Exhibit 99.2

Quarterly Investor Supplement

June 30, 2017

This report should be read in conjunction with Voya Financial, Inc.‘s Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the Three months ended June 30, 2017. Voya Financial’s Annual Reports on Form 10-K, and Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q, can be accessed upon filing at the Securities and Exchange Commission’s website at www.sec.gov, and at our website at investors.voya.com. All information is unaudited.

Corporate Offices: Media Contact: Investor Contact:

Voya Financial Christopher Breslin Darin Arita 230 Park Avenue 212-309-8941 212-309-8999 New York, New York 10169 Christopher.Breslin@voya.com IR@voya.com

NYSE Ticker: Web Site:

VOYA investors.voya.com

Table of Contents

Page     Page

Consolidated     Corporate

Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information    3—5 Operating Earnings34

Key Metrics    6 Closed Block Variable Annuity

Consolidated Statements of Operations    7 Closed Block Variable Annuity Income (Loss) Before Income Taxes36

Consolidated Earnings Before Income Taxes    8 Closed Block Variable Annuity Death and Living Benefits37

Operating Earnings by Segment (QTD)    9 Investment Information

Operating Earnings by Segment (YTD)    10 Portfolio Composition39

Consolidated Balance Sheets    11 Portfolio Results40

Adjusted Operating Earnings Before Interest, After Income Taxes    12 Alternative Investment Income41

DAC/VOBA Segment Trends    13 Reconciliations

Consolidated Capital Structure    14 Reconciliation of Operating Revenues and Earnings by Segment43

Consolidated Assets Under Management/Assets Under Administration    15 Reconciliation of Operating Revenues by Segment44

Retirement     Reconciliation of Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Earnings to Net

Sources of Operating Earnings    17 Income (Loss)45—46

Assets Under Management Rollforward    18 Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings47—48

Investment Management     Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings and Calculation of

Sources of Operating Earnings    20 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital49—51

Key Metrics    21 Reconciliation of Ongoing Business Adjusted ROE and Capital52

Account Value Rollforward by Source    22 Impacts of Prepayments and Alternative Income Above (Below) Long-

Account Value by Asset Type    23 Term Expectations53

Annuities     Calculation of ROE and ROC54

Sources of Operating Earnings    25 Reconciliation of Operating Earnings Per Share: Book Value Per Share

Assets Under Management Rollforward    26 Excluding AOCI55

Individual Life     Reconciliation of Average Capital: Debt to Capital, Excluding AOCI56

Sources of Operating Earnings    28 Reconciliation of Investment Management Operating Margin, Excluding

Key Metrics    29 Investment Capital57

Employee Benefits

Sources of Operating Earnings    31

Key Metrics    32

Voya Financial Page 3 of 57 Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information

Operating Earning Before Income Taxes

Operating earnings before income taxes is a financial measure we use to evaluate segment performance. We believe that operating earnings before income taxes provides a meaningful measure of our business and segment performances and enhances the understanding of our financial results by focusing on the operating performance and trends of our underlying business segments and excluding items that tend to be highly variable from period to period based on capital market conditions and/or other factors. We use the same accounting policies and procedures to measure segment operating earnings before income taxes as we do for consolidated Net income (loss).

Operating earnings before income taxes does not replace Net income (loss) as the U.S. GAAP measure of our consolidated results of operations. Therefore, we believe that it is useful to evaluate both Net income (loss) and Operating earnings before income taxes when reviewing our financial and operating performance. Each segment’s operating earnings before income taxes is calculated by adjusting Income (loss) before income taxes for the following items: Net investment gains (losses), net of related amortization of DAC, VOBA, sales inducements and unearned revenue, which are significantly influenced by economic and market conditions, including interest rates and credit spreads, and are not indicative of normal operations. Net investment gains (losses) include gains (losses) on the sale of securities, impairments, changes in the fair value of investments using the FVO unrelated to the implied loan-backed security income recognition for certain mortgage-backed obligations and changes in the fair value of derivative instruments, excluding realized gains (losses) associated with swap settlements and accrued interest;

• Net guaranteed benefit hedging gains (losses), which are significantly influenced by economic and market conditions and are not indicative of normal operations, include changes in the fair value of derivatives related to guaranteed benefits, net of related reserve increases (decreases) and net of related amortization of DAC, VOBA and sales inducements, less the estimated cost of these benefits. The estimated cost, which is reflected in operating results, reflects the expected cost of these benefits if markets perform in line with our long-term expectations and includes the cost of hedging. Other derivative and reserve changes related to guaranteed benefits are excluded from operating results, including the impacts related to changes in nonperformance spread;

• Income (loss) related to businesses exited through reinsurance or divestment, which includes gains and (losses) associated with transactions to exit blocks of business (including net investment gains (losses) on securities sold and expenses directly related to these transactions) and residual run-off activity; these gains and (losses) are often related to infrequent events and do not reflect performance of operating segments. Excluding this activity better reveals trends in our core business, which would be obscured by including the effects of business exited, and more closely aligns Operating earnings before income taxes with how we manages our segments;

• Income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interest, which represents the interest of shareholders, other than those of Voya Financial, Inc., in consolidated entities. Income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interest represents such shareholders’ interests in the gains and (losses) of those entities, or the attribution of results from consolidated VIEs or VOEs to which we are not economically entitled;

• Income (loss) related to early extinguishment of debt, which includes losses incurred as a result of transactions where we repurchase outstanding principal amounts of debt; these losses are excluded from Operating earnings before income taxes since the outcome of decisions to restructure debt are not indicative of normal operations;

• Impairment of goodwill, value of management contract rights and value of customer relationships acquired, which includes losses as a result of impairment analysis; these represent losses related to infrequent events and do not reflect normal, cash-settled expenses;

• Immediate recognition of net actuarial gains (losses) related to our pension and other postretirement benefit obligations and gains (losses) from plan amendments and curtailments, which includes actuarial gains and losses as a result of differences between actual and expected experience on pension plan assets or projected benefit obligation during a given period. We immediately recognize actuarial gains and (losses) related to pension and other postretirement benefit obligations and gains and losses from plan adjustments and curtailments. These amounts do not reflect normal, cash-settled expenses and are not indicative of current Operating expense fundamentals; and

• Other items not indicative of normal operations or performance of our segments or may be related to infrequent events including capital or organizational restructurings including certain costs related to debt and equity offerings as well as stock and/or cash based deal contingent awards; expenses associated with the rebranding of Voya Financial, Inc.; severance and other third-party expenses associated with the 2016 Restructuring. These items vary widely in timing, scope and frequency between periods as well as between companies to which we are compared. Accordingly, we adjust for these items as we believe that these items distort the ability to make a meaningful evaluation of the current and future performance of our segments. Additionally, with respect to restructuring, these costs represent changes in operations rather than investments in the future capabilities of our operating businesses.

Operating earnings before income taxes, when presented on a consolidated basis, also does not reflect the results of operations of our CBVA segment because this segment is managed to focus on protecting regulatory and rating agency capital rather than achieving operating metrics or generating net income. As a result of this focus on regulatory and rating agency capital, the financial results of the CBVA segment presented in accordance with GAAP tend to exhibit a high degree of volatility based on factors, such as the asymmetry between the accounting for certain liabilities and the corresponding hedging assets, and gains and losses due to changes in nonperformance risk, that are not necessarily reflective of the economic costs and benefits of the CBVA business. When we present the adjustments to Income (loss) before income taxes on a consolidated basis, each adjustment excludes the relative portions attributable to our CBVA segment.

Voya Financial Page 4 of 57 Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information

Income (loss) related to businesses exited through reinsurance or divestment (including net investment gains (losses) on securities sold and expenses directly related to these transactions) is excluded from the results of operations from Operating earnings before income taxes. When we present the adjustments to Net Income (loss) before income taxes on a consolidated basis, each adjustment excludes the relative portions attributable to businesses exited through reinsurance or divestment.

The most directly comparable U.S. GAAP measure to Operating earnings before income taxes is Net income (loss) before income taxes. For a reconciliation of Operating earnings before Net income taxes to Net income (loss) before income taxes, and from Total Operating earnings before income taxes to Total adjusted operating earnings before income taxes, refer to the “Reconciliations” section in this document.

Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating ROE/ROC

We report Ongoing Business adjusted operating ROE and adjusted operating ROC because we believe these measures are useful indicators of how effectively we use capital resources allocated to our ongoing businesses apart from corporate and closed block activities, which include our Retirement, Investment Management, Annuities, Individual Life and Employee Benefits segments. The most directly comparable U.S. GAAP measure to Ongoing Business adjusted operating ROE and adjusted operating ROC is return on equity. For a reconciliation of these non-GAAP measures to return on equity, refer to the “Reconciliations” section in this document.

Capital is allocated to each of our segments in proportion to each segment’s target statutory capital, plus an allocation of the differences between statutory capital and total Voya Financial, Inc. shareholders’ equity on a GAAP basis (excluding AOCI), based on each segment’s portion of these differences. Statutory surplus in excess of target statutory capital and certain corporate assets and liabilities, such as certain deferred tax assets and liabilities for unfunded pension plans, are allocated to the Corporate segment.

Ongoing Business adjusted operating ROE assumes a debt-to-capital ratio of approximately 25% and the actual weighted average pre-tax interest rate for all periods presented. Ongoing Business adjusted operating ROE assumes a 32% tax rate on operating earnings and all components of operating earnings described as “after-tax” for 2015 to current, which reflects the estimated benefit of the dividend received deduction related to the Ongoing Business segments. Ongoing Business adjusted operating ROE assumes a 35% tax rate on operating earnings and all components of operating earnings described as “after-tax” for periods prior to 2015 and a 5.5% interest rate for period prior to 3Q 2013.

Adjusted Operating Earnings

Adjusted operating earnings is also a non-GAAP financial measure. This measure excludes from Operating earnings before income taxes the following items:

• DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking;

• The net gains included in operating earnings from a distribution of cash and securities in conjunction with a Lehman Brothers bankruptcy settlement (“Lehman Recovery”), and losses as a result of the decision to dispose of certain Low Income Housing Tax Credit partnerships (“LIHTC”) as a mean of exiting this asset class;

• A gain related to the amendment or recapture of certain reinsurance agreements during 2014;

• The net loss included in operating earnings from the sale of certain alternative investments and investment income associated with assets disposed of during the portfolio restructuring effected during 2012; and

• Interest expense related to debt in our Corporate segment.

Because DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking can be volatile, excluding the effect of this item can improve period to period comparability. The net gain from the Lehman Brothers bankruptcy settlement, loss from the disposition of low-income housing tax credit partnerships, gain on reinsurance recapture, and impact of investment portfolio restructuring affected run-rate results and we believe that this effect is not reflective of our ongoing performance.

Operating Earnings per Share; Shareholders’ Equity/Book Value per Share, Excluding AOCI

In addition to Net income (loss) per share, we report Operating Earnings per Share because we believe that operating earnings before income taxes provides a meaningful measure of its business and segment performances and enhances the understanding of our financial results by focusing on the operating performance and trends of the underlying business segments and excluding items that tend to be highly variable from period to period based on capital market conditions and/or other factors.

In addition to book value per share including accumulated other comprehensive income (AOCI), we also report book value per share excluding AOCI and shareholders’ equity excluding AOCI. Included in AOCI are investment portfolio unrealized gains or losses. In the ordinary course of business we do not plan to sell most investments for the sole purpose of realizing gains or losses, and book value per share excluding AOCI and shareholders’ equity excluding AOCI provide a measure consistent with that view.

For a reconciliation of these non-GAAP measures to Net income (loss) per share and book value per share, refer to the “Reconciliation of the Operating Earning Per Share; Book Value Per Share, Excluding AOCI” section on page 54 of this document.

Voya Financial Page 5 of 57 Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information

Operating Revenues

Operating revenues is a measure of our segment revenues and a non-GAAP financial measure. Each segment’s Operating revenues are calculated by adjusting Total revenues for the following items:

• Net realized investment gains (losses) and related charges and adjustments, which are significantly influenced by economic and market conditions, including interest rates and credit spreads and are not indicative of normal operations. Net investment gains (losses) include gains (losses) on the sale of securities, impairments, changes in the fair value of investments using the FVO unrelated to the implied loan-backed security income recognition for certain mortgage-backed obligations and changes in the fair value of derivative instruments, excluding realized gains (losses) associated with swap settlements and accrued interest. These are net of related amortization of unearned revenue;

• Gain (loss) on change in fair value of derivatives related to guaranteed benefits, which is significantly influenced by economic and market conditions and not indicative of normal operations, includes changes in the fair value of derivatives related to guaranteed benefits, less the estimated cost of these benefits. The estimated cost, which is reflected in operating results, reflects the expected cost of these benefits if markets perform in line with our long-term expectations and includes the cost of hedging. Other derivative and reserve changes related to guaranteed benefits are excluded from operating revenues, including the impacts related to changes in nonperformance spread;

• Revenues related to businesses exited through reinsurance or divestment, which includes revenues associated with transactions to exit blocks of business (including net investment gains (losses) on securities sold related to these transactions) and residual run-off activity; these gains and (losses) are often related to infrequent events and do not reflect performance of operating segments. Excluding this activity better reveals trends in our core business, which would be obscured by including the effects of business exited, and more closely aligns Operating revenues with how we manages our segments;

• Revenues attributable to noncontrolling interest, which represents the interests of shareholders, other than those of Voya Financial, Inc., in consolidated entities. Revenues attributable to noncontrolling interest represents such shareholders’ interests in the gains and losses of those entities, or the attribution of results from consolidated VIEs or VOEs to which we are not economically entitled; and

• Other adjustments to Operating revenues primarily reflect fee income earned by our broker-dealers for sales of non-proprietary products, which are reflected net of commission expense in our segments’ operating revenues, other items where the income is passed on to third parties and the elimination of intercompany investment expenses included in operating revenues.

Operating revenues also excludes the revenues of our CBVA segment, since this segment is managed to focus on protecting regulatory and rating agency capital rather than generating operating earnings. When we present the adjustments to Total revenues on a consolidated basis, each adjustment excludes the relative portions attributable to our CBVA segment and the relative portions attributable to businesses exited through reinsurance or divestment.

The most directly comparable U.S. GAAP measure to Operating revenues is Total revenues. For a reconciliation of Operating revenues to Total revenues, refer to the “Reconciliations” section in this document.

Sources of Earnings

We analyze our segment performance based on the sources of earnings. We believe this supplemental information is useful in order to gain a better understanding of our Operating earnings (loss) before income taxes for the following reasons: (1) we analyze our business using this information and (2) this presentation can be helpful for investors to understand the main drivers of Operating earnings (loss) before income taxes. The sources of earnings are defined as such:

• Investment spread and other investment income consists of net investment income and net realized investment gains (losses) associated with swap settlements and accrued interest, less interest credited to policyholder reserves.

• Fee based margin consists primarily of fees earned on assets under management (“AUM”), assets under administration (“AUA”), and transaction based recordkeeping fees.

• Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue contains the following: the difference between fees charged for insurance risks and incurred benefits, including mortality, morbidity, and surrender results, contractual charges for universal life and annuity contracts, the change in the unearned revenue reserve for universal life contracts, and that portion of traditional life insurance premiums intended to cover expenses and profits. Certain contract charges for universal life insurance are not recognized in income immediately, but are deferred as unearned revenues and are amortized into income in a manner similar to the amortization of DAC.

• Administrative expenses are general expenses, net of amounts capitalized as acquisition expenses and exclude commission expenses and fees on letters of credit.

• Trail commissions are commissions paid that are not deferred and thus recorded directly to expense.

• For a detail explanation of DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization/unlocking see “Unlocking of DAC/VOBA and other Contract Owner/Policyholder Intangibles” in our SEC filings.

Other Information

Financial information, unless otherwise noted, is rounded to millions, therefore may not sum to its corresponding total.

