Exhibit 99.1

Bona Film Group Chairman Announces ADS Purchases Up to US$1 Million

BEIJING — August 27, 2012 — Bona Film Group Limited (“Bona” or the “Company”) (Nasdaq: BONA), a leading film distributor and vertically integrated film company in China, today announced that its Founder, Chairman and CEO Mr. Yu Dong will purchase up to US$1.0 million in Bona’s American depositary shares (ADSs) on the open market before September 30, 2012.

“Our core business fundamentals remain strong and we continue to execute on our strategic expansion and diversification initiatives. My decision to purchase additional ADSs of the Company reflects my confidence in our Company and our growth prospects,” said Mr. Yu Dong.

About Bona Film Group Limited

Bona Film Group Limited (Nasdaq:BONA) is a leading film distributor in China, with an integrated business model encompassing film distribution, film production, film exhibition and talent representation. Bona distributes films to Greater China, Korea, Southeast Asia, the United States and Europe, invests and produces movies in a variety of genres, owns and operates 14 movie theaters and manages a range of talented and popular Chinese artists.

For more information about Bona, please visit http://www.bonafilm.cn.

To be added to Bona’s email list to receive Company news, please send your request to bona@tpg-ir.com.

The Bona Film Group Limited logo is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=8412

Forward Looking Statements

This news release may contain certain “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, and as defined in the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements can be identified by terminology such as “will,” “expects,” “anticipates,” “future,” “intends,” “plans,” “believes,” “estimates” and similar statements. All statements other than statements of historical fact in this press release are forward-looking statements and involve certain risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those in the forward-looking statements. These forward-looking statements are based on management’s current expectations, assumptions, estimates and projections about the Company and the industry in which the Company operates, but involve a number of unknown risks and uncertainties, Further information regarding these and other risks is included in the Company’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. The Company undertakes no obligation to update forward-looking statements to reflect subsequent occurring events or circumstances, or changes in its expectations, except as may be required by law. Although the Company believes that the expectations expressed in these forward-looking statements are reasonable, it cannot assure you that such expectations will turn out to be correct, and actual results may differ materially from the anticipated results. You are urged to consider these factors carefully in evaluating the forward-looking statements contained herein and are cautioned not to place undue reliance on such forward-looking statements, which are qualified in their entirety by these cautionary statements.

CONTACT:

In China:

Ms. Ivy Lv

Bona Film Group Limited

Tel: +86 10-5928-3663-264

Email: ir@bonafilm.cn

In the U.S.:

The Piacente Group, Inc.

Investor Relations

Brandi Floberg or Lee Roth

Tel: (212) 481-2050

Email: bona@tpg-ir.com