Exhibit 99.2

Quarterly Investor Supplement September 30, 2017 This report should be read in conjunction with Voya Financial, Inc.‘s Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the Three months ended September 30, 2017. Voya Financial’s Annual Reports on Form 10-K, and Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q, can be accessed upon filing at the Securities and Exchange Commission’s website at www.sec.gov, and at our website at investors.voya.com. All information is unaudited. Corporate Offices: Media Contact: Investor Contact: Voya Financial Christopher Breslin Darin Arita 230 Park Avenue 212-309-8941 212-309-8999 New York, New York 10169 Christopher.Breslin@voya.com IR@voya.com NYSE Ticker: Web Site: VOYA investors.voya.com

Table of Contents                Page Page Consolidated Corporate Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information 3—5 Operating Earnings 34 Key Metrics 6 Closed Block Variable Annuity Consolidated Statements of Operations 7 Closed Block Variable Annuity Income (Loss) Before Income Taxes 36 Consolidated Earnings Before Income Taxes 8 Closed Block Variable Annuity Death and Living Benefits 37 Operating Earnings by Segment (QTD) 9 Investment Information Operating Earnings by Segment (YTD) 10 Portfolio Composition 39 Consolidated Balance Sheets 11 Portfolio Results 40 Adjusted Operating Earnings Before Interest, After Income Taxes 12 Alternative Investment Income 41 DAC/VOBA Segment Trends 13 Reconciliations Consolidated Capital Structure 14 Reconciliation of Operating Revenues and Earnings by Segment 43 Consolidated Assets Under Management/Assets Under Administration 15 Reconciliation of Operating Revenues by Segment 44 Retirement Reconciliation of Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Earnings to Net Sources of Operating Earnings 17 Income (Loss) 45—46 Assets Under Management Rollforward 18 Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings 47—48 Investment Management Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings and Calculation of Sources of Operating Earnings 20 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital 49—51 Key Metrics 21 Reconciliation of Ongoing Business Adjusted ROE and Capital 52 Account Value Rollforward by Source 22 Impacts of Prepayments and Alternative Income Above (Below) Long- Account Value by Asset Type 23 Term Expectations 53 Annuities Calculation of ROE and ROC 54 Sources of Operating Earnings 25 Reconciliation of Operating Earnings Per Share: Book Value Per Share Assets Under Management Rollforward 26 Excluding AOCI 55 Individual Life Reconciliation of Average Capital: Debt to Capital, Excluding AOCI 56 Sources of Operating Earnings 28 Reconciliation of Investment Management Operating Margin, Excluding Key Metrics 29 Investment Capital 57 Employee Benefits    Sources of Operating Earnings 31 Key Metrics 32

Voya Financial Page 3 of 57 Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information Operating Earning Before Income Taxes Operating earnings before income taxes is a financial measure we use to evaluate segment performance. We believe that operating earnings before income taxes provides a meaningful measure of our business and segment performances and enhances the understanding of our financial results by focusing on the operating performance and trends of our underlying business segments and excluding items that tend to be highly variable from period to period based on capital market conditions and/or other factors. We use the same accounting policies and procedures to measure segment operating earnings before income taxes as we do for consolidated Net income (loss). Operating earnings before income taxes does not replace Net income (loss) as the U.S. GAAP measure of our consolidated results of operations. Therefore, we believe that it is useful to evaluate both Net income (loss) and Operating earnings before income taxes when reviewing our financial and operating performance. Each segment’s operating earnings before income taxes is calculated by adjusting Income (loss) before income taxes for the following items: Net investment gains (losses), net of related amortization of DAC, VOBA, sales inducements and unearned revenue, which are significantly influenced by economic and market conditions, including interest rates and credit spreads, and are not indicative of normal operations. Net investment gains (losses) include gains (losses) on the sale of securities, impairments, changes in the fair value of investments using the FVO unrelated to the implied loan-backed security income recognition for certain mortgage-backed obligations and changes in the fair value of derivative instruments, excluding realized gains (losses) associated with swap settlements and accrued interest; Net guaranteed benefit hedging gains (losses), which are significantly influenced by economic and market conditions and are not indicative of normal operations, include changes in the fair value of derivatives related to guaranteed benefits, net of related reserve increases (decreases) and net of related amortization of DAC, VOBA and sales inducements, less the estimated cost of these benefits. The estimated cost, which is reflected in operating results, reflects the expected cost of these benefits if markets perform in line with our long-term expectations and includes the cost of hedging. Other derivative and reserve changes related to guaranteed benefits are excluded from operating results, including the impacts related to changes in nonperformance spread; Income (loss) related to businesses exited through reinsurance or divestment, which includes gains and (losses) associated with transactions to exit blocks of business (including net investment gains (losses) on securities sold and expenses directly related to these transactions) and residual run-off activity; these gains and (losses) are often related to infrequent events and do not reflect performance of operating segments. Excluding this activity better reveals trends in our core business, which would be obscured by including the effects of business exited, and more closely aligns Operating earnings before income taxes with how we manages our segments; Income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interest, which represents the interest of shareholders, other than those of Voya Financial, Inc., in consolidated entities. Income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interest represents such shareholders’ interests in the gains and (losses) of those entities, or the attribution of results from consolidated VIEs or VOEs to which we are not economically entitled;    Income (loss) related to early extinguishment of debt, which includes losses incurred as a result of transactions where we repurchase outstanding principal amounts of debt; these losses are excluded from Operating earnings before income taxes since the outcome of decisions to restructure debt are not indicative of normal operations; Impairment of goodwill, value of management contract rights and value of customer relationships acquired, which includes losses as a result of impairment analysis; these represent losses related to infrequent events and do not reflect normal, cash-settled expenses; Immediate recognition of net actuarial gains (losses) related to our pension and other postretirement benefit obligations and gains (losses) from plan amendments and curtailments, which includes actuarial gains and losses as a result of differences between actual and expected experience on pension plan assets or projected benefit obligation during a given period. We immediately recognize actuarial gains and (losses) related to pension and other postretirement benefit obligations and gains and losses from plan adjustments and curtailments. These amounts do not reflect normal, cash-settled expenses and are not indicative of current Operating expense fundamentals; and Other items not indicative of normal operations or performance of our segments or may be related to infrequent events including capital or organizational restructurings including certain costs related to debt and equity offerings as well as stock and/or cash based deal contingent awards; expenses associated with the rebranding of Voya Financial, Inc.; severance and other third-party expenses associated with the 2016 Restructuring. These items vary widely in timing, scope and frequency between periods as well as between companies to which we are compared. Accordingly, we adjust for these items as we believe that these items distort the ability to make a meaningful evaluation of the current and future performance of our segments. Additionally, with respect to restructuring, these costs represent changes in operations rather than investments in the future capabilities of our operating businesses. Operating earnings before income taxes, when presented on a consolidated basis, also does not reflect the results of operations of our CBVA segment because this segment is managed to focus on protecting regulatory and rating agency capital rather than achieving operating metrics or generating net income. As a result of this focus on regulatory and rating agency capital, the financial results of the CBVA segment presented in accordance with GAAP tend to exhibit a high degree of volatility based on factors, such as the asymmetry between the accounting for certain liabilities and the corresponding hedging assets, and gains and losses due to changes in nonperformance risk, that are not necessarily reflective of the economic costs and benefits of the CBVA business. When we present the adjustments to Income (loss) before income taxes on a consolidated basis, each adjustment excludes the relative portions attributable to our CBVA segment.

Voya Financial Page 4 of 57 Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information Income (loss) related to businesses exited through reinsurance or divestment (including net investment gains (losses) on securities sold and expenses directly related to these transactions) is excluded from the results of operations from Operating earnings before income taxes. When we present the adjustments to Net Income (loss) before income taxes on a consolidated basis, each adjustment excludes the relative portions attributable to businesses exited through reinsurance or divestment. The most directly comparable U.S. GAAP measure to Operating earnings before income taxes is Net income (loss) before income taxes. For a reconciliation of Operating earnings before Net income taxes to Net income (loss) before income taxes, and from Total Operating earnings before income taxes to Total adjusted operating earnings before income taxes, refer to the “Reconciliations” section in this document. Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating ROE/ROC We report Ongoing Business adjusted operating ROE and adjusted operating ROC because we believe these measures are useful indicators of how effectively we use capital resources allocated to our ongoing businesses apart from corporate and closed block activities, which include our Retirement, Investment Management, Annuities, Individual Life and Employee Benefits segments. The most directly comparable U.S. GAAP measure to Ongoing Business adjusted operating ROE and adjusted operating ROC is return on equity. For a reconciliation of these non-GAAP measures to return on equity, refer to the “Reconciliations” section in this document. Capital is allocated to each of our segments in proportion to each segment’s target statutory capital, plus an allocation of the differences between statutory capital and total Voya Financial, Inc. shareholders’ equity on a GAAP basis (excluding AOCI), based on each segment’s portion of these differences. Statutory surplus in excess of target statutory capital and certain corporate assets and liabilities, such as certain deferred tax assets and liabilities for unfunded pension plans, are allocated to the Corporate segment. Ongoing Business adjusted operating ROE assumes a debt-to-capital ratio of approximately 25% and the actual weighted average pre-tax interest rate for all periods presented. Ongoing Business adjusted operating ROE assumes a 32% tax rate on operating earnings and all components of operating earnings described as “after-tax” for 2015 to current, which reflects the estimated benefit of the dividend received deduction related to the Ongoing Business segments. Ongoing Business adjusted operating ROE assumes a 35% tax rate on operating earnings and all components of operating earnings described as “after-tax” for periods prior to 2015 and a 5.5% interest rate for period prior to 3Q 2013. Adjusted Operating Earnings Adjusted operating earnings is also a non-GAAP financial measure. This measure excludes from Operating earnings before income taxes the following items:    DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking; The net gains included in operating earnings from a distribution of cash and securities in conjunction with a Lehman Brothers bankruptcy settlement (“Lehman Recovery”), and losses as a result of the decision to dispose of certain Low Income Housing Tax Credit partnerships (“LIHTC”) as a mean of exiting this asset class;    A gain related to the amendment or recapture of certain reinsurance agreements during 2014; The net loss included in operating earnings from the sale of certain alternative investments and investment income associated with assets disposed of during the portfolio restructuring effected during 2012; and Interest expense related to debt in our Corporate segment. Because DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking can be volatile, excluding the effect of this item can improve period to period comparability. The net gain from the Lehman Brothers bankruptcy settlement, loss from the disposition of low-income housing tax credit partnerships, gain on reinsurance recapture, and impact of investment portfolio restructuring affected run-rate results and we believe that this effect is not reflective of our ongoing performance.    Operating Earnings per Share; Shareholders’ Equity/Book Value per Share, Excluding AOCI In addition to Net income (loss) per share, we report Operating Earnings per Share because we believe that operating earnings before income taxes provides a meaningful measure of its business and segment performances and enhances the understanding of our financial results by focusing on the operating performance and trends of the underlying business segments and excluding items that tend to be highly variable from period to period based on capital market conditions and/or other factors. In addition to book value per share including accumulated other comprehensive income (AOCI), we also report book value per share excluding AOCI and shareholders’ equity excluding AOCI. Included in AOCI are investment portfolio unrealized gains or losses. In the ordinary course of business we do not plan to sell most investments for the sole purpose of realizing gains or losses, and book value per share excluding AOCI and shareholders’ equity excluding AOCI provide a measure consistent with that view. For a reconciliation of these non-GAAP measures to Net income (loss) per share and book value per share, refer to the “Reconciliation of the Operating Earning Per Share; Book Value Per Share, Excluding AOCI” section on page 54 of this document.

Voya Financial Page 5 of 57 Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information Operating Revenues Operating revenues is a measure of our segment revenues and a non-GAAP financial measure. Each segment’s Operating revenues are calculated by adjusting Total revenues for the following items: Net realized investment gains (losses) and related charges and adjustments, which are significantly influenced by economic and market conditions, including interest rates and credit spreads and are not indicative of normal operations. Net investment gains (losses) include gains (losses) on the sale of securities, impairments, changes in the fair value of investments using the FVO unrelated to the implied loan-backed security income recognition for certain mortgage-backed obligations and changes in the fair value of derivative instruments, excluding realized gains (losses) associated with swap settlements and accrued interest. These are net of related amortization of unearned revenue; Gain (loss) on change in fair value of derivatives related to guaranteed benefits, which is significantly influenced by economic and market conditions and not indicative of normal operations, includes changes in the fair value of derivatives related to guaranteed benefits, less the estimated cost of these benefits. The estimated cost, which is reflected in operating results, reflects the expected cost of these benefits if markets perform in line with our long-term expectations and includes the cost of hedging. Other derivative and reserve changes related to guaranteed benefits are excluded from operating revenues, including the impacts related to changes in nonperformance spread; Revenues related to businesses exited through reinsurance or divestment, which includes revenues associated with transactions to exit blocks of business (including net investment gains (losses) on securities sold related to these transactions) and residual run-off activity; these gains and (losses) are often related to infrequent events and do not reflect performance of operating segments. Excluding this activity better reveals trends in our core business, which would be obscured by including the effects of business exited, and more closely aligns Operating revenues with how we manages our segments; Revenues attributable to noncontrolling interest, which represents the interests of shareholders, other than those of Voya Financial, Inc., in consolidated entities. Revenues attributable to noncontrolling interest represents such shareholders’ interests in the gains and losses of those entities, or the attribution of results from consolidated VIEs or VOEs to which we are not economically entitled; and Other adjustments to Operating revenues primarily reflect fee income earned by our broker-dealers for sales of non-proprietary products, which are reflected net of commission expense in our segments’ operating revenues, other items where the income is passed on to third parties and the elimination of intercompany investment expenses included in operating revenues. Operating revenues also excludes the revenues of our CBVA segment, since this segment is managed to focus on protecting regulatory and rating agency capital rather than generating operating earnings. When we present the adjustments to Total revenues on a consolidated basis, each adjustment excludes the relative portions attributable to our CBVA segment and the relative portions attributable to businesses exited through reinsurance or divestment. The most directly comparable U.S. GAAP measure to Operating revenues is Total revenues. For a reconciliation of Operating revenues to Total revenues, refer to the “Reconciliations” section in this document. Sources of Earnings We analyze our segment performance based on the sources of earnings. We believe this supplemental information is useful in order to gain a better understanding of our Operating earnings (loss) before income taxes for the following reasons: (1) we analyze our business using this information and (2) this presentation can be helpful for investors to understand the main drivers of Operating earnings (loss) before income taxes. The sources of earnings are defined as such: Investment spread and other investment income consists of net investment income and net realized investment gains (losses) associated with swap settlements and accrued interest, less interest credited to policyholder reserves. Fee based margin consists primarily of fees earned on assets under management (“AUM”), assets under administration (“AUA”), and transaction based recordkeeping fees.    Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue contains the following: the difference between fees charged for insurance risks and incurred benefits, including mortality, morbidity, and surrender results, contractual charges for universal life and annuity contracts, the change in the unearned revenue reserve for universal life contracts, and that portion of traditional life insurance premiums intended to cover expenses and profits. Certain contract charges for universal life insurance are not recognized in income immediately, but are deferred as unearned revenues and are amortized into income in a manner similar to the amortization of DAC.    Administrative expenses are general expenses, net of amounts capitalized as acquisition expenses and exclude commission expenses and fees on letters of credit. Trail commissions are commissions paid that are not deferred and thus recorded directly to expense. For a detail explanation of DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization/unlocking see “Unlocking of DAC/VOBA and other Contract Owner/Policyholder Intangibles” in our SEC filings. Other Information Financial information, unless otherwise noted, is rounded to millions, therefore may not sum to its corresponding total.

