subject to other risks. See “— Risks Related to the Lodging Industry — The loss of a brand license could adversely affect our financial condition and results of operations.”

In addition, if we do not have enough reserves for or access to capital to supply needed funds for capital improvements throughout the life of the investment in a property and there is insufficient cash available from our operations, we may be required to defer necessary improvements to a property, which may cause that property to suffer from a greater risk of obsolescence, a decline in value, or decreased cash flow, which could adversely impact our ability to pay cash distributions to our stockholders.

Because we are dependent upon our advisor, our property manager, our sub-property manager and their affiliates to conduct our operations, and we have engaged third-party sub-property managers to manage certain properties, any adverse changes in the financial health of our advisor, our property manager, our sub-property manager or third-party sub-property managers or their affiliates or our relationship with them could hinder our operating performance and the return on an investment in our common stock.

We are dependent on our advisor, our property manager and our sub-property manager, which are responsible for our day-to-day operations and are primarily responsible for the selection of our investments to be recommended to our board of directors. We are also dependent on our property manager, our sub-property manager and third-party sub-property managers to manage certain of our real estate assets. Our advisor and our property manager had no prior operating history before they were formed in connection with offering. Our advisor depends upon the fees and other compensation that it receives from us in connection with the purchase, management and sale of assets to conduct its operations. Any adverse changes in the financial condition of such entities or certain of their affiliates or in our relationship with them could hinder its or their ability to successfully manage our operations and our portfolio of investments.

The continued services of the key real estate professionals at our advisor or our sub-property manager are critical to our success.

Our future success depends, in large part, upon our advisors and its affiliates’ ability to hire and retain highly skilled managerial, operational and marketing professionals. Competition for such professionals is intense, and our advisor and its affiliates may be unsuccessful in attracting and retaining such skilled individuals. In particular, our success depends to a significant degree upon the contributions of certain individuals, including Bruce D. Wardinski, Jonathan P. Mehlman and Edward T. Hoganson at our advisor and as James A. Carroll and Pierre M. Donahue at our sub-property manager. Any of these persons may cease providing their services to us for a number of reasons, and there is no assurance that a suitable replacement could be found on a timely basis, or at all. We do not intend to maintain key person life insurance on any person.

Maintaining relationships with firms that have special expertise in certain services or detailed knowledge regarding real properties in certain geographic regions is also important for us to effectively compete with other investors for properties in such regions. We may be unsuccessful in establishing and retaining such relationships. If we lose or are unable to obtain the services of highly skilled professionals or do not establish or maintain appropriate strategic relationships, our ability to implement our investment strategies and operate our existing businesses could be adversely affected, and the value of an investment in our common stock may decline.

Our rights and the rights of our stockholders to recover claims against our officers, directors and our advisor are limited, which could reduce our stockholders’ and our recovery against them if they cause us to incur losses.

Maryland law provides that a director has no liability in that capacity if he or she performs his or her duties in good faith, in a manner he or she reasonably believes to be in the corporation’s best interests and with the care that an ordinarily prudent person in a like position would use under similar circumstances. In addition, subject to certain limitations set forth therein or under Maryland law, our charter provides that no director or officer will be liable to us or our stockholders for monetary damages and requires us to indemnify our directors, our officers and our advisor and our advisor’s affiliates and permits us to indemnify our employees and agents. We have entered into an indemnification agreement with each of our directors and officers, and certain former directors and officers, providing for indemnification of such directors and officers consistent with the provisions of our charter. We and our stockholders also may have more limited rights against our directors, officers, employees and agents, and our advisor and its affiliates than might otherwise exist under common law, which could reduce our stockholders’ and our recovery against them. In addition, we may be obligated to fund the defense costs incurred by our directors, officers, employees and agents, or our advisors and its affiliates in some cases, which would decrease the cash otherwise available for distribution to our stockholders.

Commencing with the NAV pricing date, the purchase price under the DRIP and the repurchase price of our shares under our share repurchase program will be based on our NAV, which will be based upon subjective judgments, assumptions and opinions about future events, and may not be accurate. As a result, our quarterly per share NAV may not reflect the amount that our stockholders might receive for their shares in a market transaction and our stockholders may not know the per share NAV at the time of purchase.

Commencing with the date, which we refer to as the NAV Pricing date, we commence estimating the net asset value, or NAV, the purchase price under the DRIP and the repurchase price of our shares under our share repurchase program will be based on our NAV. Our advisor will estimate NAV by estimating the market value of our assets and liabilities, many of which may be illiquid. In estimating NAV, our advisor will consider an estimate provided by an independent valuer of the market value of our real estate assets. Our advisor will review such valuation for consistency with its determinations of value and our valuation guidelines and the reasonableness of the independent valuer’s conclusions. If in the advisor’s opinion the appraisals prepared by the independent valuer are materially higher or lower than the advisor’s determinations of value, the advisor will discuss the appraisals with the independent valuer, and may submit the appraisals to a valuation committee comprised of our independent directors, which will review the appraisals, and make a final determination of value. Although the appraisals of our real estate portfolio by the independent valuer will be approved by the board of directors, the valuations may not be precise because the valuation methodologies used to value a real estate portfolio involve subjective judgments, assumptions and opinions about future events. Any resulting disparity may benefit the selling or non-selling stockholders or purchasers. Investors may not know the per share NAV at which they will purchase shares at the time that they submit a purchase order. Furthermore, there are no rules or regulations specifically governing what components may be included in the NAV estimate to ensure there is consistency. Therefore, investors should pay close attention to the components used to estimate NAV and should be aware that the NAV estimates may not accurately reflect the value of our assets or an investment in our shares.

It may be difficult to accurately reflect material events that may impact our quarterly NAV between valuations and accordingly we may be selling and repurchasing shares at too high or too low a price.

Our independent valuer will calculate estimates of the market value of our principal real estate and real estate-related assets, and our advisor will determine the net value of our real estate and real estate-related assets and liabilities taking into consideration such estimate provided by the independent valuer. The final determination of value may be made by a valuation committee comprised of our independent directors if our advisor determines that the appraisals of the independent valuer are materially higher or lower than its valuations. Our advisor is ultimately responsible for determining the quarterly per share NAV. Each property will be appraised at least annually and appraisals will be spread out over the course of a year so that

approximately 25% of all properties are appraised each quarter. Because each property will only be appraised annually, there may be changes in the course of the year that are not fully reflected in the quarterly NAV. As a result, the published per share NAV may not fully reflect changes in value that may have occurred since the prior quarterly valuation. Furthermore, our independent valuer and advisor will monitor our portfolio, but it may be difficult to reflect changing market conditions or material events that may impact the value of our portfolio between quarters, or to obtain timely complete information regarding any such events. Therefore, the per share NAV published before the announcement of an extraordinary event may differ significantly from the NAV which takes into account the extraordinary event. Any resulting disparity may benefit the selling or non-selling stockholders or purchasers.

Stockholders’ interest in us will be diluted if the price we pay in respect of shares repurchased under our share repurchase program exceeds the net asset value of such shares.

The prices we may pay for shares repurchased under our share repurchase program may exceed the NAV of such shares at the time of repurchase, which will reduce the NAV of the remaining shares.

If we internalize our management functions, we may be unable to obtain key personnel, and our ability to achieve our investment objectives could be delayed or hindered.

We may engage in an internalization transaction and become self-managed in the future. If we internalize our management functions, certain key employees may not become our employees, but may instead remain employees of our advisor or its affiliates. An inability to manage an internalization transaction effectively could thus result in our incurring additional costs and suffering deficiencies in our disclosure controls and procedures or our internal control over financial reporting. Such deficiencies could cause us to incur additional costs and our management’s attention could be diverted from most effectively managing our investments, which could result in us being sued and incurring litigation-associated costs in connection with the internalization transaction.

Our business could suffer in the event our advisor and our sub-property manager or any other party that provides us with services essential to our operations experiences system failures or cyber incidents or a deficiency in cybersecurity.

Despite system redundancy, the implementation of security measures and the existence of a disaster recovery plan for the internal information technology systems of our advisor, our sub-property manager and other parties that provide us with services essential to our operations are vulnerable to damages from any number of sources, including computer viruses, unauthorized access, energy blackouts, natural disasters, terrorism, war and telecommunication failures. Any system failure or accident that causes interruptions in our operations could result in a material disruption to our business.

A cyber incident is considered to be any adverse event that threatens the confidentiality, integrity or availability of information resources. More specifically, a cyber incident is an intentional attack or an unintentional event that can include gaining unauthorized access to systems to disrupt operations, corrupt data or steal confidential information. As reliance on technology in our industry has increased, so have the risks posed to our systems, both internal and those we have outsourced. In addition, the risk of a cyber incident, including by computer hackers, foreign governments and cyber terrorists, has generally increased as the number, intensity and sophistication of attempted attacks and instructions from around the world have increased.

The remediation costs and lost revenues experienced by a victim of a cyber incident may be significant and significant resources may be required to repair system damage, protect against the threat of future security breaches or to alleviate problems, including reputational harm, loss of revenues and litigation, caused by any breaches. There also may be liability for any stolen assets or misappropriated confidential information. Although our advisor, our sub-property manager and other parties that provide us with services essential to our operations intend to continue to implement industry-standard security measures, there can be no assurance that those measures will be sufficient, and any material adverse effect experienced by our advisor, our sub-property manager and other parties that provide us with services essential to our operations could, in turn, have an adverse impact on us.

Risks Related to Conflicts of Interest

Our advisor and its affiliates, including some of our executive officers, directors and other key real estate professionals, face conflicts of interest caused by their compensation arrangements with us, which could result in actions that are not in the long-term best interests of our stockholders.

Our advisor and its affiliates receive fees from us, which could be substantial. These fees could influence our advisor’s advice to us as well as its judgment with respect to:

•	the continuation, renewal or enforcement of our agreements with affiliates of our sponsor, including the advisory agreement, the property management agreements and the sub-property management agreements between our property manager and sub-property manager;
•	public offerings of equity by us, which will likely entitle our advisor to increased acquisition fees and asset management subordinated deferred participation interests;
•	sales of properties and other investments to third parties, which entitle our advisor and the special limited partner to real estate commissions and possible subordinated incentive distributions, respectively;
•	acquisitions of properties and other investments from other programs sponsored directly or indirectly by the parent of our sponsor, which might entitle affiliates of our sponsor to real estate commissions and possible subordinated incentive fees and distributions in connection with its services for the seller;
•	acquisitions of properties and other investments from third parties and loan originations to third parties, which entitle our advisor to acquisition fees and asset management subordinated deferred participation interests;
•	borrowings to acquire properties and other investments and to originate loans, which borrowings generate financing coordination fees and increase the acquisition fees and asset management subordinated deferred participation interests payable to our advisor;
•	whether and when we seek to list our common stock on a national securities exchange, which listing could entitle the special limited partner to a subordinated incentive listing distribution; and
•	whether and when we seek to sell our company or its assets, which sale could entitle our advisor to a subordinated participation in net sales proceeds.

The fees our advisor receives in connection with transactions involving the acquisition of assets are based initially on the purchase price of the investment, including the amount of any loan originations, and are not based on the quality of the investment or the quality of the services rendered to us. This may influence our advisor to recommend riskier transactions to us, and our advisor may have an incentive to incur a high level of leverage. In addition, because the fees are based on the purchase price of the investment, it may create an incentive for our advisor to recommend that we purchase assets at higher prices.

In addition, from time to time, subject to the approval of a majority of our independent directors, we may engage one or more entities under common control with the parent of our sponsor or our advisor to provide services not provided under existing agreements that are outside of our ordinary course of operations which may create similar incentives. For example, in connection with the acquisition of the Grace Portfolio we entered into an agreement with an affiliate of our former dealer manager pursuant to which we paid a fee equal to $4.5 million, 0.25% of the total transaction value.

Our sub-property manager is an affiliate of our advisor and property manager and therefore we face conflicts of interest in determining whether to assign certain operating assets to our sub-property manager or an unaffiliated property manager.

Our sub-property manager is an affiliate of our advisor and property manager. Through December 31, 2015, 66 of the 136 hotel assets we have acquired are managed by our sub property manager and 70 of the hotel assets we have acquired are managed by third-party sub-property managers. As we acquire additional hotel assets, our advisor will decide whether they will be managed by our sub-property manager or by a

third-party sub-property manager. We also may replace any third-party sub-property manager of one of the hotels we currently own, subject to the consent of our lenders, if required.

For hotels that are managed by our sub-property manager, our management agreements with our property manager and our property manager’s related agreements with our sub-property manager have a 20-year term, renewing automatically for three five-year terms unless either party provides advance notice of non-renewal, and are generally only terminable by us prior to expiration for cause, including performance-related reasons. For hotels that are managed by a third-party sub-property manager, our management agreements with our property manager and our property manager’s related agreements with the applicable third party sub-property manager generally have an initial term of approximately one to five years, renewable at our option for one-year terms, and are generally terminable by us at any time subject to 60 – 90 days’ notice.

We pay a property management fee of up to 4.0% of the monthly gross receipts from the properties to our property manager. Our property manager in turn pays a portion of the property management fees to our sub-property manager or a third-party sub-property manager, as applicable.

Because our sub-property manager is affiliated with our advisor, our advisor faces certain conflicts of interest in making these decisions to the extent the terms of our arrangements with our sub-property manager are more favorable to our advisor and its affiliates, taken as a whole, than the terms of our arrangements with third-party sub-property managers.

Our sub-property manager will continue to operate as a hotel property manager and may face competing demands for its time.

Our sub-property manager will face competing demands for its time while it enters into management agreements with hotels not owned by us in the ordinary course of business. Because we intend to rely upon our sub-property manager for its underwriting and operating capabilities, we may be unable to identify potential acquisitions for our portfolio without the investment and underwriting advice provided by the professionals of our sub-property manager. Additionally, the operations of our hotels may be adversely affected by the competing demands for our sub-property manager’s time.

Our sponsor faces conflicts of interest relating to the acquisition of assets and such conflicts may not be resolved in our favor, meaning that we could invest in less attractive assets, which could limit our ability to pay distributions and reduce our stockholders’ overall investment return.

We rely on our sponsor and the executive officers and other key real estate professionals at our advisor and our sub-property manager to identify suitable investment opportunities for us. Several of the other key real estate professionals of our advisor are also the key real estate professionals at our sponsor and their other public programs. Many investment opportunities that are suitable for us may also be suitable for other programs sponsored directly or indirectly by the parent of our sponsor. Generally, our advisor will not pursue any opportunity to acquire any real estate properties or real estate-related loans and securities that are directly competitive with our investment strategies, unless and until the opportunity is first presented to us, subject to certain exceptions. For so long as we are externally advised, our charter provides that it will not be a proper purpose for us to purchase real estate or any significant asset related to real estate unless our advisor has recommended the investment to us. Thus, the executive officers and real estate professionals of our advisor could direct attractive investment opportunities to other entities or investors. Such events could result in us investing in properties that provide less attractive returns, which may reduce our ability to pay distributions.

We and other programs sponsored directly or indirectly by the parent of our sponsor also rely on these real estate professionals to supervise the property management and leasing of properties. If our advisor directs hotel brands to properties owned by another program sponsored directly or indirectly by the parent of our sponsor when they could direct such brands to our properties, our asset base may have more inherent risk than might otherwise be the case. Furthermore, our executive officers and key real estate professionals are not prohibited from engaging, directly or indirectly, in any business or from possessing interests in any other business venture or ventures, including businesses and ventures involved in the acquisition, development, ownership, leasing or sale of real estate investments. For a detailed description of the conflicts of interest that our sponsor and its affiliates face, see “Conflicts of Interest.”

Our sponsor, our officers, our advisor, our property manager, our sub-property manager and the real estate and other professionals assembled by our advisor face competing demands relating to their time, and this may cause our operations and an investment in our common stock to suffer.