Voya Financial Key Metrics

Three Months Ended or As ofYear-to-Date or As of

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Net income (loss)    219.2 (142.4)(490.5)(236.5)136.076.8328.3

Net income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interest    52.0 1.142.511.6(25.5)53.1(24.8)

Net income (loss) available to Voya Financial, Inc.‘s common shareholders    167.2 (143.5)(533.0)(248.1)161.523.7353.1

Operating earnings before income taxes—Total Consolidated (3)    184.1 231.1264.0108.4235.1415.2404.9

Total Voya Financial, Inc. Shareholders’ Equity    13,352.2 12,890.412,993.915,206.015,338.913,352.215,338.9

Total Voya Financial, Inc. Shareholders’ Equity—Excluding AOCI (3)    10,645.3 10,678.110,972.211,688.911,899.210,645.311,899.2

Return on Equity:

GAAP Return on Equity—TTM (1)    (5.5)% (5.3)%(2.9)%0.0%2.0%(5.5)%2.0%

Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Return on Equity—TTM (1) (2) (3)    14.3%13.2%12.3%12.1%11.5%14.3%11.5%

Debt to Capital:

Debt to Capital    20.6% 21.2%21.5%18.9%18.8%20.6%18.8%

Debt to Capital (Excluding AOCI) (3)    24.5% 24.5%24.4%23.3%23.0%24.5%23.0%

Per Share:

Net income (loss) available to shareholders per common share:

Basic    0.90 (0.75)(2.74)(1.24)0.800.131.73

Diluted    0.89 (0.75)(2.74)(1.24)0.790.121.71

Total Consolidated Operating earnings per share (Diluted) (3) (4)    0.67 0.810.910.370.791.481.33

Book value per share (Including AOCI)    74.30 67.8866.7778.1476.6274.3076.62

Book value per share (Excluding AOCI) (3)    59.24 56.2356.3860.0759.4459.2459.44

Shares:

Weighted-average common shares outstanding

Basic    185.8 191.7194.6199.6202.4188.7204.6

Diluted    187.7 191.7194.6199.6203.5191.1206.3

Ending shares outstanding    179.7 189.9194.6194.6200.2179.7200.2

Returned to Shareholders:

Repurchase of common shares, excluding commissions    375.4 247.3—150.0116.7622.7337.0

Dividends to shareholders    1.9 1.91.92.02.13.84.1

Total cash returned to shareholders    377.3 249.21.9152.0118.8626.5341.1

(1) Trailing twelve months calculation.

(2) Assumes a debt-to-capital ratio of approximately 25% and the actual weighted average pre-tax interest rate for all periods presented. Assumes a 32% tax rate on operating earnings and all components of operating earnings described as “after-tax”, which reflects the estimated benefit of the dividend received deduction related to the Ongoing Business.

(3) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.

(4) For an explanation of the diluted weighted-average common share measures used for Total Consolidated Operating earnings per share please refer to the “Reconciliation of the Operating Earning Per Share; Book Value Per Share, Excluding AOCI” section on page 55 of this document.

Voya Financial Page 7 of 57 Consolidated Statements of Operations

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Revenues

Net investment income    1,142.4 1,155.51,188.11,163.41,175.22,297.92,269.3

Fee income    838.2 850.8849.4857.9826.71,689.01,652.5

Premiums    577.1 591.61,109.5726.7711.61,168.71,678.4

Net realized capital gains (losses)    (193.8) (505.6)(804.8)(367.7)(101.3)(699.4)(90.6)

Income (loss) related to consolidated investment entities    128.7 27.3103.057.7(0.8)156.028.3

Other revenues    96.2 93.8103.290.584.6190.0167.4

Total revenues    2,588.8 2,213.42,548.42,528.52,696.04,802.25,705.3

Benefits and expenses

Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/policyholders    (1,357.3) (1,478.0)(2,181.2)(1,906.9)(1,549.7)(2,835.3)(3,425.4)

Operating expenses    (691.7) (738.8)(777.1)(723.6)(716.4)(1,430.5)(1,436.6)

Net amortization of DAC/VOBA    (234.2) (92.7)(169.8)(180.7)(98.0)(326.9)(200.5)

Interest expense    (44.6) (45.9)(45.2)(45.4)(149.7)(90.5)(197.4)

Operating expenses related to consolidated investment entities    (29.9) (17.4)(27.0)(27.8)(29.1)(47.3)(51.0)

Total benefits and expenses    (2,357.7) (2,372.8)(3,200.3)(2,884.4)(2,542.9)(4,730.5)(5,310.9)

Income (loss) before income taxes    231.1 (159.4)(651.9)(355.9)153.171.7394.4

Income tax (expense) benefit    (11.9) 17.0161.4119.4(17.1)5.1(66.1)

Net income (loss)    219.2 (142.4)(490.5)(236.5)136.076.8328.3

Less:

Income tax (expense) benefit    (11.9) 17.0161.4119.4(17.1)5.1(66.1)

Closed Block Variable Annuity    (28.0) (387.1)(729.5)(328.0)56.5(415.1)102.5

Net investment gains (losses) and related charges and adjustments    3.4 (26.3)9.8(65.6)(24.7)(22.9)(85.1)

Net guaranteed benefit hedging gains (losses) and related charges

and adjustments    24.9 41.5(142.9)(53.5)21.266.4114.7

Income (loss) related to businesses exited through reinsurance or

divestment    0.8 (5.3)(16.9)1.30.5(4.5)2.1

Income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interests    52.0 1.142.511.6(25.5)53.1(24.8)

Income (loss) on early extinguishment of debt    — (0.7)—(0.1)(102.4)(0.7)(104.1)

Immediate recognition of net actuarial gains (losses) related to

pension and other postretirement benefit obligations and gains

(losses) from plan amendments and curtailments    — —(48.1)(7.1)———

Other adjustments to operating earnings (1)    (6.1) (13.7)(30.8)(22.9)(7.6)(19.8)(15.8)

Operating earnings before income taxes (2)    184.1 231.1264.0108.4235.1415.2404.9

(1) Includes restructuring expenses (severance, lease write-offs, etc.) and expenses associated with the rebranding of Voya Financial, Inc. from ING U.S., Inc.

(2) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.

Voya Financial Page 8 of 57 Consolidated Operating Earnings Before Income Taxes

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Consolidated Operating Earnings Before Income Taxes

Operating revenues

Net investment income and net realized gains (losses)    964.5 942.6997.8957.5950.51,907.11,851.0

Fee income    683.4 665.9664.6662.0647.01,349.31,280.2

Premiums    529.1 538.9792.0558.7613.01,068.01,471.1

Other revenue    40.1 41.251.437.731.981.365.4

Total operating revenues (1)    2,217.1 2,188.62,505.82,215.92,242.44,405.74,667.7

Operating benefits and expenses

Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/policyholders    (1,183.9) (1,217.6)(1,504.0)(1,337.0)(1,269.9)(2,401.5)(2,776.3)

Operating expenses    (570.9) (597.4)(578.2)(566.3)(587.2)(1,168.3)(1,177.4)

Net amortization of DAC/VOBA    (230.9) (95.9)(113.8)(158.4)(101.7)(326.8)(213.9)

Interest expense    (47.3) (46.6)(45.8)(45.8)(48.5)(93.9)(95.2)

Total operating benefits and expenses    (2,033.0) (1,957.5)(2,241.8)(2,107.5)(2,007.3)(3,990.5)(4,262.8)

Operating earnings before income taxes (1)    184.1 231.1264.0108.4235.1415.2404.9

Operating Revenues and Operating Earnings by Segment

Operating Revenues

Retirement    629.8 625.2923.2673.8722.31,255.01,660.0

Investment Management    203.3 171.4189.1163.0142.4374.7274.6

Annuities    298.1 301.4321.0310.6319.1599.5622.1

Individual Life    628.6 630.0640.9637.7624.91,258.61,248.9

Employee Benefits    442.9 446.2410.0405.9400.8889.1800.5

Corporate    14.4 14.421.624.932.928.861.6

Total operating revenues (1)    2,217.1 2,188.62,505.82,215.92,242.44,405.74,667.7

Operating Earnings

Retirement    32.9 148.1142.762.9140.5181.0244.2

Investment Management    84.9 49.364.851.531.8134.254.5

Annuities    65.8 63.584.6113.372.6129.3123.3

Individual Life    62.3 31.743.4(76.2)50.394.091.4

Employee Benefits    27.0 10.631.941.332.337.653.1

Corporate    (88.8) (72.1)(103.4)(84.4)(92.4)(160.9)(161.6)

Total Operating earnings before income taxes (1)    184.1 231.1264.0108.4235.1415.2404.9

(1) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.

Voya Financial Page 9 of 57 Operating Earnings by Segment

Three Months Ended June 30, 2017

Investment Employee

(in millions USD)    Retirement ManagementAnnuitiesIndividual LifeBenefitsCorporateConsolidated

Operating revenues

Net investment income and net realized gains (losses)    419.2 35.2256.1212.527.114.4964.5

Fee income    184.3 157.419.2306.915.7(0.1)683.4

Premiums    4.7 —17.5105.7401.2—529.1

Other revenue    21.6 10.75.33.5(1.1)0.140.1

Total operating revenues (1)    629.8 203.3298.1628.6442.914.42,217.1

Operating benefits and expenses

Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/    (242.1)

policyholders     —(157.5)(448.0)(329.3)(7.0)(1,183.9)

Operating expenses    (207.0) (118.4)(44.6)(68.6)(83.4)(48.9)(570.9)

Net amortization of DAC/VOBA    (147.8) —(30.2)(49.7)(3.2)—(230.9)

Interest expense    — ————(47.3)(47.3)

Total operating benefits and expenses    (596.9) (118.4)(232.3)(566.3)(415.9)(103.2)(2,033.0)

Operating earnings before income taxes (1)    32.9 84.965.862.327.0(88.8)184.1

Three Months Ended June 30, 2016

Investment Employee

Retirement    Management AnnuitiesIndividual LifeBenefitsCorporateConsolidated

Operating revenues

Net investment income and net realized gains (losses)    419.4 (8.6)269.3210.727.532.2950.5

Fee income    170.2 144.416.4300.215.8—647.0

Premiums    114.6 —29.5110.3358.6—613.0

Other revenue    18.1 6.63.93.7(1.1)0.731.9

Total operating revenues (1)    722.3 142.4319.1624.9400.832.92,242.4

Operating benefits and expenses

Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/    (342.7

policyholders    ) —(173.0)(458.1)(286.1)(10.0)(1,269.9)

Operating expenses    (213.9) (110.6)(39.0)(79.8)(77.1)(66.8)(587.2)

Net amortization of DAC/VOBA    (25.2) —(34.5)(36.7)(5.3)—(101.7)

Interest expense    — ————(48.5)(48.5)

Total operating benefits and expenses    (581.8) (110.6)(246.5)(574.6)(368.5)(125.3)(2,007.3)

Operating earnings before income taxes (1)    140.5 31.872.650.332.3(92.4)235.1

(1) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.

Voya Financial Page 10 of 57 Operating Earnings by Segment

Six Months Ended June 30, 2017

Investment IndividualEmployee

(in millions USD)    Retirement ManagementAnnuitiesLifeBenefitsCorporateConsolidated

Operating revenues

Net investment income and net realized gains (losses)    846.0 43.9512.1423.753.627.81,907.1

Fee income    362.5 307.837.5609.931.6—1,349.3

Premiums    4.1 —39.9216.4806.31.31,068.0

Other revenue    42.4 23.010.08.6(2.4)(0.3)81.3

Total operating revenues (1)    1,255.0 374.7599.51,258.6889.128.84,405.7

Operating benefits and expenses

Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/    (474.2)

policyholders     —(317.8)(923.4)(671.8)(14.3)(2,401.5)

Operating expenses    (433.5) (240.5)(92.3)(147.0)(173.5)(81.5)(1,168.3)

Net amortization of DAC/VOBA    (166.3) —(60.1)(94.2)(6.2)—(326.8)

Interest expense    — ————(93.9)(93.9)

Total operating benefits and expenses    (1,074.0) (240.5)(470.2)(1,164.6)(851.5)(189.7)(3,990.5)

Operating earnings before income taxes (1)    181.0 134.2129.394.037.6(160.9)415.2

Six Months Ended June 30, 2016

Investment IndividualEmployee

Retirement    Management AnnuitiesLifeBenefitsCorporateConsolidated

Operating revenues

Net investment income and net realized gains (losses)    820.1 (23.3)524.4418.652.958.31,851.0

Fee income    335.3 283.732.2597.431.6—1,280.2

Premiums    469.2 —57.3224.8718.11.71,471.1

Other revenue    35.4 14.28.28.1(2.1)1.665.4

Total operating revenues (1)    1,660.0 274.6622.11,248.9800.561.64,667.7

Operating benefits and expenses

Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/    (919.3

policyholders    ) —(348.9)(916.9)(579.6)(11.6)(2,776.3)

Operating expenses    (439.2) (220.1)(79.5)(165.4)(156.8)(116.4)(1,177.4)

Net amortization of DAC/VOBA    (57.3) —(70.4)(75.2)(11.0)—(213.9)

Interest expense    — ————(95.2)(95.2)

Total operating benefits and expenses    (1,415.8) (220.1)(498.8)(1,157.5)(747.4)(223.2)(4,262.8)

Operating earnings before income taxes (1)    244.2 54.5123.391.453.1(161.6)404.9

(1) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 61 of this document.

Voya Financial Page 11 of 57 Consolidated Balance Sheets

Balances as of

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/2016

Assets

Total investments    93,851.2 92,375.492,638.497,352.495,639.2

Cash and cash equivalents    2,567.4 2,298.32,910.72,766.73,799.7

Assets held in separate accounts    102,990.8 100,778.197,118.797,975.796,307.3

Premium receivable and reinsurance recoverable    7,277.5 7,353.77,318.07,305.17,473.1

Short term investments under securities loan agreement and accrued

investment income    1,849.0 1,735.01,679.62,056.82,219.4

Deferred policy acquisition costs, Value of business acquired    4,434.3 4,793.74,887.54,059.54,263.8

Goodwill and other intangible assets    197.8 208.0219.5227.3239.5

Other assets (1)    2,991.7 3,339.23,406.72,336.72,212.9

Assets related to consolidated investment entities    3,679.1 4,144.14,056.04,542.04,910.5

Total Assets    219,838.8 217,025.5214,235.1218,622.2217,065.4

Liabilities

Future policy benefits and contract owner account balances    91,895.2 91,585.692,053.491,406.090,622.7

Liabilities related to separate accounts    102,990.8 100,778.197,118.797,975.796,307.3

Funds held under reinsurance agreements    758.6 742.3729.1773.3802.0

Payables under securities loan agreements, including collateral held    1,975.9 1,740.91,841.32,878.03,012.3

Short-term debt    735.9 735.5———

Long-term debt    2,726.2 2,725.73,549.53,548.53,547.5

Other liabilities (2)    2,308.9 2,294.92,481.02,896.13,116.7

Liabilities related to consolidated investment entities    2,155.3 2,544.82,495.02,989.23,291.3

Total Liabilities    205,546.8 203,147.8200,268.0202,466.8200,699.8

Shareholders’ Equity

Common stock    2.7 2.72.72.72.7

Treasury stock    (3,426.0) (3,050.4)(2,796.0)(2,795.8)(2,645.8)

Additional paid-in capital    23,872.8 23,697.223,608.823,792.323,604.5

Retained earnings (deficit)    (9,804.2) (9,971.4)(9,843.3)(9,310.3)(9,062.2)

Total Voya Financial, Inc. Shareholders’ Equity—Excluding AOCI    10,645.3 10,678.110,972.211,688.911,899.2

Accumulated other comprehensive income    2,706.9 2,212.32,021.73,517.13,439.7

Total Voya Financial, Inc. Shareholders’ Equity    13,352.2 12,890.412,993.915,206.015,338.9

Noncontrolling interest    939.8 987.3973.2949.41,026.7

Total Shareholders’ Equity    14,292.0 13,877.713,967.116,155.416,365.6

Total Liabilities and Shareholders’ Equity    219,838.8 217,025.5214,235.1218,622.2217,065.4

(1) Includes Other assets, Sales inducements to contract holders, and Current/Deferred income taxes.

(2) Includes Other liabilities, Derivatives, Pension and other postretirement provisions, and Current/Deferred income taxes.

