Third Quarter 2016 Earnings NASDAQ Global Select Market: UBNK Create Your Balance

2 NASDAQ: UBNK This Presentation contains forward-looking statements that are within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such statements are based upon the current beliefs and expectations of our management and are subject to significant risks and uncertainties. These risks and uncertainties could cause our results to differ materially from those set forth in such forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements can be identified by the fact that they do not relate strictly to historical or current facts. Words such as “believes,” “anticipates,” “expects,” “intends,” “plans,” “estimates,” “targeted” and similar expressions, and future or conditional verbs, such as “will,” “would,” “should,” “could” or “may” are intended to identify forward-looking statements but are not the only means to identify these statements. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Actual conditions, events or results may differ materially from those contemplated by a forward-looking statement. Factors that could cause this difference — many of which are beyond our control — include without limitation the following: Any forward-looking statements made by or on behalf of us in this Presentation speak only as of the date of this Presentation. We do not undertake to update forward-looking statements to reflect the impact of circumstances or events that arise after the date the forward-looking statement was made. The reader should; however, consult any further disclosures of a forward-looking nature we may make in future filings. NON-GAAP FINANCIAL MEASURES This presentation references non-GAAP financial measures incorporating tangible equity and related measures, and operating earnings excluding non- recurring costs. These measures are commonly used by investors in evaluating financial condition. GAAP earnings are lower than core earnings primarily due to non-recurring conversion, balance sheet restructuring and cost cutting initiative related expenses. The efficiency ratio represents the ratio of non-interest expenses to the sum of net interest income before provision for loan losses and non-interest income, exclusive of net gain (loss) on limited partnership investments. The pre-provision net revenue to average assets ratio represents the ratio of net interest income, on a fully tax-equivalent basis, fees and other non-interest income, net of non-credit-related expenses as a percent of total average assets. The pre-provision net revenue to average equity ratio represents the ratio of net interest income, on a fully tax-equivalent basis, fees and other non-interest income, net of non-credit-related expenses as a percent of total average equity. Reconciliations are in earnings releases at www.unitedfinancialinc.com. Forward Looking Statements

3 NASDAQ: UBNK Corporate Contacts William H. W. Crawford, IV Chief Executive Officer Eric R. Newell, CFA Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer 860-291-3722 or ENewell@bankatunited.com Investor Information: Marliese L. Shaw Executive Vice President, Corporate Secretary/Investor Relations Officer 860-291-3622 or MShaw@bankatunited.com

4 NASDAQ: UBNK Table of Contents Page Key Objectives 5 Third Quarter Income Statement Walk 6 Forecast 7 Mortgage Banking 8 Commercial Real Estate 9 Indexed Pipelines 10 Appendix 11

5 NASDAQ: UBNK Four Key Objectives Objective Progress 1. Align earning asset growth with organic capital and low cost core deposit generation to maintain strong capital and liquidity (a) Year over Year (YoY) loans and deposits increased similarly at 12% and 10% respectively; (b) 10% YoY DDA growth 2. Re-Mix cash flows into higher yielding risk adjusted return on assets with lower funding costs relative to peers. (a) Tax equivalent operating NIM improved 2bps QoQ; (b) 20% annualized growth in average C&I loans; (c) funding costs remain flat QoQ despite pervasive promotional pricing by competitors 3. Invest in people, systems, and technology to grow revenue and improve customer experience while maintaining attractive cost structure. (a) Adjusted Operating Non-Interest Expense/ Average Assets (NIE/AA) at 1.98% in 3Q16; (b) Operating Expenses flat YoY; (b) investment in information technology to drive efficiency and products 4. Grow operating revenue, maximize operating earnings, grow tangible book value, pay dividend. Achieve more revenue into NII and core fee income. (a) Operating revenue increased $5mm YoY; (b) improved fee income composition; (c) increased core banking fee income and less swap income; (c) 8% annualized increase in tangible book value (TBV); (d) 3.56% dividend yield in 3Q16