We rely on our advisor, our property manager and our sub-property manager for the day-to-day operation of our business and the selection of our investments. These entities make major decisions affecting us, all under the direction of our board of directors. Our advisor and our sub-property manager rely on our sponsor and its respective affiliates to conduct our business. Principals of the parent of our sponsor are key executives in other programs sponsored directly or indirectly by the parent of our sponsor and hold an ownership interest in our sub-property manager. As a result of their interests in other programs sponsored directly or indirectly by the parent of our sponsor, their obligations to other investors and the fact that they engage in and they will continue to engage in other business activities, these individuals will continue to face conflicts of interest in allocating their time among us and other programs sponsored directly or indirectly by the parent of our sponsor and other business activities in which they are involved. Should our advisor breach its fiduciary duties to us by inappropriately devoting insufficient time or resources to our business, the returns on our investments, and the value of an investment in our common stock, may decline.

Our advisor and its affiliates face conflicts of interest relating to the incentive fee structure, which could result in actions that are not necessarily in the long-term best interests of our stockholders.

Under our advisory agreement and the limited partnership agreement of our operating partnership, or the partnership agreement, the special limited partner and its affiliates are entitled to fees, distributions and other amounts that are structured in a manner intended to provide incentives to our advisor perform in our best interests and in the best interests of our stockholders. However, because our advisor does not maintain a significant equity interest in us and is entitled to receive substantial minimum compensation regardless of performance, their interests are not wholly aligned with those of our stockholders. In that regard, our advisor could be motivated to recommend riskier or more speculative investments in order for us to generate the specified levels of performance or sales proceeds that would entitle the special limited partner to fees. In addition, the special limited partner and its affiliates’ entitlement to fees and distributions upon the sale of our assets and to participate in sale proceeds could result in our advisor recommending sales of our investments at the earliest possible time at which sales of investments would produce the level of return that would entitle the advisor and its affiliates to compensation relating to such sales, even if continued ownership of those investments might be in our best long-term interest. The partnership agreement requires us to pay a performance-based termination distribution to our advisor if we terminate the advisory agreement prior to the listing of our shares for trading on an exchange or, absent such listing, in respect of its participation in net sales proceeds. To avoid paying this fee, our independent directors may decide against terminating the advisory agreement prior to our listing of our shares or disposition of our investments even if, but for the termination distribution, termination of the advisory agreement would be in our best interest. In addition, the requirement to pay the distribution to the special limited partner at termination could cause us to make different investment or disposition decisions than we would otherwise make, in order to satisfy our obligation to pay the distribution to the terminated advisor. Moreover, our advisor has the right to terminate the advisory agreement upon a change of control of our company and thereby trigger the payment of the termination distribution, which could have the effect of delaying, deferring or preventing the change of control. In addition, the special limited partner will be entitled to an annual subordinated performance fee for any year in which our total return on stockholders’ capital exceeds 6.0% per annum. The special limited partner will be entitled to 15.0% of the amount in excess of such 6.0% per annum return, provided that the amount paid to the special limited partner does not exceed 10.0% of the aggregate total return for such year. Such distributions may be paid from any source, including DRIP proceeds, financing proceeds and cash flows from operations, and any payment of distributions from sources other than cash flows from operations could reduce the value of an investment in our common stock.

Our advisor faces conflicts of interest relating to joint ventures, which could result in a disproportionate benefit to the other venture partners at our expense and adversely affect the return on an investment in our common stock.

We may enter into joint ventures with other programs sponsored by the parent of our sponsor. Our advisor may have conflicts of interest in determining which program sponsored by the parent of our sponsor

should enter into any particular joint venture agreement. The co-venturer may have economic or business interests or goals that are or may become inconsistent with our business interests or goals. In addition, our advisor may face a conflict in structuring the terms of the relationship between our interest and the interests of the affiliated co-venturer and in managing the joint venture. Since our advisor and its affiliates may control both the affiliated co-venturer and, to a certain extent, us, agreements and transactions between the co-venturers with respect to any such joint venture will not have the benefit of arm’s-length negotiation of the type normally conducted between unrelated co-venturers, which may result in the co-venturer receiving benefits greater than the benefits that we receive.

Certain of our officers and directors face conflicts of interest related to the positions they hold with affiliated entities, which could hinder our ability to successfully implement our business strategy and to generate returns to our stockholders.

Certain of our executive officers and directors, including our executive chairman, William M. Kahane, also are officers of our advisor and other affiliated entities, including the other real estate programs sponsored by the group of companies affiliated with the parent of our sponsor. As a result, these individuals owe fiduciary duties to these other entities and their stockholders and limited partners, which fiduciary duties may conflict with the duties that they owe to us and our stockholders. Their loyalties to these other entities could result in actions or inactions that are detrimental to our business, which could harm the implementation of our business strategy and our investment and leasing opportunities. Conflicts with our business and interests are most likely to arise from involvement in activities related to: (a) allocation of new investments and management time and services between us and the other entities; (b) our purchase of properties from, or sale of properties to, affiliated entities; (c) the timing and terms of the investment in or sale of an asset; (d) investments with affiliates of our advisor; and (e) compensation to our advisor. If we do not successfully implement our business strategy, we may be unable to generate the cash needed to pay distributions to our stockholders and to maintain or increase the value of our assets.

Risks Related to Our Corporate Structure

We depend on our operating partnership and its subsidiaries for cash flow and are effectively structurally subordinated in right of payment to their obligations, which could adversely affect our ability to pay distributions to our stockholders.

We are a holding company with no business operations of our own. Our only significant assets are and will be the general and limited partnership interests of our operating partnership. We conduct, and intend to conduct, all of our business operations through our operating partnership. Accordingly, our only source of cash to pay our obligations is distributions from our operating partnership and its subsidiaries of their net earnings and cash flows. We cannot assure our stockholders that our operating partnership or its subsidiaries will be able to, or be permitted to, pay distributions to us that will enable us to pay distributions to our stockholders from cash flows from operations. Each of our operating partnership’s subsidiaries is a distinct legal entity and, under certain circumstances, legal and contractual restrictions may limit our ability to obtain cash from such entities. In addition, our stockholder’s claims as stockholders will be structurally subordinated to all existing and future liabilities and obligations of our operating partnership and its subsidiaries. Therefore, in the event of our bankruptcy, liquidation or reorganization, our assets and those of our operating partnership and its subsidiaries will be able to satisfy our stockholder’s claims as stockholders only after all of our and our operating partnerships and its subsidiaries liabilities and obligations have been paid in full.

We established the offering price on an arbitrary basis; as a result, the actual value of an investment in a share of our common stock may be substantially less than what our stockholders pay for a share of our common stock.

Our board of directors has arbitrarily determined the offering price of the shares, and it is not based on any relationship to our book or asset values, or to any other established criteria for valuing issued or outstanding shares. The offering price is not indicative of the proceeds that our stockholders would receive upon liquidation or sale of their shares.

Future offerings of equity securities that are senior to our common stock for purposes of dividend distributions or upon liquidation may adversely affect the per share value of our common stock.

In the future, we may attempt to increase our capital resources by making additional offerings of equity securities. Under our charter, we may issue, without stockholder approval, preferred stock or other classes of common stock with rights that could dilute the value of an investment in shares of common stock. Any issuance of preferred stock must be approved by a majority of our independent directors not otherwise interested in the transaction, who will have access, at our expense, to our legal counsel or to independent legal counsel. Upon liquidation, holders of our shares of preferred stock will be entitled to receive our available assets prior to distribution to the holders of our common stock. Additionally, any convertible, exercisable or exchangeable securities that we issue in the future may have rights, preferences and privileges more favorable than those of our common stock and may result in dilution to owners of our common stock. Holders of our common stock are not entitled to preemptive rights or other protections against dilution. Our preferred stock, if issued, could have a preference on liquidating distributions or a preference on dividend payments that could limit our ability to pay dividends to the holders of our common stock. Because our decision to issue securities in any future offering will depend on market conditions and other factors beyond our control, we cannot predict or estimate the amount, timing or nature of our future offerings. Thus, our stockholders bear the risk of our future offerings reducing the per share value of our common stock and diluting their interest in us.

Because our advisor is wholly owned by our sponsor through the special limited partner, the interests of the advisor and the sponsor are not separate and as a result the advisor may act in a way that is not necessarily our stockholders’ interest.

Our advisor is indirectly wholly owned by our sponsor through the special limited partner. Therefore, the interests of our advisor and our sponsor are not separate and the advisor’s decisions may not be independent from the sponsor and may result in the advisor making decisions to act in ways that are not in our stockholders’ interests.

Our stockholders’ interests in us will be diluted if we issue additional shares, which could reduce the overall value of an investment in our common stock.

Our common stockholders do not have preemptive rights to any shares we issue in the future. Our charter authorizes us to issue 350,000,000 shares of capital stock, of which 300,000,000 shares are classified as common stock and 50,000,000 shares are classified as preferred stock. Our board may elect to (1) sell additional shares in this or future public offerings, (2) issue equity interests in private offerings, (3) issue share-based awards to our independent directors or to our officers or employees or to the officers or employees of our advisor or any of its affiliates, (4) issue shares to our advisor, or its successors or assigns, in payment of an outstanding fee obligation or (5) issue shares of our common stock to sellers of properties or assets we acquire in connection with an exchange of limited partnership interests of the operating partnership. To the extent we issue additional equity interests, our stockholders’ percentage ownership interest in us will be diluted. In addition, depending upon the terms and pricing of any additional offerings and the value of our real estate investments, our investors may also experience dilution in the book value and fair value of their shares.

Payment of fees to our advisor and its affiliates reduces cash available for investment and distribution and increases the risk that our stockholders will not be able to recover the amount of their investment in our shares.

Our advisor, its affiliates and entities under common control with our advisor perform services for us in connection with the performance of transfer agency services, the selection and acquisition of our investments, the coordination of financing, the management and leasing of our properties, the administration of our other investments, as well as the performance of other administrative responsibilities for us including accounting services, transaction management services and investor relations. We pay them fees for these services, which could be substantial, which results in immediate dilution to the value of an investment in our common stock and reduces the amount of cash available for investment, repayment of indebtedness or distributions to stockholders.

The limit on the number of shares a person may own may discourage a takeover that could otherwise result in a premium price to our stockholders.

Our charter, with certain exceptions, authorizes our directors to take such actions as are necessary and desirable to preserve our qualification as a REIT. Unless exempted (prospectively or retroactively) by our board of directors, no person may own more than 9.8% in value of the aggregate of our outstanding shares of stock or more than 9.8% (in value or in number of shares, whichever is more restrictive) of any class or series of shares of our stock. This restriction may have the effect of delaying, deferring or preventing a change in control of us, including an extraordinary transaction (such as a merger, tender offer or sale of all or substantially all our assets) that might provide a premium price for holders of our common stock. See the section entitled “Description of Securities — Restrictions on Ownership and Transfer” in this prospectus.

Our charter permits our board of directors to issue stock with terms that may subordinate the rights of common stockholders or discourage a third party from acquiring us in a manner that might result in a premium price to our stockholders.

Our charter permits our board of directors to issue up to 350,000,000 shares of stock. In addition, our board of directors, without any action by our stockholders, may amend our charter from time to time to increase or decrease the aggregate number of shares or the number of shares of any class or series of stock that we have authority to issue. Our board of directors may classify or reclassify any unissued common stock or preferred stock into other classes or series of stock and establish the preferences, conversion or other rights, voting powers, restrictions, limitations as to dividends or other distributions, qualifications and terms or conditions of redemption of any such stock. Thus, our board of directors could authorize the issuance of preferred stock with terms and conditions that could have a priority as to distributions and amounts payable upon liquidation over the rights of the holders of our common stock. Preferred stock could also have the effect of delaying, deferring or preventing a change in control of us, including an extraordinary transaction (such as a merger, tender offer or sale of all or substantially all our assets) that might provide a premium price for holders of our common stock.

Maryland law prohibits certain business combinations, which may make it more difficult for us to be acquired and may limit our stockholder’s ability to exit the investment.

Under Maryland law, “business combinations” between a Maryland corporation and an interested stockholder or an affiliate of an interested stockholder are prohibited for five years after the most recent date on which the interested stockholder becomes an interested stockholder. These business combinations include a merger, consolidation, share exchange or, in circumstances specified in the statute, an asset transfer or issuance or reclassification of equity securities. An interested stockholder is defined as:

•	any person who beneficially owns, directly or indirectly, 10% or more of the voting power of the corporation’s outstanding voting stock; or
•	an affiliate or associate of the corporation who, at any time within the two-year period prior to the date in question, was the beneficial owner of 10% or more of the voting power of the then outstanding stock of the corporation.

A person is not an interested stockholder under the statute if our board of directors approved in advance the transaction by which the person otherwise would have become an interested stockholder. However, in approving a transaction, our board of directors may provide that its approval is subject to compliance, at or after the time of the approval, with any terms and conditions determined by our board of directors.

After the five-year prohibition, any such business combination between the Maryland corporation and an interested stockholder generally must be recommended by our board of directors of the corporation and approved by the affirmative vote of at least:

•	80% of the votes entitled to be cast by holders of outstanding shares of voting stock of the corporation; and
•	two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast by holders of voting stock of the corporation other than shares held by the interested stockholder with whom or with whose affiliate the business combination is to be effected or held by an affiliate or associate of the interested stockholder.

These super-majority vote requirements do not apply if the corporation’s common stockholders receive a minimum price, as defined under Maryland law, for their shares in the form of cash or other consideration in the same form as previously paid by the interested stockholder for its shares. The business combination statute permits various exemptions from its provisions, including business combinations that are exempted by the board of directors prior to the time that the interested stockholder becomes an interested stockholder. Pursuant to the statute, our board of directors has exempted any business combination involving our advisor or any affiliate of our advisor. Consequently, the five-year prohibition and the super-majority vote requirements will not apply to business combinations between us and our advisor or any affiliate of our advisor, including other REITs sponsored by affiliates of our sponsor. As a result, our advisor and any affiliate of our advisor may be able to enter into business combinations with us that may not be in the best interest of our stockholders, without compliance with the super-majority vote requirements and the other provisions of the statute. The business combination statute may discourage others from trying to acquire control of us and increase the difficulty of consummating any offer. For a more detailed discussion of the Maryland laws governing us and the ownership of our shares of common stock, see the section of this prospectus captioned “Description of Securities — Business Combinations.”

Maryland law limits the ability of a third party to buy a large stake in us and exercise voting power in electing directors, which may discourage a takeover that could otherwise result in a premium price to our stockholders.

The Maryland Control Share Acquisition Act provides that a holder of “control shares” of a Maryland corporation acquired in a “control share acquisition” has no voting rights with respect to such shares except to the extent approved by the affirmative vote of stockholders entitled to cast two-thirds of the votes entitled to be cast on the matter. Shares of stock owned by the acquirer, by officers or by employees who are directors of the acquiror, are excluded from shares entitled to vote on the matter. “Control shares” are voting shares of stock which, if aggregated with all other shares of stock owned by the acquirer or in respect of which the acquirer can exercise or direct the exercise of voting power (except solely by virtue of a revocable proxy), would entitle the acquirer to exercise voting power in electing directors within specified ranges of voting power. Control shares do not include shares the acquiring person is then entitled to vote as a result of having previously obtained stockholder approval or shares acquired directly from the corporation. A “control share acquisition” means, subject to certain exceptions, the acquisition of issued and outstanding control shares. The control share acquisition statute does not apply (a) to shares acquired in a merger, consolidation or share exchange if the corporation is a party to the transaction, or (b) to acquisitions approved or exempted by the charter or bylaws of the corporation. Our bylaws contain a provision exempting from the Maryland Control Share Acquisition Act any and all acquisitions of our stock by any person. There can be no assurance that this provision will not be amended or eliminated at any time in the future. For a more detailed discussion on the Maryland laws governing control share acquisitions, see the section of this prospectus captioned “Description of Securities — Control Share Acquisitions.”

We have disclosed funds from operations and modified funds from operations, each a non-GAAP financial measure, in communications with investors, including documents filed with the SEC; however, funds from operations and modified funds from operation are not equivalent to our net income or loss as determined under GAAP, and our stockholders should consider GAAP measures to be more relevant to our operating performance.

We will use, and we have disclosed to investors, FFO and modified funds from operations, or MFFO, which are non-GAAP financial measures. FFO and MFFO are not equivalent to our net income or loss as determined in accordance with GAAP, and investors should consider GAAP measures to be more relevant to evaluating our operating performance. FFO and MFFO and GAAP net income differ because FFO and MFFO exclude gains or losses from sales of property and asset impairment write-downs, and add back depreciation and amortization and adjust for unconsolidated partnerships and joint ventures. MFFO further excludes acquisition-related expenses, amortization of above- and below-market leases, fair value adjustments of derivative financial instruments, deferred rent receivables and the adjustments of such items related to non-controlling interests.

