On September 2, 2010, the Securities and Exchange Commission declared effective our registration statement on Form S-11 (registration number 333-163069, the "Registration Statement") for our offering of a minimum of 200,000 and a maximum of 150,000,000 shares of our common stock which is offered by the dealer manager on a "reasonable best efforts" basis.  THIS COMMUNICATION IS FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES FOR THE COMPANY'S EXISTING STOCKHOLDERS ONLY. This communication shall not be used as, nor constitute, marketing or sales materials in connection with a sale of the Company's securities offered pursuant to the Registration Statement. This communication shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy the securities offered by the Company pursuant to the Registration Statement. The offering of the Company's securities will be made only by means of a prospectus which is a part of the Registration Statement.

COMMUNICATION FOR BROKER DEALERS AND FINANCIAL ADVISORS AFFILIATED WITH THE AMERICAN REALTY CAPITAL NEW YORK RECOVERY REIT, INC. SELLING GROUP WHO HAVE CLIENTS INVESTED IN THE COMPANY

Dear Financial Advisor,

We are pleased to attach for your reference the American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc. (“ARC NYRR”) 2011 annual report, shareholder letter and proxy materials mailed this week to stockholders of record as of Thursday, April 19, 2012. These materials have been forwarded to stockholders in connection with the ARC NYRR 2012 Annual Meeting of Stockholders to be held on Wednesday, June 6, 2012 (the “Annual Meeting”). Stockholders are being asked to vote their shares for matters referenced in the proxy, including the election of directors. Stockholders may vote by returning the completed proxy card in the postage paid envelope provided or by using the telephone or internet voting options described in the proxy.

ARC NYRR must receive votes representing at least 50% of outstanding shares on or prior to June 6, 2012 in order to reach a quorum at the Annual Meeting. If necessary, ARC NYRR or its proxy solicitor, Broadridge Financial Solutions, Inc., may contact stockholders directly prior to the Annual Meeting in order to secure the requisite number of votes. Please encourage your clients to vote should they contact you regarding the proxy.

The ARC NYRR proxy may also be found at the following hyperlink:

http://sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1474464/000114420412023601/v310269_def14a.htm

We appreciate your continued support and any assistance you may provide in connection with your clients voting their proxy at their earliest convenience.

Please feel free to call us at 877-373-2522 with any questions that you have on these materials.

Sincerely,

Edward M. Weil, Jr.	Louisa Quarto
Chief Executive Officer, Realty Capital Securities, LLC	President, Realty Capital Securities, LLC

American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc.

2011 Annual Report

THIS IS A SHAREHOLDER COMMUNICATION NOT FOR USE AS A SALES MATERIAL.

American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc.

American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc., a Maryland corporation (which we refer to in this Annual Report as the “Company”) may also be referred to herein as “we,” “us,” “our,” or like terms.

This Annual Report contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, or the Securities Act, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, or the Exchange Act. Our actual results could differ materially from those set forth in each forward-looking statement. Certain factors that might cause such a difference are discussed in this Annual Report, including in the section entitled “Forward-Looking Statements” included elsewhere in this Annual Report. You should also review the section of this Annual report entitled “Risk Factors” for a discussion of various risks that could adversely affect us.

On September 2, 2010, the Securities and Exchange Commission declared effective our registration statement on Form S-11 (registration number 333-163069, the “Registration Statement”) for our offering of a minimum of 200,000 and a maximum of 150,000,000 shares of our common stock which is offered by the dealer manager on a “reasonable best efforts” basis. THIS ANNUAL REPORT IS FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES FOR THE COMPANY'S EXISTING STOCKHOLDERS ONLY. This Annual Report shall not be used as, nor constitute, marketing or sales materials in connection with a sale of the Company’s securities offered pursuant to the Registration Statement. This Annual Report shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy the securities offered by the Company pursuant to the Registration Statement. The offering of the Company’s securities will be made only by means of a prospectus which is a part of the Registration Statement.

Financial and Operational Highlights

Operations

·	Our total operating expenses for the year ended December 31, 2011, were $6.9 million, which is 5.5% of our total invested assets, and 201.5 % of our net loss, for such period. Operating expenses include depreciation and amortization expenses of $4.0 million as well as acquisition and related transaction costs of $1.6 million. We calculate net loss in accordance with GAAP. Net loss in accordance with GAAP is rental income on a straight-line basis, which includes tenant concessions such as free rent, as applicable, plus operating expense reimbursement revenue less property operating expenses, acquisition and transaction related expenses, general and administrative expenses, depreciation and amortization expense, net interest expense and income attributable to non-controlling interests.

·	We had an increase in total assets of $67.1 million and raised additional equity of $42.8 million. Additionally, the Company refinanced roughly $14 million of existing debt for $21.3 million on the Interior Design Building and reduced the interest rate from 6.3% to 4.4%. The aggregate leverage ratio on 2011 acquisitions was 56.4%, with a weighted average interest rate of 3.8%.

·	As a result of such expansion, Company’s conservative leverage policy and our operations in general, our independent directors have determined that our policies, objectives and strategies, as described in the prospectus forming a part of the Registration Statement, are in the best interests of the Company and our stockholders.

THIS IS A SHAREHOLDER COMMUNICATION NOT FOR USE AS A SALES MATERIAL.

Acquisitions

·	In the fiscal year ended 2011, the Company acquired five properties, including Footlocker, Regal Parking Garage, Duane Reade, Washington St. and One Jackson Square.

·	The total value of the Company’s 2011 acquisitions was $57.9 million. The Company acquired a total of 58,127 square feet in New York City with aweighted average remaining lease term of 16 years.

Best Practices

·	The Company, its board of directors and its advisor believe that the Company’s distribution should principally be derived from cash flows generated from real estate operations. In order to improve the Company’s operating cash flows and its ability to pay dividends from operating cash flows, the advisor agreed to waive certain fees including asset management and property management fees as well as absorb certain other costs.

Directors and Officers

Directors

Nicholas S. Schorsch

Chairman of the Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc. (“the Company”); Chief Executive Officer, New York Recovery Properties, LLC (“NYRR Property Manager”); Chief Executive Officer, New York Recovery Advisors, LLC (“NYRR Advisor”); Chairman of the Board of Directors, American Realty Capital Trust, Inc. (“ARCT”); Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Healthcare Trust, Inc. (“ARC HT”); Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Healthcare Advisors, LLC (“ARC HT advisor”); Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Healthcare Properties, LLC (“ARC HT property manager”); Chairman of the Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital — Retail Centers of America, Inc. (“ARC RCA”); Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Retail Advisor, LLC (“ARC RCA advisor”); Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Daily Net Asset Value Trust, Inc. (“ARC DNAV”); Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Advisors II, LLC (“ARC DNAV Advisor”); Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Properties II, LLC (“ARC DNAV Property Manager”); Chief Executive Officer, AR Capital Advisor, LLC (“PECO Advisor”); Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Trust III, Inc. (“ARCT III”); Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Advisors III, LLC (“ARCT III advisor”); Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Properties III, LLC (“ARCT III property manager”); Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Properties, Inc. (“ARCP”); Chief Executive Officer, ARC Properties Advisors, LLC (“ARCP advisor”); Chairman of the Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Global Daily Net Asset Value Trust, Inc. (“ARC Global DNAV”); Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Global Advisors, LLC (“ARC Global DNAV Advisor”); Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Global Properties, LLC (“ARC Global DNAV Property Manager”); Chairman of the Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Trust IV, Inc. (“ARCT IV”); Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Advisors IV, LLC (“ARCT IV Advisor”); Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Properties IV, LLC (“ARCT IV Property Manager”); and Director and Chief Executive Officer, Business Development Corporation of America, Inc. (“BDCA”).

THIS IS A SHAREHOLDER COMMUNICATION NOT FOR USE AS A SALES MATERIAL.

William M. Kahane

Director, NYRR; Chief Executive Officer and Director, ARCT; Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Advisors, LLC (“ARCT Advisor”); Chief Executive Officer, American Realty Capital Properties, LLC (“ARCT Property Manager”); Director, ARC HT; Director, ARC RCA; Director, PECO; President, Chief Operating Officer and Treasurer, PECO Advisor; and Director, BDCA.

William G. Stanley

Independent Director, the Company; Independent Director, ARCT; Independent Director, ARC RCA; and Independent Director, BDCA.

Robert H. Burns

Independent Director, the Company; Independent Director, ARCT; Independent Director; andARC HT.

Scott J. Bowman

Independent Director, the Company; Independent Director, ARCT III; and Independent Director, ARC DNAV.

Executive Officers

Nicholas S. Schorsch

See positions listed above.

Edward M. Weil, Jr.

President, Treasurer and Secretary, the Company; President and Chief Operating Officer, NYRR Property Manager; President and Chief Operating Officer, NYRR Advisor; President, Chief Operating Officer and Secretary, ARC HT; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARC HT advisor; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARC HT property manager; President, Chief Operating Officer and Secretary, ARC RCA; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARC RCA advisor; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer, Secretary and Director, ARC DNAV; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARC DNAV Advisor; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARC DNAV Property Manager; Executive Vice President and Secretary, PECO Advisor; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer, Secretary and Director, ARCT III; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARCT III advisor; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARCT III property manager; President, Chief Operating Officer, Secretary and Director, ARCP; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARCP advisor; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARC Global DNAV; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARC Global DNAV Advisor; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARC Global DNAV Property Manager; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARCT IV; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARCT IV Advisor; President, Chief Operating Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, ARCT IV Property Manager; and President, Chief Operating Officer and Secretary, BDCA Adviser, LLC (“BDCA Advisor”).

THIS IS A SHAREHOLDER COMMUNICATION NOT FOR USE AS A SALES MATERIAL.

Michael A. Happel

Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, the Company; Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, NYRR Property Manager; and Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, NYRR Advisor.

Peter M. Budko

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, the Company; Executive Vice President, NYRR Property Manager; Executive Vice President, NYRR Advisor; Executive Vice President, ARC HT; Executive Vice President, ARC HT advisor; Executive Vice President, ARC HT property manager; Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, ARC RCA; Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, ARC RCA advisor; Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, ARC DNAV; Executive Vice President, ARC DNAV Advisor; Executive Vice President, ARC DNAV Property Manager; Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, PECO Advisor;Executive Vice President, ARCT III; Executive Vice President, ARCT III advisor; Executive Vice President, ARCT III property manager; Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, ARCP; Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, ARCP advisor; Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, ARC Global DNAV; Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, ARC Global DNAV Advisor; Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, ARC Global DNAV Property Manager; Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, ARCT IV; Executive Vice President, ARCT IV Advisor; Executive Vice President, ARCT IV Property Manager; President and Chief Operating Officer, BDCA; and Chief Executive Officer, BDCA Advisor.

Brian S. Block

Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, the Company; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, NYRR Property Manager; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, NYRR Advisor; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARC HT; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARC HT advisor; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARC HT property manager; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARC RCA; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARC RCA advisor; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARC DNAV; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARC DNAV Advisor; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARC DNAV Property Manager; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, PECO Advisor; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARCT III; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARCT III advisor; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARCT III property manager; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARCP; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARCP advisor; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARC Global DNAV; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARC Global DNAV Advisor; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARC Global DNAV Property Manager; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARCT IV; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARCT IV Advisor; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARCT IV Property Manager; Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer, BDCA; and Chief Financial Officer, BDCA Advisor.

THIS IS A SHAREHOLDER COMMUNICATION NOT FOR USE AS A SALES MATERIAL.

UNITED STATES
SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
Washington, D.C. 20549

SCHEDULE 14A

Proxy Statement Pursuant to Section 14(a) of the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Filed by the Registrant	x
Filed by a Party other than the Registrant	o

Check the appropriate box:

o	Preliminary Proxy Statement
o	Confidential, For Use of the Commission Only (as Permitted by Rule 14a-6(e)(2))
x	Definitive Proxy Statement
o	Definitive Additional Materials
o	Soliciting Material Pursuant to §240.14a-12

AMERICAN REALTY CAPITAL NEW YORK
RECOVERY REIT, INC.