Voya Financial Page 12 of 57 Adjusted Operating Return on Capital

ClosedCorporate

Block

Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable(2)

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    Retirement Management AnnuitiesLifeBenefits Business Annuity DTAOtherConsolidated

Twelve Months Ended June 30, 2017

Operating earnings before income taxes (1)    386.6 250.5327.261.2110.81,136.3—(348.7)787.6

Less:

Interest expense    — ——————(192.1)(192.1)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    (178.3) 83.2(140.5)(1.7)(237.3)——(237.3)

Gain on Lehman Recovery    4.1 2.84.58.01.020.4—0.320.7

Adjusted operating earnings before interest    560.8 247.7239.5193.7111.51,353.2—(156.9)1,196.3

Income tax expense    179.5 79.376.662.035.7433.1—(50.2)382.9

Adjusted operating earnings before interest and after    381.3 168.4162.9131.775.8920.1—(106.7)813.4

income taxes

Ending Capital (1)    3,852 3191,4781,5463567,5511,8382,8881,83014,107

Average Capital (2)    3,974 3001,4991,7493657,8872,3782,5531,85114,669

Adjusted Operating Return on Capital (1)    9.6% 56.1%10.9%7.5%20.8%11.7%N/MN/MN/M5.5%

Twelve Months Ended December 31, 2016

Operating earnings before income taxes (1)    449.8 170.8321.258.6126.31,126.7—(349.4)777.3

Less:

Interest expense    — ——————(192.8)(192.8)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    (65.6) —91.5(143.5)(4.0)(121.6)——(121.6)

Net gain from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC    4.1 2.84.58.01.020.4—0.320.7

Adjusted operating earnings before interest    511.3 168.0225.2194.1129.31,227.9—(156.9)1,071.0

Income tax expense    163.6 53.872.162.141.4393.0—(50.2)342.8

Adjusted operating earnings before interest and after    347.7 114.2153.1132.087.9834.9—(106.7)728.2

income taxes

Ending Capital (1)    4,068 2951,4971,6773417,8782,2462,6601,73814,522

Average Capital (2)    3,964 2971,5612,0153788,2153,0062,1491,91015,280

Adjusted Operating Return on Capital (1)    8.8% 38.5%9.8%6.6%23.3%10.2%N/MN/MN/M4.8%

(1) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.

(2) Deferred Tax Asset (DTA) related to Federal Net Operating Loss Carry Forwards (“Federal NOLs”), Life Subgroup Deferred Losses related to Closed Block VA Hedge Losses, and Non-Life Subgroup Deferred Losses related to tax-based goodwill, net of $745 million tax valuation allowance related to Federal NOLs for the twelve months ending December 31, 2016 and June 30, 2017.

Voya Financial Page 13 of 57 DAC/VOBA Segment Trends

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Retirement

Balance as of Beginning-of-Period    1,141.0 1,165.2814.3967.31,168.01,165.21,402.5

Deferrals of commissions and expenses    22.8 25.422.124.624.948.248.3

Amortization    (33.0) (24.5)(24.2)(39.6)(36.7)(57.5)(51.1)

Unlocking (1)    (102.4) 13.2(23.2)(99.6)27.7(89.2)40.4

Change in unrealized capital gains/losses    (108.1) (38.3)376.2(38.4)(216.6)(146.4)(472.8)

Balance as of End-of-Period    920.3 1,141.01,165.2814.3967.3920.3967.3

Deferred Sales Inducements as of End-of-Period    33.8 35.235.935.336.833.836.8

Annuities

Balance as of Beginning-of-Period    617.4 647.5401.5352.9463.4647.5604.6

Deferrals of commissions and expenses    26.2 25.331.423.630.451.565.9

Amortization    (46.7) (48.9)33.2(6.9)(53.0)(95.6)(125.8)

Unlocking    14.3 16.5(8.2)34.223.230.850.1

Change in unrealized capital gains/losses    (43.4) (23.0)189.6(2.3)(111.1)(66.4)(241.9)

Balance as of End-of-Period    567.8 617.4647.5401.5352.9567.8352.9

Deferred Sales Inducements as of End-of-Period    126.5 136.0141.888.977.2126.577.2

Individual Life

Balance as of Beginning-of-Period    2,657.1 2,702.22,377.62,476.92,567.32,702.22,856.8

Deferrals of commissions and expenses    30.6 34.832.936.642.165.477.5

Amortization    (50.0) (43.4)(37.9)(21.1)(37.2)(93.4)(66.2)

Unlocking    (3.9) (4.1)(5.0)(40.9)(2.5)(8.0)(10.2)

Change in unrealized capital gains/losses    (60.4) (32.4)334.6(73.9)(92.8)(92.8)(381.0)

Balance as of End-of-Period    2,573.4 2,657.12,702.22,377.62,476.92,573.42,476.9

Other

Balance as of Beginning-of-Period    78.7 76.269.367.082.476.284.1

Deferrals of commissions and expenses    7.1 5.75.05.04.912.88.8

Amortization    (3.3) (3.0)(3.2)(2.8)(4.6)(6.3)(8.9)

Unlocking    (1.0) (0.5)—(0.2)(1.5)(1.5)(3.8)

Change in unrealized capital gains/losses    (0.9) 0.35.10.3(14.2)(0.6)(13.2)

Balance as of End-of-Period    80.6 78.776.269.367.080.667.0

Closed Block Variable Annuity

Balance as of Beginning-of-Period    299.5 296.4396.8399.7411.9296.4422.1

Deferrals of commissions and expenses    0.9 1.10.90.91.22.02.6

Amortization    (8.3) (9.0)(10.1)(13.2)(11.2)(17.3)(22.3)

Unlocking and loss recognition (2)    0.1 11.0(91.2)9.4(2.2)11.1(2.7)

Change in unrealized capital gains/losses    — ——————

Balance as of End-of-Period    292.2 299.5296.4396.8399.7292.2399.7

Deferred Sales Inducements as of End-of-Period    64.1 65.865.187.287.864.187.8

Total

Balance as of Beginning-of-Period    4,793.7 4,887.54,059.54,263.84,693.04,887.55,370.1

Deferrals of commissions and expenses    87.6 92.392.390.7103.5179.9203.1

Amortization    (141.3) (128.8)(42.2)(83.6)(142.7)(270.1)(274.3)

Unlocking    (92.9) 36.1(127.6)(97.1)44.7(56.8)73.8

Change in unrealized capital gains/losses    (212.8) (93.4)905.5(114.3)(434.7)(306.2)(1,108.9)

Balance as of End-of-Period    4,434.3 4,793.74,887.54,059.54,263.84,434.34,263.8

Deferred Sales Inducements as of End-of-Period    224.4 237.0242.8211.4201.8224.4201.8

(1) During the period ended 6/30/2017, we solicited customer consents to execute a change to reduce the guaranteed minimum interest rate (“GMIR”) applicable to future deposits and transfers into fixed investment option for certain retirement plan contracts with above-market GMIRs. This change, which reduces our exposure to low interest rates on new deposits, transfers and in certain plans existing fixed account assets, resulted in unfavorable unlocking for the Retirement segment of $128.0 million.

(2) Includes a portion of loss recognition in the periods ended 12/31/2016 for the $85.1 million write-down of DAC/VOBA.

Voya Financial Page 14 of 57 Consolidated Capital Structure

Balances as of

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/2016

Financial Debt

Senior bonds    2,705.2 2,704.42,792.82,791.92,790.9

Subordinated bonds    752.0 751.9751.8751.7751.7

Other debt    4.9 4.94.94.94.9

Total Debt    3,462.1 3,461.23,549.53,548.53,547.5

Equity

Total common equity (Excluding AOCI) (1)    10,645.3 10,678.110,972.211,688.911,899.2

Accumulated other comprehensive income (AOCI)    2,706.9 2,212.32,021.73,517.13,439.7

Total Voya Financial, Inc. Shareholders’ Equity    13,352.2 12,890.412,993.915,206.015,338.9

Total Equity (Excluding AOCI) (1)    10,645.3 10,678.110,972.211,688.911,899.2

Capital

Total Capitalization    16,814.3 16,351.616,543.418,754.518,886.4

Total Capitalization (Excluding AOCI) (1)    14,107.4 14,139.314,521.715,237.415,446.7

Debt to Capital

Debt to Capital    20.6% 21.2%21.5%18.9%18.8%

Debt to Capital (Excluding AOCI) (1)    24.5% 24.5%24.4%23.3%23.0%

(1) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.

Voya Financial Page 15 of 57 Consolidated Assets Under Management/Assets Under Administration

As of June 30, 2017

Total AUM -AUA—Assets

General    Separate Institutional/Assets UnderUnderTotal AUM +

(in millions USD)    Account AccountMutual FundsManagementAdministrationAUA

Retirement (1)    32,625.3 65,490.331,619.3129,734.9213,498.6343,233.5

Investment Management    81,905.1 44,399.090,696.1217,000.250,920.2267,920.4

Annuities (2)    22,062.5 842.05,525.128,429.6—28,429.6

Individual Life (3)    12,761.2 2,656.9—15,418.1—15,418.1

Employee Benefits    1,848.8 15.1—1,863.9—1,863.9

Closed Block Variable Annuity (2)    5,518.4 31,834.1—37,352.5—37,352.5

Eliminations/Other    (74,816.2) (42,246.6)(11,340.1)(128,402.9)(48,870.3)(177,273.2)

Total AUM and AUA    81,905.1 102,990.8116,500.4301,396.3215,548.5516,944.8

(1) Includes wrapped funds as well as unwrapped Voya-managed funds. (2) Includes Payout annuities.

(3) Includes assets backing interest and non-interest sensitive products.

Retirement

Voya Financial Page 17 of 57 Retirement Sources of Operating Earnings and Key Metrics

Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Sources of operating earnings before income taxes:

Investment spread and other investment income    181.1 191.7193.2185.2190.8372.8368.1

Fee based margin    208.2 201.9197.9196.8190.9410.1376.4

Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue    (3.7) (2.6)(4.3)(0.9)(4.6)(6.3)(8.6)

Administrative expenses    (163.3) (183.8)(165.5)(166.7)(174.0)(347.1)(361.4)

Trail commissions    (40.6) (39.5)(37.8)(37.6)(36.1)(80.1)(70.5)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization, excluding unlocking    (35.2) (33.0)(36.8)(39.8)(37.2)(68.2)(72.3)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (3)    (113.6) 13.4(4.0)(74.1)10.7(100.2)12.5

Operating earnings before income taxes (2)    32.9 148.1142.762.9140.5181.0244.2

Gross investment income

Fixed income    386.2 384.5387.8386.6383.6770.7773.1

Limited partnership income    2.6 1.22.40.4(2.5)3.8(4.6)

Prepayment fee income    4.6 5.612.516.320.810.227.1

Total gross investment income    393.4 391.3402.7403.3401.9784.7795.6

Investment expenses    (17.4) (18.8)(18.1)(17.4)(16.7)(36.2)(32.4)

Credited interest    (233.2) (229.9)(234.8)(229.7)(223.2)(463.1)(441.5)

Net margin    142.8 142.6149.8156.2162.0285.4321.7

Other investment income (1)    38.3 49.143.429.028.887.446.4

Investment spread and other investment income    181.1 191.7193.2185.2190.8372.8368.1

Fee based margin

Fee based margin—excluding Recordkeeping    168.0 163.0158.0157.3152.6331.0299.4

Fee based margin—Recordkeeping    40.2 38.939.939.538.379.177.0

Fee based margin    208.2 201.9197.9196.8190.9410.1376.4

Assets Under Management by Fund Group

General account    32,625.3 32,495.632,469.231,672.331,101.332,625.331,101.3

Guaranteed separate account    7,104.0 7,186.07,192.27,522.77,260.97,104.07,260.9

Non-guaranteed separate account    58,386.3 56,381.252,881.752,269.950,260.758,386.350,260.7

Mutual funds / Institutional funds    31,619.3 30,380.028,865.228,103.526,289.231,619.326,289.2

Total AUM    129,734.9 126,442.8121,408.3119,568.4114,912.1129,734.9114,912.1

AUA    213,498.6 209,308.1195,440.7195,136.9188,335.2213,498.6188,335.2

Total AUM and AUA    343,233.5 335,750.9316,849.0314,705.3303,247.3343,233.5303,247.3

(1) Includes investment income on assets backing surplus that has been allocated from the corporate segment and income from policy loans.

(2) The three months ended 12/31/16 include $5.3 million of net investment income, and $(1.2) million of DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization from Lehman Recovery.

(3) During the period ended 6/30/2017, we solicited customer consents to execute a change to reduce the guaranteed minimum interest rate (“GMIR”) applicable to future deposits and transfers into fixed investment option for certain retirement plan contracts with above-market GMIRs. This change, which reduces our exposure to low interest rates on new deposits, transfers and in certain plans existing fixed account assets, resulted in unfavorable unlocking for the Retirement segment of $128.0 million.

Voya Financial Page 18 of 57 Retirement AUM Rollforward by Product Group

Three Months EndedYear-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Full service—Corporate markets

Assets under management, beginning of period    53,162.5 49,920.748,963.846,848.445,588.449,920.745,088.5

Transfer/Single deposits    1,429.9 1,499.21,498.51,036.7868.62,929.11,579.8

Recurring deposits    1,296.0 1,502.31,102.91,173.81,178.52,798.32,521.3

Total Deposits    2,725.9 3,001.52,601.42,210.52,047.15,727.44,101.1

Surrenders, benefits, and product charges    (1,881.1) (2,061.3)(2,160.0)(1,787.3)(1,641.1)(3,942.4)(3,354.6)

Net Flows    844.8 940.3441.4423.2406.01,785.0746.5

Interest credited and investment performance    1,528.5 2,301.6568.91,692.2854.03,830.11,013.4

Transfer to reinsurer / between markets (3)    — —(53.4)————

Assets under management, end of period    55,535.8 53,162.549,920.748,963.846,848.455,535.846,848.5

Full service—Tax-exempt markets

Assets under management, beginning of period    57,185.3 55,497.054,796.452,699.451,850.255,497.051,641.9

Transfer/Single deposits    293.5 613.0442.8957.7325.7906.5579.1

Recurring deposits    786.1 868.4743.4693.3751.01,654.51,558.4

Total Deposits    1,079.6 1,481.41,186.21,651.01,076.72,561.02,137.5

Surrenders, benefits, and product charges    (1,011.1) (1,728.5)(1,115.1)(997.7)(995.0)(2,739.6)(2,046.2)

Net Flows    68.4 (247.1)71.1653.381.7(178.6)91.3

Interest credited and investment performance    1,294.9 1,935.4629.51,443.9767.53,230.3966.2

Transfer to reinsurer / between markets (3)    — ——————

Assets under management, end of period    58,548.6 57,185.355,497.054,796.452,699.458,548.652,699.4

Stable value (1) and Pension risk transfer

Assets under management, beginning of period    12,535.6 12,505.512,346.511,967.311,639.312,505.510,762.9

Transfer/Single deposits    24.5 157.8404.9381.8258.3182.3977.5

Recurring deposits    87.4 133.0120.7129.3101.5220.4207.2

Total Deposits    111.9 290.8525.6511.1359.8402.71,184.7

Surrenders, benefits, and product charges    (670.4) (336.5)(239.1)(213.1)(153.6)(1,006.9)(262.3)

Net Flows    (558.5) (45.7)286.5298.0206.2(604.2)922.4

Interest credited and investment performance    111.1 75.8(180.9)81.2121.8186.9282.0

Transfer to reinsurer / between markets (3)    — —53.4————

Assets under management, end of period    12,088.2 12,535.612,505.512,346.511,967.312,088.211,967.3

Retail wealth management

Assets under management, beginning of period    3,559.4 3,485.13,461.73,397.03,349.33,485.13,313.7

Transfer/Single deposits    161.4 220.9231.3236.5250.0382.3492.3

Recurring deposits    1.1 1.10.50.30.82.21.4

Total Deposits    162.5 222.0231.8236.8250.8384.5493.7

Surrenders, benefits, and product charges    (237.0) (259.1)(227.8)(254.4)(252.3)(496.1)(479.2)

Net Flows    (74.5) (37.1)4.0(17.6)(1.5)(111.6)14.5

Interest credited and investment performance    77.4 111.419.382.349.2188.868.8

Assets under management, end of period    3,562.3 3,559.43,485.13,461.73,397.03,562.33,397.0

Total AUM (2)

Assets under management, beginning of period    126,442.8 121,408.3119,568.4114,912.1112,427.2121,408.3110,807.1

Transfer/Single deposits    1,909.3 2,490.82,577.62,612.71,702.64,400.13,628.7

Recurring deposits    2,170.5 2,504.91,967.51,996.72,031.84,675.44,288.3

Total Deposits    4,079.8 4,995.74,545.14,609.33,734.49,075.57,917.0

Surrenders, benefits, and product charges    (3,799.6) (4,385.5)(3,742.0)(3,252.6)(3,041.9)(8,185.1)(6,142.2)

Net Flows    280.2 610.2803.11,356.7692.5890.41,774.8

Interest credited and investment performance    3,011.9 4,424.31,036.83,299.61,792.47,436.22,330.2

Assets under management, end of period    129,734.9 126,442.8121,408.3119,568.4114,912.1129,734.9114,912.1

(1) Where Voya is the Investment Manager.