Because of the differences between FFO and MFFO and GAAP net income or loss, FFO and MFFO may not be accurate indicators of our operating performance, especially during periods in which we are acquiring properties. In addition, FFO and MFFO are not indicative of cash flow available to fund cash needs and investors should not consider FFO and MFFO as alternatives to cash flows from operations or an indication of our liquidity, or indicative of funds available to fund our cash needs, including our ability to pay distributions to our stockholders. Neither the SEC nor any other regulatory body has passed judgment on the acceptability of the adjustments that we use to calculate FFO and MFFO. Also, because not all companies calculate FFO and MFFO the same way, comparisons with other companies may not be meaningful.

We are an “emerging growth company” under the federal securities laws and will be subject to reduced public company reporting requirements.

In April 2012, President Obama signed into law the Jumpstart Our Business Startups Act, or the JOBS Act. We are an “emerging growth company,” as defined in the JOBS Act, and are eligible to take advantage of certain exemptions from, or reduced disclosure obligations relating to, various reporting requirements that are normally applicable to public companies.

We could remain an “emerging growth company” for up to five years, or until the earliest of (1) the last day of the first fiscal year in which we have total annual gross revenue of $1 billion or more, (2) December 31 of the fiscal year that we become a “large accelerated filer” as defined in Rule 12b-2 under the Exchange Act (which would occur if the market value of our common stock held by non-affiliates exceeds $700 million, measured as of the last business day of our most recently completed second fiscal quarter, and we have been publicly reporting for at least 12 months) or (3) the date on which we have issued more than $1 billion in non-convertible debt during the preceding three-year period. Under the JOBS Act, emerging growth companies are not required to (1) provide an auditor’s attestation report on management’s assessment of the effectiveness of internal control over financial reporting, pursuant to Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, (2) comply with new audit rules adopted by the PCAOB after April 5, 2012 (unless the SEC determines otherwise), (3) provide certain disclosures relating to executive compensation generally required for larger public companies or (4) hold shareholder advisory votes on executive compensation. We have not yet made a decision as to whether to take advantage of any or all of the JOBS Act exemptions that are applicable to us. If we do take advantage of any of these exemptions, we do not know if some investors will find our common stock less attractive as a result.

Additionally, the JOBS Act provides that an “emerging growth company” may take advantage of an extended transition period for complying with new or revised accounting standards that have different effective dates for public and private companies. This means an “emerging growth company” can delay adopting certain accounting standards until such standards are otherwise applicable to private companies. However, we are electing to “opt out” of such extended transition period, and will therefore comply with new or revised accounting standards on the applicable dates on which the adoption of such standards is required for non-emerging growth companies. Section 107 of the JOBS Act provides that our decision to opt out of such extended transition period for compliance with new or revised accounting standards is irrevocable.

The return on an investment in our common stock may be reduced if we are required to register as an investment company under the Investment Company Act.

We are not registered, and do not intend to register ourselves or any of our subsidiaries, as an investment company under the Investment Company Act. If we become obligated to register ourselves or any of our subsidiaries as an investment company, the registered entity would have to comply with a variety of substantive requirements under the Investment Company Act imposing, among other things:

•	limitations on capital structure;
•	restrictions on specified investments;
•	prohibitions on transactions with affiliates; and
•	requirements to comply with reporting, record keeping, voting, proxy disclosure and other rules and regulations that would significantly change our operations.

We intend to conduct our operations, directly and through wholly or majority-owned subsidiaries, so that we and each of our subsidiaries is not an investment company under the Investment Company Act. Under Section 3(a)(1)(A) of the Investment Company Act, a company is deemed to be an “investment company” if it is, or holds itself out as being, engaged primarily, or proposes to engage primarily, in the business of investing, reinvesting or trading in securities. Under Section 3(a)(1)(C) of the Investment Company Act, a company is deemed to be an “investment company” if it is engaged, or proposes to engage, in the business of investing, reinvesting, owning, holding or trading in securities and owns or proposes to acquire “investment securities” having a value exceeding 40% of the value of its total assets (exclusive of government securities and cash items) on an unconsolidated basis, which we refer to as the “40% test.” “Investment securities” excludes (A) government securities, (B) securities issued by employees’ securities companies, and (C) securities issued by majority-owned subsidiaries which (i) are not investment companies, and (ii) are not relying on the exception from the definition of investment company under Section 3(c)(1) or 3(c)(7) of the Investment Company Act.

Since we will be primarily engaged in the business of acquiring real estate, we believe that our company and most, if not all, of its wholly and majority-owned subsidiaries will not be considered investment companies under either Section 3(a)(1)(A) or Section 3(a)(1)(C) of the Investment Company Act. If we or any of our wholly or majority-owned subsidiaries would ever inadvertently fall within one of the definitions of “investment company,” we intend to rely on the exception provided by Section 3(c)(5)(C) of the Investment Company Act.

Under Section 3(c)(5)(C), the SEC staff generally requires our company to maintain at least 55% of its assets directly in qualifying assets and at least 80% of the entity’s assets in qualifying assets and in a broader category of real estate related assets to qualify for this exception. Mortgage-related securities may or may not constitute such qualifying assets, depending on the characteristics of the mortgage-related securities, including the rights that we have with respect to the underlying loans. Our ownership of mortgage-related securities, therefore, is limited by provisions of the Investment Company Act and SEC staff interpretations.

The method we use to classify our assets for purposes of the Investment Company Act will be based in large measure upon no-action positions taken by the SEC staff in the past. These no-action positions were issued in accordance with factual situations that may be substantially different from the factual situations we may face, and a number of these no-action positions were issued more than ten years ago. No assurance can be given that the SEC staff will concur with our classification of our assets. In addition, the SEC staff may, in the future, issue further guidance that may require us to re-classify our assets for purposes of qualifying for an exclusion from regulation under the Investment Company Act. If we are required to re-classify our assets, we may no longer be in compliance with the exclusion from the definition of an “investment company” provided by Section 3(c)(5)(C) of the Investment Company Act.

A change in the value of any of our assets could cause us or one or more of our wholly or majority-owned subsidiaries to fall within the definition of “investment company” and negatively affect our ability to maintain our exemption from regulation under the Investment Company Act. To avoid being required to register our company or any of its subsidiaries as an investment company under the Investment Company Act, we may be unable to sell assets we would otherwise want to sell and may need to sell assets we would otherwise wish to retain. In addition, we may have to acquire additional income- or loss-generating assets that we might not otherwise have acquired or may have to forgo opportunities to acquire interests in companies that we would otherwise want to acquire and would be important to our investment strategy.

If we were required to register our company as an investment company but failed to do so, we would be prohibited from engaging in our business, and civil actions could be brought against us. In addition, our contracts would be unenforceable unless a court required enforcement, and a court could appoint a receiver to take control of us and liquidate our business.

Our stockholders have limited voting rights under our charter and Maryland law.

Pursuant to Maryland law and our charter, our stockholders are entitled to vote only on the following matters without concurrence of the board: (a) election or removal of directors; (b) amendment of the charter, as provided in Article XIII of the charter; (c) dissolution of us; and (d) to the extent required under Maryland law, merger or consolidation of us or the sale or other disposition of all or substantially all of our assets. With

respect to all other matters, our board of directors must first adopt a resolution declaring that a proposed action is advisable and direct that such matter be submitted to our stockholders for approval or ratification. These limitations on voting rights may limit our stockholders’ ability to influence decisions regarding our business.

Our board of directors may change our investment policies without stockholder approval, which could alter the nature of our stockholder’s investments.

Our charter requires that our independent directors review our investment policies at least annually to determine that the policies we are following are in the best interest of the stockholders. These policies may change over time. The methods of implementing our investment policies also may vary as the commercial debt markets change, new real estate development trends emerge and new investment techniques are developed. Our investment policies, the methods for their implementation, and our other objectives, policies and procedures may be altered by our board of directors without the approval of our stockholders. We may make adjustments to our portfolio based on real estate market conditions and investment opportunities, and we may change our targeted investments and investment guidelines at any time without the consent of our stockholders, which could result in our making investments that are different from, and possibly riskier than, our current investments. As a result, the nature of our stockholder’s investments could change without their consent. A change in our investments or investment guidelines may increase our exposure to interest rate risk, default risk and real estate market fluctuations, all of which could adversely affect the value of our common stock and our ability to pay distributions to our stockholders.

Risks Related to Investments in Real Estate

Our operating results will be affected by economic and regulatory changes that have an adverse impact on the real estate market in general, and we cannot assure our stockholders that we will be profitable or that we will realize growth in the value of our real estate properties.

Our operating results are subject to risks generally incident to the ownership of real estate, including:

•	changes in general economic or local conditions;
•	changes in supply of or demand for similar or competing properties in an area;
•	changes in interest rates and availability of permanent mortgage funds that may render the sale of a property difficult or unattractive;
•	changes in tax, real estate, environmental and zoning laws; and
•	periods of high interest rates and tight money supply.

These and other reasons may prevent us from being profitable or from realizing growth or maintaining the value of our real estate properties.

A prolonged economic slowdown, a lengthy or severe recession or declining real estate values could harm our investments.

Our investments may be susceptible to economic slowdowns or recessions, which could lead to financial losses and a decrease in revenues, earnings and assets. An economic slowdown or recession, in addition to other non-economic factors such as an excess supply of properties, could have a material negative impact on the values of our investments. Declining real estate values will reduce the value of our properties, as well as our ability to refinance our properties and use the value of our existing properties to support the purchase or investment in additional properties. A severe weakening of the economy or a recession could also lead to lower occupancy, which could create an oversupply of rooms resulting in reduced rates to maintain occupancy. There can be no assurance that our real estate investments will not be adversely impacted by a severe slowing of the economy or a recession. Fluctuations in interest rates, limited availability of capital and other economic conditions beyond our control could negatively impact our portfolio and decrease the value of an investment in our common stock.

We may obtain only limited warranties when we purchase a property and would have only limited recourse if our due diligence did not identify any issues that lower the value of our property, which could adversely affect our financial condition and ability to pay distributions to our stockholders.

The seller of a property often sells such property in its “as is” condition on a “where is” basis and “with all faults,” without any warranties of merchantability or fitness for a particular use or purpose. In addition, purchase agreements may contain only limited warranties, representations and indemnifications that will only survive for a limited period after the closing. The purchase of properties with limited warranties increases the risk that we may lose some or all our invested capital in the property as well as the loss of income from that property.

Our inability to sell a property when we desire to do so could adversely impact our ability to pay cash distributions to our stockholders.

The real estate market is affected by many factors, such as general economic conditions, availability of financing, interest rates and other factors, including supply and demand, that are beyond our control. We cannot predict whether we will be able to sell any property for the price or on the terms set by us, or whether any price or other terms offered by a prospective purchaser would be acceptable to us. We cannot predict the length of time needed to find a willing purchaser and to close the sale of a property. In addition, the indebtedness securing our properties may prohibit sales during a certain period of time or require payment of a release price to the lender in connection with the sale which will reduce the proceeds we are able to generate from such sale. Restrictions on sale included in our indebtedness could also limit our ability to sell properties.

We may be required to expend funds to correct defects or to make improvements before a property can be sold. We cannot assure our stockholders that we will have funds available to correct such defects or to make such improvements. Moreover, in acquiring a property, we may agree to restrictions that prohibit the sale of that property for a period of time or impose other restrictions, such as a limitation on the amount of debt that can be placed or repaid on that property. These provisions would restrict our ability to sell a property.

We may not be able to sell our properties at a price equal to, or greater than, the price for which we purchased such property, which may lead to a decrease in the value of our assets.

The value of a property to a potential purchaser may not increase over time, which may restrict our ability to sell a property, or if we are able to sell such property, may lead to a sale price less than the price that we paid to purchase the property.

We may acquire or finance properties with lock-out provisions, which may prohibit us from selling properties, which could have an adverse effect on our stockholder’s investments.

Lock-out provisions, which are included in our current indebtedness and may be included in our future indebtedness, could materially restrict us from selling or otherwise disposing of or refinancing properties. For example, these provisions may prohibit us or restrict us from prepaying all or a portion of the debt for a period of time or may require us to maintain specified debt levels for a period of time on some or all properties, or may prohibit or restrict us from releasing properties from the lender’s liens. These provisions affect our ability to turn our investments into cash and thus affect cash available for distributions to our stockholders. Lock-out provisions could also impair our ability to take other actions during the lock-out period that could be in the best interests of our stockholders and, therefore, may have an adverse impact on the value of our shares, relative to the value that would result if the lock-out provisions did not exist. In particular, lock-out provisions could preclude us from participating in major transactions that could result in a disposition of our assets or a change in control even though that disposition or change in control might be in the best interests of our stockholders.

If we are found to be in breach of a ground lease or are unable to renew a ground lease, we could be materially and adversely affected.

Eight of the hotels in the Grace Portfolio are on land subject to ground leases. Accordingly, we only own a long-term leasehold or similar interest in those hotels, and we have no economic interest in the land or

buildings at the expiration of the ground lease or permit and will not share in the income stream derived from the lease or permit or in any increase in value of the land associated with the underlying property.

If we are found to be in breach of a ground lease, we could lose the right to use the hotel. We could also be in default under the Grace Indebtedness. In addition, unless we can purchase a fee interest in the underlying land and improvements or extend the terms of these leases before their expiration, as to which no assurance can be given, we will lose our right to operate these properties and our interest in the improvements upon expiration of the leases. Our ability to exercise any extension options relating to our ground leases is subject to the condition that we are not in default under the terms of the ground lease at the time that we exercise such options, and we can provide no assurances that we will be able to exercise any available options at such time. Our ability to exercise any extension option is further subject to conditions contained in the Grace Indebtedness. Furthermore, we can provide no assurances that we will be able to renew any ground lease upon its expiration. If we were to lose the right to use a hotel due to a breach or non-renewal of the ground lease, we would be unable to derive income from such hotel and would be required to purchase an interest in another hotel to attempt to replace that income, which could materially and adversely affect us.

We may be unable to adjust our portfolio in response to changes in economic or other conditions or sell a property if or when we decide to do so, limiting our ability to pay cash distributions to our stockholders.

Many factors that are beyond our control affect the real estate market and could affect our ability to sell properties for the price, on the terms or within the time frame that we desire. These factors include general economic conditions, the availability of financing, interest rates and other factors, including supply and demand.

Because real estate investments are relatively illiquid, we have a limited ability to vary our portfolio in response to changes in economic or other conditions. Further, before we can sell a property on the terms we want, it may be necessary to expend funds to correct defects or to make improvements. However, we can give no assurance that we will have the funds available to correct such defects or to make such improvements. We may be unable to sell our properties at a profit. Our inability to sell properties at the time and on the terms we want could reduce our cash flow and limit our ability to pay distributions to our stockholders and could reduce the value of an investment in our common stock. Moreover, we agreed to restrictions under our indebtedness that prohibit the sale of properties at all or unless certain conditions have been met, including the payment of release prices, the maintenance of financial ratios and/or the payment of yield maintenance premiums. We may agree to similar restrictions, or other restrictions, such as a limitation on the amount of debt that can be placed or repaid on a property, with respect to other properties in the future. We cannot predict the length of time needed to find a willing purchaser and to close the sale of a property. Our inability to sell a property when we desire to do so may cause us to reduce our selling price for the property. Any delay in our receipt of proceeds, or diminishment of proceeds, from the sale of a property could adversely impact our ability to pay distributions to our stockholders.

If we sell a property by providing financing to the purchaser, we will bear the risk of default by the purchaser, which could delay or reduce the distributions available to our stockholders.

If we decide to sell any of our properties, in some instances, we may sell our properties by providing financing to purchasers. When we provide financing to a purchaser, we will bear the risk that the purchaser may default, which could reduce our cash distributions to stockholders. Even in the absence of a purchaser default, the distribution of the proceeds of the sale to our stockholders, or the reinvestment of the proceeds in other assets, will be delayed until the promissory notes or other property we may accept upon a sale are actually paid, sold, refinanced or otherwise disposed. In some cases, we may receive initial down payments in cash and other property in the year of sale in an amount less than the selling price, and subsequent payments will be spread over a number of years. If any purchaser defaults under a financing arrangement with us, it could negatively impact our ability to pay cash distributions to our stockholders.

