Town Center Phase VI

2 Table of Contents Construction Business Summary Same Store NOI by Segment Top 10 Tenants by Annualized Base Rent Office Lease Summary Office Lease Expirations Retail Lease Summary Retail Lease Expirations Net Asset Value Component Data Appendix – Definitions & Reconciliations Same Store vs Non-Same Store Properties Reconciliation to Property Portfolio NOI Reconciliation to GAAP Net Income Forward Looking Statements Corporate Profile Highlights 2016 Outlook Summary Information Summary Balance Sheet Summary Income Statement FFO, Normalized FFO & Adjusted FFO Outstanding Debt Core Debt to Core EBITDA Debt Information Capitalization & Financial Ratios Property Portfolio Development Pipeline Acquisitions & Dispositions 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 31 32 34 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 17 18 3 4 5 6 7 8

3 Forward Looking Statements This Supplemental Information should be read in conjunction with the unaudited condensed consolidated financial statements appearing in our press release dated November 1, 2016, which has been furnished as Exhibit 99.1 to our Form 8-K filed on November 1, 2016. The Company makes statements in this Supplemental Information that are forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 (set forth in Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the “Securities Act”), and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the “Exchange Act”)). In particular, statements pertaining to our capital resources, portfolio performance and results of operations contain forward-looking statements. Likewise, all of our statements regarding our 2016 outlook and anticipated growth in our funds from operations, normalized funds from operations, funds available for distribution and net operating income are forward- looking statements. You can identify forward-looking statements by the use of forward-looking terminology such as “believes,” “expects,” “may,” “will,” “should,” “seeks,” “intends,” “plans,” “estimates” or “anticipates” or the negative of these words and phrases or similar words or phrases which are predictions of or indicate future events or trends and which do not relate solely to historical matters. You can also identify forward-looking statements by discussions of strategy, plans or intentions. Forward-looking statements involve numerous risks and uncertainties and you should not rely on them as predictions of future events. Forward-looking statements depend on assumptions, estimates, data or methods, which may be incorrect or imprecise, and actual results may vary materially from those anticipated, estimated or projected. The Company does not guarantee that the transactions and events described will happen as described (or that they will happen at all). For further discussion of risk factors and other events that could impact our future results, please refer to the section entitled “Risk Factors” in our most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”), and the documents subsequently filed by us from time to time with the SEC. The Company does not provide a reconciliation for its guidance range of Normalized FFO per diluted share to net income per diluted share, the most directly comparable forward-looking GAAP financial measure, because it is unable to provide a meaningful or accurate estimate of reconciling items and the information is not available without unreasonable effort as a result of the inherent difficulty of forecasting the timing and/or amounts of various items that would impact net income per diluted share. For the same reasons, the Company is unable to address the probable significance of the unavailable information and believes that providing a reconciliation for its guidance range of Normalized FFO per diluted share would imply a degree of precision for its forward-looking net income per diluted share that could be misleading to investors.

Analyst Coverage 4 Corporate Profile Armada Hoffler Properties, Inc. (NYSE:AHH) is a full service real estate company that develops, constructs and owns institutional grade office, retail and multifamily properties in the Mid-Atlantic United States. The Company also provides general contracting and development services to third-party clients throughout the Mid-Atlantic and Southeastern regions. Armada Hoffler Properties, Inc. was founded in 1979 and is headquartered in Virginia Beach, VA. The Company has elected to be taxed as a real estate investment trust (“REIT”) for U.S. federal income tax purposes. Board of Directors Corporate Officers Investor Relations Daniel A. Hoffler A. Russell Kirk Louis S. Haddad John W. Snow George F. Allen James A. Carroll James C. Cherry Eva S. Hardy Executive Chairman of Board Vice Chairman of the Board Director Lead Independent Director Independent Director Independent Director Independent Director Independent Director Louis S. Haddad Michael P. O’?ara Eric L. Smith Anthony P. Nero Eric E. Apperson Shelly R. Hampton President and Chief Executive Officer Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer Chief Investment Officer and Corporate Secretary President of Development President of Construction President of Asset Management Michael P. O’?ara Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer (757) 366-6684 mohara@armadahoffler.com Janney, Montgomery, & Scott LLC Robert Stevenson (646) 840-3217 robertstevenson@janney.com Raymond James & Associates Bill Crow (727) 567-2594 bill.crow@raymondjames.com D. A. Davidson & Co. James O. Lykins (503) 603-3041 jlykins@dadco.com Robert W. Baird & Co. David Rodgers (216) 737-7341 drodgers@rwbaird.com Stonegate Capital Partners Laura Engel (214) 987-4121 laura@stonegateinc.com Stifel, Nicolaus & Company, Inc. John Guinee (443) 224-1307 jwguinee@stifel.com Wunderlich Securities Craig Kucera (540) 277-3366 ckucera@wundernet.com

5 Highlights • Net income of $7.9 million, or $0.15 per diluted share, for the quarter ended September 30, 2016 compared to net income of $4.3 million, or $0.10 per diluted share, for the quarter ended September 30, 2015. • Normalized Funds From Operations (“FFO”) of $13.2 million, or $0.26 per diluted share, for the quarter ended September 30, 2016 compared to Normalized FFO of $11.0 million, or $0.26 per diluted share, for the quarter ended September 30, 2015. • FFO of $13.1 million, or $0.25 per diluted share, for the quarter ended September 30, 2016 compared to FFO of $10.7 million, or $0.25 per diluted share, for the quarter ended September 30, 2015. • Same Store Net Operating Income (“NOI”) increased for the ninth consecutive quarter. • Core operating property portfolio occupancy at 96.2% compared to 95.6% as of September 30, 2015. • Delivered both Lightfoot Marketplace in Williamsburg, Virginia and Johns Hopkins Village in Baltimore. • Broke ground on Harding Place, a new $45 million Class A multifamily property in Midtown Charlotte, North Carolina with expected delivery in 2018. • Broke ground on the next phase of development in the Town Center of Virginia Beach, a $41 million mixed-use project expected to include 39,000 square feet of retail space, which is nearly 50% pre-leased, and more than 130 luxury apartments, as part of the Company's ongoing public-private partnership with the City of Virginia Beach. • Sold the Oyster Point office building in Newport News, Virginia and agreed to acquire an 80,000 square foot grocery- anchored retail center located in the greater Charlotte area of North Carolina. The Company expects to close on this acquisition in the fourth quarter of 2016. • Sold Kroger Junction, one of the non-core retail centers acquired as part of the 11-asset portfolio purchase completed in January. • The Company is raising its 2016 full-year Normalized FFO guidance range - now $0.99 to $1.01 per diluted share from its previous guidance range of $0.96 to $1.00 per diluted share.

6 2016 Outlook The Company is raising its 2016 full-year guidance and now expects 2016 Normalized FFO in the range of $0.99 to $1.01 per diluted share. The following table outlines the Company’s assumptions along with Normalized FFO per share estimates for the full-year 2016. [1] Excludes the impact of any future acquisitions other than the October retail acquisition, dispositions or other capital markets activity, except for opportunistic sales of additional shares under the ATM program, assuming favorable market conditions. [2] Normalized FFO excludes certain items, including debt extinguishment losses, acquisition, development and other pursuit costs, mark-to-market adjustments for interest rate derivatives and other non-comparable items. See “Non-GAAP Financial Measures.” In addition, the calculation of Normalized FFO per diluted share assumes 50.2 million weighted average shares and units outstanding, including shares issued under the ATM program and two million shares issued on October 13, 2016 for the retail acquisition. Full-year 2016 Guidance [1] Tot l NOI $67.3M $68.0M Cons ruction company annual segment gross profit $5.1M $5.3M General and administrative expenses $9.2M $9.4M Interest income $3.1M $3.3M Interest expense $16.2M $16.6M Normalized FFO per diluted share [2] $0.99 $1.01 Expected Ranges

