Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc. (CIK 1567514)
Form 10-Q
period 2020-06-30
filed 2020-08-10

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
(646)
440-9333
(Registrant’s telephone number, including area code)

Securities registered pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Act:

Title of each class	Trading Symbol(s)	Name of each exchange on whic h reg istered
Common Stock	ITCI	The Nasdaq Global Select Market
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
12b-2
of the Exchange Act).    Yes  ☐    No  ☒
As of August
7
, 2020, the registrant had 67,306,099 shares of common stock outstanding.

Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc.

In this Quarterly Report on Form
10-Q,
the terms “we,” “us,” “our,” and the “Company” mean Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc. and our subsidiaries. “ITI” refers to our wholly-owned subsidiary ITI, Inc. and “ITI Limited” refers to our wholly-owned subsidiary ITI Limited.

i

PART I: FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1.	FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc. and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets

	June 30, 2020	December 31, 2019
	(Unaudited)
Assets
Current assets:
Cash and cash equivalents	$129,290,445	$107,636,849
Investment securities, available-for-sale	278,468,502	116,373,335
Restricted cash	1,400,000	—
Accounts receivable, net	2,353,255	—
Inventory	2,335,042	—
Prepaid expenses and other current assets	4,726,134	6,313,785

Total current assets	418,573,378	230,323,969
Property and equipment, net	2,000,687	2,259,740
Right of use assets, net	20,270,675	18,252,074
Deferred tax asset, net	—	264,609
Other assets	86,084	86,084

Total assets	$440,930,824	$251,186,476

Liabilities and stockholders’ equity
Current liabilities:
Accounts payable	$5,472,987	$7,425,024
Accrued and other current liabilities	19,383,111	16,138,909
Lease liabilities, short-term	3,973,920	3,187,435
Accrued employee benefits	11,412,697	9,472,651

Total current liabilities	40,242,715	36,224,019
Lease liabilities	21,158,241	19,955,186

Total liabilities	61,400,956	56,179,205
Stockholders’ equity:
Common stock, $0.0001 par value: 100,000,000 shares authorized; 66,777,737 and 55,507,497 shares issued and outstanding at June 30, 2020 and December 31, 2019, respectively	6,678	5,551
Additional paid-in capital	1,199,576,320	904,971,772
Accumulated deficit	(821,221,229)	(710,098,369)
Accumulated comprehensive income	1,168,099	128,317

Total stockholders’ equity	379,529,868	195,007,271

Total liabilities and stockholders’ equity	$440,930,824	$251,186,476

See accompanying notes to these condensed consolidated financial statements.

Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc. and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations (Unaudited)

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2020	2019	2020	2019
Revenues
Product sales, net	$1,875,889	$—	$2,758,405	$—
Grant revenue	30,747	—	231,710	—

Total revenues	1,906,636	—	2,990,115	—

Operating expenses:
Cost of product sales	128,539	—	197,850	—
Research and development	25,204,857	23,728,464	41,208,183	48,719,321
Selling, general and administrative	41,445,557	15,442,650	75,541,923	27,147,634

Total operating expenses	66,778,953	39,171,114	116,947,956	75,866,955

Loss from operations	(64,872,317)	(39,171,114)	(113,957,841)	(75,866,955)
Interest income	1,160,059	1,731,550	2,838,262	3,591,627

Loss before provision for income taxes	(63,712,258)	(37,439,564)	(111,119,579)	(72,275,328)
Income tax expense	—	1,600	3,281	1,600

Net loss	$(63,712,258)	$(37,441,164)	$(111,122,860)	$(72,276,928)

Net loss per common share:
Basic & Diluted	$(0.96)	$(0.68)	$(1.69)	$(1.31)
Weighted average number of common shares:
B asic & Diluted	66,429,371	55,145,901	65,767,737	55,129,654
See accompanying notes to these condensed consolidated financial statements.

Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc. and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Comprehensive Loss (Unaudited)

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2020	2019	2020	2019
Net loss	$(63,712,258)	$(37,441,164)	$(111,122,860)	$(72,276,928)
Other comprehensive income:
Unrealized gain on investment securities	1,313,298	299,894	1,039,782	900,201

Comprehensive loss	$(62,398,960)	$(37,141,270)	$(110,083,078)	$(71,376,727)

See accompanying notes to these condensed consolidated financial statements.

Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc. and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Stockholders’ Equity (Unaudited)

	Common Stock		Additional Paid-in Capital	Accumulated Deficit	Accumulated Comprehensive (Loss) Income	Total Stockholders’ Equity
	Shares	Amount
Balance at March 31, 2019	55,131,125	$5,513	$885,888,318	$(597,211,955)	$(67,450)	$288,614,426
Exercise of stock options and issuances of restricted stock	51,878	5	259,206	—	—	259,211
Stock issued for services	3,742	1	48,570	—	—	48,571
Share-based compensation	—	—	4,987,424	—	—	4,987,424
Net loss	—	—	—	(37,441,164)	—	(37,441,164)
Other comprehensive gain	—	—	—	—	299,894	299,894

Balance at June 30, 2019	55,186,745	$5,519	$891,183,518	$(634,653,119)	$232,444	$256,768,362

	Common Stock		Additional Paid-in Capital	Accumulated Deficit	Accumulated Comprehensive ( Loss ) Income	Total Stockholders’ Equity
	Shares	Amount
Balance at December 31, 2018	54,895,295	$5,490	$880,753,339	$(562,376,191)	$(667,757)	$317,714,881
Exercise of stock options and issuances of restricted stock	283,722	28	290,419	—	—	290,447
Stock issued for services	7,728	1	97,119	—	—	97,120
Share-based compensation	—	—	10,042,641	—	—	10,042,641
Net loss	—	—	—	(72,276,928)	—	(72,276,928)
Other comprehensive gain	—	—	—	—	900,201	900,201

Balance at June 30, 2019	55,186,745	$5,519	$891,183,518	$(634,653,119)	$232,444	$256,768,362

	Common Stock		Additional Paid-in Capital	Accumulated Deficit	Accumulated Comprehensive ( Loss ) Income	Total Stockholders’ Equity
	Shares	Amount
Balance at March 31, 2020	66,200,761	$6,620	$1,188,095,880	$(757,508,971)	$(145,199)	$430,448,330
Common shares issued	230,000	23	5,595,186	—	—	5,595,209
Common shares issued receivable	—	—	(5,705,186)	—	—	(5,705,186)
Exercise of stock options and issuances of restricted stock	344,891	34	4,589,784	—	—	4,589,818
Stock issued for services	2,085	1	53,522	—	—	53,523
Share-based compensation	—	—	6,947,134	—	—	6,947,134
Net loss	—	—	—	(63,712,258)	—	(63,712,258)
Other comprehensive gain	—	—	—	—	1,313,298	1,313,298

Balance at June 30, 2020	66,777,737	$6,678	$1,199,576,320	$(821,221,229)	$1,168,099	$379,529,868

	Common Stock		Additional Paid-in Capital	Accumulated Deficit	Accumulated Comprehensive (Loss) Income	Total Stockholders’ Equity
	Shares	Amount
Balance at December 31, 2019	55,507,497	$5,551	$904,971,772	$(710,098,369)	$128,317	$195,007,271
Common shares issued	10,230,000	1,023	282,572,372	—	—	282,573,395
Common shares issued receivable	—	—	(5,705,186)	—	—	(5,705,186)
Exercise of stock options and issuances of restricted stock	1,034,672	103	5,178,876	—	—	5,178,979
S tock issued for services	5,568	1	107,055	—	—	107,056
Share-based compensation	—	—	12,451,431	—	—	12,451,431
Net loss	—	—	—	(111,122,860)	—	(111,122,860)
Other comprehensive gain	—	—	—	—	1,039,782	1,039,782

Balance at June 30, 2020	66,777,737	$6,678	$1,199,576,320	$(821,221,229)	$1,168,099	$379,529,868

See accompanying notes to these condensed consolidated financial statements.

Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc. and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows (Unaudited)

	Six Months Ended June 30,
	2020	2019
Cash flows used in operating activities
Net loss	$(111,122,860)	$(72,276,928)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash used in operating activities:
Depreciation	281,102	206,409
Share-based compensation	12,451,431	10,042,641
Stock issued for services	107,055	97,120
Amortization of premiums and discounts on investment securities, net	(334,857)	(646,583)
Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Accounts receivable, net	(2,353,255)	—
Inventory	(2,335,042)	—
Prepaid expenses and other assets	1,587,651	4,737,440
Long term deferred tax asset, net	264,609	—
Accounts payable	(1,952,037)	(8,328,277)
Accrued liabilities and other	5,184,249	3,230,143
Lease liabilities, net	(29,061)	—

Net cash used in operating activities	(98,251,015)	(62,938,035)

Cash flows (used in) provided by investing activities
Purchases of investments	(284,600,154)	(25,777,875)
Maturities of investments	123,879,626	126,370,905
Purchases of property and equipment	(22,049)	(1,129,576)

Net cash (used in) provided by investing activities	(160,742,577)	99,463,454

Cash flows provided by financing activities
Proceeds from exercise of stock options and issuances of restricted stock	5,178,979	290,447
Proceeds of public offerings, net	276,868,209	—

Net cash provided by financing activities	282,047,188	290,447

Net increase in cash, cash equivalents, and restricted cash	23,053,596	36,815,866
Cash, cash equivalents, and restricted cash at beginning of period	107,636,849	54,947,502

Cash, cash equivalents, and restricted cash at end of period	$130,690,445	$91,763,368

Non-cash investing and financing activities
Right of use assets under operating vehicle fleet leases	$2,821,861	$219,703

The following table provides a reconciliation of cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash reported within the condensed consolidated balance sheets that sum to the total of the same such amounts shown in the condensed consolidated statements of cash flows:

	June 30,
	2020	2019
Cash and cash equivalents	$129,290,445	$91,763,368
Restricted cash	1,400,000	—

Total cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash	$130,690,445	$91,763,368

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
TM
(lumateperone) had been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”) for the treatment of schizophrenia in adults (42mg/day). The Company initiated the commercial launch of CAPLYTA in late March 2020. As used in these Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements, “CAPLYTA” refers to lumateperone approved by the FDA for the treatment of schizophrenia in adults, and “lumateperone” refers to, where applicable, CAPLYTA as well as lumateperone for the treatment of indications beyond schizophrenia. Lumateperone is in Phase 3 clinical development as a novel treatment for bipolar depression.
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
“at-the-market”
equity program. For the quarter ended June 30, 2020, the Company
 issued
230,000 shares of common stock under the Company’s
“at-the-market”
equity program which
resulted
in
the Company receiving net proceeds of $5.6 million

in
July 2020
. Subsequent to the quarter ended June
30
,
2020
, the Company has issued an additional
512,791
shares of common stock under the Company’s
“at-the-market”
equity program and received approximately $
12.3
 million of net proceeds.
In addition, on January
6
,
2020
, the Company filed an automatic shelf registration statement on Form
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
Basis of Presentation
The accompanying condensed consolidated financial statements of Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc. and its wholly own subsidiaries have been prepared in conformity with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (“U.S. GAAP”). Any reference in these notes to applicable guidance is meant to refer to the authoritative U.S. GAAP set forth in the Accounting Standards Codification (“ASC”) and Accounting Standards Update (“ASU”) of the Financial Accounting Standards Board (“FASB”). All intercompany accounts and transactions have been eliminated in consolidation. The Company currently operates in one operating segment. Operating segments are defined as components of an enterprise about which separate discrete information is available for the chief operating decision maker, or decision making group, in deciding how to allocate resources and assessing performance. The Company views its operations and manages its business in one segment, which is discovering, developing and commercializing drugs for the treatment of neurological and psychiatric disorders.

Use of Estimates
The preparation of financial statements in conformity with U.S. GAAP requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the amounts reported in the financial statements and accompanying notes. Although actual results could differ from those estimates, management does not believe that such differences would be material.
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
Investment Securities
Investment securities consisted of the following (in thousands):

	June 30, 2020
	Amortized Cost	Unrealized Gains	Unrealized (Losses)	Estimated Fair Value
	(Unaudited)
U.S. Government Agency Securities	$73,024	$64	$(9)	$73,079
Certificates of Deposit	17,500	—	—	17,500
Commercial Paper	78,594	262	(15)	78,841
Corporate Notes/Bonds	108,182	868	(1)	109,049

	$277,300	$1,194	$(25)	$278,469

	December 31, 2019
	Amortized Cost	Unrealized Gains	Unrealized (Losses)	Estimated Fair Value
U.S. Government Agency Securities	$35,462	$35	$(3)	$35,494
Certificates of Deposit	3,000	—	—	3,000
Commercial Paper	39,013	10	(5)	39,018
Corporate Notes/Bonds	38,770	91	—	38,861

	$116,245	$136	$(8)	$116,373

The Company has classified all of its investment securities
as
available-for-sale,
including those with maturities beyond one year, as current assets on the condensed consolidated balance sheets based on the highly liquid nature of the investment securities and because these investment securities are considered available for use in current operations. As of June 30, 2020, and December 31, 2019, the Company held $102.0 million and $3.0 million, respectively, of
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
The aggregate related fair value of investments with unrealized losses as of June 30, 2020 was $47.7 million, which consisted of $30.5 million from U.S. government agency securities, $14.9 million of commercial paper, and $2.3 million of corporate notes/bonds. The aggregate amount of unrealized losses as of June 30, 2020 was approximately $25,000, which consisted of $9,000 from U.S. government agency securities, $15,000 from commercial paper, and $1,000 from corporate notes/bonds. The $47.7 million aggregate fair value of investments with unrealized losses as of June 30, 2020 has been held in a continuous unrealized loss position for less than 12 months. As of December 31, 2019, the Company had approximately $29.6 million of investments with a continuous unrealized loss for 12 months or longer of which approximately $12.5 million had been held in a continuous loss position for 12 months or longer.
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
The Company has no assets or liabilities that were measured using quoted prices for significant unobservable inputs (Level 3 assets and liabilities) as of June 30, 2020
or
December 31, 2019. The carrying value of cash held in money market funds of approximately $100.9 million as of June 30, 2020 and $49.9 million as of December 31, 2019 is included in cash and cash equivalents
on the condensed consolidated balance sheet and approximates market value based on quoted market prices or Level 1 inputs. The carrying value of certificates of deposit
of

approximately $14.0 million and $47.6 million as
of June 30, 2020 and December 31, 2019, respectively, is also included in cash and cash equivalents on the condensed consolidated balance sheet and approximates market value based on quoted market prices or Level 2 inputs. The carrying value of commercial paper of approximately $3.0 million as of December 31, 2019 is included in cash and cash equivalents on the condensed consolidated balance sheet and approximates market value based on quoted market prices or Level 2 inputs.
The fair value measurements of the Company’s cash equivalents and
available-for-sale
investment securities are identified in the following tables (in thousands):

		Fair Value Measurements at Reporting Date Using
	June 30, 2020	Quoted Prices in Active Markets for Identical Assets (Level 1)	Significant Other Observable Inputs (Level 2)	Significant Unobservable Inputs (Level 3)
Money Market Funds	$100,856	$100,856	$—	$—
U.S. Government Agency Securities	73,079	—	73,079	—
Certificates of Deposit	31,505	—	31,505	—
Commercial Paper	78,841	—	78,841	—
Corporate Notes/Bonds	109,048	—	109,048	—

	$393,329	$100,856	$292,473	$—

		Fair Value Measurements at Reporting Date Using
	December 31, 2019	Quoted Prices in Active Markets for Identical Assets (Level 1)	Significant Other Observable Inputs (Level 2)	Significant Unobservable Inputs (Level 3)
Money Market Funds	$49,882	$49,882	$—	$ —
U.S. Government Agency Securities	35,494	—	35,494	—
Certificates of Deposit	50,622	—	50,622	—
Commercial Paper	42,015	—	42,015	—
Corporate Notes/Bonds	38,861	—	38,861	—

	$216,874	$49,882	$166,992	$ —

Financial Instruments
The Company considers the recorded costs of its financial assets and liabilities, which consist of cash equivalents, restricted cash, accounts receivable, prepaid expenses, other assets, accounts payable, accrued liabilities, accrued employee benefits and lease liabilities, short-term, to approximate their fair value because of their relatively short maturities at June 30, 2020 and December 31, 2019. Management believes that the risks associated with its financial instruments are minimal as the counterparties are various corporations, financial institutions and government agencies of high credit standing.
Restricted Cash
Restricted cash is collateral used under the letter of credit arrangement for the vehicle lease agreement. The Company adopted ASU
No. 2016-18,
“Restricted Cash” (“ASU
2016-18”)
and now includes restricted cash balances within the cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash balance on the statement of cash flows.
Accounts Receivable, net
The Company’s accounts receivable, net, primarily arise from product sales. They are generally stated at the invoiced amount and do not bear interest. Revenues from product sales are recorded at the net sales price (transaction price), which includes estimates of variable consideration for which reserves are established and which result from chargebacks, prompt pay discounts, and distribution fees.
The Company monitors the financial performance and creditworthiness of its customers so that it can properly assess and respond to changes in the customers’ credit profiles. For the three and six months ended June 30, 2020, 96% of sales were generated from three major industry wholesalers, respectively.
Concentration of Credit Risk
Financial instruments which potentially subject the Company to concentrations of credit risk consist of accounts receivable, net from customers and cash, cash equivalent and investments held at financial institutions. For the six months ended June 30, 2020, the majority of the Company’s accounts receivable, net arose from product sales in the U.S. and all customers have standard payment terms which generally require payment within 90 days. Three individual customers accounted for approximately

