Exhibit 99.1

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contacts: Anton Communications

Vanessa Showalter 949-748-0542 vshowalter@antonpr.com

Genevieve Anton 714-544-6503 ganton@antonpr.com

STRATEGIC STORAGE GROWTH TRUST, INC. (SSGT) ACQUIRES LAND

TO BE DEVELOPED INTO AN APPROXIMATELY 780-UNIT

SELF STORAGE FACILITY LOCATED IN ONTARIO, CANADA

HAMILTON, Ontario (Canada) – February 11, 2016 – Strategic Storage Growth Trust, Inc. (SSGT), which is sponsored by SmartStop Asset Management, LLC, recently acquired vacant land which will be developed into a self storage facility located at 365 Fruitland Rd. in Hamilton, Ontario totaling approximately 780 units.

The facility will be a two-story building on the 3.73 acre site and will be approximately 81,600 net rentable square feet. The single building will offer interior loaded and 100% climate controlled units. The facility is expected to be completed in late 2017.

About Strategic Storage Growth Trust, Inc. (SSGT)

SSGT is a public non-traded REIT that focuses on the acquisition, development, redevelopment and lease-up of self storage properties. The SSGT portfolio currently consists of 13 operating self storage facilities located in six states comprising approximately 8,460 self storage units and approximately 979,900 net rentable square feet of storage space.

About SmartStop Asset Management, LLC

SmartStop Asset Management, LLC is a diversified real estate company with a managed portfolio that currently includes approximately 37,000 self storage units and approximately 4.1 million rentable square feet. The company is the asset manager for 59 self storage facilities located throughout the United States and Toronto, Canada. SmartStop Asset Management is the sponsor of SSGT and Strategic Storage Trust II, Inc. (SST II), a public non-traded REITs that focuses on stabilized self storage properties. The facilities offer affordable and accessible storage units for residential and commercial customers. In addition, they offer secure interior and exterior storage units as well as outside storage areas for vehicles, RVs and boats. In 2015, key executives at Smartstop Asset Management negotiated the sale of SmartStop Self Storage Inc. (Smartstop), a

fully integrated, self-administered and self-managed self storage company, owning and/or operating 170 self storage properties in 21 states and Toronto, Canada, to Extra Space Storage Inc., the second-largest storage operator in the United States, in a merger transaction with SmartStop having an enterprise value of $1.4 billion.

This press release may contain certain forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended. Such forward-looking statements can generally be identified by our use of forward-looking terminology such as “may,” “will,” “expect,” “intend,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” “believe,” “continue,” or other similar words. Because such statements include risks, uncertainties and contingencies, actual results may differ materially from the expectations, intentions, beliefs, plans or predictions of the future expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. These risks, uncertainties and contingencies include, but are not limited to: uncertainties relating to changes in general economic and real estate conditions; uncertainties relating to the implementation of our real estate investment strategy; uncertainties relating to financing availability and capital proceeds; uncertainties relating to the closing of property acquisitions; uncertainties related to the timing and availability of distributions; and other risk factors as outlined in the Company’s public filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. This is neither an offer nor a solicitation to purchase securities.