7 Summary Information $ in thousands, except per share data Three months ended 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 3/31/2016 12/31/2015 9/30/2015 OPERATIONAL METRICS Net income $7,946 $3,131 $26,533 $8,443 $4,337 Net income per diluted share $0.15 $0.06 $0.57 $0.19 $0.10 Rental properties Net Operating Income (NOI) 17,115 16,798 15,605 14,713 14,382 General contracting and real estate services gross profit 1,278 1,175 1,766 1,106 2,106 Adjusted EBITDA (1) 16,720 16,077 14,406 12,903 14,341 Funds From Operations (FFO) 13,078 11,720 8,438 9,618 10,654 FFO per diluted share $0.25 $0.24 $0.18 $0.22 $0.25 Normalized FFO 13,156 12,530 11,566 10,614 10,996 Normalized FFO per diluted share $0.26 $0.26 $0.25 $0.24 $0.26 Annualized dividend yield 5.37% 5.24% 6.40% 6.49% 6.96% CAPITALIZATION Total common shares outstanding 34,256 32,825 31,095 30,076 26,261 Operating Partnership ("OP") units outstanding 17,793 17,597 16,027 16,027 16,043 Common shares and OP units outstanding 52,049 50,422 47,122 46,103 42,304 Market price per common share $13.40 $13.74 $11.25 $10.48 $9.77 Equity market capitalization(2) $697,457 $692,798 $530,123 $483,159 $413,310 Total debt(3) 519,209 512,702 471,876 382,013 421,442 Total market capitalization 1,216,666 1,205,500 1,001,999 865,172 834,752 Less: cash (27,361) (23,142) (22,505) (29,813) (19,434) Total enterprise value $1,189,305 $1,182,358 $979,494 $835,359 $815,318 BALANCE SHEET METRICS Core Debt/enterprise value 34.3% 35.4% 40.1% 37.0% 44.6% Fixed charge coverage ratio 3.4x 3.3x 3.1x 3.1x 3.3x Core Debt/Annualized Core EBITDA 6.4x 6.7x 6.9x 6.1x 6.6x CORE PORTFOLIO OCCUPANCY Office (4) 96.4% 94.6% 95.0% 95.8% 95.5% Retail (4) 96.4% 96.0% 95.1% 95.5% 96.2% Multifamily(5) 95.8% 94.3% 93.5% 94.2% 94.9% Weighted Average (6) 96.2% 95.3% 94.7% 95.3% 95.6% (1) Excludes gains on dispositions of real estate and mark-to-market adjustments on interest rate derivatives (2) Includes common shares and OP units (3) Excludes unamortized GAAP adjustments (4) Office and retail occupancy based on occupied square feet as a % of respective total (5) Multifamily occupancy based on occupied units as a % of respective total (6) Total occupancy weighted by annualized base rent

8 Summary Balance Sheet $ in thousands 9/30/2016 12/31/2015 Assets (Unaudited) Real estate investments: Income producing property $844,127 $579,000 Held for development 1,933 1,180 Construction in progress 13,895 53,411 Accumulated depreciation (133,288) (125,380) Net real estate investments 726,667 508,211 Real estate investments held for sale - 40,232 Cash and cash equivalents 23,890 26,989 Restricted cash 3,471 2,824 Accounts receivable, net 15,100 21,982 Notes receivable 49,935 7,825 Construction receivables, including retentions 39,981 36,535 Costs and estimated earnings in excess of bil l ings 419 88 Equity method investments 10,360 1,411 Other assets 62,022 43,450 Total Assets $931,845 $689,547 Liabilities and Equity Indebtedness, net $513,993 $377,593 Accounts payable and accrued liabilities 10,604 6,472 Construction payables, including retentions 51,203 52,067 Bil l ings in excess of costs and estimated earnings 6,560 2,224 Other l iabilities 39,517 25,471 Total Liabilities 621,877 463,827 Total Equity 309,968 225,720 Total Liabilities and Equity $931,845 $689,547 As of

9 Summary Income Statement Amounts in thousands, except per share data Three months ended Nine months Ended 9/30/2016 9/30/2015 9/30/2016 9/30/2015 Revenues (Unaudited) Rental revenues $25,305 $21,303 $72,839 $59,401 General contracting and real estate services 38,552 53,822 108,555 129,959 Total Revenues 63,857 75,125 181,394 189,360 Expenses Rental expenses 5,834 4,865 16,234 14,256 Real estate taxes 2,356 2,056 7,087 5,672 General contracting and real estate services 37,274 51,716 104,336 125,141 Depreciation and amortization 8,885 6,317 25,636 16,991 General and administrative 2,156 1,873 6,864 6,297 Acquisition, development & other pursuit costs 345 288 1,486 1,050 Impairment charges 149 - 184 23 Total Expenses 56,999 67,115 161,827 169,430 Operating Income 6,858 8,010 19,567 19,930 Interest income 1,024 - 1,928 - Interest expense (4,124) (3,518) (11,893) (9,922) Loss on extinguishment of debt (82) (3) (82) (410) Gain on real estate dispositions 3,753 - 30,440 13,407 Change in fair value of interest rate derivatives 498 (51) (2,264) (238) Other income 35 17 154 56 Income before taxes 7,962 4,455 37,850 22,823 I come tax benefit (provision) (16) (118) (240) (83) Net Income $7,946 $4,337 $37,610 $22,740 Per Diluted Share $0.15 $0.10 $0.77 $0.56 Weighted Average Shares-Diluted 51,512 41,877 48,869 40,691

(1) See definitions on pages 28-30 (2) Excludes gain on non-operating real estate of $430K for the three months ended 3/31/2016 (3) Excludes first generation rental space 10 FFO, Normalized FFO & Adjusted FFO(1) $ in thousands, except per share data Three months ended 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 3/31/2016 12/31/2015 9/30/2015 Funds From Operations (Unaudited) Net income $7,946 $3,131 $26,533 $8,443 $4,337 Earnings per diluted share $0.15 $0.06 $0.57 $0.19 $0.10 Depreciation and amortization 8,885 8,602 8,149 6,162 6,317 Gain on disposition of operating real estate(2) (3,753) (13) (26,244) (4,987) - Real estate joint ventures - - - - - FFO $13,078 $11,720 $8,438 $9,618 $10,654 FFO per diluted share $0.25 $0.24 $0.18 $0.22 $0.25 Normalized FFO Acquisition, development & other pursuit costs 345 437 704 885 288 Loss on extinguishment of debt 82 - - 102 3 Impairment charges 149 - 35 18 - Change in fair value of interest rate derivatives (498) 373 2,389 (9) 51 Normalized FFO $13,156 $12,530 $11,566 $10,614 $10,996 Normalized FFO per diluted share $0.26 $0.26 $0.25 $0.24 $0.26 Adjusted FFO Non-cash stock compensation 212 215 437 176 173 Acquisition, development & other pursuit costs (345) (437) (704) (885) (288) Tenant improvements, leasing commissions (3) (233) (1,365) (287) (509) (992) Property related capital expenditures (514) (603) (390) (563) (640) Non-cash interest expense 219 277 191 215 233 Net effect of straight-line rents (158) (194) (122) (134) (309) Amortization of leasing incentives & above (below) market rents 116 (183) 6 174 170 Government development grants - - - - 300 AFFO $12,453 $10,240 $10,697 $9,088 $9,643 Weighted Average Common Shares Outstanding 33,792 31,736 30,191 27,411 25,958 Weighted Average Operating Partnership ("OP") Units Outstanding 17,720 17,113 16,027 16,027 15,919 Total Weighted Average Common Shares and OP Units Outstanding 51,512 48,849 46,218 43,438 41,877