Joint venture investments could be adversely affected by our lack of sole decision-making authority, our reliance on the financial condition of co-venturers and disputes between us and our co-venturers.

We may enter into joint ventures, partnerships and other co-ownership arrangements (including preferred equity investments) for the purpose of making investments. In such event, we would not be in a position to

exercise sole decision-making authority regarding the joint venture. Investments in joint ventures may, under certain circumstances, involve risks not present were a third party not involved, including the possibility that partners or co-venturers might become bankrupt or fail to fund their required capital contributions. Co-venturers may have economic or other business interests or goals which are inconsistent with our business interests or goals, and may be in a position to take actions contrary to our policies or objectives. Such investments may also have the potential risk of impasses on decisions, such as a sale, because neither we nor the co-venturer would have full control over the joint venture. In addition, to the extent our participation represents a minority interest, a majority of the participants may be able to take actions which are not in our best interests because of our lack of full control. Disputes between us and co-venturers may result in litigation or arbitration that would increase our expenses and prevent our officers and/or directors from focusing their time and effort on our business. Consequently, actions by or disputes with co-venturers might result in subjecting properties owned by the joint venture to additional risk. In addition, we may in certain circumstances be liable for the actions of our co-venturers.

Covenants, conditions and restrictions may restrict our ability to operate a property, which may adversely affect our operating costs and reduce the amount of funds available to pay distributions to our stockholders.

Some of our properties may be contiguous to other parcels of real property, comprising part of the same commercial center. In connection with such properties, there are significant covenants, conditions and restrictions or CC&Rs, restricting the operation of such properties and any improvements on such properties, and related to granting easements on such properties. Moreover, the operation and management of the contiguous properties may impact such properties. Compliance with CC&Rs may adversely affect our operating costs and reduce the amount of funds that we have available to pay distributions.

Our operating expenses may increase in the future which could cause us to raise our room rates, depleting room occupancy and thereby decreasing our cash flow and our operating results.

Operating expenses, such as expenses for fuel, utilities, labor and insurance, are not fixed and may increase in the future. To the extent such increases affect our room rates and therefore our room occupancy at our lodging properties, our cash flow and operating results may be negatively affected.

Our real properties are subject to property taxes that may increase in the future, which could adversely affect our cash flow.

Our real properties are subject to real property taxes that may increase as tax rates change and as the real properties are assessed or reassessed by taxing authorities. If we fail to pay any such taxes, the applicable taxing authority may place a lien on the real property and the real property may be subject to a tax sale.

Uninsured losses relating to real property or excessively expensive premiums for insurance coverage, including due to the non-renewal of the Terrorism Risk Insurance Act of 2002, or the TRIA, could reduce our cash flows and the return on an investment in our common stock.

There are types of losses, generally catastrophic in nature, such as losses due to wars, acts of terrorism, earthquakes, floods, hurricanes, pollution or environmental matters, that are uninsurable or not economically insurable, or may be insured subject to limitations, such as large deductibles or co-payments. Insurance risks associated with such catastrophic events could sharply increase the premiums we pay for coverage against property and casualty claims.

This risk is particularly relevant with respect to potential acts of terrorism. The TRIA, under which the U.S. federal government bears a significant portion of insured losses caused by terrorism, will expire on December 31, 2020, and there can be no assurance that Congress will act to renew or replace the TRIA following its expiration. In the event that the TRIA is not renewed or replaced, terrorism insurance may become difficult or impossible to obtain at reasonable costs, or at all, which may result in adverse impacts and additional costs to us.

Changes in the cost or availability of insurance due to the non-renewal of the TRIA or for other reasons could expose us to uninsured casualty losses. If any of our properties incurs a casualty loss that is not fully

insured, the value of our assets will be reduced by any such uninsured loss, which may reduce the value of an investment in our common stock. In addition, other than any working capital reserve or other reserves we may establish, we have no source of funding to repair or reconstruct any uninsured property. Also, to the extent we must pay unexpectedly large amounts for insurance, we could suffer reduced earnings that would result in lower distributions to stockholders.

Additionally, mortgage lenders insist in some cases that commercial property owners purchase coverage against terrorism as a condition for providing mortgage loans. Accordingly, to the extent terrorism risk insurance policies are not available at reasonable costs, if at all, our ability to finance or refinance our properties could be impaired. In such instances, we may be required to provide other financial support, either through financial assurances or self-insurance, to cover potential losses. We may not have adequate, or any, coverage for such losses.

Terrorist attacks and other acts of violence, civilian unrest, or war may affect the markets in which we operate our business and our profitability.

We may acquire real estate assets located in major metropolitan areas as well as densely populated sub-markets that are susceptible to terrorist attack. In addition, any kind of terrorist activity or violent criminal acts, including terrorist acts against public institutions or buildings or modes of public transportation (including airlines, trains or buses) could have a negative effect on our business. These events may directly impact the value of our assets through damage, destruction, loss or increased security costs. Although we may obtain terrorism insurance, we may not be able to obtain sufficient coverage to fund any losses we may incur. The TRIA, which was designed for a sharing of terrorism losses between insurance companies and the federal government, will expire on December 31, 2020, and there can be no assurance that Congress will act to renew or replace it. See “— Uninsured losses relating to real property or excessively expensive premiums for insurance coverage, including due to the non-renewal of the Terrorism Risk Insurance Act of 2002, or the TRIA, could reduce our cash flows and the return on an investment in our common stock.”

More generally, any terrorist attack, other act of violence or war, including armed conflicts, could result in increased volatility in, or damage to, the worldwide financial markets and economy. Increased economic volatility could adversely affect our hotel properties’ ability to conduct their operations profitably or our ability to borrow money or issue capital stock at acceptable prices and have a material adverse effect on our financial condition, results of operations and ability to pay distributions to our stockholders.

Competition with third parties in acquiring properties and other investments may reduce our profitability and the return on our stockholder’s investments.

We compete with many other entities engaged in real estate investment activities, including individuals, corporations, bank and insurance company investment accounts, other REITs, real estate limited partnerships, and other entities engaged in real estate investment activities, many of which have greater resources than we do. Larger REITs may enjoy significant competitive advantages that result from, among other things, a lower cost of capital and enhanced operating efficiencies. In addition, the number of entities and the amount of funds competing for suitable investments may increase. Any such increase would result in increased demand for these assets and therefore increased prices paid for them. If we pay higher prices for properties and other investments, our profitability will be reduced and our stockholders may experience a lower return on their investments.

Failure to succeed in new markets or in new property classes may have adverse consequences on our performance.

We may from time to time make acquisitions outside of our existing market areas or the property classes of our primary focus if appropriate opportunities arise. The experience of affiliates of our sponsor in our existing markets in owning and operating certain classes of property does not ensure that we will be able to operate successfully in new markets, should we choose to enter them, or that we will be successful in new property classes, should we choose to acquire them. We may be exposed to a variety of risks if we choose to enter new markets, including an inability to evaluate accurately local market conditions, to identify appropriate acquisition opportunities, or to hire and retain key personnel, and a lack of familiarity with local governmental

and permitting procedures. In addition, we may abandon opportunities to enter new markets or acquire new classes of property that we have begun to explore for any reason and may, as a result, fail to recover expenses already incurred.

We will be subject to additional risks if we make international investments.

We may purchase real estate assets located in Canada. Any international investments may be affected by factors peculiar to the laws of the jurisdiction in which the property is located. These laws may expose us to risks that are different from and in addition to those commonly found in the United States. Foreign investments could be subject to the following risks:

•	governmental laws, rules and policies, including laws relating to the foreign ownership of real property or mortgages and laws relating to the ability of foreign persons or corporations to remove profits earned from activities within the country to the person’s or corporation’s country of origin;
•	variations in currency exchange rates or exchange controls or other currency restrictions and fluctuations in exchange ratios related to foreign currency;
•	adverse market conditions caused by inflation or other changes in national or local economic conditions;
•	changes in relative interest rates;
•	changes in the availability, cost and terms of mortgage funds resulting from varying national economic policies;
•	changes in real estate and other tax rates, the tax treatment of transaction structures and other changes in operating expenses in a particular country where we have an investment;
•	lack of uniform accounting standards (including availability of information in accordance with GAAP);
•	changes in land use and zoning laws;
•	more stringent environmental laws or changes in these laws;
•	changes in the social stability or other political, economic or diplomatic developments in or affecting a country where we have an investment;
•	legal and logistical barriers to enforcing our contractual rights; and
•	expropriation, confiscatory taxation and nationalization of our assets located in the markets where we operate.

Any of these risks could have an adverse effect on our business, results of operations and ability to pay distributions to our stockholders.

Neither we nor our sponsor has any substantial experience investing in properties or other real estate-related assets located outside the United States.

Acquiring or attempting to acquire multiple properties in a single transaction may adversely affect our operations.

We acquired interests in 116 hotels in one transaction when we acquired the Grace Portfolio. We have also acquired 14 hotels in the SN Acquisitions and may acquire up to 15 additional hotels. From time to time, we may again attempt to acquire multiple properties in a single transaction. Portfolio acquisitions are more complex and expensive than single-property acquisitions, and the risk that a multiple-property acquisition does not close may be greater than in a single-property acquisition. Portfolio acquisitions also may result in us owning investments in geographically dispersed markets, placing additional demands on our ability to manage the properties in the portfolio. In addition, a seller may require that a group of properties be purchased as a package even though we may not want to purchase one or more properties in the portfolio. In these situations, if we are unable to identify another person or entity to acquire the unwanted properties, we may be required to operate or attempt to dispose of these properties. We may be required to accumulate a large amount of cash

in order to acquire multiple properties in a single transaction. We would expect the returns that we earn on such cash to be less than the ultimate returns in real property and therefore, accumulating such cash could reduce the funds available for distributions. Any of the foregoing events may have an adverse effect on our operations.

Our property manager’s, our sub-property manager’s or any of our third-party sub-property manager’s failure to integrate their subcontractors into their operations in an efficient manner could reduce the return on our stockholder’s investments.

Our property manager, our sub-property manager or our third-party sub-property manager may rely on multiple subcontractors for on-site property management of our properties. If our property manager, our sub-property manager or our third-party sub-property manager are unable to integrate these subcontractors into their operations in an efficient manner, our property manager, our sub-property manager or our third-party sub-property manager may have to expend substantial time and money coordinating with these subcontractors, which could have a negative impact on the revenues generated from such properties.

Discovery of previously undetected environmentally hazardous conditions may adversely affect our operating results.

Under various federal, state and local environmental laws, ordinances and regulations (including those of foreign jurisdictions), a current or previous owner or operator of real property may be liable for the cost of removal or remediation of hazardous or toxic substances on, under or in such property. The costs of removal or remediation could be substantial. Such laws often impose liability whether or not the owner or operator knew of, or was responsible for, the presence of such hazardous or toxic substances. Environmental laws also may impose restrictions on the manner in which property may be used or businesses may be operated, and these restrictions may require substantial expenditures. Environmental laws provide for sanctions for noncompliance and may be enforced by governmental agencies or, in certain circumstances, by private parties. Certain environmental laws and common law principles could be used to impose liability for release of and exposure to hazardous substances, including asbestos-containing materials into the air, and third parties may seek recovery from owners or operators of real properties for personal injury or property damage associated with exposure to released hazardous substances.

In addition, when excessive moisture accumulates in buildings or on building materials, mold growth may occur, particularly if the moisture problem remains undiscovered or is not addressed over a period of time. Some molds may produce airborne toxins or irritants. Concern about indoor exposure to mold has been increasing, as exposure to mold may cause a variety of adverse health effects and symptoms, including allergic or other reactions. As a result, the presence of significant mold at any of our projects could require us to undertake a costly remediation program to contain or remove the mold from the affected property, which would adversely affect our operating results.

The cost of defending against claims of liability, of compliance with environmental regulatory requirements, of remediating any contaminated property, or of paying personal injury claims could materially adversely affect our business, assets or results of operations and, consequently, amounts available for distribution to our stockholders.

Environmental laws also may impose liens on property or restrictions on the manner in which property may be used or businesses may be operated, and these restrictions may require substantial expenditures or prevent us, our property manager, our sub-property manager and third-party sub-property manager from operating such properties. Some of these laws and regulations have been amended so as to require compliance with new or more stringent standards as of future dates. Compliance with new or more stringent laws or regulations or stricter interpretation of existing laws may require us to incur material expenditures. Future laws, ordinances or regulations may impose material environmental liability.

Costs associated with complying with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 may decrease cash available for distributions.

Our properties may be subject to the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, as amended, or the Disabilities Act. Under the Disabilities Act, all places of public accommodation are required to comply with federal requirements related to access and use by disabled persons. The Disabilities Act has separate

compliance requirements for “public accommodations” and “commercial facilities” that generally require that buildings and services be made accessible and available to people with disabilities. The Disabilities Act’s requirements could require removal of access barriers and could result in the imposition of injunctive relief, monetary penalties or, in some cases, an award of damages. We will attempt to acquire properties that comply with the Disabilities Act or place the burden on the seller or other third party to ensure compliance with the Disabilities Act. We cannot assure our stockholders that we will be able to acquire properties or allocate responsibilities in this manner. Any of our funds used for Disabilities Act compliance will reduce our net income and the amount of cash available for distributions to our stockholders.

The failure of any bank in which we deposit our funds could reduce the amount of cash we have available to pay distributions and make additional investments.

We intend to diversify our cash and cash equivalents among several banking institutions in an attempt to minimize exposure to any one of these entities. However, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, or the FDIC, only insures amounts up to $250,000 per depositor per insured bank. We expect to have cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash deposited in certain financial institutions in excess of federally insured levels. If any of the banking institutions in which we have deposited funds ultimately fails, we may lose our deposits over $250,000. The loss of our deposits could reduce the amount of cash we have available to distribute or invest and could result in a decline in the value of an investment in our common stock.

Risks Related to the Lodging Industry

The hotel industry is very competitive and seasonal and has been affected by economic slowdowns, terrorist attacks and other world events.

The hotel industry is intensely competitive and seasonal in nature and has been affected by the recent economic slowdown, terrorist attacks, military activity in the Middle East, natural disasters and other world events impacting the global economy and the travel and hotel industries, and, as a result, our lodging properties may be adversely affected. Since the hotel industry is intensely competitive, our property manager and our sub-property manager may be unable to compete successfully. Additionally, if our competitors’ marketing strategies are more effective, our results of operations, financial condition and cash flows, including our ability to service debt and to pay distributions to our stockholders, may be adversely affected. Our lodging properties may continue to be affected by such events, including our hotel occupancy levels and average daily rates, and, as a result, our revenues may decrease or not increase to levels we expect.

Since we do not intend to operate our lodging properties, our revenues depend on the ability of our property manager, our sub-property manager and our third-party sub-property managers to compete successfully with other hotels. Some of our competitors may have substantially greater marketing and financial resources than we do. If our property manager, our sub-property manager and our third-party sub-property managers are unable to compete successfully or if our competitors’ marketing strategies are effective, our results of operations, financial condition, ability to service debt and ability to pay distributions to our stockholders may be adversely affected.

In addition, the seasonality of the hotel industry can be expected to cause quarterly fluctuations in our revenues and also may be adversely affected by factors outside our control, such as extreme or unexpectedly mild weather conditions or natural disasters, terrorist attacks or alerts, outbreaks of contagious diseases, airline strikes, economic factors and other considerations affecting travel. To the extent that cash flows from operations are insufficient during any quarter, due to temporary or seasonal fluctuations in revenues, we may attempt to borrow in order to pay distributions to our stockholders or be required to reduce other expenditures or distributions to stockholders.

Our hotels are subject to all the risks common to the hotel industry and subject to market conditions that affect all hotel properties.

