Intralinks Announces First Quarter 2015 Results

NEW YORK, NY - May 6, 2015 - Intralinks Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: IL), a leading, global SaaS provider of secure enterprise content collaboration solutions, today announced results for its first quarter of 2015.

“I am very pleased with our Q1 performance, which showed the strongest year-over-year revenue growth since 2011,” said Ron Hovsepian, Intralinks’ President and CEO. “With contributions from both of our M&A and Enterprise businesses, we saw overall revenue growth of 12%, or 16% on a constant currency basis. This revenue growth, together with 15% growth in our 12-month Enterprise backlog, gives us increasing confidence that we can achieve our 2015 revenue objectives and our long-term financial model.”

First Quarter 2015

Total revenue was $66.3 million, compared to $59.2 million for the corresponding quarter last year.

•	M&A revenue was $33.2 million, compared to $29.6 million for the corresponding quarter last year.

•	Enterprise revenue was $26.0 million, compared to $22.5 million for the corresponding quarter last year.

•	DCM revenue was $7.1 million, compared to $7.1 million for the corresponding quarter last year.

GAAP gross margin was 72.0%, compared to 71.3% for the corresponding quarter last year. Non-GAAP adjusted gross margin was 75.3%, compared to 75.0% for the corresponding quarter last year.

GAAP operating loss was $(6.4) million, compared to $(6.2) million for the corresponding quarter last year. Non-GAAP adjusted operating income was $2.5 million, compared to $2.0 million for the corresponding quarter last year.

GAAP net loss was $(9.4) million, compared to $(5.4) million for the corresponding quarter last year. GAAP net loss per share was $(0.17) on the basis of 56.6 million weighted average shares outstanding. In the corresponding quarter last year, GAAP net loss per share was $(0.10) on the basis of 55.6 million weighted average shares outstanding.

Non-GAAP adjusted net loss was $(0.2) million, compared to non-GAAP adjusted net income of $0.7 million for the corresponding quarter last year. Non-GAAP adjusted net loss per share was $(0.00) on the basis of 56.6 million weighted average shares outstanding. In the corresponding quarter last year, non-GAAP adjusted net income per share was $0.01 on the basis of 57.6 million weighted average shares outstanding.

Non-GAAP adjusted EBITDA was $9.2 million, compared to $8.2 million for the corresponding quarter last year.

Cash, cash equivalents and investments were $50.3 million at March 31, 2015 compared to $65.1 million at December 31, 2014.

Business Outlook:

Based on information available as of May 6, 2015, Intralinks is providing guidance for 2015 as follows:

Second Quarter 2015

Revenue: $66.5 million to $68.0 million
GAAP operating loss: $(8.8) million to $(7.8) million
Non-GAAP adjusted operating income: $0.5 million to $1.5 million
Non-GAAP adjusted EBITDA: $7.5 million to $8.5 million
GAAP net loss per share: $(0.19) to $(0.17)
Non-GAAP adjusted net (loss) income per share: $(0.01) to $0.00

Full Year 2015

Revenue: $269.0 million to $273.0 million
GAAP operating loss: $(27.7) million to $(24.7) million
Non-GAAP adjusted operating income: $9.0 million to $12.0 million
Non-GAAP adjusted EBITDA: $37.0 million to $40.0 million
GAAP net loss per share: $(0.63) to $(0.57)
Non-GAAP adjusted net income per share: $0.03 to $0.06

Our second quarter and full year guidance above is based on current foreign exchange rates, which reflect an approximate 4% negative impact to our year-over-year revenue growth. Excluding the impact of foreign currency exchange rates, our full year guidance would reflect 9-11% revenue growth.

Quarterly Conference Call

Intralinks will host a conference call today at 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time (ET) to discuss the company's first quarter 2015 financial results and other corporate developments. To access this call, dial 888-348-8637 (domestic) or 412-902-4244 (international). A passcode is not required. This presentation will also be webcast live on the investor relations section on the Intralinks website at www.Intralinks.com/ir.  In conjunction with this call, there will also be accompanying slides with supplemental information available at the same website location.

Following the conference call, a replay will be available until May 13, 2015 at 877-870-5176 (domestic) or 858-384-5517 (international). The passcode for the replay is 10063715. An archived webcast of this conference call will also be available on the investor relations section on the Intralinks website at www.Intralinks.com/ir.

