Exhibit 99.1

BRT REALTY TRUST

ANNOUNCES $5 MILLION

SHARE REPURCHASE PROGRAM

Great Neck, New York – March 14, 2016 – BRT REALTY TRUST (NYSE:BRT) today announced that its Board of Trustees had approved a $5 million share repurchase program.  This program is intended to be implemented through purchases made from time to time in either the open market or through private transactions; the program is authorized through September 30, 2017.  As of March 14, 2016, BRT had approximately 14 million shares outstanding.

Forward Looking Statements:

Certain information contained herein is forward looking within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended.  BRT intends such forward looking statements to be covered by the safe harbor provisions for forward looking statements contained in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and includes this statement for purposes of complying with these safe harbor provisions.  Forward-looking statements, which are based on certain assumptions and describe our future plans, strategies and expectations, are generally identifiable by use of the words “may,” “will,” “believe,” “expect,” “intend,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” “project,” or similar expressions or variations thereof.  Forward looking statements, including statements with respect to BRT’s multi-family property acquisition, development and ownership activities, involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors, which, in some cases, are beyond BRT’s control and could materially affect actual results, performance or achievements.  Investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on any forward-looking statements and to carefully review the section entitled “Item 1A. - Risk Factors” in BRT’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended September 30, 2015 and in the Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q and Current Reports on Form 8-K filed thereafter.

About BRT Realty Trust:

BRT is a real estate investment trust that either directly, or through joint ventures, owns and operates multi-family properties and other real estate assets.  Additional financial and descriptive information on BRT, its operations and its portfolio, is available at BRT’s website at: www.BRTRealty.com. Interested parties are encouraged to review the BRT’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended September 30, 2015, and the other reports filed thereafter with the Securities and Exchange Commission for additional information.

Contact:  Investor Relations

BRT REALTY TRUST

60 Cutter Mill Road

Suite 303

Great Neck, New York 11021

Telephone (516) 466-3100

Telecopier (516) 466-3132

www.BRTRealty.com

(16/brt press release/BRT PR SHARE REPURCHASE PROGRAM)