   b

Updated: February 19, 2018
Revisions Noted in Bold
Dynamically positioned 
											Dayrate on	Dayrate on
				Yr. (1)	Water	Drilling			Estimated	Estimated	Current	Previous
	Footnote	Floater	Dynamically	Entered	Depth	Depth			Contract	Expiration	Contract (3)	Contract (3)
Rig Type/Name	References	Type	Positioned	Service	(Feet)	(Feet)	Location	Customer	Start Date (2)	Date (2)	(Dollars)	(Dollars)	Additional Comments for Q1 2018 - Q4 2018

Rigs Under Construction (2)				
JSPL Ultra-Deepwater Drillship TBN 1	(9)	ship		TBA	12,000	40,000	TBA
JSPL Ultra-Deepwater Drillship TBN 2	(9)	ship		TBA	12,000	40,000	TBA
Ultra-Deepwater (27)				
Deepwater Poseidon	(6)	ship		2018	12,000	40,000	USGOM	Shell	Feb-18	Feb-28	519,000	N/A
Deepwater Pontus	(6)	ship		2017	12,000	40,000	USGOM	Shell	Oct-17	Oct-27	519,000	N/A
Deepwater Conqueror	(6), (8)	ship		2016	12,000	40,000	USGOM	Chevron	Dec-16	Dec-21	586,000	N/A
Deepwater Proteus	(6)	ship		2016	12,000	40,000	USGOM	Shell	Aug-16	May-26	486,000	498,000
Deepwater Thalassa	(6)	ship		2016	12,000	40,000	USGOM	Shell	Jul-16	Feb-26	488,000	499,000
Deepwater Asgard	(8)	ship		2014	12,000	40,000	USGOM	Murphy Oil Corp.	Feb-18	Jun-18	Not Disclosed	N/A
Deepwater Invictus	(6)	ship		2014	12,000	40,000	USGOM	BHP Billiton	Nov-17	Mar-18	Not Disclosed	592,000
	(6)						USGOM	BHP Billiton	Apr-18	Mar-20	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Deepwater Champion		ship		2011	12,000	40,000				Stacked Feb. 2016
Discoverer Inspiration	(6), (8)	ship		2010	12,000	40,000	USGOM	Chevron	Mar-15	Mar-20	571,000	523,000
Discoverer India	(8)	ship		2010	12,000	40,000	Ivory Coast	CNR	Apr-18	Nov-18	Not Disclosed	N/A
Dhirubhai Deepwater KG2		ship		2010	12,000	35,000	Myanmar	Woodside Energy Ltd.	Apr-18	Sep-18	Not Disclosed	N/A
Discoverer Luanda	(12)	ship		2010	7,500	40,000				Stacked February 2018
Discoverer Americas		ship		2009	12,000	40,000				Stacked April 2016
Discoverer Clear Leader		ship		2009	12,000	40,000				Idle Nov 2017
Petrobras 10000	(6), (8), (16)	ship		2009	12,000	37,500	USGOM	Petrobras	Sep-17	Jul-18	494,000	492,000
	(6), (7), (8)						Brazil	Petrobras	Aug-18	Aug-19	453,000	494,000
Dhirubhai Deepwater KG1		ship		2009	12,000	35,000	India	Reliance	Jul-18	Nov-19	Not Disclosed	433,000
Development Driller III		semi		2009	7,500	37,500				Idle October 2017
GSF Development Driller II		semi		2005	7,500	37,500				Stacked Jan. 2016
GSF Development Driller I		semi		2005	7,500	37,500	Australia	Quadrant Energy	Apr-18	Sep-18	Not Disclosed	N/A	Reactivation costs estimated at $28 million, incurred primarily in Q4 2017.
Discoverer Deep Seas		ship		2001	10,000	35,000				Stacked Feb. 2016
Discoverer Spirit		ship		2000	10,000	35,000				Stacked March 2015
GSF C.R. Luigs		ship		2000	10,000	35,000				Stacked June 2015
Deepwater Discovery		ship		2000	10,000	30,000				Stacked March 2015
Deepwater Nautilus		semi		2000	8,000	30,000	Malaysia	Shell	Nov-17	Mar-18	Not Disclosed	456,000
							Brunei	Shell	May-18	Aug-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Discoverer Enterprise		ship		1999	10,000	35,000				Stacked Sept. 2015
Deepwater Frontier		ship		1999	10,000	30,000				Stacked Nov. 2015
Deepwater Millennium		ship		1999	10,000	30,000				Stacked May 2016
													Q1 2018	Q2 2018	Q3 2018	Q4 2018
											Estimated Average Contract Dayrates (5)		$415,000	$363,000	$345,000	$410,000