All of the properties we own are hotels, subject to all the risks of the hotel industry. Adverse trends in the hotel industry could adversely affect hotel occupancy and the rates that can be charged for hotel rooms as well as hotel operating expenses, and generally include:

•	increases in supply of hotel rooms that exceed increases in demand;
•	increases in energy costs and other travel expenses that reduce business and leisure travel;
•	reduced business and leisure travel due to continued geo-political uncertainty, including terrorism;
•	reduced business and leisure travel from other countries to the United States, where all of our hotels are currently located (although we may, in the future, invest in hotels in Canada), due to the strength of the U.S. Dollar as compared to the currencies of other countries;
•	adverse effects of declines in general and local economic activity;
•	adverse effects of a downturn in the hotel industry; and
•	risks generally associated with the ownership of hotels and real estate, as discussed below.

We do not have control over the market and business conditions that affect the value of our lodging properties, and adverse changes with respect to such conditions could have an adverse effect on our results of operations, financial condition and cash flows. Hotel properties are subject to varying degrees of risk generally common to the ownership of hotels, many of which are beyond our control, including the following:

•	increased competition from other existing hotels in our markets;
•	new hotels entering our markets, which may adversely affect the occupancy levels and average daily rates of our lodging properties;
•	declines in business and leisure travel;
•	increases in energy costs, increased threat of terrorism, terrorist events, airline strikes or other factors that may affect travel patterns and reduce the number of business and leisure travelers;
•	increases in operating costs due to inflation and other factors that may not be offset by increased room rates;
•	unavailability of labor;
•	changes in, and the related costs of compliance with, governmental laws and regulations, fiscal policies and zoning ordinances;
•	inability to adapt to dominant trends in the hotel industry or introduce new concepts and products that take advantage of opportunities created by changing consumer spending patterns and demographics; and
•	adverse effects of international, national, regional and local economic and market conditions.

Adverse changes in any or all of these factors could have an adverse effect on our results of operations, financial condition and cash flows, thereby adversely impacting our ability to service debt and to pay distributions to our stockholders.

As a REIT, we cannot directly operate our lodging properties, which could adversely affect our results of operations, financial condition and our cash flows, which could impact our ability to service debt and pay distributions to our stockholders.

We cannot and do not directly operate our lodging properties and, as a result, our results of operations, financial position, ability to service debt and our ability to pay distributions to stockholders are dependent on the ability of our property manager and sub-property manager, and any third-party sub-property managers, to operate our hotel properties successfully. In order for us to satisfy certain REIT qualification rules, we cannot directly operate any lodging properties we may acquire or actively participate in the decisions affecting their

daily operations. Instead, through a taxable REIT subsidiary, we enter into property management agreements with our property manager, which in turn, enters into sub-property management agreements with a management company, which could be our sub-property manager or a third-party sub-property manager, or we lease our lodging properties to third-party tenants on a triple net lease basis. We cannot and will not control any such management company or tenants who operate and are responsible for maintenance and other day to day management of our lodging properties, including, but not limited to, the implementation of significant operating decisions. Thus, even if we believe our lodging properties are being operated inefficiently or in a manner that does not result in satisfactory operating results, we may not be able to require the management company or the tenants to change their method of operation of our lodging properties. Our results of operations, financial position, cash flows and our ability to service debt and to pay distributions to stockholders are, therefore, dependent on the ability of our sub-property manager and other third-party sub-property managers to operate our lodging properties successfully. Any negative publicity or other adverse developments that affect that operator and/or its affiliated brands generally may adversely affect our results of operations, financial condition, and consequently cash flows thereby impacting our ability to service debt, and to pay distributions to our stockholders. There can be no assurance that an affiliate of ours will manage any lodging properties we acquire.

We rely on our sub-property manager, and third-party sub-property managers, to establish and maintain adequate internal controls over financial reporting at our lodging properties. In doing so, our sub-property manager, and any third-party sub-property managers should have policies and procedures in place that allow it to effectively monitor and report to us the operating results of our lodging properties which ultimately are included in our consolidated financial statements. Because the operations of our lodging properties ultimately become a component of our consolidated financial statements, we evaluate the effectiveness of the internal controls over financial reporting at all our properties, including our lodging properties, in connection with the certifications we provide in our quarterly and annual reports on Form 10-Q and Form 10-K, respectively, pursuant to the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002. If such controls are not effective, the accuracy of the results of our operations that we report could be affected. Accordingly, our ability to conclude that, as a company, our internal controls are effective is significantly dependent upon the effectiveness of internal controls that our sub-property manager, and third-party sub-property managers, will implement at our lodging properties. It is possible that we could have a significant deficiency or material weakness as a result of the ineffectiveness of the internal controls at one or more of our lodging properties.

If we replace our sub-property manager or a tenant or terminate any third-party sub-property manager, we may be required by the terms of the relevant management agreement or lease to pay substantial termination fees, and we may experience significant disruptions at the affected lodging properties. We may not be able to make arrangements with a management company with substantial prior lodging experience in the future. If we experience such disruptions, it may adversely affect our results of operations, financial condition and our cash flows, including our ability to service debt and to pay distributions to our stockholders.

Our use of the taxable REIT subsidiary structure increases our expenses.

A taxable REIT subsidiary structure subjects us to the risk of increased lodging operating expenses. The performance of our taxable REIT subsidiaries will be based on the operations of our lodging properties. Our operating risks include not only changes in hotel revenues and changes to our taxable REIT subsidiaries’ ability to pay the rent due to us under the leases, but also increased hotel operating expenses, including, but not limited to, the following cost elements:

•	wage and benefit costs;
•	repair and maintenance expenses;
•	energy costs;
•	property taxes;
•	insurance costs; and
•	other operating expenses.

Any increases in one or more these operating expenses could have a significant adverse impact on our results of operations, cash flows and financial position.

The loss of a brand license could adversely affect our financial condition and results of operations.

All but one of our hotels operate under licensed brands pursuant to franchise agreements with hotel brand companies. We anticipate that the hotels we acquire in the future also will operate under licensed brands.

The maintenance of the brand licenses for our hotels is subject to the hotel brand companies’ operating standards and other terms and conditions, including the ability to require us to make capital expenditures. See “— Risks Related to an Investment in American Realty Capital Hospitality Trust, Inc. — In addition to other capital expenditures, we are required to make substantial capital expenditures pursuant to property improvement plans to comply with brand standards under our franchise agreements and to make regular deposits to partially reserve for these amounts under our indebtedness, and our ability to fund these obligations may be adversely impacted by the suspension of our primary initial public offering.”

If we were to lose a brand license, we would be required to re-brand the affected hotel(s). As a result, the underlying value of a particular hotel could decline significantly from the loss of associated name recognition, marketing support, participation in guest loyalty programs and the centralized system provided by the franchisor, which could require us to recognize an impairment on the hotel. Furthermore, the loss of a franchise license at a particular hotel could harm our relationship with the hotel brand company, which could impede our ability to operate other hotels under the same brand, limit our ability to obtain new franchise licenses from the franchisor in the future on favorable terms, or at all, and cause us to incur significant costs to obtain a new franchise license for the particular hotel (including a likely requirement of a property improvement plan for the new brand, a portion of the costs of which would be related solely to the change in brand rather than substantively improving the property). Moreover, the loss of a franchise license could also be an event of default under our indebtedness that secures the property if we are unable to find a suitable replacement. Accordingly, if we lose one or more franchise licenses, we could be materially and adversely affected.

Restrictive covenants and other provisions in franchise agreements could preclude us from taking actions with respect to the sale, refinancing or rebranding of a hotel that would otherwise be in our best interest.

Our franchise agreements are long-terms agreements with general prohibitions against or prohibitive payments for early termination and generally contain restrictive covenants and other provisions that do not provide us with flexibility to sell, refinance or rebrand a hotel without the consent of the franchisor. For example, the terms of some of these agreements may restrict our ability to sell a hotel unless the purchaser is not a competitor of the franchisor, enters into a replacement franchise agreement and meets specified other conditions. In addition, our franchise agreements restrict our ability to rebrand particular hotels without the consent of the franchisor, which could result in significant operational disruptions and litigation if we do not obtain the consent. We could be forced to pay consent or termination fees to franchisors (or litigate with them) under these agreements as a condition to changing franchise brands of our hotels (or, with respect to our property manager or sub-property manager, changing management), and these fees could deter us from taking actions that would otherwise be in our best interest or could cause us to incur substantial expense. In addition, our lenders generally must consent before we modify hotel management agreements or franchise agreements. Any default under a franchise agreement could also be a default under the indebtedness that secures the property.

There are risks associated with employing hotel employees.

We are generally subject to risks associated with the employment of hotel employees. The lodging properties we acquire are leased to one or more taxable REIT subsidiaries, which enter into property management agreements with our property manager, which, in turn, enters into sub-property management agreements with our sub-property manager or a third-party sub-property manager to operate the properties that we do not lease to a third party under a net lease. Hotel operating revenues and expenses for these properties are included in our consolidated results of operations. As a result, although we do not directly employ or manage the labor force at our lodging properties, we are subject to many of the costs and risks generally

associated with the hotel labor force. Our sub-property manager or a third-party sub-property manager is responsible for hiring and maintaining the labor force at each of our lodging properties and for establishing and maintaining the appropriate processes and controls over such activities. From time to time, the operations of our lodging properties may be disrupted through strikes, public demonstrations or other labor actions and related publicity. We may also incur increased legal costs and indirect labor costs as a result of the aforementioned disruptions, or contract disputes or other events. Our sub-property manager or a third-party sub-property manager may be targeted by union actions or adversely impacted by the disruption caused by organizing activities. Significant adverse disruptions caused by union activities or increased costs affiliated with such activities could materially and adversely affect our results of operations, financial condition and our cash flows, including our ability to service debt and pay distributions to our stockholders.

The expanding use of internet travel websites by customers can adversely affect our profitability.

The increasing use of internet travel intermediaries by consumers may experience fluctuations in operating performance during the year and otherwise adversely affect our profitability and cash flows. Our sub-property manager and our third-party sub-property managers will rely upon Internet travel intermediaries such as Travelocity.com, Expedia.com, Orbitz.com, Hotels.com and Priceline.com to generate demand for our lodging properties. As Internet bookings increase, these intermediaries may be able to obtain higher commissions, reduced room rates or other significant contract concessions from our sub-property manager or our third-party sub-property managers. Moreover, some of these Internet travel intermediaries are attempting to offer hotel rooms as a commodity, by increasing the importance of price and general indicators of quality (such as “three-star downtown hotel”) at the expense of brand identification. Consumers may eventually develop brand loyalties to their reservations system rather than to our sub-property manager or our third-party sub-property managers or our brands, which could have an adverse effect on our business because we rely heavily on brand identification. If the amount of sales made through Internet intermediaries increases significantly and our sub-property manager or our third-party sub-property managers fail to appropriately price room inventory in a manner that maximizes the opportunity for enhanced profit margins, room revenues may flatten or decrease and our profitability may be adversely affected.

Our lack of diversification in property type and hotel brands increases the risk of investment.

There is no limit on the number of properties of a particular hotel brand that we may acquire. Through December 31, 2015, based on the number of hotels, 46.3% of our hotels are franchised with Hilton Worldwide, 38.2% with Marriott International and 12.5% with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, and no other brand accounts for more than 5.0% of our hotels. The risks of brand concentration include reductions in business following negative publicity relating to one of our licensed brands or arising from or after a dispute with a hotel brand company.

To the extent our assets are geographically concentrated, an economic downturn in one or more of the markets in which we have invested could have an adverse effect on our results of operations, financial condition and ability to pay distributions.

Our board of directors reviews our properties and investments in terms of geographic and hotel brand diversification, and any failure to remain diversified could adversely affect our results of operations and increase the risk of our stockholder’s investments.

Risks Related to Debt Financing

We have incurred substantial indebtedness and may incur additional indebtedness in connection with the closing of the pending acquisitions, and high levels of debt could hinder our ability to pay distributions and could decrease the value of an investment in our common stock.

We have incurred substantial indebtedness in acquiring the properties we currently own, and substantially all of these real properties have been pledged as security under our indebtedness. To the extent we complete the pending acquisitions, we will incur additional indebtedness.

High debt levels may cause us to incur higher interest charges, will result in higher debt service payments and are accompanied by restrictive covenants. These factors could limit the amount of cash we have

available to distribute and could result in a decline in the value of an investment in our common stock. If there is a shortfall between the cash flow from a property and the cash flow needed to service mortgage debt on a property, then the amount available for distributions to stockholders may be reduced. In addition, incurring mortgage debt increases the risk of loss since defaults on indebtedness secured by a property may result in lenders initiating foreclosure actions. In that case, we could lose the property or properties securing the loan that is in default, thus reducing the value of an investment in our common stock. For U.S. federal income tax purposes, a foreclosure of any of our properties would be treated as a sale of the property for a purchase price equal to the outstanding balance of the debt secured by the mortgage. If the outstanding balance of the debt secured by the mortgage exceeds our tax basis in the property, we would recognize taxable income on foreclosure, but would not receive any cash proceeds. In such event, we may be unable to pay the amount of distributions required in order to maintain our REIT status. We may give full or partial guarantees to lenders of mortgage debt to the entities that own our properties. When we provide a guaranty on behalf of an entity that owns one of our properties, we will be responsible to the lender for satisfaction of the debt if it is not paid by such entity. Substantially all of our mortgages to date contain cross-collateralization or cross-default provisions, meaning that a default on a single property could affect multiple properties, and any mortgages we enter into in the future may contain cross-collateralization or cross-default provisions. If any of our properties are foreclosed upon due to a default, our ability to pay cash distributions to our stockholders will be adversely affected which could result in our losing our REIT status and would result in a decrease in the value of an investment in our common stock.

Our incurrence of substantial indebtedness and the issuance of the Grace Preferred Equity Interests, may limit our future operational and financial flexibility in ways that could have a material adverse effect on our results of operations and financial condition.

Our incurrence of mortgage and mezzanine indebtedness, and any other indebtedness we may incur, and the issuance of the Grace Preferred Equity Interests limit our future operational and financial flexibility in ways that could have a material adverse effect on our results of operations and financial condition such as:

•	requiring us to use a substantial portion of our cash flow from operations to service indebtedness and pay distributions on the Grace Preferred Equity Interests;
•	limiting our ability to obtain additional financing to fund our working capital needs, acquisitions, capital expenditures or other debt service requirements or for other purposes;
•	increasing the costs of incurring additional debt as potential future lenders may charge higher interest rates if they lend to us in the future due to our current level of indebtedness;
•	increasing our exposure to floating interest rates;
•	limiting our ability to compete with other companies that are not as highly leveraged, as we may be less capable of responding to adverse economic and industry conditions;
•	restricting us from making strategic acquisitions, developing properties or exploiting business opportunities to the extent we are limited in our ability to access the financing required to pursue these opportunities;
•	restricting the way in which we conduct our business because of financial and operating covenants in the agreements governing our indebtedness, including the rights of our lenders to consent before we modify hotel management agreements or franchise agreements and that require us to replace sub-property managers under certain circumstances;
•	consent rights the holders of the Grace Preferred Equity Interests will have over major actions by us relating to the Grace Portfolio;
•	if we are unable to satisfy the redemption, distribution, or other requirements of the Grace Preferred Equity Interests, holders of the Grace Preferred Equity Interests will have certain rights, including the ability to assume control of the operations of the Grace Portfolio;

•	exposing us to potential events of default (if not cured or waived) under covenants contained in our debt instruments that could have a material adverse effect on our business, financial condition and operating results;
•	increasing our vulnerability to a downturn in general economic conditions; and
•	limiting our ability to react to changing market conditions in our industry.

A portion of the Grace Indebtedness matures in May 2016, and we may not be able to extend the maturity date of, or refinance, the Grace Indebtedness, or any of our other indebtedness, on acceptable terms.

All but one of our properties has been pledged as security for our indebtedness, and we expect we will be required to extend or refinance this indebtedness when it comes due. The Assumed Grace Indebtedness matures on May 1, 2016, subject to three (one-year) extension rights, and these extensions can only occur if certain conditions are met, including, with respect to the second and third extension terms that a minimum ratio of net operating income to debt outstanding be satisfied. There can be no assurance that we will be able to meet these conditions and extend the Assumed Grace Indebtedness pursuant to its terms.