11 Outstanding Debt $ in thousands 30 Day LIBOR 0.524% (1) Subject to an interest rate swap lock. (2) Includes debt subject to interest rate swap locks. (3) Excludes debt subject to interest rate swap locks. Debt Maturities & Principal Payments Debt Stated Rate Effective Rate as of 9/30/2016 Maturity Date 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 Thereafter Amount Outstanding as of 9/30/2016 Secured Notes Payable - Core Debt North Point Note 5 L+2.00% 3.57% (1) 2/1/2017 $6 $643 $649 Harrisonburg Regal 6.06% 6.06% 6/8/2017 53 3,256 3,309 Commonwealth of Virginia - Chesapeake L+1.90% 2.42% 8/28/2017 4,933 4,933 Hanbury Village 6.67% 6.67% 10/11/2017 68 20,709 20,777 Sandbridge Commons L+1.85% 2.37% 1/17/2018 59 247 9,129 9,435 Columbus Village Note 1 L+2.00% 3.05% (1) 4/5/2018 45 178 6,080 6,303 Columbus Village Note 2 L+2.00% 2.52% 4/5/2018 11 47 2,218 2,276 North Point Center Note 1 6.45% 6.45% 2/5/2019 49 205 219 9,352 9,825 Southgate Square L+2.00% 2.52% 4/29/2021 391 539 561 584 19,075 21,150 249 Central Park Retail L+1.95% 2.47% 9/10/2021 69 216 229 243 258 16,117 17,132 South Retail L+1.95% 2.47% 9/10/2021 29 95 101 107 113 7,072 7,517 Fountain Plaza Retail L+1.95% 2.47% 9/10/2021 40 130 138 147 156 9,703 10,314 Encore Apartments 3.25% 3.25% 9/10/2021 124 504 24,351 24,966 Socastee Commons 4.57% 4.57% 1/6/2023 23 95 100 105 109 4,458 4,890 North Point Center Note 2 7.25% 7.25% 9/15/2025 24 105 113 121 130 2,095 2,589 Smith's Landing 4.05% 4.05% 6/1/2035 204 760 791 824 858 17,257 20,694 Liberty Apartments 5.66% 5.66% 11/1/2043 80 325 344 364 385 18,586 20,084 The Cosmopolitan 3.75% 3.75% 7/1/2051 161 660 686 712 739 43,087 46,045 Total - Secured Core Debt $922 $32,995 $20,687 $12,660 $3,836 $161,801 $232,888 Secured Notes Payable - Development Pipeline 4525 Main Street 3.25% 3.25% 9/10/2021 158 646 31,217 32,034 Lightfoot Marketplace L+1.90% 2.42% 11/14/2017 11,469 11,469 Johns Hopkins Village L+1.90% 2.42% 7/30/2018 40,818 40,818 Total - Development Pipeline - 11,469 40,818 158 646 31,217 84,321 Total Secured Notes Payable $922 $44,464 $61,505 $12,818 $4,482 $193,018 $317,209 Unsecured Core Debt Senior unsecured line of credit L+1.40% - 2.00% 2.07% 2/20/2019 102,000 102,000 Senior unsecured term loan L+1.35% - 1.95% 2.02% 2/20/2020 50,000 50,000 Senior unsecured term loan L+1.35% - 1.95% 3.50% (1) 2/20/2020 50,000 50,000 Total - Unsecured Core Debt - - - 102,000 100,000 - 202,000 Total Notes Payable excluding GAAP Adjustments $922 $44,464 $61,505 $114,818 $104,482 $193,018 $519,209 Weighted Average Interest Rate 4.3% 4.8% 2.6% 2.5% 2.8% 3.5% 3.1% Balloon Payments - 40,707 57,909 111,333 100,000 111,841 421,790 Principal amortization 922 3,757 3,596 3,485 4,482 81,177 97,419 Total Consolidated Debt $922 $44,464 $61,505 $114,818 $104,482 $193,018 $519,209 Fixed-rate Debt(2) 714 26,936 8,333 11,760 53,371 141,051 242,165 Variable-rate Debt(3) 208 17,528 53,172 103,058 51,111 51,967 277,044 Total Consolidated Debt $922 $44,464 $61,505 $114,818 $104,482 $193,018 $519,209 GAAP Adjustments (5,216) Total Notes Payable $513,993

12 Core Debt to Core EBITDA(1) $ in thousands Three months ended 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 3/31/2016 12/31/2015 9/30/2015 Net Income $7,946 $3,131 $26,533 $8,443 $4,337 Excluding: Interest expense 4,124 3,978 3,791 3,411 3,518 Income tax 16 6 218 (117) 118 Depreciation and amortization 8,885 8,602 8,149 6,162 6,317 Gain on real estate dispositions (3,753) (13) (26,674) (4,987) - Change in fair value of interest rate derivatives (498) 373 2,389 (9) 51 Adjusted EBITDA $16,720 $16,077 $14,406 $12,903 $14,341 Other adjustments: Loss on extinguishment of debt 82 - - 102 3 Non-cash stock compensation 212 215 437 176 173 Development Pipeline (1,058) (719) (620) (606) (738) Total Other Adjustments (764) (504) (183) (328) (562) Core EBITDA $15,956 $15,573 $14,223 $12,575 $13,779 Total Debt(2) $519,209 $512,702 $471,876 $382,013 $421,442 Adjustments to Debt: (Less) Development Pipeline(2) (84,321) (71,035) (56,592) (43,340) (37,987) (Less) Cash & restricted cash (27,361) (23,142) (22,505) (29,813) (19,434) Core Debt $407,527 $418,525 $392,779 $308,860 $364,021 Core Debt/Annualized Core EBITDA 6.4x 6.7x 6.9x 6.1x 6.6x (1) See definitions on page 30 (2) Excludes GAAP Adjustments

13 Debt Information $ in thousands (1) Excludes debt subject to interest rate swap locks. (2) Includes debt subject to interest rate swap locks. (3) Excludes GAAP adjustments. (4) Includes interest rate caps less than or equal to 1.50% Fixed-rate& Hedged Debt (4) 99% Total Debt Composition Weighted Average Percent of Debt Interest Rate Maturity Secured vs. Unsecured Debt Unsecured Debt 39.3% 2.4% 2.9 Yrs Secured Debt 60.7% 3.6% 10.4 Yrs Variable vs. Fixed-rate Debt Variable-rate Debt(1) 53.4% 2.2% 2.9 Yrs Fixed-rate Debt(2)(3) 46.6% 4.2% 12.8 Yrs Fixed-rate and Hedged Debt(2)(3)(4) 98.6% Total 3.1% 7.5 Yrs Interest Rate Cap Agreements At or Below 1.50% Effective Date Maturity Date Strike Rate Notional Amount March 14, 2014 March 1, 2017 1.25% $50,000 October 26, 2015 October 15, 2017 1.25% 75,000 March 1, 2016 March 1, 2018 1.50% 75,000 June 17, 2016 June 17, 2018 1.00% 70,000 Total Interest Rate Caps at or Below 1.50% $270,000 Fixed-rate Debt (2)(3) 242,165 Fixed-rate and Hedged Debt $512,165 % of Total (3) 98.6% $0 $50,000 $100,000 $150,000 $200,000 $250,000 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 and thereafter ($ In Th ou sa nd s) Debt turities & Principal Payments

14 Capitalization & Financial Ratios $ in thousands Capitalization as of September 30, 2016 Capital Structure as of September 30, 2016 Debt % of Total Carrying Value Unsecured Credit Facility 20% $102,000 Unsecured Term Loans 19% 100,000 Mortgages Payable 61% 317,209 Total Debt $519,209 Equity % of Total Shares/Units Stock Price Market Value Common Stock (NYSE: AHH) 66% 34,256 $13.40 $459,030 Common Units 34% 17,793 $13.40 238,426 Equity Market Capitalization 52,049 $697,457 Total Market Capitalization $1,216,666 Debt/Market Capitalization 42.7% Dividend Data Liquidity as of September 30, 2016 Q3 2016 Q3 2015 Common Dividend Paid $8,837 $6,906 Cash on Hand $27,361 AFFO $12,453 $9,643 Availability under Credit Facility 48,000 AFFO Payout Ratio 71.0% 71.6% $75,361 Debt 43%Common 57%