About Intralinks

Intralinks Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: IL) is a leading, global technology provider of secure enterprise content collaboration solutions. Through innovative Software-as-a-Service solutions, Intralinks offerings are designed to enable the exchange, control and management of information between organizations securely and compliantly when working through the firewall. More than 3.1 million professionals at 99% of the Fortune 1000 companies have depended on Intralinks' experience. With a track record of enabling high-stakes transactions and business collaborations valued at more than $28.1 trillion, Intralinks is a trusted provider of easy-to-use, enterprise strength, cloud-based collaboration solutions. For more information, visit www.Intralinks.com.

Non-GAAP Financial Measures

This press release includes information about certain financial measures that are not prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles in the United States (“GAAP” or “U.S. GAAP”). These non-GAAP measures are not based on any standardized methodology prescribed by GAAP and are not necessarily comparable to similar measures presented by other companies.

Management defines its non-GAAP financial measures as follows:

•	Non-GAAP adjusted gross profit represents the corresponding GAAP measure adjusted to exclude, if applicable: (1) amortization of intangible assets and (2) stock-based compensation expense.

•
Non-GAAP adjusted operating income represents the corresponding GAAP measure adjusted to exclude, if applicable: (1) amortization of intangible assets, (2) stock-based compensation expense and (3) impairment charges or asset write-offs.

•
Non-GAAP adjusted net income (loss) represents the corresponding GAAP measure adjusted to exclude, if applicable: (1) amortization of intangible assets, (2) stock-based compensation expense and (3) impairment charges or asset write-offs. The income tax expense (benefit) included in non-GAAP adjusted net income (loss) is calculated using an estimated long-term effective tax rate.

•
Non-GAAP adjusted net income per share represents non-GAAP adjusted net income (which is defined above) divided by fully diluted weighted average shares outstanding. Non-GAAP adjusted net loss per share is calculated by dividing non-GAAP adjusted net loss (which is defined above) by the weighted average shares outstanding as presented in the calculation of GAAP net loss per share.

•
Non-GAAP adjusted EBITDA represents net loss adjusted to exclude, if applicable: (1) depreciation and amortization, (2) amortization of intangible assets, (3) stock-based compensation expense, (4) impairment charges or asset write-offs, (5) interest expense, (6) amortization of debt issuance costs, (7) other (income) expense, net, and (8) income tax (benefit) expense.

•	Free cash flow represents net cash provided by operating activities less capitalized software development costs and capital expenditures.

•
The Company refers to growth rates at constant currency so that the results can be viewed without the impact of fluctuations in foreign currency exchange rates to facilitate comparisons of the Company's performance from one period to another. Constant currency for revenue is calculated by retranslating current and prior period revenue at a consistent rate.

Management believes that these non-GAAP financial measures, when viewed with our results under U.S. GAAP and the accompanying reconciliations, provide useful information about our period-over-period growth and provide additional information that is useful for evaluating our operating performance. In addition, free cash flow provides management with useful information for managing the cash needs of our business. Management also believes that these non-GAAP financial measures provide a more meaningful comparison of our operating results against those of other companies in our industry, as well as on a period-over-period basis, because these measures exclude items that are not representative of our operating performance, such as amortization of intangible assets, stock-based compensation expense and interest expense. Management believes that including these costs in our results of operations results in a lack of comparability between our operating results and those of our peers in the industry. However, non-GAAP adjusted gross profit, non-GAAP adjusted operating income, non-GAAP adjusted net income (loss), non-GAAP adjusted net income (loss) per share, non-GAAP adjusted EBITDA and free cash flow are not measures of financial performance under U.S. GAAP and, accordingly, should not be considered substitutes for or superior to gross profit, loss from operations, net loss, net loss per share and net cash provided by operating activities as indicators of operating performance.

Reconciliations of GAAP to Non-GAAP financial measures are included in this press release.

Forward Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements that are made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995.  This press release contains expressed or implied forward-looking statements that are not based on historical information relating to, among other things, expectations and assumptions concerning management's forecast of financial performance, future business growth, and management's plans, objectives, and strategies. These statements are neither promises nor guarantees, but are subject to a variety of risks and uncertainties, many of which are beyond our control, which could cause actual results to differ materially from those contemplated in these forward-looking statements. In particular, the risks and uncertainties include, among other things:  the uncertainty of our future profitability; our ability to sustain positive cash flow or to attain our enterprise backlog objectives; periodic fluctuations in our operating results; fluctuations in currency exchange rates; our ability to manage our expected growth; risks related to our substantial debt balances and our ability to generate or obtain sufficient capital to service our debt and fund our business; our ability to maintain the security and integrity of our systems; risks associated with the privacy and protection of information in our possession; our ability to increase our penetration in our principal existing markets and expand into additional markets; our ability to expand into new geographic markets; delays in market adoption and penetration of our products and services; difficulties developing, integrating and introducing new products and services; our dependence on the volume of financial and strategic business transactions; our dependence on customer referrals and relationships; our ability to maintain and expand our direct sales capabilities; our ability to develop and maintain strategic relationships to sell and deliver our solutions; customer renewal rates and attrition; our ability to maintain the compatibility of our services with third-party applications; competition and our ability to maintain our average sales prices; our ability to adapt to changing technologies; interruptions or delays in our service; international risks; uncertainties surrounding domestic and global economic conditions; our ability to protect our intellectual property; costs of being a public company; and risks related to changes in laws, regulations or governmental policy, including data privacy and tax regulations. Further information on these and other factors that could affect our financial results is contained in our public filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission from time to time, including our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2014.  Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof.