Harsh Environment (12)				
Songa Enabler	(6), (7)	semi		2016	1,640	28,000	NNS	Statoil	Feb-18	Jul-18	457,000	N/A
	(6), (7)						NNS	Statoil	Jul-18	Jul-19	452,000	457,000
	(6), (7)						NNS	Statoil	Jul-19	Jul-20	448,000	452,000
	(6), (7)						NNS	Statoil	Jul-20	Jul-21	443,000	448,000
	(6), (7)						NNS	Statoil	Jul-21	Jul-22	439,000	443,000
	(6), (7)						NNS	Statoil	Jul-22	Jul-23	434,000	439,000
	(6), (7)						NNS	Statoil	Jul-23	Mar-24	424,000	434,000
Songa Encourage	(6), (7)	semi		2016	1,640	28,000	NNS	Statoil	Feb-18	Mar-18	453,000	N/A
	(6), (7)						NNS	Statoil	Mar-18	Mar-19	448,000	453,000
	(6), (7)						NNS	Statoil	Mar-19	Mar-20	444,000	448,000
	(6), (7)						NNS	Statoil	Mar-20	Mar-21	439,000	444,000
	(6), (7)						NNS	Statoil	Mar-21	Mar-22	435,000	439,000
	(6), (7)						NNS	Statoil	Mar-22	Mar-23	430,000	435,000
	(6), (7)						NNS	Statoil	Mar-23	Nov-23	420,000	430,000
Songa Endurance	(6)	semi		2015	1,640	28,000	NNS	Statoil	Feb-18	Dec-18	487,000	N/A
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Dec-18	Dec-19	483,000	487,000
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Dec-19	Dec-20	478,000	483,000
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Dec-20	Dec-21	473,000	478,000

	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Dec-21	Dec-22	469,000	473,000
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Dec-22	Jun-23	458,000	469,000
Songa Equinox	(6)	semi		2015	1,640	28,000	NNS	Statoil	Feb-18	Nov-18	487,000	N/A
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Nov-18	Nov-19	483,000	487,000
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Nov-19	Nov-20	478,000	483,000
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Nov-20	Nov-21	473,000	478,000
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Nov-21	Nov-22	469,000	473,000
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Nov-22	Dec-22	458,000	469,000
Transocean Spitsbergen	(7), (8)	semi		2010	10,000	30,000	NNS	Statoil	Oct-17	Oct-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(7), (8)						NNS	Statoil	Jul-19	Apr-22	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Transocean Barents	(8)	semi		2009	10,000	30,000	Canada	Suncor Energy	Aug-17	Oct-18	260,000	N/A
Paul B. Loyd, Jr.	(6), (7)	semi		1990	2,000	25,000	UKNS	Repsol Sinopec	Dec-17	Mar-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							UKNS	Hurricane Energy PLC	Mar-18	May-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							UKNS	Zennor Petroleum Limited	May-18	Oct-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Transocean Leader		semi		1987/1997	4,500	25,000	UKNS	Dana Petroleum	Apr-18	Jun-18	Not disclosed	335,000	The rig is in the shipyard for repairs in Q1 2018.
							UKNS	EnQuest	Jul-18	Jan-19	Not disclosed	Not disclosed
Transocean Arctic	(7), (15)	semi		1986	1,650	25,000	NNS	Aker BP	Sep-17	Mar-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(7)						NNS	Wellesley Petroleum	May-18	Sep-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(7)						NNS	DEA Norge AS	Jul-19	May-20	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Henry Goodrich	(6)	semi		1985/2007	5,000	30,000	Canada	Husky	May-16	May-18	275,000	N/A
Polar Pioneer		semi		1985/2014	1,500	25,000				Stacked Dec. 2015
Songa Dee		semi		1984	1,500	30,000				Stacked Sep. 2016
													Q1 2018	Q2 2018	Q3 2018	Q4 2018
											Estimated Average Contract Dayrates (5)		$326,000	$313,000	$306,000	$362,000