15 Property Portfolio As of 9/30/16 (1) The net rentable square footage for each of our retail properties is the sum of (a) the square footage of existing leases, plus (b) for available space, the field verified square footage. (2) Occupancy for each of our retail properties is calculated as (a) square footage under executed leases as of September 30, 2016, divided by (b) net rentable square feet, expressed as a percentage. (3) For the properties in our retail portfolio, annualized base rent, or ABR, is calculated by multiplying (a) base rental payments for executed leases as of Sept 30, 2016 (defined as cash base rents before abatements) excluding tenant reimbursements for expenses paid by the landlord), by (b) 12. ABR per leased square foot is calculated by dividing (a) ABR, by (b) square footage under executed leases as of September 30, 2016 . In the case of triple net or modified gross leases, ABR does not include tenant reimbursements for real estate taxes, insurance, common area or other operating expenses. Excludes the square footage of land subject to ground leases. (4) As of September 30, 2016, the Company occupied 8,995 square feet at this property at an ABR of $304,841, or $33.89 per leased square foot, which amounts are reflected in this table. The rent paid by us is eliminated in accordance with GAAP. (5) Includes $32,760 of ABR pursuant to a rooftop lease. Property Anchor Tenant Location Town Center Unencumbered ABR Year Built Core Properties Development Properties Net Rentable Square Feet(1) Core Occupancy (2) Development Leased(2) ABR (3) ABR per Leased SF(3) Retail Properties - Excluding Properties Subject to Ground Lease 249 Central Park Retail (4) Cheesecake Factory, Brooks Brothers, Gordon Biersch Virginia Beach, VA  - 2004 91,366 - 91,366 89.8% - $2,358,091 $28.75 Alexander Pointe Harris Teeter Salisbury, NC 100% 1997 57,710 - 57,710 97.6% - 647,322 11.50 Bermuda Crossroads Food Lion, OfficeMax Chester, VA 100% 2001 111,566 - 111,566 100.0% - 1,583,406 14.19 Broad Creek Shopping Center Home Depot, Food Lion, PetSmart Norfolk, VA 100% 1997/2001 227,659 - 227,659 99.3% - 3,188,069 14.10 Broadmoor Plaza Kroger, Staples, Jo-Ann Fabrics South Bend, IN 100% 1980 115,059 - 115,059 93.2% - 1,267,990 11.82 Columbus Village Barnes & Noble Virginia Beach, VA  - 1980/2013 66,594 - 66,594 98.7% - 1,346,501 20.48 Commerce Street Retail (5) Yard House Virginia Beach, VA  100% 2008 19,173 - 19,173 100.0% - 794,740 41.45 Courthouse 7-Eleven 7-Eleven Virginia Beach, VA 100% 2011 3,177 - 3,177 100.0% - 125,015 39.35 Dick's at Town Center Dick's Sporting Goods, USI Virginia Beach, VA  100% 2002 103,335 - 103,335 100.0% - 1,231,340 11.92 Dimmock Square Best Buy, Old Navy Colonial Heights, VA 100% 1998 106,166 - 106,166 97.2% - 1,733,856 16.81 Fountain Plaza Retail Ruth's Chris, Ann Taylor Virginia Beach, VA  - 2004 35,961 - 35,961 100.0% - 1,022,787 28.44 Gainsborough Square Food Lion, Rite Aid Chesapeake, VA 100% 1999 88,862 - 88,862 90.7% - 1,216,489 15.10 Greentree Shopping Center Wawa Chesapeake, VA 100% 2014 15,751 - 15,751 85.7% - 285,941 21.17 Hanbury Village Walgreens, Starbucks Chesapeake, VA 32% 2006/2009 61,049 - 61,049 92.8% - 1,355,478 23.92 Harper Hill Commons Harris Teeter Winston-Salem, NC 100% 2004 55,394 - 55,394 63.8% - 507,774 14.36 Harrisonburg Regal Regal Cinemas Harrisonburg, VA - 1999 49,000 - 49,000 100.0% - 683,550 13.95 Lightfoot Marketplace Harris Teeter Williamsburg, VA - 2016 - 55,893 55,893 - 49.4% 601,665 21.80 North Hampton Market PetSmart, Hobby Lobby, Dollar Tree Taylors, SC 100% 2004 114,935 - 114,935 97.2% - 1,397,087 12.50 North Point Center Kroger, PetSmart, BB&B, Costco Durham, NC 52% 1998/2009 215,690 - 215,690 95.9% - 2,528,866 12.22 Oakland Marketplace Kroger Oakland, TN 100% 2004 19,600 - 19,600 85.7% - 252,280 15.02 Parkway Marketplace Rite Aid Virginia Beach, VA 100% 1998 37,804 - 37,804 95.2% - 712,397 19.79 Patterson Place Bed Bath & Beyond, PetSmart Durham, NC 100% 2004 160,942 - 160,942 98.3% - 2,497,643 15.79 Perry Hall Marketplace Safeway Perry Hall, MD 100% 2001 74,256 - 74,256 100.0% - 1,243,444 16.75 Providence Plaza Edward Jones, Chipotle, Choate Const. Charlotte, NC 100% 2007/2008 103,118 - 103,118 94.1% - 2,446,619 25.21 Sandbridge Commons Heartland Dental Virginia Beach, VA - 2015 16,129 - 16,129 100.0% - 327,710 20.32 Socastee Commons Bi-Lo Myrtle Beach, SC - 2000/2014 57,573 - 57,573 97.4% - 638,616 11.39 South Retail lululemon, free people Virginia Beach, VA  - 2002 38,515 - 38,515 100.0% - 948,670 24.63 South Square Ross, Petco, Office Depot Durham, NC 100% 1977/2005 107,812 - 107,812 100.0% - 1,829,556 16.97 Southgate Square Burlington, PetSmart, Michaels Colonial Heights, VA - 1991/2016 223,131 - 223,131 100.0% - 2,941,776 13.18 Southshore Shops Buffalo Wild Wings Midlothian, VA 100% 2006 40,333 - 40,333 93.1% - 729,763 19.43 Stone House Square Weis Markets Hagerstown, MD 100% 2008 108,624 - 108,624 90.4% - 1,566,916 15.95 Studio 56 Retail McCormick & Schmick's Virginia Beach, VA  100% 2007 11,594 - 11,594 100.0% - 375,628 32.40 Waynesboro Commons Kroger Waynesboro, VA 100% 1993 52,415 - 52,415 100.0% - 438,464 8.37 Wendover Village Bed Bath & Beyond, T.J. Maxx, Petco Greensboro, NC 100% 2004 135,758 - 135,758 100.0% - 1,954,542 14.40 Total / Weighted Avg Retail Portfolio 70% 2,726,051 55,893 2,781,944 96.4% 49.4% $42,779,991 $16.12