Voya Financial    Page 6 of 57 Key Metrics                Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Net income (loss) 214.0 219.2 (142.4) (490.5) (236.5) 290.8 91.8 Net income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interest 65.4 52.0 1.1 42.5 11.6 118.5 (13.2) Net income (loss) available to Voya Financial, Inc.‘s common shareholders 148.6 167.2 (143.5) (533.0) (248.1) 172.3 105.0 Operating earnings before income taxes—Total Consolidated (3) 137.9 184.1 231.1 264.0 108.4 553.1 513.3 Total Voya Financial, Inc. Shareholders’ Equity 13,653.0 13,352.2 12,890.4 12,993.9 15,206.0 13,653.0 15,206.0 Total Voya Financial, Inc. Shareholders’ Equity—Excluding AOCI (3) 10,821.0 10,645.3 10,678.1 10,972.2 11,688.9 10,821.0 11,688.9 Return on Equity:    GAAP Return on Equity—TTM (1) (2.7)% (5.5)% (5.3)% (2.9)% 0.0% (2.7)% 0.0% Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Return on Equity—TTM (1) (2) (3) 15.5% 14.3% 13.2% 12.3% 12.1% 15.5% 12.1% Debt to Capital:    Debt to Capital 20.2% 20.6% 21.2% 21.5% 18.9% 20.2% 18.9% Debt to Capital (Excluding AOCI) (3) 24.2% 24.5% 24.5% 24.4% 23.3% 24.2% 23.3% Per Share:    Net income (loss) available to shareholders per common share:    Basic 0.83 0.90 (0.75) (2.74) (1.24) 0.93 0.52 Diluted 0.81 0.89 (0.75) (2.74) (1.24) 0.92 0.51 Total Consolidated Operating earnings per share (Diluted) (3) (4) 0.51 0.67 0.81 0.91 0.37 2.00 1.71 Book value per share (Including AOCI) 75.98 74.30 67.88 66.77 78.14 75.98 78.14 Book value per share (Excluding AOCI) (3) 60.22 59.24 56.23 56.38 60.07 60.22 60.07 Shares:    Weighted-average common shares outstanding    Basic 179.8 185.8 191.7 194.6 199.6 185.7 202.9 Diluted 182.4 187.7 191.7 194.6 199.6 188.1 204.7 Ending shares outstanding 179.7 179.7 189.9 194.6 194.6 179.7 194.6 Returned to Shareholders:    Repurchase of common shares, excluding commissions — 375.4 247.3 — 150.0 622.7 487.0 Dividends to shareholders 1.7 1.9 1.9 1.9 2.0 5.5 6.1 Total cash returned to shareholders 1.7 377.3 249.2 1.9 152.0 628.2 493.1 (1) Trailing twelve months calculation. (2) Assumes a debt-to-capital ratio of approximately 25% and the actual weighted average pre-tax interest rate for all periods presented. Assumes a 32% tax rate on operating earnings and all components of operating earnings described as “after-tax”, which reflects the estimated benefit of the dividend received deduction related to the Ongoing Business. (3) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document. (4) For an explanation of the diluted weighted-average common share measures used for Total Consolidated Operating earnings per share please refer to the “Reconciliation of the Operating Earning Per Share; Book Value Per Share, Excluding AOCI” section on page 55 of this document.

Voya Financial    Page 7 of 57 Consolidated Statements of Operations    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Revenues    Net investment income 1,104.3 1,142.4 1,155.5 1,188.1 1,163.4 3,402.2 3,432.7 Fee income 880.0 838.2 850.8 849.4 857.9 2,569.0 2,510.4 Premiums 581.6 577.1 591.6 1,109.5 726.7 1,750.3 2,405.1 Net realized capital gains (losses) (245.1) (193.8) (505.6) (804.8) (367.7) (944.5) (458.3) Income (loss) related to consolidated investment entities 139.6 128.7 27.3 103.0 57.7 295.6 86.0 Other revenues 89.8 96.2 93.8 103.2 90.5 279.8 257.9 Total revenues 2,550.2 2,588.8 2,213.4 2,548.4 2,528.5 7,352.4 8,233.8 Benefits and expenses    Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/policyholders (1,275.7) (1,357.3) (1,478.0) (2,181.2) (1,906.9) (4,111.0) (5,332.3) Operating expenses (731.2) (691.7) (738.8) (777.1) (723.6) (2,161.7) (2,160.2) Net amortization of DAC/VOBA (236.5) (234.2) (92.7) (169.8) (180.7) (563.4) (381.2) Interest expense (49.2) (44.6) (45.9) (45.2) (45.4) (139.7) (242.8) Operating expenses related to consolidated investment entities (19.5) (29.9) (17.4) (27.0) (27.8) (66.8) (78.8) Total benefits and expenses (2,312.1) (2,357.7) (2,372.8) (3,200.3) (2,884.4) (7,042.6) (8,195.3) Income (loss) before income taxes 238.1 231.1 (159.4) (651.9) (355.9) 309.8 38.5 Income tax (expense) benefit (24.1) (11.9) 17.0 161.4 119.4 (19.0) 53.3 Net income (loss) 214.0 219.2 (142.4) (490.5) (236.5) 290.8 91.8 Less:    Income tax (expense) benefit (24.1) (11.9) 17.0 161.4 119.4 (19.0) 53.3 Closed Block Variable Annuity 141.8 (28.0) (387.1) (729.5) (328.0) (273.3) (225.5) Net investment gains (losses) and related charges and adjustments (14.6) 3.4 (26.3) 9.8 (65.6) (37.5) (150.7) Net guaranteed benefit hedging gains (losses) and related charges    and adjustments (31.0) 24.9 41.5 (142.9) (53.5) 35.4 61.2 Income (loss) related to businesses exited through reinsurance or (1.8    divestment ) 0.8 (5.3) (16.9) 1.3 (6.3) 3.4 Income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interests 65.4 52.0 1.1 42.5 11.6 118.5 (13.2) Income (loss) on early extinguishment of debt (3.2) — (0.7) — (0.1) (3.9) (104.2) Immediate recognition of net actuarial gains (losses) related to    pension and other postretirement benefit obligations and gains    (losses) from plan amendments and curtailments 0.5 — — (48.1) (7.1) 0.5 (7.1) Other adjustments to operating earnings (1) (56.9) (6.1) (13.7) (30.8) (22.9) (76.7) (38.7) Operating earnings before income taxes (2) 137.9 184.1 231.1 264.0 108.4 553.1 513.3 (1) Includes restructuring expenses (severance, lease write-offs, etc.) and expenses associated with the rebranding of Voya Financial, Inc. from ING U.S., Inc. (2) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.

Voya Financial    Page 8 of 57 Consolidated Operating Earnings Before Income Taxes    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Consolidated Operating Earnings Before Income Taxes    Operating revenues    Net investment income and net realized gains (losses) 946.1 964.5 942.6 997.8 957.5 2,853.2 2,808.5 Fee income 723.4 683.4 665.9 664.6 662.0 2,072.7 1,942.2 Premiums 536.1 529.1 538.9 792.0 558.7 1,604.1 2,029.8 Other revenue 33.8 40.1 41.2 51.4 37.7 115.1 103.1 Total operating revenues (1) 2,239.4 2,217.1 2,188.6 2,505.8 2,215.9 6,645.1 6,883.6 Operating benefits and expenses    Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/policyholders (1,249.6) (1,183.9) (1,217.6) (1,504.0) (1,337.0) (3,651.1) (4,113.3) Operating expenses (563.8) (570.9) (597.4) (578.2) (566.3) (1,732.1) (1,743.7) Net amortization of DAC/VOBA (241.7) (230.9) (95.9) (113.8) (158.4) (568.5) (372.3) Interest expense (46.4) (47.3) (46.6) (45.8) (45.8) (140.3) (141.0) Total operating benefits and expenses (2,101.5) (2,033.0) (1,957.5) (2,241.8) (2,107.5) (6,092.0) (6,370.3) Operating earnings before income taxes (1) 137.9 184.1 231.1 264.0 108.4 553.1 513.3 Operating Revenues and Operating Earnings by Segment    Operating Revenues    Retirement 634.2 629.8 625.2 923.2 673.8 1,889.2 2,333.8 Investment Management 171.0 203.3 171.4 189.1 163.0 545.7 437.6 Annuities 302.5 298.1 301.4 321.0 310.6 902.0 932.7 Individual Life 668.9 628.6 630.0 640.9 637.7 1,927.5 1,886.6 Employee Benefits 446.6 442.9 446.2 410.0 405.9 1,335.7 1,206.4 Corporate 16.2 14.4 14.4 21.6 24.9 45.0 86.5 Total operating revenues (1) 2,239.4 2,217.1 2,188.6 2,505.8 2,215.9 6,645.1 6,883.6 Operating Earnings    Retirement 106.8 32.9 148.1 142.7 62.9 287.8 307.1 Investment Management 53.5 84.9 49.3 64.8 51.5 187.7 106.0 Annuities 74.4 65.8 63.5 84.6 113.3 203.7 236.6 Individual Life (66.2) 62.3 31.7 43.4 (76.2) 27.8 15.2 Employee Benefits 58.0 27.0 10.6 31.9 41.3 95.6 94.4 Corporate (88.6) (88.8) (72.1) (103.4) (84.4) (249.5) (246.0) Total Operating earnings before income taxes (1) 137.9 184.1 231.1 264.0 108.4 553.1 513.3 (1) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.

Voya Financial    Page 9 of 57 Operating Earnings by Segment                Three Months Ended September 30, 2017    Investment Employee    (in millions USD) Retirement Management Annuities Individual Life Benefits Corporate Consolidated Operating revenues    Net investment income and net realized gains (losses) 425.2 5.0 256.5 218.1 27.9 13.4 946.1 Fee income 187.4 160.2 20.2 339.8 15.8 — 723.4 Premiums 1.4 22.0 107.2 404.2 1.3 536.1 Other revenue 20.2 5.8 3.8 3.8 (1.3) 1.5 33.8 Total operating revenues (1) 634.2 171.0 302.5 668.9 446.6 16.2 2,239.4 Operating benefits and expenses    Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/ (243.0)    policyholders — (150.2) (549.7) (305.1) (1.6) (1,249.6) Operating expenses (203.4) (117.5) (41.9) (63.3) (80.9) (56.8) (563.8) Net amortization of DAC/VOBA (81.0) — (36.0) (122.1) (2.6) — (241.7) Interest expense — — — — — (46.4) (46.4) Total operating benefits and expenses (527.4) (117.5) (228.1) (735.1) (388.6) (104.8) (2,101.5) Operating earnings before income taxes (1) 106.8 53.5 74.4 (66.2) 58.0 (88.6) 137.9    Three Months Ended September 30, 2016    Investment Employee    Retirement Management Annuities Individual Life Benefits Corporate Consolidated Operating revenues    Net investment income and net realized gains (losses) 420.0 6.7 267.2 213.3 28.2 22.1 957.5 Fee income 176.0 145.9 17.1 307.8 15.2 — 662.0 Premiums 60.4 — 22.5 111.7 363.6 0.5 558.7 Other revenue 17.4 10.4 3.8 4.9 (1.1) 2.3 37.7 Total operating revenues (1) 673.8 163.0 310.6 637.7 405.9 24.9 2,215.9 Operating benefits and expenses    Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/ (290.3    policyholders ) — (163.5) (582.0) (286.9) (14.3) (1,337.0) Operating expenses (207.8) (111.5) (39.7) (82.5) (75.6) (49.2) (566.3) Net amortization of DAC/VOBA (112.8) — 5.9 (49.4) (2.1) — (158.4) Interest expense — — — — — (45.8) (45.8) Total operating benefits and expenses (610.9) (111.5) (197.3) (713.9) (364.6) (109.3) (2,107.5) Operating earnings before income taxes (1) 62.9 51.5 113.3 (76.2) 41.3 (84.4) 108.4 (1) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.

Voya Financial    Page 10 of 57 Operating Earnings by Segment                Nine Months Ended September 30, 2017    Investment Employee    (in millions USD) Retirement Management Annuities Individual Life Benefits Corporate Consolidated Operating revenues    Net investment income and net realized gains (losses) 1,271.2 48.9 768.6 641.8 81.5 41.2 2,853.2 Fee income 549.9 468.0 57.7 949.7 47.4 — 2,072.7 Premiums 5.5 — 61.9 323.6 1,210.5 2.6 1,604.1 Other revenue 62.6 28.8 13.8 12.4 (3.7) 1.2 115.1 Total operating revenues (1) 1,889.2 545.7 902.0 1,927.5 1,335.7 45.0 6,645.1 Operating benefits and expenses    Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/    policyholders (717.2) — (468.0) (1,473.1) (976.9) (15.9) (3,651.1) Operating expenses (636.9) (358.0) (134.2) (210.3) (254.4) (138.3) (1,732.1) Net amortization of DAC/VOBA (247.3) — (96.1) (216.3) (8.8) — (568.5) Interest expense — — — — — (140.3) (140.3) Total operating benefits and expenses (1,601.4) (358.0) (698.3) (1,899.7) (1,240.1) (294.5) (6,092.0) Operating earnings before income taxes (1) 287.8 187.7 203.7 27.8 95.6 (249.5) 553.1    Nine Months Ended September 30, 2016    Investment Employee    Retirement Management Annuities Individual Life Benefits Corporate Consolidated Operating revenues    Net investment income and net realized gains (losses) 1,240.1 (16.6) 791.6 631.9 81.1 80.4 2,808.5 Fee income 511.3 429.6 49.3 905.2 46.8 — 1,942.2 Premiums 529.6 — 79.8 336.5 1,081.7 2.2 2,029.8 Other revenue 52.8 24.6 12.0 13.0 (3.2) 3.9 103.1 Total operating revenues (1) 2,333.8 437.6 932.7 1,886.6 1,206.4 86.5 6,883.6 Operating benefits and expenses    Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/    policyholders (1,209.6) — (512.4) (1,498.9) (866.5) (25.9) (4,113.3) Operating expenses (647.0) (331.6) (119.2) (247.9) (232.4) (165.6) (1,743.7) Net amortization of DAC/VOBA (170.1) — (64.5) (124.6) (13.1) — (372.3) Interest expense — — — — — (141.0) (141.0) Total operating benefits and expenses (2,026.7) (331.6) (696.1) (1,871.4) (1,112.0) (332.5) (6,370.3) Operating earnings before income taxes (1) 307.1 106.0 236.6 15.2 94.4 (246.0) 513.3 (1) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 61 of this document.

Voya Financial    Page 11 of 57 Consolidated Balance Sheets                Balances as of    (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 Assets    Total investments 95,741.6 93,851.2 92,375.4 92,638.4 97,352.4 Cash and cash equivalents 1,966.9 2,567.4 2,298.3 2,910.7 2,766.7 Assets held in separate accounts 107,474.2 102,990.8 100,778.1 97,118.7 97,975.7 Premium receivable and reinsurance recoverable 7,297.8 7,277.5 7,353.7 7,318.0 7,305.1 Short term investments under securities loan agreement and accrued    investment income 3,319.7 1,849.0 1,735.0 1,679.6 2,056.8 Deferred policy acquisition costs, Value of business acquired 4,209.0 4,434.3 4,793.7 4,887.5 4,059.5 Goodwill and other intangible assets 196.0 197.8 208.0 219.5 227.3 Other assets (1) 2,820.9 2,991.7 3,339.2 3,406.7 2,336.7 Assets related to consolidated investment entities 3,617.8 3,679.1 4,144.1 4,056.0 4,542.0 Total Assets 226,643.9 219,838.8 217,025.5 214,235.1 218,622.2 Liabilities    Future policy benefits and contract owner account balances 92,207.9 91,895.2 91,585.6 92,053.4 91,406.0 Liabilities related to separate accounts 107,474.2 102,990.8 100,778.1 97,118.7 97,975.7 Funds held under reinsurance agreements 811.3 758.6 742.3 729.1 773.3 Payables under securities loan agreements, including collateral held 3,317.7 1,975.9 1,740.9 1,841.3 2,878.0 Short-term debt 336.6 735.9 735.5 — — Long-term debt 3,122.2 2,726.2 2,725.7 3,549.5 3,548.5 Other liabilities (2) 2,594.4 2,308.9 2,294.9 2,481.0 2,896.1 Liabilities related to consolidated investment entities 2,168.3 2,155.3 2,544.8 2,495.0 2,989.2 Total Liabilities 212,032.6 205,546.8 203,147.8 200,268.0 202,466.8 Shareholders’ Equity    Common stock 2.7 2.7 2.7 2.7 2.7 Treasury stock (3,426.0) (3,426.0) (3,050.4) (2,796.0) (2,795.8) Additional paid-in capital 23,899.9 23,872.8 23,697.2 23,608.8 23,792.3 Retained earnings (deficit) (9,655.6) (9,804.2) (9,971.4) (9,843.3) (9,310.3) Total Voya Financial, Inc. Shareholders’ Equity—Excluding AOCI 10,821.0 10,645.3 10,678.1 10,972.2 11,688.9 Accumulated other comprehensive income 2,832.0 2,706.9 2,212.3 2,021.7 3,517.1 Total Voya Financial, Inc. Shareholders’ Equity 13,653.0 13,352.2 12,890.4 12,993.9 15,206.0 Noncontrolling interest 958.3 939.8 987.3 973.2 949.4 Total Shareholders’ Equity 14,611.3 14,292.0 13,877.7 13,967.1 16,155.4 Total Liabilities and Shareholders’ Equity 226,643.9 219,838.8 217,025.5 214,235.1 218,622.2 (1) Includes Other assets, Sales inducements to contract holders, and Current/Deferred income taxes.    (2) Includes Other liabilities, Derivatives, Pension and other postretirement provisions, and Current/Deferred income taxes.