(2) Excludes Recordkeeping and Stable Value where Voya is not the Investment Manager. (3) AUM transfers between Retirement market.

Investment Management

Voya Financial Page 20 of 57 Investment Management Sources of Operating Earnings

		Three Months Ended				Year-to-Date
(in millions USD)	6/30/2017	3/31/2017	12/31/2016	9/30/2016	6/30/2016	6/30/2017	6/30/2016
Sources of operating earnings before income taxes:
Investment capital and other investment income (1)	35.4	8.6	8.5	6.8	(8.5)	44.0	(23.2)
Fee based margin	167.9	162.8	180.6	156.2	150.9	330.7	297.8
Administrative expenses	(118.4)	(122.1)	(124.3)	(111.5)	(110.6)	(240.5)	(220.1)
Total earnings before income taxes (2)	84.9	49.3	64.8	51.5	31.8	134.2	54.5
Fee based margin
Investment advisory and administrative revenue	157.4	150.4	152.1	145.9	144.4	307.8	283.7
Other fee based margin	10.5	12.4	28.5	10.3	6.5	22.9	14.1
Fee based margin	167.9	162.8	180.6	156.2	150.9	330.7	297.8

(1) Includes performance fees related to sponsored private equity funds (“carried interest”) that are subject to later reversal based on subsequent fund performance, to the extent that cumulative rates of investment return fall below specified investment hurdle rates. Should the market value of a portfolio increase in future periods, reversals of carried interest could be fully or partially recovered. For the three and six months ended June 30, 2017, our carried interest net results included the recovery (gain) of $28.4 million of carried interest reversed in prior periods. For the three and six months ended June 30, 2016, our carried interest net results included the reversal (loss) of approximately $12.5 million and $30.2 million, respectively, in previously accrued carried interest.

(2) The three months ended 9/30/2016 and 12/31/16 include $2.6 million and $0.2 million, respectively of net investment income from Lehman Recovery.

Voya Financial Page 21 of 57 Investment Management Key Metrics

Balances as ofBalances as of

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Client Assets by Source:

External clients

Investment Management sourced    80,158.3 76,194.973,991.972,813.271,034.080,158.371,034.0

Affiliate sourced    54,936.8 54,636.054,254.155,356.154,277.454,936.854,277.4

Subtotal external clients    135,095.1 130,830.9128,246.0128,169.3125,311.4135,095.1125,311.4

General Account (1)    81,905.1 82,068.782,760.080,212.978,671.281,905.178,671.2

Total Client Assets (AUM)    217,000.2 212,899.6211,006.0208,382.2203,982.6217,000.2203,982.6

Administration Only Assets (AUA)    50,920.2 50,519.449,685.050,087.948,962.350,920.248,962.3

Total AUM and AUA    267,920.4 263,419.0260,691.0258,470.1252,944.9267,920.4252,944.9

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

6/30/2017    3/31/2017 12/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Analysis of investment advisory and administrative revenues, net,

by source: (2)

External clients

Investment Management sourced    86.7 79.081.275.875.0165.7146.8

Affiliate sourced    27.4 29.029.229.528.956.457.1

Subtotal external clients    114.1 108.0110.4105.3103.9222.1203.9

General Account    39.1 39.238.737.537.678.374.0

Total investment advisory and administrative revenues, net, from

AUM    153.2 147.2149.1142.8141.5300.4277.9

Administration Only Fees    4.2 3.23.03.12.97.45.8

Total investment advisory and administrative revenues, net, by

source (2)    157.4 150.4152.1145.9144.4307.8283.7

Revenue Yield (bps): (2) (3)

External clients

Investment Management sourced    44.6 41.944.442.042.843.342.7

Affiliate sourced    19.9 21.221.421.421.320.621.2

Revenue Yield on Institutional/retail    34.4 33.234.633.133.433.833.3

General Account    19.0 18.919.319.118.919.018.8

Revenue Yield on Client Assets (AUM)    28.5 27.728.727.727.728.127.6

Revenue Yield on Administration Only Assets (AUA)    3.3 2.52.42.52.42.92.4

Total Revenue Yield on AUM and AUA (bps) (2) (3)    23.7 22.923.622.822.923.322.7

(1) General Account assets reported on a Statutory Book Value billing basis consistent with revenues earned.

(2) Measures used by management to evaluate ongoing business performance, allowing for more appropriate comparisons with industry peers. (3) Revenue Yields calculated using average client assets for the period.

Voya Financial Page 22 of 57 Investment Management Account Rollforward by Source

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Investment Management Sourced AUM:

Beginning of period AUM    76,194.9 73,991.972,813.271,034.069,472.473,991.968,143.7

Inflows

Inflows from sub-advisor replacements    — ——————

Inflows-other    5,499.9 3,832.65,995.23,459.43,540.49,332.57,398.6

Outflows    (3,114.9) (3,264.2)(4,412.2)(3,284.6)(3,076.4)(6,379.1)(6,417.3)

Net Flows    2,385.0 568.41,583.0174.8464.02,953.4981.3

Net Money Market Flows    20.9 (45.1)16.71.57.1(24.2)(46.4)

Change in Market Value    1,487.5 1,804.9(346.3)1,696.81,260.13,292.42,213.8

Other (Including Acquisitions / Divestitures)    70.0 (125.2)(74.7)(93.9)(169.6)(55.2)(258.4)

End of period AUM    80,158.3 76,194.973,991.972,813.271,034.080,158.371,034.0

Organic Growth (Net Flows / Beginning of period AUM)    3.13% 0.77%2.17%0.25%0.67%3.99%1.44%

Market Growth %    1.95% 2.44%-0.48%2.39%1.81%4.45%3.25%

Affiliate Sourced AUM:

Beginning of period AUM    54,636.0 54,254.155,356.154,277.454,204.654,254.154,403.4

Inflows

Inflows from sub-advisor replacements    — ——186.9———

Inflows-other    872.7 1,130.01,250.71,061.4798.92,002.71,881.8

Outflows    (2,087.3) (2,851.7)(2,204.6)(1,752.6)(1,507.3)(4,939.0)(3,295.0)

Net Flows    (1,214.6) (1,721.7)(953.9)(504.3)(708.4)(2,936.3)(1,413.2)

Net Money Market Flows    (83.6) (86.7)(22.4)(9.5)(62.2)(170.3)(21.9)

Change in Market Value    1,274.6 2,167.2208.11,464.51,013.33,441.81,423.4

Other (Including Acquisitions / Divestitures)    324.4 23.1(333.8)128.0(169.9)347.5(114.3)

End of period AUM    54,936.8 54,636.054,254.155,356.154,277.454,936.854,277.4

Organic Growth (Net Flows / Beginning of period AUM)    -2.22% -3.17%-1.72%-0.93%-1.31%-5.41%-2.60%

Market Growth %    2.33% 3.99%0.38%2.70%1.87%6.34%2.62%

Other affiliate sourced net flows    (514.8) (306.9)(46.0)309.5(30.0)(821.7)(61.9)

Variable annuity net flows    (699.7) (1,414.8)(907.9)(813.8)(678.4)(2,114.5)(1,351.3)

Total Affiliate Sourced Net Flows    (1,214.5) (1,721.7)(953.9)(504.3)(708.4)(2,936.2)(1,413.2)

Total Investment Management Sourced Net Flows    2,385.0 568.41,583.0174.8464.02,953.4981.3

Total Net Flows    1,170.5 (1,153.3)629.1(329.5)(244.4)17.2(431.9)

Net Flows excluding sub-advisor replacements and variable

annuity net flows    1,870.2 261.51,537.0297.4434.02,131.7919.4

Voya Financial Page 23 of 57 Investment Management Account Value by Asset Type

Balances as of

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/2016

Institutional

Equity    21,554.2 20,485.419,416.519,097.419,134.5

Fixed Income    46,483.3 44,162.043,252.541,980.740,292.0

Real Estate    — ————

Money Market    — ————

Total    68,037.5 64,647.462,669.061,078.159,426.5

Retail

Equity    41,626.5 40,829.039,481.539,796.438,629.8

Fixed Income    20,309.8 19,851.919,905.820,247.219,997.6

Real Estate    3,588.1 3,905.24,461.05,313.45,520.2

Money Market    1,533.2 1,597.41,728.71,734.21,737.5

Total    67,057.6 66,183.565,577.067,091.265,885.1

General Account

Equity    245.3 246.4238.9299.1313.1

Fixed Income    79,806.0 79,756.579,928.179,605.078,265.7

Real Estate    — ————

Money Market    1,853.8 2,065.82,593.0308.892.4

Total    81,905.1 82,068.782,760.080,212.978,671.2

Combined Asset Type

Equity    63,426.1 61,560.859,136.959,192.958,077.3

Fixed Income    146,599.1 143,770.4143,086.4141,832.9138,555.3

Real Estate    3,588.1 3,905.24,461.05,313.45,520.2

Money Market    3,386.9 3,663.24,321.72,043.01,829.8

Total    217,000.2 212,899.6211,006.0208,382.2203,982.6

Annuities

Voya Financial Page 25 of 57 Annuities Sources of Operating Earnings and Key Metrics

Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Sources of operating earnings before income taxes:

Investment spread and other investment income    123.7 123.7144.8129.2131.7247.4246.8

Fee based margin    19.1 18.417.517.116.537.532.3

Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue    4.3 5.84.2—4.910.18.9

Administrative expenses    (30.0) (34.0)(25.7)(26.8)(26.1)(64.0)(54.4)

Trail commissions    (14.1) (13.5)(15.2)(12.5)(12.5)(27.6)(24.4)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization, excluding

unlocking    (43.8) (44.4)(54.8)(50.1)(56.3)(88.2)(108.3)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    6.6 7.513.856.414.414.122.4

Operating earnings before income taxes (2)    65.8 63.584.6113.372.6129.3123.3

Gross investment income

Fixed income    238.2 238.4246.9248.2250.6476.6505.0

Limited partnership income    4.1 1.04.61.1(1.6)5.1(3.6)

Prepayment fee income    5.9 3.516.515.016.69.421.6

Total gross investment income    248.2 242.9268.0264.3265.6491.1523.0

Investment expenses    (11.3) (11.5)(12.3)(11.6)(11.2)(22.8)(22.5)

Credited interest    (133.1) (132.2)(132.9)(138.1)(137.6)(265.3)(277.9)

Net margin    103.8 99.2122.8114.6116.8203.0222.6

Other investment income (1)    19.9 24.522.014.614.944.424.2

Investment spread and other investment income    123.7 123.7144.8129.2131.7247.4246.8

Assets Under Management by Fund Group

General account    22,062.5 21,991.121,888.021,792.221,840.622,062.521,840.6

Separate account    842.0 819.4781.5773.8750.9842.0750.9

Mutual funds    5,525.1 5,329.75,056.44,951.14,746.15,525.14,746.1

Total AUM    28,429.6 28,140.227,725.927,517.127,337.628,429.627,337.6

(1) Includes investment income on assets backing surplus that has been allocated from the corporate segment and income from policy loans.

(2) The three months ended 12/31/16 include $5.1 million of net investment income, $(1.7) million of DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization, and $1.1 million of DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking from Lehman Recovery.

Voya Financial Page 26 of 57 Annuities AUM Rollforward by Product Group

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Annual Reset Annuities/Multi-Year Guaranteed Annuities (AR/MYGA)

Assets Under Management, beginning of period    4,872.9 4,950.15,033.75,142.45,264.34,950.15,372.5

Deposits    8.2 6.55.77.57.914.717.1

Surrenders, benefits, and product charges    (115.7) (124.2)(130.5)(158.4)(172.9)(239.9)(334.4)

Net cash flow    (107.5) (117.7)(124.8)(150.9)(165.0)(225.2)(317.3)

Interest credited and investment performance    39.4 40.541.242.243.179.987.2

AR/MYGA, end of period    4,804.8 4,872.94,950.15,033.75,142.44,804.85,142.4

Fixed Indexed Annuities (FIA)

Assets Under Management, beginning of period    14,603.7 14,409.714,224.614,163.214,081.014,409.713,901.7

Deposits    435.4 458.0467.1353.0457.9893.4998.3

Surrenders, benefits, and product charges    (396.0) (378.1)(351.1)(361.7)(384.2)(774.1)(752.6)

Net cash flow    39.4 79.9116.0(8.7)73.7119.3245.7

Interest credited and investment performance    112.2 114.169.170.18.5226.315.8

FIA, end of period    14,755.3 14,603.714,409.714,224.614,163.214,755.314,163.2

Single Premium Immediate Annuity (SPIA) & Payout

Assets Under Management, beginning of period    2,818.0 2,822.82,832.92,832.32,825.72,822.82,822.8

Deposits    45.1 52.054.555.065.797.1137.0

Surrenders, benefits, and product charges    (99.1) (101.3)(100.1)(101.6)(99.0)(200.4)(197.5)

Net cash flow    (54.0) (49.3)(45.6)(46.6)(33.3)(103.3)(60.5)

Interest credited and investment performance    44.5 44.535.547.239.989.070.0

SPIA and Payout, end of period    2,808.5 2,818.02,822.82,832.92,832.32,808.52,832.3

Investment-only products (1)

Assets Under Management, beginning of period    5,440.6 5,151.45,030.94,809.74,620.15,151.44,536.0

Deposits    301.0 290.3283.9276.8268.1591.3502.9

Surrenders, benefits, and product charges    (238.9) (238.9)(194.0)(196.3)(179.4)(477.8)(348.5)

Net cash flow    62.1 51.489.980.588.7113.5154.4

Interest credited and investment performance    146.9 237.830.6140.7100.9384.7119.3

Investment-only Products, end of period    5,649.6 5,440.65,151.45,030.94,809.75,649.64,809.7

Other Annuities

Assets Under Management, beginning of period    405.0 391.9395.0390.0390.8391.9403.0

Deposits    1.1 1.20.50.61.02.31.9

Surrenders, benefits, and product charges    (7.8) (10.9)(11.9)(10.3)(10.6)(18.7)(19.5)

Net cash flow    (6.7) (9.7)(11.4)(9.7)(9.6)(16.4)(17.6)

Interest credited and investment performance    13.1 22.88.314.78.835.94.6

Other Annuities, end of period    411.4 405.0391.9395.0390.0411.4390.0

Annuities—Total AUM

Assets Under Management, beginning of period    28,140.2 27,725.927,517.127,337.627,181.727,725.927,035.8

Deposits    790.8 808.0811.7692.9800.71,598.81,657.5

Surrenders, benefits, and product charges    (857.5) (853.4)(787.6)(828.3)(846.1)(1,710.9)(1,652.6)

Net cash flow    (66.7) (45.4)24.1(135.4)(45.4)(112.1)4.9

Interest credited and investment performance    356.1 459.7184.7314.9201.3815.8296.9

Annuities—Total AUM, end of period    28,429.6 28,140.227,725.927,517.127,337.628,429.627,337.6

(1) Includes Separate account and Mutual funds.

Individual Life

Voya Financial Page 28 of 57 Individual Life Sources of Operating Earnings

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Sources of operating earnings before income taxes:

Investment spread and other investment income    59.9 59.272.759.159.7119.1116.4

Fee based margin    3.3 3.53.43.63.76.87.4

Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue    98.3 82.172.867.586.1180.4176.9

Administrative expenses    (49.5) (58.4)(56.2)(57.0)(55.3)(107.9)(116.7)

Trail commissions    (5.3) (6.8)(7.0)(6.5)(7.4)(12.1)(14.2)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization, excluding

unlocking    (43.4) (40.0)(35.2)(20.8)(32.5)(83.4)(66.5)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    (1.0) (7.9)(7.1)(122.1)(4.0)(8.9)(11.9)

Operating earnings before income taxes (2)    62.3 31.743.4(76.2)50.394.091.4

Gross Investment Income

Fixed income    201.5 199.1204.6204.6206.7400.6413.3

Limited partnership income    5.0 1.511.41.3(0.7)6.5(1.5)

Prepayment fee income    0.7 2.83.36.23.73.56.4

Total gross investment income    207.2 203.4219.3212.1209.7410.6418.2

Investment expenses    (6.6) (6.6)(7.5)(7.4)(6.7)(13.2)(13.3)

Credited interest    (149.9) (149.7)(150.4)(153.1)(150.8)(299.6)(300.5)

Net margin    50.7 47.161.451.652.297.8104.4

Other investment income (1)    9.2 12.111.37.57.521.312.0

Investment spread and other investment income    59.9 59.272.759.159.7119.1116.4

Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue

Fee revenue / Premiums    427.4 430.1429.9423.6425.4857.5851.0

Net mortality, including Reinsurance    (296.3) (331.2)(319.6)(312.7)(304.2)(627.5)(614.1)

Reserve change / Other    (32.8) (16.8)(37.5)(43.4)(35.1)(49.6)(60.0)

Total net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue    98.3 82.172.867.586.1180.4176.9

(1) Includes investment income on assets backing surplus that has been allocated from the corporate segment and income from policy loans.