Deepwater (2)				
Jack Bates		semi		1986/1997	5,400	30,000	India	ONGC	Nov-16	Oct-18	127,000	N/A
Transocean 706	(6), (7)	semi		1976/1994/ 2008	6,500	25,000	Brazil	Petrobras	Sep-16	Oct-18	286,000	283,000
													Q1 2018	Q2 2018	Q3 2018	Q4 2018
											Estimated Average Contract Dayrates (5)		$206,000	$206,000	$206,000	$206,000

Midwater Floaters (6)				
Sedco 714		semi		1983/1997	1,600	25,000				Stacked Nov. 2015
Transocean 712	(7)	semi		1983	1,600	25,000	UKNS	Fairfield Energy Ltd.	Apr-17	Jun-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Sedco 711		semi		1982	1,800	25,000				Stacked Jan. 2016
Actinia		semi		1982	1,500	25,000	India	ONGC	May-16	May-19	101,000	N/A
Songa Delta		semi		1981	1,640	25,000				Stacked Nov. 2016
Songa Trym		semi		1976	1,312	25,000				Stacked Nov. 2016
													Q1 2018	Q2 2018	Q3 2018	Q4 2018
											Estimated Average Contract Dayrates (5)		$101,000	$101,000	$101,000	$101,000

High Specification Jackups (2)				
Odin	(4)			2013	350	35,000	Thailand	Chevron	Mar-13	Mar-18	144,000	N/A
Mist	(4)			2013	350	35,000	Thailand	Chevron	Oct-13	Oct-18	144,000	N/A
													Q1 2018	Q2 2018	Q3 2018	Q4 2018
											Estimated Average Contract Dayrates (5)		$144,000	$144,000	$144,000	$144,000