6 NASDAQ: UBNK Third Quarter Walk (Dollars in thousands) GAAP Net Income Operating Net Income Actual Second Quarter 2016 $ 9,058 $ 10,022 Loan Interest Income 2,260 1,828 Fee Income (487) (487) Investment Income (58) (58) Interest Expense (182) (168) Net Interest Income 1,533 1,115 Provision (142) (142) Net Interest Income after Provision 1,391 973 Service Charges and Fees 1,367 1,367 Security Gains/Losses (319) — Gains/Losses on Limited Partnerships 654 654 Other (345) (415) Non-Interest Income 1,357 1,606 Salaries and Benefits 1,712 393 Service Bureau Fees 270 270 Occupancy Expense 270 267 Professional Fees (238) (238) Marketing 367 367 FDIC 223 223 Other (159) (204) Total Operating Expense 2,445 1,078 Taxes (92) 445 Total Change 5,101 4,102 Actual Third Quarter 2016 $ 14,159 $ 14,124

7 NASDAQ: UBNK Forecast Actual Q1 2016 Actual Q2 2016 Actual Q3 2016 Forecast Q4 2016 Operating Net Interest Margin 2.95% 2.94% 2.96% ~ 2.96% Loan Growth 3.0%* 7.0%* (1.0%)* mid single digits Provision / Average Gross Loans 0.23%* 0.31%* 0.31%* 0.27% - 0.30%* Non-Interest Income Run Rate $26.9 million* $26.1 million* $31.6 million* $28.0 - $32.0 million* Non-Interest Expense Run Rate $135.1 million* $138.7 million* $128.9 million* $130 - $131 million* Effective Tax Rate (YTD) 13.0% 10.5% 8.4% 9% *Note: Loan Growth, Provision/Average Gross Loans, Fee Income and NIE calculations are annualized.

8 NASDAQ: UBNK • Origination volume remained flat quarter over quarter; total Q3 volume of $173.5 MM in mortgages. • 61.9% in 30 year FRM, 61.1% of which was sold into the Secondary Market • Purchase volume represented 65.2% of total production in Q3 2016 Mortgage Banking

9 NASDAQ: UBNK Commercial Real Estate Institution Name City State Ticker CRE / Risk- Based Capital 3-Year Ratio Delta Construction / Risk-Based Capital 3-Year Ratio Delta United Financial Bancorp, Inc. Glastonbury CT UBNK 300% 50% 30% 6% People's United Financial, Inc. Bridgeport CT PBCT 265% 2% 27% 8% Webster Financial Corporation Waterbury CT WBS 156% 32% 21% 7% Berkshire Hills Bancorp, Inc. Pittsfield MA BHLB 252% 68% 48% 15% Independent Bank Corp. Rockland MA INDB 305% (25)% 59% 9% Brookline Bancorp, Inc. Boston MA BRKL 368% 38% 22% (1)% Century Bancorp, Inc. Medford MA CNBKA 35% (15)% 5% (2)% Washington Trust Bancorp, Inc. Westerly RI WASH 316% 46% 30% 9% Meridian Bancorp, Inc. Peabody MA EBSB 490% (32)% 104% (1)% Camden National Corporation Camden ME CAC 198% 40% 28% 16% First Connecticut Bancorp, Inc. Farmington CT FBNK 307% 75% 17% (22)% Enterprise Bancorp, Inc. Lowell MA EBTC 237% (14)% 83% 17% Community Bank System, Inc. De Witt NY CBU 77% (6)% 16% (3)% NBT Bancorp Inc. Norwich NY NBTB 164% (22)% 31% 3% Sterling Bancorp Montebello NY STL 281% (21)% 17% (14)% High 490% 75% 104% 17% Low 35% (32)% 5% (22)% Mean 246% 12% 36% 3% Median 258% (2)% 27% 5% UBNK Ranking out of 15 (ascending): 10 13 10 8 NOTE: All financial data as of June 30, 2016 CRE includes 1.a.1, 1.a.2, 1.b, 1.d, and 1.e.2 from RC-C Part 1 FFIEC 041 Data is Bank-level; BRKL subsidiaries aggregated Ratio deltas represent change in ratio over 3-year period All data sourced from S & P Global Market Intelligence

