Exhibit 99.1
Zendesk Confirms Receipt of Unsolicited Non-Binding Recapitalization Proposal from Light Street Capital Management

Stockholders Need Take No Action Pending Board Review

SAN FRANCISCO – (BUSINESS WIRE) – Zendesk, Inc. (NYSE: ZEN) today confirmed that it received an unsolicited non-binding recapitalization proposal from Light Street Capital Management, LLC. Light Street indicated it currently owns approximately 2% of Zendesk common stock.  Based on the letter from Light Street, the non-binding proposal contemplates a recapitalization of Zendesk consisting of a $2 billion preferred equity investment to be arranged by Light Street, a $2 billion incremental debt facility and $1 billion of cash from Zendesk’s balance sheet.  The proceeds of the recapitalization, together with cash on Zendesk’s balance sheet, would be used to finance a $5 billion tender offer for approximately 50% of Zendesk’s outstanding common shares at $82.50 per share.  Pursuant to the non-binding proposal, in return for the $2 billion investment, holders of the preferred equity would control approximately 66% of the voting power of Zendesk following the transaction and would receive the right to appoint 50% of the Company’s Board of Directors.  The non-binding proposal is subject to due diligence and negotiation and execution of definitive agreements, and does not identify sources or commitments for the preferred equity or debt financing.

Zendesk’s Board of Directors, consistent with its fiduciary responsibilities and in accordance with Zendesk’s previously announced merger agreement with an investor group led by Permira and Hellman & Friedman LLC to acquire 100% of Zendesk’s common stock, will carefully review the proposal with the assistance of financial and legal advisors to determine the course of action it believes is in the best interests of the Company and its stockholders.  Zendesk stockholders need take no action at this time.

Advisors

Qatalyst Partners and Goldman Sachs & Co. LLC are serving as financial advisors to Zendesk.  Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz is serving as Zendesk’s legal advisor.

About Zendesk

Zendesk started the customer experience revolution in 2007 by enabling any business around the world to take their customer service online. Today, Zendesk is the champion of great service everywhere for everyone, and powers billions of conversations, connecting more than 100,000 brands with hundreds of millions of customers over telephony, chat, email, messaging, social channels, communities, review sites and help centers. Zendesk products are built with love to be loved. The company was conceived in Copenhagen, Denmark, built and grown in California, taken public in New York City, and today employs more than 6,000 people across the world. Learn more at www.zendesk.com.

Additional Information and Where to Find It

This communication relates to the proposed transaction involving Zendesk, Inc. (“Zendesk”). In connection with the proposed transaction, Zendesk has filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) a definitive proxy statement on Schedule 14A (the “Proxy Statement”). The Proxy Statement was first mailed to Zendesk’s stockholders on or about August 8, 2022. This communication is not a substitute for the Proxy Statement or for any other document that Zendesk may file with the SEC and send to its stockholders in connection with the proposed transaction. The proposed transaction will be submitted to Zendesk’s stockholders for their consideration. Before making any voting decision, Zendesk’s stockholders are urged to read all relevant documents filed or to be filed with the SEC, including the Proxy Statement, as well as any amendments or supplements to those documents, when they become available because they will contain important information about the proposed transaction.

Zendesk’s stockholders will be able to obtain a free copy of the Proxy Statement, as well as other filings containing information about Zendesk, without charge, at the SEC’s website (www.sec.gov). Copies of the Proxy Statement and the filings with the SEC that will be incorporated by reference therein can also be obtained, without charge, by directing a request to Zendesk, Inc., 989 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, Attention: Investor Relations, email: ir@zendesk.com, or from Zendesk’s website www.zendesk.com.

Participants in the Solicitation

Zendesk and certain of its directors, executive officers and employees may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies in respect of the proposed transaction. Information regarding Zendesk’s directors and executive officers is available in Zendesk’s proxy statement on Schedule 14A for the 2022 annual meeting of stockholders, which was filed with the SEC on July 11, 2022. Other information regarding the participants in the proxy solicitation and a description of their direct and indirect interests, by security holdings or otherwise, will be contained in the Proxy Statement and other relevant materials to be filed with the SEC in connection with the proposed transaction when they become available. Free copies of the Proxy Statement and such other materials may be obtained as described in the preceding paragraph.

Forward-Looking Statements

This communication includes information that could constitute forward-looking statements made pursuant to the safe harbor provision of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These statements include those set forth above relating to the proposed transaction as well as those that may be identified by words such as “will,” “intend,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “should,” “could” and similar expressions. These statements are subject to risks and uncertainties, and actual results and events could differ materially from what presently is expected, including regarding the proposed transaction. Factors leading thereto may include, without limitation, the risks related to Ukraine conflict or the COVID-19 pandemic on the global economy and financial markets; the uncertainties relating to the impact of the Ukraine conflict or the COVID-19 pandemic on Zendesk’s business; economic or other conditions in the markets Zendesk is engaged in; impacts of actions and behaviors of customers, suppliers and competitors; technological developments, as well as legal and regulatory rules and processes affecting Zendesk’s business; the timing, receipt and terms and conditions of any required governmental and regulatory approvals of the proposed transaction that could reduce anticipated benefits or cause the parties to abandon the proposed transaction; the occurrence of any event, change or other circumstances that could give rise to the termination of the merger agreement entered into pursuant to the proposed transaction; the possibility that Zendesk stockholders may not approve the proposed transaction; the risk that the parties to the merger agreement may not be able to satisfy the conditions to the proposed transaction in a timely manner or at all; risks related to disruption of management time from ongoing business operations due to the proposed transaction; the risk that any announcements relating to the proposed transaction could have adverse effects on the market price of Zendesk’s common stock; the risk of any unexpected costs or expenses resulting from the proposed transaction; the risk of any litigation relating to the proposed transaction; the risk that the proposed transaction and its announcement could have an adverse effect on the ability of Zendesk to retain customers and retain and hire key personnel and maintain relationships with customers, suppliers, employees, stockholders and other business relationships and on its operating results and business generally; the risk the pending proposed transaction could distract management of Zendesk; and other specific risk factors that are outlined in Zendesk’s disclosure filings and materials, which you can find on www.zendesk.com, such as its 10-K, 10-Q and 8-K reports that have been filed with the SEC. Please consult these documents for a more complete understanding of these risks and uncertainties. This list of factors is not intended to be exhaustive. Such forward-looking statements only speak as of the date of these materials, and Zendesk assumes no obligation to update any written or oral forward-looking statement made by Zendesk or on its behalf as a result of new information, future events or other factors, except as required by law.

Investor Contact:
Jason Tsai, +1 415-997-8882
ir@zendesk.com

Media Contacts:
Courtney Blake, +1 816-520-5503
press@zendesk.com

John Christiansen +1 415-618-8750
Danielle Berg +1 212-687-8080
FGS Global
Zendesk-SVC@sardverb.com