Fixed-Price Options - See Footnote 10				
Ultra-Deepwater				
Deepwater Asgard		ship		2014	12,000	40,000	USGOM	Murphy Oil Corp.	Jun-18	Jul-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Deepwater Invictus	(6)	ship		2014	12,000	40,000	USGOM	BHP Billiton	Apr-20	Apr-21	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(6)						USGOM	BHP Billiton	Apr-21	Apr-22	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(6)						USGOM	BHP Billiton	Apr-22	Apr-23	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Dhirubhai Deepwater KG2		ship		2010	12,000	35,000	Myanmar	Woodside Energy Ltd.	Nov-18	Jan-19	Not Disclosed	N/A
							Myanmar	Woodside Energy Ltd.	Jan-19	Feb-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Myanmar	Woodside Energy Ltd.	Feb-19	Apr-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Myanmar	Woodside Energy Ltd.	Apr-19	Jun-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Myanmar	Woodside Energy Ltd.	Jun-19	Aug-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Dhirubhai Deepwater KG1	(13)	ship		2009	12,000	35,000	India	Reliance	Nov-19	See Footnote 13	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(14)						India	Reliance	See Footnote 14	See Footnote 14	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
GSF Development Driller I		semi		2005	7,500	37,500	Australia	Quadrant Energy	Sep-18	Oct-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Australia	Quadrant Energy	Nov-18	Dec-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Deepwater Nautilus		semi		2000	8,000	30,000	Malaysia	Shell	Mar-18	Apr-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Malaysia	Shell	Apr-18	May-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Brunei	Shell	Sep-18	Dec-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Brunei	Shell	Jan-19	Apr-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Brunei	Shell	Apr-19	Aug-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Malaysia	Shell	Aug-19	Sep-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Malaysia	Shell	Sep-19	Oct-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Malaysia	Shell	Oct-19	Nov-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Malaysia	Shell	Nov-19	Dec-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Malaysia	Shell	Dec-19	Jan-20	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Malaysia	Shell	Jan-20	Feb-20	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Malaysia	Shell	Feb-20	Mar-20	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Malaysia	Shell	Mar-20	Apr-20	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							Malaysia	Shell	Apr-20	May-20	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Harsh Environment				
Songa Enabler	(17)	semi		2016	1,640	28,000	NNS	Statoil	Mar-24	Mar-27	424,000	424,000
	(17)						NNS	Statoil	Mar-27	Mar-30	424,000	424,000
							NNS	Statoil	Mar-30	Mar-33	424,000	424,000
							NNS	Statoil	Mar-33	Mar-36	424,000	424,000
Songa Encourage	(17)	semi		2016	1,640	28,000	NNS	Statoil	Nov-23	Nov-26	420,000	420,000
	(17)						NNS	Statoil	Nov-26	Nov-29	420,000	420,000
							NNS	Statoil	Nov-29	Nov-32	420,000	420,000
							NNS	Statoil	Nov-32	Nov-35	420,000	420,000
Songa Endurance	(6), (17)	semi		2015	1,640	28,000	NNS	Statoil	Jun-23	Jun-26	458,000	458,000
	(6), (17)						NNS	Statoil	Jun-26	Jun-29	458,000	458,000
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Jun-29	Jun-32	458,000	458,000
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Jun-32	Jun-35	458,000	458,000
Songa Equinox	(6), (17)	semi		2015	1,640	28,000	NNS	Statoil	Dec-22	Dec-25	458,000	458,000
	(6), (17)						NNS	Statoil	Dec-25	Dec-28	458,000	458,000
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Dec-28	Dec-31	458,000	458,000
	(6)						NNS	Statoil	Dec-31	Dec-34	458,000	458,000
Transocean Spitsbergen	(7), (8)	semi		2010	10,000	30,000	NNS	Statoil	Nov-18	Nov-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(7), (8)						NNS	Statoil	Dec-18	Dec-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(7), (8)						NNS	Statoil	Jan-19	Jan-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(7), (8)						NNS	Statoil	Feb-19	Feb-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(7), (8)						NNS	Statoil	Mar-19	Mar-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(7), (8)						NNS	Statoil	Apr-19	Apr-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(7), (8)						NNS	Statoil	May-19	Jul-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(7), (8)						NNS	Statoil	Apr-22	May-22	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
	(7), (8)						NNS	Statoil	Jun-22	Jul-22	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Paul B. Loyd, Jr.		semi		1990	2,000	25,000	UKNS	Zennor Petroleum Limited	Oct-18	Nov-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							UKNS	Zennor Petroleum Limited	Nov-18	Dec-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							UKNS	Zennor Petroleum Limited	Dec-18	Jan-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							UKNS	Hurricane Energy PLC	Jan-19	Apr-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
							UKNS	Hurricane Energy PLC	Apr-19	Jun-19	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed
Transocean Leader		semi		1987/1997	4,500	25,000	UKNS	Dana Petroleum	Jun-18	Jul-18	Not disclosed	Not Disclosed
Transocean Arctic	(7)	semi		1986	1,650	25,000	NNS	Wellesley Petroleum	Sep-18	Oct-18	Not Disclosed	N/A
							NNS	Wellesley Petroleum	Nov-18	Dec-18	Not Disclosed	Not Disclosed

Updated: February 19, 2018
Revisions Noted in Bold

Footnotes

(1)	Dates shown are the original service date and the date of the most recent upgrade, if any.

(2)

Estimated Contract Start and Estimated Expiration Dates are calculated as follows: (1) for events estimated to occur between the 1st and 15th of a month, the previous month is reported (i.e. a contract which is estimated to commence on March 4, 2018 will be reported as commencing in February 2018) and (2) for events estimated to occur between the 16th and the end of a month, the actual month is reported (i.e. a contract which is estimated to commence on March 24, 2018 will be reported as commencing in March 2018). Expiration dates represent the company's current estimate of the earliest date the contract for each rig is likely to expire. Some rigs have two or more contracts in continuation, so the last line shows the estimated earliest availability. Many contracts permit the customer to extend the contract.