(2) The three months ended 12/31/16 include $9.1 million of net investment income, $(3.5) million of DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization, and $2.4 million of DAC/ VOBA and other intangibles unlocking from Lehman Recovery.

Voya Financial Page 29 of 57 Individual Life Key Metrics

Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Sales by Product Line:

Indexed    16.9 20.719.819.723.137.640.4

Accumulation    0.7 1.11.00.91.31.83.1

Guaranteed    0.1 0.1———0.20.1

Total Universal life    17.7 21.920.820.624.439.643.6

Variable life    0.8 1.21.20.71.02.01.8

Term    (0.1) 1.92.62.63.01.86.5

Whole life    — ——————

Total sales by product line    18.4 25.024.623.928.443.451.9

Gross Premiums and Deposits by Product (1)

Interest sensitive    318.6 310.7327.8302.0308.4629.3605.1

Non—interest sensitive    134.3 136.6140.3140.6139.6270.9282.5

Total gross premiums and deposits    452.9 447.3468.1442.6448.0900.2887.6

Applications

New business policy count (Paid)    1,235 3,0453,3783,5263,9694,2808,220

End of Period:

In-Force Face Amount by Product (1)

Universal life    80,383 80,10879,55979,44379,13180,38379,131

Variable life    22,381 22,68123,06123,43023,87822,38123,878

Term    233,358 238,409242,608246,453249,561233,358249,561

Whole life    1,797 1,8061,8421,8711,8951,7971,895

Total in-force face amount    337,919 343,004347,070351,197354,465337,919354,465

In-Force Policy Count (in whole numbers) (1)

Universal life    253,596 256,269258,413260,777263,781253,596263,781

Variable life    53,383 54,18255,04855,77656,69553,38356,695

Term    439,629 448,250455,548462,001467,925439,629467,925

Whole life    113,272 115,886117,348118,913120,597113,272120,597

Total in-force policy count    859,880 874,587886,357897,467908,998859,880908,998

Assets Under Management by Fund Group (1)

General account    12,761.2 12,715.012,688.512,663.112,632.112,761.212,632.1

Separate account    2,656.9 2,625.72,532.92,529.92,473.42,656.92,473.4

Total AUM    15,418.1 15,340.715,221.415,193.015,105.515,418.115,105.5

(1) Excludes amounts transferred to third parties through reinsurance transactions.

Employee Benefits

Voya Financial Page 31 of 57 Employee Benefits Sources of Operating Earnings

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Sources of operating earnings before income taxes:

Investment spread and other investment income    12.5 11.715.413.512.524.222.7

Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue    101.0 91.892.0105.7102.3192.8198.1

Administrative expenses    (51.0) (54.5)(46.7)(46.6)(49.0)(105.5)(100.5)

Trail commissions    (32.3) (35.4)(26.4)(29.0)(28.2)(67.7)(56.2)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles amortization, excluding unlocking    (2.2) (2.5)(2.4)(2.1)(3.8)(4.7)(7.2)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    (1.0) (0.5)—(0.2)(1.5)(1.5)(3.8)

Operating earnings before income taxes (2)    27.0 10.631.941.332.337.653.1

Gross Investment Income

Fixed income    23.5 22.524.425.024.746.049.2

Limited partnership income    0.3 0.10.90.1(0.1)0.4(0.4)

Prepayment fee income    0.6 0.41.61.31.11.01.5

Total gross investment income    24.4 23.026.926.425.747.450.3

Investment expenses    (0.8) (1.0)(1.0)(0.9)(0.8)(1.8)(1.6)

Credited interest    (14.6) (14.8)(14.7)(14.7)(15.0)(29.4)(30.2)

Net margin    9.0 7.211.210.89.916.218.5

Other investment income    3.5 4.54.22.72.68.04.2

Investment spread and other investment income    12.5 11.715.413.512.524.222.7

Group life

Premiums    116.0 115.2122.2119.2119.4231.2243.0

Benefits    (81.8) (95.8)(89.7)(92.9)(87.1)(177.6)(191.5)

Other (1)    (2.2) (2.0)(2.2)(2.4)(2.3)(4.2)(4.3)

Total    32.0 17.430.323.930.049.447.2

Loss Ratio (Interest adjusted)    70.5% 83.2%73.4%77.9%72.9%76.8%78.8%

Group stop loss

Premiums    238.1 241.0211.3207.5206.6479.1415.8

Benefits    (203.7) (195.2)(173.5)(165.0)(158.6)(398.9)(316.1)

Other (1)    (0.9) (1.0)(0.8)(0.8)(0.8)(1.9)(1.6)

Total    33.5 44.837.041.747.278.398.1

Loss Ratio    85.6% 81.0%82.1%79.5%76.8%83.3%76.0%

Voluntary Benefits, Disability, and Other    35.5 29.624.640.025.065.152.7

Net underwriting gain (loss) and other revenue    101.0 91.892.0105.7102.3192.8198.1

(1) Includes service fees, dividends, interest expenses, and other miscellaneous expenses. The Loss Ratio calculation does not include Other. (2) The three months ended 12/31/16 include $1.0 million of net investment income from Lehman Recovery.

Voya Financial Page 32 of 57 Employee Benefits Key Metrics

Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Sales by Product Line:

Group life (Basic / Sup / AD&D)    11.3 29.85.18.15.141.148.0

Group stop loss    12.3 248.022.532.19.7260.3182.0

Disability    2.2 16.23.74.82.218.424.0

Association (Life, DI, PAI)    — 0.72.7——0.7—

Other (PAI)    — 0.10.1—0.10.10.2

Total group products    25.8 294.834.145.017.1320.6254.2

Voluntary products    10.1 45.68.99.48.255.738.1

Total sales by product line    35.9 340.443.054.425.3376.3292.3

Total gross premiums and deposits    451.9 458.0413.7412.0407.2909.9817.3

Total annualized in-force premiums    1,874.1 1,887.91,713.91,699.01,682.51,874.11,682.5

Assets Under Management by Fund Group

General account    1,848.8 1,786.41,776.21,800.91,794.71,848.81,794.7

Separate account    15.1 15.314.914.714.515.114.5

Total AUM    1,863.9 1,801.71,791.11,815.61,809.21,863.91,809.2

Corporate

Voya Financial Page 34 of 57 Corporate Operating Earnings

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/201712/31/20169/30/20166/30/20166/30/20176/30/2016

Interest expense (including interest rate swap settlements)    (48.9) (48.1)(47.5)(47.6)(49.0)(97.0)(97.7)

Amortization of intangibles    (9.6) (8.2)(8.9)(8.9)(9.1)(17.8)(18.2)

Strategic investment program (1)    (23.0) (19.8)(23.9)(28.9)(31.3)(42.8)(64.6)

Other    (7.3) 4.0(23.1)1.0(3.0)(3.3)18.9

Operating earnings before income taxes (2)    (88.8) (72.1)(103.4)(84.4)(92.4)(160.9)(161.6)

(1) In 2015, we announced that we would incur an incremental $350.0 million of expenses through 2018 for IT simplification, digital and analytics and cross-enterprise initiatives (“Strategic Investment Program”).

(2) This measure is a Non-GAAP financial measure. For an explanation of our use of Non-GAAP financial measures, refer the “Explanatory Note on Non-GAAP Financial Information” beginning on page 3 of this document. For a reconciliation of this item to the most directly comparable GAAP measure, refer to the “Reconciliations” section beginning on page 42 of this document.

Closed Block Variable Annuity

Voya Financial Page 36 of 57 Closed Block Variable Annuity Income (Loss) Before Income Taxes

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 6/30/2017 6/30/2016

Revenues

Net investment income    79.4 79.4 76.8 72.0 69.1 158.8 136.7

Fee income    212.7 238.8 244.8 252.4 249.1 451.5 494.7

Premiums    46.7 51.2 316.0 166.6 97.2 97.9 204.4

Net realized gains (losses)    (185.3) (426.5) (428.5) (219.8) (54.4) (611.8) (23.4)

Other revenues and premiums    0.5 1.0 0.4 0.5 1.0 1.5 2.6

Total revenues    154.0 (56.1) 209.5 271.7 362.0 97.9 815.0

Benefits and expenses

Interest credited and other benefits to contract

owners/policyholders    (102.2) (237.9) (740.1) (497.9) (193.7) (340.1) (490.5)

Operating expenses and interest expense    (71.5) (95.1) (97.6) (98.0) (98.4) (166.6) (197.0)

Net amortization of DAC/VOBA    (8.3) 2.0 (101.3) (3.8) (13.4) (6.3) (25.0)

Total benefits and expenses    (182.0) (331.0) (939.0) (599.7) (305.5) (513.0) (712.5)

Income (loss) before income taxes    (28.0) (387.1) (729.5) (328.0) 56.5 (415.1) 102.5

The following table presents notable items that result in

volatility in income (loss) before income taxes:

Net gains (losses) related to incurred guaranteed

benefits and Variable Annuity Hedge Program,

excluding nonperformance risk (1)    (158.1) (454.3) (152.9) (400.6) (364.4) (612.4) (948.2)

Gain (loss) due to nonperformance risk (1)    (57.9) (133.7) (443.7) (123.3) 221.2 (191.6) 642.4

Net investment gains (losses) (1)    4.6 (6.6) — 2.5 3.3 (2.0) 17.0

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking and loss

recognition (2)    0.1 13.3 (109.7) 9.4 (2.2) 13.4 (2.7)

(1) Excludes net amortization of DAC/VOBA and other intangibles.

(2) During the periods ended December 31, 2016, we recorded loss recognition in our CBVA segment of $321.0 million before income taxes, of which $103.8 million is

included in DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking.

Voya Financial Page 37 of 57 Closed Block Variable Annuity Death and Living Benefits and AUM

Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 6/30/2017 6/30/2016

Death and living benefits-account value

GMAB/GMWB    560 567 566 586 592 560 592

GMIB    9,122 9,182 10,120 10,864 11,054 9,122 11,054

GMWBL    13,818 13,837 13,608 13,921 13,810 13,818 13,810

No living benefits    8,689 8,725 8,618 8,780 8,723 8,689 8,723

Total (1)    32,189 32,311 32,912 34,151 34,179 32,189 34,179

Net Amount at Risk (NAR), after reinsurance

Total DB NAR    4,718 4,876 5,563 5,664 6,112 4,718 6,112

LB NAR

GMAB/GMWB    12 13 15 15 17 12 17

GMIB (2)    2,406 2,452 2,946 3,662 3,698 2,406 3,698

GMWBL(2)    1,996 1,992 2,210 3,219 3,444 1,996 3,444

Total LB NAR    4,414 4,457 5,171 6,896 7,159 4,414 7,159

Nonperformance Risk Adjustment (3)    (585) (643) (776) (1,220) (1,343) (585) (1,343)

Products in accumulation phase

Balance as of beginning of period    32,363.5 32,962.4 34,200.4 34,227.9 34,647.9 32,962.4 35,575.8

Deposits    16.1 20.5 16.0 15.5 21.5 36.6 49.6

Surrenders, benefits, and product charges    (939.5) (2,051.6) (1,407.2) (1,099.2) (920.8) (2,991.1) (1,806.1)

Net cash flow    (923.4) (2,031.1) (1,391.2) (1,083.7) (899.3) (2,954.5) (1,756.5)

Interest credited and investment performance    800.4 1,432.2 153.2 1,056.2 479.3 2,232.6 408.6

Balance as of end of period    32,240.5 32,363.5 32,962.4 34,200.4 34,227.9 32,240.5 34,227.9

End of period contracts in payout status    5,112.0 5,061.0 4,780.5 3,892.4 3,406.3 5,112.0 3,406.3

Total balance as of end of period (4)    37,352.5 37,424.5 37,742.9 38,092.8 37,634.2 37,352.5 37,634.2

Assets under management by fund group

General account    5,518.4 5,481.9 5,207.6 4,334.2 3,835.5 5,518.4 3,835.5

Separate account    31,834.1 31,942.6 32,535.3 33,758.6 33,798.7 31,834.1 33,798.7

Total AUM (4)    37,352.5 37,424.5 37,742.9 38,092.8 37,634.2 37,352.5 37,634.2

Excludes assets associated with Payout Reserves, Policy Loans, and Life Insurance Business.

GMIB and GMWBL values represent discounted net amount at risk.

Represents reduction to liabilities for the GMAB, GMWB, and GMWBL embedded derivatives.

Includes products in accumulation and payout phase, Policy Loans, and Life Insurance Business

Investment Information

Voya Financial Page 39 of 57

Portfolio Composition

Balances as of

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 6/30/2016

Composition of Investment Portfolio    Amount % of Total Amount % of Total Amount % of Total Amount % of Total Amount % of Total

Fixed maturities, available for sale, at fair value, after consolidation    70,239.0 74.8% 69,139.2 74.8% 69,468.7 75.0% 72,644.1 74.6% 71,015.5 74.2%

Fixed maturities, at fair value using the fair value option    3,774.9 4.0% 3,678.9 4.0% 3,712.3 4.0% 3,903.5 4.0% 3,985.3 4.2%

Equity securities, available for sale, before consolidation    304.0 N/M 297.6 N/M 274.2 N/M 396.5 N/M 391.6 N/M

VOE Adjustments    — N/M — N/M — N/M (111.2) N/M (115.5) N/M

Equity securities, available for sale, at fair value    304.0 0.3% 297.6 0.3% 274.2 0.3% 285.3 0.3% 276.1 0.3%

Short-term investments    533.6 0.6% 578.2 0.6% 821.0 0.9% 1,346.8 1.4% 1,280.2 1.3%

Mortgage loans on real estate    12,689.7 13.5% 12,385.8 13.4% 11,725.2 12.7% 11,475.7 11.8% 11,209.4 11.7%

Policy loans    1,906.0 2.0% 1,934.9 2.1% 1,961.5 2.1% 1,995.6 2.0% 1,998.5 2.1%

Limited partnerships/corporations, before consolidation    1,386.4 N/M 1,313.4 N/M 1,235.4 N/M 1,191.1 N/M 1,110.9 N/M

CLO/VOEs Adjustments (1)    (456.9) N/M (486.7) N/M (476.8) N/M (492.3) N/M (477.3) N/M

Limited partnerships/corporations, after consolidation    929.5 1.0% 826.7 0.9% 758.6 0.8% 698.8 0.7% 633.6 0.7%

Derivatives    1,396.6 1.5% 1,303.5 1.4% 1,712.4 1.8% 2,731.4 2.8% 2,948.6 3.1%

Other investments    54.0 0.1% 43.3 0.1% 47.4 0.1% 77.7 0.1% 89.7 0.1%

Securities pledged to creditors    2,023.9 2.2% 2,187.3 2.4% 2,157.1 2.3% 2,193.5 2.3% 2,202.3 2.3%

Total investments, after consolidation    93,851.2 100.0% 92,375.4 100.0% 92,638.4 100.0% 97,352.4 100.0% 95,639.2 100.0%

Fixed Maturity Securities—Security Sector (2)

U.S. Government agencies and authorities    3,885.0 5.1% 3,913.3 5.2% 4,188.3 5.5% 4,191.9 5.3% 4,378.9 5.7%

U.S. Corporate—Public    33,448.2 44.0% 33,426.4 44.6% 33,691.7 44.7% 35,601.3 45.2% 35,495.7 45.9%

U.S. Corporate—Private    8,501.3 11.2% 8,062.2 10.8% 7,808.0 10.4% 7,684.9 9.8% 7,181.2 9.3%

Foreign Government / Agency    1,148.2 1.5% 1,068.5 1.4% 1,023.8 1.4% 1,043.1 1.3% 1,019.3 1.3%

Foreign Corporate—Public    7,223.7 9.5% 7,196.5 9.6% 7,055.6 9.4% 7,378.7 9.4% 7,170.0 9.3%

