June 15, 2017 June 2017 Phase 2 Trial Presentation

Safe Harbor / Disclaimer 2 Any statements in this presentation about the future expectations, plans and prospects of Selecta Biosciences, Inc. (“the company”), including without limitation, the progress of the Phase 1/2 clinical program of SEL-212, the potential of SEL-212 to treat severe gout patients and resolve their debilitating symptoms, the ability of SEL-212 to avoid unwanted immune responses, the ability of SVP-Rapamycin to induce immune tolerance against pegsiticase, the ability of SEL-212 to improve acute symptoms during a short induction cycle, the ability of SEL-212 to be re-administered if severe gout symptoms recur, whether the company will determine an appropriate dose of SEL-212 for a Phase 3, whether the company will advance to a Phase 3 for SEL-212 at all, whether the Phase 2 clinical data of SEL-212 demonstrate the potential of SEL-212 to address a substantial unmet need for gout patients, the ability of the company’s SVP platform, including SVP-Rapamycin, to mitigate immune response and create better therapeutic outcomes, the potential treatment applications for products utilizing the SVP platform in areas such as enzyme therapy, gene therapy, oncology therapy, vaccines and treatments for allergies and autoimmune diseases and other statements containing the words “anticipate,” “believe,” “continue,” “could,” “estimate,” “expect,” “hypothesize,” “intend,” “may,” “plan,” “potential,” “predict,” “project,” “should,” “target,” “would,” and similar expressions, constitute forward-looking statements within the meaning of The Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Actual results may differ materially from those indicated by such forward-looking statements as a result of various important factors, including, but not limited to, the following: the uncertainties inherent in the initiation, completion and cost of clinical trials including their uncertain outcomes, the availability and timing of data from ongoing and future clinical trials and the results of such trials, whether preliminary results from a particular clinical trial will be predictive of the final results of that trial or whether results of early clinical trials will be indicative of the results of later clinical trials, the unproven approach of the company’s SVP technology, potential delays in enrollment of patients, undesirable side effects of the company’s product candidates, its reliance on third parties to manufacture its product candidates and to conduct its clinical trials, the company’s inability to maintain its existing or future collaborations or licenses, and other important factors discussed in the “Risk Factors” section of the company’s Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission, or SEC, on May 11, 2017, and in other filings that the company makes with the SEC. In addition, any forward-looking statements included in this presentation represent the company’s views only as of the date of its publication and should not be relied upon as representing its views as of any subsequent date. The company specifically disclaims any obligation to update any forward- looking statements included in this presentation.

SEL-212 for Chronic Severe Gout

Clinical Objectives of SEL-212 Program Phase 1b Phase 1a Phase 2 Demonstrate that SEL 212: Mitigates ADAs Enables prolonged control of uric acid for >30 days Define effective monthly dose of pegsiticase Demonstrate rapid formation and kinetics of ADAs Demonstrate SEL-212’s safety, tolerability and ability to reduce serum uric acid after multiple doses • n = 63 • Single ascending dose of SEL-212 • Hyperuricemic patients • n = 22 • Single ascending dose of pegsiticase • Hyperuricemic patients • n = 60 • 3 monthly doses of SEL-212 + 2 monthly doses of pegsiticase alone • Symptomatic & hyperuricemic patients 4 + Nearly 100 patients now dosed with SEL-212 + Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02464605 Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02648269 Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02959918

5 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 S e ru m U ric A cid ( m g /d L ) 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 0.03 mg/kg SVP-Rapamycin 0.4 mg/kg Pegsiticase 0.10 mg/kg SVP-Rapamycin 0.4 mg/kg Pegsiticase 0.4 mg/ kg Pegsiticase only 0.03, 0.1, 0.3 mg/kg SVP-Rapamycin only 0.30 mg/kg SVP-Rapamycin 0.4 mg/kg Pegsiticase 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 0.15 mg/kg SVP-Rapamycin 0.4 mg/kg Pegsiticase 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 0 7 14 21 30 37 44 51 No emergence of new ADAs N = 5 N = 15 N = 5 N = 10 N = 5 N = 5 Phase 1b Demonstrates SEL-212’s Clinical Activity for ≥30 Days Day + IMVACS 2016 Presentation Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02648269

