Exhibit 99.1

Regional Management Corp. Increases Availability Under

Senior Revolving Credit Facility to $585 Million

- Extends Maturity of Credit Facility to August 2019 -

Greenville, South Carolina – August 29, 2016 – Regional Management Corp. (NYSE: RM), a diversified consumer finance company, announced today that it has amended its senior revolving credit facility agreement. The committed line under the credit facility has increased to $585 million from its previous amount of $538 million, and the maturity date has been extended from September 2018 to August 2019. The upper limit of the accordion feature of the credit facility has also been increased to $650 million from its previous amount of $600 million.

Each lender in the bank group is maintaining or increasing its commitment under the renewed credit facility. Other borrowing terms under the facility, including the cost of funds, remain largely unchanged.

“We deeply value the relationship we have developed with our bank group, and we want to thank our lenders for their continued confidence and support,” said Peter R. Knitzer, Chief Executive Officer of Regional Management Corp. “We expect to use the expanded facility to further fund our ongoing growth initiatives.”

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release may contain various “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, which represent Regional Management Corp.’s expectations or beliefs concerning future events. Words such as “may,” “will,” “should,” “likely,” “anticipates,” “expects,” “intends,” “plans,” “projects,” “believes,” “estimates,” “outlook” and similar expressions may be used to identify these forward-looking statements. Such forward-looking statements are about matters that are inherently subject to risks and uncertainties, many of which are outside of the control of Regional Management. Factors that could cause actual results or performance to differ from the expectations expressed or implied in such forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, the following: the continuation or worsening of adverse conditions in the global and domestic credit markets and uncertainties regarding, or the impact of, governmental responses to those conditions; changes in interest rates; risks related to acquisitions; risks related to opening new branches, including the ability or inability to open new branches as planned; risks inherent in making loans, including repayment risks and value of collateral, which risks may increase in light of adverse or recessionary economic conditions; recently-enacted or proposed legislation; the timing and amount of revenues that may be recognized by Regional Management; changes in current revenue and

expense trends (including trends affecting delinquencies and charge-offs); changes in Regional Management’s markets and general changes in the economy (particularly in the markets served by Regional Management); changes in operating and administrative expenses; and the departure, transition or replacement of key personnel. Such factors and others are discussed in greater detail in Regional Management’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Regional Management will not update the information contained in this press release beyond the publication date, except to the extent required by law, and is not responsible for changes made to this document by wire services or Internet services.

About Regional Management Corp.

Regional Management Corp. (NYSE: RM) is a diversified consumer finance company providing a broad array of loan products primarily to customers with limited access to consumer credit from banks, thrifts, credit card companies and other traditional lenders. Regional Management began operations in 1987 with four branches in South Carolina and has since expanded its branch network across South Carolina, Texas, North Carolina, Tennessee, Alabama, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Georgia and Virginia. Each of its loan products is structured on a fixed rate, fixed term basis with fully amortizing equal monthly installment payments and is repayable at any time without penalty. Regional Management’s loans are sourced through its multiple channel platform, including in its branches, through direct mail campaigns, independent and franchise automobile dealerships, online credit application networks, retailers and its consumer website. For more information, please visit www.RegionalManagement.com.

Contact:

Investor Relations

Garrett Edson, (203) 682-8331