Foreign Corporate—Private    7,772.1 10.2% 7,832.7 10.4% 7,785.8 10.3% 7,907.3 10.1% 7,701.2 10.0%

State, municipalities and political subdivisions    2,392.4 3.1% 2,294.1 3.1% 2,135.6 2.8% 2,126.1 2.7% 1,906.0 2.5%

Residential mortgaged-backed securities:

CMO-B Agency    3,211.0 4.2% 3,174.1 4.3% 3,247.2 4.3% 3,489.6 4.4% 3,535.9 4.6%

CMO-B Non-Agency    1,031.7 1.4% 780.7 1.0% 729.5 1.0% 769.8 1.0% 708.4 0.9%

Agency    1,794.8 2.4% 2,191.0 2.9% 2,321.6 3.1% 2,669.0 3.4% 2,368.8 3.1%

Non-Agency (3)    851.9 1.1% 749.7 1.0% 786.0 1.0% 952.7 1.2% 930.8 1.2%

Total Residential mortgage-backed securities    6,889.4 9.1% 6,895.5 9.2% 7,084.3 9.4% 7,881.1 10.0% 7,543.9 9.8%

Commercial mortgage-backed securities    3,308.7 4.4% 3,105.7 4.1% 3,358.9 4.5% 4,023.9 5.1% 4,077.8 5.3%

Other asset-backed securities (3)    1,468.8 1.9% 1,210.5 1.6% 1,206.1 1.6% 902.8 1.1% 729.1 0.9%

Total fixed maturities, including securities pledged (5)    76,037.8 100.0% 75,005.4 100.0% 75,338.1 100.0% 78,741.1 100.0% 77,203.1 100.0%

Fixed Maturity Securities—Contractual Maturity Dates

Due to mature:

Due in one year or less    2,205.0 2.9% 2,248.8 3.0% 2,513.7 3.3% 2,168.6 2.8% 1,931.5 2.5%

Due after one year through five years    13,928.3 18.3% 14,171.8 18.9% 13,845.2 18.4% 14,325.3 18.2% 14,572.6 18.9%

Due after five years through ten years    18,563.0 24.4% 18,335.9 24.4% 19,303.8 25.6% 20,135.4 25.6% 19,955.8 25.8%

Due after ten years    29,674.6 39.0% 29,037.2 38.7% 28,026.1 37.2% 29,304.0 37.2% 28,392.4 36.8%

CMO-B    4,242.7 5.6% 3,954.8 5.3% 3,976.7 5.3% 4,259.4 5.4% 4,244.3 5.5%

Mortgage-backed securities    5,955.4 7.9% 6,046.4 8.1% 6,466.5 8.6% 7,645.6 9.7% 7,377.4 9.6%

Other asset-backed securities (3)    1,468.8 1.9% 1,210.5 1.6% 1,206.1 1.6% 902.8 1.1% 729.1 0.9%

Total fixed maturities, including securities pledged (5)    76,037.8 100.0% 75,005.4 100.0% 75,338.1 100.0% 78,741.1 100.0% 77,203.1 100.0%

Fixed Maturity Securities—NAIC Quality Designation

1    43,760.4 57.6% 43,560.5 58.1% 44,387.7 58.9% 46,271.2 58.8% 45,460.3 58.9%

2    28,883.4 38.0% 28,036.7 37.4% 27,469.2 36.5% 28,679.0 36.4% 28,111.1 36.4%

3    2,621.7 3.4% 2,683.0 3.5% 2,699.1 3.6% 2,914.1 3.7% 2,730.6 3.5%

4    558.0 0.7% 513.0 0.7% 501.5 0.7% 594.6 0.7% 616.5 0.8%

5    70.0 0.1% 67.6 0.1% 101.5 0.1% 68.8 0.1% 78.6 0.1%

6    144.3 0.2% 144.6 0.2% 179.1 0.2% 213.4 0.3% 206.0 0.3%

Total fixed maturities, including securities pledged (4) (5)    76,037.8 100.0% 75,005.4 100.0% 75,338.1 100.0% 78,741.1 100.0% 77,203.1 100.0%

Fixed Maturity Securities—ARO Quality Rating

AAA    13,840.6 18.2% 13,981.4 18.6% 14,394.8 19.1% 14,961.3 19.0% 14,677.0 19.0%

AA    5,199.2 6.8% 5,374.8 7.2% 5,359.4 7.1% 5,726.4 7.3% 5,338.0 6.9%

A    23,119.3 30.4% 22,593.7 30.1% 22,902.4 30.4% 23,705.5 30.1% 23,527.4 30.5%

BBB    29,011.7 38.2% 28,434.7 37.9% 27,926.5 37.1% 29,210.9 37.1% 28,589.9 37.0%

BB    2,828.5 3.7% 2,849.2 3.8% 2,880.1 3.8% 3,099.0 3.9% 3,180.9 4.1%

B and below    2,038.5 2.7% 1,771.6 2.4% 1,874.9 2.5% 2,038.0 2.6% 1,889.9 2.5%

Total fixed maturities, including securities pledged (5)    76,037.8 100.0% 75,005.4 100.0% 75,338.1 100.0% 78,741.1 100.0% 77,203.1 100.0%

(1) Adjustments include the elimination of intercompany transactions between the Company and its consolidated investment entities, primarily the elimination of the Company’s equity at risk recorded as investments by the Company (before consolidation) against either equity (private equity and real estate partnership funds) or senior and subordinated debt (CLOs) of the funds.

(2) Fixed Maturity Securities includes fixed maturities,available for sale , fixed maturities at fair value using the fair value option and securities pledged to creditors. (3) Subprime asset-backed securities are included as a component of Non-Agency RMBS under this presentation.

(4) ARO ratings do not directly translate into NAIC ratings.

(5) Includes fixed maturities securities related to businesses exited through reinsurance where assets are retained on the Company’s balance sheet.

Voya Financial Page 40 of 57 Portfolio Results

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 6/30/2017 6/30/2016

Net     Net Net Net Net Net Net

Operating investment income and    Investment Annualized Investment Annualized Investment Annualized Investment Annualized Investment Annualized Investment Annualized Investment Annualized

annualized yield (5)    Income Yield Income Yield Income Yield Income Yield Income Yield Income Yield Income Yield

Fixed maturity securities (1)    827.0 4.84% 831.0 4.82% 842.4 4.89% 847.1 4.97% 859.5 5.07% 1,658.0 4.83% 1,723.1 5.10%

Equity securities    2.4 5.21% 9.7 22.59% 2.1 4.65% 5.3 10.14% 5.5 10.30% 12.1 13.54% 8.9 8.37%

Mortgage loans    135.8 4.41% 130.8 4.44% 127.7 4.51% 126.4 4.55% 122.5 4.47% 266.6 4.42% 245.4 4.57%

Limited partnerships    66.9 21.49% 40.6 13.29% 63.2 23.06% 16.2 5.71% (8.1) (2.93)% 107.5 17.43% (42.2) (7.43)%

Policy loans    24.6 5.30% 24.7 5.23% 26.4 5.52% 25.7 5.29% 26.1 5.36% 49.3 5.27% 52.1 5.34%

Short-term investments    1.5 0.20% 2.5 0.34% 1.3 0.16% 0.6 0.07% 1.8 0.16% 4.0 0.27% 3.2 0.14%

Derivatives (1)    13.3 N/A 7.5 N/A 12.5 N/A 10.6 N/A 10.8 N/A 20.8 N/A 21.0 N/A

Prepayment fee income    13.0 0.06% 13.2 0.06% 37.3 0.17% 40.6 0.18% 43.7 0.20% 26.2 0.06% 59.8 0.14%

Other assets    2.2 N/A 7.7 N/A 6.8 N/A 4.0 N/A 1.5 N/A 9.9 N/A 2.0 N/A

Gross investment income before expenses

and fees    1,086.7 4.99% 1,067.7 4.90% 1,119.7 5.16% 1,076.5 4.99% 1,063.3 4.92% 2,154.4 4.95% 2,073.3 4.81%

Expenses and fees    (42.8) -0.20% (45.7) -0.21% (45.1) -0.21% (47.0) -0.22% (43.7) -0.21% (88.5) -0.21% (85.6) -0.20%

Total investment income and annualized

yield    1,043.9 4.79% 1,022.0 4.69% 1,074.6 4.95% 1,029.5 4.77% 1,019.6 4.71% 2,065.9 4.74% 1,987.7 4.61%

Less: Closed Block Variable Annuity (CBVA)

investment income net of expenses and

fees    79.4 79.4 76.8 72.0 69.1 158.8 136.7

Total investment income, excluding CBVA    964.5 942.6 997.8 957.5 950.5 1,907.1 1,851.0

Trading gains/losses (5)

Fixed maturities    21.4 (36.0) (10.6) 5.5 (14.6) (14.6) (71.7)

Equity securities    — — 0.8 — 0.2 — 0.2

Mortgage loans    0.8 — (0.1) (0.1) 0.4 0.8 0.3

Other investments    (0.6) (0.5) (0.3) (0.6) (0.5) (1.1) (0.5)

Total trading gains/losses, excluding CBVA    21.6 (36.5) (10.2) 4.8 (14.5) (14.9) (71.7)

Impairments (5)

Fixed maturities    (1.4) (3.0) (13.9) (12.1) (4.0) (4.4) (14.7)

Equity securities    — — — — — — —

Mortgage loans    — — — — — — —

Other investments    — — — — — — —

Total impairments, excluding CBVA    (1.4) (3.0) (13.9) (12.1) (4.0) (4.4) (14.7)

Fair value adjustments (2)    16.2 (24.4) (121.9) (6.7) 41.1 (8.2) 99.2

Derivatives, including change in fair value

of derivatives related to guaranteed

benefits, excluding CBVA    6.1 71.2 (55.3) (52.0) (26.3) 77.3 8.7

Net realized investment gains (losses) and

Net guaranteed benefit hedging gains

(losses), excluding CBVA (5)    42.5 7.3 (201.3) (66.0) (3.7) 49.8 21.5

CBVA investment income and realized

capital gains (losses)    (105.9) (347.1) (351.7) (147.8) 14.7 (453.0) 113.3

Businesses exited through reinsurance (3)    51.8 23.6 (59.4) 31.3 68.9 75.4 130.1

Consolidation/eliminations (4)    (4.3) 23.5 (2.1) 20.7 43.5 19.2 62.8

Total investment income and realized

capital gains (losses)    948.6 649.9 383.3 795.7 1,073.9 1,598.5 2,178.7

(1) Operating income from CMO-B portfolio assets, including derivatives, is included in fixed maturity securities.

(2) Fair value adjustments include adjustments related to CMO-B assets carried at fair value, among other income sources.

(3) Income related to reinsurance transactions, in which investment results are passed directly to the reinsurers pursuant to contracted terms of the reinsurance agreement.

(4) Includes i) the impact of consolidation of investment entities into the Consolidated Statements of Operations, net of the elimination of the Company’s management fees expensed by the funds and recorded as operating revenues (before consolidation) by the Company, ii) the elimination of intersegment expenses, primarily consisting of asset-based management and administration fees charged by our Investment Management Segment, iii) and other intersegment eliminations.

(5) Investment results related to businesses exited through reinsurance are excluded.

Voya Financial Page 41 of 57 Alternative Investment Income

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 6/30/2017 6/30/2016

Retirement

Average alternative investments    523.4 493.6 473.9 438.4 424.2 508.5 420.7

Alternative investment income    12.5 15.3 15.8 7.7 0.6 27.8 (7.3)

Investment Management

Average alternative investments    220.6 209.2 184.5 180.2 175.4 214.9 180.5

Alternative investment income (1)    35.2 8.7 8.5 4.1 (8.6) 43.9 (23.3)

Annuities

Average alternative investments    303.3 283.5 274.1 263.5 256.6 293.4 258.1

Alternative investment income    9.0 7.9 8.8 4.8 0.1 16.9 (4.8)

Individual Life

Average alternative investments    252.1 220.4 206.6 191.2 173.9 236.2 177.6

Alternative investment income    7.5 5.0 7.2 3.4 0.2 12.5 (2.5)

Employee Benefits

Average alternative investments    50.3 46.4 42.0 42.5 41.2 48.3 41.2

Alternative investment income    1.3 1.5 1.5 0.8 0.2 2.8 (0.6)

Corporate

Average alternative investments    1.6 1.6 2.1 5.7 7.9 1.6 8.1

Alternative investment income    — — — — 0.1 — —

Total Consolidated (2)(3)

Average alternative investments    1,351.3 1,254.7 1,183.2 1,121.5 1,079.2 1,302.9 1,086.2

Alternative investment income    65.5 38.4 41.8 20.8 (7.4) 103.9 (38.5)

(1) Includes performance fees related to sponsored private equity funds (“carried interest”) that are subject to later reversal based on subsequent fund performance, to the extent that cumulative rates of investment return fall below specified investment hurdle rates. Should the market value of a portfolio increase in future periods, reversals of carried interest could be fully or partially recovered. For the three and six months ended June 30, 2017, our carried interest net results included the recovery (gain) of $28.4 million of carried interest reversed in prior periods. For the three and six months ended June 30, 2016, our carried interest net results included the reversal (loss) of approximately $12.5 million and $30.2 million, respectively, in previously accrued carried interest.

(2) Our Closed Block Variable Annuity segment is managed to focus on protecting regulatory and rating agency capital rather than achieving operating metrics and, therefore, its results of operations are not reflected within investment income.

(3) The investment income on alternative investments shown above excludes the net investment income from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC.

Reconciliations

Voya Financial Page 43 of 57 Reconciliation of Consolidated Statements of Operations

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 6/30/2017 6/30/2016

Revenues

Net investment income    1,142.4 1,155.5 1,188.1 1,163.4 1,175.2 2,297.9 2,269.3

Fee income    838.2 850.8 849.4 857.9 826.7 1,689.0 1,652.5

Premiums    577.1 591.6 1,109.5 726.7 711.6 1,168.7 1,678.4

Net realized capital gains (losses)    (193.8) (505.6) (804.8) (367.7) (101.3) (699.4) (90.6)

Income (loss) related to consolidated investment entities    128.7 27.3 103.0 57.7 (0.8) 156.0 28.3

Other revenues    96.2 93.8 103.2 90.5 84.6 190.0 167.4

Total revenues    2,588.8 2,213.4 2,548.4 2,528.5 2,696.0 4,802.2 5,705.3

Benefits and expenses

Interest credited and other benefits to contract owners/policyholders    (1,357.3) (1,478.0) (2,181.2) (1,906.9) (1,549.7) (2,835.3) (3,425.4)

Operating expenses    (691.7) (738.8) (777.1) (723.6) (716.4) (1,430.5) (1,436.6)

Net amortization of DAC/VOBA    (234.2) (92.7) (169.8) (180.7) (98.0) (326.9) (200.5)

Interest expense    (44.6) (45.9) (45.2) (45.4) (149.7) (90.5) (197.4)

Operating expenses related to consolidated investment entities    (29.9) (17.4) (27.0) (27.8) (29.1) (47.3) (51.0)

Total benefits and expenses    (2,357.7) (2,372.8) (3,200.3) (2,884.4) (2,542.9) (4,730.5) (5,310.9)

Income (loss) before income taxes    231.1 (159.4) (651.9) (355.9) 153.1 71.7 394.4

Income tax (expense) benefit    (11.9) 17.0 161.4 119.4 (17.1) 5.1 (66.1)

Net income (loss)    219.2 (142.4) (490.5) (236.5) 136.0 76.8 328.3

Less:

Income tax (expense) benefit    (11.9) 17.0 161.4 119.4 (17.1) 5.1 (66.1)

Closed Block Variable Annuity    (28.0) (387.1) (729.5) (328.0) 56.5 (415.1) 102.5

Net investment gains (losses) and related charges and adjustments    3.4 (26.3) 9.8 (65.6) (24.7) (22.9) (85.1)

Net guaranteed benefit hedging gains (losses) and related charges

and adjustments    24.9 41.5 (142.9) (53.5) 21.2 66.4 114.7

Income (loss) related to businesses exited through reinsurance or

divestment    0.8 (5.3) (16.9) 1.3 0.5 (4.5) 2.1

Income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interests    52.0 1.1 42.5 11.6 (25.5) 53.1 (24.8)

Income (loss) on early extinguishment of debt    — (0.7) — (0.1) (102.4) (0.7) (104.1)

Immediate recognition of net actuarial gains (losses) related to

pension and other postretirement benefit obligations and gains

(losses) from plan amendments and curtailments    — — (48.1) (7.1) — — —

Other adjustments to operating earnings (1)    (6.1) (13.7) (30.8) (22.9) (7.6) (19.8) (15.8)

Operating earnings before income taxes    184.1 231.1 264.0 108.4 235.1 415.2 404.9

(1) Includes restructuring expenses (severance, lease write-offs, etc.) and expenses associated with the rebranding of Voya Financial, Inc. from ING U.S., Inc.