Intralinks undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

“Intralinks”, “Intralinks VIA” and the Intralinks logo are registered trademarks of Intralinks, Inc. © 2015 all rights reserved.

Investor Contact:
David Roy
Intralinks Holdings, Inc.
212-342-7690
droy@intralinks.com

Media Contact:
Ian Bruce
Intralinks Holdings, Inc.

(Cell) 508-574-2016
ibruce@intralinks.com

Intralinks Holdings, Inc.
Consolidated Balance Sheets
(In Thousands, Except Share Data)
(unaudited)

	March 31, 2015	December 31, 2014
ASSETS
Current assets:
Cash and cash equivalents	$30,427	$40,682
Investments	16,547	11,825
Accounts receivable, net of allowances of $3,627 and $3,158, respectively	51,257	47,338
Deferred taxes	8,292	9,578
Prepaid expenses	7,503	6,602
Other current assets	3,462	3,626
Total current assets	117,488	119,651
Investments	3,282	12,630
Fixed assets, net	14,834	16,245
Capitalized software, net	40,654	39,798
Goodwill	224,383	224,383
Other intangibles, net	56,068	62,055
Other assets	6,677	6,676
Total assets	$463,386	$481,438
LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Current liabilities:
Accounts Payable	$9,859	$10,624
Current portion of long-term debt	871	906
Deferred revenue	48,578	49,193
Accrued expenses and other current liabilities	20,220	26,974
Total current liabilities	79,528	87,697
Long-term debt	77,773	77,933
Deferred taxes	8,292	9,578
Other long-term liabilities	4,882	5,291
Commitments and contingencies
Stockholders' equity:
Undesignated Preferred Stock, $0.001 par value; 10,000,000 shares authorized; 0 shares issued and outstanding	—	—
Common Stock, $0.001 par value; 300,000,000 shares authorized; 57,270,119 and 57,084,340 shares issued and outstanding, respectively	57	57
Additional paid-in capital	444,408	441,596
Accumulated deficit	(148,562)	(139,210)
Accumulated other comprehensive loss	(2,992)	(1,504)
Total stockholders' equity	292,911	300,939
Total liabilities and stockholders' equity	$463,386	$481,438

Intralinks Holdings, Inc.
Consolidated Statements of Operations
(In Thousands, Except Share and Per Share Data)
(unaudited)

	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2015	2014
Revenue	$66,306	$59,241
Cost of revenue	18,553	17,002
Gross profit	47,753	42,239
Operating expenses:
Sales and marketing	29,972	26,119
General and administrative	18,149	16,848
Product development	6,033	5,465
Total operating expenses	54,154	48,432
Loss from operations	(6,401)	(6,193)
Interest expense	1,130	960
Amortization of debt issuance costs	143	116
Other expense (income), net	1,496	(191)
Net loss before income tax	(9,170)	(7,078)
Income tax expense (benefit)	182	(1,699)
Net loss	$(9,352)	$(5,379)
Net loss per common share:
Basic	$(0.17)	$(0.10)
Diluted	$(0.17)	$(0.10)
Weighted average number of shares:
Basic	56,592,517	55,580,116
Diluted	56,592,517	55,580,116

Intralinks Holdings, Inc.
Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
(In Thousands)
(unaudited)