16 Property Portfolio - Continued As of 9/30/16 (1) The net rentable square footage for each of our office properties is the sum of (a) the square footage of existing leases, plus (b) for available space, management’s estimate of net rentable square footage based, in part, on past leases. The net rentable square footage included in office leases is generally consistent with the Building Owners and Managers Association, or BOMA, 1996 measurement guidelines. (2) Occupancy for each of our office properties is calculated as (a) square footage under executed leases as of September 30, 2016, divided by (b) net rentable square feet, expressed as a percentage. Occupancy for our multifamily properties is calculated as (a) total units occupied as of September 30, 2016, divided by (b) total units available, expressed as a percentage. (3) For the properties in our office portfolio, annualized base rent, or ABR, is calculated by multiplying (a) base rental payments for executed leases as of September 30, 2016 (defined as cash base rents (before abatements) excluding tenant reimbursements for expenses paid by the landlord), by (b) 12. ABR per leased square foot is calculated by dividing (a) ABR, by (b) square footage under executed leases as of September 30, 2016. In the case of triple net or modified gross leases, ABR does not include tenant reimbursements for real estate taxes, insurance, common area or other operating expenses. (4) As of September 30, 2016, the Company occupied 18,984 square feet at this property at an ABR of $573,596 or $30.21 per leased square foot, which amounts are reflected in this table. The rent paid by us is eliminated in accordance with GAAP. In addition, effective March 1, 2013, the Company subleases approximately 5,000 square feet of space from a tenant at this property. (5) Pursuant to this ground lease, the Company owns the land and the tenant owns the improvements thereon. The Company will succeed to the ownership of the improvements to the land upon the termination of the ground lease. (6) The Company leases the land underlying this property and re-leases it to our tenant under a ground lease pursuant to which our tenant owns the improvements on the land. (7) For the properties in our multifamily portfolio, annualized base rent, or ABR, is calculated by multiplying (a) base rental payments for the month ended September 30, 2016 by (b) 12. (8) ABR per occupied rentable square foot is calculated by dividing (a) ABR, by (b) net rentable square footage of occupied units as of September 30, 2016. (9) The ABR for Liberty, Cosmopolitan, Johns Hopkins Village excludes $206,000, $916,000, $907,875 from ground floor retail leases, respectively. (10) The Company leases the land underlying this property pursuant to a ground lease. Net Rentable Square Feet (RSF)(1) Property Anchor Tenant Location Town Center Unencumbered ABR Year Built Core Properties Development Properties Total Core Occupancy (2) Development Leased(2) ABR (3) ABR per Leased SF(3) Office Properties 4525 Main Street Clark Nexsen, Anthropologie, West Elm Virginia Beach, VA  - 2014 - 237,893 237,893 - 57.8% $3,840,876 $27.96 Armada Hoffler Tower(4) AHH, Troutman Sanders, Will iams Mullen Virginia Beach, VA  100% 2002 323,970 - 323,970 98.3% - 8,951,468 28.12 Commonwealth of VA - Chesapeake Commonwealth of VA Chesapeake, VA - 2015 36,227 - 36,227 100.0% - 645,927 17.83 Commonwealth of VA - Virginia Beach Commonwealth of VA Virginia Beach, VA 100% 2015 11,139 - 11,139 100.0% - 245,058 22.00 One Columbus BB&T, HBA Virginia Beach, VA  100% 1984 129,272 - 129,272 92.5% - 2,937,288 24.55 Two Columbus The Art Institute, Kimley-Horn Virginia Beach, VA  100% 2009 108,467 - 108,467 93.8% - 2,757,279 27.09 Total / Weighted Average Office Portfolio 77% 609,075 237,893 846,968 96.4% 57.8% $19,377,897 $26.75 Properties Subject to Ground Lease Bermuda Crossroads (5) IHOP, O'Charley's Chester, VA - 2001 11,000 - 11,000 100.0% - $163,350 $14.85 Broad Creek Shopping Center (6) 7-Eleven, Ruby Tuesdays, Home Depot Norfolk, VA - 1997/2001 24,818 - 24,818 100.0% - 577,081 23.25 Greentree Shopping Center Wawa Chesapeake, VA - 2014 5,088 - 5,088 100.0% - 230,004 45.21 Hanbury Village(5) Harris Teeter, Walgreens Chesapeake, VA - 2006/2009 55,586 - 55,586 100.0% - 1,067,598 19.21 Harper Hill Commons Harris Teeter Winston-Salem, NC 100% 2004 41,520 - 41,520 100.0% - 373,680 9.00 Lightfoot Marketplace Harris Teeter Williamsburg, VA - 2016 - 51,750 51,750 - 100.0% 641,700 12.40 Oakland Marketplace Kroger Oakland, TN 100% 2004 45,000 - 45,000 100.0% - 186,300 4.14 North Point Center(5) Home Depot, Costco Durham, NC 15% 1998/2009 280,556 - 280,556 100.0% - 1,083,666 3.86 Sandbridge Commons Harris Teeter Virginia Beach, VA - 2015 53,288 - 53,288 100.0% - 583,000 10.94 South Square Chick-fil-A Durham, NC 100% 1977/2005 1,778 - 1,778 100.0% - 60,000 33.75 Stone House Square Capitol One Bank Hagerstown, MD 100% 2008 3,650 - 3,650 100.0% - 165,000 45.21 Tyre Neck Harris Teeter(6) Harris Teeter Portsmouth, VA 100% 2011 48,808 - 48,808 100.0% - 508,134 10.41 Total / Weighted Avg Retail Portfolio Subject to Ground Leases 26% 571,092 51,750 622,842 100.0% 100.0% $5,639,513 $9.05 Units Multifamily Location Town Center Unencumbered ABR Year Built Core Properties Development Properties Total Core Occupancy (2) Development Occupancy(2) ABR (7) ABR per Occupied RSF(8) Encore Apartments Virginia Beach, VA  - 2014 286 - 286 95.5% - $4,157,232 $1.76 Johns Hopkins Village(9) Baltimore, MD - 2016 - 157 157 - 77.7% 6,044,640 2.79 Liberty Apartments (9) Newport News, VA - 2014 197 - 197 95.2% - 2,509,428 1.56 Smith's Landing(10) Blacksburg, VA - 2009 284 - 284 100.0% - 3,686,868 1.14 The Cosmopolitan (9) Virginia Beach, VA  - 2006 342 - 342 93.0% - 6,021,456 1.65 Total / Weighted Avg Multifamily Portfolio - 1,109 157 1,266 95.8% 77.7% $22,419,624 $1.72

17 Development Pipeline $ in thousands Johns Hopkins Village Lightfoot Marketplace One City Center Point Street Apts. (1) Represents estimates that may change as the development process proceeds (2) First full stabilized quarter (3) AHH earns a preferred return on equity prior to any distributions to JV Partners Q3 2016 Year to Date Capitalized Interest $290 $927 Capitalized Overhead $449 $1,145 Schedule(1) Development, Not Delivered Property Type Estimated(1) % Leased Start Initial Occupancy Stabilized Operation (2) Estimated Cost(1) Cost to Date AHH Ownership % Anchor Tenants & Other Notes Harding Place Charlotte, NC Multifamily 225 Units NA 3Q16 3Q18 1Q20 $45,000 $6,000 80%(3) NA Town Center Phase VI Virginia Beach, VA Mixed-use 39,000 SF 130 Units 46% 4Q16 3Q18 3Q19 41,000 2,000 80% Anchor tenants not yet announced Total Development, Not Delivered 86,000 8,000 Development, Delivered Not Stabilized Brooks Crossing Newport News, VA Retail 18,000 sf 60% 3Q15 3Q16 4Q16 3,000 3,000 65%(3) Misc. small shops 4525 Main Street Virginia Beach, VA Office 239,000 sf 64% 1Q13 3Q14 2Q17 51,000 46,000 100% Clark Nexsen, Development Authority of Virginia Beach, Anthropologie Johns Hopkins Village Baltimore, MD Multifamily 157 units 72% 1Q15 3Q16 3Q17 68,000 65,000 80%(3) CVS Lightfoot Marketplace Will iamsburg, VA Retail 109,000 sf 71% 3Q14 3Q16 2Q17 24,000 22,000 70%(3) Harris Teeter, CHKD Total Development, Delivered Not Stabilized 146,000 136,000 Total $232,000 $144,000 Joint Ventures - Minority Partner Project Cost Equity Investment One City Center - 37% JV Durham, NC Mixed-use 152,000 sf 36% 1Q16 2Q18 2Q19 $36,000 $10,000 100% Duke University. AHH Equity requirement $10M. Mezzanine Investments Purchase Option Price Loan Balance Point Street Apartments Inner Harbor Baltimore, MD Multifamily 289 units NA 1Q16 4Q17 4Q18 $92,000 $19,000 Option to purchase 88% upon completion $23M Mezzanine financing by AHH, earning 8% interest income Annapolis Junction Annapolis Junction, MD Multifamily 416 units NA 2Q16 1Q18 2Q19 102,000 31,000 Option to purchase 88% upon completion $42M Mezzanine financing by AHH, earning 10% interest income Total Mezzanine Investment $194,000 $50,000