37%, 33%, and 26% of product sales for the three months ended June 30, 2020 as well as accounted for approximately
46%, 27% and 23% of product sales for the six months ended June 30, 2020. As of June 30, 2020, the Company believes that such customers are of high credit quality.
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
 Revenue from Contracts with Customers
(“ASC Topic 606”). The Company did not generate any product related revenue prior to January 1, 2020, and therefore the adoption of ASC Topic 606 did not have an impact to the Company’s financial statements for any prior periods. In accordance with ASC Topic 606, the Company recognizes revenue when the customer obtains control of a promised good or service, in an amount that reflects the consideration that the Company expects to receive in exchange for the good or service. The reported results for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020 reflect the application of ASC Topic 606.
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
Product Sales, net
(below).
To date, the Company’s only source of product sales has been from sales of CAPLYTA in the U.S., which it began shipping to customers in March 2020.
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
These reserves, as detailed below, are based on the amounts earned, or to be claimed on the related sales, include estimates that take into consideration a range of possible outcomes which are either considered more likely or probability-weighted in accordance with the expected value method in ASC Topic 606 for relevant factors such as current contractual and statutory requirements, specific known market events and trends, forecasted customer buying and payment patterns. The Company’s estimates regarding the payer mix for CAPLYTA and historical industry information regarding the payer mix for comparable pharmaceutical products and product portfolios, in particular, historical information related to similar products in their initial launch stages. Overall, these reserves reflect the Company’s best estimates of the amount of consideration to which it is entitled based on the terms of the respective underlying contracts after considering whether revenue should be constrained under ASC 606.
The amount of variable consideration which is included in the transaction price may be constrained, and is included in the net sales price only to the extent that it is probable that a significant reversal in the amount of the cumulative revenue recognized under the contract will not occur in a future period. The Company’s analyses also contemplated application of the constraint in accordance with the guidance, under which it determined a material reversal of revenue would not occur in a future period for the estimates detailed below as of June 30, 2020 and, therefore, the transaction price was not reduced further during the three and six months ended June 30, 2020. Actual amounts of consideration ultimately received may differ from the Company’s estimates. If actual results in the future vary from the Company’s estimates, the Company will adjust these estimates, which would affect net product sales and earnings in the period such variances become known.
Trade Discounts and Allowances
— The Company generally provides customers with discounts which include incentive fees that are explicitly stated in the Company’s contracts and are recorded as a reduction of revenue in the period the related product revenue is recognized. In addition, the Company compensates (through trade discounts and allowances) its customers for sales order management, data, and distribution services. However, the Company has determined such services received to date are not distinct from the Company’s sale of products to the Customer and, therefore, these payments have been recorded as a reduction of net sales within the condensed consolidated statements of operations through June 30, 2020, as well as a reduction to trade receivables, net on the condensed consolidated balance sheets.
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
C
ustomers charge the Company for the difference between what they pay for the product and the ultimate selling price to the qualified healthcare providers. These reserves are established in the same period that the related revenue is recognized, resulting in a reduction of product revenue and accounts receivables, net. Chargeback amounts are generally determined at the time of resale to the qualified healthcare provider by customers, and the Company generally issues credits for such amounts within a few weeks of the Customer’s notification to the Company of the resale. Reserves for chargebacks consist of credits that the Company expects to issue for units that remain in the distribution channel inventories at each reporting
period-end
that the Company expects will be sold to qualified healthcare providers, and chargebacks that customers have claimed, but for which the Company has not yet issued a credit. For the three and six months ended June 30, 2020, these amounts were not significant.
Government Rebates
— The Company is subject to discount obligations under state Medicaid and Medicare programs. These reserves are recorded in the same period the related revenue is recognized, resulting in a reduction of product revenue and the establishment of a current liability which is included in accrued expenses and other current liabilities on the condensed consolidated balance sheets. For Medicare, the Company also estimates the number of patients in the prescription drug coverage gap for whom the Company will owe an additional liability under the Medicare Part D program. The Company’s liability for these rebates consists of invoices received for claims from prior quarters that have not been paid or for which an invoice has not yet been received, estimates of claims for the current quarter, and estimated future claims that will be made for product that has been recognized as revenue, but which remains in the distribution channel inventories at the end of each reporting period.

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
Prior to FDA approval of CAPLYTA, the Company recorded $17.5 million of costs associated with the manufacturing of lumateperone as part of research and development expenses between 2017 and 2019. From December 20, 2019, the date of approval of CAPLYTA, through December 31, 2019 there was no production and no inventory costs were incurred. Therefore, at December 31, 2019, no inventory costs had been capitalized. The cost of product sales in the six months ended June 30, 2020 are lower than incurred because of previously expensed inventory.
Research and Development, Including Clinical Trial Expenses
Except for payments made in advance of services, the Company expenses its research and development costs as incurred. For payments made in advance, the Company recognizes research and development expense as the services are rendered. Research and development costs primarily consist of salaries and related expenses for personnel and resources and the costs of clinical trials. Other research and development expenses include preclinical analytical testing, manufacturing of drug product for use in clinical and nonclinical trials, outside services, providers, materials and consulting fees.
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

connection with conducting clinical trials. The financial terms of these contracts are subject to negotiations, which vary from contract to contract and may result in payment flows that do not match the periods over which materials or services are provided under such contracts. The Company’s objective is to reflect the appropriate clinical trial expenses in its financial statements by matching those expenses with the period in which services are performed and efforts are expended. The Company accounts for these expenses according to the progress of the clinical trial as measured by subject progression and the timing of various aspects of the trial. The Company determines accrual estimates through financial models taking into account various clinical information provided by vendors and discussion with applicable personnel and external service providers as to the progress or state of consummation of trials, or the services completed. During the course of a clinical trial, the Company adjusts its clinical expense recognition if actual results differ from its estimates. The Company makes estimates of its accrued expenses as of each balance sheet date based on the facts and circumstances known to it at that time. The Company’s clinical trial accruals are dependent upon the timely and accurate reporting of contract research organizations, clinical sites and other third-party vendors. Although the Company does not expect its estimates to be materially different from amounts actually incurred, its understanding of the status and timing of services performed relative to the actual status and timing of services performed may vary and may result in it reporting amounts that are too high or too low for any particular period. For the quarter ending June 30, 2020 the Company recorded a change in estimate of
approximately $
4.
5
 million
of accrued expenses for clinical trials related to the first quarter of 2020 which resulted in an increase of clinical trial expense in the quarter ending June 30, 2020. For the three and six months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019, there were no material adjustments to the Company’s prior year estimates of accrued expenses for clinical trials.
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
three and
six months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019 was approximately 0%. This effective tax rate is substantially lower than the U.S. statutory rate of 21% due to valuation allowances recorded on current year losses where the Company is not more-likely than not to recognize a future tax benefit.
On March 27, 2020, the United States enacted The Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act which includes several significant business tax provisions, of which the immediate relevance to the Company is the acceleration of refunds of previously generated corporate Alternative Minimum Tax (“AMT”) credits. The CARES Act also adds an employee retention credit to encourage employers to maintain headcounts even if employees cannot report to work because of issues related to the coronavirus, a temporary provision allowing companies to defer remitting to the government the employee share of some payroll taxes, among other things. The Company reviewed the provisions and there was not a material tax impact on its financial statements for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020. The Company did reclassify its deferred tax asset related to the AMT tax credit carryforward
of $265,000 to
a current tax receivable in the first quarter of 2020 upon the filing of its tax return for year ended December 31, 2019 and received the refund in July 2020.
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
In the first quarter of each fiscal year beginning in 2016, the Company granted time based RSUs that vest in three equal annual installments. In the first quarter of 2017, the Company granted performance-based RSUs, which vest based on the achievement of certain milestones that include (i) the submission of a new drug application (“NDA”) to the FDA for lumateperone for the treatment of schizophrenia, (ii) the approval of the NDA by the FDA (together, the “Milestone RSUs”) and (iii) the achievement of certain comparative shareholder returns against the Company’s peers (the “TSR RSUs”). The Milestone RSUs related to the NDA submission were fully amortized on December 31, 2018. The NDA submission milestone was achieved in the third quarter of 2018, so the Milestone RSUs related to the NDA submission vested on December 31, 2018. The Milestone RSU’s related to the NDA approval was achieved in the fourth quarter of 2019, so the RSU’s vested on December 31, 2019. The Milestone RSUs related to the approval of the NDA were fully amortized on December 31, 2019. The TSR RSUs were valued using the Monte Carlo Simulation method and were amortized over the life of the RSUs based on the agreements which vested on January 24, 2020.
In the first quarter of 2020, the Company granted performance-based RSUs for 86,000 shares
of common stock, which vest based on the achievement of certain milestones that include (i) the approval of a planned NDA by the FDA and (ii) the achievement of certain comparative shareholder returns against the Company’s peers (the “2020 TSR RSUs”). The 2020 TSR RSUs were valued using the Monte Carlo Simulation method and will be amortized over the life of the RSUs based on the agreements.
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
Since the Company has losses and also maintains a full valuation allowance to cover its deferred tax assets as of June 30, 2020 and 2019, excess tax benefits, if any, recognized for the tax deductions related to share-based awards will add to the Company’s net operating loss deferred tax asset and covered by valuation allowances.