(3)

Represents the full operating dayrate, although the average dayrate over the term of the contract will be lower and could be substantially lower. Does not reflect incentive programs which are typically based on the rig's operating performance against a performance curve. Please refer to the “Customer Contract Duration, Timing and Dayrates and Risks Associated with Operations” section of the Disclaimers & Definitions for a description of dayrates. This column may not reflect the rate currently being received under the contract as a result of an applicable standby rate or other rate, which typically is less than the contract dayrate.

(4)	The jackup was contracted at the time of its sale on May 31, 2017. The company will continue to operate the rig until completion or novation of the drilling contract.

(5)	Estimated Average Contract Dayrate is defined as the average contracted full operating dayrate to be earned per revenue earning day. See note (3) for definition of full operating dayrate.

(6)

If the dayrate is disclosed, reflects the current contracted dayrate which could reflect prior cost escalations, or de-escalations, and could change in the future due to further cost escalations, or de-escalations.

(7)

If the dayrate is disclosed, reflects the current contracted dayrate which, along with costs, includes a foreign currency component. Changes in the value of the U.S. Dollar relative to certain foreign currencies will result in an adjustment to the dayrate according to the terms of the contract. The dayrate adjustment generally offsets the foreign currency exchange-related change in costs.

(8)	If the dayrate is disclosed, the contract provides for a bonus incentive opportunity not reflected in the current contract dayrate.

(9)	The two drillships on order from Sembcorp Marine's subsidiary, Jurong Shipyard, are expected to be delivered in the second quarter and fourth quarter of 2020.

(10)

Fixed price options may be exercised at the customer’s discretion. During periods when dayrates on new contracts are increasing relative to existing contracts, the likelihood of customers’ exercising fixed price options increases. During periods when dayrates on new contracts are decreasing relative to existing contracts, the likelihood of customers’ exercising fixed price options declines.

(11)

The contract is expected to start in the quarter indicated. Factors that could influence the contract start date include shipyard delivery, customer acceptance, and mobilization to operating location, among others.

(12)	The rig is owned by a joint venture in which the company owns less than a 100 percent interest.

(13)

Customer may elect to exercise this option based on either the number of wells or duration. If the customer elects to exercise a well-based option, the option period will be up to five wells.  If the customer elects to exercise a duration-based option, the option period will be comprised of two durations of 12-months and six-months, respectively.

(14)	Customer may elect to exercise this option as a well-based commitment of up to seven wells.

(15)	Dayrate will be increased when the rig is performing high-pressure high-temperature wells, or wells in the Barents Sea.

(16)	The increase in dayrate, which is commensurate with the increase in cost, is associated with the change in location.

(17)	If exercised, a lump sum payment of $12.5 million shall be payable to the customer upon commencement of the option period.

DISCLAIMERS & DEFINITIONS

The information contained in this Fleet Status Report (the “Information”) is as of the date of the report only and is subject to change without notice to the recipient. Transocean Ltd. assumes no duty to update any portion of the Information.

DISCLAIMER. NEITHER TRANSOCEAN LTD. NOR ITS AFFILIATES MAKE ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES (INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, ANY WARRANTY OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE OR USE) REGARDING THE INFORMATION CONTAINED IN THIS REPORT, WHICH INFORMATION IS PROVIDED “AS IS.” Neither Transocean Ltd. nor its affiliates will be liable to any recipient or anyone else for any inaccuracy, error or omission, regardless of cause, in the information set forth in this report or for any damages (whether direct or indirect, consequential, punitive or exemplary) resulting therefrom.

No Unauthorized Publication or Use. All information provided by Transocean in this report is given for the exclusive use of the recipient and may not be published, redistributed or retransmitted without the prior written consent of Transocean.