18 Acquisitions & Dispositions $ in thousands (1) Contractual purchase price (2) Value of OP Units/Stock at issuance (3) Anchor tenant vacated 9/30/16, which would represent a 2.5% Cash Cap Rate ACQUISITIONS Properties Location Square Feet Purchase Price (1) Reinvested 1031 Proceeds $ Value of OP Units/Stock (2) Cash Cap Rate Purchase Date % Leased as of 9/30/16 Anchor Tenants Southshore Shops Midlothian, VA 40,333 $9,160 - $2,475 7.8% 3Q16 93% Buffalo Wild Wings Southgate Square Colonial Heights, VA 220,131 $38,585 - $17,485 7.3% 2Q16 100% PetSmart, Michael's, Burlington Retail Portfolio (11 properties) Mid-Atlantic 1,082,681 $170,500 $87,000 - 7.2% 1Q16 94% Harris Teeter, Bed Bath & Beyond Providence Plaza Charlotte, NC 103,118 $26,200 $14,000 - 7.3% 3Q15 97% Chipotle Socastee Commons Myrtle Beach, SC 57,573 $8,600 $3,600 - 7.3% 3Q15 100% BiLo Columbus Village Virginia Beach, VA 65,746 $21,025 - $14,025 6.4% 3Q15 100% Barnes & Noble Perry Hall Marketplace & Stone House Square Maryland 182,949 $39,555 $15,200 $4,155 7.4% 2Q15 93% Safeway & Weis Markets Dimmock Square Colonial Heights, VA 106,166 $19,662 - $9,662 7.3% 3Q14 100% Old Navy, Best Buy, Pier 1 Total/Weighted Average 1,858,697 $333,287 119,800.00 $47,801 7.8% DISPOSITIONS Properties Location Square Feet/Units Sale Price Cash Proceeds Gain on Sale Cash Cap Rate Disposition Date % Leased at closing Anchor Tenants Oyster Point Newport News, VA 100,139 $6,500 - $3,793 16.4% (3) 3Q16 82% GSA Non-Core Retail Portfolio Various 174,758 $12,850 $12,600 ($27) 7.1% 2Q16 - 3Q16 ~85% Kroger, Family Dollar Richm nd Tower Richmond, VA 206,969 $78,000 $77,000 $26,674 7.9% 1Q16 99% Williams Mullen Oceaneering Chesapeake, VA 154,000 $30,000 $10,000 $4,987 6.7% 4Q15 100% Oceaneering International Whetstone Apartments Durham, NC 203 units $35,625 $17,600 $7,210 5.7% 2Q15 26% NA Sentara Williamsburg Williamsburg, VA 49,200 $15,450 $15,200 $6,197 6.3% 1Q15 100% Sentara Virginia Natural Gas Virginia Beach, VA 31,000 $8,900 $7,400 $2,211 6.3% 4Q14 100% Virginia Natural Gas Total/Weighted Average 716,066sf/ 203 units $187,325 $139,800 $51,045 7.3%

19 Construction Business Summary $ in thousands Gross Profit Summary Q3 2016 Trailing 12 Months Revenue $38,552 $149,864 Expense (37,274) (144,539) Gross Profit $1,278 $5,325 (Unaudited) Location Total Contract Value Work in Place as of 9/30/2016 Backlog Estimated Date of Completion Highlighted Projects Exelon Baltimore, MD $182,932 $179,930 $3,002 3Q 2016 Four Seasons Condominium Expansion Baltimore, MD 72,182 42,063 30,119 2Q 2017 Point Street Apartments Baltimore, MD 71,382 15,592 55,790 1Q 2018 Annapolis Junction Annapolis Junction, MD 68,781 9,055 59,726 1Q 2018 Durham City Center Durham, NC 61,962 9,591 52,371 2Q 2018 27th Street Hotel Virginia Beach, VA 51,079 31,563 19,516 2Q 2017 Sub Total $508,318 $287,794 $220,524 All Other Projects 136,134 110,226 25,908 Total $644,452 $398,020 $246,432

(1) See page 31 for Same Store vs. Non – Same Store Properties 20 Same Store NOI by Segment $ in thousands (Reconciliation to GAAP located in appendix pg. 32) Three months ended Nine months ended 9/30/2016 9/30/2015 $ Change % Change 9/30/2016 9/30/2015 $ Change % Change Office(1) (Unaudited) (Unaudited) Revenue $3,883 $3,838 $45 1.2% $11,671 $11,669 $2 0.0% Expenses 1,443 1,413 30 2.1% 4,103 4,292 (189) -4.4% Net Operating Income 2,440 2,425 15 0.6% 7,568 7,377 191 2.6% Retail(1) Revenue 8,211 7,907 304 3.8% 19,688 19,352 336 1.7% Expenses 2,295 2,194 101 4.6% 5,684 5,581 103 1.8% Net Operating Income 5,916 5,713 203 3.6% 14,004 13,771 233 1.7% Multifamily(1) Revenue 3,075 3,105 (30) -1.0% 9,145 9,069 76 0.8% Expenses 1,396 1,342 54 4.0% 4,016 3,913 103 2.6% Net Operating Income 1,679 1,763 (84) -4.8% 5,129 5,156 (27) -0.5% Same Store Net Operating Income (NOI) $10,035 $9,901 $134 1.4% $26,701 $26,304 $397 1.5% Net effect of straight-line rents 48 (58) 106 280 179 101 Amortization of lease incentives and above (below) market rents 164 173 (9) 391 369 22 Same store portfolio NOI, cash basis $10,247 $10,016 $231 2.3% $27,372 $26,852 $520 1.9% NOI, Cash Basis: Office $2,447 $2,338 $109 4.7% $7,519 $7,336 $183 2.5% Retail 6,111 5,893 218 3.7% 14,684 14,270 414 2.9% Multifamily 1,689 1,785 (96) -5.4% 5,169 5,246 (77) -1.5% $10,247 $10,016 $231 2.3% $27,372 $26,852 $520 1.9% NOI: Office $2,440 $2,425 $15 0.6% $7,568 $7,377 $191 2.6% Retail 5,916 5,713 203 3.6% 14,004 13,771 233 1.7% Multifamily 1,679 1,763 (84) -4.8% 5,129 5,156 (27) -0.5% $10,035 $9,901 $134 1.4% $26,701 $26,304 $397 1.5%

21 Top 10 Tenants - Annualized Base Rent $ in thousands As of September 30, 2016 Office Portfolio Tenant Number of Leases Lease Expiration Annualized Base Rent % of Office Portfolio Annualized Base Rent % of Total Portfolio Annualized Base Rent Clark Nexsen 1 2029 $ 2,487 12.8% 2.8% Williams Mullen 1 2018 1,524 7.9% 1.7% Hampton University 2 2024 1,003 5.2% 1.1% Commonwealth of Virginia 2 2030 891 4.6% 1.0% Pender & Coward 1 2030 839 4.3% 0.9% Troutman Sanders 2 2025 822 4.2% 0.9% The Art Institute 3 2019 819 4.2% 0.9% Kimley-Horn 2 2018 724 3.7% 0.8% City of Va Beach Development Authority 1 2024 701 3.6% 0.8% Cherry Bekaert 1 2022 688 3.6% 0.8% Top 10 Total $ 10,499 54.2% 11.6% Retail Portfolio Tenant Number of Leases Lease Expiration Annualized Base Rent % of Retail Portfolio Annualized Base Rent % of Total Portfolio Annualized Base Rent Kroger/Harris Teeter 10 2027 $ 5,183 10.7% 5.7% Home Depot 2 2019 2,190 4.5% 2.4% Food Lion 3 2020 1,283 2.6% 1.4% PetSmart 4 2020 1,117 2.3% 1.2% Bed Bath & Beyond 3 2022 1,077 2.2% 1.2% Dick's Sporting Goods 1 2020 840 1.7% 0.9% Safeway 2 2021 821 1.7% 0.9% Weis Markets 1 2028 802 1.7% 0.9% Ross Dress for Less 2 2020 755 1.6% 0.8% Petco 3 2024 739 1.5% 0.8% Top 10 Total $ 14,806 30.6% 16.4%

22 Office Lease Summary 22 Renewal Lease Summary GAAP Cash Quarter Number of Leases Signed Net rentable SF Signed Leases Expiring Net rentable SF Expiring Contractual Rent per SF Prior Rent per SF Releasing Spread Contractual Rent per SF Prior Rent per SF Releasing Spread Weighted Average Lease Term (yrs) TI & LC Q3 2016 - - - - - - 0.0% - - 0.0% - - Q2 2016 1 2,318 2 3,870 33.27 26.53 25.4% 30.00 28.41 5.6% 10.00 - Q1 2016 2 6,445 - - 21.34 19.60 8.9% 21.10 20.38 3.5% 1.65 3,773 Q4 2015 2 5,708 2 3,947 24.50 23.50 4.3% 24.39 23.68 3.0% 1.31 3,682 New Lease Summary (1) Quarter Number of Leases Signed Net rentable SF Signed Cash Contractual Rent per SF Weighted Average Lease Term (yrs) TI & LC TI & LC per SF Q3 2016 1 2,153 $25.00 3.08 $11,810 $5.49 Q2 2016 1 1,806 25.00 5.00 63,579 35.20 Q1 2016 2 3,773 27.49 6.91 139,067 36.86 Q4 2015 2 9,920 30.13 7.17 421,094 42.45 (1) Excludes new leases from properties in development