10 NASDAQ: UBNK Indexed Pipeline Metrics Index value 09/30/2015 = 100.0 Index value 09/30/2016 = 82.8 CAGR = (17.2%) Index value 09/30/2015 = 100.0 Index value 09/30/2016 = 89.9 CAGR = (10.1%)

11 NASDAQ: UBNK APPENDIX

12 NASDAQ: UBNK Balance Sheet Trends QoQ YoY 3Q16 vs 2Q16 3Q16 vs 3Q15 Balance Sheet ($ in thousands) 3Q2016 2Q2016 1Q2016 4Q2015 3Q2015 $ Change % Change $ Change % Change ASSETS Cash and cash equivalents $ 214,246 $ 97,441 $ 87,234 $ 95,176 $ 98,310 $ 116,805 119.9% $ 115,936 117.9 % Securities 1,066,601 1,087,748 1,104,932 1,073,734 1,095,108 (21,147) (1.9) (28,507) (2.6) Loans held for sale 83,321 30,558 7,560 10,136 13,511 52,763 172.7 69,810 516.7 Residential real estate 1,129,079 1,171,300 1,176,357 1,179,915 1,190,745 (42,221) (3.6) (61,666) (5.2) Home equity 479,390 460,058 446,515 431,282 335,220 19,332 4.2 144,170 43.0 Other consumer 213,830 211,065 217,725 233,064 5,236 2,765 1.3 208,594 3,983.8 Residential construction 52,476 49,338 42,205 41,084 33,648 3,138 6.4 18,828 56.0 Investor non-occupied CRE 1,702,701 1,675,821 1,648,321 1,673,248 1,580,848 26,880 1.6 121,853 7.7 Owner occupied CRE 392,168 384,324 376,511 322,084 340,047 7,844 2.0 52,121 15.3 Commercial business 660,676 671,687 614,235 603,332 576,899 (11,011) (1.6) 83,777 14.5 Commercial construction (ADC) 90,380 107,302 128,007 129,922 146,975 (16,922) (15.8) (56,595) (38.5) Loans - net 4,689,834 4,702,337 4,621,988 4,587,062 4,185,032 (12,503) (0.3) 504,802 12.1 Deferred tax asset, net 32,529 31,395 32,222 33,094 31,554 1,134 3.6 975 3.1 Premises and equipment, net 52,520 53,021 53,685 54,779 55,919 (501) (0.9) (3,399) (6.1) Intangible Assets 121,568 121,953 122,354 122,787 123,220 (385) (0.3) (1,652) (1.3) Cash surrender value of BOLI 126,948 126,734 125,920 125,101 125,186 214 0.2 1,762 1.4 Other Assets* 157,288 163,897 163,349 126,672 115,182 (6,609) (4.0) 42,106 36.6 Total Assets $ 6,544,855 $ 6,415,084 $ 6,319,244 $ 6,228,541 $ 5,843,022 $ 129,771 2.0% $ 701,833 12.0 % LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY Liabilities: QoQ YoY Deposits: 3Q16 vs 2Q16 3Q16 vs 3Q15 Non-interest-bearing $ 687,865 $ 673,624 $ 657,144 $ 657,718 $ 622,535 $ 14,241 2.1% $ 65,330 10.5 % Interest-bearing 4,007,606 3,781,717 3,876,901 3,779,353 3,640,436 225,889 6.0 367,170 10.1 Total Deposits 4,695,471 4,455,341 4,534,045 4,437,071 4,262,971 240,130 5.4 432,500 10.1 Mortgagors' and investor escrow accounts 9,045 14,040 9,696 13,526 8,108 (4,995) (35.6) 937 11.6 FHLB advances and other borrowings 1,102,882 1,222,160 1,073,034 1,099,020 893,865 (119,278) (9.8) 209,017 23.4 Accrued expenses and other liabilities 81,217 79,350 69,191 53,403 56,626 1,867 2.4 24,591 43.4 Total liabilities 5,888,615 5,770,891 5,685,966 5,603,020 5,221,570 117,724 2.0 667,045 12.8 Total stockholders' equity 656,240 644,193 633,278 625,521 621,452 12,047 1.9 34,788 5.6 Total liabilities and stockholders' equity $ 6,544,855 $ 6,415,084 $ 6,319,244 $ 6,228,541 $ 5,843,022 $ 129,771 2.0% $ 701,833 12.0% *Other assets include FHLBB stock (at cost), accrued interest receivable, in addition to other assets

