  EXHIBIT 99.1

Intellipharmaceutics Mourns the Death of Valued Board Member Kenneth Eugene Keirstead

Toronto, Ontario, January 13, 2022, Intellipharmaceutics International Inc. (OTCQB: IPCIF and TSX: IPCI)  (“Intellipharmaceutics” or the “Company”), a pharmaceutical company specializing in the research, development and manufacture of novel and generic controlled-release and targeted-release oral solid dosage drugs, announced today with great sadness that Kenneth Keirstead, a member of the Company’s Board of Directors, has passed away.

“We are all deeply saddened by Ken’s passing,” said Isa Odidi, CEO of Intellipharmaceuitcs. “Ken was a steadfast and highly valued member of our board who was known for his insights as both an entrepreneur and a scientist. Most of all, Ken was a dear member of the Intellipharmaceutics family and will be missed by all.”

Kenneth served as a member of Intellipharmaceutic’s Board of Director since 2006, contributing his wide breadth of experience in healthcare development, pharmaceuticals, drug development and corporate governance to the growth of the company.

Intellipharmaceutics offers its deepest condolences to the family, friends, and colleagues of Kenneth.

About Intellipharmaceutics

Intellipharmaceutics International Inc. is a pharmaceutical company specializing in the research, development and manufacture of novel and generic controlled-release and targeted-release oral solid dosage drugs. The Company’s patented Hypermatrix™ technology is a multidimensional controlled-release drug delivery platform that can be applied to a wide range of existing and new pharmaceuticals. Intellipharmaceutics has developed several drug delivery systems based on this technology platform, with a pipeline of products (some of which have received U.S. Food and Drug Administration ("FDA") approval) in various stages of development. The Company has abbreviated new drug application ("ANDA") and new drug application ("NDA") 505(b)(2) drug product candidates in its development pipeline. These include the Company’s abuse-deterrent oxycodone hydrochloride extended release formulation ("Oxycodone ER") based on its proprietary nPODDDS™ novel Point Of Divergence Drug Delivery System (for which an NDA has been filed with the FDA), and Regabatin™ XR (pregabalin extended release capsules).

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Certain statements in this document constitute "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and/or "forward-looking information" under the Securities Act (Ontario). These statements include, without limitation, statements expressed or implied regarding our expectations relating to our goals and plans to fund our current activities and use of proceeds from financings. In some cases, you can identify forward-looking statements by terminology such as "appear", "unlikely", "target", "may", "will", "should", "expects", "plans", "plans to", "anticipates", "believes", "estimates", "predicts", "confident", "prospects", "potential", "continue", "intends", "look forward", "could", "would", "projected", "goals", "set to", "seeking" or the negative of such terms or other comparable terminology. We made a number of assumptions in the preparation of our forward-looking statements. You should not place undue reliance on our forward-looking statements, which are subject to a multitude of known and unknown risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results, future circumstances or events to differ materially from those stated in or implied by the forward-looking statements. Risks and uncertainties relating to us and our business can be found in the "Risk Factors" section of our latest annual information form, and our latest Form 20-F, as well as in our reports, public disclosure documents and other filings with the securities commissions and other regulatory bodies in Canada and the U.S., which are available on www.sedar.com and www.sec.gov. The forward-looking statements reflect our current views with respect to future events and are based on what we believe are reasonable assumptions as of the date of this document and we disclaim any intention and have no obligation or responsibility, except as required by law, to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

Trademarks used herein are the property of their respective holders.

Unless the context otherwise requires, all references to "we," "us," "our," "Intellipharmaceutics," and the "Company" refer to Intellipharmaceutics International Inc. and its subsidiaries.

Contact Information

Company Contact:

Intellipharmaceutics International Inc.
Isa Odidi
Chief Executive Officer
416.854.0909
investors@intellipharmaceutics.com