23 Office Lease Expirations 0.0% 5.0% 10.0% 15.0% 20.0% 25.0% - 20,000 40,000 60,000 80,000 100,000 120,000 140,000 160,000 180,000 200,000 Leased Square Feet % ABR of Office Portfolio Year of Lease Expiration Number of Leases Expiring Square Footage of Leases Expiring (1) % Portfolio Net Rentable Square Feet Annualized Base Rent % of Portfolio Annualized Base Rent Annualized Base Rent per Leased Square Foot Available - 122,464 14.5% -$ -$ -$ 2016 1 777 0.1% 13,986 0.1% 18.00 2017 7 13,382 1.6% 421,754 2.2% 31.52 2018 18 156,646 18.5% 4,516,371 23.3% 28.83 2019 15 100,492 11.9% 2,490,286 12.9% 24.78 2020 3 17,840 2.1% 522,209 2.7% 29.27 2021 5 44,933 5.3% 1,166,237 6.0% 25.96 2022 4 49,923 5.9% 1,383,217 7.1% 27.71 2023 4 43,078 5.1% 1,087,325 5.6% 25.24 2024 3 60,751 7.2% 1,686,383 8.7% 27.76 2025 4 43,292 5.1% 1,218,282 6.3% 28.14 2026 3 20,722 2.4% 482,437 2.5% 23.28 Thereafter 8 172,668 20.3% 4,389,409 22.7% 25.42 Total / Weighted Average 75 846,968 100.0% 19,377,897$ 100.0% $26.75 (1) Includes new leases from properties in development

24 Retail Lease Summary (1) Excludes new leases from properties in development Renewal Lease Summary GAAP Cash Quarter Number of Leases Signed Net rentable SF Signed Leases Expiring Net rentable SF Expiring Contractual Rent per SF Prior Rent per SF Releasing Spread Contractual Rent per SF Prior Rent per SF Releasing Spread Weighted Average Lease Term (yrs) Q3 2016 14 80,526 10 22,340 $16.84 $15.69 7.3% $16.36 $15.80 3.5% 7.00 Q2 2016 25 98,300 14 33,111 18.28 17.32 5.5% 17.99 17.55 2.5% 6.36 Q1 2016 10 26,870 1 1,800 22.70 21.29 6.6% 22.21 21.78 1.9% 3.37 Q4 2015 6 33,274 4 27,146 20.63 18.73 10.1% 20.55 19.45 5.6% 4.54 New Lease Summary(1) Quarter Number of Leases Signed Net rentable SF Signed Cash Contractual Rent per SF Weighted Average Lease Term (yrs) TI & LC TI & LC per SF Q3 2016 3 14,341 $14.03 6.52 $262,134 $18.28 Q2 2016 4 5,560 21.24 7.31 162,432 29.21 Q1 2016 4 11,913 19.68 5.10 431,103 36.19 Q4 2015 4 24,825 21.83 6.64 421,094 16.96

25 Retail Lease Expirations Year of Lease Expiration Number of Leases Expiring Square Footage of Leases Expiring (1) % Portfolio Net Rentable Square Feet Annualized Base Rent % of Portfolio Annualized Base Rent Annualized Base Rent per Leased Square Foot Available - 127,376 3.7% -$ -$ -$ M-T-M 5 7,342 0.2% 118,656 0.2% 16.16 2016 15 44,425 1.3% 790,527 1.6% 17.79 2017 42 172,310 5.1% 2,676,013 5.5% 15.53 2018 69 325,814 9.6% 5,239,666 10.8% 16.08 2019 76 551,941 16.2% 8,312,918 17.2% 15.06 2020 61 508,328 14.9% 7,082,103 14.6% 13.93 2021 45 249,213 7.3% 4,553,570 9.4% 18.27 2022 22 218,491 6.4% 3,113,990 6.4% 14.25 2023 14 246,153 7.2% 3,019,432 6.2% 12.27 2024 14 156,518 4.6% 2,502,096 5.2% 15.99 2025 15 223,613 6.6% 2,259,666 4.7% 10.11 2026 17 149,286 4.4% 2,501,465 5.2% 16.76 Thereafter 22 423,976 12.5% 6,249,402 12.9% 14.74 Total / Weighted Average 417 3,404,786 100.0% 48,419,504$ 100.0% $14.77 (1) Includes new leases from properties in development

26 Net Asset Value Component Data In thousands (1) Includes leases for space occupied by Armada Hoffler which are eliminated for GAAP purposes Stabilized Portfolio NOI (Cash) Taxable REIT Subsidiary (TRS) Three months ended Annualized Trailing 12 Months 9/30/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2016 Diversified Portfolio General contracting and real estate services $5,325 Office $462 $1,848 Retail 8,790 35,160 Other Assets Multifamily 910 3,640 Other Assets As of 9/30/2016 Total Diversified Portfolio NOI $10,162 $40,648 Cash and Cash Equivalents $23,890 Restricted Cash 3,471 Virginia Beach Town Center Accounts Receivable 15,100 Office(1) $2,394 $9,576 Notes Receivable 49,935 Retail (1) 1,725 6,900 Construction receivables, including retentions 39,981 Multifamily 1,764 7,056 Equity method investments 10,360 Total Virginia Beach Town Center NOI $5,883 $23,532 Other Assets 62,441 Total Other Assets $205,178 Timing of mid-quarter transaction Acquisition $346 $1,384 Liabilities & Share Count Disposition (242) (968) As of 9/30/2016 Total timing Mid-Quarter transaction $104 $416 Liabilities Mortgages and notes payable $513,993 Stabilized Portfolio NOI - Cash Basis $16,149 $64,180 Accounts payable and accrued liabilities 10,604 Construction payables, including retentions 51,203 Development Pipeline Other Liabilities 46,077 9/30/2016 Total Liabilities $621,877 Income producing property $123,600 Construction in progress 13,800 Three months ended Other assets 6,600 Share Count 9/30/2016 Total cost to date (p. 17) $144,000 Weighted average common shares outstanding 33,792 Weighted average operating partnership ("OP") Units Outstanding 17,720 Land held for development 1,933 Total weighted average common shares and OP units outstanding 51,512

Appendix – Definitions & Reconciliations

28 Definitions Net Operating Income: We calculate Net Operating Income (“NOI”) as property revenues (base rent, expense reimbursements and other revenue) less property expenses (rental expenses and real estate taxes). Other REITs may use different methodologies for calculating NOI, and accordingly, our NOI may not be comparable to such other REITs’ NOI. NOI is not a measure of operating income or cash flows from operating activities as measured by GAAP and is not indicative of cash available to fund cash needs. As a result, NOI should not be considered an alternative to cash flows as a measure of liquidity. We consider NOI to be an appropriate supplemental measure to net income because it assists both investors and management in understanding the core operations of our real estate business. To calculate NOI on a cash basis, we adjust NOI to exclude the net effects of straight-line rent and the amortization of lease incentives and above/below market rents. Funds From Operations: We calculate Funds From Operations (“FFO”) in accordance with the standards established by the National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (“NAREIT”). NAREIT defines FFO as net income (loss) (calculated in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States (“GAAP”)), excluding gains (or losses) from sales of depreciable operating property, real estate related depreciation and amortization (excluding amortization of deferred financing costs) and after adjustments for unconsolidated partnerships and joint ventures. FFO is a supplemental non-GAAP financial measure. Management uses FFO as a supplemental performance measure because it believes that FFO is beneficial to investors as a starting point in measuring our operational performance. Specifically, in excluding real estate related depreciation and amortization and gains and losses from property dispositions, which do not relate to or are not indicative of operating performance, FFO provides a performance measure that, when compared period-over-period, captures trends in occupancy rates, rental rates and operating costs. Other equity REITs may not calculate FFO in accordance with the NAREIT definition as we do, and, accordingly, our FFO may not be comparable to such other REITs’ FFO.