13 NASDAQ: UBNK Commercial Banking Overview • Asset quality remains exceptional through diversification, granularity, that is accretive to risk adjusted capital Investor CRE & ADC by Property Type $1,793 Million C&I & Owner Occupied CRE by Industry $1,053 Million

14 NASDAQ: UBNK Investment Portfolio Portfolio Stats ($ in millions) 2016Q3 2016Q2 Market Value 1,067 1,088 Yield 2.99% 2.95 % Average Rating AA AA MBS Portfolio 572 596 Total Portfolio Duration (years) 3.0 3.0 Summary of Quarterly Securities Purchases 2016Q3 2016Q2 Average Yield 3.68% 2.90 % Average Rating AA AA

15 NASDAQ: UBNK Asset Quality ($ in thousands, except percentage data) 2016Q3 2016Q2 2016Q1 2015Q4 2015Q3 Non-accrual loans $ 25,983 $ 32,310 $ 29,285 $ 32,191 $ 32,240 TDR - non-accruing 7,345 6,713 7,143 5,611 4,605 Total non-performing loans 33,328 39,023 36,428 37,802 36,845 OREO 2,792 702 659 755 258 Total non-performing assets $ 36,120 $ 39,725 $ 37,087 $ 38,557 $ 37,103 NPLs to total loans 0.71% 0.82% 0.78% 0.82% 0.88 % NPAs to total assets 0.55% 0.62% 0.59% 0.62% 0.63 % Net charge offs $ 647 $ 1,163 $ 1,075 $ 724 $ 1,276 Annualized NCOs to average loans 0.05% 0.10% 0.09% 0.07% 0.12 % Allowance for loan losses to non-performing loans 123.26% 97.28% 97.45% 89.64% 83.68 % Allowance for loan losses to total loans 0.87% 0.80% 0.76% 0.73% 0.73 % Provision for loan losses (annualized)/Average Loans 0.31% 0.31% 0.23% 0.35% 0.31%

16 NASDAQ: UBNK Management Team and Ownership • William H.W. Crawford, IV owns 532,617 shares of stock and options* • UBNK management owns 1,278,630 shares of stock and options* • UBNK and United Bank Directors own 1,058,881 shares of stock and options* *Note: 401k/ESOP share ownership is as of 12/31/15. Name Title/Function Years in Industry/Years at United Prior Experience William H.W. Crawford, IV Chief Executive Officer 27/5 Wells Fargo Bank, Wachovia Bank, SouthTrust Bank Eric R. Newell Chief Financial Officer 12/5 FDIC, Fitch Ratings, Alliance Berstein Dena M. Hall Chief Marketing Officer 19/11 Woronoco Savings Bank Craig W. Hurty Chief Human Resources Officer 32/2 Aetna, PacifiCare Health Systems Mark A. Kucia Chief Credit Officer 28/10 Liberty Bank, Mechanics Bank, BayBank Brandon C. Lorey Head of Consumer Banking 25/3 H&R Block Bank, Chevy Chase Federal Savings Bank David C. Paulson Head of Wholesale Banking 30/2 Santander, Wells Fargo, Wachovia John J. Smith Chief Information & Administrative Officer 30/0 CIT Group, NYCE Corporation, Summit Bank Elizabeth Wynnick Chief Risk Officer 24/4 NewAlliance Bank, Webster Bank

