 Exhibit 99.1

Inhibition of Pancreatic Cancer by Namodenoson: Molecular Mechanism of Action
Discovered by Can-Fite Scientists

●	The anti-cancer effect in pancreatic carcinoma is mediated via a key signal transduction pathway

●	According to the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) in 2020 an estimated 496,000 people were diagnosed with pancreatic cancer globally

PETACH TIKVA, Israel, May 2, 2023 -- Can-Fite BioPharma Ltd. (NYSE American: CANF) (TASE: CANF), a biotechnology company advancing a pipeline of proprietary small molecule drugs that address inflammatory, cancer and liver diseases, today announced that it discovered the mechanism of action (MOA) involved with the significant anti-cancer effect of Namodenoson in pancreatic carcinoma. Namodenoson de-regulates the Wnt signal transduction pathway, a key modulator of pancreatic carcinoma cell growth.

The discovery was made when analyzing results from pre-clinical studies conducted on advanced pancreatic carcinoma patient cells exposed to Namodenoson, which had a significant anti-cancer effect. This is the same MOA at work for Namodenoson in liver cancer.

Namodenoson is currently under a pivotal Phase III study for the treatment of advanced liver cancer and has completely cleared cancer in an advanced liver cancer patient who remains cancer-free 6 years after starting treatment.

“Knowing Namodenoson’s mechanism of action in pancreatic cancer is an important step in moving this indication toward potential partnerships. Our findings inform potential dosage and study design and increase the probability of success in human trials,” stated Can-Fite CEO Dr. Pnina Fishman.

The highest incidence rates for pancreatic cancer are in Asia, Europe, and North America. According to the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), in 2020, an estimated 496,000 people were diagnosed with pancreatic cancer globally and an estimated 466,000 died from the disease. The 5-year survival rate for people with pancreatic cancer in the U.S. is 11%. Acumen Research estimates the global pancreatic cancer therapeutics market was valued at approximately $3.6 billion in 2021 and is projected to grow to approximately $6.6 billion by 2030.

About Namodenoson

Namodenoson is a small orally bioavailable drug that binds with high affinity and selectivity to the A3 adenosine receptor (A3AR). Namodenoson was evaluated in Phase II trials for two indications, as a second line treatment for hepatocellular carcinoma, and as a treatment for non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) and non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH). A3AR is highly expressed in diseased cells whereas low expression is found in normal cells. This differential effect accounts for the excellent safety profile of the drug.

About Can-Fite BioPharma Ltd.

Can-Fite BioPharma Ltd. (NYSE American: CANF) (TASE: CANF) is an advanced clinical stage drug development Company with a platform technology that is designed to address multi-billion dollar markets in the treatment of cancer, liver, and inflammatory disease. The Company's lead drug candidate, Piclidenoson recently reported topline results in a Phase III trial for psoriasis. Can-Fite's liver drug, Namodenoson, is being evaluated in a Phase IIb trial for the treatment of non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH), and enrollment is expected to commence in a Phase III trial for hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC), the most common form of liver cancer. Namodenoson has been granted Orphan Drug Designation in the U.S. and Europe and Fast Track Designation as a second line treatment for HCC by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Namodenoson has also shown proof of concept to potentially treat other cancers including colon, prostate, and melanoma. CF602, the Company's third drug candidate, has shown efficacy in the treatment of erectile dysfunction. These drugs have an excellent safety profile with experience in over 1,500 patients in clinical studies to date. For more information please visit: www.can-fite.com.

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Contact

Can-Fite BioPharma

Motti Farbstein

info@canfite.com

+972-3-9241114