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
In June 2018, the Company’s stockholders approved the Company’s 2018 Equity Incentive Plan pursuant to which 4,750,000 additional shares of common stock were reserved for future equity grants. In May 2020, the Company’s stockholders approved the Company’s 2018 Amended and Restated Equity Incentive Plan pursuant to which 6,500,000 additional shares of common stock were reserved for future equity grants.
In December 2019, the Company adopted the Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc. 2019 Inducement Award Plan (the “2019 Inducement Plan”) without stockholder approval pursuant to Rule 5635(c)(4) of the Nasdaq Listing Rules. Pursuant to the 2019 Inducement Plan, the Company may grant stock options, RSUs, stock awards and other stock-based awards for up to a total of 1,000,000 shares of common stock to new employees of the Company. As of June 30, 2020, stock options and RSUs for 314,138 shares have been granted under the 2019 Inducement Plan. The Company does not intend to make additional grants under the 2019 Inducement Plan.
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
The following awards were excluded in the calculation of diluted loss per share because their effect could be anti-dilutive as applied to the loss from operations for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019:

	Three and Six Months Ended June 30,
	2020	2019
Stock options	6,151,894	6,406,209
RSUs	1,687,293	1,296,266
TSR RSUs	86,044	136,576
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
held-to-maturity
debt securities, entities will be required to estimate lifetime expected credit losses. The Company adopted this standard on January 1, 2020. The Company evaluated the implications of the new standard, inclusive of the applicable financial statement disclosures required, as well as to its internal controls, business processes, and accounting policies, noting there was no significant impact to the financial statements as of January 1, 2020 and for the three and six month period ended June 30, 2020.
3. Inventory
Inventory consists of the following:

June 30, 2020
Raw materials	$—
Work in process	1,791,905
Finished goods	543,137

$2,335,042

Inventory acquired prior to receipt of the FDA approval on December 20, 2019 for CAPLYTA was expensed as research and development expense as incurred. No inventory was produced from the FDA approval date through the end of 2019; therefore, no inventory was capitalized on the consolidated balance sheet as of December 31, 2019.
4. Property and Equipment
Property and equipment consist of the following:

	June 30, 2020	December 31, 2019
Computer equipment	$243,532	$243,532
Furniture and fixtures	423,097	423,097
Scientific equipment	3,883,276	3,861,227
Leasehold improvements	1,240,315	1,240,315

	5,790,220	5,768,171
Less accumulated depreciation	(3,789,533)	(3,508,431)

	$2,000,687	$2,259,740

Depreciation expense for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020 was $132,300 and $281,102, respectively, as compared to approximately $105,056 and $206,409, respectively, for the three and six months ended June 30, 2019.
5. Right of Use Assets and Lease Liabilities
Real Estate Leases
In 2014, the Company entered into a long-term lease with a related party which, as amended,
provi
des
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
non-cash
transaction.
Maturity analysis under the lease agreements are as follows:

Six months ending December 31, 2020	$1,680,706
Year ending December 31, 2021	3,448,323
Year ending December 31, 2022	3,491,166
Year ending December 31, 2023	3,566,466
Year ending December 31, 2024	3,675,196

Thereafter	17,627,040

Total	33,488,897
Less: Present value discount	(10,972,295)

Total Lease liability	22,516,602

Less: Current portion	(3,235,330)

Long-term lease liabilities	$19,281,272

Lease expense for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020 was approximately $0.8 million and $1.6 million, respectively, as compared to approximately $1.0 million and $1.8, respectively, for the three and six months ended June 30, 2019.
Vehicle Fleet Lease
On May 17, 2019, the Company entered into an agreement (the “Vehicle Lease”) with a company (the “Lessor”) to acquire motor vehicles for certain employees. The Vehicle Lease provides for individual leases for the vehicles, which at each lease commencement was determined to qualify for operating lease treatment. The Company began leasing vehicles under the Vehicle Lease in March 2020.
The contractual period of each lease is 12 months, followed by
month-to-month
renewal periods. The Company estimates the lease term for each vehicle to be 30 months based on industry standards. The lease permits either party to terminate the lease at any time via written notice to the other party. The Company neither acquires ownership of, nor has the option to purchase the vehicles at any time. The Company is required to maintain an irrevocable $1.4 million letter of credit that the Lessor may draw upon in the event the Company defaults on the Vehicle Lease. The $1.4 million is recorded as restricted cash on the condensed consolidated balance sheet.
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
12-month
period increments.
Right of use asset and lease liability for the vehicle fleet lease were approximately $2.6 million and $2.6 million, respectively, as of
June
30, 2020
. The vehicle leases entered into since March 2020 represent non-cash transactions
. The total operating lease cost for the six months ended June 30, 2020 was $160,341, which consists of the operating lease cost of $219,178 and a favorable variable lease benefit of $58,837. The operating cash outflows related to vehicle fleet operating lease obligations for the six months ended June 30, 2020 were $160,341.
The following table presents the Vehicle Lease balances within the condensed consolidated balance sheet, weighted average remaining fleet lease term, and the weighted average discount rates related to the Vehicle Lease as of June 30, 2020:

Lease Assets and Liabilities – Fleet	Classification	June 30, 2020
Assets
Right of use assets, net	Operating lease right of use assets	$2,615,559

		$2,615,559
Liabilities
Current
Lease liabilities, short-term	Operating lease liabilities	$738,590
Non-Current
Lease liabilities	Non-current operating lease liabilities	1,876,969

Total lease liabilities		$2,615,559
Weighted average remaining lease term		2.3 years
Weighted average discount rat e		2.38%

The following table presents the maturity of the Company’s fleet lease liability as of June 30, 2020:
Time Period

Six months ending December 31, 2020	$395,587
Year ending December 31, 2021	791,176
Year ending December 31, 2022	1,521,164
Year ending December 31, 2023	—
Year ending December 31, 2024	—
Thereafter	—

Total	2,707,927
Less: Present value discount	(92,368)

Total operating lease liabilities	2,615,559
Less: Current portion	(738,590)

Long-term lease liabilities	$1,876,969
Right of use assets and lease liabilities for operating leases were approximately $20.3 million and $25.1 million, respectively, as of June 30, 2020.
6. Share-Based Compensation
On June 18,
2018
, the Company’s stockholders approved the 2018 Equity Incentive Plan (the “2018 Plan”). The 2018 Plan provided for the granting of stock-based awards, such as stock options, restricted common stock, RSUs and stock appreciation rights to employees, directors and consultants as determined by the Board of Directors. On May 27, 2020, the Company’s stockholders approved the Amended and Restated 2018 Equity Incentive Plan (the “2018 Amended Plan”), which amended and restated the 2018 Plan. The 2018 Amended Plan provides for the granting of up to 6,500,000 additional stock-based awards, such as stock options, restricted common stock, RSUs and stock appreciation rights to employees, directors and consultants as determined by the Board of Directors. In December 2019, the Company adopted the 2019 Inducement Award Plan (the “2019 Inducement Plan”) for the grant of equity awards of up to 1,000,000 shares of common stock to newly hired employees.
As of December 31, 2019, the total number of shares reserved under all equity plans was 11,287,390 and the Company had 2,208,317 shares available for future issuance under the Amended 2018 Plan and the 2019 Inducement Plan. Stock options granted under the 2018 Plan and the 2019 Inducement Plan may be either incentive stock options (“ISOs”) as defined by the Code, or
non-qualified
stock options. The Board of Directors determines who will receive options, the vesting periods (which are generally one to three years) and the exercise prices of such options. Options have a maximum term of 10 years. The exercise price of ISOs granted under the Amended 2018 Plan and the 2019 Inducement Plan must be at least equal to the fair market value of the common stock on the date of grant.
Total stock-based compensation expense related to all of the Company’s share-based awards, including stock options and RSUs to employees, directors and consultants, recognized during the three and six months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019, was comprised of the following:

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2020	2019	2020	2019
Inventoriable costs	$357,960	$—	$651,344	$—
Research and development	2,382,777	2,353,936	4,389,632	$4,761,580
General and administrative	4,206,397	2,633,488	7,410,455	5,281,061

Total share-based compensation expense	$6,947,134	$4,987,424	$12,451,431	$10,042,641

The following table describes the weighted-average assumptions used for calculating the value of options granted
during
the six months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019:

	2020	2019
Dividend yield	0%	0%
Expected volatility	91.6%-92.7%	83.7%-85.7%
Weighted-average risk-free interest rate	1.31%	2.33%
Expected term (in years)	6.0	6.0

Information regarding stock option awards under the 2019 Inducement Plan, including with respect to grants to employees as of June 30, 2020, and changes during the three-month period then ended, are summarized as follows:

	Number of Shares	Weighted- Average Exercise Price	Weighted- Average Contractual Life
Outstanding at December 31, 2019	—	$—
Options granted in 2020	39,728	$17.18	10.0 years

Outstanding at June 30, 2020	39,728	$17.18	10.0 years

Vested or expected to vest at June 30, 2020	39,728	$17.18

Exercisable at June 30, 2020	—	$—

Information regarding RSU awards under the 2019 Inducement Plan time and changes during the three-month
period
ended June 30, 2020 are summarized as follows:

	Number of Shares	Weighted- Average Exercise Price	Weighted- Average Contractual Life
Outstanding at December 31, 2019	—	$—
Time based RSUs granted in 2020	274,410	$16.01	10.0 years
Time based RSUs cancelled in 2020	(7,222)	$15.81	10.0 years

Outstanding at June 30, 2020	267,188	$16.01	10.0 years

Vested or expected to vest at June 30, 2020	267,188	$16.01

Exercisable at June 30, 2020	—	$—

As of June 30, 2020, the Company issued options and time based RSUs totaling 314,138 shares in the 2019 Inducement Plan. The Company does not intend to issue any additional equity awards under the 2019 Inducement Plan.
Information regarding the stock options activity, including with respect to grants to employees, directors and
consultants
as of June 30, 2020, and changes during the
six-month
period then ended, are summarized as follows:

	Number of Shares	Weighted- Average Exercise Price	Weighted- Average Contractual Life
Outstanding at December 31, 2019	6,039,945	$16.81	7.0 years
Options granted	742,509	$23.85	9.7 years
Options exercised	(526,908)	$12.14	4.5 years
Options canceled or expired	(143,380)	$22.40	8.1 years

Outstanding at June 30, 2020	6,112,166	$17.92	7.0 years

Vested or expected to vest at June 30, 2020	6,112,166	$17.92

Exercisable at June 30, 2020	3,753,550	$18.71	5.9 years

The fair value of the time based RSUs and the Milestone RSUs is based on the closing price of the Company’s common stock on the date of grant. The fair value of the TSR RSUs was determined using the Monte Carlo simulation method.

Information regarding the time based RSU activity and changes during the
six-month
period ended June 30, 2020 are summarized as follows:

	Number of Shares	Weighted-Average Grant Date Fair Value Per Share	Weighted- Average Contractual Life
Outstanding at December 31, 2019	1,268,679	$13.60	1.7 years
Time based RSUs granted in 2020	728,596	$23.04	2.9 years
Time based RSUs vested in 2020	(494,667)	$13.77	1.1 years
Time based RSUs cancelled in 2020	(82,503)	$16.54	1.6 years

Outstanding at June 30, 2020	1,420,105	$18.64	2.1 years

Information related to the Company’s Milestone RSUs and TSR RSUs during the
six-month
period ended June 30, 2020 are summarized as follows:

	Number of Shares	Weighted-Average Grant Date Fair Value Per Share	Weighted- Average Contractual Life
Outstanding at December 31, 2019	67,080	$17.08	0.2 years
Milestone RSUs and TSR RSUs granted in 2020	86,044	$32.56	2.9 years
Milestone RSUs and TSR RSUs vested in 2020	(67,080)	$17.08	0.2 years

Outstanding at June 30, 2020	86,044	$32.56	2.9 years

The weighted average estimated fair value per share of the TSR RSUs granted in 2017 was $17.08, which was derived from a Monte Carlo simulation. Significant assumptions utilized in estimating the value of the awards granted include an expected dividend yield of 0%, a risk free rate of 1.6%, and expected volatility of 95.4%. The TSR RSUs granted in 2017 entitled the grantee to receive a number of shares of the Company’s common stock determined over a three-year performance period ended and vested on
December 31, 2019
, provided the grantee remained in the service of the Company on the settlement date. The Company expensed the cost of these awards ratably over the requisite service period. The number of shares for which the TSR RSUs was settled was a percentage of shares for which the award was targeted and depended on the Company’s total shareholder return (as defined below), expressed as a percentile ranking of the Company’s total shareholder return as compared to the Company’s peer group (as defined below). The number of

shares for which the TSR RSUs were settled varied depending on the level of achievement of the goal. Total shareholder return was determined by dividing the average share value of the Company’s common stock over the 30 trading days preceding January 1, 2020 by the average share value of the Company’s common stock over the 30 trading days beginning on January 1, 2017, with a deemed reinvestment of any dividends declared during the performance period. The Company’s peer group included 223 companies that comprised the
Nasdaq
Biotechnology Index at December 31, 2018, which was selected by the Compensation Committee of the Company’s Board of Directors and included a range of biotechnology companies operating in several business segments.
The weighted average estimated fair value per share of the TSR RSUs granted in 2020 was $32.56, which was derived from a Monte Carlo simulation. Significant assumptions utilized in estimating the value of the awards granted include an expected dividend yield of 0%, a risk free rate of 1.4%, and expected volatility of 91.3%.
The TSR RSUs granted in 2020 will entitle the grantee to receive a number of shares of the Company’s common stock determined over a three-year performance period ending and vesting on December 31, 2022, provided the grantee remained in the service of the Company on the settlement date. The Company is expensing the cost of these awards ratably over the requisite service period. The number of shares for which the TSR RSUs will be settled is a percentage of shares for which the award is targeted and depends on the Company’s total shareholder return, expressed as a percentile ranking of the Company’s total shareholder return as compared to the Company’s peer group, which is consistent with the TSR RSUs granted in 2017. The number of shares for which the TSR RSUs will be settled will vary depending on the level of achievement of the goal. Total shareholder return will be determined by dividing the average share value of the Company’s common stock over the 30 trading days preceding January 1, 2023 by the average share value of the Company’s common stock over the 30 trading days beginning on January 1, 2020, with a deemed reinvestment of any dividends declared during the performance period. The Company’s peer group included 223 companies that compromised the Nasdaq Biotechnology Index at December 31, 2019.
The Company recognized
non-cash
stock-based compensation expense related to time based RSU’s for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020 of approximately $3.3 million and $5.6 million, respectively, as compared to $1.9 million and $3.8 million for the three

and six months ended June 30, 2019, respectively. Total expense for all RSUs, including the
time
based and performance based RSUs, is $3.4 million and $5.9 million for the three

and six months ended June 30, 2020, respectively, as compared to $
2.1
 million and $
4.2
 million for the three and six months ended June 30, 2019, respectively. As of June 30, 2020, there was $
25.2
 million of unrecognized compensation costs related to
unvested
time based RSUs. As of June 30, 2020, there was $
1.0
 million and $
1.2
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
Under the agreement, the Company made an upfront payment of $1.0 million to BMS, a milestone payment of $1.25 million in December 2013, and a milestone payment of $1.5 million in December 2014 following the initiation of the Company’s first Phase 3 clinical trial for lumateperone for patients with exacerbated schizophrenia. Upon FDA acceptance of an NDA filing for lumateperone, the Company was obligated to pay BMS a $2.0 million milestone payment, which was paid in January 2019. The FDA approved the NDA filing on December 23, 2019 and as a result the Company accrued an additional milestone liability of $5.0 million in the fourth quarter of 2019 which was paid in January 2020. Possible milestone payments remaining total $5.0 million. Under the agreement, the Company may be obliged to make other milestone payments to BMS for each licensed product of up to an aggregate of approximately $14.75 million. The Company is also obliged to make tiered single digit percentage royalty payments ranging between 5 – 9% on sales of licensed products. The Company is obliged to pay to BMS a percentage of
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
In September 2016, the Company transferred certain of its rights under the BMS agreement to its wholly owned subsidiary, ITI Limited. In connection with the transfer, the Company guaranteed ITI Limited’s performance of its obligations under the BMS agreement. With the initial recognition of product sales revenue in the first half of 2020, the Company accrued approximately $138,000 in royalties to
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
(42
mg/day) and we initiated the commercial launch of CAPLYTA
in late March of
2020
. In support of our commercialization efforts, we hired a national sales force consisting of approximately
240
sales representatives. As used in this report, “CAPLYTA” refers to
lumateperone
approved by the FDA for the treatment of schizophrenia in adults, and “
lumateperone
” refers to, where applicable, CAPLYTA as well as
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
These benefits were statistically significant in both Bipolar I and Bipolar II patients. Study 404 also met its key secondary endpoint, Clinical Global Impression Scale for Bipolar for Severity of Illness (CGI-BP-S) Total Score (p<0.001; effect size = 0.46).
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
by
mid-
September
2020.
Subject to the results of Study 402 and our interactions with the FDA regarding our bipolar depression program, in late 2020
or early 2021