Voya Financial Page 44 of 57 Reconciliation of Operating Revenues by Segment

Three Months Ended Year-to-Date

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 6/30/2017 6/30/2016

Operating revenues

Retirement    629.8 625.2 923.2 673.8 722.3 1,255.0 1,660.0

Investment Management    203.3 171.4 189.1 163.0 142.4 374.7 274.6

Annuities    298.1 301.4 321.0 310.6 319.1 599.5 622.1

Individual Life    628.6 630.0 640.9 637.7 624.9 1,258.6 1,248.9

Employee Benefits    442.9 446.2 410.0 405.9 400.8 889.1 800.5

Corporate    14.4 14.4 21.6 24.9 32.9 28.8 61.6

Total operating revenues    2,217.1 2,188.6 2,505.8 2,215.9 2,242.4 4,405.7 4,667.7

Adjustments

Closed Block Variable Annuity    154.0 (56.1) 209.5 271.7 362.0 97.9 815.0

Net realized investment gains (losses) and related

charges and adjustments    (1.2) (39.1) (5.0) (12.8) (39.6) (40.3) (147.3)

Gain (loss) on change in fair value of derivatives

related to guaranteed benefits    43.2 46.4 (196.4) (51.1) 35.6 89.6 165.7

Revenues (losses) related to business exited through

reinsurance or divestment    48.4 20.4 (61.0) 32.3 66.1 68.8 124.6

Revenues (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interests    81.8 18.5 67.8 39.3 3.5 100.3 26.0

Other adjustments to operating revenues (1)    45.5 34.7 27.7 33.2 26.0 80.2 53.6

Total revenue    2,588.8 2,213.4 2,548.4 2,528.5 2,696.0 4,802.2 5,705.3

(1) Includes fee income earned by the Company’s broker-dealers for sales of non-proprietary products, which are reflected net of commission expense in the Company’s segments’ operating revenues, other items where the income is passed on to third parties and the elimination of intercompany investment expenses included in operating revenues.

Voya Financial Page 45 of 57 Reconciliation of Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Earnings to Net Income (Loss)

Three Months Ended     Twelve Months Ended

(in millions USD)    6/30/2017 3/31/2017 6/30/2016 6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 6/30/2016

Net Income (loss)    219.2 (142.4) 136.0 (650.2) (733.4) (398.7) (68.6) 284.1

Less: Net income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling

interest    52.0 1.1 (25.5) 107.2 29.7 29.3 (66.8) (2.5)

Net Income (loss) available to Voya Financial, Inc.‘s

common shareholders    167.2 (143.5) 161.5 (757.4) (763.1) (428.0) (1.8) 286.6

Less: Adjustments to operating earnings

Closed Block Variable Annuity    (28.0) (387.1) 56.5 (1,472.6) (1,388.1) (955.0) (542.8) (221.9)

Net Investment gains (losses) and related charges and

adjustments    3.4 (26.3) (24.7) (78.7) (106.8) (140.9) (210.4) (209.4)

Other adjustments    19.6 21.8 (88.3) (279.6) (387.5) (324.1) (186.5) (165.1)

Total Adjustments to operating earnings before tax effect    (5.0) (391.6) (56.5) (1,830.9) (1,882.4) (1,420.0) (939.7) (596.4)

Income taxes on adjustments to operating earnings (1)    1.8 137.1 19.8 640.9 658.9 497.0 328.9 208.7

Total Adjustments to operating earnings, after tax(1)    (3.2) (254.5) (36.7) (1,190.0) (1,223.5) (923.0) (610.8) (387.7)

Less: Difference between actual tax (expense) benefit

and assumed tax rate    45.2 (46.1) 38.3 (102.9) (109.8) (33.6) 63.8 109.7

Operating earnings, after-tax (1)    125.2 157.1 159.9 535.5 570.2 528.6 545.2 564.6

Less: Income taxes (1)    (58.9) (74.0) (75.2) (252.1) (268.4) (248.7) (256.5) (265.7)

Total operating earnings before income taxes    184.1 231.1 235.1 787.6 838.6 777.3 801.7 830.3

Less: Corporate    (88.8) (72.1) (92.4) (348.7) (352.3) (349.4) (326.1) (314.7)

Operating earnings before income taxes for Ongoing

Business    272.9 303.2 327.5 1,136.3 1,190.9 1,126.7 1,127.8 1,145.0

Less: DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (2)    (109.0) 12.5 19.6 (237.3) (108.7) (121.6) (92.9) (46.0)

Less: Other Operating Adjustments (3)    — — — 20.4 20.4 20.4 2.6 —

Ongoing Business adjusted operating earnings before

income taxes    381.9 290.7 307.9 1,353.2 1,279.2 1,227.9 1,218.1 1,191.0

(1) Assumes a 32% tax rate on operating earnings and all components of operating earnings described as “after-tax.” A 35% tax rate is applied to all non-operating items. The 32% tax rate for operating earnings and components reflects the estimated benefit of the dividend received deduction related to Ongoing Business.

(2) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking excludes unlocking on net investment income from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC. (3) See page 3 for a description of the Other Operating Adjustments.

Voya Financial Page 46 of 57 Reconciliation of Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Earnings to Net Income (Loss)

Twelve Months Ended

(in millions USD)    12/31/2015 12/31/2014 12/31/2013 12/31/2012

Net Income (loss)    538.6 2,532.7 788.6 628.2

Less: Net income (loss) attributable to noncontrolling interest    130.3 237.7 190.1 138.2

Net Income (loss) available to Voya Financial, Inc.‘s common

shareholders    408.3 2,295.0 598.5 490.0

Less: Adjustments to operating earnings

Closed Block Variable Annuity    (173.3) (239.2) (1,211.3) (675.3)

Net Investment gains (losses) and related charges and

adjustments    (83.3) 215.1 212.1 455.5

Other adjustments    (266.7) (643.0) 296.6 (213.7)

Total Adjustments to operating earnings before tax effect    (523.3) (667.1) (702.6) (433.5)

Income taxes on adjustments to operating earnings (1)    183.2 233.5 245.9 151.7

Total Adjustments to operating earnings, after tax(1)    (340.1) (433.6) (456.7) (281.8)

Less: Difference between actual tax (expense) benefit and

assumed tax rate    83.7 1,928.7 230.6 174.9

Operating earnings, after-tax (1)    664.7 799.9 824.6 596.9

Less: Income taxes (1)    (312.8) (430.7) (444.0) (321.4)

Total operating earnings before income taxes    977.5 1,230.6 1,268.6 918.3

Less: Corporate    (236.8) (145.7) (160.0) (72.6)

Operating earnings before income taxes for Ongoing Business    1,214.3 1,376.3 1,428.6 990.9

Less: DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking (2)    (67.5) (21.6) 133.2 (77.0)

Less: Other Operating Adjustments (3)    — 20.0 83.6 (25.3)

Ongoing Business adjusted operating earnings before income

taxes    1,281.8 1,377.9 1,211.8 1,093.2

(1) Assumes a 32% tax rate for 2015 and later and 35% tax rate for 2014 and earlier on operating earnings and all components of operating earnings described as “after-tax.” A 35% tax rate is applied to all non-operating items. The 32% tax rate for operating earnings and components reflects the estimated benefit of the dividend received deduction related to Ongoing Business.

(2) DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking excludes unlocking on net investment income from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC. (3) See page 3 for a description of Other Operating Adjustments.

Voya Financial Page 47 of 57 Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings; Adjusted Operating Return on Capital

Twelve Months Ended June 30, 2017

Closed

Block

Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated

Operating earnings before income taxes    386.6 250.5 327.2 61.2 110.8 1,136.3 (348.7) 787.6

Less:

Interest expense    — — — — — — (192.1) (192.1)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    (178.3) 83.2 (140.5) (1.7) (237.3) — (237.3)

Gain on Lehman Recovery    4.1 2.8 4.5 8.0 1.0 20.4 0.3 20.7

Adjusted operating earnings before interest    560.8 247.7 239.5 193.7 111.5 1,353.2 — (156.9) 1,196.3

Income tax expense    179.5 79.3 76.6 62.0 35.7 433.1 (50.2) 382.9

Adjusted operating earnings before interest

and after income taxes    381.3 168.4 162.9 131.7 75.8 920.1 — (106.7) 813.4

Average Capital    3,974 300 1,499 1,749 365 7,887 2,378 4,404 14,669

Adjusted Operating Return on Capital    9.6% 56.1% 10.9% 7.5% 20.8% 11.7% N/M N/M 5.5%

Twelve Months Ended March 31, 2017

Closed

Block

Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated

Operating earnings before income taxes    494.2 197.4 334.0 49.2 116.1 1,190.9 (352.3) 838.6

Less:

Interest expense    — — — — — — (192.2) (192.2)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    (54.0) — 91.0 (143.5) (2.2) (108.7) — (108.7)

Gain on Lehman Recovery    4.1 2.8 4.5 8.0 1.0 20.4 0.3 20.7

Adjusted operating earnings before interest    544.1 194.6 238.5 184.7 117.3 1,279.2 — (160.4) 1,118.8

Income tax expense    174.1 62.3 76.3 59.1 37.5 409.3 (51.3) 358.0

Adjusted operating earnings before interest

and after income taxes    370.0 132.3 162.2 125.6 79.8 869.9 — (109.1) 760.8

Average Capital    3,982 295 1,524 1,893 370 8,064 2,745 4,190 14,999

Adjusted Operating Return on Capital    9.3% 44.8% 10.6% 6.6% 21.6% 10.8% N/M N/M 5.1%

Voya Financial Page 48 of 57 Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings; Adjusted Operating Return on Capital

Twelve Months Ended December 31, 2016

Closed

Block

Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated

Operating earnings before income taxes    449.8 170.8 321.2 58.6 126.3 1,126.7 (349.4) 777.3

Less:

Interest expense     — (192.8) (192.8)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    (65.6) — 91.5 (143.5) (4.0) (121.6) — (121.6)

Gain on Lehman Recovery    4.1 2.8 4.5 8.0 1.0 20.4 0.3 20.7

Adjusted operating earnings before interest    511.3 168.0 225.2 194.1 129.3 1,227.9 — (156.9) 1,071.0

Income tax expense    163.6 53.8 72.1 62.1 41.4 393.0 (50.2) 342.8

Adjusted operating earnings before interest

and after income taxes    347.7 114.2 153.1 132.0 87.9 834.9 — (106.7) 728.2

Average Capital    3,964 297 1,561 2,015 378 8,215 3,006 4,059 15,280

Adjusted Operating Return on Capital    8.8% 38.5% 9.8% 6.6% 23.3% 10.2% N/M N/M 4.8%

Twelve Months Ended September 30, 2016

Closed

Block

Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated

Operating earnings before income taxes    444.3 148.4 299.5 117.6 118.0 1,127.8 (326.1) 801.7

Less:

Interest expense     (193.8) (193.8)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    (49.9) — 89.7 (128.5) (4.2) (92.9) — (92.9)

Gain on Lehman Recovery    — 2.6 — — — 2.6 — 2.6

Adjusted operating earnings before interest    494.2 145.8 209.8 246.1 122.2 1,218.1 — (132.3) 1,085.8

Income tax expense    158.1 46.7 67.1 78.8 39.1 389.8 (42.3) 347.5

Adjusted operating earnings before interest

and after income taxes    336.1 99.1 142.7 167.3 83.1 828.3 — (90.0) 738.3

Average Capital (1)    3,951 309 1,608 2,058 386 8,312 3,119 4,026 15,457

Adjusted Operating Return on Capital    8.5% 32.1% 8.9% 8.1% 21.5% 10.0% N/M N/M 4.8%

(1) Includes capital impacts related to the 2015 Term Life Coinsurance Agreement in our Individual Life segment effective 10/1/2015

Voya Financial Page 49 of 57 Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings; Adjusted Operating Return on Capital

Twelve Months Ended June 30, 2016

Closed

Block

Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated

Operating earnings before income taxes    461.9 142.5 236.7 183.0 120.9 1,145.0 (314.7) 830.3

Less:

Interest expense     (194.3) (194.3)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    (24.0) — 20.4 (35.8) (6.6) (46.0) — (46.0)

Net gain from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC    — — — — — — 1.6 1.6

Adjusted operating earnings before interest    485.9 142.5 216.3 218.8 127.5 (1,191.0) — (122.0) 1,069.0

Income tax expense    155.5 45.6 69.2 70.0 40.8 381.1 (39.0) 342.1

Adjusted operating earnings before

interest and after income taxes    330.4 96.9 147.1 148.8 86.7 809.9 — (83.0) 726.9

Average Capital (1)    3,957 325 1,656 2,127 388 8,453 3,088 4,068 15,609

Adjusted Operating Return on Capital    8.3% 29.8% 8.9% 7.0% 22.3% 9.6% N/M N/M 4.7%

Twelve Months Ended December 31, 2015

Closed

Block

Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated

Operating earnings before income taxes    470.6 181.9 243.0 172.7 146.1 1,214.3 — (236.8) 977.5

Less:

Interest expense    — — — — — — — (194.5) (194.5)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    (37.2) — 12.5 (38.4) (4.4) (67.5) — — (67.5)

Gain on Lehman Recovery    — — — — — — — 1.6 1.6

Adjusted operating earnings before interest    507.8 181.9 230.5 211.1 150.5 1,281.8 — (43.9) 1,237.9

Income tax expense    162.5 58.2 73.8 67.6 48.2 410.3 — (14.0) 396.3

Adjusted operating earnings before

interest and after income taxes    345.3 123.7 156.7 143.5 102.3 871.5 — (29.9) 841.6

Average Capital (1)    3,965 329 1,689 2,327 387 8,697 2,803 4,467 15,967

Adjusted Operating Return on Capital    8.7% 37.6% 9.3% 6.2% 26.5% 10.0% N/M N/M 5.3%

(1) Includes capital impacts related to the 2015 Term Life Coinsurance Agreement in our Individual Life segment effective 10/1/2015

Voya Financial Page 50 of 57 Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings; Adjusted Operating Return on Capital

Twelve Months Ended December 31, 2014

Closed

Block

Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Other Consolidated

Operating earnings before income taxes    517.8 210.3 262.0 237.3 148.9 1,376.3 — (145.7) 1,230.6

Less:

Interest expense    — — — — — — — (188.0) (188.0)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    (30.0) — 26.4 (10.2) (7.8) (21.6) — — (21.6)

Gain on reinsurance recapture (3)    — — — 20.0 — 20.0 — — 20.0

Net gain from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC    — — — — — — — 4.0 4.0

Adjusted operating earnings before interest    547.8 210.3 235.6 227.5 156.7 1,377.9 — 38.3 1,416.2

Income tax expense    191.7 73.6 82.5 79.6 54.8 482.2 — 13.4 495.6

Adjusted operating earnings before

interest and after income taxes    356.1 136.7 153.1 147.9 101.9 895.7 — 24.9 920.6

Average Capital (1)    3,891 310 1,694 2,781 352 9,028 3,233 3,023 15,284

Adjusted Operating Return on Capital    9.2% 44.2% 9.0% 5.3% 28.9% 9.9% N/M N/M 6.0%

Twelve Months Ended December 31, 2013

Closed

Block

Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Other Consolidated

Operating earnings before income taxes    595.8 178.1 293.8 254.8 106.1 1,428.6 — (160.0) 1,268.6

Less:

Interest expense    — — — — — — — (179.7) (179.7)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    45.6 — 83.3 4.8 (0.5) 133.2 — — 133.2

Net gain from Lehman Recovery/LIHTC    12.9 13.2 13.5 39.7 4.3 83.6 — 3.4 87.0

Adjusted operating earnings before interest    537.3 164.9 197.0 210.3 102.3 1,211.8 — 16.3 1,228.1

Income tax expense    188.1 57.7 69.0 73.6 35.8 424.2 — 5.7 429.9

Adjusted operating earnings before

interest and after income taxes    349.2 107.2 128.0 136.7 66.5 787.6 — 10.6 798.2