Voya Financial    Page 12 of 57 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital                Closed Corporate                Block    Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable (2) (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity DTA Other Consolidated    Twelve Months Ended September 30, 2017    Operating earnings before income taxes (1) 430.5 252.5 288.3 71.2 127.5 1,170.0 (352.9) 817.1 Less:                Interest expense    — — (192.6) (192.6) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (148.0) — 39.9 (161.5) (2.1) (271.7) — (271.7) Gain on Lehman Recovery 4.1 0.2 4.5 8.0 1.0 17.8 0.3 18.1 Adjusted operating earnings before interest 574.4 252.3 243.9 224.7 128.6 1,423.9 — (160.6) 1,263.3 Income tax expense 183.8 80.7 78.0 71.9 41.2 455.6 — (51.4) 404.2 Adjusted operating earnings before interest and after 390.6 171.6 165.9 152.8 87.4 968.3 — (109.2) 859.1 income taxes                Ending Capital (1) 3,856 311 1,484 1,476 364 7,491 1,897 2,954 1,938 14,280 Average Capital (2) 3,956 306 1,487 1,614 359 7,722 2,076 2,760 1,824 14,382 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital (1) 9.9% 56.1% 11.2% 9.5% 24.3% 12.5% N/M N/M N/M 6.0%    Twelve Months Ended December 31, 2016    Operating earnings before income taxes (1) 449.8 170.8 321.2 58.6 126.3 1,126.7 — (349.4) 777.3 Less:                Interest expense — — — — — — — (192.8) (192.8) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (65.6) — 91.5 (143.5) (4.0) (121.6) — — (121.6) Net gain from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC 4.1 2.8 4.5 8.0 1.0 20.4 — 0.3 20.7 Adjusted operating earnings before interest 511.3 168.0 225.2 194.1 129.3 1,227.9 — (156.9) 1,071.0 Income tax expense 163.6 53.8 72.1 62.1 41.4 393.0 — (50.2) 342.8 Adjusted operating earnings before interest and after 347.7 114.2 153.1 132.0 87.9 834.9 — (106.7) 728.2 income taxes                Ending Capital (1) 4,068 295 1,497 1,677 341 7,878 2,246 2,660 1,738 14,522 Average Capital (2) 3,964 297 1,561 2,015 378 8,215 3,006 2,149 1,910 15,280 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital (1) 8.8% 38.5% 9.8% 6.6% 23.3% 10.2% N/M N/M N/M 4.8% (1) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.    (2) Deferred Tax Asset (DTA) related to Federal Net Operating Loss Carry Forwards (“Federal NOLs”), Life Subgroup Deferred Losses related to Closed Block VA Hedge Losses,    and Non-Life Subgroup Deferred Losses related to tax-based goodwill, net of $745 million tax valuation allowance related to Federal NOLs for the twelve months ending December 31, 2016 and June 30, 2017.

Voya Financial    Page 13 of 57 DAC/VOBA Segment Trends                Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Retirement    Balance as of Beginning-of-Period 920.3 1,141.0 1,165.2 814.3 967.3 1,165.2 1,402.5 Deferrals of commissions and expenses 21.0 22.8 25.4 22.1 24.6 69.2 72.9 Amortization (34.2) (33.0) (24.5) (24.2) (39.6) (91.7) (90.7) Unlocking (1) (39.3) (102.4) 13.2 (23.2) (99.6) (128.5) (59.2) Change in unrealized capital gains/losses (10.7) (108.1) (38.3) 376.2 (38.4) (157.1) (511.2) Balance as of End-of-Period 857.1 920.3 1,141.0 1,165.2 814.3 857.1 814.3 Deferred Sales Inducements as of End-of-Period 32.8 33.8 35.2 35.9 35.3 32.8 35.3 Annuities    Balance as of Beginning-of-Period 567.8 617.4 647.5 401.5 352.9 647.5 604.6 Deferrals of commissions and expenses 17.8 26.2 25.3 31.4 23.6 69.3 89.5 Amortization (19.5) (46.7) (48.9) 33.2 (6.9) (115.1) (132.7) Unlocking (6.1) 14.3 16.5 (8.2) 34.2 24.7 84.3 Change in unrealized capital gains/losses 0.8 (43.4) (23.0) 189.6 (2.3) (65.6) (244.2) Balance as of End-of-Period 560.8 567.8 617.4 647.5 401.5 560.8 401.5 Deferred Sales Inducements as of End-of-Period 138.0 126.5 136.0 141.8 88.9 138.0 88.9 Individual Life    Balance as of Beginning-of-Period 2,573.4 2,657.1 2,702.2 2,377.6 2,476.9 2,702.2 2,856.8 Deferrals of commissions and expenses 26.4 30.6 34.8 32.9 36.6 91.8 114.1 Amortization (44.2) (50.0) (43.4) (37.9) (21.1) (137.6) (87.3) Unlocking (82.8) (3.9) (4.1) (5.0) (40.9) (90.8) (51.1) Change in unrealized capital gains/losses (50.3) (60.4) (32.4) 334.6 (73.9) (143.1) (454.9) Balance as of End-of-Period 2,422.5 2,573.4 2,657.1 2,702.2 2,377.6 2,422.5 2,377.6 Other    Balance as of Beginning-of-Period 80.6 78.7 76.2 69.3 67.0 76.2 84.1 Deferrals of commissions and expenses 5.9 7.1 5.7 5.0 5.0 18.7 13.8 Amortization (2.7) (3.3) (3.0) (3.2) (2.8) (9.0) (11.7) Unlocking (0.6) (1.0) (0.5) — (0.2) (2.1) (4.0) Change in unrealized capital gains/losses (0.4) (0.9) 0.3 5.1 0.3 (1.0) (12.9) Balance as of End-of-Period 82.8 80.6 78.7 76.2 69.3 82.8 69.3 Closed Block Variable Annuity    Balance as of Beginning-of-Period 292.2 299.5 296.4 396.8 399.7 296.4 422.1 Deferrals of commissions and expenses 0.7 0.9 1.1 0.9 0.9 2.7 3.5 Amortization (8.0) (8.3) (9.0) (10.1) (13.2) (25.3) (35.5) Unlocking and loss recognition (2) 0.9 0.1 11.0 (91.2) 9.4 12.0 6.7 Change in unrealized capital gains/losses — — — — — — — Balance as of End-of-Period 285.8 292.2 299.5 296.4 396.8 285.8 396.8 Deferred Sales Inducements as of End-of-Period 62.7 64.1 65.8 65.1 87.2 62.7 87.2 Total    Balance as of Beginning-of-Period 4,434.3 4,793.7 4,887.5 4,059.5 4,263.8 4,887.5 5,370.1 Deferrals of commissions and expenses 71.8 87.6 92.3 92.3 90.7 251.7 293.8 Amortization (108.6) (141.3) (128.8) (42.2) (83.6) (378.7) (357.9) Unlocking (127.9) (92.9) 36.1 (127.6) (97.1) (184.7) (23.3) Change in unrealized capital gains/losses (60.6) (212.8) (93.4) 905.5 (114.3) (366.8) (1,223.2) Balance as of End-of-Period 4,209.0 4,434.3 4,793.7 4,887.5 4,059.5 4,209.0 4,059.5 Deferred Sales Inducements as of End-of-Period 233.5 224.4 237.0 242.8 211.4 233.5 211.4 (1) Beginning in the second quarter of 2017, we solicited customer consents to execute a change to reduce the guaranteed minimum interest rate (“GMIR”) applicable to future deposits and transfers into fixed investment option for certain retirement plan contracts with above-market GMIRs. This change, which reduces our exposure to low interest rates on new deposits, transfers and in certain plans existing fixed account assets, resulted in unfavorable unlocking for the Retirement segment of $91.8 million and $128.0 million, for the three months ended 9/30/2017 and 6/30/2017,respectively.    (2) Includes a portion of loss recognition in the period ended 12/31/2016 for the $85.1 million write-down of DAC/VOBA.

Voya Financial    Page 14 of 57 Consolidated Capital Structure                Balances as of    (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 Financial Debt    Senior bonds 2,701.9 2,705.2 2,704.4 2,792.8 2,791.9 Subordinated bonds 752.1 752.0 751.9 751.8 751.7 Other debt 4.8 4.9 4.9 4.9 4.9 Total Debt 3,458.8 3,462.1 3,461.2 3,549.5 3,548.5 Equity    Total common equity (Excluding AOCI) (1) 10,821.0 10,645.3 10,678.1 10,972.2 11,688.9 Accumulated other comprehensive income (AOCI) 2,832.0 2,706.9 2,212.3 2,021.7 3,517.1 Total Voya Financial, Inc. Shareholders’ Equity 13,653.0 13,352.2 12,890.4 12,993.9 15,206.0 Total Equity (Excluding AOCI) (1) 10,821.0 10,645.3 10,678.1 10,972.2 11,688.9 Capital    Total Capitalization 17,111.8 16,814.3 16,351.6 16,543.4 18,754.5 Total Capitalization (Excluding AOCI) (1) 14,279.8 14,107.4 14,139.3 14,521.7 15,237.4 Debt to Capital    Debt to Capital 20.2% 20.6% 21.2% 21.5% 18.9% Debt to Capital (Excluding AOCI) (1) 24.2% 24.5% 24.5% 24.4% 23.3% (1) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.

Voya Financial    Page 15 of 57 Consolidated Assets Under Management/Assets Under Administration As of September 30, 2017                Total AUM—AUA—Assets    General Separate Institutional/ Assets Under Under Total AUM + (in millions USD) Account Account Mutual Funds Management Administration AUA Retirement (1) 32,761.0 68,476.2 33,347.5 134,584.7 227,283.6 361,868.3 Investment Management 82,488.5 45,974.1 93,642.2 222,104.8 50,460.2 272,565.0 Annuities (2) 21,998.4 875.0 5,760.6 28,634.0 — 28,634.0 Individual Life (3) 12,769.6 2,723.7 — 15,493.3 — 15,493.3 Employee Benefits 1,860.1 15.2 — 1,875.3 — 1,875.3 Closed Block Variable Annuity (2) 5,588.6 31,422.4 — 37,011.0 — 37,011.0 Eliminations/Other (74,977.7) (42,012.4) (11,313.0) (128,303.1) (48,403.2) (176,706.3) Total AUM and AUA 82,488.5 107,474.2 121,437.3 311,400.0 229,340.6 540,740.6 (1) Includes wrapped funds as well as unwrapped Voya-managed funds.    (2) Includes Payout annuities.    (3) Includes assets backing interest and non-interest sensitive products.

Retirement

Voya Financial    Page 17 of 57 Retirement Sources of Operating Earnings and Key Metrics    Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Sources of operating earnings before income taxes:    Investment spread and other investment income 184.6 181.1 191.7 193.2 185.2 557.4 553.3 Fee based margin 212.4 208.2 201.9 197.9 196.8 622.5 573.2 Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue (8.0) (3.7) (2.6) (4.3) (0.9) (14.3) (9.5) Administrative expenses (159.2) (163.3) (183.8) (165.5) (166.7) (506.3) (528.1) Trail commissions (41.0) (40.6) (39.5) (37.8) (37.6) (121.1) (108.1) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization, excluding unlocking (38.2) (35.2) (33.0) (36.8) (39.8) (106.4) (112.1) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (3) (43.8) (113.6) 13.4 (4.0) (74.1) (144.0) (61.6) Operating earnings before income taxes (2) 106.8 32.9 148.1 142.7 62.9 287.8 307.1 Gross investment income    Fixed income 389.7 386.2 384.5 387.8 386.6 1,160.4 1,159.7 Limited partnership income 2.3 2.6 1.2 2.4 0.4 6.1 (4.2) Prepayment fee income 5.5 4.6 5.6 12.5 16.3 15.7 43.4 Total gross investment income 397.5 393.4 391.3 402.7 403.3 1,182.2 1,198.9 Investment expenses (18.7) (17.4) (18.8) (18.1) (17.4) (54.9) (49.8) Credited interest (236.6) (233.2) (229.9) (234.8) (229.7) (699.7) (671.2) Net margin 142.2 142.8 142.6 149.8 156.2 427.6 477.9 Other investment income (1) 42.4 38.3 49.1 43.4 29.0 129.8 75.4 Investment spread and other investment income 184.6 181.1 191.7 193.2 185.2 557.4 553.3 Fee based margin    Fee based margin—excluding Recordkeeping 171.1 168.0 163.0 158.0 157.3 502.1 456.7 Fee based margin—Recordkeeping 41.3 40.2 38.9 39.9 39.5 120.4 116.5 Fee based margin 212.4 208.2 201.9 197.9 196.8 622.5 573.2 Assets Under Management by Fund Group    General account 32,761.0 32,625.3 32,495.6 32,469.2 31,672.3 32,761.0 31,672.3 Guaranteed separate account 7,771.1 7,104.0 7,186.0 7,192.2 7,522.7 7,771.1 7,522.7 Non-guaranteed separate account 60,705.1 58,386.3 56,381.2 52,881.7 52,269.9 60,705.1 52,269.9 Mutual funds / Institutional funds 33,347.5 31,619.3 30,380.0 28,865.2 28,103.5 33,347.5 28,103.5 Total AUM 134,584.7 129,734.9 126,442.8 121,408.3 119,568.4 134,584.7 119,568.4 AUA 227,283.6 213,498.6 209,308.1 195,440.7 195,136.9 227,283.6 195,136.9 Total AUM and AUA 361,868.3 343,233.5 335,750.9 316,849.0 314,705.3 361,868.3 314,705.3 (1) Includes investment income on assets backing surplus that has been allocated from the corporate segment and income from policy loans.    (2) The three months ended 12/31/16 include $5.3 million of net investment income, and $(1.2) million of DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization from Lehman Recovery. (3) Beginning in the second quarter of 2017, we solicited customer consents to execute a change to reduce the guaranteed minimum interest rate (“GMIR”) applicable to future deposits and transfers into fixed investment option for certain retirement plan contracts with above-market GMIRs. This change, which reduces our exposure to low interest rates on new deposits, transfers and in certain plans existing fixed account assets, resulted in unfavorable unlocking for the Retirement segment of $91.8 million and $128.0 million, for the three months ended 9/30/2017 and 6/30/2017,respectively.

Voya Financial    Page 18 of 57 Retirement AUM Rollforward by Product Group    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Full service—Corporate markets    Assets under management, beginning of period 55,535.8 53,162.5 49,920.7 48,963.8 46,848.4 49,920.7 45,088.5 Transfer/Single deposits 1,211.7 1,429.9 1,499.2 1,498.5 1,036.7 4,140.8 2,616.5 Recurring deposits 1,306.7 1,296.0 1,502.3 1,102.9 1,173.8 4,105.0 3,695.1 Total Deposits 2,518.4 2,725.9 3,001.5 2,601.4 2,210.5 8,245.8 6,311.6 Surrenders, benefits, and product charges (1,951.6) (1,881.1) (2,061.3) (2,160.0) (1,787.3) (5,894.0) (5,141.9) Net Flows 566.8 844.8 940.2 441.4 423.2 2,351.8 1,169.7 Interest credited and investment performance 1,907.4 1,528.5 2,301.6 568.9 1,692.2 5,737.5 2,705.6 Transfer to reinsurer / between markets (3) — — — (53.4) — — — Assets under management, end of period 58,010.0 55,535.8 53,162.5 49,920.7 48,963.8 58,010.0 48,963.8 Full service—Tax-exempt markets    Assets under management, beginning of period 58,548.6 57,185.3 55,497.0 54,796.4 52,699.4 55,497.0 51,641.9 Transfer/Single deposits 788.8 293.5 613.0 442.8 957.7 1,695.3 1,536.8 Recurring deposits 723.8 786.1 868.4 743.4 693.3 2,378.3 2,251.7 Total Deposits 1,512.6 1,079.6 1,481.4 1,186.2 1,651.0 4,073.6 3,788.5 Surrenders, benefits, and product charges (1,154.9) (1,011.1) (1,728.5) (1,115.1) (997.7) (3,894.5) (3,043.9) Net Flows 357.6 68.4 (247.1) 71.1 653.3 179.1 744.6 Interest credited and investment performance 1,684.0 1,294.9 1,935.4 629.5 1,443.9 4,914.3 2,410.1 Transfer to reinsurer / between markets (3) — — — — — — — Assets under management, end of period 60,590.2 58,548.6 57,185.3 55,497.0 54,796.4 60,590.2 54,796.4 Stable value (1) and Pension risk transfer    Assets under management, beginning of period 12,088.2 12,535.6 12,505.5 12,346.5 11,967.3 12,505.5 10,762.9 Transfer/Single deposits 414.9 24.5 157.8 404.9 381.8 597.2 1,359.3 Recurring deposits 94.5 87.4 133.0 120.7 129.3 314.9 336.5 Total Deposits 509.4 111.9 290.8 525.6 511.1 912.1 1,695.8 Surrenders, benefits, and product charges (283.0) (670.4) (336.5) (239.1) (213.1) (1,289.9) (475.4) Net Flows 226.4 (558.5) (45.7) 286.5 298.0 (377.8) 1,220.4 Interest credited and investment performance 88.5 111.1 75.8 (180.9) 81.2 275.4 363.2 Transfer to reinsurer / between markets (3) — — — 53.4 — — — Assets under management, end of period 12,403.1 12,088.2 12,535.6 12,505.5 12,346.5 12,403.1 12,346.5 Retail wealth management    Assets under management, beginning of period 3,562.3 3,559.4 3,485.1 3,461.7 3,397.0 3,485.1 3,313.7 Transfer/Single deposits 149.8 161.4 220.9 231.3 236.5 532.1 728.8 Recurring deposits 0.5 1.1 1.1 0.5 0.3 2.7 1.7 Total Deposits 150.3 162.5 222.0 231.8 236.8 534.8 730.5 Surrenders, benefits, and product charges (210.7) (237.0) (259.1) (227.8) (254.4) (706.8) (733.6) Net Flows (60.4) (74.5) (37.1) 4.0 (17.6) (172.0) (3.1) Interest credited and investment performance 79.5 77.4 111.4 19.3 82.3 268.3 151.1 Assets under management, end of period 3,581.4 3,562.3 3,559.4 3,485.1 3,461.7 3,581.4 3,461.7 Total AUM (2)    Assets under management, beginning of period 129,734.9 126,442.8 121,408.3 119,568.4 114,912.1 121,408.3 110,807.1 Transfer/Single deposits 2,565.2 1,909.3 2,490.8 2,577.6 2,612.7 6,965.3 6,241.4 Recurring deposits 2,125.5 2,170.5 2,504.9 1,967.5 1,996.7 6,800.9 6,285.0 Total Deposits 4,690.7 4,079.8 4,995.7 4,545.1 4,609.3 13,766.2 12,526.3 Surrenders, benefits, and product charges (3,600.2) (3,799.6) (4,385.5) (3,742.0) (3,252.6) (11,785.3) (9,394.8) Net Flows 1,090.5 280.2 610.2 803.1 1,356.7 1,980.9 3,131.5 Interest credited and investment performance 3,759.3 3,011.9 4,424.3 1,036.8 3,299.6 11,195.5 5,629.8 Assets under management, end of period 134,584.7 129,734.9 126,442.8 121,408.3 119,568.4 134,584.7 119,568.4 (1) Where Voya is the Investment Manager.    (2) Excludes Recordkeeping and Stable Value where Voya is not the Investment Manager.    (3) AUM transfers between Retirement market.