Phase 1b Trial Shows Correlation Between ADA Titers, Pegsiticase Activity and sUA 6 0 5 1 0 1 5 2 0 2 5 3 0 0 3 6 9 1 2 0 5 1 0 1 5 2 0 2 5 3 0 0 3 6 9 1 2 0 5 1 0 1 5 2 0 2 5 3 0 0 3 6 9 1 2 0 5 1 0 1 5 2 0 2 5 3 0 0 3 6 9 1 2 S e ru m u ri c a cid ( m g /d L ) 0 5 1 0 1 5 2 0 2 5 3 0 1 0 - 1 1 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 2 1 0 3 0 5 1 0 1 5 2 0 2 5 3 0 1 0 - 1 1 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 2 1 0 3 0 5 1 0 1 5 2 0 2 5 3 0 1 0 - 1 1 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 2 3 0 5 1 0 1 5 2 0 2 5 3 0 1 0 - 1 1 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 2 S e ru m p e g s iticase ac ti vit y (m U /m L) 0 5 1 0 1 5 2 0 2 5 3 0 1 0 1 1 0 2 1 0 3 1 0 4 1 0 5 0 5 1 0 1 5 2 0 2 5 3 0 1 0 1 1 0 2 1 0 3 4 5 0 5 1 0 1 5 2 0 2 5 3 0 1 0 1 1 0 2 1 0 3 4 5 0 5 1 0 1 5 2 0 2 5 3 0 1 0 1 1 0 2 1 0 3 1 0 4 1 0 5 A n ti -u ri c a s e I g G tit e r Days post-infusion Pegsiticase only Pegsiticase + 0.1 mg/kg SVP-Rapamycin Pegsiticase + 0.15 mg/kg SVP-Rapamycin Pegsiticase + 0.3 mg/kg SVP-Rapamycin 7 of 10 4 of 5 N=5 N=10 N=5 N=5 4 of 5 7 of 10 + Serum Uric AcidPegsiticase PDAnti-Uricase ADA Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02648269

Trial Completion Phase 2 Trial Overview 7 • Patients with symptomatic gout and serum uric acid levels >6 mg/dL • Safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of multiple doses of SEL-212 and pegsiticase alone • Reduction of serum uric acid levels • Reduction of ADA levels • Multiple ascending dose cohorts • Control cohorts: pegsiticase alone every 28 days for up to five doses • All other cohorts: SEL-212 every 28 days for three doses followed by two doses of pegsiticase alone • Dosing stopped upon loss of sUA control at Days 21 after a dose • Expected by the end of 2017 • 60 patients dosed at 11 active U.S. clinical sites Enrollment Criteria Primary/Secondary Endpoints Design Dosing Stopping Rules As of June 12 Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02959918

8 Status of Phase 2 Trial Cohorts Cohort Treatment Weeks 0, 4, 8 Treatment Weeks 12 + 16 Status Pegsiticase SVP-Rapamycin Pegsiticase 1 0.2 mg/kg None 0.2 mg/kg Enrollment terminated 2 0.4 mg/kg None 0.4 mg/kg Enrollment terminated 3 0.2 mg/kg 0.05 mg/kg 0.2 mg/kg Dosing completed 4 0.4 mg/kg 0.05 mg/kg 0.4 mg/kg Dosing completed 5 0.2 mg/kg 0.08 mg/kg 0.2 mg/kg Dosing completed 6 0.4 mg/kg 0.08 mg/kg 0.4 mg/kg Ongoing 7 0.2 mg/kg 0.1 mg/kg 0.2 mg/kg Ongoing 8 0.4 mg/kg 0.1 mg/kg 0.4 mg/kg Ongoing 9+ Under design Planned Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02959918