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
1
, or PDE
1
. PDE
1
enzymes are highly active in multiple disease states and our PDE
1
inhibitors are designed to reestablish normal function in these disease states. Abnormal PDE
1
activity is associated with cellular proliferation and activation of inflammatory cells. Our PDE
1
inhibitors ameliorate both of these effects in animal models. We intend to pursue the development of our phosphodiesterase, or PDE, program, for the treatment of several CNS and
non-CNS
conditions with a focus on diseases where excessive PDE
1
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
dyskinesias
. In addition, in the second quarter of
2020
we announced
topline
results from Study
ITI-214-104,
a Phase
1/2
translational study of single ascending doses of
ITI-214
in patients with chronic systolic heart failure with reduced ejection fraction. In this study,
ITI-214
improved cardiac output by increasing heart contractility and decreasing vascular resistance. Agents that both increase heart contractility (
inotropism
) and decrease vascular resistance (vasodilation) are called

inodilators
.
Inodilators
in current clinical use are associated with the development of arrhythmias, which are abnormal heart rhythms that when serious can impair heart function and lead to mortality.
ITI-214,
which acts through a novel mechanism of action, was not associated with arrhythmias in this study and was generally well tolerated in all patients.
Our pipeline also includes programs that are focused on advancing drugs for symptomatic and disease modifying treatments for schizophrenia, Parkinson’s disease, AD and other neuropsychiatric and neurodegenerative disorders. We have an ongoing early stage clinical program evaluating a new molecule as a potential treatment for behavioral disturbances in patients with dementia. In addition, our
ITI-333
development program is evaluating
ITI-333
as a potential treatment for substance use disorders, pain and psychiatric comorbidities including depression and anxiety. There is a pressing need to develop new drugs to treat opioid addiction and safe, effective,
non-addictive
treatments to manage pain. We expect to initiate early phase clinical studies with
ITI-333
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
Revenues
Net revenues from product sales consist of sales of CAPLYTA, which was approved by the FDA on December 2019. We initiated the commercial launch of CAPLYTA in late March 2020 and generated approximately $1.9 million and $2.8 million in net revenue from product sales for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020, respectively. In addition, we had approximately $31,000 and $232,000 of grant revenues for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020, respectively, compared to no grant revenue for the three and six months ended June 30, 2019. We have received and may continue to receive grants from U.S. government agencies and foundations.
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
ITI-214
for the treatment of several CNS and
non-CNS
conditions, including cardiovascular disease. We have ongoing development programs for
ITI-214
for Parkinson’s disease and for the treatment of heart failure. Our other projects are still in the preclinical stages, and will require extensive funding not only to complete preclinical testing, but to commence and complete clinical trials. Expenditures that we incur on these projects will be subject to availability of funding in addition to the funding required for the advancement of lumateperone. Any failure or delay in the advancement of lumateperone could require us to
re-allocate
resources from our other projects to the advancement of lumateperone, which could have a material adverse impact on the advancement of these other projects and on our results of operations. Our operating expenses are comprised of (i) costs of product sales; (ii) research and development expenses; (iii) general and administrative and (iv) selling expenses.
Costs of product sales are comprised of:

•	Direct costs of formulating, manufacturing and packaging drug product;

•	Overhead costs consisting of labor, customs, stock based compensation, shipping, outside inventory management and other miscellaneous operating costs; and

•	Royalty payments on product sales.

Research and development costs are comprised of:

•	internal recurring costs, such as costs relating to labor and fringe benefits, materials, supplies, facilities and maintenance; and

•	fees paid to external parties who provide us with contract services, such as pre-clinical testing, manufacturing and related testing, clinical trial activities and license milestone payments.
General and administrative expenses are incurred in three major categories:

•	salaries and related benefit costs;

•	patent, legal, and professional costs; and

•	office and facilities overhead.
Selling expenses are incurred in three major categories:

•	salaries and related benefit costs of a dedicated sales force;

•	sales operation costs; and

•	marketing and promotion expenses.
Product sold through June 30, 2020 generally consisted of drug product that was previously charged to research and development expense prior to FDA approval of CAPLYTA. Because the Company previously expensed drug product, the cost of drug product sold is lower than it would have been and has a positive impact on our cost of product sales and related product gross margins for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020. The Company’s reported cost of product sales as a percentage of product sales, net was 6.9% or approximately $129,000 for the three months ended June 30, 2020, and was 7.2% or approximately $198,000 for the six months ended June 30, 2020. Had direct and overhead costs not been previously recognized into research and development expense, the percentage would have been 10.4% or approximately $195,000 for the three months ended June 30, 2020 and 11.8% or approximately $325,000 for the six months ended June 30, 2020.
We will expect to continue to have this favorable impact on cost of product sales and related product gross margins until our sales of CAPLYTA include drug product that is manufactured after the FDA approval. We are currently unable to estimate how long it will be until we begin selling product manufactured post FDA approval.
We expect that research and development expenses will increase moderately as we proceed with our Phase
3
clinical trials of
lumateperone
for the treatment of bipolar depression and depressive disorders, other clinical trials, increased manufacturing of drug product for clinical trials and
pre-clinical
development activities. We also expect that our
selling
,
general and administrative costs will increase from prior periods primarily due to costs associated with building
and maintaining
infrastructure
and promotional activities
to support the commercial sales of CAPLYTA, which will include hiring additional personnel
 and
increasing technological capabilities. On September
28
,
2018
, we signed a lease with a related party to acquire
15,534
square feet of additional office space in our current headquarters facility. We granted options to purchase
1,833,102
shares of our common stock in
2019
and have granted options to purchase an additional
782,237
shares of our common stock in the six months ended June
30
,
2020
. We also granted time based restricted stock units, or RSUs, for
950,449
shares of our common stock in
2019
and time based RSUs for
1,003,006
shares of our common stock in the six months ended June
30
,
2020
. We will recognize expense associated with these RSUs and options over three years in both research and development expenses and general and administrative expenses. In the first quarter of
2017
, we also granted performance based RSUs, which vest based on the achievement of certain milestones that include (i) the submission of an NDA with the FDA, (ii) the approval of the NDA by the FDA, or the Milestone RSUs, and (iii) the achievement of certain comparative shareholder returns against our peers, or the TSR RSUs. The Milestone RSUs were valued at the closing price on March
8
,
2017
. The RSUs related to the NDA submission were amortized through December
31
,
2018
based on the probable vesting date. The NDA submission milestone was achieved in the third quarter of
2018
. The Milestone RSUs related to the NDA submission vested on December
31
,
2018
. The NDA approval milestone was achieved in the fourth quarter of
2019
. The Milestone RSUs related to the NDA approval vested on December
31
,
2019
. The TSR RSUs were valued using the Monte Carlo simulation method and were amortized over the life of the RSU’s which vested on January
24
,
2020
. In the first quarter of
2020
, we also granted performance based RSUs, which vest based on the achievement of certain milestones that include (i) the approval of a planned NDA by the FDA, or the
2020
Milestone RSUs, and (ii) the achievement of certain comparative shareholder returns against our peers, or the
2020
TSR RSUs. The
2020
Milestone RSUs were valued at the closing price on February
18
,
2020
. The
2020
TSR RSUs were valued using the Monte Carlo simulation method. We expect to continue to grant stock options and other stock-based awards in the future, which with our growing employee base will increase our stock-based compensation expense in future periods.