Investment Management

Voya Financial    Page 20 of 57 Investment Management Sources of Operating Earnings    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Sources of operating earnings before income taxes:    Investment capital and other investment income (1) 4.9 35.4 8.6 8.5 6.8 48.9 (16.4) Fee based margin 166.1 167.9 162.8 180.6 156.2 496.8 454.0 Administrative expenses (117.5) (118.4) (122.1) (124.3) (111.5) (358.0) (331.6) Total earnings before income taxes (2) 53.5 84.9 49.3 64.8 51.5 187.7 106.0 Fee based margin    Investment advisory and administrative revenue 160.2 157.4 150.4 152.1 145.9 468.0 429.6 Other fee based margin 5.9 10.5 12.4 28.5 10.3 28.8 24.4 Fee based margin 166.1 167.9 162.8 180.6 156.2 496.8 454.0 (1) Includes performance fees related to sponsored private equity funds (“carried interest”) that are subject to later reversal based on subsequent fund performance, to the extent that cumulative rates of investment return fall below specified investment hurdle rates. Should the market value of a portfolio increase in future periods, reversals of carried interest could be fully or partially recovered. For the nine months ended September 30, 2017, our carried interest net results included the recovery (gain) of $26.4 million of carried interest reversed in prior periods. This includes $2.0 million net reduction (loss) related to the three months ended September 30,2017. For the nine months ended September 30, 2016, our carried interest net results included the reversal (loss) of approximately $30.2 million, in previously accrued carried interest.    (2) The three months ended 9/30/2016 and 12/31/16 include $2.6 million and $0.2 million, respectively of net investment income from Lehman Recovery.

Voya Financial    Page 21 of 57 Investment Management Key Metrics                Balances as of Balances as of (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Client Assets by Source:    External clients    Investment Management sourced 83,070.4 80,158.3 76,194.9 73,991.9 72,813.2 83,070.4 72,813.2 Affiliate sourced 56,545.9 54,936.8 54,636.0 54,254.1 55,356.1 56,545.9 55,356.1 Subtotal external clients 139,616.3 135,095.1 130,830.9 128,246.0 128,169.3 139,616.3 128,169.3 General Account (1) 82,488.5 81,905.1 82,068.7 82,760.0 80,212.9 82,488.5 80,212.9 Total Client Assets (AUM) 222,104.8 217,000.2 212,899.6 211,006.0 208,382.2 222,104.8 208,382.2 Administration Only Assets (AUA) 50,460.2 50,920.2 50,519.4 49,685.0 50,087.9 50,460.2 50,087.9 Total AUM and AUA 272,565.0 267,920.4 263,419.0 260,691.0 258,470.1 272,565.0 258,470.1 Three Months Ended Year-to-Date 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Analysis of investment advisory and administrative revenues, net,    by source: (2)    External clients    Investment Management sourced 85.5 86.7 79.0 81.2 75.8 251.2 222.6 Affiliate sourced 29.4 27.4 29.0 29.2 29.5 85.8 86.6 Subtotal external clients 114.9 114.1 108.0 110.4 105.3 337.0 309.2 General Account 39.6 39.1 39.2 38.7 37.5 117.9 111.5 Total investment advisory and administrative revenues, net, from    AUM 154.5 153.2 147.2 149.1 142.8 454.9 420.7 Administration Only Fees 5.7 4.2 3.2 3.0 3.1 13.1 8.9 Total investment advisory and administrative revenues, net, by    source (2) 160.2 157.4 150.4 152.1 145.9 468.0 429.6 Revenue Yield (bps): (2) (3)    External clients    Investment Management sourced 42.0 44.6 41.9 44.4 42.0 42.8 42.4 Affiliate sourced 21.0 19.9 21.2 21.4 21.4 20.7 21.3 Revenue Yield on Institutional/retail 33.5 34.4 33.2 34.6 33.1 33.7 33.2 General Account 19.3 19.0 18.9 19.3 19.1 19.1 18.9 Revenue Yield on Client Assets (AUM) 28.2 28.5 27.7 28.7 27.7 28.1 27.6 Revenue Yield on Administration Only Assets (AUA) 4.5 3.3 2.5 2.4 2.5 3.4 2.4 Total Revenue Yield on AUM and AUA (bps) (2) (3) 23.8 23.7 22.9 23.6 22.8 23.4 22.8 (1) General Account assets reported on a Statutory Book Value billing basis consistent with revenues earned.    (2) Measures used by management to evaluate ongoing business performance, allowing for more appropriate comparisons with industry peers.    (3) Revenue Yields calculated using average client assets for the period.

Voya Financial    Page 22 of 57 Investment Management Account Rollforward by Source    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Investment Management Sourced AUM:    Beginning of period AUM 80,158.3 76,194.9 73,991.9 72,813.2 71,034.0 73,991.9 68,143.7 Inflows    Inflows from sub-advisor replacements — — — — — — — Inflows-other 5,290.0 5,499.9 3,832.6 5,995.2 3,459.4 14,622.5 10,858.0 Outflows (4,062.1) (3,114.9) (3,264.2) (4,412.2) (3,284.6) (10,441.2) (9,701.9) Net Flows 1,227.9 2,385.0 568.4 1,583.0 174.8 4,181.3 1,156.1 Net Money Market Flows (22.8) 20.9 (45.1) 16.7 1.5 (47.0) (44.9) Change in Market Value 1,444.5 1,487.5 1,804.9 (346.3) 1,696.8 4,736.9 3,910.6 Other (Including Acquisitions / Divestitures) 262.5 70.0 (125.2) (74.7) (93.9) 207.3 (352.3) End of period AUM 83,070.4 80,158.3 76,194.9 73,991.9 72,813.2 83,070.4 72,813.2 Organic Growth (Net Flows / Beginning of period AUM) 1.53% 3.13% 0.77% 2.17% 0.25% 5.65% 1.70% Market Growth % 1.80% 1.95% 2.44% -0.48% 2.39% 6.40% 5.74% Affiliate Sourced AUM:    Beginning of period AUM 54,936.8 54,636.0 54,254.1 55,356.1 54,277.4 54,254.1 54,403.4 Inflows    Inflows from sub-advisor replacements 856.6 — — — 186.9 856.6 186.9 Inflows-other 1,451.5 872.7 1,130.0 1,250.7 1,061.4 3,454.2 2,943.2 Outflows (2,024.5) (2,087.2) (2,851.7) (2,204.6) (1,752.6) (6,963.4) (5,047.6) Net Flows 283.6 (1,214.5) (1,721.7) (953.9) (504.3) (2,652.6) (1,917.5) Net Money Market Flows (10.1) (83.6) (86.7) (22.4) (9.5) (180.4) (31.4) Change in Market Value 1,466.1 1,274.6 2,167.2 208.1 1,464.5 4,907.9 2,887.9 Other (Including Acquisitions / Divestitures) (130.5) 324.3 23.1 (333.8) 128.0 216.9 13.7 End of period AUM 56,545.9 54,936.8 54,636.0 54,254.1 55,356.1 56,545.9 55,356.1 Organic Growth (Net Flows / Beginning of period AUM) 0.52% -2.22% -3.17% -1.72% -0.93% -4.89% -3.52% Market Growth % 2.67% 2.33% 3.99% 0.38% 2.70% 9.05% 5.31% Other affiliate sourced net flows 1,231.7 (514.8) (306.9) (46.0) 309.5 410.0 247.6 Variable annuity net flows (948.1) (699.7) (1,414.8) (907.9) (813.8) (3,062.6) (2,165.1) Total Affiliate Sourced Net Flows 283.6 (1,214.5) (1,721.7) (953.9) (504.3) (2,652.6) (1,917.5) Total Investment Management Sourced Net Flows 1,227.9 2,385.0 568.4 1,583.0 174.8 4,181.3 1,156.1 Total Net Flows 1,511.5 1,170.5 (1,153.3) 629.1 (329.5) 1,528.7 (761.4) Net Flows excluding sub-advisor replacements and variable    annuity net flows 1,603.0 1,870.2 261.5 1,537.0 297.4 3,734.7 1,216.8

Voya Financial    Page 23 of 57 Investment Management Account Value by Asset Type    Balances as of    (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 Institutional    Equity 21,867.7 21,554.2 20,485.4 19,416.5 19,097.4 Fixed Income 48,883.9 46,483.3 44,162.0 43,252.5 41,980.7 Real Estate — — — — — Money Market — — — — — Total 70,751.6 68,037.5 64,647.4 62,669.0 61,078.1 Retail    Equity 43,227.9 41,626.5 40,829.0 39,481.5 39,796.4 Fixed Income 20,523.8 20,309.8 19,851.9 19,905.8 20,247.2 Real Estate 3,611.3 3,588.1 3,905.2 4,461.0 5,313.4 Money Market 1,501.6 1,533.2 1,597.4 1,728.7 1,734.2 Total 68,864.6 67,057.6 66,183.5 65,577.0 67,091.2 General Account    Equity 217.7 245.3 246.4 238.9 299.1 Fixed Income 80,812.9 79,806.0 79,756.5 79,928.1 79,605.0 Real Estate — — — — — Money Market 1,457.9 1,853.8 2,065.8 2,593.0 308.8 Total 82,488.5 81,905.1 82,068.7 82,760.0 80,212.9 Combined Asset Type    Equity 65,313.4 63,426.1 61,560.8 59,136.9 59,192.9 Fixed Income 150,220.6 146,599.1 143,770.4 143,086.4 141,832.9 Real Estate 3,611.3 3,588.1 3,905.2 4,461.0 5,313.4 Money Market 2,959.5 3,386.9 3,663.2 4,321.7 2,043.0 Total 222,104.8 217,000.2 212,899.6 211,006.0 208,382.2

Annuities

Voya Financial    Page 25 of 57 Annuities Sources of Operating Earnings and Key Metrics    Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Sources of operating earnings before income taxes:    Investment spread and other investment income 124.2 123.7 123.7 144.8 129.2 371.6 376.0 Fee based margin 20.2 19.1 18.4 17.5 17.1 57.7 49.4 Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue 3.9 4.3 5.8 4.2 — 14.0 8.9 Administrative expenses (28.6) (30.0) (34.0) (25.7) (26.8) (92.6) (81.2) Trail commissions (13.0) (14.1) (13.5) (15.2) (12.5) (40.6) (36.9) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization, excluding    unlocking (45.4) (43.8) (44.4) (54.8) (50.1) (133.6) (158.4) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking 13.1 6.6 7.5 13.8 56.4 27.2 78.8 Operating earnings before income taxes (2) 74.4 65.8 63.5 84.6 113.3 203.7 236.6 Gross investment income    Fixed income 239.6 238.2 238.4 246.9 248.2 716.2 753.2 Limited partnership income 3.5 4.1 1.0 4.6 1.1 8.6 (2.5) Prepayment fee income 4.7 5.9 3.5 16.5 15.0 14.1 36.6 Total gross investment income 247.8 248.2 242.9 268.0 264.3 738.9 787.3 Investment expenses (12.4) (11.3) (11.5) (12.3) (11.6) (35.2) (34.1) Credited interest (132.2) (133.1) (132.2) (132.9) (138.1) (397.5) (416.0) Net margin 103.2 103.8 99.2 122.8 114.6 306.2 337.2 Other investment income (1) 21.0 19.9 24.5 22.0 14.6 65.4 38.8 Investment spread and other investment income 124.2 123.7 123.7 144.8 129.2 371.6 376.0 Assets Under Management by Fund Group    General account 21,998.4 22,062.5 21,991.1 21,888.0 21,792.2 21,998.4 21,792.2 Separate account 875.0 842.0 819.4 781.5 773.8 875.0 773.8 Mutual funds 5,760.6 5,525.1 5,329.7 5,056.4 4,951.1 5,760.6 4,951.1 Total AUM 28,634.0 28,429.6 28,140.2 27,725.9 27,517.1 28,634.0 27,517.1 (1) Includes investment income on assets backing surplus that has been allocated from the corporate segment and income from policy loans.    (2) The three months ended 12/31/16 include $5.1 million of net investment income, $(1.7) million of DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization, and $1.1 million of DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking from Lehman Recovery.

Voya Financial    Page 26 of 57 Annuities AUM Rollforward by Product Group    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Annual Reset Annuities/Multi-Year Guaranteed Annuities (AR/MYGA)    Assets Under Management, beginning of period 4,804.8 4,872.9 4,950.1 5,033.7 5,142.4 4,950.1 5,372.5 Deposits 7.2 8.2 6.5 5.7 7.5 21.9 24.6 Surrenders, benefits, and product charges (112.0) (115.7) (124.2) (130.5) (158.4) (351.9) (492.8) Net cash flow (104.8) (107.5) (117.7) (124.8) (150.9) (330.0) (468.2) Interest credited and investment performance 38.8 39.4 40.5 41.2 42.2 118.7 129.4 AR/MYGA, end of period 4,738.8 4,804.8 4,872.9 4,950.1 5,033.7 4,738.8 5,033.7 Fixed Indexed Annuities (FIA)    Assets Under Management, beginning of period 14,755.3 14,603.7 14,409.7 14,224.6 14,163.2 14,409.7 13,901.7 Deposits 296.1 435.4 458.0 467.1 353.0 1,189.5 1,351.3 Surrenders, benefits, and product charges (383.0) (396.0) (378.1) (351.1) (361.7) (1,157.1) (1,114.3) Net cash flow (86.9) 39.4 79.9 116.0 (8.7) 32.4 237.0 Interest credited and investment performance 103.0 112.2 114.1 69.1 70.1 329.3 85.9 FIA, end of period 14,771.4 14,755.3 14,603.7 14,409.7 14,224.6 14,771.4 14,224.6 Single Premium Immediate Annuity (SPIA) & Payout    Assets Under Management, beginning of period 2,808.5 2,818.0 2,822.8 2,832.9 2,832.3 2,822.8 2,822.8 Deposits 38.8 45.1 52.0 54.5 55.0 135.9 192.0 Surrenders, benefits, and product charges (91.7) (99.1) (101.3) (100.1) (101.6) (292.1) (299.1) Net cash flow (52.9) (54.0) (49.3) (45.6) (46.6) (156.2) (107.1) Interest credited and investment performance 39.2 44.5 44.5 35.5 47.2 128.2 117.2 SPIA and Payout, end of period 2,794.8 2,808.5 2,818.0 2,822.8 2,832.9 2,794.8 2,832.9 Investment-only products (1)    Assets Under Management, beginning of period 5,649.6 5,440.6 5,151.4 5,030.9 4,809.7 5,151.4 4,536.0 Deposits 275.6 301.0 290.3 283.9 276.8 866.9 779.7 Surrenders, benefits, and product charges (188.4) (238.9) (238.9) (194.0) (196.3) (666.2) (544.8) Net cash flow 87.2 62.1 51.4 89.9 80.5 200.7 234.9 Interest credited and investment performance 175.8 146.9 237.8 30.6 140.7 560.5 260.0 Investment-only Products, end of period 5,912.6 5,649.6 5,440.6 5,151.4 5,030.9 5,912.6 5,030.9 Other Annuities    Assets Under Management, beginning of period 411.4 405.0 391.9 395.0 390.0 391.9 403.0 Deposits 0.4 1.1 1.2 0.5 0.6 2.7 2.5 Surrenders, benefits, and product charges (8.0) (7.8) (10.9) (11.9) (10.3) (26.7) (29.8) Net cash flow (7.6) (6.7) (9.7) (11.4) (9.7) (24.0) (27.3) Interest credited and investment performance 12.6 13.1 22.8 8.3 14.7 48.5 19.3 Other Annuities, end of period 416.4 411.4 405.0 391.9 395.0 416.4 395.0 Annuities—Total AUM    Assets Under Management, beginning of period 28,429.6 28,140.2 27,725.9 27,517.1 27,337.6 27,725.9 27,035.8 Deposits 618.1 790.8 808.0 811.7 692.9 2,217.0 2,350.4 Surrenders, benefits, and product charges (783.1) (857.5) (853.4) (787.6) (828.3) (2,494.0) (2,480.9) Net cash flow (165.0) (66.7) (45.4) 24.1 (135.4) (277.0) (130.5) Interest credited and investment performance 369.4 356.1 459.7 184.7 314.9 1,185.1 611.8 Annuities—Total AUM, end of period 28,634.0 28,429.6 28,140.2 27,725.9 27,517.1 28,634.0 27,517.1 (1) Includes Separate account and Mutual funds.