(Name of Registrant as Specified in Its Charter)

(Name of Person(s) Filing Proxy Statement, if Other Than the Registrant)

Payment of Filing Fee (Check the appropriate box):

x	No fee required.
o	Fee computed on table below per Exchange Act Rules 14a-6(i)(4) and 0-11.
(1)	Title of each class of securities to which transaction applies:

(2)	Aggregate number of securities to which transaction applies:

(3)	Per unit price or other underlying value of transaction computed pursuant to Exchange Act Rule 0-11 (set forth the amount on which the filing fee is calculated and state how it was determined):

(4)	Proposed maximum aggregate value of transaction:

(5)	Total fee paid:

o	Fee paid previously with preliminary materials.
o	Check box if any part of the fee is offset as provided by Exchange Act Rule 0-11(a)(2) and identify the filing for which the offsetting fee was paid previously. Identify the previous filing by registration statement number, or the Form or Schedule and the date of its filing.
(1)	Amount Previously Paid:

(2)	Form, Schedule or Registration Statement No.:

(3)	Filing Party:

(4)	Date Filed:

AMERICAN REALTY CAPITAL NEW YORK RECOVERY REIT, INC.
405 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10022

NOTICE OF ANNUAL MEETING OF STOCKHOLDERS
To Be Held on Wednesday, June 6, 2012

April 24, 2012

To the Stockholders of American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc.:

I am pleased to invite our stockholders to the 2012 Annual Meeting of Stockholders (“Annual Meeting”) of American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc., a Maryland corporation. The Annual Meeting will be held on Wednesday, June 6, 2012, at W New York, located at 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022 commencing at 12:00 noon (local time). At the Annual Meeting, you will be asked to (i) elect five members to the Board of Directors and (ii) consider and act on such other matters as may properly come before the Annual Meeting and any adjournment thereof.

Our Board of Directors has fixed the close of business on Thursday, April 19, 2012 as the record date for the determination of stockholders entitled to notice of and to vote at the Annual Meeting or any adjournment or postponement thereof. Record holders of shares of our common stock, par value $0.01 per share, at the close of business on the record date are entitled to notice of and to vote at the Annual Meeting.

For further information regarding the matters to be acted upon at the Annual Meeting, I urge you to carefully read the accompanying proxy statement. If you have questions about the proposals or would like additional copies of the proxy statement, please contact our proxy solicitor, Broadridge Financial Solutions, Inc. at 1-800-690-6903.

Whether you own a few or many shares and whether you plan to attend the Annual Meeting in person or not, it is important that your shares be voted on matters that come before the Annual Meeting. You may authorize a proxy to vote your shares by using a toll-free telephone number or via the Internet. Instructions for using these convenient services are provided on the enclosed proxy card and in the attached proxy statement. If you prefer, you may vote your shares by marking your votes on the proxy card, signing and dating it and mailing it in the postage paid return envelope provided. If you sign and return your proxy card without specifying your choices, it will be understood that you wish to have your shares voted in accordance with the directors’ recommendations. If we do not hear from you after a reasonable amount of time, you may receive a telephone call from our proxy solicitor, reminding you to vote your shares.

You are cordially invited to attend the Annual Meeting. Your vote is important.

By Order of the Board of Directors,
/s/ Edward M. Weil, Jr. Edward M. Weil, President, Treasurer and Secretary

AMERICAN REALTY CAPITAL NEW YORK RECOVERY REIT, INC.

i

AMERICAN REALTY CAPITAL NEW YORK RECOVERY REIT, INC.
405 Park Avenue — 15th Floor
New York, New York 10022

PROXY STATEMENT

The accompanying proxy card, mailed together with this proxy statement (this “Proxy Statement”) and our 2011 Annual Report, is solicited by and on behalf of the board of directors (the “Board of Directors” or the “Board”) of American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc., a Maryland corporation (which we refer to in this Proxy Statement as the “Company”), for use at the 2012 Annual Meeting of Stockholders (the “Annual Meeting”) and at any adjournment or postponement thereof. References in this Proxy Statement to “we,” “us,” “our” or like terms also refer to the Company, and references in this Proxy Statement to “you” refer to the stockholders of the Company. The mailing address of our principal executive offices is 405 Park Avenue — 15th Floor, New York, New York 10022. This Proxy Statement, the accompanying proxy card, Notice of Annual Meeting and our 2011 Annual Report were first mailed to our stockholders on or about April 24, 2012.

Important Notice Regarding the Availability of Proxy Materials
for the Annual Stockholders Meeting To Be Held on Wednesday, June 6, 2012

This Proxy Statement and our 2011 Annual Report are available at: http://www.proxyvote.com.

INFORMATION ABOUT THE MEETING AND VOTING

What is the date of the Annual Meeting and where will it be held?

The Annual Meeting will be held on Wednesday, June 6, 2012, commencing at 12:00 noon (local time) at W New York, located at 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022

What will I be voting on at the Annual Meeting?

At the Annual Meeting, you will be asked to:

1.	elect five directors for one-year terms expiring in 2013 and until their successors are duly elected and qualified; and
2.	consider and act on such matters as may properly come before the Annual Meeting and any adjournment thereof.

The Board of Directors does not know of any matters that may be considered at the Annual Meeting other than the matters set forth above.

Who can vote at the Annual Meeting?

The record date for the determination of holders of shares of our Common Stock (as defined below) entitled to notice of and to vote at the Annual Meeting, or any adjournment or postponement of the Annual Meeting, is the close of business on April 19, 2012. As of the record date, 14,263,875 shares of our common stock, par value 0.01 per share (“Common Stock”) were issued and outstanding and entitled to vote at the Annual Meeting.

How many votes do I have?

Each share of Common Stock has one vote on each matter considered at the Annual Meeting or any adjournment or postponement thereof. The enclosed proxy card shows the number of shares of Common Stock you are entitled to vote.

How may I vote?

You may vote in person at the Annual Meeting or by proxy. Instructions for in person voting can be obtained by calling our proxy solicitor, Broadridge Financial Solutions, Inc. (“Broadridge”) at 1-800-690-6903. Stockholders may submit their votes by proxy by mail by completing, signing, dating and returning their proxy card in the enclosed envelope. Stockholders also have the following two options for authorizing a proxy to vote their shares:

•	via the Internet at http://www.proxyvote.com; or
•	by telephone, by calling 1-800-690-6903.

For those stockholders with Internet access, we encourage you to authorize a proxy to vote your shares via the Internet, a convenient means of authorizing a proxy that also provides cost savings to us. In addition, when you authorize a proxy to vote your shares via the Internet or by telephone prior to the Annual Meeting date, your proxy authorization is recorded immediately and there is no risk that postal delays will cause your vote by proxy to arrive late and, therefore, not be counted. For further instructions on authorizing a proxy to vote your shares, see your proxy card enclosed with this Proxy Statement. You may also vote your shares at the Annual Meeting. If you attend the Annual Meeting, you may submit your vote in person, and any previous votes that you submitted by mail or authorized by Internet or telephone will be superseded by the vote that you cast at the Annual Meeting.

How will proxies be voted?

Shares represented by valid proxies will be voted at the Annual Meeting in accordance with the directions given. If the enclosed proxy card is signed and returned without any directions given, the shares will be voted “FOR” election of the nominees for director named in the proxy.

The Board of Directors does not intend to present, and has no information indicating that others will present, any business at the Annual Meeting other than as set forth in the attached Notice of Annual Meeting of Stockholders. However, if other matters requiring the vote of our stockholders come before the Annual Meeting, it is the intention of the persons named in the accompanying proxy to vote the proxies held by them in their discretion.

How can I change my vote or revoke a proxy?

You have the unconditional right to revoke your proxy at any time prior to the voting thereof by (i) submitting a later-dated proxy either by telephone, via the Internet or in the mail to our proxy solicitor at the following address: Broadridge, 51 Mercedes Way, Edgewood, NY 11717; or (ii) by attending the Annual Meeting and voting in person. No written revocation of your proxy shall be effective, however, unless and until it is received at or prior to the Annual Meeting.

What if I return my proxy but do not mark it to show how I am voting?

If your proxy card is signed and returned without specifying your choices, your shares will be voted as recommended by the Board of Directors.

What vote is required to elect directors?

There is no cumulative voting in the election of our directors. Each director is elected by the affirmative vote of a majority of votes cast at the meeting. Any shares not voted (whether by abstention, broker non-vote, or otherwise) have no impact on the vote. A “broker non-vote” occurs when a broker who holds shares for the beneficial owner does not vote on a proposal because the broker does not have discretionary voting authority for that proposal and has not received instructions from the beneficial owner of the shares.

What constitutes a “quorum”?

The presence at the Annual Meeting, in person or represented by proxy, of stockholders entitled to cast a majority of all the votes entitled to be cast at the Annual Meeting constitutes a quorum. Abstentions and broker non-votes will be counted as present for the purpose of establishing a quorum; however, abstentions and broker non-votes will not be counted as votes cast.

Will you incur expenses in soliciting proxies?

We are soliciting the proxy on behalf of the Board of Directors, and we will pay all costs of preparing, assembling and mailing the proxy materials. We have retained Broadridge to aid in the solicitation of proxies. Broadridge will receive a fee of approximately $19,000 which includes the reimbursement for certain costs and out of pocket expenses incurred in connection with their services, all of which will be paid by us. In addition, our directors and officers may solicit proxies by telephone or fax, without receiving any additional compensation for their services. We will request banks, brokers, custodians, nominees, fiduciaries and other record holders to forward copies of this Proxy Statement to people on whose behalf they hold shares of Common Stock and to request authority for the exercise of proxies by the record holders on behalf of those people. In compliance with the regulations of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”), we will reimburse such persons for reasonable expenses incurred by them in forwarding proxy materials to the beneficial owners of shares of our Common Stock.

As the date of the Annual Meeting approaches, certain stockholders may receive a telephone call from a representative of Broadridge if their votes have not yet been received. Proxies that are obtained telephonically will be recorded in accordance with the procedures described below. The Board of Directors believes that these procedures are reasonably designed to ensure that both the identity of the stockholder casting the vote and the voting instructions of the stockholder are accurately determined.

In all cases where a telephonic proxy is solicited, the Broadridge representative is required to ask for each stockholder’s full name and address, or the zip code or control number, and to confirm that the stockholder has received the proxy materials in the mail. If the stockholder is a corporation or other entity, the Broadridge representative is required to ask for the person’s title and confirmation that the person is authorized to direct the voting of the shares. If the information solicited agrees with the information provided to Broadridge, then the Broadridge representative has the responsibility to explain the process, read the proposal listed on the proxy card and ask for the stockholder’s instructions on the proposal. Although the Broadridge representative is permitted to answer questions about the process, he or she is not permitted to recommend to the stockholder how to vote, other than to read any recommendation set forth in this Proxy Statement. Broadridge will record the stockholder’s instructions on the card. Within 72 hours, the stockholder will be sent a letter or mailgram to confirm his or her vote and asking the stockholder to call Broadridge immediately if his or her instructions are not correctly reflected in the confirmation.

What does it mean if I receive more than one proxy card?

Some of your shares may be registered differently or held in a different account. You should authorize a proxy to vote the shares in each of your accounts by mail, by telephone or via the Internet. If you mail proxy cards, please sign, date and return each proxy card to guarantee that all of your shares are voted. If you hold your shares in registered form and wish to combine your stockholder accounts in the future, you should call us at (212) 415-6500. Combining accounts reduces excess printing and mailing costs, resulting in cost savings to us that benefit you as a stockholder.

What if I receive only one set of proxy materials although there are multiple stockholders at my address?

The SEC has adopted a rule concerning the delivery of documents filed by us with the SEC, including proxy statements and annual reports. The rule allows us to, with the consent of affected stockholders, send a single set of any annual report, proxy statement, proxy statement combined with a prospectus or information statement to any household at which two or more stockholders reside if they share the same last name or we reasonably believe they are members of the same family. This procedure is referred to as “Householding.” This rule benefits both you and us. It reduces the volume of duplicate information received at your household and helps us reduce expenses. Each stockholder subject to Householding will continue to receive a separate proxy card or voting instruction card.

We will promptly deliver, upon written or oral request, a separate copy of our Annual Report or Proxy Statement as applicable, to a stockholder at a shared address to which a single copy was previously delivered. If you received a single set of disclosure documents for this year, but you would prefer to receive your own

copy, you may direct requests for separate copies by calling us at (212) 415-6500. Likewise, if your household currently receives multiple copies of disclosure documents and you would like to receive one set, please contact us.

Whom should I call for additional information about voting by proxy or authorizing a proxy by telephone or Internet to vote my shares?

Please call Broadridge, our proxy solicitor, at 1-800-690-6903.

How do I submit a stockholder proposal for next year’s annual meeting or proxy materials, and what is the deadline for submitting a proposal?

In order for a stockholder proposal to be properly submitted for presentation at our 2013 annual meeting and included in the proxy material for next year’s annual meeting, we must receive written notice of the proposal at our executive offices during the period beginning on November 25, 2012 and ending at 5:00 p.m., Eastern Time, on December 25, 2012. All proposals must contain the information specified in, and otherwise comply with, our bylaws. Proposals should be sent via registered, certified or express mail to: 405 Park Avenue — 15th Floor, New York, New York 10022, Attention: Edward M. Weil, Jr., President, Treasurer and Secretary. For additional information, see the section in this Proxy Statement captioned “Stockholder Proposals for the 2013 Annual Meeting.”