If we are not able to extend these loans or any of our other indebtedness or refinance them when they mature, we will be required to seek alternative financing to continue our operations. No assurance can be given that any extension, refinancing or alternative financing will be available when required or that we will be able to negotiate acceptable terms. Moreover, if interest rates are higher when these loans are refinanced or replaced with alternative financing, our cash flow would be reduced. This, in turn, would reduce cash available for distribution to our stockholders and may hinder our ability to raise more capital by issuing more stock or by borrowing more money.

Lenders may require us to enter into restrictive covenants relating to our operations, including financial covenants, which could limit our ability to pay distributions to our stockholders.

In connection with providing us financing, a lender could impose restrictions on us that affect our distribution and operating policies and our ability to incur additional debt. Loan documents we enter into may contain covenants that limit our ability to further mortgage the property, discontinue insurance coverage or replace our advisor. These or other limitations, some of which are contained in the Grace Indebtedness, may adversely affect our flexibility and our ability to achieve our investment and operating objectives.

In addition, the SN Acquisitions Mortgage Debt includes the following financial covenants: a minimum debt service coverage ratio, a minimum consolidated net worth and a minimum consolidated liquidity. The mortgage loans we have, or may in the future enter into, include, and may include, other financial and operating covenants.

Moreover, as a guarantor of certain non-recourse obligations and environmental indemnities under the Grace Indebtedness, we are required to maintain an aggregate net worth of not less than $250.0 million and aggregate liquid assets of not less than $20.0 million.

These covenants may restrict our ability to pursue certain business initiatives or certain acquisition transactions that would otherwise be in our best interest. In the event that we fail to satisfy our covenants, we would be in default under our indebtedness and our obligation to repay such indebtedness may be accelerated. Under such circumstances, other sources of debt or equity capital may not be available to us, or may be available only on unattractive terms.

Increases in interest rates could increase the amount of our debt payments and adversely affect our ability to pay distributions to our stockholders.

We have incurred substantial indebtedness, of which approximately $1.13 billion outstanding as of September 30, 2015, among other things, bears interest at variable interest rates. The Pending Acquisitions Mortgage Debt also bears interest at variable rates. Accordingly, increases in interest rates would increase our interest costs, which could reduce our cash flows and our ability to pay distributions to our stockholders. In addition, if we need to repay existing debt during periods of rising interest rates, we could be required to liquidate one or more of our investments in properties at times that may not permit realization of the maximum return on such investments.

Interest-only indebtedness may increase our risk of default.

We have financed our property acquisitions using interest-only mortgage and mezzanine indebtedness and may continue to do so in the future. As of September 30, 2015, all $1.13 billion of our mortgage and mezzanine indebtedness was interest-only, and the $165.1 million in additional mortgage indebtedness we have incurred since then is also interest-only. The SN Acquisitions Mortgage Debt is interest-only for the initial three-year term. During the interest-only period, which may be the full term of the loan, the amount of each scheduled payment will be less than that of a traditional amortizing loan. The principal balance of the loan will not be reduced (except in the case of prepayments) because there are no scheduled monthly payments of principal during this period. After the interest-only period, we will be required either to make scheduled payments of amortized principal and interest or to make a lump-sum or “balloon” payment at maturity. These required principal or balloon payments will increase the amount of our scheduled payments and may increase our risk of default under the related loan. Our ability to make a balloon payment at maturity is uncertain and may depend upon our ability to obtain additional financing or our ability to sell the financed property. At the time the balloon payment is due, we may or may not be able to refinance the balloon payment on terms as favorable as the original loan or sell the property at a price sufficient to make the balloon payment. The effect of a refinancing or sale could affect the rate of return to our stockholders and the projected time of disposition of our assets. In addition, payments of principal and interest made to service our debts may leave us with insufficient cash to pay the distributions that we are required to pay to maintain our qualification as a REIT. Any of these results would have a material adverse effect on the value of an investment in our common stock.

Substantial principal or balloon maturity payments will reduce the funds available for distribution to our stockholders because cash otherwise available for distribution will be required to pay principal and interest associated with these loans.

We may not be able to access financing sources on attractive terms, which could adversely affect our ability to execute our business plan.

We may finance our assets over the long-term through a variety of means, including repurchase agreements, credit facilities, issuance of commercial mortgage-backed securities, collateralized debt obligations and other structured financings. Our ability to execute this strategy will depend on various conditions in the markets for financing in this manner that are beyond our control, including lack of liquidity and greater credit spreads. We cannot be certain that these markets will remain an efficient source of long-term financing for our assets. If our strategy is not viable, we will have to find alternative forms of long-term financing for our assets, as secured revolving credit facilities and repurchase facilities may not accommodate long-term financing. This could subject us to more recourse indebtedness and the risk that debt service on less efficient forms of financing would require a larger portion of our cash flows, thereby reducing cash available for distribution to our stockholders and funds available for operations as well as for future business opportunities.

Our derivative financial instruments that we may use to hedge against interest rate fluctuations may not be successful in mitigating our risks associated with interest rates and could reduce the overall returns on an investment in our common stock.

We may use derivative financial instruments to hedge exposures to changes in interest rates on loans secured by our assets, but no hedging strategy can protect us completely. We cannot assure our stockholders that our hedging strategy and the derivatives that we use will adequately offset the risk of interest rate volatility or that our hedging transactions will not result in losses. In addition, the use of such instruments may reduce the overall return on our investments. These instruments may also generate income that may not be treated as qualifying REIT income for purposes of the 75% or 95% gross income tests.

Risks Related to Real Estate-Related Investments

Our investments in mortgage, mezzanine, bridge and other loans as well as our investments in mortgage-backed securities, collateralized debt obligations and other debt may be affected by unfavorable real estate market conditions, which could decrease the value of those assets and the return on our stockholder’s investments.

If we make or invest in mortgage, mezzanine or other real estate-related loans, we will be at risk of defaults by the borrowers on those loans. These defaults may be caused by many conditions beyond our control, including interest rate levels and local and other economic conditions affecting real estate values. We will not know whether the values of the properties ultimately securing our loans will remain at the levels existing on the dates of origination of those loans. If the values of the underlying properties drop, our risk will increase because of the lower value of the security associated with such loans. Our investments in mortgage-backed securities, collateralized debt obligations and other real estate-related debt will be similarly affected by real estate market conditions.

If we make or invest in mortgage, mezzanine, bridge or other real estate-related loans, our loans will be subject to interest rate fluctuations that will affect our returns as compared to market interest rates; accordingly, the value of an investment in our common stock would be subject to fluctuations in interest rates.

If we make or invest in fixed-rate, long-term loans and interest rates rise, the loans could yield a return that is lower than then-current market rates. If interest rates decrease, we will be adversely affected to the extent that loans are prepaid because we may not be able to make new loans at the higher interest rate. If we invest in variable-rate loans and interest rates decrease, our revenues will also decrease. For these reasons, if we invest in mortgage, mezzanine, bridge or other real estate-related loans, our returns on those loans and the value of an investment in our common stock will be subject to fluctuations in interest rates.

We have not established investment criteria limiting geographical concentration of our mortgage investments or requiring a minimum credit quality of borrowers.

We have not established any limit upon the geographic concentration of properties securing mortgage loans acquired or originated by us or the credit quality of borrowers of uninsured mortgage assets acquired or originated by us. As a result, properties securing our mortgage loans may be overly concentrated in certain geographic areas and the underlying borrowers of our uninsured mortgage assets may have low credit quality. We may experience losses due to geographic concentration or low credit quality.

Mortgage investments that are not United States government insured and non-investment-grade mortgage assets involve risk of loss.

We may originate and acquire uninsured and non-investment-grade mortgage loans and mortgage assets, including mezzanine loans, as part of our investment strategy. While holding these interests, we will be subject to risks of borrower defaults, bankruptcies, fraud and losses and special hazard losses that are not covered by standard hazard insurance. Also, the costs of financing the mortgage loans could exceed the return on the mortgage loans. In the event of any default under mortgage loans held by us, we will bear the risk of loss of principal and non-payment of interest and fees to the extent of any deficiency between the value of the mortgage collateral and the principal amount of the mortgage loan. To the extent we suffer such losses with respect to our investments in mortgage loans, the value of an investment in our common stock may be adversely affected.

We may invest in non-recourse loans, which will limit our recovery to the value of the mortgaged property.

Our mortgage loan assets may be non-recourse loans. With respect to our non-recourse mortgage loan assets, in the event of a borrower default, the specific mortgaged property and other assets, if any, pledged to secure the relevant mortgage loan, may be less than the amount owed under the mortgage loan. As to those mortgage loan assets that provide for recourse against the borrower and its assets generally, we cannot assure our stockholders that the recourse will provide a recovery in respect of a defaulted mortgage loan greater than the liquidation value of the mortgaged property securing that mortgage loan.

Interest rate fluctuations will affect the value of our mortgage assets, net income and common stock.

Interest rates are highly sensitive to many factors, including governmental monetary and tax policies, domestic and international economic and political considerations and other factors beyond our control. Interest rate fluctuations can adversely affect our income in many ways and present a variety of risks including the risk of variances in the yield curve, a mismatch between asset yields and borrowing rates, and changing prepayment rates.

Variances in the yield curve may reduce our net income. The relationship between short-term and longer-term interest rates is often referred to as the “yield curve.” Short-term interest rates are ordinarily lower than longer-term interest rates. If short-term interest rates rise disproportionately relative to longer-term interest rates (a flattening of the yield curve), our borrowing costs may increase more rapidly than the interest income earned on our assets. Because our assets may bear interest based on longer-term rates than our borrowings, a flattening of the yield curve would tend to decrease our net income and the market value of our mortgage loan assets. Additionally, to the extent cash flows from investments that return scheduled and unscheduled principal are reinvested in mortgage loans, the spread between the yields of the new investments and available borrowing rates may decline, which would likely decrease our net income. It is also possible that short-term interest rates may exceed longer-term interest rates (a yield curve inversion), in which event our borrowing costs may exceed our interest income and we could incur operating losses.

Prepayment rates on our mortgage loans may adversely affect our yields.

The value of our mortgage loan assets may be affected by prepayment rates on investments. Prepayment rates are influenced by changes in current interest rates and a variety of economic, geographic and other factors beyond our control, and consequently, such prepayment rates cannot be predicted with certainty. For investments that we acquire but do not originate, we may be unable to secure protection from prepayment in the form of prepayment lock out periods or prepayment penalties. In periods of declining mortgage interest rates, prepayments on mortgages generally increase. If general interest rates decline as well, the proceeds of such prepayments received during such periods are likely to be reinvested by us in assets yielding less than the yields on the investments that were prepaid. In addition, the market value of mortgage investments may, because of the risk of prepayment, benefit less from declining interest rates than from other fixed-income securities. Conversely, in periods of rising interest rates, prepayments on mortgages generally decrease, in which case we would not have the prepayment proceeds available to invest in assets with higher yields. Under certain interest rate and prepayment scenarios, we may fail to fully recoup our cost of acquisition of certain investments.

No assurances can be given that we can make an accurate assessment of the yield to be produced by an investment. Many factors beyond our control are likely to influence the yield on the investments, including, but not limited to, competitive conditions in the local real estate market, local and general economic conditions and the quality of management of the underlying property. Our inability to accurately assess investment yields may result in our purchasing assets that do not perform as well as expected, which may adversely affect the value of an investment in our common stock.

Volatility of values of mortgaged properties may adversely affect our mortgage loans.

Real estate property values and net operating income derived from real estate properties are subject to volatility and may be affected adversely by a number of factors, including the risk factors described in this prospectus relating to general economic conditions and owning real estate investments. In the event its net operating income decreases, a borrower may have difficulty paying our mortgage loan, which could result in losses to us. In addition, decreases in property values reduce the value of the collateral and the potential proceeds available to a borrower to repay our mortgage loans, which could also cause us to suffer losses.

Mezzanine loans involve greater risks of loss than senior loans secured by income producing properties.

We may make and acquire mezzanine loans. These types of mortgage loans are considered to involve a higher degree of risk than long-term senior mortgage lending secured by income-producing real property due to a variety of factors, including the loan being entirely unsecured or, if secured, becoming unsecured as a result of foreclosure by the senior lender. We may not recover some or all of our investment in these loans.

In addition, mezzanine loans may have higher loan-to-value ratios than conventional mortgage loans resulting in less equity in the property and increasing the risk of loss of principal.

Our investments in subordinated loans and subordinated mortgage-backed securities may be subject to losses.

We may acquire or originate subordinated loans and invest in subordinated mortgage-backed securities. In the event a borrower defaults on a subordinated loan and lacks sufficient assets to satisfy our loan, we may suffer a loss of principal or interest. In the event a borrower declares bankruptcy, we may not have full recourse to the assets of the borrower, or the assets of the borrower may not be sufficient to satisfy the loan. If a borrower defaults on our loan or on debt senior to our loan, or in the event of a borrower bankruptcy, our loan will be satisfied only after the senior debt is paid in full. Where debt senior to our loan exists, the presence of intercreditor arrangements may limit our ability to amend our loan documents, assign our loans, accept prepayments, exercise our remedies (through “standstill periods”), and control decisions made in bankruptcy proceedings relating to borrowers.

We may invest in collateralized mortgage-backed securities, which may increase our exposure to credit and interest rate risk.

We may invest in collateralized mortgage-backed securities, or CMBS, which may increase our exposure to credit and interest rate risk. We have not adopted, and do not expect to adopt, any formal policies or procedures designed to manage risks associated with our investments in CMBS. In this context, credit risk is the risk that borrowers will default on the mortgages underlying the CMBS. While we may invest in CMBS guaranteed by U.S. government agencies, such as the Government National Mortgage Association, or GNMA, or U.S. government sponsored enterprises, such as the Federal National Mortgage Association, or FNMA, or the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation, or FHLMC, there is no guarantee that such will be available or continue to be guaranteed by the U.S. government. Interest rate risk occurs as prevailing market interest rates change relative to the current yield on the CMBS. For example, when interest rates fall, borrowers are more likely to prepay their existing mortgages to take advantage of the lower cost of financing. As prepayments occur, principal is returned to the holders of the CMBS sooner than expected, thereby lowering the effective yield on the investment. On the other hand, when interest rates rise, borrowers are more likely to maintain their existing mortgages. As a result, prepayments decrease, thereby extending the average maturity of the mortgages underlying the CMBS. If we are unable to manage these risks effectively, our results of operations, financial condition and ability to pay distributions to our stockholders will be adversely affected.

Any real estate debt security that we originate or purchase is subject to the risks of delinquency and foreclosure.

We may originate and purchase real estate debt securities, which are subject to risks of delinquency and foreclosure and risks of loss. Typically, we will not have recourse to the personal assets of our borrowers. The ability of a borrower to repay a real estate debt security secured by an income-producing property depends primarily upon the successful operation of the property, rather than upon the existence of independent income or assets of the borrower. If the net operating income of the property is reduced, the borrower’s ability to repay the real estate debt security may be impaired. A property’s net operating income can be affected by, among other things:

•	increased costs, added costs imposed by franchisors for improvements or operating changes required, from time to time, under the franchise agreements;
•	property management decisions;
•	property location and condition;
•	competition from comparable types of properties;
•	changes in specific industry segments;

•	declines in regional or local real estate values, or occupancy rates; and
•	increases in interest rates, real estate tax rates and other operating expenses.

Our recovery of an investment in a mortgage, bridge or mezzanine loan that has defaulted may be limited, resulting in losses to us and reducing the amount of funds available to pay distributions to our stockholders.

There is no guarantee that the mortgage, loan or deed of trust securing an investment will, following a default, permit us to recover the original investment and interest that would have been received absent a default. The security provided by a mortgage, deed of trust or loan is directly related to the difference between the amount owed and the appraised market value of the property. Although we intend to rely on a current real estate appraisal when we make the investment, the value of the property is affected by factors outside our control, including general fluctuations in the real estate market, rezoning, neighborhood changes, highway relocations and failure by the borrower to maintain the property. In addition, we may incur the costs of litigation in our efforts to enforce our rights under defaulted loans.

Our investments in real estate related common equity securities will be subject to specific risks relating to the particular issuer of the securities and may be subject to the general risks of investing in subordinated real estate securities, which may result in losses to us.