Individual Life

Voya Financial    Page 28 of 57 Individual Life Sources of Operating Earnings    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Sources of operating earnings before income taxes:    Investment spread and other investment income 66.3 59.9 59.2 72.7 59.1 185.4 175.5 Fee based margin 3.4 3.3 3.5 3.4 3.6 10.2 11.0 Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue 96.3 98.3 82.1 72.8 67.5 276.7 244.4 Administrative expenses (47.2) (49.5) (58.4) (56.2) (57.0) (155.1) (173.7) Trail commissions (4.5) (5.3) (6.8) (7.0) (6.5) (16.6) (20.7) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization, excluding    unlocking (37.4) (43.4) (40.0) (35.2) (20.8) (120.8) (87.3) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (143.1) (1.0) (7.9) (7.1) (122.1) (152.0) (134.0) Operating earnings before income taxes (2) (66.2) 62.3 31.7 43.4 (76.2) 27.8 15.2 Gross Investment Income    Fixed income 205.5 201.5 199.1 204.6 204.6 606.1 617.9 Limited partnership income 4.5 5.0 1.5 11.4 1.3 11.0 (0.2) Prepayment fee income 2.3 0.7 2.8 3.3 6.2 5.8 12.6 Total gross investment income 212.3 207.2 203.4 219.3 212.1 622.9 630.3 Investment expenses (6.3) (6.6) (6.6) (7.5) (7.4) (19.5) (20.7) Credited interest (149.9) (149.9) (149.7) (150.4) (153.1) (449.5) (453.6) Net margin 56.1 50.7 47.1 61.4 51.6 153.9 156.0 Other investment income (1) 10.2 9.2 12.1 11.3 7.5 31.5 19.5 Investment spread and other investment income 66.3 59.9 59.2 72.7 59.1 185.4 175.5 Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue    Fee revenue / Premiums 428.7 427.4 430.1 429.9 423.6 1,286.2 1,274.6 Net mortality, including Reinsurance (310.3) (296.3) (331.2) (319.6) (312.7) (937.8) (926.8) Reserve change / Other (22.1) (32.8) (16.8) (37.5) (43.4) (71.7) (103.4) Total net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue 96.3 98.3 82.1 72.8 67.5 276.7 244.4 (1) Includes investment income on assets backing surplus that has been allocated from the corporate segment and income from policy loans. (2) The three months ended 12/31/16 include $9.1 million of net investment income, $(3.5) million of DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization, and $2.4 million of DAC/ VOBA and other intangibles unlocking from Lehman Recovery.

Voya Financial    Page 29 of 57 Individual Life Key Metrics                Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Sales by Product Line:    Indexed 16.3 16.9 20.7 19.8 19.7 53.9 60.1 Accumulation 0.7 0.7 1.1 1.0 0.9 2.5 4.0 Guaranteed 0.1 0.1 0.1 — — 0.3 0.1 Total Universal life 17.1 17.7 21.9 20.8 20.6 56.7 64.2 Variable life 0.7 0.8 1.2 1.2 0.7 2.7 2.5 Term (0.1) (0.1) 1.9 2.6 2.6 1.7 9.1 Whole life — — — — — — — Total sales by product line 17.7 18.4 25.0 24.6 23.9 61.1 75.8 Gross Premiums and Deposits by Product (1)    Interest sensitive 304.9 318.6 310.7 327.8 302.0 934.2 907.1 Non—interest sensitive 136.0 134.3 136.6 140.3 140.6 406.9 423.1 Total gross premiums and deposits 440.9 452.9 447.3 468.1 442.6 1,341.1 1,330.2 Applications    New business policy count (Paid) 1,144 1,235 3,045 3,378 3,526 5,424 11,746 End of Period:    In-Force Face Amount by Product (1)    Universal life 80,657 80,383 80,108 79,559 79,443 80,657 79,443 Variable life 22,110 22,381 22,681 23,061 23,430 22,110 23,430 Term 228,384 233,358 238,409 242,608 246,453 228,384 246,453 Whole life 1,782 1,797 1,806 1,842 1,871 1,782 1,871 Total in-force face amount 332,933 337,919 343,004 347,070 351,197 332,933 351,197 In-Force Policy Count (in whole numbers) (1)    Universal life 251,379 253,596 256,269 258,413 260,777 251,379 260,777 Variable life 52,656 53,383 54,182 55,048 55,776 52,656 55,776 Term 429,667 439,629 448,250 455,548 462,001 429,667 462,001 Whole life 112,088 113,272 115,886 117,348 118,913 112,088 118,913 Total in-force policy count 845,790 859,880 874,587 886,357 897,467 845,790 897,467 Assets Under Management by Fund Group (1)    General account 12,769.6 12,761.2 12,715.0 12,688.5 12,663.1 12,769.6 12,663.1 Separate account 2,723.7 2,656.9 2,625.7 2,532.9 2,529.9 2,723.7 2,529.9 Total AUM 15,493.3 15,418.1 15,340.7 15,221.4 15,193.0 15,493.3 15,193.0 (1) Excludes amounts transferred to third parties through reinsurance transactions.

Employee Benefits

Voya Financial    Page 31 of 57 Employee Benefits Sources of Operating Earnings    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Sources of operating earnings before income taxes:    Investment spread and other investment income 13.5 12.5 11.7 15.4 13.5 37.7 36.2 Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue 127.8 101.0 91.8 92.0 105.7 320.6 303.8 Administrative expenses (48.7) (51.0) (54.5) (46.7) (46.6) (154.2) (147.1) Trail commissions (32.1) (32.3) (35.4) (26.4) (29.0) (99.8) (85.2) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization, excluding unlocking (1.9) (2.2) (2.5) (2.4) (2.1) (6.6) (9.3) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (0.6) (1.0) (0.5) — (0.2) (2.1) (4.0) Operating earnings before income taxes (2) 58.0 27.0 10.6 31.9 41.3 95.6 94.4 Gross Investment Income    Fixed income 23.8 23.5 22.5 24.4 25.0 69.8 74.2 Limited partnership income 0.3 0.3 0.1 0.9 0.1 0.7 (0.3) Prepayment fee income 0.9 0.6 0.4 1.6 1.3 1.9 2.8 Total gross investment income 25.0 24.4 23.0 26.9 26.4 72.4 76.7 Investment expenses (0.8) (0.8) (1.0) (1.0) (0.9) (2.6) (2.5) Credited interest (14.4) (14.6) (14.8) (14.7) (14.7) (43.8) (44.9) Net margin 9.8 9.0 7.2 11.2 10.8 26.0 29.3 Other investment income 3.7 3.5 4.5 4.2 2.7 11.7 6.9 Investment spread and other investment income 13.5 12.5 11.7 15.4 13.5 37.7 36.2 Group life    Premiums 117.6 116.0 115.2 122.2 119.2 348.8 362.2 Benefits (87.5) (81.8) (95.8) (89.7) (92.9) (265.1) (284.4) Other (1) (2.3) (2.2) (2.0) (2.2) (2.4) (6.5) (6.7) Total 27.8 32.0 17.4 30.3 23.9 77.2 71.1 Loss Ratio (Interest adjusted) 74.4% 70.5% 83.2% 73.4% 77.9% 76.0% 78.5% Group stop loss    Premiums 241.0 238.1 241.0 211.3 207.5 720.1 623.3 Benefits (194.2) (203.7) (195.2) (173.5) (165.0) (593.1) (481.1) Other (1) (0.9) (0.9) (1.0) (0.8) (0.8) (2.8) (2.4) Total 45.9 33.5 44.8 37.0 41.7 124.2 139.8 Loss Ratio 80.6% 85.6% 81.0% 82.1% 79.5% 82.4% 77.2% Voluntary Benefits, Disability, and Other 53.9 35.5 29.6 24.6 40.0 119.0 92.7 Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue 127.8 101.0 91.8 92.0 105.7 320.6 303.8 (1) Includes service fees, dividends, interest expenses, and other miscellaneous expenses. The Loss Ratio calculation does not include Other.    (2) The three months ended 12/31/16 include $1.0 million of net investment income from Lehman Recovery.

Voya Financial    Page 32 of 57 Employee Benefits Key Metrics    Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Sales by Product Line:    Group life (Basic / Sup / AD&D) 6.6 11.3 29.8 5.1 8.1 47.7 56.1 Group stop loss 18.8 12.3 248.0 22.5 32.1 279.1 214.1 Disability 3.3 2.2 16.2 3.7 4.8 21.7 28.8 Association (Life, DI, PAI) 0.7 — 0.7 2.7 — 1.4 — Other (PAI) 3.8 — 0.1 0.1 — 3.9 0.2 Total group products 33.2 25.8 294.8 34.1 45.0 353.8 299.2 Voluntary products 5.3 10.1 45.6 8.9 9.4 61.0 47.5 Total sales by product line 38.5 35.9 340.4 43.0 54.4 414.8 346.7 Total gross premiums and deposits 455.9 451.9 458.0 413.7 412.0 1,365.8 1,229.3 Total annualized in-force premiums 1,872.9 1,874.1 1,887.9 1,713.9 1,699.0 1,872.9 1,699.0 Assets Under Management by Fund Group    General account 1,860.1 1,848.8 1,786.4 1,776.2 1,800.9 1,860.1 1,800.9 Separate account 15.2 15.1 15.3 14.9 14.7 15.2 14.7 Total AUM 1,875.3 1,863.9 1,801.7 1,791.1 1,815.6 1,875.3 1,815.6

Corporate

Voya Financial    Page 34 of 57 Corporate Operating Earnings    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Interest expense (including interest rate swap settlements) (48.1) (48.9) (48.1) (47.5) (47.6) (145.1) (145.3) Amortization of intangibles (8.8) (9.6) (8.2) (8.9) (8.9) (26.6) (27.1) Strategic investment program (1) (21.1) (23.0) (19.8) (23.9) (28.9) (63.9) (93.5) Other (10.6) (7.3) 4.0 (23.1) 1.0 (13.9) 19.9 Operating earnings before income taxes (2) (88.6) (88.8) (72.1) (103.4) (84.4) (249.5) (246.0) (1) In 2015, we announced that we would incur an incremental $350.0 million of expenses through 2018 for IT simplification, digital and analytics and cross-enterprise initiatives (“Strategic Investment Program”).    (2) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.

Closed Block Variable Annuity

Voya Financial    Page 36 of 57 Closed Block Variable Annuity Income (Loss) Before Income Taxes    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Revenues    Net investment income 77.3 79.4 79.4 76.8 72.0 236.1 208.7 Fee income 204.2 212.7 238.8 244.8 252.4 655.7 747.1 Premiums 43.3 46.7 51.2 316.0 166.6 141.2 371.0 Net realized gains (losses) (107.4) (185.3) (426.5) (428.5) (219.8) (719.2) (243.2) Other revenues and premiums 0.5 0.5 1.0 0.4 0.5 2.0 3.1 Total revenues 217.9 154.0 (56.1) 209.5 271.7 315.8 1,086.7 Benefits and expenses    Interest credited and other benefits to contract    owners/policyholders (5.4) (102.2) (237.9) (740.1) (497.9) (345.5) (988.4) Operating expenses and interest expense (63.6) (71.5) (95.1) (97.6) (98.0) (230.2) (295.0) Net amortization of DAC/VOBA (7.1) (8.3) 2.0 (101.3) (3.8) (13.4) (28.8) Total benefits and expenses (76.1) (182.0) (331.0) (939.0) (599.7) (589.1) (1,312.2) Income (loss) before income taxes 141.8 (28.0) (387.1) (729.5) (328.0) (273.3) (225.5) The following table presents notable items that result in    volatility in income (loss) before income taxes:    Net gains (losses) related to incurred guaranteed    benefits and Variable Annuity Hedge Program,    excluding nonperformance risk (1) (12.2) (158.1) (454.3) (152.9) (400.6) (624.6) (1,348.8) Gain (loss) due to nonperformance risk (1) (12.5) (57.9) (133.7) (443.7) (123.3) (204.1) 519.1 Net investment gains (losses) (1) 2.0 4.6 (6.6) — 2.5 — 19.5 DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking and loss    recognition (2) 1.1 0.1 13.3 (109.7) 9.4 14.5 6.7 (1) Excludes net amortization of DAC/VOBA and other intangibles.    (2) During the period ended December 31, 2016, we recorded loss recognition in our CBVA segment of $321.0 million before income taxes, of which $103.8 million is included in DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking.

Voya Financial    Page 37 of 57 Closed Block Variable Annuity Death and Living Benefits and AUM    Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Death and living benefits-account value    GMWBL/GMWB/GMAB 14,391 14,378 14,404 14,174 14,507 14,391 14,507 GMIB 8,678 9,122 9,182 10,120 10,864 8,678 10,864 No living benefits 8,708 8,689 8,725 8,618 8,780 8,708 8,780 Total (1) 31,777 32,189 32,311 32,912 34,151 31,777 34,151 Net Amount at Risk (NAR), after reinsurance    Total DB NAR 4,446 4,718 4,876 5,563 5,664 4,446 5,664 LB NAR    GMWBL/GMWB/GMAB(2) 1,728 2,008 2,005 2,225 3,234 1,728 3,234 GMIB (2) 2,152 2,406 2,452 2,946 3,662 2,152 3,662 Total LB NAR 3,880 4,414 4,457 5,171 6,896 3,880 6,896 Nonperformance Risk Adjustment (3) (572) (585) (643) (776) (1,220) (572) (1,220) Products in accumulation phase    Balance as of beginning of period 32,240.5 32,363.5 32,962.4 34,200.4 34,227.9 32,962.4 35,575.8 Deposits 12.7 16.1 20.5 16.0 15.5 49.3 65.1 Surrenders, benefits, and product charges (1,273.6) (939.5) (2,051.6) (1,407.2) (1,099.2) (4,264.7) (2,905.3) Net cash flow (1,260.9) (923.4) (2,031.1) (1,391.2) (1,083.7) (4,215.4) (2,840.2) Interest credited and investment performance 850.2 800.4 1,432.2 153.2 1,056.2 3,082.8 1,464.8 Balance as of end of period 31,829.8 32,240.5 32,363.5 32,962.4 34,200.4 31,829.8 34,200.4 End of period contracts in payout status 5,181.2 5,112.0 5,061.0 4,780.5 3,892.4 5,181.2 3,892.4 Total balance as of end of period (4) 37,011.0 37,352.5 37,424.5 37,742.9 38,092.8 37,011.0 38,092.8 Assets under management by fund group    General account 5,588.6 5,518.4 5,481.9 5,207.6 4,334.2 5,588.6 4,334.2 Separate account 31,422.4 31,834.1 31,942.6 32,535.3 33,758.6 31,422.4 33,758.6 Total AUM (4) 37,011.0 37,352.5 37,424.5 37,742.9 38,092.8 37,011.0 38,092.8 (1) Excludes assets associated with Payout Reserves, Policy Loans, and Life Insurance Business.    (2) GMIB and GMWBL values represent discounted net amount at risk.    (3) Represents reduction to liabilities for the GMWBL, GMWB, and GMAB embedded derivatives.    (4) Includes products in accumulation and payout phase, Policy Loans, and Life Insurance Business