The following table sets forth our revenues, operating expenses, interest income and income tax expense for the three and six month periods ended June 30, 2020 and 2019 (in thousands):

	For the Three Months Ended June 30,		For the Six Months Ended June 30,
	2020	2019	2020	2019
	(Unaudited)		(Unaudited)
Revenues
Product sales, net	$1,876	$—	$2,758	$—
Grant revenue	31	—	232	—

Total revenues, net	1,907	—	2,990	—
Expenses
Cost of product sales	129	—	198	—
Research and development	25, 2 05	23,728	41,208	48,719
General and administrative	41,446	15,443	75,542	27,148

Total costs and expenses	66,780	39,171	116,948	75,867

Loss from operations	(64,873)	(39,171)	(113,958)	(75,867)
Interest income	1,160	1,732	2,838	3,592
Income tax expense	—	(2)	(3)	(2)

Net loss	$(63,713)	$(37,441)	$(111,123)	$(72,277)

Comparison of Three and Six Month Periods Ended June 30, 2020 and June 30, 2019
Revenues
Revenues for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020 were approximately $1.9 million and $3.0 million, respectively, compared to $0 for the comparable periods in 2019. Net product sales were approximately $1.9 million and $2.8 million for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020, respectively, and were comprised of sales of CAPYLTA, which was approved by the FDA on December 20, 2019 and became available to wholesalers in March 2020. No similar net product sales were recognized during the three and six months ended June 30, 2019. In addition, revenue from a government grant was approximately $31,000 and $232,000 for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020, respectively.
Cost of Product Sales
Cost of product sales was approximately $129,000 for the three months ended June 30, 2020. Cost of product sales consisted primarily of product royalty fees, overhead and minimal direct costs. Product sold during the three months ended June 30, 2020 generally consisted of drug product that was previously charged to research and development expense prior to FDA approval of CAPLYTA. This minimal cost drug product had a positive impact on our cost of product sales and related product gross margins for the three months ended June 30, 2020. No similar cost of product sales was recognized during the three months ended June 30, 2019.
Cost of product sales was approximately $198,000 for the six months ended June 30, 2020. Cost of product sales consisted primarily of product royalty fees, overhead and minimal direct costs. Product sold during the six months ended June 30, 2020 generally consisted of drug product that was previously charged to research and development expense prior to FDA approval of
CAPLYTA. This minimal cost drug product had a positive impact on our cost of product sales and related product gross margins for the six months ended June 30, 2020. No similar cost of product sales was recognized during the six months ended June 30, 2019.

We will continue to have a lower cost of product sales that excludes the cost of the drug product that was incurred prior to FDA approval until our sales of CAPLYTA include drug product that is manufactured after the FDA approval. We expect that this will be the case for the near-term and as a result, our cost of product sales will be less than we anticipate it will be in future periods.
Research and Development Expenses
The following tables set forth our research and development expenses for the three and six month periods ended June 30, 2020 and 2019 (in thousands):

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2020	2019	2020	2019
External costs	18,075	16,127	27,081	33,930
Internal costs	7,130	7,601	14,127	14,789

Total research and development expenses	$25,205	$23,728	$41,208	$48,719

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2020	2019	2020	2019
Lumateperone costs	18,998	14,350	26,043	21,767
Manufacturing costs	621	5,999	3,294	11,859
Stock based compensation	2,741	2,354	5,041	4,762
Other projects and overhead	2,845	1,025	6,830	10,331

Total research and development expenses	$25,205	$23,728	$41,208	$48,719

Research and development expenses increased to $25.2 million for the three month period ended June 30, 2020 as compared to $23.7 million for the three month period ended June 30, 2019, representing an increase of approximately 6%. This increase is due primarily to an increase of approximately $9.2 million of lumateperone clinical costs and an increase of approximately $0.6 million in stock compensation expense and overhead expenses.
This increase
is offset by a decrease of approximately $5.3 million of lumateperone manufacturing costs, a decrease of approximately $3.0 million of costs for lumateperone
non-clinical
efforts. For the quarter ending June 30, 2020 the Company recorded a change in estimate of approximately $4.5 million of accrued expenses for clinical trials related to the first quarter of 2020 which resulted in an increase of clinical trial expense in the quarter ending June 30, 2020. Manufacturing costs decreased because production of lumateperone prior to FDA approval was expensed and current production is now being capitalized. Internal costs decreased by approximately $0.4 million for the period due to lower travel and other operating costs.
Materially all of the research and development expense incurred for the three and six month periods ended June 30, 2020 and 2019 related to lumateperone.
Research and development expenses decreased to $41.2 million for the six month period ended June 30, 2020 as compared to $48.7 million for the six month period ended June 30, 2019, representing a decrease of approximately 15%. This decrease is due primarily to a decrease of approximately $8.5 million in manufacturing expense, and a decrease of approximately $3.5 million of
non-lumateperone
projects and overhead expenses and is offset by approximately $4.5 million of costs associated with lumateperone clinical trials. Internal costs decreased by approximately $0.7 million for the period due to lower bonus accrual, stock compensation expense, travel and other operating costs.
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
for the
treatment for schizophrenia in adults.
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
Selling, general and administrative costs for the three month period ended June 30, 2020 were $41.4 million as compared to $15.4 in the three-month period ended June 30, 2019 which represents an increase of 168%. Below is a breakout of these expenses into selling and general administrative costs for the periods.
General and administrative expenses were $13.1 million in the three month period ended June 30, 2020 as compared to $7.7 million for the same period in 2019, an increase of 70%. This increase is due to increased stock compensation expense of $1.6 million, information technology costs of $1.5 million, professional fees of $1.0 million, labor and bonus expense of $0.7 million, and the remainder on insurance, lease expense, and other administrative expenses. Salaries, bonuses and related benefit costs for our general and administrative functions for the three months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019 constituted approximately 54% and 62%, respectively, of our general and administrative costs.
Selling costs were $28.4 million for the three month period ended June 30, 2020 as compared to
pre-commercialization
costs of $7.8 million in the same period in 2019, or an increase of 265%. This increase is primarily due to an increase in sales related labor costs of $15.0 million and commercialization and marketing costs of $5.8 million. Salaries, bonuses and related benefit costs for our sales and marketing functions for the three months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019 constituted approximately 57% and 14%, respectively, of our selling costs. We expect selling, general and administrative costs to increase moderately from the second quarter of 2020. We are expanding post approval marketing and market access efforts as well as our administrative infrastructure.
Selling, general and administrative costs for the six month period ended June 30, 2020 were $75.5 million as compared to $27.1 in the six month period ended June 30, 2019, which represents an increase of 178%.
General and administrative expenses for the six months ended June 30, 2020 were $26.3 million in 2020 as compared to $14.2 for the same period in 2019, an increase of 85%. This increase is due to increased professional fees of $3.0 million, labor and bonus expense of $2.2 million, information technology services of $3.1 million, stock compensation expense of $2.1 million, and the remainder on insurance, lease expense, and other administrative expenses. Salaries, bonuses and related benefit costs for our general and administrative functions for the six months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019 constituted approximately 51% and 64%, respectively, of our general and administrative costs.
Selling costs were $49.2 million for the six month period ended June 30, 2020 as compared to
pre-commercialization
costs of $12.9 million in the same period in 2019, or an increase of 281%. This increase is primarily due to an increase in sales related labor costs of $25.0 million and commercialization costs of $10.3 million. Salaries, bonuses and related benefit costs for our sales and marketing functions for the six months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019 constituted approximately 55% and 17%, respectively, of our selling costs.
We expect selling, general and administrative costs to increase moderately in the second half of 2020 as the onboarding of our sales force was completed during the three months ended March 31, 2020 and we are expanding post approval marketing and market access efforts as well as our administrative infrastructure.
Liquidity and Capital Resources
Through June 30, 2020, we provided funds for our operations by obtaining a total of approximately $1.2 billion of cash primarily through public and private offerings of our common stock and other securities, grants from government agencies and foundations and payments received under a terminated license and collaboration agreement. In the first half of 2020, we have collected $1.3 million from sales of product, which we believe will increase going forward. We do not believe that grant revenue will be a significant source of funding in the near future.
On January 10, 2020, we completed a public offering of 10,000,000 shares of our common stock. All of the shares in the offering were sold by the Company, with gross proceeds to the Company of $295.0 million and net proceeds of approximately $277.0 million, after deducting underwriting discounts, commissions and offering expenses.