UNLESS SPECIFIED OTHERWISE, THE PROXIES WILL BE VOTED “FOR” THE ELECTION OF THE NOMINEES TO SERVE AS DIRECTORS OF THE COMPANY UNTIL THE ANNUAL MEETING IN 2013 AND UNTIL THEIR SUCCESSORS ARE DULY ELECTED AND QUALIFIED. IN THE DISCRETION OF THE PROXY HOLDERS, THE PROXIES WILL ALSO BE VOTED “FOR” OR “AGAINST” SUCH OTHER MATTERS AS MAY PROPERLY COME BEFORE THE ANNUAL MEETING. MANAGEMENT IS NOT AWARE OF ANY OTHER MATTERS TO BE PRESENTED FOR ACTION AT THE ANNUAL MEETING.

PROPOSAL 1

ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

The Board of Directors, including our independent directors, is responsible for monitoring and supervising the performance of our day-to-day operations by New York Recovery Advisors, LLC (the “Advisor”). Directors are elected annually by our stockholders, and there is no limit on the number of times a director may be elected to office. Each director serves until the next annual meeting of stockholders or (if longer) until his or her successor is duly elected and qualifies. The Charter and bylaws provide that the number of directors shall be fixed by a resolution of the Board of Directors; provided, however, that from the commencement of the Company’s ongoing initial public offering the number of directors shall never be less than three or greater than nine. The number of directors on the Board is currently fixed at five.

The Board of Directors has proposed the following nominees for election as directors, each to serve for a term ending at the 2013 annual meeting of stockholders and until his successor is duly elected and qualifies: Messrs. Nicholas S. Schorsch, William M. Kahane, William G. Stanley, Robert H. Burns and Scott J. Bowman. Each nominee currently serves as a director of the Company.

The proxy holder named on the enclosed proxy card intends to vote “FOR” the election of each of the five nominees. If you do not wish your shares to be voted for particular nominees, please identify the exceptions in the designated space provided on the proxy card or, if you are authorizing a proxy to vote your shares by telephone or the Internet, follow the instructions provided when you authorize a proxy. Directors will be elected by a majority of votes cast at the Annual Meeting, provided that a quorum is present. Any shares not voted (whether by abstention, broker non-vote, or otherwise) have no impact on the vote.

If, at the time of the Annual Meeting, one or more of the nominees should become unable to serve, shares represented by proxies will be voted for the remaining nominees and for any substitute nominee or nominees designated by the Board of Directors. No proxy will be voted for a greater number of persons than the number of nominees described in this Proxy Statement.

Nominees

The table set forth below lists the names and ages of each of the nominees as of the date of this Proxy Statement and the position and office that each nominee currently holds with the Company:

Name	Age	Position
Nicholas S. Schorsch	51	Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
William M. Kahane	63	Director
Scott J. Bowman	55	Independent Director
William G. Stanley	56	Independent Director
Robert H. Burns	82	Independent Director

Business Experience of Nominees

Nicholas S. Schorsch

Nicholas S. Schorsch has served as the chairman of the Board and chief executive officer of the Company since our formation in October 2009. Mr. Schorsch also has been the chief executive officer of our Advisor and New York Recovery Properties, LLC (our “Property Manager”) since their formation in November 2009. He has been active in the structuring and financial management of commercial real estate investments for over 20 years. In addition, Mr. Schorsch also has been the chairman of American Realty Capital Trust, Inc. (“ARCT”) since its formation in August 2007 and served as the chief executive officer of ARCT, the ARCT property manager and the ARCT advisor from their formation in August 2007 until March 2012. Mr. Schorsch has served as the chairman of the board and chief executive officer of American Realty Capital Healthcare Trust, Inc. (“ARC HT”) since its formation in August 2010 and as the chief executive officer of the ARC HT advisor and the ARC HT property manager since their formation in August 2010. He has served as the chairman of the board and chief executive officer of American Realty Capital — Retail Centers of America, Inc. (“ARC RCA”) since its formation in July 2010 and as the chief executive officer of the ARC RCA advisor since its formation in May 2010. Mr. Schorsch has served as the chief executive officer of

the advisor of Phillips Edison-ARC Shopping Center REIT, Inc. (“PE-ARC”) since its formation in December 2009. Mr. Schorsch has also been the chairman of the board and chief executive officer of American Realty Capital Daily Net Asset Value Trust, Inc. (“ARC DNAV”) and chief executive officer of the ARC DNAV advisor and the ARC DNAV property manager since their formation in September 2010. Mr. Schorsch has been the chairman and the chief executive officer of American Realty Capital Trust III, Inc. (“ARCT III”) and the chief executive officer of the ARCT III advisor and property manager since their formation in October 2010. Mr. Schorsch also has been the chairman and chief executive officer of American Realty Capital Properties, Inc. (“ARCP”) since its formation in December 2010 and the chief executive officer of its advisor since its formation in November 2010. Mr. Schorsch also has been the chairman and chief executive officer of American Realty Capital Global Daily Net Asset Value Trust, Inc. (“ARC Global DNAV”) since its formation in July 2011 and has served as the chief executive officer of the ARC Global DNAV advisor and the ARC Global DNAV property manager since their formation in July 2011 and January 2012, respectively. Mr. Schorsch also has been the chairman and chief executive officer of American Realty Capital Trust IV, Inc. (“ARCT IV”) since their formation in February 2012 and has served as the chief executive officer of the ARCT IV advisor and the ARCT IV property manager since their formation in February 2012. Mr. Schorsch also has been an interested director and chief executive officer of Business Development Corporation of America, Inc. (“BDCA”) since its formation in May 2010.

From September 2006 to July 2007, Mr. Schorsch was chief executive officer of an affiliate, American Realty Capital, a real estate investment firm. Mr. Schorsch founded and formerly served as president, chief executive officer and vice-chairman of American Financial Realty Trust (“AFRT”) since its inception as a real estate investment trust (“REIT”) in September 2002 until August 2006. AFRT was a publicly traded REIT (which was listed on the NYSE within one year of its inception) that invested exclusively in offices, operation centers, bank branches, and other operating real estate assets that are net leased to tenants in the financial service industry, such as banks and insurance companies. Through American Financial Resource Group (“AFRG”) and its successor corporation, now AFRT, Mr. Schorsch executed in excess of 1,000 acquisitions, both in acquiring businesses and real estate property with an aggregate purchase price of acquired properties of approximately $5 billion. In 2003, Mr. Schorsch received an Entrepreneur of the Year award from Ernst & Young. From 1995 to September 2002, Mr. Schorsch served as chief executive officer and president of AFRG, AFRT’s predecessor, a private equity firm founded for the purpose of acquiring operating companies and other assets in a number of industries. Prior to AFRG, Mr. Schorsch served as president of a non-ferrous metal product manufacturing business, Thermal Reduction. From approximately 1990 until the sale of his interests in Thermal Reduction in 1994, Mr. Schorsch was involved in purchasing and leasing several commercial real estate properties in connection with the growth of Thermal Reduction’s business. He successfully built the business through mergers and acquisitions and ultimately sold his interests to Corrpro (NYSE) in 1994. Mr. Schorsch attended Drexel University. We believe that Mr. Schorsch’s current experience as chairman and chief executive officer, as applicable, of ARCT, ARC HT, ARC RCA, ARC DNAV, ARCT III, ARCP, ARC Global DNAV, ARCT IV and BDCA, his previous experience as president, chief executive officer and vice chairman of AFRT, and his significant real estate acquisition experience make him well qualified to serve as our chairman of the Board of Directors.

William M. Kahane

William M. Kahane has served as a director of the Company since our formation in October 2009. Mr. Kahane also served as president and treasurer of the Company from our formation in October 2009 until March 2012. He also served as the president and treasurer of our Advisor and our Property Manager from their formation in November 2009 until March 2012. He has been active in the structuring and financial management of commercial real estate investments for over 35 years. Mr. Kahane has served as a director and executive officer of ARCT and as an executive officer of the ARCT advisor and the ARCT property manager since their formation in August 2007. Mr. Kahane currently serves as a director of ARC RCA since its formation in July 2010 and also served as an executive officer of ARC RCA and the ARC RCA advisor from their formation in July 2010 and May 2010, respectively, until March 2012. Mr. Kahane also has been a director of PE-ARC and the president, chief operating officer and treasurer of the PE-ARC advisor since their formation in December 2009. Mr. Kahane also served as an executive officer of ARCT III from its formation in October 2010 until March 2012 and as an executive officer of the ARCT III advisor and the ARCT III property manager from their formation in October 2010 until March 2012. Mr. Kahane has served as a

director of ARC HT since their formation in August 2010 and also served as an executive officer of ARC HT, the ARC HT advisor and the ARC HT property manager from their formation in August 2010 until March 2012. Mr. Kahane served as a director and an executive officer of ARC DNAV from its formation in September 2010 until March 2012 and as an executive officer of the ARC DNAV advisor and the ARC DNAV property manager from their formation in September 2010 until March 2012. Mr. Kahane served as a director and an executive officer of ARCP from its formation in December 2010 until March 2012 and as an executive officer of the ARCP advisor from its formation in November 2010 until March 2012. Mr. Kahane also has been an interested director of BDCA since its formation in May 2010 and, until March 2012, was president of the BDCA. Mr. Kahane also served as president and chief operating officer of the BDCA advisor from its formation in June 2010 until March 2012. Mr. Kahane has served as a member of the investment committee of Aetos Capital Asia Advisors, a $3 billion series of opportunistic funds focusing on assets primarily in Japan and China, since 2008.

Mr. Kahane began his career as a real estate lawyer practicing in the public and private sectors from 1974 – 1979. From 1981 – 1992, Mr. Kahane worked at Morgan Stanley & Co., specializing in real estate, becoming a managing director in 1989. In 1992, Mr. Kahane left Morgan Stanley to establish a real estate advisory and asset sales business known as Milestone Partners which continues to operate and of which Mr. Kahane is currently the chairman. Mr. Kahane worked very closely with Mr. Schorsch while a trustee at AFRT (April 2003 to August 2006), during which time Mr. Kahane served as chairman of the finance committee of AFRT’s board of trustees. Mr. Kahane has been a managing director of GF Capital Management & Advisors LLC, a New York-based merchant banking firm, where he has directed the firm’s real estate investments since 2001. GF Capital offers comprehensive wealth management services through its subsidiary TAG Associates LLC, a leading multi-client family office and portfolio management services company with approximately $5 billion of assets under management. Mr. Kahane also was on the board of directors of Catellus Development Corp., a NYSE growth-oriented real estate development company, where he served as chairman. Mr. Kahane received a B.A. from Occidental College, a J.D. from the University of California, Los Angeles Law School and an MBA from Stanford University’s Graduate School of Business. We believe that Mr. Kahane’s current experience as an executive officer and director of ARCT, his current experience as a director of the Company, ARC RCA, ARC HT, BDCA and PE-ARC, his prior experience as chairman of the board of Catellus Development Corp. and his significant investment banking experience in real estate make him well qualified to serve as a member of the Board.

Scott J. Bowman

Scott J. Bowman was appointed as an independent director of the Company in August 2011. Mr. Bowman was also appointed as an independent director of ARC DNAV in August 2011 and ARCT III in February 2012. Mr. Bowman has over 20 years of experience in global brand and retail management in addition to retail store development. Mr. Bowman founded Scott Bowman Associates in May 2009 and has served as its chief executive officer since such time. Scott Bowman Associates provides global management, business development, retail market and network strategies, licensing, strategic planning and international strategy and operations support to leading retailers and consumer brands. From May 2005 until September 2008, Mr. Bowman served as president of Polo Ralph Lauren International Business Development where he was also a member of the executive committee and capital committee. From June 2007 until September 2008, Mr. Bowman served as chairman of Polo Ralph Lauren Japan. During his time with Polo Ralph Lauren, Mr. Bowman led the effort to transform the company’s business in Asia from a licensed structure to a direct, integrated subsidiary of Polo Ralph Lauren. The transformation included upgraded merchandising, marketing, store development processes, restructuring remaining partnership agreements as well as leading the effort to buy back control of key operating territories in Asia. From 2003 to 2005, Mr. Bowman served as founder and chief executive officer of Scott Bowman Associates International Retail Consultancy. From May 1998 until January 2003, Mr. Bowman served as an executive officer of two subsidiaries of LVMH Moet Hennessy Louis Vuitton. From February 2001 until January 2003, Mr. Bowman served as the chief executive officer of Marc Jacobs Int’l. From May 1998 until January 2001, he was the region president of Duty Free Shoppers. Mr. Bowman has been the chairman of the board of Colin Cowie Enterprises, a multi-platform digital events and lifestyle company, since its formation in March 2011. He was also a member of the boards of directors of Stuart Weitzman from February 2009 until April 2010 and The Health Back, a specialty and e-commerce retailer, from May 2004 until September 2007. Mr. Bowman received his B.A. from the State University of

New York at Albany. We believe that Mr. Bowman’s extensive experience in global brand and retail management and retail store development make him well qualified to serve as a member of the Board.