Investment Information

Voya Financial    Page 39 of 57 Portfolio Composition                Balances as of    (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 Composition of Investment Portfolio Amount % of Total Amount % of Total Amount % of Total Amount % of Total Amount % of Total Fixed maturities, available for sale, at fair value, after consolidation 70,380.4 73.6% 70,239.0 74.8% 69,139.2 74.8% 69,468.7 75.0% 72,644.1 74.6% Fixed maturities, at fair value using the fair value option 3,727.6 3.9% 3,774.9 4.0% 3,678.9 4.0% 3,712.3 4.0% 3,903.5 4.0% Equity securities, available for sale, before consolidation 420.0 N/M 304.0 N/M 297.6 N/M 274.2 N/M 396.5 N/M VOE Adjustments — N/M — N/M — N/M — N/M (111.2) N/M Equity securities, available for sale, at fair value 420.0 0.4% 304.0 0.3% 297.6 0.3% 274.2 0.3% 285.3 0.3% Short-term investments 713.2 0.7% 533.6 0.6% 578.2 0.6% 821.0 0.9% 1,346.8 1.4% Mortgage loans on real estate 12,744.5 13.3% 12,689.7 13.5% 12,385.8 13.4% 11,725.2 12.7% 11,475.7 11.8% Policy loans 1,915.9 2.0% 1,906.0 2.0% 1,934.9 2.1% 1,961.5 2.1% 1,995.6 2.0% Limited partnerships/corporations, before consolidation 1,438.5 N/M 1,386.4 N/M 1,313.4 N/M 1,235.4 N/M 1,191.1 N/M CLO/VOEs Adjustments (1) (490.8) N/M (456.9) N/M (486.7) N/M (476.8) N/M (492.3) N/M Limited partnerships/corporations, after consolidation 947.7 1.0% 929.5 1.0% 826.7 0.9% 758.6 0.8% 698.8 0.7% Derivatives 1,564.3 1.6% 1,396.6 1.5% 1,303.5 1.4% 1,712.4 1.8% 2,731.4 2.8% Other investments 79.5 0.1% 54.0 0.1% 43.3 0.1% 47.4 0.1% 77.7 0.1% Securities pledged to creditors 3,248.5 3.4% 2,023.9 2.2% 2,187.3 2.4% 2,157.1 2.3% 2,193.5 2.3% Total investments, after consolidation 95,741.6 100.0% 93,851.2 100.0% 92,375.4 100.0% 92,638.4 100.0% 97,352.4 100.0% Fixed Maturity Securities—Security Sector (2)                U.S. Government agencies and authorities 3,800.2 4.9% 3,885.0 5.1% 3,913.3 5.2% 4,188.3 5.5% 4,191.9 5.3% U.S. Corporate—Public 33,508.1 43.4% 33,448.2 44.0% 33,426.4 44.6% 33,691.7 44.7% 35,601.3 45.2% U.S. Corporate—Private 8,747.4 11.3% 8,501.3 11.2% 8,062.2 10.8% 7,808.0 10.4% 7,684.9 9.8% Foreign Government / Agency 1,138.3 1.5% 1,148.2 1.5% 1,068.5 1.4% 1,023.8 1.4% 1,043.1 1.3% Foreign Corporate—Public 7,321.1 9.4% 7,223.7 9.5% 7,196.5 9.6% 7,055.6 9.4% 7,378.7 9.4% Foreign Corporate—Private 8,259.0 10.7% 7,772.1 10.2% 7,832.7 10.4% 7,785.8 10.3% 7,907.3 10.1% State, municipalities and political subdivisions 2,472.4 3.2% 2,392.4 3.1% 2,294.1 3.1% 2,135.6 2.8% 2,126.1 2.7% Residential mortgaged-backed securities:                CMO-B Agency 3,119.1 3.9% 3,211.0 4.2% 3,174.1 4.3% 3,247.2 4.3% 3,489.6 4.4% CMO-B Non-Agency 1,161.2 1.5% 1,031.7 1.4% 780.7 1.0% 729.5 1.0% 769.8 1.0% Agency 1,680.4 2.2% 1,794.8 2.4% 2,191.0 2.9% 2,321.6 3.1% 2,669.0 3.4% Non-Agency (3) 974.4 1.3% 851.9 1.1% 749.7 1.0% 786.0 1.0% 952.7 1.2% Total Residential mortgage-backed securities 6,935.1 8.9% 6,889.4 9.1% 6,895.5 9.2% 7,084.3 9.4% 7,881.1 10.0% Commercial mortgage-backed securities 3,556.4 4.6% 3,308.7 4.4% 3,105.7 4.1% 3,358.9 4.5% 4,023.9 5.1% Other asset-backed securities (3) 1,618.5 2.1% 1,468.8 1.9% 1,210.5 1.6% 1,206.1 1.6% 902.8 1.1% Total fixed maturities, including securities pledged (5) 77,356.5 100.0% 76,037.8 100.0% 75,005.4 100.0% 75,338.1 100.0% 78,741.1 100.0% Fixed Maturity Securities—Contractual Maturity Dates                Due to mature:                Due in one year or less 2,218.5 2.9% 2,205.0 2.9% 2,248.8 3.0% 2,513.7 3.3% 2,168.6 2.8% Due after one year through five years 13,803.9 17.8% 13,928.3 18.3% 14,171.8 18.9% 13,845.2 18.4% 14,325.3 18.2% Due after five years through ten years 18,715.4 24.2% 18,563.0 24.4% 18,335.9 24.4% 19,303.8 25.6% 20,135.4 25.6% Due after ten years 30,508.7 39.5% 29,674.6 39.0% 29,037.2 38.7% 28,026.1 37.2% 29,304.0 37.2% CMO-B 4,280.3 5.4% 4,242.7 5.6% 3,954.8 5.3% 3,976.7 5.3% 4,259.4 5.4% Mortgage-backed securities 6,211.2 8.1% 5,955.4 7.9% 6,046.4 8.1% 6,466.5 8.6% 7,645.6 9.7% Other asset-backed securities (3) 1,618.5 2.1% 1,468.8 1.9% 1,210.5 1.6% 1,206.1 1.6% 902.8 1.1% Total fixed maturities, including securities pledged (5) 77,356.5 100.0% 76,037.8 100.0% 75,005.4 100.0% 75,338.1 100.0% 78,741.1 100.0% Fixed Maturity Securities—NAIC Quality Designation                1 44,057.4 56.9% 43,760.4 57.6% 43,560.5 58.1% 44,387.7 58.9% 46,271.2 58.8% 2 29,711.3 38.4% 28,883.4 38.0% 28,036.7 37.4% 27,469.2 36.5% 28,679.0 36.4% 3 2,834.9 3.7% 2,621.7 3.4% 2,683.0 3.5% 2,699.1 3.6% 2,914.1 3.7% 4 545.4 0.7% 558.0 0.7% 513.0 0.7% 501.5 0.7% 594.6 0.7% 5 73.1 0.1% 70.0 0.1% 67.6 0.1% 101.5 0.1% 68.8 0.1% 6 134.4 0.2% 144.3 0.2% 144.6 0.2% 179.1 0.2% 213.4 0.3% Total fixed maturities, including securities pledged (4) (5) 77,356.5 100.0% 76,037.8 100.0% 75,005.4 100.0% 75,338.1 100.0% 78,741.1 100.0% Fixed Maturity Securities—ARO Quality Rating                AAA 13,829.7 17.9% 13,840.6 18.2% 13,981.4 18.6% 14,394.8 19.1% 14,961.3 19.0% AA 5,225.1 6.8% 5,199.2 6.8% 5,374.8 7.2% 5,359.4 7.1% 5,726.4 7.3% A 23,285.5 30.1% 23,119.3 30.4% 22,593.7 30.1% 22,902.4 30.4% 23,705.5 30.1% BBB 30,106.8 38.9% 29,011.7 38.2% 28,434.7 37.9% 27,926.5 37.1% 29,210.9 37.1% BB 2,984.0 3.8% 2,828.5 3.7% 2,849.2 3.8% 2,880.1 3.8% 3,099.0 3.9% B and below 1,925.4 2.5% 2,038.5 2.7% 1,771.6 2.4% 1,874.9 2.5% 2,038.0 2.6% Total fixed maturities, including securities pledged (5) 77,356.5 100.0% 76,037.8 100.0% 75,005.4 100.0% 75,338.1 100.0% 78,741.1 100.0% (1) Adjustments include the elimination of intercompany transactions between the Company and its consolidated investment entities, primarily the elimination of the Company’s equity at risk recorded as investments by the Company (before consolidation) against either equity (private equity and real estate partnership funds) or senior and subordinated debt (CLOs) of the funds.                (2) Fixed Maturity Securities includes fixed maturities,available for sale , fixed maturities at fair value using the fair value option and securities pledged to creditors.    (3) Subprime asset-backed securities are included as a component of Non-Agency RMBS under this presentation.                (4) ARO ratings do not directly translate into NAIC ratings.                (5) Includes fixed maturities securities related to businesses exited through reinsurance where assets are retained on the Company’s balance sheet.

Voya Financial                Page 40 of 57 Portfolio Results                Three Months Ended    Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016    Net Net Net Net Net Net Net Operating investment income and Investment Annualized Investment Annualized Investment Annualized Investment Annualized Investment Annualized Investment Annualized Investment Annualized annualized yield (5) Income Yield Income Yield Income Yield Income Yield Income Yield Income Yield Income Yield Fixed maturity securities (1) 834.5 4.88% 827.0 4.84% 831.0 4.82% 842.4 4.89% 847.1 4.97% 2,492.5 4.85% 2,570.2 5.05 % Equity securities 2.0 2.43% 2.4 5.21% 9.7 22.59% 2.1 4.65% 5.3 10.14% 14.1 8.24% 14.2 8.95 % Mortgage loans 136.3 4.38% 135.8 4.41% 130.8 4.44% 127.7 4.51% 126.4 4.55% 402.9 4.41% 371.8 4.57 % Limited partnerships 44.0 13.35% 66.9 21.49% 40.6 13.29% 63.2 23.06% 16.2 5.71% 151.5 16.02% (26.0) (3.05)% Policy loans 24.6 5.26% 24.6 5.30% 24.7 5.23% 26.4 5.52% 25.7 5.29% 73.9 5.27% 77.8 5.32 % Short-term investments 2.5 0.25% 1.5 0.20% 2.5 0.34% 1.3 0.16% 0.6 0.07% 6.5 0.26% 3.8 0.12 % Derivatives (1) 14.0 N/A 13.3 N/A 7.5 N/A 12.5 N/A 10.6 N/A 34.8 N/A 31.6 N/A Prepayment fee income 14.6 0.06% 13.0 0.06% 13.2 0.06% 37.3 0.17% 40.6 0.18% 40.8 0.06% 100.4 0.15 % Other assets (2.3) N/A 2.2 N/A 7.7 N/A 6.8 N/A 4.0 N/A 7.6 N/A 6.0 N/A Gross investment income before expenses                and fees 1,070.2 4.84% 1,086.7 4.99% 1,067.7 4.90% 1,119.7 5.16% 1,076.5 4.99% 3,224.6 4.91% 3,149.8 4.87 % Expenses and fees (46.8) -0.22% (42.8) -0.20% (45.7) -0.21% (45.1) -0.21% (47.0) -0.22% (135.3) -0.21% (132.6) -0.21 % Total investment income and annualized                yield 1,023.4 4.62% 1,043.9 4.79% 1,022.0 4.69% 1,074.6 4.95% 1,029.5 4.77% 3,089.3 4.70% 3,017.2 4.66 % Less: Closed Block Variable Annuity (CBVA)                investment income net of expenses and                fees 77.3 79.4 79.4 76.8 72.0 236.1 208.7 Total investment income, excluding CBVA 946.1 964.5 942.6 997.8 957.5 2,853.2 2,808.5 Trading gains/losses (5)                Fixed maturities 12.7 21.4 (36.0) (10.6) 5.5 (1.9) (66.2) Equity securities (0.8) — — 0.8 — (0.8) 0.2 Mortgage loans (0.1) 0.8 — (0.1) (0.1) 0.7 0.2 Other investments 3.6 (0.6) (0.5) (0.3) (0.6) 2.5 (1.1) Total trading gains/losses, excluding CBVA 15.4 21.6 (36.5) (10.2) 4.8 0.5 (66.9) Impairments (5)                Fixed maturities (0.8) (1.4) (3.0) (13.9) (12.1) (5.2) (26.8) Equity securities — — — — — — — Mortgage loans — — — — — — — Other investments — — — — — — — Total impairments, excluding CBVA (0.8) (1.4) (3.0) (13.9) (12.1) (5.2) (26.8) Fair value adjustments (2) (15.0) 16.2 (24.4) (121.9) (6.7) (23.2) 92.5 Derivatives, including change in fair value                of derivatives related to guaranteed                benefits, excluding CBVA (74.6) 6.1 71.2 (55.3) (52.0) 2.7 (43.3) Net realized investment gains (losses) and                Net guaranteed benefit hedging gains                (losses), excluding CBVA (5) (75.0) 42.5 7.3 (201.3) (66.0) (25.2) (44.5) CBVA investment income and realized                capital gains (losses) (30.1) (105.9) (347.1) (351.7) (147.8) (483.1) (34.5) Businesses exited through reinsurance (3) 29.0 51.8 23.6 (59.4) 31.3 104.4 161.4 Consolidation/eliminations (4) (10.8) (4.3) 23.5 (2.1) 20.7 8.4 83.5 Total investment income and realized                capital gains (losses) 859.2 948.6 649.9 383.3 795.7 2,457.7 2,974.4 (1) Operating income from CMO-B portfolio assets, including derivatives, is included in fixed maturity securities.                (2) Fair value adjustments include adjustments related to CMO-B assets carried at fair value, among other income sources.                (3) Income related to reinsurance transactions, in which investment results are passed directly to the reinsurers pursuant to contracted terms of the reinsurance agreement.    (4) Includes i) the impact of consolidation of investment entities into the Consolidated Statements of Operations, net of the elimination of the Company’s management fees expensed by the funds and recorded as operating revenues (before consolidation) by the Company, ii) the elimination of intersegment expenses, primarily consisting of asset-based management and administration fees charged by our Investment Management Segment, iii) and other intersegment eliminations.    (5) Investment results related to businesses exited through reinsurance are excluded.

Voya Financial    Page 41 of 57 Alternative Investment Income    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Retirement    Average alternative investments 519.3 523.4 493.6 473.9 438.4 512.1 426.6 Alternative investment income 16.2 12.5 15.3 15.8 7.7 44.0 0.4 Investment Management    Average alternative investments 235.6 220.6 209.2 184.5 180.2 221.8 180.4 Alternative investment income (1) 5.0 35.2 8.7 8.5 4.1 48.9 (19.2) Annuities    Average alternative investments 306.6 303.3 283.5 274.1 263.5 297.8 259.9 Alternative investment income 10.6 9.0 7.9 8.8 4.8 27.5 (0.1) Individual Life    Average alternative investments 270.0 252.1 220.4 206.6 191.2 247.5 182.1 Alternative investment income 8.1 7.5 5.0 7.2 3.4 20.6 0.9 Employee Benefits    Average alternative investments 48.9 50.3 46.4 42.0 42.5 48.5 41.6 Alternative investment income 1.6 1.3 1.5 1.5 0.8 4.4 0.2 Corporate    Average alternative investments — 1.6 1.6 2.1 5.7 1.1 6.9 Alternative investment income — — — — — — — Total Consolidated (2)(3)    Average alternative investments 1,380.4 1,351.3 1,254.7 1,183.2 1,121.5 1,328.8 1,097.5 Alternative investment income 41.5 65.5 38.4 41.8 20.8 145.4 (17.8) (1) Includes performance fees related to sponsored private equity funds (“carried interest”) that are subject to later reversal based on subsequent fund performance, to the extent that cumulative rates of investment return fall below specified investment hurdle rates. Should the market value of a portfolio increase in future periods, reversals of carried interest could be fully or partially recovered. For the nine months ended September 30, 2017, our carried interest net results included the recovery (gain) of $26.4 million of carried interest reversed in prior periods. This includes $2.0 million net reduction (loss) related to the three months ended September 30,2017. For the nine months ended September 30, 2016, our carried interest net results included the reversal (loss) of approximately $30.2 million, in previously accrued carried interest.    (2) Our Closed Block Variable Annuity segment is managed to focus on protecting regulatory and rating agency capital rather than achieving operating metrics and, therefore, its results of operations are not reflected within investment income.    (3) The investment income on alternative investments shown above excludes the net investment income from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC.