Average Capital    3,915 303 1,762 2,804 354 9,137 3,235 2,104 14,476

Adjusted Operating Return on Capital    8.9% 35.4% 7.3% 4.9% 18.8% 8.6% N/M N/M 5.5%

(1) Includes capital impacts related to the 2014 Term Life Coinsurance Agreement in our Individual Life segment effective 10/1/2014

Voya Financial Page 51 of 57 Reconciliation of Adjusted Operating Earnings; Adjusted Operating Return on Capital

Twelve Months Ended December 31, 2012

Closed

Block

Investment Individual Employee Ongoing Variable

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    Retirement Management Annuities Life Benefits Business Annuity Corporate Consolidated

Operating earnings before income taxes    448.6 134.5 102.2 196.2 109.4 990.9 — (72.6) 918.3

Less:

Interest expense    — — — — — — — (127.8) (127.8)

DAC/VOBA and other intangibles unlocking    5.8 — (86.2) 3.4 — (77.0) — — (77.0)

Impact of investment portfolio restructuring    (31.2) 2.2 (11.2) 14.8 0.1 (25.3) — (5.8) (31.1)

Adjusted operating earnings before interest    474.0 132.3 199.6 178.0 109.3 1,093.2 — 61.0 1,154.2

Income tax expense    165.9 46.3 69.9 62.3 38.3 382.7 — 21.4 404.1

Adjusted operating earnings before interest

and after income taxes    308.1 86.0 129.7 115.7 71.0 710.5 — 39.6 750.1

Average Capital    4,308 289 2,210 2,702 421 9,930 3,394 587 13,911

Adjusted Operating Return on Capital    7.2% 29.8% 5.9% 4.3% 16.9% 7.2% N/M N/M 5.4%

Voya Financial Page 52 of 57 Reconciliation of Ongoing Business Adjusted Return On Equity and Capital

Twelve Months Ended

6/30/2017    3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 12/31/2015 12/31/2014 12/31/2013 12/31/2012

GAAP Return on Equity    (5.5)% (5.3)% (2.9)% 0.0% 2.0% 2.7% 15.8% 4.4% 3.7%

Effect of Adjustments to Ongoing Business Adjusted

Operating Earnings After Income Tax and Ongoing

Business Equity and Capital:

Exclusion of AOCI    2.8% 2.6% 2.4% 2.1% 1.7% 2.0% 2.3% 2.1% 2.0%

DAC/VOBA and Other Intangible Unlocking Excluded from

Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Earnings    1.7% 0.8% 0.8% 0.6% 0.3% 0.4% 0.1% (1.0)% 0.6%

Other Adjustments to Ongoing Business adjusted Operating

Earnings    (0.1)% (0.1)% (0.1)% — — — (0.1)% (0.6)% 0.2%

Exclusion of Corporate Operating Earnings Before Income

Taxes and Allocated Capital    3.6% 2.8% 2.7% 2.6% 2.4% 2.2% 2.0% 0.8% (0.1)%

Exclusion of Capital Allocated to Deferred Tax Assets    2.3% 2.2% 1.8% 1.7% 1.7% 1.7% 0.2% — —

Effect of Calculated Interest Expense and Assumed 25%

Debt-to-Capital Ratio (vs actual)    (1.0)% (0.8)% (0.7)% (0.6)% (0.5)% (0.6)% (0.5)% (0.6)% (1.0)%

Exclusion of Closed Block Variable Annuity Result and

Allocated Capital    12.8% 12.2% 9.1% 6.4% 4.0% 3.4% 4.3% 12.0% 7.3%

Exclusion of Net Investment Gains and Losses    0.6% 0.7% 1.0% 1.5% 1.5% 0.6% (1.5)% (1.6)% (3.5)%

Exclusion of Net Guaranteed Benefit Hedging Gains and

Losses    0.9% 0.9% 0.6% (0.1)% (0.3)% 0.6% 0.1% (0.1)% (0.7)%

Exclusion of Income (Loss) Related to Business Exited

Through Reinsurance or Divestment    0.1% 0.1% 0.1% 0.7% 0.8% 1.1% 1.1% 0.4% —

Exclusion of Loss Related to Early Extinguishment of Debt    — 0.7% 0.7% 0.7% 0.7% 0.1% — — —

Exclusion of Immediate Recognition of Net Actuarial Gains

(Losses) Related to Pension and Other Postretirement

Benefit Obligations and Gains (Losses) from Plan

Amendments and Curtailments    0.4% 0.4% 0.4% (0.4)% (0.4)% (0.4)% 2.6% (3.0)% 1.3%

Effect of Other Adjustments to Operating Earnings    0.6% 0.6% 0.3% 0.3% 0.4% 0.5% 0.6% 0.5% 1.1%

Effect of Assumed Tax Rate vs actual effective tax rate    (0.1)% (0.4)% 0.2% 2.6% (4.1)% (1.9)% (21.3)% (3.1)% (2.6)%

Other Income Tax Effects    (4.8)% (4.2)% (4.1)% (6.0)% 1.3% (0.3)% 6.4% 0.1% — %

Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Return on

Equity    14.3% 13.2% 12.3% 12.1% 11.5% 12.1% 12.1% 10.3% 8.3%

Inclusion of debt (based on 25% debt to capital ratio)    (3.5)% (3.3)% (3.0)% (3.0)% (2.8)% (3.0)% (3.1)% (2.6)% (2.0)%

Exclusion of assumed interest expense    0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9% 0.9%

Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Return on

Capital    11.7% 10.8% 10.2% 10.0% 9.6% 10.0% 9.9% 8.6% 7.2%

Voya Financial Page 53 of 57 Impacts of Prepayments and Alternative Income Above (Below) Long-Term Expectations on ROC/ROE (bps)

Twelve Months Ended

(in basis points)    6/30/2017 12/31/2016 12/31/2015 12/31/2014

Prepayments Above (Below) Long-term Expectations (1)

Effect on ROC:

Retirement    19 43 49 26

Annuities    56 84 69 33

Life    11 18 41 14

Employee Benefits    44 56 35 4

Total Effect on Ongoing Business ROC    25 44 48 22

Effect on Ongoing Business ROE    33 58 64 29

Alternatives Above (Below) Long-term Expectations (1) (2)

Effect on ROC:

Retirement    15 (35) (44) 1

Annuities    23 (50) (61) 14

Life    12 (25) (27) 12

Employee Benefits    18 (37) (49) 11

Total Effect on Ongoing Business ROC    48 (57) (53) 12

Effect on Ongoing Business ROE    64 (75) (71) 16

Prepayments and Alternative Income Above (Below) Long-Term Expectations (1) (2)

Effect on ROC:

Retirement    34 8 5 27

Annuities    79 34 8 47

Life    23 (7) 14 26

Employee Benefits    62 19 (14) 15

Total Effect on Ongoing Business ROC    73 (13) (5) 34

Effect on Ongoing Business ROE    97 (17) (7) 45

(1) Basis point impacts are after DAC and after tax. (2) Amounts exclude Gain on Lehman recovery

Voya Financial Page 54 of 57 Calculation of ROE and ROC

Twelve Months Ended or As of

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 12/31/2015 12/31/2014 12/31/2013 12/31/2012

GAAP Return on Equity:

Net income (loss) available to Voya Financial,

Inc.‘s common shareholders    (757.4) (763.1) (428.0) (1.8) 286.6 408.3 2,295.0 598.5 490.0

Voya Financial, Inc. shareholders’ equity: end of

period    13,352 12,890 12,994 15,206 15,339 13,436 16,146 13,315 13,920

Voya Financial, Inc. shareholders’ equity:

average for period    13,859 14,304 14,555 14,496 14,320 15,019 14,571 13,618 13,151

GAAP Return on Equity    (5.5)% (5.3)% (2.9)% 0.0% 2.0% 2.7% 15.8% 4.4% 3.7%

Ongoing Business Adjusted Operating Return

on Capital and Adjusted Operating Return on

Equity:

Ongoing Business adjusted operating earnings

before income taxes    1,353.2 1,279.2 1,227.9 1,218.1 1,191.0 1,281.8 1,377.9 1,211.8 1,093.2

Income taxes on adjusted operating earnings (1)    (433.1) (409.3) (393.0) (389.8) (381.1) (410.3) (482.2) (424.2) (382.7)

Ongoing Business adjusted operating earnings

after income taxes    920.1 869.9 834.9 828.3 809.9 871.5 895.7 787.6 710.5

Interest expense after-tax (2)    (71.6) (73.1) (75.1) (76.7) (78.8) (82.1) (77.3) (79.9) (88.7)

Ongoing Business adjusted operating

earnings after income taxes and interest    848.5 796.8 759.8 751.6 731.1 789.4 818.4 707.7 621.8

expense

End of period capital for Ongoing Business    7,551 7,656 7,878 8,108 8,256 8,377 8,777 9,216 9,823

Average capital for Ongoing Business    7,887 8,064 8,215 8,312 8,453 8,697 9,028 9,137 9,930

Average debt (based on 25% debt-to-capital    (1,972) (2,016) (2,054) (2,078) (2,113) (2,175) (2,257) (2,284) (2,483)

ratio)

Average equity for Ongoing Business    5,915 6,048 6,161 6,234 6,340 6,522 6,771 6,853 7,447

Adjusted Operating Return on Capital for

Ongoing Business    11.7% 10.8% 10.2% 10.0% 9.6% 10.0% 9.9% 8.6% 7.2%

Adjusted Operating Return on Equity for

Ongoing Business (2)    14.3% 13.2% 12.3% 12.1% 11.5% 12.1% 12.1% 10.3% 8.3%

(1) Assumes a 32% tax rate on operating earnings described as “after tax” beginning 2015 to current and a 35% tax rate for all periods prior to 2015.

(2) Assumes debt-to-capital ratio of approximately 25% and the actual weighted average pre-tax interest rate for all periods presented. Assumes a 5.5% interest rate for periods prior to3Q 2013.

Voya Financial Page 55 of 57 Reconciliation of Operating Earnings Per Share; Book Value Per Share, Excluding AOCI

Three Months Ended or As of Year-to-Date or As of

(in whole dollars)    6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 6/30/2017 6/30/2016

Net income (loss) available to Voya Financial, Inc.‘s common

shareholders per common share (Diluted)    0.89 (0.75) (2.74) (1.24) 0.79 0.12 1.71

Exclusion of per share impact of:

Closed Block Variable Annuity    0.10 1.31 2.44 1.07 (0.18) 1.41 (0.32)

Net investment gains (losses) and related charges and adjustments    (0.01) 0.09 (0.03) 0.21 0.08 0.08 0.27

Net guaranteed benefit hedging gains (losses) and related charges

and adjustments    (0.09) (0.14) 0.48 0.17 (0.07) (0.23) (0.36)

Income (loss) related to businesses exited through reinsurance or

divestment    — 0.02 0.06 — — 0.02 (0.01)

Income (loss) on early extinguishment of debt    — — — — 0.33 — 0.33

Immediate recognition of net actuarial gains (losses) related to

pension and other postretirement benefit obligations and gains

(losses) from plan amendments and curtailments    — — 0.16 0.02 — — —

Other adjustments to operating earnings    0.02 0.05 0.10 0.07 0.02 0.08 0.05

Effect of assumed tax rate vs actual effective tax rate    (0.24) 0.24 0.46 0.07 (0.18) — (0.34)

Adjustment due to antidilutive effect of net loss in the current period (1)    — (0.01) (0.02) — — — —

Consolidated Operating earnings per share (Diluted) (1)    0.67 0.81 0.91 0.37 0.79 1.48 1.33

Book value per share, including AOCI    74.30 67.88 66.77 78.14 76.62 74.30 76.62

Per share impact of AOCI    (15.06) (11.65) (10.39) (18.07) (17.18) (15.06) (17.18)

Book value per share, excluding AOCI    59.24 56.23 56.38 60.07 59.44 59.24 59.44

Reconciliation of shares used in Total Consolidated Operating

earnings per share (Diluted)

Weighted-average common shares outstanding—Diluted    187.7 191.7 194.6 199.6 203.5 191.1 206.3

Dilutive effect of the exercise or issuance of stock-based awards (1)    — 2.7 2.5 1.9 — — —

Weighted average common shares outstanding—Diluted (Operating) (1)    187.7 194.4 197.1 201.5 203.5 191.1 206.3

(1) For periods in which there is a Net loss available to common shareholders, Operating earnings per share calculation includes additional dilutive shares, as the inclusion of these shares for stock compensation plans would not be anti-dilutive to the Operating earnings per share calculation.

Voya Financial Page 56 of 57 Reconciliation of Average Capital; Debt to Capital, Excluding AOCI

Three Months Ended or As of Twelve Months Ended or As of

(in millions USD, unless otherwise

indicated)    6/30/2017 3/31/2017 12/31/2016 9/30/2016 6/30/2016 12/31/2015 12/31/2014 12/31/2013 12/31/2012

Voya Financial, Inc. shareholders’

equity: end of period    13,352.2 12,890.4 12,993.9 15,206.0 15,338.9 13,435.8 16,146.2 13,315.2 13,919.9

AOCI    2,706.9 2,212.3 2,021.7 3,517.1 3,439.7 1,424.9 3,103.7 1,849.1 3,710.7

Voya Financial, Inc. shareholders’ equity

excluding AOCI end of period    10,645.3 10,678.1 10,972.2 11,688.9 11,899.2 12,010.9 13,042.5 11,466.1 10,209.2

Debt    3,462.1 3,461.2 3,549.5 3,548.5 3,547.5 3,459.8 3,486.5 3,481.1 3,796.3

End of Period Capital    14,107.4 14,139.3 14,521.7 15,237.4 15,446.7 15,470.7 16,529.0 14,947.2 14,005.5

Corporate and Closed Block Variable

Annuity    6,556.4 6,483.3 6,643.7 7,129.4 7,190.7 7,093.7 7,752.0 5,731.2 4,182.5

End of Period Capital for Ongoing

Business    7,551.0 7,656.0 7,878.0 8,108.0 8,256.0 8,377.0 8,777.0 9,216.0 9,823.0

Adjustments to TTM Average Capital (1)    336.0 408.0 337.0 204.0 197.0 320.0 251.0 (79.0) 107.0

Average Capital for Ongoing Business-

TTM (1)    7,887.0 8,064.0 8,215.0 8,312.0 8,453.0 8,697.0 9,028.0 9,137.0 9,930.0

Debt to capital, including AOCI    20.6% 21.2% 21.5% 18.9% 18.8% 20.5% 17.8% 20.7% 21.4%

Capital impact of AOCI    3.9% 3.3% 2.9% 4.4% 4.2% 1.9% 3.3% 2.6% 5.7%

Debt to capital, excluding AOCI    24.5% 24.5% 24.4% 23.3% 23.0% 22.4% 21.1% 23.3% 27.1%

(1) Trailing Twelve Months Calculation

Voya Financial Page 57 of 57 Reconciliation of Investment Management Operating Margin, Excluding Investment Capital

Three Months Ended     Twelve Months Ended

(in millions USD, unless otherwise indicated)    6/30/2017 3/31/2017 6/30/2016 6/30/2017 12/31/2016 12/31/2015 12/31/2014 12/31/2013 12/31/2012

Operating revenues (1)    203.3 171.4 142.4 724.0 623.9 622.2 655.4 594.5 545.5

Operating expenses    (118.4) (122.1) (110.6) (476.3) (455.9) (440.3) (445.1) (429.6) (411.0)

Operating earnings before income taxes    84.9 49.3 31.8 247.7 168.0 181.9 210.3 164.9 134.5

Operating margin    41.8% 28.8% 22.3% 34.2% 26.9% 29.2% 32.1% 27.7% 24.6%

Operating revenues (1)    203.3 171.4 142.4 724.0 623.9 622.2 655.4 594.5 545.5

Less:

Investment Capital Results (1)    35.2 8.7 (8.6) 56.4 (10.8) 1.1 19.7 23.8 41.6

Revenues excluding Investment Capital    168.1 162.7 151.0 667.6 634.7 621.1 635.7 570.7 503.9

Operating expenses    (118.4) (122.1) (110.6) (476.3) (455.9) (440.3) (445.1) (429.6) (411.0)

Operating earnings excluding Investment

Capital    49.7 40.6 40.4 191.3 178.8 180.8 190.6 141.1 92.9

Operating margin excluding Investment

Capital    29.6% 25.0% 26.8% 28.7% 28.2% 29.1% 30.0% 24.7% 18.4%

(1) Excludes gain from Lehman recovery in 2013 and 2016.