29 Definitions Normalized Funds From Operations: We calculate Normalized Funds From Operations (“Normalized FFO") as FFO calculated in accordance with the standards established by NAREIT, adjusted for acquisition, development and other pursuit costs, gains or losses from the early extinguishment of debt, impairment charges, mark-to-market adjustments on interest rate derivatives and other non- comparable items. Management believes that the computation of FFO in accordance to NAREIT’s definition includes certain items that are not indicative of the results provided by the Company’s operating portfolio and affect the comparability of the Company’s period-over-period performance. Our calculation of Normalized FFO differs from NAREIT's definition of FFO. Other equity REITs may not calculate Normalized FFO in the same manner as us, and, accordingly, our Normalized FFO may not be comparable to other REITs' Normalized FFO. Adjusted Funds From Operations: We calculate Adjusted Funds From Operations (“AFFO”) as Normalized FFO adjusted for the impact of non-cash stock compensation, tenant improvement, leasing commission and leasing incentive costs associated with second generation rental space, capital expenditures, non-cash interest expense, straight-line rents, the amortization of leasing incentives and above (below) market rents and proceeds from government development grants. Management believes that AFFO provides useful supplemental information to investors regarding our operating performance as it provides a consistent comparison of our operating performance across time periods and allows investors to more easily compare our operating results with other REITs. However, other REITs may use different methodologies for calculating AFFO or similarly entitled FFO measures and, accordingly, our AFFO may not always be comparable to AFFO or other similarly entitled FFO measures of other REITs.

Definitions Adjusted EBITDA: We calculate Adjusted EBITDA as net income (loss) (calculated in accordance with GAAP), excluding interest expense, income taxes, depreciation and amortization, gains (or losses) from sales of depreciable operating property and mark-to- market adjustments on interest rate derivates. Management believes Adjusted EBITDA is useful to investors in evaluating and facilitating comparisons of our operating performance between periods and between REITs by removing the impact of our capital structure (primarily interest expense) and asset base (primarily depreciation and amortization) from our operating results along with other non-comparable items. Core EBITDA: We calculate Core EBITDA as EBITDA, excluding certain items, including, but not limited to, debt extinguishment losses, mark-to-market adjustments on interest rate derivatives, non-cash stock compensation and the impact of development pipeline projects that are still in lease-up. We generally consider a property to be in lease-up until the earlier of (i) the quarter after which the property reaches 80% occupancy or (ii) the thirteenth quarter after the property receives its certificate of occupancy. Management believes that Core EBITDA provides useful supplemental information to investors regarding our ongoing operating performance as it provides a consistent comparison of our operating performance across time periods and allows investors to more easily compare our operating results with other REITs. However, other REITs may use different methodologies for calculating Core EBITDA or similarly entitled measures and, accordingly, our Core EBITDA may not always be comparable to Core EBITDA or other similarly entitled measures of other REITs. Core Debt: We calculate Core Debt as our total debt, excluding loans associated with our development pipeline, cash & cash equivalents, and restricted cash. Same Store Portfolio: We define same store properties as those that we owned and operated for the entirety of the comparative periods presented. We generally consider a property to be in lease-up until the earlier of (i) the quarter after which the property reaches 80% occupancy or (ii) the thirteenth quarter after the property receives its certificate of occupancy. The following table shows the properties included in the same store and non-same store portfolio for the comparative periods presented. 30

31 Same Store vs. Non-Same Store Same Store Non-Same Store Same Store Non-Same Store Same Store Non-Same Store Same Store Non-Same Store Retail Properties Office Properties 249 Central Park Retail X X 4525 Main Street X X Alexander Pointe X X Armada Hoffler Tower X X Bermuda Crossroads X X Commonwealth of VA - Chesapeake X X Broad Creek Shopping Center X X Commonwealth of VA - Virginia Beach X X Broadmoor Plaza X X Oceaneering X X Columbus Village X X One Columbus X X Commerce Street Retail X X Oyster Point X X Courthouse 7-Eleven X X Richmond Tower X X Dick’s at Town Center X X Sentara Williamsburg X X Dimmock Square X X Two Columbus X X Greentree Shopping Center X X Multifamily Properties Fountain Plaza Retail X X Encore Apartments X X Gainsborough Square X X Liberty Apartments X X Hanbury Village X X Smith’s Landing X X Harper Hill Commons X X The Cosmopolitan X X Harrisonburg Regal X X Whetstone Apartments X X Kroger Junction X X North Hampton Market X X North Point Center X X Oakland Marketplace X X Parkway Marketplace X X Patterson Place X X Perry Hall Marketplace X X Providence Plaza X X Sandbridge Commons X X Socastee Commons X X South Retail X X South Square X X Southgate Square X X Southshore Shops X X Stone House Square X X Studio 56 Retail X X Tyre Neck Harris Teeter X X Waynesboro Commons X X Wendover Village X X Willowbrook Commons X X Nine Months Ended 9/30/2016 to 2015 Three Months Ended 9/30/2016 to 2015 Three Months Ended 9/30/2016 to 2015 Nine Months Ended 9/30/2016 to 2015

32 Reconciliation to Property Portfolio NOI $ in thousands Three months ended 9/30 Nine months ended 9/30 2016 2015 2016 2015 Office Same Store(1) Rental revenues $3,883 $3,838 $11,671 $11,669 Property expenses 1,443 1,413 4,103 4,292 NOI 2,440 2,425 7,568 7,377 Non-Same Store NOI 799 3,175 2,672 9,026 Segment NOI 3,239 $5,600 $10,240 $16,403 Retail Same Store(1) Rental revenues $8,211 $7,907 $19,688 $19,352 Property expenses 2,295 2,194 5,684 5,581 NOI 5,916 5,713 14,004 13,771 Non-Same Store NOI 4,821 522 16,708 2,641 Segment NOI $10,737 $6,235 $30,712 $16,412 Multifamily Same Store(1) Rental revenues $3,075 $3,105 $9,145 $9,069 Property expenses 1,396 1,342 4,016 3,913 NOI 1,679 1,763 5,129 5,156 Non-Same Store NOI 1,460 784 3,437 1,502 Segment NOI 3,139 2,547 $8,566 $6,658 Total Property Portfolio NOI $17,115 $14,382 $49,518 $39,473 (1) See page 34 for the Same Store vs. Non-Same Store properties

33 Reconciliation to Property NOI $ in thousands Three months ended 9/30/2016 Diversified Portfolio Office Retail Multifamily Total NOI - Cash Basis $462 $8,790 $910 $10,162 Net effect of straight-line rents 23 58 2 83 Amortization of lease incentives and (above) below market rents - 204 (13) 191 NOI $485 $9,052 $899 $10,436 Town Center of Virginia Beach Office Retail Multifamily Total NOI - Cash Basis $2,394 $1,725 $1,764 $5,883 Net effect of straight-line rents (2) 6 3 7 Amortization of lease incentives and (above) below market rents (26) (74) - (100) Elimination of AHH rent (176) (81) - (257) NOI $2,190 $1,576 $1,767 $5,533 NOI Office Retail Multifamily Total Diversified Portfolio $485 $9,052 $899 $10,436 Town Center of Virginia Beach 2,190 1,576 1,767 5,533 Unstabilized Properties 564 109 473 1,146 Total Property Portfolio NOI $3,239 $10,737 $3,139 $17,115

34 Reconciliation to GAAP Net Income $ in thousands Office Retail Multifamily Total Property Portfolio General Contracting & Real Estate Services Total Segment revenues 5,277$ 14,340$ 5,688$ 25,305$ 38,552$ 63,857$ Segment expenses 2,038 3,603 2,549 8,190 37,274 45,464 Net operating income 3,239$ 10,737$ 3,139$ 17,115$ 1,278$ 18,393$ Depreciation and amortization (8,885) General and administrative expenses (2,156) Acquisition, development and other pursuit costs (345) Interest income 1,024 Interest expense (4,124) Gain on real estate dispositions 3,753 Change in fair value of interest rate derivatives 498 Other income 35 Income tax provision (16) Net income 7,946$ Office Retail Multifamily Total Rental Properties General Contracting & Real Estate Services Total Segment revenues 16,097$ 41,485$ 15,257$ 72,839$ 108,555$ 181,394$ Segment expenses 5,857 10,773 6,691 23,321 104,336 127,657 Net operating income 10,240$ 30,712$ 8,566$ 49,518$ 4,219$ 53,737$ Depreciation and amortization (25,636) General and administrative expenses (6,864) Acquisition, development and other pursuit costs (1,486) Impairment charges (184) Interest income 1,928 Interest expense (11,893) Loss on extinguishment of debt (82) Gain on real estate dispositions 30,440 Change in fair value of interest rate derivatives (2,264) Other income 154 Income tax provision (240) Net income 37,610$ Three months ended 9/30/2016 Nine months ended 9/30/2016