Reconciliations

Voya Financial    Page 43 of 57 Reconciliation of Consolidated Statements of Operations    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Revenues    Net investment income 1,104.3 1,142.4 1,155.5 1,188.1 1,163.4 3,402.2 3,432.7 Fee income 880.0 838.2 850.8 849.4 857.9 2,569.0 2,510.4 Premiums 581.6 577.1 591.6 1,109.5 726.7 1,750.3 2,405.1 Net realized capital gains (losses) (245.1) (193.8) (505.6) (804.8) (367.7) (944.5) (458.3) Income (loss) related to consolidated investment entities 139.6 128.7 27.3 103.0 57.7 295.6 86.0 Other revenues 89.8 96.2 93.8 103.2 90.5 279.8 257.9 Total revenues 2,550.2 2,588.8 2,213.4 2,548.4 2,528.5 7,352.4 8,233.8 Benefits and expenses    Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/policyholders (1,275.7) (1,357.3) (1,478.0) (2,181.2) (1,906.9) (4,111.0) (5,332.3) Operating expenses (731.2) (691.7) (738.8) (777.1) (723.6) (2,161.7) (2,160.2) Net amortization of DAC/VOBA (236.5) (234.2) (92.7) (169.8) (180.7) (563.4) (381.2) Interest expense (49.2) (44.6) (45.9) (45.2) (45.4) (139.7) (242.8) Operating expenses related to consolidated investment entities (19.5) (29.9) (17.4) (27.0) (27.8) (66.8) (78.8) Total benefits and expenses (2,312.1) (2,357.7) (2,372.8) (3,200.3) (2,884.4) (7,042.6) (8,195.3) Income (loss) before income taxes 238.1 231.1 (159.4) (651.9) (355.9) 309.8 38.5 Income tax (expense) benefit (24.1) (11.9) 17.0 161.4 119.4 (19.0) 53.3 Net income (loss) 214.0 219.2 (142.4) (490.5) (236.5) 290.8 91.8 Less:    Income tax (expense) benefit (24.1) (11.9) 17.0 161.4 119.4 (19.0) 53.3 Closed Block Variable Annuity 141.8 (28.0) (387.1) (729.5) (328.0) (273.3) (225.5) Net investment gains (losses) and related charges and adjustments (14.6) 3.4 (26.3) 9.8 (65.6) (37.5) (150.7) Net guaranteed benefit hedging gains (losses) and related charges    and adjustments (31.0) 24.9 41.5 (142.9) (53.5) 35.4 61.2 Income (loss) related to businesses exited through reinsurance or (1.8    divestment ) 0.8 (5.3) (16.9) 1.3 (6.3) 3.4 Income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interests 65.4 52.0 1.1 42.5 11.6 118.5 (13.2) Income (loss) on early extinguishment of debt (3.2) — (0.7) — (0.1) (3.9) (104.2) Immediate recognition of net actuarial gains (losses) related to    pension and other postretirement benefit obligations and gains    (losses) from plan amendments and curtailments 0.5 — — (48.1) (7.1) 0.5 (7.1) Other adjustments to operating earnings (1) (56.9) (6.1) (13.7) (30.8) (22.9) (76.7) (38.7) Operating earnings before income taxes 137.9 184.1 231.1 264.0 108.4 553.1 513.3 (1) Includes restructuring expenses (severance, lease write-offs, etc.) and expenses associated with the rebranding of Voya Financial, Inc. from ING U.S., Inc.

Voya Financial    Page 44 of 57 Reconciliation of Operating Revenues by Segment    Three Months Ended Year-to-Date (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Operating revenues    Retirement 634.2 629.8 625.2 923.2 673.8 1,889.2 2,333.8 Investment Management 171.0 203.3 171.4 189.1 163.0 545.7 437.6 Annuities 302.5 298.1 301.4 321.0 310.6 902.0 932.7 Individual Life 668.9 628.6 630.0 640.9 637.7 1,927.5 1,886.6 Employee Benefits 446.6 442.9 446.2 410.0 405.9 1,335.7 1,206.4 Corporate 16.2 14.4 14.4 21.6 24.9 45.0 86.5 Total operating revenues 2,239.4 2,217.1 2,188.6 2,505.8 2,215.9 6,645.1 6,883.6 Adjustments    Closed Block Variable Annuity 217.9 154.0 (56.1) 209.5 271.7 315.8 1,086.7 Net realized investment gains (losses) and related    charges and adjustments (20.9) (1.2) (39.1) (5.0) (12.8) (61.2) (160.1) Gain (loss) on change in fair value of derivatives    related to guaranteed benefits (49.8) 43.2 46.4 (196.4) (51.1) 39.8 114.6 Revenues (losses) related to business exited through    reinsurance or divestment 26.6 48.4 20.4 (61.0) 32.3 95.4 156.9 Revenues (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interests 84.9 81.8 18.5 67.8 39.3 185.2 65.3 Other adjustments to operating revenues (1) 52.1 45.5 34.7 27.7 33.2 132.3 86.8 Total revenue 2,550.2 2,588.8 2,213.4 2,548.4 2,528.5 7,352.4 8,233.8 (1) Includes fee income earned by the Company’s broker-dealers for sales of non-proprietary products, which are reflected net of commission expense in the Company’s segments’ operating revenues, other items where the income is passed on to third parties and the elimination of intercompany investment expenses included in operating revenues.

Voya Financial    Page 45 of 57 Reconciliation of Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Earnings to Net Income (Loss)                Three Months Ended Twelve Months Ended (in millions USD) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 Net Income (loss) 214.0 219.2 (236.5) (199.7) (650.2) (733.4) (398.7) (68.6) Less: Net income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling    interest 65.4 52.0 11.6 161.0 107.2 29.7 29.3 (66.8) Net Income (loss) available to Voya Financial, Inc.‘s    common shareholders 148.6 167.2 (248.1) (360.7) (757.4) (763.1) (428.0) (1.8) Less: Adjustments to operating earnings    Closed Block Variable Annuity 141.8 (28.0) (328.0) (1,002.8) (1,472.6) (1,388.1) (955.0) (542.8) Net Investment gains (losses) and related charges and    adjustments (14.6) 3.4 (65.6) (27.7) (78.7) (106.8) (140.9) (210.4) Other adjustments (92.4) 19.6 (82.3) (289.7) (279.6) (387.5) (324.1) (186.5) Total Adjustments to operating earnings before tax effect 34.8 (5.0) (475.9) (1,320.2) (1,830.9) (1,882.4) (1,420.0) (939.7) Income taxes on adjustments to operating earnings (1) (12.2) 1.8 166.6 462.1 640.9 658.9 497.0 328.9 Total Adjustments to operating earnings, after tax(1) 22.6 (3.2) (309.3) (858.1) (1,190.0) (1,223.5) (923.0) (610.8) Less: Difference between actual tax (expense) benefit    and assumed tax rate 32.2 45.2 (12.5) (58.2) (102.9) (109.8) (33.6) 63.8 Operating earnings, after-tax (1) 93.8 125.2 73.7 555.6 535.5 570.2 528.6 545.2 Less: Income taxes (1) (44.1) (58.9) (34.7) (261.5) (252.1) (268.4) (248.7) (256.5) Total operating earnings before income taxes 137.9 184.1 108.4 817.1 787.6 838.6 777.3 801.7 Less: Corporate (88.6) (88.8) (84.4) (352.9) (348.7) (352.3) (349.4) (326.1) Operating earnings before income taxes for Ongoing    Business 226.5 272.9 192.8 1,170.0 1,136.3 1,190.9 1,126.7 1,127.8    — Less: DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (2) (174.4) (109.0) (140.0) (271.7) (237.3) (108.7) (121.6) (92.9) Less: Other Operating Adjustments (3) — — 2.6 17.8 20.4 20.4 20.4 2.6 Ongoing Business adjusted operating earnings before    income taxes 400.9 381.9 330.2 1,423.9 1,353.2 1,279.2 1,227.9 1,218.1 (1) Assumes a 32% tax rate on operating earnings and all components of operating earnings described as “after-tax.” A 35% tax rate is applied to all non-operating items. The 32% tax rate for operating earnings and components reflects the estimated benefit of the dividend received deduction related to Ongoing Business.    (2) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking excludes unlocking on net investment income from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC.    (3) See page 3 for a description of the Other Operating Adjustments.

Voya Financial Page 46 of 57 Reconciliation of Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Earnings to Net Income (Loss)    Twelve Months Ended (in millions USD) 12/31/2015 12/31/2014 12/31/2013 12/31/2012 Net Income (loss) 538.6 2,532.7 788.6 628.2 Less: Net income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interest 130.3 237.7 190.1 138.2 Net Income (loss) available to Voya Financial, Inc.‘s common    shareholders 408.3 2,295.0 598.5 490.0 Less: Adjustments to operating earnings    Closed Block Variable Annuity (173.3) (239.2) (1,211.3) (675.3) Net Investment gains (losses) and related charges and    adjustments (83.3) 215.1 212.1 455.5 Other adjustments (266.7) (643.0) 296.6 (213.7) Total Adjustments to operating earnings before tax effect (523.3) (667.1) (702.6) (433.5) Income taxes on adjustments to operating earnings (1) 183.2 233.5 245.9 151.7 Total Adjustments to operating earnings, after tax(1) (340.1) (433.6) (456.7) (281.8) Less: Difference between actual tax (expense) benefit and    assumed tax rate 83.7 1,928.7 230.6 174.9 Operating earnings, after-tax (1) 664.7 799.9 824.6 596.9 Less: Income taxes (1) (312.8) (430.7) (444.0) (321.4) Total operating earnings before income taxes 977.5 1,230.6 1,268.6 918.3 Less: Corporate (236.8) (145.7) (160.0) (72.6) Operating earnings before income taxes for Ongoing Business 1,214.3 1,376.3 1,428.6 990.9 Less: DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (2) (67.5) (21.6) 133.2 (77.0) Less: Other Operating Adjustments (3) — 20.0 83.6 (25.3) Ongoing Business adjusted operating earnings before income    taxes 1,281.8 1,377.9 1,211.8 1,093.2 (1) Assumes a 32% tax rate for 2015 and later and 35% tax rate for 2014 and earlier on operating earnings and all components of operating earnings described as “after-tax.” A 35% tax rate is applied to all non-operating items. The 32% tax rate for operating earnings and components reflects the estimated benefit of the dividend received deduction related to Ongoing Business.    (2) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking excludes unlocking on net investment income from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC. (3) See page 3 for a description of Other Operating Adjustments.

Voya Financial    Page 47 of 57 Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings; Adjusted Operating Return on Capital                Twelve Months Ended September 30, 2017                Closed                Block    Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated Operating earnings before income taxes 430.5 252.5 288.3 71.2 127.5 1,170.0 (352.9) 817.1 Less:                Interest expense    — — (192.6) (192.6) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (148.0) 39.9 (161.5) (2.1) (271.7) — (271.7) Gain on Lehman Recovery 4.1 0.2 4.5 8.0 1.0 17.8 0.3 18.1 Adjusted operating earnings before interest 574.4 252.3 243.9 224.7 128.6 1,423.9 — (160.6) 1,263.3 Income tax expense 183.8 80.7 78.0 71.9 41.2 455.6 (51.4) 404.2 Adjusted operating earnings before interest                and after income taxes 390.6 171.6 165.9 152.8 87.4 968.3 — (109.2) 859.1 Average Capital 3,956 306 1,487 1,614 359 7,722 2,076 4,584 14,382 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital 9.9% 56.1% 11.2% 9.5% 24.3% 12.5% N/M N/M 6.0%    Twelve Months Ended June 30, 2017                Closed                Block    Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated Operating earnings before income taxes 386.6 250.5 327.2 61.2 110.8 1,136.3 (348.7) 787.6 Less:                Interest expense — — — — — — (192.1) (192.1) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (178.3) — 83.2 (140.5) (1.7) (237.3) — (237.3) Gain on Lehman Recovery 4.1 2.8 4.5 8.0 1.0 20.4 0.3 20.7 Adjusted operating earnings before interest 560.8 247.7 239.5 193.7 111.5 1,353.2 — (156.9) 1,196.3 Income tax expense 179.5 79.3 76.6 62.0 35.7 433.1 (50.2) 382.9 Adjusted operating earnings before interest                and after income taxes 381.3 168.4 162.9 131.7 75.8 920.1 — (106.7) 813.4 Average Capital 3,974 300 1,499 1,749 365 7,887 2,378 4,404 14,669 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital 9.6% 56.1% 10.9% 7.5% 20.8% 11.7% N/M N/M 5.5%

Voya Financial    Page 48 of 57 Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings; Adjusted Operating Return on Capital                Twelve Months Ended March 31, 2017                Closed                Block    Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable    (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated Operating earnings before income taxes 494.2 197.4 334.0 49.2 116.1 1,190.9 (352.3) 838.6 Less:                Interest expense    — (192.2) (192.2) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (54.0) — 91.0 (143.5) (2.2) (108.7) — (108.7) Gain on Lehman Recovery 4.1 2.8 4.5 8.0 1.0 20.4 0.3 20.7 Adjusted operating earnings before interest 544.1 194.6 238.5 184.7 117.3 1,279.2 — (160.4) 1,118.8 Income tax expense 174.1 62.3 76.3 59.1 37.5 409.3 (51.3) 358.0 Adjusted operating earnings before interest                and after income taxes 370.0 132.3 162.2 125.6 79.8 869.9 — (109.1) 760.8 Average Capital 3,982 295 1,524 1,893 370 8,064 2,745 4,190 14,999 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital 9.3% 44.8% 10.6% 6.6% 21.6% 10.8% N/M N/M 5.1%    Twelve Months Ended December 31, 2016                Closed                Block    Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable    (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated Operating earnings before income taxes 449.8 170.8 321.2 58.6 126.3 1,126.7 (349.4) 777.3 Less:                Interest expense    — (192.8) (192.8) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (65.6) — 91.5 (143.5) (4.0) (121.6) — (121.6) Gain on Lehman Recovery 4.1 2.8 4.5 8.0 1.0 20.4 0.3 20.7 Adjusted operating earnings before interest 511.3 168.0 225.2 194.1 129.3 1,227.9 — (156.9) 1,071.0 Income tax expense 163.6 53.8 72.1 62.1 41.4 393.0 (50.2) 342.8 Adjusted operating earnings before interest                and after income taxes 347.7 114.2 153.1 132.0 87.9 834.9 — (106.7) 728.2 Average Capital 3,964 297 1,561 2,015 378 8,215 3,006 4,059 15,280 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital 8.8% 38.5% 9.8% 6.6% 23.3% 10.2% N/M N/M 4.8%

Voya Financial    Page 49 of 57 Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings; Adjusted Operating Return on Capital                Twelve Months Ended September 30, 2016                Closed                Block    Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated Operating earnings before income taxes 444.3 148.4 299.5 117.6 118.0 1,127.8 (326.1) 801.7 Less:                Interest expense    (193.8) (193.8) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (49.9) — 89.7 (128.5) (4.2) (92.9) — (92.9) Net gain from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC — 2.6 — — — 2.6 — 2.6 Adjusted operating earnings before interest 494.2 145.8 209.8 246.1 122.2 1,218.1 — (132.3) 1,085.8 Income tax expense 158.1 46.7 67.1 78.8 39.1 389.8 (42.3) 347.5 Adjusted operating earnings before                interest and after income taxes 336.1 99.1 142.7 167.3 83.1 828.3 — (90.0) 738.3 Average Capital (1) 3,951 309 1,608 2,058 386 8,312 3,119 4,026 15,457 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital 8.5% 32.1% 8.9% 8.1% 21.5% 10.0% N/M N/M 4.8%    Twelve Months Ended December 31, 2015                Closed                Block    Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated Operating earnings before income taxes 470.6 181.9 243.0 172.7 146.1 1,214.3 — (236.8) 977.5 Less:                Interest expense — — — — — — — (194.5) (194.5) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (37.2) — 12.5 (38.4) (4.4) (67.5) — — (67.5) Gain on Lehman Recovery — — — — — — — 1.6 1.6 Adjusted operating earnings before interest 507.8 181.9 230.5 211.1 150.5 1,281.8 — (43.9) 1,237.9 Income tax expense 162.5 58.2 73.8 67.6 48.2 410.3 — (14.0) 396.3 Adjusted operating earnings before                interest and after income taxes 345.3 123.7 156.7 143.5 102.3 871.5 — (29.9) 841.6 Average Capital (1) 3,965 329 1,689 2,327 387 8,697 2,803 4,467 15,967 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital 8.7% 37.6% 9.3% 6.2% 26.5% 10.0% N/M N/M 5.3% (1) Includes capital impacts related to the 2015 Term Life Coinsurance Agreement in our Individual Life segment effective 10/1/2015