William G. Stanley

William G. Stanley was appointed as an independent director of the Company in October 2009. Mr. Stanley has been an independent director of ARCT since January 2008 and an independent director of ARC RCA since February 2011. Mr. Stanley also serves as an independent director of BDCA, an American Realty Capital-sponsored specialty finance company, since January 2011. Mr. Stanley is a member of the audit committee of the Board and a member of the audit committee of the boards of directors of ARCT and ARC RCA. Mr. Stanley is the founder and managing member of Stanley Laman Securities, LLC (SLS), a Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, Inc. (“FINRA”) member broker-dealer, since 2004, and the founder and president of The Stanley-Laman Group, Ltd (SLG), a registered investment advisor for high net worth clients since 1997. SLG has built a multi-member staff which critically and extensively studies the research of the world’s leading economists and technical analysts to support its tactical approach to portfolio management. Over its history, SLG and SLS have assembled an array of intellectual property in the investment, estate, tax and business planning arena. Mr. Stanley has earned designations as a Chartered Financial Consultant, Chartered Life Underwriter, and received his Master of Science in Financial Services from the American College in 1997. Mr. Stanley holds FINRA Series 7, 63 and 24 licenses. We believe that Mr. Stanley’s significant background in the finance and investment management industry and his service on the boards of directors of other public companies in the past makes him well qualified to serve as a member of our Board of Directors.

Robert H. Burns

Robert H. Burns was appointed as an independent director of the Company in October 2009. He has also been an independent director of ARCT since January 2008 and served as a director of ARCT III from January 2011 until March 2012. Mr. Burns also has been an independent director of ARC HT since March 2012. Burns is a hotel industry veteran with an international reputation and over 30 years of hotel, real estate, food and beverage and retail experience. Mr. Burns founded and built the luxurious Regent International Hotels brand, which he sold in 1992. From 1970 to 1992, Mr. Burns served as chairman and chief executive officer of Regent International Hotels, where he was personally involved in all strategic and major operating decisions. In this connection, Mr. Burns and his team of professionals performed site selection, obtained land use and zoning approvals, performed all property due diligence, financed each project by raising both equity and arranging debt, oversaw planning, design and construction of each hotel property, and managed each asset. Each Regent hotel typically contained a significant food and beverage element and high-end retail component, frequently including luxury goods such as clothing, jewelry, as well as retail shops. In fact, Mr. Burns is extremely familiar with the retail landscape as his flagship hotel in Hong Kong was part of a mixed-use complex anchored by a major enclosed shopping center connected to the Regent Hong Kong. Thus, Mr. Burns has over forty (40) years as a manager and principal acquiring, financing, developing and operating properties. Mr. Burns opened the first Regent hotel in Honolulu, Hawaii, in 1970. From 1970 to 1979, the company opened and managed a number of prominent hotels, but gained truly international recognition in 1980 with the opening of The Regent Hong Kong, which brought a new dimension in amenities and service to hotels in the city and attracted attention throughout the world. In all, Mr. Burns developed over 18 major hotel projects including the Four Seasons Hotel in New York City, the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, the Four Seasons Hotel in Milan, Italy, and the Four Seasons Hotel in Bali, Indonesia.

Mr. Burns currently serves as chairman of Barings’ Chrysalis Emerging Markets Fund (since 1991) and as a director of Barings’ Asia Pacific Fund (since 1986). Additionally, he is a member of the executive committee of the board of directors of Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City (since 2000), and chairs the Robert H. Burns Foundation which he founded in 1992 and which funds the education of Asian students at American schools. Mr. Burns frequently lectures at Stanford Business School. Mr. Burns was chairman and co-founder of the World Travel and Tourism Council (1994 to 1996), a forum for business leaders in the travel and tourism industry. He served as a faculty member at the University of Hawaii (1963 to 1994) and as president of the Hawaii Hotel Association (1968 to 1970). Mr. Burns began his career in Sheraton’s Executive Training Program in 1958, and advanced rapidly within Sheraton and then within Westin Hotels (1962 to 1963). He later spent eight years with Hilton International Hotels (1963 to 1970). Mr. Burns graduated from the School

of Hotel Management at Michigan State University (1958), and the University of Michigan’s Graduate School of Business (1960), after serving three years in the U.S. Army in Korea. For the past five years Mr. Burns has devoted his time to owning and operating Villa Feltrinelli on Lago di Garda, in Northern Italy, a small, luxury hotel, and working on developing hotel projects in Asia, focusing on Vietnam and China. We believe that Mr. Burns’ experience as a real estate developer for over 40 years, during which he developed over 18 major hotel projects, make him well qualified to serve as a member of our Board of Directors.

THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS RECOMMENDS THAT THE STOCKHOLDERS VOTE “FOR” THE ELECTION OF MESSRS. NICHOLAS S. SCHORSCH, WILLIAM M. KAHANE, WILLIAM G. STANLEY, ROBERT H. BURNS AND SCOTT J. BOWMAN AS MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS TO SERVE UNTIL THE 2013 ANNUAL STOCKHOLDERS MEETING AND UNTIL THEIR SUCCESSORS ARE DULY ELECTED AND QUALIFIED.

Information About the Board of Directors and its Committees

The Board of Directors ultimately is responsible for the management and control of our business and operations. We have no employees and have retained the Advisor to manage our day-to-day operations, including the acquisition of our properties. The Advisor is wholly owned by American Realty Capital III, LLC (the “Sponsor”), which is indirectly majority owned and controlled by Mr. Nicholas S. Schorsch, our chairman and chief executive officer, and Mr. William M. Kahane, one of the Company’s directors.

The Board of Directors held a total of 13 meetings during the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011 and took action by written consent on 7 occasions. Each incumbent director attended at least 60% of the total number of meetings while they were a member of the Board of Directors. We anticipate that all directors and nominees will attend the Annual Meeting.

The Board of Directors has approved and organized an audit committee. The Company does not currently have a compensation committee, nominating and corporate governance committee or a conflicts committee. The Board of Directors carries out the responsibilities typically associated with compensation committees, nominating and corporate governance committees or conflicts committees. The Company does not have any employees and compensation of directors is set by the entire Board. The Board of Directors does not believe that any marked efficiencies or enhancements would be achieved by the creation of a separate compensation committee at this time.

Leadership Structure of the Board of Directors

Nicholas S. Schorsch serves as both our chairman of the Board and our chief executive officer. As chief executive officer, Mr. Schorsch is responsible for the daily operations of the Company and implementing the Company’s business strategy. The Board of Directors believes that because the chief executive officer is ultimately responsible for ensuring the successful operation of the Company and its business, which is also the main focus of the Board’s deliberations, the chief executive officer is the most qualified director to act as chairman. The Board of Directors may modify this structure to best address the Company’s circumstances for the benefit of its stockholders when appropriate.

Although each of Messrs., William G. Stanley, Robert H. Burns and Scott J. Bowman are independent directors, the Board has not appointed a lead independent director at this time. The Board has appointed William G. Stanley as its “audit committee financial expert”, as defined by Item 407(d)(5) of Regulation S-K and the rules and regulations of the SEC. The Board of Directors believes that the current structure is appropriate, as the Company has no employees and is externally managed by its Advisor, whereby all operations are conducted by the Advisor or its affiliates. Additionally, as members of the Board of Directors are elected annually, the Board believes that its existing corporate governance practices ensure appropriate management accountability to the Company’s stockholders.

Oversight of Risk Management

The Board of Directors has an active role in overseeing the management of risks applicable to the Company. The entire Board is actively involved in overseeing risk management for the Company through its approval of all property acquisitions, incurrence and assumptions of debt, its oversight of the Company’s executive officers and Advisor, managing risks associated with independence of the members of the Board, and reviewing and

approving all transactions with affiliated parties and resolving other conflicts of interest between the Company and its subsidiaries, on the one hand, and the Sponsor, any director, the Advisor or their respective affiliates, on the other hand. The audit committee oversees management of accounting, financial, legal and regulatory risks.

Audit Committee

The Board of Directors established an audit committee in September 2010. The charter of the audit committee is available to any stockholder who requests it c/o American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc., 405 Park Avenue, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10022. The audit committee charter is also available on the Company’s website at http://newyorkrecoveryreit.com by clicking on “Audit Committee Charter”. Our audit committee consists of Messrs. William G. Stanley, Robert H. Burns and Scott J. Bowman, each of whom is “independent” within the meaning of the applicable (i) provisions set forth in the Charter and (ii) requirements set forth in the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the “Exchange Act”) and the applicable SEC rules. The Board has determined that William G. Stanley is qualified as an “audit committee financial expert” as defined in Item 407(d)(5) of Regulation S-K and the rules and regulations of the SEC.

The audit committee, in performing its duties, monitors:

•	our financial reporting process;
•	the integrity of our financial statements;
•	compliance with legal and regulatory requirements;
•	the independence and qualifications of our independent and internal auditors, as applicable; and
•	the performance of our independent and internal auditors, as applicable.

During the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, all of the members of the audit committee voted to approve the filing of the Company’s Annual and Quarterly Reports.

The audit committee’s report on our financial statements for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011 is discussed below under the heading “Audit Committee Report.

Stockholders who would like to propose an independent director candidate for the consideration of the Board of Directors may do so by following the procedures under the section entitled “Stockholder Proposals for the 2013 Annual Meeting — Stockholder Proposals and Nominations for Directors to Be Presented at Meetings” on page 28 of this Proxy Statement.

Oversight of Nominations and Corporate Governance

The Company does not have a standing nominating and corporate governance committee. Instead, the entire Board of Directors, including our independent directors, is responsible for (i) identifying qualified individuals to become directors of the Company, (ii) recommending director candidates to fill vacancies on the Board and to stand for election by the stockholders at the annual meeting, (iii) recommending committee assignments, (iv) periodically assessing the performance of the Board and (v) reviewing and recommending appropriate corporate governance policies and procedures for the Company, including developing and recommending a code of business conduct and ethics for the Company’s chief executive officers and senior financial officers and annually reviewing such code.

The Board of Directors believes that diversity is an important attribute of the members who comprise our Board of Directors and that the members should represent an array of backgrounds and experiences. In making its determinations, the Board reviews the appropriate experience, skills and characteristics required of directors in the context of our business. This review includes, in the context of the perceived needs of the Board at that time, issues of knowledge, experience, judgment and skills relating to the understanding of the real estate industry, accounting or financial expertise. This review also includes the candidate’s ability to attend regular Board meetings and to devote a sufficient amount of time and effort in preparation for such meetings. The Board also gives consideration to the Board having a diverse and appropriate mix of backgrounds and skills and each nominee’s ability to exercise independence of thought, objective perspective and mature judgment and understand our business operations and objectives.

Oversight of Conflicts of Interest

The Company does not have a standing conflicts committee. Instead, the entire Board of Directors, including our independent directors, is responsible for approving transactions, and resolving other conflicts of interest, between the Company and its subsidiaries, on the one hand, and the Sponsor, any director, the Advisor or their respective affiliates, on the other hand. The Board of Directors is responsible for reviewing and approving all transactions with affiliated parties, all purchase or leases of properties from or sales or leases to an affiliate, and reviewing and approving all agreements and amendments to agreements between the Company and affiliates, including the Sponsor or Advisor and their subsidiaries.

During the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, all of the members of the Board of Directors reviewed our policies and report that they are being followed by us and are in the best interests of our stockholders. Please read “Certain Relationships and Related Transactions — Policies and Procedures for Review of Related Party Transactions.” Certain of the factors considered by the Board of Directors are set forth in the financial statements (including the notes thereto) and Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations contained in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2011. The Board reviewed the material transactions between the Sponsor, the Advisor and their respective affiliates, on the one hand, and us, on the other hand, which occurred during the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011. The Board has determined that all our transactions and relationships with our Sponsor, Advisor and their respective affiliates during the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011 were fair and were approved in accordance with the policies referenced in “Certain Relationships and Related Transactions” below.

In March 2011, Realty Capital Securities, LLC (our “Dealer Manager”), the affiliated entity retained by the Company to act as dealer manager in connection with the Company’s initial public offering, adopted best practices guidelines related to affiliated transactions applicable to all the issuers whose securities are traded on its platform (which includes the Company) that requires that each such issuer adopt guidelines that, except under limited circumstances, (i) restrict such issuer from entering into co-investment or other business transactions with another investment program sponsored by the American Realty Capital group of companies and (ii) restrict sponsors of investment programs from entering into co-investment or other business transactions with their sponsored issuers. Accordingly, on March 17, 2011, all of the members of the Board voted to approve the Company’s affiliated transaction best practices policy incorporating the Dealer Manager’s best practices guidelines. Please read “Certain Relationships and Related Transactions — Policies and Procedures for Review of Related Party Transactions.”