We may make equity investments in other REITs and other real estate companies. If we make such investments, we will target a public company that owns commercial real estate or real estate-related assets when we believe its stock is trading at a discount to that company’s net asset value. We may eventually seek to acquire or gain a controlling interest in the companies that we target. We do not expect our non-controlling equity investments in other public companies to exceed 5.0% of the proceeds of our primary initial public offering. Our investments in real estate-related common equity securities will involve special risks relating to the particular issuer of the equity securities, including the financial condition and business outlook of the issuer. Issuers of real estate-related common equity securities generally invest in real estate or real estate-related assets and are subject to the inherent risks associated with real estate-related investments discussed in this prospectus.

Real estate-related common equity securities are generally unsecured and may also be subordinated to other obligations of the issuer. As a result, investments in real estate-related common equity securities are subject to risks of: (1) limited liquidity in the secondary trading market; (2) substantial market price volatility resulting from changes in prevailing interest rates; (3) subordination to the prior claims of banks and other senior lenders to the issuer; (4) the operation of mandatory sinking fund or call/redemption provisions during periods of declining interest rates that could cause the issuer to reinvest redemption proceeds in lower yielding assets; (5) the possibility that earnings of the issuer may be insufficient to meet its debt service and distribution obligations; and (6) the declining creditworthiness and potential for insolvency of the issuer during periods of rising interest rates and economic downturn. These risks may adversely affect the value of outstanding real estate-related common equity securities and the ability of the issuers thereof to make distribution payments.

U.S. Federal Income Tax Risks

Our failure to qualify or remain qualified as a REIT would subject us to U.S. federal income tax and potentially state and local tax, and would adversely affect our operations and the market price of our common stock.

We qualified to be taxed as a REIT commencing with our taxable year ended December 31, 2014 and intend to operate in a manner that would allow us to continue to qualify as a REIT. However, we may terminate our REIT qualification, if our board of directors determines that not qualifying as a REIT is in our best interests, or inadvertently. Our qualification as a REIT depends upon our satisfaction of certain asset, income, organizational, distribution, stockholder ownership and other requirements on a continuing basis. The REIT qualification requirements are extremely complex and interpretation of the U.S. federal income tax laws governing qualification as a REIT is limited. Furthermore, any opinion of our counsel, including tax counsel,

as to our eligibility to qualify or remain qualified as a REIT is not binding on the IRS and is not a guarantee that we will qualify, or continue to qualify, as a REIT. Accordingly, we cannot be certain that we will be successful in operating so we can qualify or remain qualified as a REIT. Our ability to satisfy the asset tests depends on our analysis of the characterization and fair market values of our assets, some of which are not susceptible to a precise determination, and for which we will not obtain independent appraisals. Our compliance with the REIT income or quarterly asset requirements also depends on our ability to successfully manage the composition of our income and assets on an ongoing basis. Accordingly, if certain of our operations were to be recharacterized by the IRS, such recharacterization would jeopardize our ability to satisfy all requirements for qualification as a REIT. Furthermore, future legislative, judicial or administrative changes to the U.S. federal income tax laws could be applied retroactively, which could result in our disqualification as a REIT.

If we fail to qualify as a REIT for any taxable year, and we do not qualify for certain statutory relief provisions, we will be subject to U.S. federal income tax on our taxable income at corporate rates. In addition, we would generally be disqualified from treatment as a REIT for the four taxable years following the year of losing our REIT qualification. Losing our REIT qualification would reduce our net earnings available for investment or distribution to stockholders because of the additional tax liability. In addition, distributions to stockholders would no longer qualify for the dividends paid deduction, and we would no longer be required to pay distributions. If this occurs, we might be required to borrow funds or liquidate some investments in order to pay the applicable tax.

Even though we have qualified as a REIT, in certain circumstances, we may incur tax liabilities that would reduce our cash available for distribution to our stockholders.

Even if we qualify and maintain our status as a REIT, we may be subject to U.S. federal, state and local income taxes. For example, net income from the sale of properties that are “dealer” properties sold by a REIT (a “prohibited transaction” under the Code) will be subject to a 100% tax. We may not make sufficient distributions to avoid excise taxes applicable to REITs. We also may decide to retain net capital gains we earn from the sale or other disposition of our property and pay U.S. federal income tax directly on such income. In that event, our stockholders would be treated as if they earned that income and paid the tax on it directly. However, stockholders that are tax-exempt, such as charities or qualified pension plans, would have no benefit from their deemed payment of such tax liability unless they file U.S. federal income tax returns and thereon seek a refund of such tax. We also will be subject to corporate tax on any undistributed REIT taxable income. We also may be subject to state and local taxes on our income or property, including franchise, payroll and transfer taxes, either directly or at the level of our operating partnership or at the level of the other companies through which we indirectly own our assets, such as our taxable REIT subsidiaries, which are subject to full U.S. federal, state, local and foreign corporate-level income taxes. Any taxes we pay directly or indirectly will reduce our cash available for distribution to our stockholders.

To qualify as a REIT we must meet annual distribution requirements, which may force us to forgo otherwise attractive opportunities or borrow funds during unfavorable market conditions. This could delay or hinder our ability to meet our investment objectives and reduce our stockholder’s overall return.

In order to qualify as a REIT, we must distribute annually to our stockholders at least 90% of our REIT taxable income (which does not equal net income as calculated in accordance with GAAP), determined without regard to the deduction for dividends paid and excluding any net capital gain. We will be subject to U.S. federal income tax on our undistributed REIT taxable income and net capital gain and to a 4% nondeductible excise tax on any amount by which distributions we pay with respect to any calendar year are less than the sum of (a) 85% of our ordinary income, (b) 95% of our capital gain net income and (c) 100% of our undistributed income from prior years. These requirements could cause us to distribute amounts that otherwise would be spent on investments in real estate assets and it is possible that we might be required to borrow funds, possibly at unfavorable rates, or sell assets to fund these distributions. Although we intend to pay distributions sufficient to meet the annual distribution requirements and to avoid U.S. federal income and excise taxes on our earnings while we qualify as a REIT, it is possible that we might not always be able to do so.

Certain of our business activities are potentially subject to the prohibited transaction tax, which could reduce the return on our stockholder’s investments.

For so long as we qualify as a REIT, our ability to dispose of property during the first few years following acquisition may be restricted to a substantial extent as a result of our REIT qualification. Under applicable provisions of the Code regarding prohibited transactions by REITs, while we qualify as a REIT, we will be subject to a 100% penalty tax on any gain recognized on the sale or other disposition of any property (other than foreclosure property) that we own, directly or indirectly through any subsidiary entity, including our operating partnership, but generally excluding taxable REIT subsidiaries, that is deemed to be inventory or property held primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of a trade or business. Whether property is inventory or otherwise held primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of a trade or business depends on the particular facts and circumstances surrounding each property. During such time as we qualify as a REIT, we intend to avoid the 100% prohibited transaction tax by (a) conducting activities that may otherwise be considered prohibited transactions through a taxable REIT subsidiary (but such taxable REIT subsidiary will incur corporate rate income taxes with respect to any income or gain recognized by it), (b) conducting our operations in such a manner so that no sale or other disposition of an asset we own, directly or through any subsidiary, will be treated as a prohibited transaction, or (c) structuring certain dispositions of our properties to comply with the requirements of the prohibited transaction safe harbor available under the Code for properties that, among other requirements, have been held for at least two years. No assurance can be given that any particular property we own, directly or through any subsidiary entity, including our operating partnership, but generally excluding taxable REIT subsidiaries, will not be treated as inventory or property held primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of a trade or business.

Our taxable REIT subsidiaries are subject to corporate-level taxes and our dealings with our taxable REIT subsidiaries may be subject to 100% excise tax.

A REIT may own up to 100% of the stock of one or more taxable REIT subsidiaries. Both the subsidiary and the REIT must jointly elect to treat the subsidiary as a taxable REIT subsidiary. A corporation of which a taxable REIT subsidiary directly or indirectly owns more than 35% of the voting power or value of the stock will automatically be treated as a taxable REIT subsidiary. Overall, no more than 25% (20% for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2017) of the gross value of a REIT’s assets may consist of stock or securities of one or more taxable REIT subsidiaries. A taxable REIT subsidiary may hold assets and earn income that would not be qualifying assets or income if held or earned directly by a REIT, including gross income from operations pursuant to management contracts. Accordingly, we may use our taxable REIT subsidiaries generally to hold properties for sale in the ordinary course of a trade or business or to hold assets or conduct activities that we cannot conduct directly as a REIT.

Furthermore, in order to ensure the income we receive from our hotels qualifies as “rents from real property,” generally we must lease our hotels to taxable REIT subsidiaries (which are owned by our operating partnership) which must engage “eligible independent contractors” to operate the hotels on their behalf. These taxable REIT subsidiaries and other taxable REIT subsidiaries that we may form will be subject to applicable U.S. federal, state, local and foreign income tax on their taxable income. While we will be monitoring the aggregate value of the securities of our taxable REIT subsidiaries and intend to conduct our affairs so that such securities will represent less than 25% (20% for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2017) of the value of our total assets, there can be no assurance that we will be able to comply with the taxable REIT subsidiary limitation in all market conditions. The rules, which are applicable to us as a REIT, also impose a 100% excise tax on certain transactions between a taxable REIT subsidiary and its parent REIT that are not conducted on an arm’s-length basis to assure that the taxable REIT subsidiary is subject to an appropriate level of corporate taxation. Such transactions include, for example, intercompany loans between the parent REIT as lender and the taxable REIT subsidiary as borrower and rental arrangements between the parent REIT as landlord and the taxable REIT subsidiary as tenant.

If our leases to our taxable REIT subsidiaries are not respected as true leases for U.S. federal income tax purposes, we would fail to qualify as a REIT.

To qualify as a REIT, we must satisfy two gross income tests, under which specified percentages of our gross income must be derived from certain sources, such as “rents from real property.” In order for such rent

to qualify as “rents from real property” for purposes of the REIT gross income tests, the leases must be respected as true leases for U.S. federal income tax purposes and not be treated as service contracts, joint ventures or some other type of arrangement. If our leases are not respected as true leases for U.S. federal income tax purposes, we would fail to qualify as a REIT.

If our operating partnership failed to qualify as a partnership or is not otherwise disregarded for U.S. federal income tax purposes, we would cease to qualify as a REIT.

If the IRS were to successfully challenge the status of our operating partnership as a partnership or disregarded entity for such purposes, it would be taxable as a corporation. In such event, this would reduce the amount of distributions that the operating partnership could make to us. This also would result in our failing to qualify as a REIT, and becoming subject to a corporate level tax on our income. This substantially would reduce our cash available to pay distributions and the yield on our stockholder’s investments. In addition, if any of the partnerships or limited liability companies through which our operating partnership owns its properties, in whole or in part, loses its characterization as a partnership and is otherwise not disregarded for U.S. federal income tax purposes, it would be subject to taxation as a corporation, thereby reducing distributions to the operating partnership. Such a recharacterization of an underlying property owner could also threaten our ability to maintain our REIT qualification.

If our “qualified lodging facilities” are not properly leased to a taxable REIT subsidiary or the managers of such “qualified lodging facilities” do not qualify as “eligible independent contractors,” we could fail to qualify as a REIT.

In general, we cannot operate any lodging facilities and can only indirectly participate in the operation of “qualified lodging facilities” on an after-tax basis through leases of such properties to our taxable REIT subsidiaries. A “qualified lodging facility” is a hotel, motel, or other establishment in which more than one-half of the dwelling units are used on a transient basis at which or in connection with which wagering activities are not conducted. Rent paid by a lessee that is a “related party tenant” of ours will not be qualifying income for purposes of the two gross income tests applicable to REITs. A taxable REIT subsidiary that leases lodging facilities from us will not be treated as a “related party tenant” with respect to our lodging facilities that are managed by an independent management company, so long as the independent management company qualifies as an “eligible independent contractor.”

Each of the management companies that enters into a management contract with our taxable REIT subsidiaries must qualify as an “eligible independent contractor” under the REIT rules in order for the rent paid to us by our taxable REIT subsidiaries to be qualifying income for purposes of the REIT gross income tests. An “eligible independent contractor” is an independent contractor that, at the time such contractor enters into a management or other agreement with a taxable REIT subsidiary to operate a “qualified lodging facility,” is actively engaged in the trade or business of operating “qualified lodging facilities” for any person not related, as defined in the Code, to us or the taxable REIT subsidiary. Among other requirements, in order to qualify as an independent contractor a manager must not own, directly or applying attribution provisions of the Code, more than 35% of our outstanding shares of stock (by value), and no person or group of persons can own more than 35% of our outstanding shares and 35% of the ownership interests of the manager (taking into account only owners of more than 5% of our shares and, with respect to ownership interest in such managers that are publicly traded, only holders of more than 5% of such ownership interests). The ownership attribution rules that apply for purposes of the 35% thresholds are complex. There can be no assurance that the levels of ownership of our stock by our managers and their owners will not be exceeded.

Our investments in certain debt instruments may cause us to recognize income for U.S. federal income tax purposes even though no cash payments have been received on the debt instruments, and certain modifications of such debt by us could cause the modified debt to not qualify as a good REIT asset, thereby jeopardizing our REIT qualification.

Our taxable income may substantially exceed our net income as determined based on GAAP, or differences in timing between the recognition of taxable income and the actual receipt of cash may occur. For example, we may acquire assets, including debt securities requiring us to accrue original issue discount, or OID, or recognize market discount income, that generate taxable income in excess of economic income or in

advance of the corresponding cash flow from the assets. In addition, if a borrower with respect to a particular debt instrument encounters financial difficulty rendering it unable to pay stated interest as due, we may nonetheless be required to continue to recognize the unpaid interest as taxable income with the effect that we will recognize income but will not have a corresponding amount of cash available for distribution to our stockholders.

As a result of the foregoing, we may generate less cash flow than taxable income in a particular year and find it difficult or impossible to meet the REIT distribution requirements in certain circumstances. In such circumstances, we may be required to (a) sell assets in adverse market conditions, (b) borrow on unfavorable terms, (c) distribute amounts that would otherwise be used for future acquisitions or used to repay debt, or (d) make a taxable distribution of our shares of common stock as part of a distribution in which stockholders may elect to receive shares of common stock or (subject to a limit measured as a percentage of the total distribution) cash, in order to comply with the REIT distribution requirements.

Moreover, we may acquire distressed debt investments that require subsequent modification by agreement with the borrower. If the amendments to the outstanding debt are “significant modifications” under the applicable Treasury Regulations, the modified debt may be considered to have been reissued to us in a debt-for-debt taxable exchange with the borrower. This deemed reissuance may prevent the modified debt from qualifying as a good REIT asset if the underlying security has declined in value and would cause us to recognize income to the extent the principal amount of the modified debt exceeds our adjusted tax basis in the unmodified debt.

The failure of a mezzanine loan to qualify as a real estate asset would adversely affect our ability to qualify as a REIT.

In general, in order for a loan to be treated as a qualifying real estate asset producing qualifying income for purposes of the REIT asset and income tests, the loan must be secured by real property. We may acquire mezzanine loans that are not directly secured by real property but instead secured by equity interests in a partnership or limited liability company that directly or indirectly owns real property. In Revenue Procedure 2003-65, the IRS provided a safe harbor pursuant to which a mezzanine loan that is not secured by real estate would, if it meets each of the requirements contained in the Revenue Procedure, be treated by the IRS as a qualifying real estate asset. Although the Revenue Procedure provides a safe harbor on which taxpayers may rely, it does not prescribe rules of substantive tax law and in many cases it may not be possible for us to meet all the requirements of the safe harbor. We cannot provide assurance that any mezzanine loan in which we invest would be treated as a qualifying asset producing qualifying income for REIT qualification purposes. If any such loan fails either the REIT income or asset tests, we may be disqualified as a REIT.

We may choose to pay distributions in our own stock, in which case our stockholders may be required to pay U.S. federal income taxes in excess of the cash dividends they receive.