In June 2020, we issued 230,000 shares of common stock under our
at-the-market
equity program generating $5.6 million in net proceeds which was received in July 2020. In the third quarter of 2020, we have issued an additional 512,791 shares of common stock utilizing the
at-the-market
program and received $12.3 million of net proceeds.
As of June 30, 2020, we had a total of approximately $409.2 million in cash and cash equivalents,
available-for-sale
investment securities and restricted cash, and approximately $40.2 million of short-term liabilities consisting entirely of liabilities from operations, including approximately $3.9 million of short-term lease obligations. In the six months ended June 30, 2020, we spent approximately $102.4 million in cash for operations and equipment, not including an offset of $2.8 million of interest income and $1.3 million of collected product sales. The use of cash was primarily for selling and marketing costs in connection with our commercial launch of CAPLYTA, conducting clinical trials and
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
For the remainder of the year 2020, we expect to spend up to $165 million primarily related to the marketing and commercialization of CAPLYTA, lumateperone clinical development including clinical trial conduct, regulatory activities, manufacturing, expansion of our administrative infrastructure and other development activities. Our other development activities will include efforts related to our
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
available-for-sale
investment securities, we believe that we have the funds to complete our ongoing clinical trials of lumateperone in bipolar disorder as a monotherapy and as an adjunctive therapy with lithium or valproate. We also plan to fund additional clinical trials of lumateperone for the treatment of depressive
 disorders and other CNS
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
up-front
fee and a milestone payment related to a license agreement that has been terminated. These losses have resulted in significant cash used in operations. For the six months ended June 30, 2020, we used net cash in operating activities and purchases of equipment of approximately $102.4 million. This total does not include an offset for $2.8 million of interest income received and $1.3 million from product sales. While we have several research and development programs underway, the lumateperone program has advanced the furthest and will continue to consume increasing amounts of cash for conducting clinical trials and the testing and manufacturing of product material. As we continue to conduct the activities necessary to pursue FDA approval of lumateperone beyond schizophrenia and our other product candidates, as well as commercialization efforts, we expect the amount of cash to be used to fund operations to increase over the next several years.
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
“at-the-market”
equity program. In the quarter ended June 30, 2020, we issued 230,000 shares of common stock under our
“at-the-market”
equity program which resulted in our receiving net proceeds of $5.6 million in July 2020. Subsequent to the quarter ended June 30, 2020, we issued an additional 512,791 shares of common

stock under our
“at-the-market”
equity program and received approximately $12.3 million of net proceeds. In addition, on January 6, 2020, we filed an automatic shelf registration statement on Form
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
Our critical accounting policies are those policies which require the most significant judgments and estimates in the preparation of our condensed consolidated financial statements. We evaluate our estimates, judgments, and assumptions on an ongoing basis. Actual results may differ from these estimates under different assumptions or conditions. A summary of our critical accounting policies is presented in Part II, Item 7, of our Annual Report on Form
10-K
for the year ended December 31, 2019 and Note 2 to our unaudited condensed consolidated financial statements included elsewhere in this Quarterly Report on Form
10-Q.
There have been no material changes to our critical accounting policies during the three and six months ended June 30, 2020. With the launch of product sales during the first quarter of 2020, the accounting policy for revenue recognition, which was previously developed, was implemented.
The discussion and analysis of our financial condition and results of operations are based on our financial statements, which have been prepared in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States, or U.S. GAAP. The preparation of these financial statements requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect reported amounts of assets and liabilities as of the date of the balance sheet and reported amounts of revenues and expenses for the periods presented. Judgments must also be made about the disclosure of contingent liabilities. We base our estimates on historical experience and on various other assumptions that we believe to be reasonable under the circumstances. These estimates and assumptions form the basis for making judgments about the carrying values of assets and liabilities that are not readily apparent from other sources. Management makes estimates and exercises judgment in research and development, including clinical trial accruals. Actual results may differ from those estimates and under different assumptions or conditions.
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
COVID-19
on the commercialization of CAPLYTA and our ability to adapt our approach as appropriate; the duration and severity of the
COVID-19
pandemic and its impact on our business; the supply and availability of and demand for our product, the initiation, cost, timing, progress and results of our development activities,
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
Interest Rate Sensitivity.
As of June 30, 2020, we had cash, cash equivalents and marketable securities of approximately $409.2 million consisting of cash deposited in a highly rated financial institution in the United States, in a short-term U.S. Treasury money market fund, and in high-grade corporate bonds and commercial paper. The primary objective of our investment activities is to preserve our capital for the purpose of funding operations. We do not enter into investments for trading or speculative purposes. We believe that we do not have material exposure to high-risk investments such as mortgage-backed securities, auction rate securities or other special investment vehicles within our money-market fund investments. We believe that we do not have any material exposure to changes in fair value as a result of the recent changes in interest rates or through potential changes in the credit worthiness of the issuers of our
available-for-sale
securities. We recognized an unrealized gain of approximately $1.3 million for the six months ended June 30, 2020, compared to an unrealized gain of approximately $128,000 for the year
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
Rules 13a-15(e)
and
15d-15(e)
under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, or the Exchange Act) as of the end of the period covered by this
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
2016-13”).
Although the adoption of the new accounting standard did not materially impact our condensed consolidated balance sheet, statements of operations and cash flows as of and for the three months ended June 30, 2020, we did implement new internal control procedures to support the new accounting and reporting processes associated with adopting the guidance. There were no other changes in our internal control over financial reporting identified in connection with the evaluation of such internal control that occurred during the three months ended June 30, 2020 that have materially affected, or are reasonably likely to materially affect, our internal control over financial reporting.

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
in-person
interactions with physicians and customers entirely for some period of time in the interest of employee and community safety. Even though certain of our sales force and medical organization have begun to have personal interactions with physicians and customers, we may have to cease such personal interactions depending on the
COVID-19
situation. In addition, the
COVID-19
situation has resulted in a decrease in the number of of patient visits to healthcare providers. As a result of the
COVID-19
pandemic, or similar pandemics, we may experience disruptions that could severely impact our business, including our ability to successfully commercialize our only commercial product, CAPLYTA, in the U.S., and these disruptions could negatively impact our sales of CAPLYTA. Business interruptions from the current or future pandemics may also adversely impact the third parties we rely on to sufficiently manufacture CAPYLTA and to produce our product candidates in quantities we require, which may impair the commercialization and our research and development activities.
We are currently conducting clinical trials for our product candidates in many countries, including the United States, Europe and Russia and may expand to other geographies. Timely enrollment of, completion of and reporting on our clinical trials is dependent upon these global clinical trial sites which are, or in the future may be, adversely affected by the
COVID-19
pandemic or other pandemics. Some factors from the
COVID-19
pandemic that have or may adversely affect the timing and conduct of our clinical trials and adversely impact our business generally, include but are not limited to delays or difficulties in clinical site initiation, diversion of healthcare resources away from clinical trials to pandemic concerns, limitations on travel, regulatory delays and supply chain disruptions.
The
COVID-19
pandemic continues to rapidly evolve, and the severity and duration of the pandemic remain uncertain. The extent to which the pandemic impacts our business, including our commercial results, clinical trials, and preclinical studies will depend on future developments, which are highly uncertain.

Item 2.	UNREGISTERED SALES OF EQUITY SECURITIES AND USE OF PROCEEDS
Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities
Not applicable.
Issuer Purchases of Equity Securities
We did not repurchase any of our equity securities during the quarter ended June 30, 2019.

Item 3.	DEFAULTS UPON SENIOR SECURITIES
Not applicable.

Item 4.	MINE SAFETY DISCLOSURES
Not applicable.

Item 5.	OTHER INFORMATION
Not applicable.

Item 6.	EXHIBITS

Exhibit Number	Exhibit Description	Filed Herewith	Incorporated by Reference herein from Form or Schedule	Filing Date	SEC File/ Reg. Number

10.1*	Amended and Restated 2018 Equity Incentive Plan.		Form 8-K (Exhibit 10.1)	5/28/2020	001-36274

10.2*	Form of Stock Option Agreement under the Amended and Restated 2018 Equity Incentive Plan.*	X

10.3*	Form of Director Stock Option Agreement under the Amended and Restated 2018 Equity Incentive Plan.*	X

10.4*	Form of Restricted Stock Unit Agreement under the Amended and Restated 2018 Equity Incentive Plan.*	X

10.5*	Form of Director Restricted Stock Unit Agreement under the Amended and Restated 2018 Equity Incentive Plan.*	X

31.1	Certification of the Registrant’s Principal Executive Officer pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.	X

31.2	Certification of the Registrant’s Principal Financial Officer pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.	X

32	Certification of Principal Executive Officer and Principal Financial Officer pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.	X

101	The following materials from the Registrant’s Quarterly Report on
Form 10-Q
	for the quarter ended June 30, 2020, formatted in Inline XBRL (eXtensible Business Reporting Language): (i) Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets as of June 30, 2020 (unaudited) and December 31, 2019 (audited), (ii) Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations (unaudited) for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019, (iii) Condensed Consolidated Statements of Comprehensive Loss (unaudited) for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019, (iv) Condensed Consolidated Statements of Stockholders’ Equity (unaudited) for the three and six months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019, (v) Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows (unaudited) for the six months ended June 30, 2020 and 2019, and (vi) Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements (unaudited).	X

104	Cover Page Interactive Data File (formatted as Inline XBRL and contained in Exhibit 101).	X

* Management contract or compensatory plan or arrangement.

SIGNATURES
Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

INTRA-CELLULAR THERAPIES, INC.

Date: August 10, 2020	By:	/s/ Sharon Mates, Ph.D.

Sharon Mates, Ph.D.
Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer

Date: August 10, 2020	By:	/s/ Lawrence J. Hineline

Lawrence J. Hineline
Senior Vice President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer

35