17 NASDAQ: UBNK Non-GAAP Reconciliation Three Months Ended September 30, 2016 June 30, 2016 March 31, 2016 December 31, 2015 September 30, 2015 Net income $ 14,159 $ 9,058 $ 11,894 $ 9,902 $ 13,381 Adjustments: Net interest (income) expense (383) 35 (1,900) (1,617) (4,092) Non-interest (income) expense (118) (367) (1,452) (519) 59 Non-interest expense 447 1,814 1,893 3,586 244 Income tax (benefit) expense 19 (518) 511 (65) 1,326 Net adjustment (35) 964 (948) 1,385 (2,463) Total operating net income $ 14,124 $ 10,022 $ 10,946 $ 11,287 $ 10,918 Total net interest income $ 43,029 $ 41,496 $ 43,402 $ 40,693 $ 41,643 Adjustments: Impact from purchase accounting fair value marks: Amortization (accretion) of loan mark 403 835 (1,094) (718) (2,787) Accretion of deposit mark 359 359 359 444 841 Accretion of borrowings mark 427 441 447 455 464 Net adjustment (383) 35 (1,900) (1,617) (4,092) Total operating net interest income $ 42,646 $ 41,531 $ 41,502 $ 39,076 $ 37,551 Total non-interest income $ 7,889 $ 6,532 $ 6,727 $ 8,463 $ 7,818 Adjustments: Net (loss) gain on sales of securities (48) (367) (1,452) (300) 59 BOLI claim benefit (70) — — (219) — Net adjustment (118) (367) (1,452) (519) 59 Total operating non-interest income 7,771 6,165 5,275 7,944 7,877 Total operating net interest income 42,646 41,531 41,502 39,076 37,551 Total operating revenue $ 50,417 $ 47,696 $ 46,777 $ 47,020 $ 45,428

18 NASDAQ: UBNK Non-GAAP Reconciliation (cont.) Three Months Ended September 30, 2016 June 30, 2016 March 31, 2016 December 31, 2015 September 30, 2015 Total non-interest expense $ 32,236 $ 34,681 $ 33,763 $ 35,305 $ 31,876 Adjustments: Merger related expense — — — (1,575) — Core deposit intangible amortization expense (385) (401) (433) (433) (433) Loan portfolio acquisition fees — — — (1,572) — Effect of position eliminations (55) (1,403) — — — Effect of branch lease termination agreement — — — — 195 Amortization of fixed asset fair value mark (7) (10) (6) (6) (6) FHLBB prepayment penalties — — (1,454) — — Net adjustment (447) (1,814) (1,893) (3,586) (244) Total operating expense $ 31,789 $ 32,867 $ 31,870 $ 31,719 $ 31,632 Total loans $ 4,720,700 $ 4,730,895 $ 4,649,876 $ 4,613,931 $ 4,209,618 Non-covered loans (1) (721,763) (1,259,285) (1,334,303) (1,448,435) (1,255,618) Total covered loans $ 3,998,937 $ 3,471,610 $ 3,315,573 $ 3,165,496 $ 2,954,000 Allowance for loan losses $ 41,080 $ 37,961 $ 35,500 $ 33,887 $ 30,832 Allowance for loan losses to total loans 0.87% 0.80% 0.76% 0.73% 0.73 % Allowance for loan losses to total covered loans 1.03% 1.09% 1.07% 1.07% 1.04% (1) As required by GAAP, the Company recorded at fair value acquired loans. These loans carry no allowance for loan losses for the periods reflected above.