Exhibit 99.1

Brookfield Residential Properties Inc.

News Release

BROOKFIELD RESIDENTIAL REPORTS ESCROWED STOCK PLAN

Calgary, Alberta, June 17, 2011 – (BRP: NYSE/TSX) Brookfield Residential Properties Inc. (“Brookfield Residential”) today announced that it has entered into an agreement to purchase two million of its own shares from Brookfield Asset Management Inc. (“Brookfield”) in order to fund a recently created escrowed restricted stock plan without dilution to shareholders.  Subject to market prices, it is anticipated that the share purchase will close on or after June 23, 2011.

Upon completion of the above transaction, Brookfield will own 72.5 million shares of Brookfield Residential, or approximately 71.5%.

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Brookfield Residential Properties Inc. is a North American land developer and homebuilder, active in ten principal markets with over 100,000 lots controlled. We entitle and develop land and build homes for our own communities, as well as sell lots to third-party builders.  The company is listed on the New York Stock Exchange and the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol BRP. For more information, please visit our website at www.brookfieldrp.com.

For more information, please visit our website at www.brookfieldrp.com or contact:

Investors:
Linda Northwood Director, Investor Relations Tel: (416) 359-8647 Email: linda.northwood@brookfieldrp.com

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Note: This news release contains forward-looking information within the meaning of Canadian provincial securities laws and other “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of Section 27A of the U.S. Securities Act of 1933, as amended, Section 21E of the U.S. Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, “safe harbour” provisions of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and in any applicable Canadian securities regulations. Certain statements in this press release that are not historical facts, including those statements preceded by, followed by, or that include the words “believe,” “planned,” “anticipate,” “should,” “goals,” “expected,” “potential,” “estimate,” “targeted,” “scheduled” or similar expressions, constitute “forward-looking statements.” Undue reliance should not be placed on forward-looking statements because they involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors, which may cause the actual results to differ materially from the anticipated future results expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those set forward in the forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to: changes in general economic, real estate and other conditions; mortgage rate changes; availability of suitable undeveloped land at acceptable prices; adverse legislation or regulation; ability to obtain necessary permits and approvals for the development of our land; availability of labor or materials or increases in their costs; ability to develop and market our master-planned communities successfully; confidence levels of consumers; ability to raise capital on favourable terms; adverse weather conditions and natural disasters; relations with the residents of our communities; risks associated with increased insurance costs or unavailability of adequate coverage and ability to obtain surety bonds; competitive conditions in the homebuilding industry, including product and pricing pressures; and additional risks and uncertainties referred to in our filings with the security regulations in Canada and the United States, many of which are beyond our control. We undertake no obligation to publicly update any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.