9 Minimal Effective Dose of SEL-212 Now Defined Unaudited data as of June 12, 2017 Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02959918 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1 0 1 1 1 2 1 3 1 4 1 5 1 6 1 7 1 8 1 9 2 0 0 3 6 9 1 2 SU A (m g/d L) 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1 0 1 1 1 2 1 3 1 4 1 5 1 6 1 7 1 8 1 9 2 0 0 3 6 9 1 2 SU A (m g/d L) 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1 0 1 1 1 2 1 3 1 4 1 5 1 6 1 7 1 8 1 9 2 0 0 3 6 9 1 2 SU A (m g/d L) 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1 0 1 1 1 2 1 3 1 4 1 5 1 6 1 7 1 8 1 9 2 0 0 3 6 9 1 2 W e e k s SU A (m g/ dL ) 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1 0 1 1 1 2 1 3 1 4 1 5 1 6 1 7 1 8 1 9 2 0 0 3 6 9 1 2 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1 0 1 1 1 2 1 3 1 4 1 5 1 6 1 7 1 8 1 9 2 0 0 3 6 9 1 2 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1 0 1 1 1 2 1 3 1 4 1 5 1 6 1 7 1 8 1 9 2 0 0 3 6 9 1 2 W e e k s 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1 0 1 1 1 2 1 3 1 4 1 5 1 6 1 7 1 8 1 9 2 0 0 3 6 9 1 2 0.2 mg/kg None Single patient 5 patients Dosing ongoing Dosing ongoing Cohort terminated for loss of efficacy and patient safety Cohort terminated for loss of efficacy and patient safety Single patient Single patient Pegsiticase Dose 0.4 mg/kg S V P -Rapa m y cin Dos e 0.05 0.08 0.1 8 patients8 patients

0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 1 0 2 1 0 3 1 0 4 1 0 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 1 0 2 1 0 3 1 0 4 1 0 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 1 0 2 3 4 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 1 0 2 3 4 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 1 0 2 3 4 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 1 0 2 3 4 5 10 Minimal Effective Dose of SEL-212 Unaudited data as of June 12, 2017 Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02959918 0.4 mg/kg Pegsiticase + 0.08 mg/kg SVP-Rapamycin 0.4 mg/kg Pegsiticase 114-0001 107-0004 111-0002 110-0008 106-0035 104-0010 Days S e ru m U ric A cid ( m g /d L ) A n ti-U ricas e A n ti b o d y T it e r • Sustained reduction of sUA after two injections of pegsiticase alone suggests induction of immune tolerance • Cohort being expanded to 10 evaluable patients # Stopping rules met (sUA levels >1 mg/dL at 21 days after dosing)# Patient #

11 Higher Dose Cohort: 0.4 mg/kg of Pegsiticase + 0.1 mg/kg of SVP-Rapamycin Unaudited data as of June 12, 2017 Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02959918 • sUA remains controlled in a majority of patients following repeat doses • Two patients met stopping rules • One of these patients was inadvertently re- dosed; experienced an infusion reaction and fully recovered Stopping rules met SAE (infusion reaction) due to protocol deviation# * 0.4 mg/kg Pegsiticase + 0.1 mg/kg SVP-Rapamycin 0.4 mg/kg Pegsiticase Patient # 104-0018 110-0015 103-0020 104-0017 106-0054 106-0045 107-0008 103-0019 111-0008 104-0023 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 1 0 2 1 0 3 1 0 4 1 0 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 1 0 2 1 0 3 1 0 4 1 0 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 1 0 2 3 4 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 1 0 2 3 4 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 1 0 2 3 4 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 0 1 0 2 3 4 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 1 0 2 3 4 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 1 0 2 3 4 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 1 0 2 3 4 5 0 7 1 4 2 1 2 8 3 5 4 2 4 9 5 6 6 3 7 0 7 7 8 4 9 1 9 8 1 0 5 1 1 2 1 1 9 1 2 6 1 3 3 1 4 0 0 2 4 6 8 1 1 0 2 3 4 5 S e ru m U ric A cid ( m g /d L ) A n ti-U ricas e A n ti b o d y T it e r # * #