Customer Contract Duration, Timing and Dayrates and Risks Associated with Operations. The duration and timing (including both starting and ending dates) of the customer contracts are estimates only, and customer contracts are subject to cancellation, suspension and delays for a variety of reasons, including some beyond the control of Transocean. Also, the dayrates set forth in the report are estimates based upon the full contractual operating dayrate. However, the actual average dayrate earned over the course of any given contract will be lower and could be substantially lower. The actual average dayrate will depend upon a number of factors (rig downtime, suspension of operations, etc.) including some beyond the control of Transocean. Our customer contracts and operations are generally subject to a number of risks and uncertainties, and we urge you to review the description and explanation of such risks and uncertainties in our filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), which are available free of charge on the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov. The dayrates do not include revenue for mobilizations, demobilizations, upgrades, shipyards or recharges.

Out of Service. The time associated with committed shipyards, upgrades, surveys, repairs, regulatory inspections, contract preparation or other committed activity on the rig and is not expected to earn an operating dayrate, Contract preparation refers to periods during which the rig is undergoing modifications or upgrades as a result of contract requirements.

The references included in this Fleet Status Report may not be firm and could change significantly based on a variety of factors. Any significant changes to our estimates of out of service time will be reflected in subsequent Fleet Status Reports, as applicable.

In some instances such as certain mobilizations, upgrades and shipyards, we are paid compensation by our customers that is generally recognized over the life of the primary contract term of the drilling contract.

Forward-Looking Statement.  The statements made in the Fleet Update that are not historical facts are forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. Forward-looking statements made in the Fleet Update include, but are not limited to, statements involving the estimated duration of customer contracts, contract dayrate amounts, future contract commencement dates and locations and planned shipyard projects and other out of service time. Such statements are subject to numerous risks, uncertainties and assumptions, including but not limited to, uncertainties relating to the level of activity in offshore oil and gas exploration and development, exploration success by producers, oil and gas prices, competition and market conditions in the contract drilling industry, shipyard delays, actions and approvals of third parties, possible cancellation or suspension of drilling contracts as a result of mechanical difficulties or performance, Transocean’s ability to enter into and the terms of future contracts, the availability of qualified personnel, labor relations and the outcome of negotiations with unions representing workers, operating hazards, factors affecting the duration of contracts including well-in-progress provisions, the actual amount of downtime, factors resulting in reduced applicable dayrates, hurricanes and other weather conditions, terrorism, political and other uncertainties inherent in non-U.S. operations (including the risk of war, civil disturbance, seizure or damage of equipment and exchange and currency fluctuations), the impact of governmental laws and regulations, the adequacy of sources of liquidity, the effect of litigation and contingencies and other factors described above and discussed in Transocean’s most recently filed Form 10-K, in Transocean’s Forms 10-Q for subsequent periods and in Transocean’s other filings with the SEC, which are available free of charge on the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov. Should one or more of these risks or uncertainties materialize, or should underlying assumptions prove incorrect, actual results may vary materially from those indicated. You should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements. Each forward-looking statement speaks only as of the date of the particular statement, and we undertake no obligation to publicly update or revise any forward looking statements, except as required by law.

Fleet Classifications. Transocean uses classifications for its drillships, semisubmersibles, and jackup rigs.The classifications reflect the company’s strategic focus on the ownership and operations of premium, high-specification units and are approximately as follows: “Ultra-Deepwater” are the latest generation of drillships and semisubmersible rigs and are capable of drilling in water depths equal to or greater than 7,500 feet; “Deepwater” rigs are drillships and semisubmersible rigs capable of drilling in water depths equal to or greater than 4,500 feet and less than 7,500 feet; “Harsh Environment” are premium rigs equipped for year-round operations in harsh environments; “Midwater Floaters” are semisubmersible rigs capable of drilling in water depths of greater than 300 feet and up to 4,499 feet; and "High-Specification Jackups" are high‑performance, independent cantilever jackup rigs that are capable of  drilling in water depths of up to 400 feet.

Stacking.  An "Idle" rig is primarily between contracts, readily available for  operations, and operating costs are typically at or near normal levels. A "Stacked" rig, on the other hand, is primarily manned by a reduced crew or unmanned and typically has reduced operating costs and is (i) preparing for an extended period of inactivity, (ii) expected to continue to be inactive for an extended period, or (iii) completing a period of extended inactivity. However, stacked rigs will continue to incur operating costs at or above normal operating costs for approximately 30 days following initiation of stacking.