Director Independence

Under our organizational documents, we must have at least three but not more than ten directors. Our Charter currently fixes the number of directors at five. A majority of these directors must be “independent” except for a period of up to 60 days after the death, resignation or removal of an independent director. An “independent director” is defined under our Charter as one who is not associated and has not been associated within the last two years, directly or indirectly, with our Sponsor or Advisor. A director is deemed to be associated with our Sponsor or Advisor if he or she: (a) owns an interest in our Sponsor, Advisor or any of their affiliates; (b) is employed by our Sponsor, Advisor or any of their affiliates; (c) is an officer or director of the Sponsor, Advisor or any of their affiliates; (d) performs services, other than as a director, for us; (e) is a director for more than three REITs organized by our Sponsor or advised by our Advisor; or (f) has any material business or professional relationship with our Sponsor, Advisor or any of their affiliates. A business or professional relationship is considered material per se if the gross revenue derived by the director from our Sponsor and our Advisor and affiliates exceeds 5% of the director’s (i) annual gross revenue, derived from all sources, during either of the last two years, or (ii) net worth, on a fair market value basis. An indirect relationship includes circumstances in which a director’s spouse, parents, children, siblings, mothers- or fathers-in-law, sons- or daughters-in-law, or brothers- or sisters-in-law, is or has been associated with our Sponsor, Advisor, any of their affiliates or us.

The Board of Directors has considered the independence of each director and nominee for election as a director in accordance with the elements of independence set forth in the listing standards of the NASDAQ Stock Market (“NASDAQ”), even though our shares are not listed on NASDAQ. Based upon information solicited from each nominee, the Board of Directors has affirmatively determined that Scott J. Bowman, William G. Stanley and Robert H. Burns have no material relationship with the Company (either directly or as a partner, stockholder or officer of an organization that has a relationship with the Company) other than as a director of the Company and are “independent” within the meaning of NASDAQ’s director independence standards and audit committee independence standards, as currently in effect. Our Board of Directors has determined that each of the three independent directors satisfy the listing standards for independence of NASDAQ. There are no familial relationship between any of our directors and executive officers.

Communications with the Board of Directors

The Company’s stockholders may communicate with the Board of Directors by sending written communications addressed to such person or persons in care of American Realty Capital New York Recovery Trust, Inc., 405 Park Avenue, 15th Floor, New York, New York 10022, Attention: Edward M. Weil, Jr., President, Treasurer and Secretary. Mr. Weil will deliver all appropriate communications to the Board of Directors no later than the next regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Directors. If the Board of Directors modifies this process, the revised process will be posted on the Company’s website.

COMPENSATION AND OTHER INFORMATION CONCERNING OFFICERS,
DIRECTORS AND CERTAIN STOCKHOLDERS

Compensation Discussion and Analysis

We currently have no employees. Our Advisor performs our day-to-day management functions. Our executive officers are all employees of the Advisor. We do not pay any of these individuals for serving in their respective positions. See “Certain Relationships and Related Transactions” below for a discussion of fees and expenses payable to the Advisor and its affiliates. In the future, should the Company internalize the services provided to it by the Advisor, the Board of Directors expects to align the interests of the executive officers with the interests of the Company and our stockholders on both a long and short term basis by compensating executive officers in the form of cash salaries, grants of restricted stock under the Company’s restricted share plan and/or the issuance of stock options under the Company’s stock option plan. Total compensation will be tied to individual performance and supplemented with awards tied to the Company’s achieving certain financial and non-financial objectives as pre-determined by the Company’s Board of Directors.

Directors and Executive Officers

The following table presents certain information as of the date of this Proxy Statement concerning each of our directors and executive officers serving in such capacity:

Name	Age	Principal Occupation and Positions Held
Nicholas S. Schorsch	51	Chairman of the Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer
Edward M. Weil, Jr.	45	President, Treasurer and Secretary
Michael A. Happel	49	Executive Vice President and Chief Investment Officer
Peter M. Budko	52	Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
Brian S. Block	40	Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
William M. Kahane	63	Director
William G. Stanley	56	Independent Director
Robert H. Burns	82	Independent Director
Scott J. Bowman	55	Independent Director

Nicholas S. Schorsch

Please see “Business Experience of Nominees” on pages 5 – 6 for biographical information about Mr. Schorsch.

William M. Kahane

Please see “Business Experience of Nominees” on pages 6 – 7 for biographical information about Mr. Kahane.

Edward M. Weil, Jr.

Edward M. Weil, Jr. has served as president, treasurer and secretary of the Company since March 2012. Prior to such time, Mr. Weil served as executive vice president and secretary of the Company since our formation in October 2009. Mr. Weil has also been an executive officer of the Advisor and Property Manager since their formation in November 2009. Mr. Weil has nine years of real estate experience. Mr. Weil served as an executive officer of ARCT, the ARCT advisor and the ARCT property manager from their formation in August 2007 through March 2012. Mr. Weil has served as an executive officer of ARC RCA and the ARC RCA advisor since their formation in July 2010 and May 2010, respectively. Mr. Weil has served as the executive vice president and secretary of the PE-ARC advisor since its formation in December 2009. Mr. Weil has served as an executive officer of ARC HT, the ARC HT advisor and the ARC HT property manager since their formation in August 2010. Mr. Weil has served as an executive officer, and, beginning in March 2012, a director, of ARC DNAV, and has served as an executive officer of the ARC DNAV advisor and the ARC DNAV property manager since their formation in September 2010. Mr. Weil has served as a director for ARCT III since February 2011 and as an executive officer of ARCT III, the ARCT III advisor and the ARCT III property manager since their formation in October 2010, November 2010 and November 2010, respectively. Mr. Weil has served as executive vice president and secretary of the BDCA advisor since its

formation in June 2010. Mr. Weil has served as an executive officer, and, beginning in March 2012, a director, of ARCP since its formation in December 2010 and has served as an executive officer of the ARCP advisor since its formation in November 2010. Mr. Weil has been an executive officer of ARC Global DNAV, the ARC Global DNAV advisor and the ARC Global DNAV property manager since their formation in July 2011, July 2011 and January 2012, respectively. Mr. Weil has been an executive officer of ARCT IV, the ARCT IV advisor and the ARCT IV property manager since their formation in February 2012. Mr. Weil has been the chief executive officer of our Dealer Manager since March 2010. Mr. Weil was formerly the senior vice president of sales and leasing for American Financial Realty Trust (AFRT, from April 2004 to October 2006), where he was responsible for the disposition and leasing activity for a 33 million square foot portfolio of properties. Under the direction of Mr. Weil, his department was the sole contributor in the increase of occupancy and portfolio revenue through the sales of over 200 properties and the leasing of over 2.2 million square feet, averaging 325,000 square feet of newly executed leases per quarter. After working at AFRT, from October 2006 to May 2007, Mr. Weil was managing director of Milestone Partners Limited and prior to joining AFRT, from 1987 to April 2004, Mr. Weil was president of Plymouth Pump & Systems Co. Mr. Weil attended George Washington University. Mr. Weil holds FINRA Series 7, 24 and 63 licenses.

Michael A. Happel

Michael A. Happel has served as executive vice president, chief investment officer and as an observer to the Board since the Company’s formation in October 2009. Mr. Happel has over 20 years of experience investing in real estate, including office, retail, multifamily, industrial, and hotel properties, as well as real estate companies. Mr. Happel also has served as executive vice president and chief investment officer of the Advisor and Property Manager since their formation in November 2009. From 1988 to 2002, he worked at Morgan Stanley & Co., specializing in real estate and becoming co-head of acquisitions for the Morgan Stanley Real Estate Funds (“MSREF”), in 1994. While at MSREF, he was involved in acquiring over $10 billion of real estate and related assets in MSREF I and MSREF II. As stated in a report prepared by Wurts & Associates for the Fresno County Employees’ Retirement Association for the period ending September 30, 2008, MSREF I generated approximately a 48% gross internal rate of return for investors and MSREF II generated approximately a 27% gross internal rate of return for investors. In 2002, Mr. Happel left Morgan Stanley & Co. to join Westbrook Partners, a large real estate private equity firm with over $5 billion of real estate assets under management at the time. From October 2004 to May 2009, he served Atticus Capital, a multi-billion dollar hedge fund, as the head of real estate with responsibility for investing primarily in REITs and other publicly traded real estate securities. Mr. Happel received a B.A. in economics from Duke University and a J.D. from Harvard Law School.

Peter M. Budko

Peter M. Budko has served as executive vice president and chief operating officer of the Company since our formation in October 2009. He also has served as the executive vice president of our Advisor and Property Manager since their formation in November 2009. Mr. Budko also served as the executive vice president and chief investment officer of ARCT, the ARCT property manager and the ARCT advisor from their formation in August 2007 until March 2012. Mr. Budko has also been the executive vice president of ARC HT, the ARC HT advisor and the ARC HT property manager since their formation in August 2010. He served as the executive vice president and chief investment officer of ARC RCA since its formation in July 2010 and as the executive vice president of the ARC RCA advisor since its formation in May 2010. Mr. Budko has served as the executive vice president and chief investment officer of the PE-ARC advisor since its formation in December 2009. Mr. Budko has served as an executive officer of BDCA and the BDCA advisor since their formation in May 2010 and June 2010, respectively. Mr. Budko also has served as executive vice president and chief investment officer of ARC DNAV, its advisor and its property manager since their formation in September 2010. Budko has served as executive vice president and chief investment officer of ARCT III, the ARCT III advisor and the ARCT III property manager since their formation in October 2010. Mr. Budko also has been the executive vice president and chief investment officer of ARCP since its formation in December 2010 and executive vice president and chief investment officer of its advisor since its formation in November 2010. Mr. Budko also has served as executive vice president and chief investment officer of ARC Global DNAV, the ARC Global DNAV advisor and the ARC Global DNAV property manager since their formation in July 2011, July 2011 and January 2012, respectively. Mr. Budko also has served as executive

vice president and chief investment officer of ARCT IV, the ARCT IV advisor and the ARCT IV property manager since their formation in February 2012. From January 2007 to July 2007, Mr. Budko was chief operating officer of an affiliated American Realty Capital real estate investment firm. Mr. Budko founded and formerly served as managing director and group head of the Structured Asset Finance Group, a division of Wachovia Capital Markets, LLC from February 1997 – January 2006. The Wachovia Structured Asset Finance Group structured and invested in real estate that is net leased to corporate tenants. While at Wachovia, Mr. Budko acquired over $5 billion of net leased real estate assets. From 1987 – 1997, Mr. Budko worked in the Corporate Real Estate Finance Group at NationsBank Capital Markets (predecessor to Bank of America Securities), becoming head of the group in 1990. Mr. Budko received a B.A. in Physics from the University of North Carolina.

Brian S. Block

Brian S. Block has served as executive vice president and chief financial officer of the Company since our formation in October 2009. He also has served as the executive vice president and chief financial officer of our Advisor and Property Manager since their formation in November 2009. Mr. Block also served as the executive vice president and chief financial officer of ARCT, the ARCT advisor and the ARCT property manager from their formation in August 2007 until March 2012. Mr. Block also has been the executive vice president and chief financial officer of ARC HT since its formation in August 2010 and executive vice president and chief financial officer of the ARC HT advisor and the ARC HT property manager since their formation in August 2010. Mr. Block also has been executive vice president and chief financial officer of ARC RCA and the ARC RCA advisor since their formation in July 2010 and May 2010, respectively. Mr. Block has served as the executive vice president and chief financial officer of the PE-ARC advisor since its formation in December 2009. Mr. Block has also been the executive vice president and chief financial officer of ARC DNAV, the ARC DNAV advisor and the ARC DNAV property manager since their formation in September 2010. Mr. Block has served as executive vice president and chief financial officer of ARCT III, the ARCT III advisor and the ARCT III property manager since their formation in October 2010. Mr. Block also has been the executive vice president and chief financial officer of ARCP and the ARCP advisor since their formation in December 2010 and November 2010, respectively. Mr. Block has also served as executive vice president and chief financial officer of ARC Global DNAV, the ARC Global DNAV advisor and the ARC Global DNAV property manager since their formation in July 2011, July 2011 and January 2012, respectively. Mr. Block has also served as executive vice president and chief financial officer of ARCT IV, the ARCT IV advisor and the ARCT IV property manager since their formation in February 2012. Mr. Block also has been an executive officer of BDCA and the BDCA advisor since their formation in May 2010 and June 2010, respectively. Mr. Block is responsible for the accounting, finance and reporting functions at the American Realty Capital group of companies. He has extensive experience in SEC reporting requirements, as well as REIT tax compliance matters. Mr. Block has been instrumental in developing the American Realty Capital group of companies’ infrastructure and positioning the organization for growth. Mr. Block began his career in public accounting at Ernst & Young and Arthur Andersen from 1994 to 2000. Subsequently, Mr. Block was the chief financial officer of a venture capital-backed technology company for several years prior to joining AFRT in 2002. While at AFRT, Mr. Block served as senior vice president and chief accounting officer and oversaw the financial, administrative and reporting functions of the organization. Mr. Block discontinued working for AFRT in August 2007. He is a certified public accountant and is a member of the AICPA and PICPA. Mr. Block serves on the REIT Committee of the Investment Program Association. Mr. Block received a B.S. from Albright College and an M.B.A. from La Salle University.