12 • Urate lowering therapies typically increase the incidence of flares at the beginning of therapy • SEL-212 lowers flares compared to pegsiticase alone 0 . 0 5 0 . 0 8 0 . 1 0 2 0 4 0 6 0 % P a t i e n t s w i t h f l a r e i n m o n t h s 1 - 3 % P a t ie n t s w it h f la r e s S V P - R a p a m y c i n ( m g / k g ) + P e g i s t i c a s e P e g i s t i c a s e a l o n e 1 1 2 3 0 2 0 4 0 6 0 % P a t i e n t s w i t h f l a r e b y m o n t h % P a t ie n t s w it h f la r e s S V P - R a p a m y c i n + P e g i s t i c a s e P e g i s t i c a s e a l o n e Results to Date Suggest Reduction in Flare Frequency During SEL-212 Therapy Unaudited data as of June 12, 2017 Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02959918

Phase 2 Safety Overview 13 • SEL-212 has been generally well tolerated at clinically active doses following repeated administrations • SAEs reported to date in the trial: - Seven infusion reactions, four of which were in cohorts receiving pegsiticase alone or pegsiticase in combination with the lowest dose of SVP-Rapamycin and two of which were due to protocol deviations related to dosing errors - One was for a patient who experienced cholecystitis (inflammation of gall bladder caused by impacted gall stones), which was determined not to be related to study drug • All SAEs were successfully treated and resolved without further issues Unaudited data as of June 12, 2017 Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02959918

14 Phase 2 Adverse Events Unaudited data as of June 12, 2017 Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02959918 Cohort Entire Study 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 N(%) 60 3 3 9 10 6 7 10 10 ≥ 1TEAE 49(81.7) 2 2 9 8 5 5 3 6 ≥ SAE 8 1 1 2 0 0 1* 1#, 1 1* Death 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Discontinuation due to TEAE 8 1 1 2 0 0 1 2 1 Specific TEAEs Infusion reaction 8(13.3) 1 1 2 0 0 1*, 1 1 1* Gout flare 13(21.7) 3 0 2 2 1 2 1 2 Hyperglycemia1 9(15) 0 0 2 0 3 2 1 1 Hypertriglyceridemia1 4(6.7) 0 0 1 0 2 0 1 0 Infection1 9(15) 0 1 4 1 1 1 0 1 Tachycardia1 3(5) 0 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 Headache1 3(5) 0 0 0 3 0 0 0 0 Hypophosphatemia1 4(6.7) 0 0 4 0 0 0 0 0 Stomatitis or oral lesion1 2(3.3) 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 1 Leukopenia1 10(16.7) 0 0 2 0 2 1 2 3 #Not related to study drug. Patient underwent a cholecystectomy *Patient incorrectly dosed; protocol deviation (1) Observed at single data points, transient in nature and mild or moderate

The Unmet Need

Substantial Unmet Need for Chronic Severe Gout Patients 16 Tophi Significantly Increase Mortality Risk3 No/not diagnosed tophi 8.3 3.1 5.2 4.7 0.5 Patients Rx treated Primary care, endo, nephro, other Rheumatologists U.S. Gout Patients (million)1 530,000 370,000 Estimated SEL-212 Target Patient Population1 Gout treated by rheumatologists Est. SEL-212 patient pool Un-diagnosed or no Rx treatment Gout prevalence 160,000 (1) IMS, Desk Research, Selecta rheumatologist interviews, Crystal patient registry (2) Choi HK et al, Trends in Gout and Rheumatoid Arthritis Hospitalizations in the United States, JAMA, June 2016 (3) Vincent Z et al, Predictors of Mortality in People with Recent Onset of Gout: A Prospective Observational Study, ACR, Sept. 2016 Gout Admissions Now Exceed RA2