Voya Financial    Page 50 of 57 Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings; Adjusted Operating Return on Capital                Twelve Months Ended December 31, 2014                Closed                Block    Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Other Consolidated Operating earnings before income taxes 517.8 210.3 262.0 237.3 148.9 1,376.3 — (145.7) 1,230.6 Less:                Interest expense — — — — — — — (188.0) (188.0) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (30.0) — 26.4 (10.2) (7.8) (21.6) — — (21.6) Gain on reinsurance recapture — — — 20.0 — 20.0 — — 20.0 Net gain from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC — — — — — — — 4.0 4.0 Adjusted operating earnings before interest 547.8 210.3 235.6 227.5 156.7 1,377.9 — 38.3 1,416.2 Income tax expense 191.7 73.6 82.5 79.6 54.8 482.2 — 13.4 495.6 Adjusted operating earnings before                interest and after income taxes 356.1 136.7 153.1 147.9 101.9 895.7 — 24.9 920.6 Average Capital (1) 3,891 310 1,694 2,781 352 9,028 3,233 3,023 15,284 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital 9.2% 44.2% 9.0% 5.3% 28.9% 9.9% N/M N/M 6.0%    Twelve Months Ended December 31, 2013                Closed                Block    Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Other Consolidated Operating earnings before income taxes 595.8 178.1 293.8 254.8 106.1 1,428.6 — (160.0) 1,268.6 Less:                Interest expense — — — — — — — (179.7) (179.7) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking 45.6 — 83.3 4.8 (0.5) 133.2 — — 133.2 Net gain from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC 12.9 13.2 13.5 39.7 4.3 83.6 — 3.4 87.0 Adjusted operating earnings before interest 537.3 164.9 197.0 210.3 102.3 1,211.8 — 16.3 1,228.1 Income tax expense 188.1 57.7 69.0 73.6 35.8 424.2 — 5.7 429.9 Adjusted operating earnings before                interest and after income taxes 349.2 107.2 128.0 136.7 66.5 787.6 — 10.6 798.2 Average Capital 3,915 303 1,762 2,804 354 9,137 3,235 2,104 14,476 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital 8.9% 35.4% 7.3% 4.9% 18.8% 8.6% N/M N/M 5.5% (1) Includes capital impacts related to the 2014 Term Life Coinsurance Agreement in our Individual Life segment effective 10/1/2014

Voya Financial    Page 51 of 57 Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings; Adjusted Operating Return on Capital                Twelve Months Ended December 31, 2012                Closed                Block    Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated Operating earnings before income taxes 448.6 134.5 102.2 196.2 109.4 990.9 — (72.6) 918.3 Less:                Interest expense — — — — — — — (127.8) (127.8) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking 5.8 — (86.2) 3.4 — (77.0) — — (77.0) Impact of investment portfolio restructuring (31.2) 2.2 (11.2) 14.8 0.1 (25.3) — (5.8) (31.1) Adjusted operating earnings before interest 474.0 132.3 199.6 178.0 109.3 1,093.2 — 61.0 1,154.2 Income tax expense 165.9 46.3 69.9 62.3 38.3 382.7 — 21.4 404.1 Adjusted operating earnings before interest                and after income taxes 308.1 86.0 129.7 115.7 71.0 710.5 — 39.6 750.1 Average Capital 4,308 289 2,210 2,702 421 9,930 3,394 587 13,911 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital 7.2% 29.8% 5.9% 4.3% 16.9% 7.2% N/M N/M 5.4%

Voya Financial    Page 52 of 57 Reconciliation of Ongoing Business Adjusted Return On Equity and Capital                Twelve Months Ended    9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 12/31/2015 12/31/2014 12/31/2013 12/31/2012 GAAP Return on Equity (2.7)% (5.5)% (5.3)% (2.9)% 0.0% 2.7% 15.8% 4.4% 3.7 % Effect of Adjustments to Ongoing Business Adjusted                Operating Earnings After Income Tax and Ongoing                Business Equity and Capital:                Exclusion of AOCI 2.9% 2.8% 2.6% 2.4% 2.1% 2.0% 2.3% 2.1% 2.0 % DAC/VOBA and Other Intangible Unlocking Excluded from                Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Earnings 2.0% 1.7% 0.8% 0.8% 0.6% 0.4% 0.1% (1.0)% 0.6 % Other Adjustments to Ongoing Business adjusted Operating                Earnings (0.1)% (0.1)% (0.1)% (0.1)% — — (0.1)% (0.6)% 0.2 % Exclusion of Corporate Operating Earnings Before Income                Taxes and Allocated Capital 3.3% 3.0% 2.8% 2.7% 2.6% 2.2% 2.0% 0.8% (0.1)% Exclusion of Capital Allocated to Deferred Tax Assets 3.2% 2.6% 2.2% 1.8% 1.7% 1.7% 0.2% — — Effect of Calculated Interest Expense and Assumed 25%                Debt-to-Capital Ratio (vs actual) (1.1)% (1.0)% (0.8)% (0.7)% (0.6)% (0.6)% (0.5)% (0.6)% (1.0)% Exclusion of Closed Block Variable Annuity Result and                Allocated Capital 9.9% 13.1% 12.2% 9.1% 6.4% 3.4% 4.3% 12.0% 7.3 % Exclusion of Net Investment Gains and Losses 0.2% 0.6% 0.7% 1.0% 1.5% 0.6% (1.5)% (1.6)% (3.5)% Exclusion of Net Guaranteed Benefit Hedging Gains and                Losses 0.8% 0.9% 0.9% 0.6% (0.1)% 0.6% 0.1% (0.1)% (0.7)% Exclusion of Income (Loss) Related to Business Exited                Through Reinsurance or Divestment 0.2% 0.1% 0.1% 0.1% 0.7% 1.1% 1.1% 0.4% — Exclusion of Loss Related to Early Extinguishment of Debt — — 0.7% 0.7% 0.7% 0.1% — — — Exclusion of Immediate Recognition of Net Actuarial Gains                (Losses) Related to Pension and Other Postretirement                Benefit Obligations and Gains (Losses) from Plan                Amendments and Curtailments 0.4% 0.4% 0.4% 0.4% (0.4)% (0.4)% 2.6% (3.0)% 1.3 % Effect of Other Adjustments to Operating Earnings 0.7% 0.6% 0.6% 0.3% 0.3% 0.5% 0.6% 0.5% 1.1 % Effect of Assumed Tax Rate vs actual effective tax rate 0.9% (0.1)% (0.4)% 0.2% 2.6% (1.9)% (21.3)% (3.1)% (2.6)% Other Income Tax Effects (5.1)% (4.8)% (4.2)% (4.1)% (6.0)% (0.3)% 6.4% 0.1% — Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Return on                Equity 15.5% 14.3% 13.2% 12.3% 12.1% 12.1% 12.1% 10.3% 8.3 % Inclusion of debt (based on 25% debt to capital ratio) (3.9)% (3.5)% (3.3)% (3.0)% (3.0)% (3.0)% (3.1)% (2.6)% (2.0)% Exclusion of assumed interest expense 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9 % Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Return on                Capital 12.5% 11.7% 10.8% 10.2% 10.0% 10.0% 9.9% 8.6% 7.2%

Voya Financial Page 53 of 57 Impacts of Prepayments and Alternative Income Above (Below) Long- Term Expectations on ROC/ROE (bps)    Twelve Months Ended (in basis points) 9/30/2017 12/31/2016 12/31/2015 12/31/2014 Prepayments Above (Below) Long-term Expectations (1)    Effect on ROC:    Retirement 4 43 49 26 Annuities 31 84 69 33 Life (2) 18 41 14 Employee Benefits 35 56 35 4 Total Effect on Ongoing Business ROC 9 44 48 22 Effect on Ongoing Business ROE 12 58 64 29 Alternatives Above (Below) Long-term Expectations (1) (2)    Effect on ROC:    Retirement 25 (35) (44) 1 Annuities 40 (50) (61) 14 Life 24 (25) (27) 12 Employee Benefits 31 (37) (49) 11 Total Effect on Ongoing Business ROC 61 (57) (53) 12 Effect on Ongoing Business ROE 81 (75) (71) 16 Prepayments and Alternative Income Above (Below) Long-Term Expectations (1) (2)    Effect on ROC:    Retirement 29 8 5 27 Annuities 71 34 8 47 Life 22 (7) 14 26 Employee Benefits 66 19 (14) 15 Total Effect on Ongoing Business ROC 70 (13) (5) 34 Effect on Ongoing Business ROE 93 (17) (7) 45 (1) Basis point impacts are after DAC and after tax.    (2) Amounts exclude Gain on Lehman recovery

Voya Financial    Page 54 of 57 Calculation of ROE and ROC                Twelve Months Ended or As of    (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 12/31/2015 12/31/2014 12/31/2013 12/31/2012 GAAP Return on Equity:                Net income (loss) available to Voya Financial,                Inc.‘s common shareholders (360.7) (757.4) (763.1) (428.0) (1.8) 408.3 2,295.0 598.5 490.0 Voya Financial, Inc. shareholders’ equity: end of                period 13,653 13,352 12,890 12,994 15,206 13,436 16,146 13,315 13,920 Voya Financial, Inc. shareholders’ equity:                average for period 13,417 13,859 14,304 14,555 14,496 15,019 14,571 13,618 13,151 GAAP Return on Equity (2.7)% (5.5)% (5.3)% (2.9)% 0.0% 2.7% 15.8% 4.4% 3.7% Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Return                on Capital and Adjusted Operating Return on                Equity:                Ongoing Business adjusted operating earnings                before income taxes 1,423.9 1,353.2 1,279.2 1,227.9 1,218.1 1,281.8 1,377.9 1,211.8 1,093.2 Income taxes on adjusted operating earnings (1) (455.6) (433.1) (409.3) (393.0) (389.8) (410.3) (482.2) (424.2) (382.7) Ongoing Business adjusted operating earnings                after income taxes 968.3 920.1 869.9 834.9 828.3 871.5 895.7 787.6 710.5 Interest expense after-tax (2) (70.3) (71.6) (73.1) (75.1) (76.7) (82.1) (77.3) (79.9) (88.7) Ongoing Business adjusted operating                earnings after income taxes and interest 898.0 848.5 796.8 759.8 751.6 789.4 818.4 707.7 621.8 expense                End of period capital for Ongoing Business 7,491 7,551 7,656 7,878 8,108 8,377 8,777 9,216 9,823 Average capital for Ongoing Business 7,722 7,887 8,064 8,215 8,312 8,697 9,028 9,137 9,930 Average debt (based on 25% debt-to-capital (1,931) (1,972) (2,016) (2,054) (2,078) (2,175) (2,257) (2,284) (2,483) ratio)                Average equity for Ongoing Business 5,791 5,915 6,048 6,161 6,234 6,522 6,771 6,853 7,447 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital for                Ongoing Business 12.5% 11.7% 10.8% 10.2% 10.0% 10.0% 9.9% 8.6% 7.2% Adjusted Operating Return on Equity for                Ongoing Business (2) 15.5% 14.3% 13.2% 12.3% 12.1% 12.1% 12.1% 10.3% 8.3% (1) Assumes a 32% tax rate on operating earnings described as “after tax” beginning 2015 to current and a 35% tax rate for all periods prior to 2015.    (2) Assumes debt-to-capital ratio of approximately 25% and the actual weighted average pre-tax interest rate for all periods presented. Assumes a 5.5% interest rate for periods prior to3Q 2013.

Voya Financial    Page 55 of 57 Reconciliation of Operating Earnings Per Share; Book Value Per Share, Excluding AOCI                Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of (in whole dollars) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 9/30/2016 Net income (loss) available to Voya Financial, Inc.‘s common    shareholders per common share (Diluted) 0.81 0.89 (0.75) (2.74) (1.24) 0.92 0.51 Exclusion of per share impact of:    Closed Block Variable Annuity (0.51) 0.10 1.31 2.44 1.07 0.94 0.72 Net investment gains (losses) and related charges and adjustments 0.05 (0.01) 0.09 (0.03) 0.21 0.13 0.48 Net guaranteed benefit hedging gains (losses) and related charges    and adjustments 0.11 (0.09) (0.14) 0.48 0.17 (0.12) (0.19) Income (loss) related to businesses exited through reinsurance or    divestment 0.01 — 0.02 0.06 — 0.02 (0.01) Income (loss) on early extinguishment of debt 0.01 — — — — 0.01 0.33 Immediate recognition of net actuarial gains (losses) related to    pension and other postretirement benefit obligations and gains    (losses) from plan amendments and curtailments — — — 0.16 0.02 — 0.02 Other adjustments to operating earnings 0.20 0.02 0.05 0.10 0.07 0.26 0.12 Effect of assumed tax rate vs actual effective tax rate (0.17) (0.24) 0.24 0.46 0.07 (0.16) (0.27) Adjustment due to antidilutive effect of net loss in the current period (1) — — (0.01) (0.02) — — — Consolidated Operating earnings per share (Diluted) (1) 0.51 0.67 0.81 0.91 0.37 2.00 1.71 Book value per share, including AOCI 75.98 74.30 67.88 66.77 78.14 75.98 78.14 Per share impact of AOCI (15.76) (15.06) (11.65) (10.39) (18.07) (15.76) (18.07) Book value per share, excluding AOCI 60.22 59.24 56.23 56.38 60.07 60.22 60.07 Reconciliation of shares used in Total Consolidated Operating    earnings per share (Diluted)    Weighted-average common shares outstanding—Diluted 182.4 187.7 191.7 194.6 199.6 188.1 204.7 Dilutive effect of the exercise or issuance of stock-based awards (1) — — 2.7 2.5 1.9 — — Weighted average common shares outstanding—Diluted (Operating) (1) 182.4 187.7 194.4 197.1 201.5 188.1 204.7 (1) For periods in which there is a Net loss available to common shareholders, Operating earnings per share calculation includes additional dilutive shares, as the inclusion of these shares for stock compensation plans would not be anti-dilutive to the Operating earnings per share calculation.

Voya Financial    Page 56 of 57 Reconciliation of Average Capital; Debt to Capital, Excluding AOCI    Three Months Ended or As of Twelve Months Ended or As of (in millions USD, unless otherwise                indicated) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 12/31/2015 12/31/2014 12/31/2013 12/31/2012 Voya Financial, Inc. shareholders’                equity: end of period 13,653.0 13,352.2 12,890.4 12,993.9 15,206.0 13,435.8 16,146.2 13,315.2 13,919.9 AOCI 2,832.0 2,706.9 2,212.3 2,021.7 3,517.1 1,424.9 3,103.7 1,849.1 3,710.7 Voya Financial, Inc. shareholders’ equity                excluding AOCI end of period 10,821.0 10,645.3 10,678.1 10,972.2 11,688.9 12,010.9 13,042.5 11,466.1 10,209.2 Debt 3,458.8 3,462.1 3,461.2 3,549.5 3,548.5 3,459.8 3,486.5 3,481.1 3,796.3 End of Period Capital 14,279.8 14,107.4 14,139.3 14,521.7 15,237.4 15,470.7 16,529.0 14,947.2 14,005.5 Corporate and Closed Block Variable                Annuity 6,788.8 6,556.4 6,483.3 6,643.7 7,129.4 7,093.7 7,752.0 5,731.2 4,182.5 End of Period Capital for Ongoing                Business 7,491.0 7,551.0 7,656.0 7,878.0 8,108.0 8,377.0 8,777.0 9,216.0 9,823.0 Adjustments to TTM Average Capital (1) 231.0 336.0 408.0 337.0 204.0 320.0 251.0 (79.0) 107.0 Average Capital for Ongoing Business-                TTM (1) 7,722.0 7,887.0 8,064.0 8,215.0 8,312.0 8,697.0 9,028.0 9,137.0 9,930.0 Debt to capital, including AOCI 20.2% 20.6% 21.2% 21.5% 18.9% 20.5% 17.8% 20.7% 21.4% Capital impact of AOCI 4.0% 3.9% 3.3% 2.9% 4.4% 1.9% 3.3% 2.6% 5.7% Debt to capital, excluding AOCI 24.2% 24.5% 24.5% 24.4% 23.3% 22.4% 21.1% 23.3% 27.1% (1) Trailing Twelve Months Calculation

Voya Financial    Page 57 of 57 Reconciliation of Investment Management Operating Margin, Excluding Investment Capital                Three Months Ended Twelve Months Ended (in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated) 9/30/2017 6/30/2017 9/30/2016 9/30/2017 12/31/2016 12/31/2015 12/31/2014 12/31/2013 12/31/2012 Operating revenues (1) 171.0 203.3 160.4 734.6 623.9 622.2 655.4 594.5 545.5 Operating expenses (117.5) (118.4) (111.5) (482.3) (455.9) (440.3) (445.1) (429.6) (411.0) Operating earnings before income taxes 53.5 84.9 48.9 252.3 168.0 181.9 210.3 164.9 134.5 Operating margin 31.3% 41.8% 30.5% 34.3% 26.9% 29.2% 32.1% 27.7% 24.6% Operating revenues (1) 171.0 203.3 160.4 734.6 623.9 622.2 655.4 594.5 545.5 Less:                Investment Capital Results (1) 5.0 35.2 4.1 57.3 (10.8) 1.1 19.7 23.8 41.6 Revenues excluding Investment Capital 166.0 168.1 156.3 677.3 634.7 621.1 635.7 570.7 503.9 Operating expenses (117.5) (118.4) (111.5) (482.3) (455.9) (440.3) (445.1) (429.6) (411.0) Operating earnings excluding Investment                Capital 48.5 49.7 44.8 195.0 178.8 180.8 190.6 141.1 92.9 Operating margin excluding Investment                Capital 29.2% 29.6% 28.7% 28.8% 28.2% 29.1% 30.0% 24.7% 18.4% (1) Excludes gain from Lehman recovery in 2013                and 2016.