Exhibit 99.1

STARWOOD WAYPOINT HOMES ANNOUNCES SPECIAL MEETING OF SHAREHOLDERS

Company Release – 10/16/2017

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. — October 16, 2017 — Starwood Waypoint Homes (NYSE: SFR) (“SFR” or the “Company”) today announced that it will hold a special meeting of its shareholders (the “Special Meeting”) on Tuesday, November 14, 2017 starting at 8:00 a.m., Central Time, at 2021 McKinney Avenue, Suite 2000, Dallas, Texas 75201.

The record date for determining those shareholders entitled to vote at the Special Meeting has been set as the close of business on October 13, 2017. At the Special Meeting, SFR’s shareholders will be asked to, among other things, vote on a proposal to approve the previously announced proposed merger of SFR and Invitation Homes Inc. (“INVH”) pursuant to the Agreement and Plan of Merger, dated as of August 9, 2017, by and among SFR, INVH and the other entities party thereto.

About Starwood Waypoint Homes

Starwood Waypoint Homes is one of the largest publicly traded owners and operators of single-family rental homes in the United States. Starwood Waypoint Homes acquires, renovates, leases, maintains and manages single-family homes in markets that exhibit favorable demographics and long-term economic trends, as well as strengthening demand for rental properties.

Forward-Looking Statements

The information presented herein may contain forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements, which are based on current expectations, estimates and projections about the industry and markets in which the Company and INVH operate and beliefs of and assumptions made by Company management and INVH management, involve significant risks and uncertainties, which are difficult to predict and are not guarantees of future performances, that could significantly affect the financial results of the Company or INVH or the combined company. Words such as “projects,” “will,” “could,” “continue,” “expects,” “anticipates,” “intends,” “plans,” “believes,” “seeks,” “estimates,” “forecast,” “guidance,” “outlook,” “may,” and “might” and variations of such words and similar expressions are intended to identify such forward-looking statements, which generally are not historical in nature. Such forward-looking statements may include, but are not limited to, statements about the anticipated benefits of the proposed merger between INVH and the Company, including future financial and operating results, the attractiveness of the value to be received by INVH stockholders, the attractiveness of the value to be received by the Company, the combined company’s plans, objectives, expectations and intentions, the timing of future events, anticipated administrative and operating synergies, the anticipated impact of the merger on net debt ratios, cost of capital, future dividend payment rates, forecasts of accretion in funds from operations (“FFO”), adjusted FFO or other earnings or performance measures, projected capital improvements, expected sources of financing, and descriptions relating to these expectations. All statements that address operating performance, events or developments that we expect or anticipate will occur in the future — including statements relating to expected synergies, improved liquidity and balance sheet strength — are forward-looking statements. Pro forma, projected and estimated numbers are used for illustrative purposes only, are not forecasts and may not reflect actual results. These statements are not guarantees of future performance and involve certain risks, uncertainties and assumptions that are difficult to predict. The Company’s ability to predict results or the actual effect of future events, actions, plans or strategies is inherently uncertain. Although the Company believes the expectations reflected in any forward-looking statements are based on reasonable assumptions, it can give no assurance that its expectations will be attained and therefore, actual outcomes and results may differ materially from what is expressed or forecasted in such forward-looking statements. Some of the factors that may materially and adversely affect the Company’s and INVH’s business, financial condition, liquidity, results of operations and prospects, as well as the Company’s ability to make distributions to its shareholders, include, but are not limited to: (i) national, regional and local economic climates; (ii) changes in the real estate and single-family rental industry, financial markets and interest rates, or to the business or financial condition of either company or business; (iii) increased or unanticipated competition for the companies’ properties; (iv) competition in the leasing market for quality residents; (v) increasing property taxes, homeowners’ association fees and insurance costs; (vi) each company’s dependence on third parties for key

services; (vii) risks related to evaluation of properties, poor resident selection and defaults and non-renewals by either company’s residents; (viii) risks associated with acquisitions, including the integration of the combined companies’ businesses; (ix) the potential liability for the failure to meet regulatory requirements, including the maintenance of real estate investment trust status; (x) availability of financing and capital; (xi) risks associated with achieving expected revenue synergies or cost savings; (xii) risks associated with the companies’ ability to consummate the merger and the timing of the closing of the merger; (xiii) the outcome of claims and litigation involving or affecting either company; (xiv) applicable regulatory changes; and (xv) those additional risks and factors discussed in reports and registration statements filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) by the Company and INVH from time to time, including those discussed under the heading “Risk Factors” in their respective most recently filed reports on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. Neither the Company nor INVH, except as required by law, undertakes any duty to update any forward-looking statements appearing in this document, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise. Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof.

Additional Information about the Proposed Transaction and Where to Find It

This communication relates to the proposed merger between SFR and INVH.

In connection with the proposed merger, INVH has filed with the SEC a registration statement on Form S-4 (File No. 333-220543) that includes a joint proxy statement of SFR and information statement of INVH that also constitutes a prospectus, which joint proxy statement/information statement and prospectus will be first mailed or otherwise disseminated to INVH stockholders and SFR shareholders beginning on October 16, 2017. INVH and SFR have each filed a joint proxy statement/information statement and prospectus and also plan to file other relevant documents with the SEC regarding the proposed transaction.  INVESTORS ARE URGED TO READ THE JOINT PROXY STATEMENT/INFORMATION STATEMENT AND PROSPECTUS AND OTHER RELEVANT DOCUMENTS FILED OR TO BE FILED WITH THE SEC BECAUSE THEY CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION. You may obtain a free copy of the joint proxy statement/information statement and prospectus and other relevant documents (if and when they become available) filed by INVH and SFR with the SEC at the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov. Copies of the documents filed by INVH with the SEC will be available free of charge on INVH’s website at www.invitiationhomes.com or by emailing INVH Investor Relations at ir@invitationhomes.com or at 844-456-4684. Copies of the documents filed by SFR with the SEC will be available free of charge on SFR’s website at www.starwoodwaypoint.com or by contacting SFR Investor Relations at ir@colonystarwood.com or at 480-800-3490.

Certain Information Regarding Participants in the Solicitation

INVH and SFR and certain of their respective trustees, directors and executive officers and other members of management and employees may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies in respect of the proposed merger between SFR and INVH. You can find information about INVH’s executive officers and directors in INVH’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2016, its Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarterly period ended June 30, 2017 and its Current Reports of Form 8-K filed with the SEC on February 6, 2017, March 20, 2017, June 29, 2017, August 14, 2017 and September 19, 2017. You can find information about SFR’s executive officers and trustees in SFR’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2016, its Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q for the quarterly periods ended March 31, 2017 and June 30, 2017, and its Definitive Proxy Statement on Schedule 14A filed with the SEC on March 31, 2017 in connection with its 2017 annual meeting of shareholders. Additional information regarding the interests of such potential participants is included in the joint proxy statement/information statement and prospectus and other relevant documents filed or to be filed with the SEC. You may obtain free copies of these documents from INVH or SFR using the sources indicated above.

No Offer or Solicitation

This document shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy any securities, nor shall there be any sale of securities in any jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such jurisdiction. No offering of securities shall be made

except by means of a prospectus meeting the requirements of Section 10 of the U.S. Securities Act of 1933, as amended.

Investor Relations

480-800-3490

IR@colonystarwood.com

or

Media Relations

Jason Chudoba, 646-277-1249

Jason.chudoba@icrinc.com