What is Chronic Severe Gout? (1) IMS, Desk Research (2) Selecta rheumatologist interviews, Crystal patient registry (3) Choi HK et al, Tophaceous Gout and the Risk of Mortality: A General Population-Based Study, ACR, Sept. 2016 (4) Zhu Y, et al, Comorbidities of gout and hyperuricemia in the US general population: NHANES 2007-2008, Am J Med, July 2012 17 • ~50,000 U.S. gout patients are refractory to standard therapies and most have existing “tophi”1 • Over 100,000 additional patients have tophaceous gout and remain symptomatic2 • Tophi are hidden or disfiguring inflammatory nodules of crystallized uric acid that form in severe gout patients - Tend to form primarily in joints and tissues - Source of recurrent flares and debilitating pain that cannot be treated effectively by simply lowering sUA to <6 mg/dL - Shown to significantly increase morbidity and mortality if left untreated3,4 Visible tophi Hidden uric acid deposits Uric acid deposits

6.8 6.0 Seru m U ri c A c id ( m g /d L ) Time Uric acid solubility limit FDA-approved endpoint Urate crystal deposits begin to form The Clinical Endpoint for Gout Medication Approvals is Well-Defined 18

While Oral Therapies May Control sUA, They do not Effectively Resolve Tophi 19 6.8 6.0 Seru m U ri c A c id ( m g /d L ) Time Oral therapies For illustrative purposes only

Resolving Tophi and Uric Acid Deposits with Monthly Uricase Treatments 20 6.8 6.0 Seru m U ri c A c id ( m g /d L ) Time Transition from uricase to oral therapies Before1 After1 Uric acid deposits Calcium deposits Very low sUA levels enable rapid tophi resolution 12-24 week treatment cycle (1) Arujo EG et al, Tophus resolution with pegloticase: a prospective dual-energy CT study, RMD Open, 2015 For illustrative purposes only

Phase 2 Trial Accomplishments to Date 21  Controlled sUA and avoided ADAs after multiple doses  Induced immune tolerance  Demonstrated low incidence of flares  SEL-212 generally well tolerated at active dose levels  Identified minimum effective dose  Data allows initial preparation of Phase 3 program design Clinicaltrials.gov NCT02959918 Additional cohorts to be enrolled in weeks ahead

Platform Implications

Immunogenicity’s Impact on Biologic Drugs and Product Candidates is Far-Reaching COMPROMISED EFFICACY Anti-drug antibodies (ADAs) neutralize therapeutic benefit 23 UNPREDICTABLE RESPONSE Changed PK/PD through drug-ADA interaction SAFETY RISK Hypersensitivity reactions can impact patients “Prophylactic immune tolerance induction should be strongly considered in patients who are at risk of developing immune responses to ERT.” – Amy Rosenberg, MD, Director, Division of Biotechnology Products Review and Research, FDA

Proprietary program(s) Potential program(s) 24 SEL-212 for Chronic Severe Gout  Commercially attractive  Rare disease  Rapid ADA onset  Clear endpoint  Adult patients Single Treatment Chronic Treatment Adult Patients Cancer Patients Pediatric Patients Oncology (LMB-100) Enzyme Replacement Therapy (Pompe Disease) Gene Therapy (MMA and OTC) + Treatment Cycle + + + SEL-212 Trial Data Inform Platform Expansion and Progression Ongoing Ph2 trial also will inform clinical programs for other product candidates

Indication Description Preclinical Phase 1 Phase 2 Proprietary ADA Mitigation Programs Refractory Gout SVP-Rapamycin co-administered with pegsiticase (SEL-212) Mesothelioma & Pancreatic Cancer* SVP-Rapamycin co-administered with LMB-100 Methylmalonic Acidemia (MMA) SVP-Rapamycin co-administered with Anc80 vector Ornithine Transcarbamylase Deficiency (OTC) SVP-Rapamycin co-administered with AAV vector ADA Mitigation Program License Hemophilia A SVP-Rapamycin licensed for FVIII gene therapy Immune Tolerance Pipeline 25 * LMB-100 is currently being investigated in two Phase 1 clinical trials at the National Cancer Institute (NCI): one of LMB-100 alone in Mesothelioma and one of LMB-100 in combination with nab-paclitaxel in Pancreatic Cancer. Selecta and NCI are currently in discussions regarding a planned Phase 1b clinical trial to evaluate multiple cycles of LMB-100 in combination with SVP-Rapamycin.