William G. Stanley

Please see “Business Experience of Nominees” on page 8 for biographical information about Mr. Stanley.

Robert H. Burns

Please see “Business Experience of Nominees” on pages 8 – 9 for biographical information about Mr. Burns.

Scott J. Bowman

Please see “Business Experience of Nominees” on page 7 for biographical information about Mr. Bowman.

Compensation of Executive Officers

The Company’s current executive officers, Messrs. Nicholas S. Schorsch, Edward M. Weil, Jr., Michael A. Happel, Peter M. Budko and Brian S. Block do not receive any compensation directly from the Company for the performance of their duties as executive officers of the Company. Our Advisor performs our day-to-day management functions. Our executive officers are all employees of the Advisor. See “Certain Relationships and Related Transactions” below for a discussion of fees and expenses payable to the Advisor and its affiliates.

Compensation of Directors

The following table sets forth information regarding compensation of our directors during the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011:

Name	Fees Paid in Cash ($)	Stock Awards ($)	Option Awards ($)	Non-Equity Incentive Plan Compensation ($)	Changes in Pension Value and Nonqualified Deferred Compensation Earnings ($)	All Other Compensation ($)	Total Compensation ($)
Nicholas S. Schorsch(1)	$—	$—	$—	$—	$—	$—	$—
William M. Kahane(2)	—	—	—	—	—	—	—
Scott J. Bowman(3)	35,500	30,000	—	—	—	—	65,500
William G. Stanley(4)	73,167	30,000	—	—	—	—	103,167
Robert H. Burns(5)	64,667	30,000	—	—	—	—	94,667
Leslie D. Michelson(6)	41,167	30,000	—	—	—	—	71,167

(1)	Mr. Schorsch, who is an executive officer of the Company, receives no additional compensation for serving as a director.
(2)	Mr. Kahane, who until March 2012, was an executive officer of the Company, receives no additional compensation for serving as a director.
(3)	Mr. Bowman earned fees in the amount of $37,000 for services as a director during the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011 of which $35,500 were paid as of December 31, 2011.
(4)	Mr. Stanley earned fees in the amount of $43,750 for his services as a director during the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011. The payment of $73,167 represents $30,917 and $42,250 for services rendered during the years ended December 31, 2011 and 2010, respectively.
(5)	Mr. Burns earned fees in the amount of $35,500 for his services as a director during the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011. The payment of $64,667 represents $29,167 and $35,500 for services rendered during the years ended December 31, 2011 and 2010, respectively.
(6)	Mr. Michelson earned fees in the amount of $10,250 for his services as a director during the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011. The payment of $41,167 represents $10,250 and $30,917 for services rendered during the years ended December 31, 2011 and 2010, respectively. Mr. Michelson resigned as a director on August 3, 2011.

We pay to each of our independent directors a retainer of $30,000 per year, plus $2,000 for each Board or Board committee meeting the director attends in person ($2,500 for attendance by the chairperson of the audit committee at each meeting of the audit committee) and $1,500 for each meeting the director attends by telephone. In the event there is a meeting of the Board and one or more committees in a single day, the fees will be limited to $2,500 per day ($3,000 for the chairperson of the audit committee if there is a meeting of such committee). An independent director who is also an audit committee chairperson will receive an additional $500 for personal attendance of all audit committee meetings. The Board also may approve the acquisition of real property and other related investments valued at $20,000,000 or less, and in which any portfolio of properties is valued in the aggregate of $75,000,000 or less, via electronic Board meetings whereby the directors cast their votes in favor or against a proposed acquisition via email. The independent directors are entitled to receive $750 for each transaction reviewed and voted upon with a maximum of $2,250 for three or more transactions reviewed and voted upon per meeting.

In addition, we have reserved 500,000 shares of common stock for future issuance upon the exercise of stock options that may be granted to our independent directors pursuant to our stock option plan (described below). Such stock options will have an exercise price equal to $10.00 per share during such time as we are offering shares to the public at $10.00 per share and thereafter at 100% of the then-current fair market value per share. The total number of options granted will not exceed 10% of the total outstanding shares of common stock at the time of grant. As of December 31, 2011, no shares were issued under our stock option plan and we currently do not expect to grant any stock options.

Additionally, our employee and director incentive restricted share plan (described below) provides for the automatic grant of 3,000 restricted shares of common stock to each of our independent directors, without any further action by our Board of Directors or the stockholders on the date of initial election to the Board and on the date of each annual stockholders’ meeting. Each of our independent directors received a grant of 3,000 restricted shares of common stock on the date of the 2011 annual stockholders meeting. All directors receive reimbursement of reasonable out-of-pocket expenses incurred in connection with attendance at meetings of our Board of Directors. If a director also is an employee of the Company, the Advisor or their affiliates, we do not pay compensation for services rendered as a director.

Name	Fees Earned or Paid in Cash ($)	Option Awards ($)	Restricted Shares
Independent Directors(2)	$30,000 yearly retainer; $2,000 for all meetings personally attended by the directors and $1,500 for each meeting attended via telephone; $750 per transaction reviewed and voted upon via electronic Board meeting up to a maximum of $2,250 for three or more transactions reviewed and voted upon per meeting.(1)	500,000 shares of common stock reserved for future issuance upon the exercise of stock options that may be granted to independent directors pursuant to stock option plan. Such stock options will have an exercise price equal to $10.00 per share during such time as we are offering shares to the public at $10.00 per share and thereafter at 100% of the then-current fair market value per share. The total number of options granted will not exceed 10% of the total outstanding shares of common stock at the time of grant. To date, we have not granted any stock option awards to our independent directors.	Pursuant to our restricted share plan adopted in September 2010, each independent director will receive an automatic grant of 3,000 restricted shares on the date of each annual stockholders’ meeting. Each independent director is also granted 3,000 restricted shares of common stock on the date of initial election to the Board. We granted each of our then-serving independent directors 3,000 restricted shares of common stock on the date of the 2011 annual stockholders’ meeting, and Scott J. Bowman received a grant of 3,000 restricted shares of common stock upon his election to the Board on August 3, 2011. The restricted shares vest over a five year period following the grant date in increments of 20% per annum.

(1)	If there is a Board meeting and one or more committee meetings in one day, the director’s fees shall not exceed $2,500 ($3,000 for the chairperson of the audit committee if there is a meeting of such committee).
(2)	An independent director who is also an audit committee chairperson will receive an additional $500 for personal attendance of all audit committee meetings.

Share-Based Compensation

Stock Option Plan

We have adopted a stock option plan to provide incentive compensation to attract and retain qualified directors, officers, advisors, consultants and other personnel, including our Advisor, Property Manager and affiliates, as well as personnel of our Advisor, Property Manager and affiliates, and any joint venture affiliates of ours. Our stock option plan will be administered by the compensation committee of the Board or, if no such committee exists, the Board. The compensation committee, as appointed by the Board, will have the full authority: (1) to administer and interpret the stock option plan; (2) to authorize the granting of awards; (3) to determine the eligibility of directors, officers, advisors, consultants and other personnel, including our Advisor, Property Manager and affiliates, as well as personnel of our Advisor, Property Manager and affiliates, and any joint venture affiliates of ours, to receive an award; (4) to determine the number of shares of common stock to be covered by each award (subject to the individual participant limitations provided in the stock option plan); (5) to determine the terms, provisions and conditions of each award (which may not be inconsistent with the terms of the stock option plan); (6) to prescribe the form of instruments evidencing such awards; and (7) to take any other actions and make all other determinations that it deems necessary or appropriate in connection with the stock option plan or the administration or interpretation thereof; however, neither the compensation committee nor Board may take any action under our stock option plan that would result in a repricing of any stock option without having first obtained the affirmative vote of our stockholders. In connection with this authority, the compensation committee may, among other things, establish performance goals that must be met in order for awards to be granted or to vest, or for the restrictions on any such awards to lapse. The total number of shares that may be made subject to awards under our stock option plan initially will be 500,000 (as such number may be adjusted for stock splits, stock dividends, combinations and similar events). We may not issue options or warrants to purchase shares to our Advisor, our directors or any of their affiliates except on the same terms as such options or warrants, if any, are sold to the general public. Further, the amount of the options or warrants issued to our Advisor, our directors or any of their affiliates cannot exceed an amount equal to 10% of outstanding shares on the date of grant of the warrants and options.

If any vested awards under the stock option plan are paid or otherwise settled without the issuance of common stock, or any shares of common stock are surrendered to or withheld by us as payment of all or part of the exercise price of an award and/or withholding taxes in respect of an award, the shares that were subject to such award will not be available for re-issuance under the stock option plan. If any awards under the stock option plan are cancelled, forfeited or otherwise terminated without the issuance of shares of common stock (except as described in the immediately preceding sentence), the shares that were subject to such award will be available for re-issuance under the stock option plan. Shares issued under the stock option plan may be authorized but unissued shares or shares that have been reacquired by us. If the compensation committee determines that any dividend or other distribution (whether in the form of cash, common stock or other property), recapitalization, stock split, reverse split, reorganization, merger, consolidation, spin-off, combination, repurchase, share exchange or other similar corporate transaction or event affects the common stock such that an adjustment is appropriate in order to prevent dilution or enlargement of the rights of participants under the stock option plan, then the compensation committee will make equitable changes or adjustments to any of or all the following: (i) the number and kind of shares of stock or other property (including cash) that may thereafter be issued in connection with awards; (ii) the number and kind of shares of stock or other property (including cash) issued or issuable in respect of outstanding awards; (iii) the exercise price, base price or purchase price relating to any award; and (iv) the performance goals, if any, applicable to outstanding awards. In addition, the compensation committee may determine that any such equitable adjustment may be accomplished by making a payment to the award holder, in the form of cash or other property (including but not limited to shares of stock). Awards under the stock option plan are intended to either be exempt from, or comply with, Section 409A of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (the “Code”).

Notwithstanding any other provisions the stock option plan to the contrary, no stock option issued pursuant thereto may be exercised if such exercise would jeopardize our status as a REIT under the Code. The following table sets forth information regarding securities authorized for issuance under our stock option plan as of December 31, 2011:

Plan Category	Number of Securities to Be Issued Upon Exercise of Outstanding Options, Warrants and Rights (a)	Weighted Average Exercise Price of Outstanding Options, Warrants and Rights (b)	Number of Securities Remaining Available for Future Issuance Under Equity Compensation Plans (Excluding Securities Reflected in Column (a)) (c)
Equity compensation plans approved by security holders	—	—	—
Equity compensation plans not approved by security holders	—	—	500,000
Total	—	—	500,000

Restricted Share Plan

On September 22, 2010, the Board of Directors adopted an employee and director incentive restricted share plan (the “RSP”). The RSP provides for the automatic grant of 3,000 restricted shares of Common Stock to each of the independent directors, without any further action by our Board of Directors or the stockholders, on the date of each annual stockholder’s meeting. Restricted shares issued to independent directors will vest over a five-year period following the first anniversary of the date of grant in increments of 20% per annum. The RSP provides us with the ability to grant awards of restricted shares to our directors, officers and employees (if we ever have employees), employees of the Advisor and its affiliates, employees of entities that provide services to us, directors of the Advisor or of entities that provide services to us, certain of our consultants and certain consultants to the Advisor and its affiliates or to entities that provide services to us. The total number of shares of our Common Stock reserved for issuance under the RSP is equal to 5.0% of our authorized shares, and in any event will not exceed 7,500,000 shares (as such number may be adjusted for stock splits, stock dividends, combinations and similar events).

Restricted share awards entitle the recipient to receive shares of our Common Stock under terms that provide for vesting over a specified period of time or upon attainment of pre-established performance objectives. Such awards would typically be forfeited with respect to the unvested shares upon the termination of the recipient’s employment or other relationship us. Restricted shares may not, in general, be sold or otherwise transferred until restrictions are removed and the shares have vested. Holders of restricted shares may receive cash distributions prior to the time that the restrictions on the restricted shares have lapsed. Any distributions payable in shares of our Common Stock shall be subject to the same restrictions as the underlying restricted shares. There were 13,800 unvested shares outstanding under the RSP at December 31, 2011.