	Three months ended March 31,
	2015	2014
Cash flows from operating activities:
Net loss	$(9,352)	$(5,379)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash used in operating activities:
Depreciation and amortization	6,693	6,152
Amortization of intangible assets	5,987	5,869
Stock-based compensation expense	2,884	2,329
Deferred income tax benefit	—	(3,107)
Other, net	1,103	718
Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Accounts receivable	(5,170)	(4,601)
Prepaid expenses and other assets	(1,140)	498
Accounts payable	(1,075)	(2,340)
Accrued expenses and other liabilities	(7,595)	(4,429)
Deferred revenue	(507)	1,152
Net cash used in operating activities	(8,172)	(3,138)
Cash flows from investing activities:
Capitalized software development costs	(5,103)	(4,939)
Capital expenditures	(433)	(1,424)
Purchases of investments	—	(15,464)
Maturities of investments	4,550	15,972
Purchase of a cost method investment	—	(1,499)
Net cash used in investing activities	(986)	(7,354)
Cash flows from financing activities:
Proceeds from issuance of long-term debt	—	79,200
Payments on long-term debt	(200)	(74,898)
Payments of outstanding financing arrangements	(76)	(148)
Debt issuance costs	—	(2,716)
Exercise of stock options and issuance of common stock, net of withholding taxes	(71)	(127)
Net cash (used in) provided by financing activities	(347)	1,311
Effect of foreign exchange rate changes on cash and cash equivalents	(750)	250
Net decrease in cash and cash equivalents	(10,255)	(8,931)
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period	40,682	50,540
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period	$30,427	$41,609

Intralinks Holdings, Inc.
Reconciliation of GAAP to Non-GAAP Financial Measures
(In Thousands)
(unaudited)

	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2015	2014
Gross profit	$47,753	$42,239
Gross margin	72.0%	71.3%
Cost of revenue – amortization of intangible assets	2,083	1,989
Cost of revenue – stock-based compensation expense	115	178
Non-GAAP adjusted gross profit	$49,951	$44,406
Non-GAAP adjusted gross margin	75.3%	75.0%

Loss from operations	$(6,401)	$(6,193)
Amortization of intangible assets	5,987	5,869
Stock-based compensation expense	2,884	2,329
Non-GAAP adjusted operating income	$2,470	$2,005

Net loss before income tax	$(9,170)	$(7,078)
Amortization of intangible assets	5,987	5,869
Stock-based compensation expense	2,884	2,329
Non-GAAP adjusted net (loss) income before tax	(299)	1,120
Non-GAAP income tax (benefit) expense	(114)	426
Non-GAAP adjusted net (loss) income	$(185)	$694

Net loss	$(9,352)	$(5,379)
Depreciation and amortization	6,693	6,152
Amortization of intangible assets	5,987	5,869
Stock-based compensation expense	2,884	2,329
Interest expense	1,130	960
Amortization of debt issuance costs	143	116
Other expense (income), net	1,496	(191)
Income tax expense (benefit)	182	(1,699)
Non-GAAP adjusted EBITDA	$9,163	$8,157
Non-GAAP adjusted EBITDA margin	13.8%	13.8%

Net cash used in operating activities	$(8,172)	$(3,138)
Capitalized software development costs	(5,103)	(4,939)
Capital expenditures	(433)	(1,424)
Free cash flow	$(13,708)	$(9,501)

Intralinks Holdings, Inc.
Reconciliation of GAAP to Non-GAAP Financial Measures - Guidance
(In Thousands)
(unaudited)

	Three Months Ending June 30, 2015	Year Ending December 31, 2015
Gross profit	$47,646	$193,243
Gross margin	70.8%	71.3%
Cost of revenue - amortization of intangible assets	2,083	8,331
Cost of revenue - stock-based compensation expense	132	510
Non-GAAP adjusted gross profit	$49,861	$202,084
Non-GAAP adjusted gross margin	74.1%	74.6%

Loss from operations	$(8,287)	$(26,233)
Amortization of intangible assets	5,987	23,949
Stock-based compensation expense	3,300	12,784
Non-GAAP adjusted operating income	$1,000	$10,500

Net loss before income tax	$(9,447)	$(32,540)
Amortization of intangible assets	5,987	23,949
Stock-based compensation expense	3,300	12,784
Non-GAAP adjusted net (loss) income before tax	(160)	4,193
Non-GAAP income tax (benefit) expense	(61)	1,593
Non-GAAP adjusted net (loss) income	$(99)	$2,600

Net loss	$(10,014)	$(34,124)
Depreciation and amortization	7,000	28,000
Amortization of intangible assets	5,987	23,949
Stock-based compensation expense	3,300	12,784
Interest expense	1,045	4,323
Amortization of debt issuance costs	143	572
Other (income) expense, net	(28)	1,412
Income tax expense	567	1,584
Non-GAAP adjusted EBITDA	$8,000	$38,500
Non-GAAP adjusted EBITDA margin	11.9%	14.2%

Note: All forward-looking figures presented in these tables are stated at the mid-point of the estimated range.