In connection with our qualification as a REIT, we are required to distribute annually to our stockholders at least 90% of our REIT taxable income (which does not equal net income as calculated in accordance with GAAP), determined without regard to the deduction for dividends paid and excluding net capital gain. In order to satisfy this requirement, we may pay distributions that are payable in cash and/or shares of our common stock (which could account for up to 80% of the aggregate amount of such distributions) at the election of each stockholder. Taxable stockholders receiving such distributions will be required to include the full amount of such distributions as ordinary dividend income to the extent of our current or accumulated earnings and profits, as determined for U.S. federal income tax purposes. As a result, U.S. stockholders may be required to pay U.S. federal income taxes with respect to such distributions in excess of the cash portion of the distribution received. Accordingly, U.S. stockholders receiving a distribution of our shares may be required to sell shares received in such distribution or may be required to sell other stock or assets owned by them, at a time that may be disadvantageous, in order to satisfy any tax imposed on such distribution. If a U.S. stockholder sells the stock that it receives as part of the distribution in order to pay this tax, the sales proceeds may be less than the amount included in income with respect to the distribution, depending on the market price of our stock at the time of the sale. Furthermore, with respect to certain non-U.S. stockholders, we may be required to withhold U.S. tax with respect to such distribution, including in respect of all or a portion of such distribution that is payable in stock, by withholding or disposing of part of the shares included

in such distribution and using the proceeds of such disposition to satisfy the withholding tax imposed. In addition, if a significant number of our stockholders determine to sell shares of our common stock in order to pay taxes owed on dividend income, such sale may put downward pressure on the market price of our common stock.

Various tax aspects of such a taxable cash/stock distribution are uncertain and have not yet been addressed by the IRS. No assurance can be given that the IRS will not impose requirements in the future with respect to taxable cash/stock distributions, including on a retroactive basis, or assert that the requirements for such taxable cash/stock distributions have not been met.

The taxation of distributions to our stockholders can be complex; however, distributions that we make to our stockholders generally will be taxable as ordinary income, which may reduce our stockholder’s anticipated return from an investment in us.

Distributions that we make to our taxable stockholders out of current and accumulated earnings and profits (and not designated as capital gain dividends or qualified dividend income) generally will be taxable as ordinary income. However, a portion of our distributions may (1) be designated by us as capital gain dividends generally taxable as long-term capital gain to the extent that they are attributable to net capital gain recognized by us, (2) be designated by us as qualified dividend income generally to the extent they are attributable to dividends we receive from our taxable REIT subsidiaries, or (3) constitute a return of capital generally to the extent that they exceed our accumulated earnings and profits as determined for U.S. federal income tax purposes. A return of capital is not taxable, but has the effect of reducing the basis of a stockholder’s investment in our common stock.

Our stockholders may have tax liability on distributions that they elect to reinvest in common stock, but they would not receive the cash from such distributions to pay such tax liability.

If our stockholders participate in our DRIP, they will be deemed to have received the amount reinvested in shares of our common stock and, for U.S. federal income tax purposes, will be taxed to the extent the amount reinvested was not a tax-free return of capital. In addition, our stockholders will be treated for tax purposes as having received an additional distribution to the extent the shares are purchased at a discount to fair market value. As a result, unless a stockholder is a tax-exempt entity, it may have to use funds from other sources to pay its tax liability on the value of the shares of common stock received.

Dividends payable by REITs generally do not qualify for the reduced tax rates available for some dividends.

Currently, the maximum tax rate applicable to qualified dividend income payable to U.S. stockholders that are individuals, trusts and estates is 20%. Dividends payable by REITs, however, generally are not eligible for this reduced rate. Although this does not adversely affect the taxation of REITs or dividends payable by REITs, the more favorable rates applicable to regular corporate qualified dividends could cause investors who are individuals, trusts and estates to perceive investments in REITs to be relatively less attractive than investments in the stocks of non-REIT corporations that pay dividends, which could adversely affect the value of the shares of REITs, including our common stock. Tax rates could be changed in future legislation.

Complying with REIT requirements may limit our ability to hedge our liabilities effectively and may cause us to incur tax liabilities.

The REIT provisions of the Code may limit our ability to hedge our liabilities. Any income from a hedging transaction we enter into to manage risk of interest rate changes, price changes or currency fluctuations with respect to borrowings made or to be made to acquire or carry real estate assets, if properly identified under applicable Treasury Regulations, does not constitute “gross income” for purposes of the 75% or 95% gross income tests. To the extent that we enter into other types of hedging transactions, the income from those transactions will likely be treated as non-qualifying income for purposes of both of the gross income tests. As a result of these rules, we may need to limit our use of advantageous hedging techniques or implement those hedges through a taxable REIT subsidiary. This could increase the cost of our hedging activities because our taxable REIT subsidiaries would be subject to tax on gains or expose us to greater risks

associated with changes in interest rates than we would otherwise want to bear. In addition, losses in a taxable REIT subsidiary generally will not provide any tax benefit, except for being carried forward against future taxable income of such taxable REIT subsidiary.

Complying with REIT requirements may force us to forgo or liquidate otherwise attractive investment opportunities.

To qualify as a REIT, we must ensure that we meet the REIT gross income tests annually and that at the end of each calendar quarter, at least 75% of the value of our assets consists of cash, cash items, government securities and qualified REIT real estate assets, including certain mortgage loans and certain kinds of mortgage-related securities. The remainder of our investment in securities (other than government securities and qualified real estate assets) generally cannot include more than 10% of the outstanding voting securities of any one issuer or more than 10% of the total value of the outstanding securities of any one issuer. In addition, in general, no more than 5% of the value of our assets (other than government securities and qualified real estate assets) can consist of the securities of any one issuer, and no more than 25% (20% for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2017) of the value of our total assets can be represented by securities of one or more taxable REIT subsidiaries. If we fail to comply with these requirements at the end of any calendar quarter, we must correct the failure within 30 days after the end of the calendar quarter or qualify for certain statutory relief provisions to avoid losing our REIT qualification and suffering adverse tax consequences. As a result, we may be required to liquidate assets from our portfolio or not make otherwise attractive investments in order to maintain our qualification as a REIT. These actions could have the effect of reducing our income and amounts available for distribution to our stockholders.

The ability of our board of directors to revoke our REIT qualification without stockholder approval may subject us to U.S. federal income tax and reduce distributions to our stockholders.

Our charter provides that our board of directors may revoke or otherwise terminate our REIT election, without the approval of our stockholders, if it determines that it is no longer in our best interest to continue to qualify as a REIT. While we intend to elect and qualify to be taxed as a REIT, we may not elect to be treated as a REIT or may terminate our REIT election if we determine that qualifying as a REIT is no longer in our best interests. If we cease to be a REIT, we would become subject to U.S. federal income tax on our taxable income and would no longer be required to distribute most of our taxable income to our stockholders, which may have adverse consequences on our total return to our stockholders and on the market price of our common stock.

We may be subject to adverse legislative or regulatory tax changes that could increase our tax liability, reduce our operating flexibility and reduce the market price of our common stock.

In recent years, numerous legislative, judicial and administrative changes have been made in the provisions of U.S. federal income tax laws applicable to investments similar to an investment in shares of our common stock. Additional changes to the tax laws are likely to continue to occur, and we cannot assure our stockholders that any such changes will not adversely affect the taxation of a stockholder. Any such changes could have an adverse effect on an investment in our shares or on the market value or the resale potential of our assets. Our stockholders are urged to consult with their tax advisors with respect to the impact of recent legislation on their investments in our shares and the status of legislative, regulatory or administrative developments and proposals and their potential effect on an investment in our shares. Our stockholders also should note that our counsel’s tax opinion is based upon existing law, applicable as of the date of its opinion, all of which will be subject to change, either prospectively or retroactively.

Although REITs generally receive better tax treatment than entities taxed as regular corporations, it is possible that future legislation would result in a REIT having fewer tax advantages, and it could become more advantageous for a company that invests in real estate to elect to be treated for U.S. federal income tax purposes as a corporation. As a result, our charter provides our board of directors with the power, under certain circumstances, to revoke or otherwise terminate our REIT election and cause us to be taxed as a regular corporation, without the vote of our stockholders. Our board of directors has fiduciary duties to us and our stockholders and could only cause such changes in our tax treatment if it determines in good faith that such changes are in the best interest of our stockholders.

The share ownership restrictions of the Code for REITs and the 9.8% share ownership limit in our charter may inhibit market activity in our shares of stock and restrict our business combination opportunities.

In order to qualify as a REIT, five or fewer individuals, as defined in the Code, may not own, actually or constructively, more than 50% in value of our issued and outstanding shares of stock at any time during the last half of each taxable year, other than the first year for which a REIT election is made. Attribution rules in the Code determine if any individual or entity actually or constructively owns our shares of stock under this requirement. Additionally, at least 100 persons must beneficially own our shares of stock during at least 335 days of a taxable year for each taxable year, other than the first year for which a REIT election is made. To help ensure that we meet these tests, among other purposes, our charter restricts the acquisition and ownership of our shares of stock.

Our charter, with certain exceptions, authorizes our directors to take such actions as are necessary and desirable to preserve our qualification as a REIT while we so qualify. Unless exempted by our board of directors, for so long as we qualify as a REIT, our charter prohibits, among other limitations on ownership and transfer of shares of our stock, any person from beneficially or constructively owning (applying certain attribution rules under the Code) more than 9.8% in value of the aggregate of our outstanding shares of stock and more than 9.8% (in value or in number of shares, whichever is more restrictive) of any class or series of our shares of stock. Our board of directors may not grant an exemption from these restrictions to any proposed transferee whose ownership in excess of the 9.8% ownership limit would result in the termination of our qualification as a REIT. These restrictions on transferability and ownership will not apply, however, if our board of directors determines that it is no longer in our best interest to continue to qualify as a REIT or that compliance with the restrictions is no longer required in order for us to continue to so qualify as a REIT.

These ownership limits could delay or prevent a transaction or a change in control that might involve a premium price for our common stock or otherwise be in the best interest of the stockholders.

Non-U.S. stockholders will be subject to U.S. federal withholding tax and may be subject to U.S. federal income tax on distributions received from us and upon the disposition of our shares.

Subject to certain exceptions, distributions received from us will be treated as dividends of ordinary income to the extent of our current or accumulated earnings and profits. Such dividends ordinarily will be subject to U.S. withholding tax at a 30% rate, or such lower rate as may be specified by an applicable income tax treaty, unless the distributions are treated as “effectively connected” with the conduct by the non-U.S. stockholder of a U.S. trade or business. Pursuant to the Foreign Investment in Real Property Tax Act of 1980, or FIRPTA, capital gain distributions attributable to sales or exchanges of “U.S. real property interests,” or USRPIs, generally will be taxed to a non-U.S. stockholder as if such gain were effectively connected with a U.S. trade or business. However, a capital gain distribution will not be treated as effectively connected income if (a) the distribution is received with respect to a class of stock that is regularly traded on an established securities market located in the United States and (b) the non-U.S. stockholder does not own more than 10% of the class of our stock at any time during the one-year period ending on the date the distribution is received. We do not anticipate that our shares will be “regularly traded” on an established securities market for the foreseeable future, and therefore, this exception is not expected to apply.

Gain recognized by a non-U.S. stockholder upon the sale or exchange of our common stock generally will not be subject to U.S. federal income taxation unless such stock constitutes a USRPI under FIRPTA. Our common stock will not constitute a USRPI so long as we are “domestically-controlled.” We will be domestically-controlled if at all times during a specified testing period, less than 50% in value of our stock is held directly or indirectly by non-U.S. stockholders. We believe, but cannot assure our stockholders, that we will a domestically-controlled qualified investment entity.

Even if we do not qualify as domestically-controlled at the time a non-U.S. stockholder sells or exchanges our common stock, gain arising from such a sale or exchange would not be subject to U.S. taxation under FIRPTA as a sale of a USRPI if: (a) our common stock is “regularly traded,” as defined by applicable Treasury regulations, on an established securities market, and (b) such non-U.S. stockholder owned, actually and constructively, 10% or less of our common stock at any time during the five-year period ending on the date of the sale. However, it is not anticipated that our common stock will be “regularly traded” on an

established market. We encourage our stockholders to consult their tax advisors to determine the tax consequences applicable to them if our stockholders are a non-U.S. stockholders.

Potential characterization of distributions or gain on sale may be treated as unrelated business taxable income to tax-exempt investors.

If (a) we are a “pension-held REIT,” (b) a tax-exempt stockholder has incurred (or is deemed to have incurred) debt to purchase or hold our common stock, or (c) a holder of common stock is a certain type of tax-exempt stockholder, dividends on, and gains recognized on the sale of, common stock by such tax-exempt stockholder may be subject to U.S. federal income tax as unrelated business taxable income under the Code.

Risks Related to Retirement Plans

If the fiduciary of an employee pension benefit plan subject to ERISA (such as a profit-sharing, Section 401(k) or pension plan) or any other retirement plan or account fails to meet the fiduciary and other standards under ERISA or the Code as a result of an investment in our stock, the fiduciary could be subject to criminal and civil penalties.

There are special considerations that apply to employee benefit plans subject to ERISA (such as profit-sharing, Section 401(k) or pension plans) and other retirement plans or accounts subject to Section 4975 of the Code (such as an IRA) that are investing in our shares. Fiduciaries investing the assets of such a plan or account in our common stock should satisfy themselves that:

•	the investment is consistent with their fiduciary obligations under ERISA and the Code;
•	the investment is made in accordance with the documents and instruments governing the plan or IRA, including the plan’s or account’s investment policy;
•	the investment satisfies the prudence and diversification requirements of Sections 404(a)(1)(B) and 404(a)(1)(C) of ERISA and other applicable provisions of ERISA and the Code;
•	the investment will not impair the liquidity of the plan or IRA;
•	the investment will not produce an unacceptable amount of “unrelated business taxable income” for the plan or IRA;
•	the value of the assets of the plan can be established annually in accordance with ERISA requirements and applicable provisions of the plan or IRA; and
•	the investment will not constitute a non-exempt prohibited transaction under Section 406 of ERISA or Section 4975 of the Code.

With respect to the annual valuation requirements described above, we expect to provide an estimated value for our shares annually. From the commencement of our primary initial public offering until the NAV pricing date, we expect to use the gross offering price of a share of common stock in our most recent offering as the per share estimated value. For purposes of this definition, we will not consider “public equity offerings” to include offerings on behalf of selling stockholders or offerings related to any distribution reinvestment plan, employee benefit plan or the redemption of interests in our operating partnership.

This estimated value is not likely to reflect the proceeds our stockholders would receive upon our liquidation or upon the sale of our stockholder’s shares. Accordingly, we can make no assurances that such estimated value will satisfy the applicable annual valuation requirements under ERISA and the Code. The Department of Labor or the IRS may determine that a plan fiduciary or an IRA custodian is required to take further steps to determine the value of our common shares. In the absence of an appropriate determination of value, a plan fiduciary or an IRA custodian may be subject to damages, penalties or other sanctions.

Failure to satisfy the fiduciary standards of conduct and other applicable requirements of ERISA and the Code may result in the imposition of civil and criminal penalties and could subject the fiduciary to equitable remedies. In addition, if an investment in our shares constitutes a non-exempt prohibited transaction under ERISA or the Code, the fiduciary or IRA owner who authorized or directed the investment may be subject to

the imposition of excise taxes with respect to the amount invested. In the case of a non-exempt prohibited transaction involving an IRA owner, the IRA may be disqualified and all of the assets of the IRA may be deemed distributed and subject to tax.

Prospective investors with investment discretion over the assets of an IRA, employee benefit plan or other retirement plan or arrangement that is covered by ERISA or Section 4975 of the Code are required to consult their own legal and tax advisors on these matters.

If any of our stockholders invest in our shares through an IRA or other retirement plan, they may be limited in their ability to withdraw required minimum distributions.

If any our stockholders establish IRAs or other retirement plans through which they invest in our shares, federal law may require them to withdraw required minimum distributions, or RMDs, from such plan in the future. Our share repurchase program limits the amount of repurchases (other than those repurchases as a result of a stockholder’s death or disability) that can be made in a given year. Additionally, our stockholders will not be eligible to have their shares repurchased until they have held their shares for at least one year. As a result, our stockholders may not be able to have their shares repurchased at a time in which they need liquidity to satisfy the RMD requirements under their IRAs or other retirement plans. Even if our stockholders are able to have their shares repurchased, such repurchases may be at a price less than the price at which the shares were initially purchased, depending on how long our stockholders have held their shares. If our stockholders fail to withdraw RMDs from their IRAs or other retirement plans, our stockholders may be subject to certain tax penalties.