STOCK OWNERSHIP BY DIRECTORS, OFFICERS AND CERTAIN STOCKHOLDERS

The following table sets forth information regarding the beneficial ownership of the Company’s Common Stock as of April 19, 2012, in each case including shares of Common Stock which may be acquired by such persons within 60 days, by:

•	each person known by the Company to be the beneficial owner of more than 5% of its outstanding shares of Common Stock based solely upon the amounts and percentages contained in the public filings of such persons;
•	each of the Company’s officers and directors; and
•	all of the Company’s officers and directors as a group.

Beneficial Owner(1)	Number of Shares Beneficially Owned		Percent of Class
New York Recovery Special Limited Partnership, LLC(2)	20,000		*
Nicholas S. Schorsch	—		—
William M. Kahane	—		—
Michael A. Happel	—		—
Peter M. Budko	—		—
Brian S. Block	—		—
Edward M Weil, Jr.	—		—
Scott J. Bowman	3,000	(3)	*
William G. Stanley	14,364	(4)	*
Robert H. Burns	13,372	(5)	*
All directors and executive officers as a group (9 persons)	50,735	(6)	*

*	Less than 1%
(1)	The business address of each individual or entity listed in the table is 405 Park Avenue, New York, New York 10022.
(2)	New York Recovery Special Limited Partnership, LLC is 100% owned by American Realty Capital III, LLC, which is directly or indirectly owned by Nicholas S. Schorsch, William M. Kahane, Peter M. Budko, Brian S. Block, Michael A. Happel and Edward M. Weil, Jr. and controlled by Nicholas S. Schorsch and William M. Kahane.
(3)	Includes 3,000 restricted shares held by Mr. Bowman which vest annually over a five-year period in equal installments beginning with the anniversary of the date of grant.
(4)	Includes 6,000 restricted shares held by Mr. Stanley which vest annually over a five-year period in equal installments beginning with the anniversary of the date of grant.
(5)	Includes 6,000 restricted shares held by Mr. Burns which vest annually over a five-year period in equal installments beginning with the anniversary of the date of grant.
(6)	Includes 20,000 shares held by New York Recovery Special Limited Partnership, LLC. See footnote 2.

CERTAIN RELATIONSHIPS AND RELATED TRANSACTIONS

Advisor

We entered into an advisory agreement with our Advisor, on February 17, 2010, as amended from time to time, whereby our Advisor will manage our day-to-day operations. We will pay our Advisor or its assignees a monthly fee equal to one-twelfth of 0.75% of the cost of our assets (cost will include the purchase price, acquisition expenses, capital expenditures, and other customarily capitalized costs, but will exclude acquisition fees); provided, however, that the asset management fee shall be reduced by any amounts payable to our Property Manager as an oversight fee, such that the aggregate of the asset management fee and the oversight fee does not exceed 0.75% per annum of the cost of our assets (cost will include the purchase price, acquisition expenses, capital expenditures and other customarily capitalized costs, but will exclude acquisition fees). The asset management fee is payable on the first business day of each month for the respective current month in the amount of 0.0625% of average invested assets as of such date, adjusted for appropriate closing dates for individual investments. The asset management fee may be paid, at the discretion of the Board, in cash, common stock or restricted stock grants, or any combination thereof. We have agreed to reimburse our Advisor up to 1.5% of gross offering proceeds from our ongoing initial public offering for organization and offering expenses and for expenses actually incurred (including personnel costs) related to selecting, evaluating and acquiring assets on our behalf regardless of whether we actually acquire the related assets, which may include reimbursements to our Advisor for other organization and offering expenses up to 0.5% of the aggregate gross proceeds raised in our ongoing initial public offering for third-party due diligence fees included in detailed and itemized invoices. Personnel costs associated with providing such services will be determined based on the amount of time incurred by the respective employee of our Advisor and the corresponding payroll and payroll related costs incurred by our affiliate. Third-party due diligence fees may include fees for reviewing financial statements, offering documents, organizational documents, agreements and marketing materials, analysis of SEC and FINRA correspondence, and interviews with management. We will pay to our Advisor or its assignees an acquisition fee of 1.0% of the contract purchase price of each property acquired (including our pro rata share of debt attributable to such property) and 1.0% of the amount advanced for a loan or other investment (including our pro rata share of debt attributable to such investment).

Total acquisition fees and finance coordination fees incurred for the year ended December 31, 2011 were $0.8 million and $0.4 million, respectively. For the year ended December 31, 2011, we incurred from our Advisor $3.3 million for offering costs and reimbursements, respectively. Asset management fees of $0.6 million were incurred for the year ended December 31, 2011; however, the Advisor elected to waive (not defer) such asset management fees, and the Advisor will determine if a portion or all of such fees will be waived in subsequent periods on a quarter-to-quarter basis.

Nicholas S. Schorsch, our chief executive officer and chairman of our Board of Directors, is the chief executive officer of the Advisor. Edward M. Weil, Jr., our president, treasurer and secretary is the president, treasurer and secretary of the Advisor. Peter M. Budko, our executive vice president and chief operating officer is the executive vice president and chief operating officer of the Advisor. Brian S. Block, our executive vice president and chief financial officer, is the executive vice president and chief financial officer of the Advisor. Michael Happel, our executive vice president and chief investment officer, is also the executive vice president and chief investment officer of our Property Manager. Messrs. Schorsch and Kahane indirectly have majority ownership and control of the Advisor.

Property Manager

We have entered into a property management and leasing agreement with our Property Manager. We will pay to our Property Manager fees equal to 4.0% of gross revenues from the properties managed. For the management and leasing of our hotel properties, we have agreed to pay a fee based on a percentage of gross revenues at a market rate in light of the size, type and location of the hotel property plus a customary incentive fee based on performance. Notwithstanding the foregoing, in the case of both hotel and non-hotel properties, our Property Manager may be entitled to receive higher fees if our Property Manager demonstrates to the satisfaction of a majority of the directors (including a majority of the independent directors) that a higher competitive fee is justified for the services rendered. We also will reimburse the Property Manager and its affiliates for property-level expenses that they pay or incur on our behalf, including reasonable salaries,

bonuses and benefits of persons employed by the Property Manager and its affiliates except for the salaries, bonuses and benefits of persons who also serve as one of our executive officers or as an executive officer of the Property Manager or its affiliates. Our Property Manager may subcontract the performance of its property management and leasing services duties to third parties and pay all or a portion of its 4.0% property management fee to the third parties with whom it contracts for these services. If we contract directly with third parties for such services we will pay them customary market fees and will pay our Property Manager an oversight fee equal to 1.0% of the gross revenues of the property managed. Such oversight fee will reduce the asset management fee payable to our Advisor by the amount of the oversight fee. Accordingly the asset management fee, together with the oversight fee, will not exceed the total asset management fee, which is 0.75% per annum of the cost of our assets (cost will include the purchase price, acquisition expenses, capital expenditures and other customarily capitalized costs, but will exclude acquisition fees). In no event will we pay our Property Manager or any affiliate both a property management fee and an oversight fee with respect to any particular property. Nicholas S. Schorsch, our chief executive officer and chairman of the Board, also is the chief executive officer of our Property Manager. Edward M. Weil, Jr., our president, treasurer and secretary, is the president, chief operating officer, secretary and treasurer of our Property Manager. Michael A. Happel, our executive vice president, chief investment officer and an observer the Board, also is the executive vice president and chief investment officer of our Property Manager. Peter M. Budko, our executive vice president and chief operating officer, also is the executive vice president of our Property Manager. Brian S. Block, our executive vice president and chief financial officer, also is the executive vice president and chief financial officer of our Property Manager. Messrs. Schorsch and Kahane are indirect owners of our Property Manager.

Dealer Manager

We have entered into a dealer manager agreement with our Dealer Manager, our affiliate. We will pay to Our Dealer Manager a selling commission equal to 7% of the gross offering proceeds from our ongoing initial public offering, except that no selling commissions will be paid on shares sold under our distribution reinvestment plan. Our Dealer Manager may reallow all of the selling commission to participating broker-dealers. Alternatively, a participating broker-dealer may elect to receive a fee equal to 7.5% of gross proceeds from the sale of shares by such participating broker-dealer, with 2.5% thereof paid at the time of such sale and 1% thereof paid on each anniversary of the closing of such sale up to and including the fifth anniversary of the closing of such sale, in which event, a portion of the dealer manager fee will be reallowed such that the combined selling commission and dealer manager fee do not exceed 10% of gross proceeds of our primary offering. Our Dealer Manager will repay to the Company any excess over FINRA’s 10% underwriting compensation limitation under FINRA Rule 2310 (“FINRA’s 10% cap”) if the offering is abruptly terminated after reaching the minimum amount, but before reaching the maximum amount, of offering proceeds. Our Dealer Manager also will waive the selling commission with respect to shares sold by an investment advisory representative. Additionally, we will pay to our Dealer Manager a dealer manager fee equal to 3% of the gross offering proceeds from our ongoing initial public offering sold through broker-dealers. Our Dealer Manager may reallow all or part of the dealer manager fee to participating broker-dealers. We will not pay a dealer manager fee for shares purchased through our distribution reinvestment plan. Nicholas S. Schorsch, our chief executive officer and chairman of the Board, and William M. Kahane, one of our directors, together indirectly own a majority of the ownership and voting interests of our Dealer Manager. Edward M. Weil, Jr., our president, treasurer and secretary, has been the chief executive officer of our Dealer Manager since December 2010. Louisa Quarto is president of our Dealer Manager. Kamal Jafarnia is executive vice present and chief compliance officer of our Dealer Manager.

Affiliated Transaction Best Practices Policy

In March 2011, our Dealer Manager adopted best practices guidelines related to affiliated transactions applicable to all the issuers whose securities are traded on its platform (which includes the Company) that requires that each such issuer adopt guidelines that, except under limited circumstances, (i) restrict such issuer from entering into co-investment or other business transactions with another investment program sponsored by the American Realty Capital group of companies and (ii) restrict sponsors of investment programs from entering into co-investment or other business transactions with their sponsored issuers.

Accordingly, on March 17, 2011, all of the members of the Board voted to approve the Company’s affiliated transaction best practices policy incorporating the Dealer Manager’s best practices guidelines, pursuant to which we may not enter into any co-investments or any other business transaction with, or provide funding or make loans to, directly or indirectly, any investment program or other entity sponsored by the American Realty Capital group of companies or otherwise controlled or sponsored, or in which ownership (other than certain minority interests) is held, directly or indirectly, by Nicholas Schorsch and/or William Kahane, that is a non-traded REIT or private investment vehicle in which ownership interests are offered through securities broker-dealers in a public or private offering, except that we may enter into a joint investment with a Delaware statutory trust (a “DST”) or a group of unaffiliated tenant in common owners (“TICs”) in connection with a private retail securities offering by a DST or to TICs, provided that such investments are in the form of pari passu equity investments, are fully and promptly disclosed to the stockholders of the Company and will be fully documented among the parties with all the rights, duties and obligations assumed by the parties as are normally attendant to such an equity investment, and that the Company retains a controlling interest in the underlying investment, the transaction is approved by the independent directors of the Board after due and documented deliberation, including deliberation of any conflicts of interest, and such co-investment is deemed fair, both financially and otherwise. In the case of such co-investment, the Advisor will be permitted to charge fees at no more than the rate corresponding to the Company’s percentage co-investment and in line with the fees ordinarily attendant to such transaction. At any one time, our investment in such co-investments will not exceed 10% of the value of our portfolio.

Certain Conflict Resolution Procedures

Every transaction that we enter into with the Advisor or its affiliates will be subject to an inherent conflict of interest. Our Board may encounter conflicts of interest in enforcing our rights against any affiliate in the event of a default by or disagreement with an affiliate or in invoking powers, rights or options pursuant to any agreement between us and the Advisor or any of its affiliates.

In order to reduce or eliminate certain potential conflicts of interest, our Charter contains a number of restrictions relating to (1) transactions we enter into with our Sponsor, our directors, our officers, our Advisor and any of its affiliates, an certain of our stockholders, (2) certain future offerings, and (3) allocation of investment opportunities among affiliated entities. These restrictions include, among others, the following:

•	We will not purchase or lease properties in which our Advisor, any of our directors, any of our officers, any of their respective affiliates or certain of our stockholders has an interest without a determination by a majority of the directors, including a majority of the independent directors, not otherwise interested in such transaction that such transaction is fair and reasonable to us and at a price to us no greater than the cost of the property to the seller or lessor unless there is substantial justification for any amount that exceeds such cost and such excess amount is determined to be reasonable. In no event will we acquire any such property at an amount in excess of its appraised value. We will not sell or lease properties to our Advisor, any of our directors, any of our officers, any of their respective affiliates or certain of our stockholders unless a majority of the directors, including a majority of the independent directors, not otherwise interested in the transaction determines that the transaction is fair and reasonable to us.
•	We will not make any loans to our Sponsor, our Advisor, any of our directors, any of our officers, any of their respective affiliates or certain of our stockholders, except that we may make or invest in mortgage, bridge or mezzanine loans involving our Sponsor, our Advisor, our directors, our officers, their respective affiliates or certain of our stockholders if an appraisal of the underlying property is obtained from an independent appraiser and the transaction is approved as fair and reasonable to us and on terms no less favorable to us than those available from third parties. In addition, our Advisor, any of our directors, any of our officers, any of their respective affiliates or certain of our stockholders will not make loans to us or to joint ventures in which we are a joint venture partner unless approved by a majority of the directors, including a majority of the independent directors, not otherwise interested in the transaction as fair, competitive and commercially reasonable, and no less favorable to us than comparable loans between unaffiliated parties.

•	Our Advisor and its affiliates will be entitled to reimbursement, at cost, for actual expenses incurred by them on behalf of us or joint ventures in which we are a joint venture partner; provided, however, our Advisor must reimburse us for the amount, if any, by which our total operating expenses, including the advisor asset management fee, paid during the previous fiscal year exceeded the greater of: (i) 2% of our average invested assets for that fiscal year, or (ii) 25% of our net income, before any additions to reserves for depreciation, bad debts or other similar non-cash reserves and before any gain from the sale of our assets, for that fiscal year.
•	If an investment opportunity becomes available that is suitable, under all of the factors considered by our Advisor, for both us and one or more other entities affiliated with our Advisor, and for which more than one of such entities has sufficient uninvested funds, then the entity that has had the longest period of time elapse since it was offered an investment opportunity will first be offered such investment opportunity. It will be the duty of our Board, including the independent directors, to insure that this method is applied fairly to us. In determining whether or not an investment opportunity is suitable for more than one program, our Advisor, subject to approval by our Board, shall examine, among others, the following factors:
º	the anticipated cash flow of the property to be acquired and the cash requirements of each program;
º	the effect of the acquisition both on diversification of each program’s investments by type of property, geographic area and tenant concentration;
º	the policy of each program relating to leverage of properties;
º	the income tax effects of the purchase to each program;
º	the size of the investment; and
º	the amount of funds available to each program and the length of time such funds have been available for investment.
•	If a subsequent development, such as a delay in the closing of a property or a delay in the construction of a property, causes any such investment, in the opinion of our Advisor, to be more appropriate for a program other than the program that committed to make the investment, our Advisor may determine that another program affiliated with our Advisor or its affiliates will make the investment. Our Board has a duty to ensure that the method used by our Advisor for the allocation of the acquisition of properties by two or more affiliated programs seeking to acquire similar types of properties is applied fairly to us.
•	We will not accept goods or services from our Advisor or its affiliates or enter into any other transaction with our Advisor or its affiliates unless a majority of our directors, including a majority of the independent directors, not otherwise interested in the transaction approve such transaction as fair and reasonable to us and on terms and conditions not less favorable to us than those available from unaffiliated third parties.

AUDIT COMMITTEE REPORT

The Audit Committee of the Board of Directors has furnished the following report on its activities during the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011. The report is not deemed to be “soliciting material” or “filed” with the SEC or subject to the SEC’s proxy rules or to the liabilities of Section 18 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the “Exchange Act”), and the report shall not be deemed to be incorporated by reference into any prior or subsequent filing under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, or the Exchange Act except to the extent that the Company specifically incorporates it by reference into any such filing.

To the Directors of American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc.:

We have reviewed and discussed with management American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc.’s audited financial statements as of and for the year ended December 31, 2011.

We have discussed with the independent auditors the matters required to be discussed by Statement on Auditing Standards No. 61, Communication with Audit Committees, as amended by Statement on Auditing Standards No. 90, Audit Committee Communications, by the Auditing Standards Board of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

We have received and reviewed the written disclosures and the letter from the independent auditors required by Independence Standards Board Standard No. 1, Independence Discussions with Audit Committees, as amended, by the Independence Standards Board, and have discussed with the auditors the auditors’ independence.

Based on the reviews and discussions referred to above, we recommend to the Board of Directors that the financial statements referred to above be included in American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc.’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2011.

Audit Committee

Scott J. Bowman
Robert H. Burns
William G. Stanley

INDEPENDENT AUDITOR’S FEES

Grant Thornton LLP (“Grant Thornton”) audited our financial statements for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011. Grant Thornton reports directly to our audit committee. A representative from Grant Thornton will be present at the Annual Meeting. The following presents aggregate fees billed to the Company for the fiscal years ended December 31, 2011 and December 31, 2010 by Grant Thornton.

Audit Fees

Audit fees billed were $143,555 and $154,040 for the fiscal years ended December 31, 2011 and December 31, 2010, respectively. The fees were for professional services rendered for audits of the Company’s annual consolidated financial statements and for reviews of the Company’s quarterly reports on Form 10-Q.

Audit Related Fees

Fees for the year ended December 31, 2011 were $18,645. There we no fees for the year ended December 31, 2010.

Tax Fees

There were no tax fees billed for the fiscal years ended December 31, 2011 and 2010.

All Other Fees

There were no other fees billed for the fiscal years ended December 31, 2011 or December 31, 2010.

PRE-APPROVAL POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

In considering the nature of the services provided by the independent auditor, the Audit Committee determined that such services are compatible with the provision of independent audit services. The Audit Committee discussed these services with the independent auditor and the Company’s management to determine that they are permitted under the rules and regulations concerning auditor independence promulgated by the SEC to implement the related requirements of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, as well as the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. All services rendered by Grant Thornton were pre-approved by the Audit Committee.

SECTION 16(A) BENEFICIAL OWNERSHIP REPORTING COMPLIANCE

Our Common Stock is not registered pursuant to Section 12 of the Exchange Act. Our directors, executive officers and the holders of more than 10% of our Common Stock are not subject to Section 16(a) of the Exchange Act, and they were not required to file reports under Section 16(a) of the Exchange Act for the fiscal years ended December 31, 2011. We will be subject to Section 16(a) of the Exchange Act once we have filed our Form 8-A with the SEC.

CODE OF ETHICS

The Board of Directors adopted a Code of Ethics effective as of September 2, 2010 and reaffirmed on April 18, 2011 (the “Code of Ethics”), which is applicable to the directors, officers and employees of the Company and its subsidiaries and affiliates. The Code of Ethics covers topics including, but not limited to, conflicts of interest, confidentiality of information, full and fair disclosure, reporting of violations and compliance with laws and regulations.

The Code of Ethics is available on the Company’s website at http://www.newyorkrecoveryreit.com by clicking on “Code of Ethics.” You may also obtain a copy of the Code of Ethics by writing to our secretary at: American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc., 405 Park Avenue, 15th Floor, New York, New York 10022, Attention: Edward M. Weil, Jr. A waiver of the Code of Ethics for our chief executive officer may be made only by the Board of Directors or the appropriate committee of the Board of Directors and will be promptly disclosed to the extent required by law. A waiver of the Code of Ethics for all other employees may be made only by our chief executive officer, chief operating officer or general counsel and shall be discussed with the Board of Directors or a committee of the Board of Directors as appropriate.

COMPENSATION COMMITTEE REPORT

The Board of Directors has reviewed and discussed the Compensation Discussion and Analysis required by Item 402(b) of Regulation S-K with management and, based on such review and discussions, the Board of Directors recommended that the Compensation Discussion and Analysis be included in this Proxy Statement.

Nicholas S. Schorsch
William M. Kahane
Scott J. Bowman
William G. Stanley
Robert H. Burns

COMPENSATION COMMITTEE INTERLOCKS AND INSIDER PARTICIPATION

The Company does not have a standing compensation committee and we do not separately compensate our executive officers. Executive compensation is determined by the Board in its entirety. During the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011, Mr. Schorsch, our chairman of the Board and chief executive officer, and Mr. Kahane, a director and former executive officer of the Company until March 2012, each served as executive officers of American Realty Capital Trust, Inc., American Realty Capital — Retail Centers of America, Inc., American Realty Capital Healthcare Trust Inc., American Realty Capital Daily Net Asset Value Trust, Inc., American Realty Capital Trust III, Inc., American Realty Capital Properties, Inc., Business Development Corporation of America and the Company. Since Mr. Schorsch is, and Mr. Kahane was until March 2012, officers of our Advisor and/or its affiliates, they did not receive any separate compensation from us for service as our executive officers and directors, and also did not receive any separate compensation from American Realty Capital Trust, Inc., American Realty Capital — Retail Centers of America, Inc., American Realty Capital Healthcare Trust Inc., American Realty Capital Daily Net Asset Value Trust, Inc., American Realty Capital Trust III, Inc., American Realty Capital Properties, Inc. and Business Development Corporation of America for their service as executive officers and/or directors of those entities.

OTHER MATTERS PRESENTED FOR ACTION AT THE 2012 ANNUAL MEETING

Our Board of Directors does not intend to present for consideration at the Annual Meeting any matter other than those specifically set forth in the Notice of Annual Meeting of Stockholders. If any other matter is properly presented for consideration at the meeting, the persons named in the proxy will vote thereon pursuant to the discretionary authority conferred by the proxy.

STOCKHOLDER PROPOSALS FOR THE 2013 ANNUAL MEETING

Stockholder Proposals in the Proxy Statement

Rule 14a-8 under the Exchange Act addresses when a company must include a stockholder’s proposal in its proxy statement and identify the proposal in its form of proxy when the Company holds an annual or special meeting of stockholders. Under Rule 14a-8, in order for a stockholder proposal to be considered for inclusion in the proxy statement and proxy card relating to our 2013 annual meeting of stockholders, proposal must be received at our principal executive offices no later than December 25, 2012.

Stockholder Proposals and Nominations for Directors to Be Presented at Meetings

For any proposal that is not submitted for inclusion in our proxy material for the 2012 annual meeting of stockholders but is instead sought to be presented directly at that meeting, Rule 14a-4(c) under the Exchange Act permits our management to exercise discretionary voting authority under proxies it solicits unless we receive timely notice of the proposal in accordance with the procedures set forth in our bylaws. Under our bylaws, for a stockholder proposal to be properly submitted for presentation at our 2013 annual meeting of stockholders, our secretary must receive written notice of the proposal at our principal executive offices during the period beginning on November 25, 2012 and ending at 5:00 p.m., Eastern Time, on December 25, 2012 and must contain information specified in our bylaws, including, without limitation:

1.	as to each director nominee,
•	the name, age, business address, and residence address of the nominee;
•	the class, series and number of any shares of stock of the Company beneficially owned by the nominee;
•	the date such shares were acquired and the investment intent of such acquisitions;
•	all other information relating to the nominee that is required under Regulation 14A under the Exchange Act to be disclosed in solicitations of proxies for election of directors in an election contest (even if an election contest is not involved) or is otherwise required; and
2.	as to any other business that the stockholder proposes to bring before the meeting,
•	a description of the business to be brought before the meeting;
•	the reasons for proposing such business at the meeting;
•	any material interest in such business that the proposing stockholder (and certain persons, which we refer to as “Stockholder Associated Persons” (as defined below), if any) may have, including any anticipated benefit to the proposing stockholder (and the Stockholder Associated Persons, if any); and
3.	as to the proposing stockholder (and the Stockholder Associated Persons, if any), the class, series and number of all shares of stock of the Company owned by the proposing stockholder (and the Stockholder Associated Persons, if any), and the nominee holder for, and number of, shares owned beneficially but not of record by the proposing stockholder (and the Stockholder Associated Persons, if any); and
4.	as to the proposing stockholder (and the Stockholder Associated Persons, if any) covered by clauses (2) or (3) above,
•	the name and address of the proposing stockholder (and the Stockholder Associated Persons, if any) as they appear on the Company’s stock ledger, and current name and address, if different; and

5.	to the extent known by the proposing stockholder, the name and address of any other stockholder supporting the director nominee or the proposal of other business on the date of the proposing stockholder’s notice.

A “Stockholder Associated Person” means (i) any person controlling, directly or indirectly, or acting in concert with, the proposing stockholder, (ii) any beneficial owner of shares of stock of the Company owned by the proposing stockholder and (iii) any person controlling, controlled by or under common control with the Stockholder Associated Person.

All nominations must also comply with the Charter. All proposals should be sent via registered, certified or express mail to our secretary at our principal executive offices at: American Realty Capital New York Recovery REIT, Inc., 405 Park Avenue, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10022, Attention: Edward M. Weil, Jr. (telephone: (212) 415-6500).

By Order of the Board of Directors,
/s/ Edward M. Weil, Jr. Edward M. Weil, Jr., President, Treasurer and Secretary