abrdn Silver ETF Trust (CIK 1450922)
Form 10-Q
period 2023-09-30
filed 2023-11-08

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

As of November 6, 2023 abrdn Silver ETF Trust had 47,150,000 abrdn Physical Silver Shares ETF outstanding.

abrdn Silver ETF Trust

FORM 10-Q

FOR THE QUARTER ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2023

abrdn Silver ETF Trust

PART I. FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1. Financial Statements

Statements of Assets and Liabilities

At September 30, 2023 (Unaudited) and December 31, 2022

	September 30, 2023	December 31, 2022
(Amounts in 000's of US$, except for Share and per Share data)
ASSETS
Investment in silver (cost: September 30, 2023: $981,684; December 31, 2022: $998,547)	$1,045,048	$1,113,348
Silver receivable	—	5,749
Total assets	1,045,048	1,119,097

LIABILITIES
Fees payable to Sponsor	258	280
Total liabilities	258	280

NET ASSETS(1)	$1,044,790	$1,118,817

(1)	Authorized share capital is unlimited with no par value per Share. Shares issued and outstanding at September 30, 2023 were 47,250,000 and at December 31, 2022 were 48,650,000. Net asset values per Share at September 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022 were $22.11 and $23.00, respectively.

See Notes to the Financial Statements

abrdn Silver ETF Trust

Schedules of Investments

At September 30, 2023 (Unaudited) and December 31, 2022

	September 30, 2023
Description	oz	Cost	Fair Value	% of Net Assets
Investment in silver (in 000's of US$, except for oz and percentage data)
Silver	45,289,197.6	$981,684	$1,045,048	100.02%
Total investment in silver	45,289,197.6	$981,684	$1,045,048	100.02%
Less liabilities			(258)	(0.02)%
Net Assets			$1,044,790	100.00%

	December 31, 2022
Description	oz	Cost	Fair Value	% of Net Assets
Investment in silver (in 000’s of US$, except for oz and percentage data)
Silver	46,496,067.9	$998,547	$1,113,348	99.51%
Total investment in silver	46,496,067.9	$998,547	$1,113,348	99.51%
Other assets less liabilities			5,469	0.49%
Net Assets			$1,118,817	100.00%

See Notes to the Financial Statements

abrdn Silver ETF Trust

Statements of Operations (Unaudited)

For the three and nine months ended September 30, 2023 and 2022

	Three Months Ended September 30, 2023	Three Months Ended September 30, 2022	Nine Months Ended September 30, 2023	Nine Months Ended September 30, 2022
(Amounts in 000's of US$, except for Share and per Share data)
EXPENSES
Sponsor's Fee	$1,253	$1,049	$3,678	$3,482
Less: Waiver	(418)	(350)	(1,226)	(1,161)
Total expenses	835	699	2,452	2,321

Net investment loss	(835)	(699)	(2,452)	(2,321)

REALIZED AND UNREALIZED GAINS / (LOSSES)
Realized gain / (loss) on silver transferred to pay expenses	69	(50)	203	119
Realized gain / (loss) on silver distributed for the redemption of Shares	2,741	(4,936)	7,955	(4,157)
Change in unrealized gain / (loss) on investment in silver	25,735	(61,597)	(51,437)	(214,453)
Total gain / (loss) on investment in silver	28,545	(66,583)	(43,279)	(218,491)

Change in net assets from operations	$27,710	$(67,282)	$(45,731)	$(220,812)

Net increase / (decrease) in net assets per Share	$0.57	$(1.38)	$(0.94)	$(4.51)

Weighted average number of Shares	48,246,196	48,841,304	48,543,590	48,909,524

See Notes to the Financial Statements

abrdn Silver ETF Trust

Statements of Changes in Net Assets (Unaudited)

For the three and nine months ended September 30, 2023 and 2022

	Three Months Ended September 30, 2023		Three Months Ended September 30, 2022
(Amounts in 000's of US$, except for Share data)	Shares	Amount	Shares	Amount
Opening balance	49,400,000	$1,064,497	50,300,000	$987,726
Net investment loss		(835)		(699)
Realized gain / (loss) on investment in silver		2,810		(4,986)
Change in unrealized gain / (loss) on investment in silver		25,735		(61,597)
Creations	—	—	1,000,000	18,078
Redemptions	(2,150,000)	(47,417)	(2,350,000)	(43,665)
Closing balance	47,250,000	$1,044,790	48,950,000	$894,857

	Nine Months Ended September 30, 2023		Nine Months Ended September 30, 2022
(Amounts in 000’s of US$, except for Share data)	Shares	Amount	Shares	Amount
Opening balance	48,650,000	$1,118,817	44,750,000	$995,152
Net investment loss		(2,452)		(2,321)
Realized gain / (loss) on investment in silver		8,158		(4,038)
Change in unrealized (loss) on investment in silver		(51,437)		(214,453)
Creations	4,500,000	101,904	12,250,000	282,957
Redemptions	(5,900,000)	(130,200)	(8,050,000)	(162,440)
Closing balance	47,250,000	$1,044,790	48,950,000	$894,857

See Notes to the Financial Statements

abrdn Silver ETF Trust

Financial Highlights (Unaudited)

For the three and nine months ended September 30, 2023 and 2022

	Three Months Ended September 30, 2023	Three Months Ended September 30, 2022	Nine Months Ended September 30, 2023	Nine Months Ended September 30, 2022
Per Share Performance (for a Share outstanding throughout the entire period)
Net asset value per Share at beginning of period	$21.55	$19.64	$23.00	$22.24
Income from investment operations:
Net investment loss	(0.02)	(0.01)	(0.05)	(0.05)
Total realized and unrealized gains or losses on investment in silver	0.58	(1.35)	(0.84)	(3.91)
Change in net assets from operations	0.56	(1.36)	(0.89)	(3.96)

Net asset value per Share at end of period	$22.11	$18.28	$22.11	$18.28

Weighted average number of Shares	48,246,196	48,841,304	48,543,590	48,909,524

Expense ratio(1)(2)	0.30%	0.30%	0.30%	0.30%

Net investment loss ratio(1)(2)	(0.30)%	(0.30)%	(0.30)%	(0.30)%

Total return, net asset value(3)	2.60%	(6.92)%	(3.87)%	(17.81)%

(1)	Annualized for periods less than one year.
(2)	The expense ratio is calculated net of the voluntary waiver (refer to Note 2.7). The Gross Expense Ratio is 0.45%.
(3)	Total return is not annualized.

See Notes to the Financial Statements

abrdn Silver ETF Trust

Notes to the Financial Statements (Unaudited)

1.    Organization

The abrdn Silver ETF Trust (the “Trust”) is a common law trust formed on July 20, 2009 (the "Date of Inception") under New York law pursuant to a depositary trust agreement (the “Trust Agreement”) executed by abrdn ETFs Sponsor LLC (the “Sponsor”) and The Bank of New York Mellon as Trustee (the “Trustee”). The Trust holds silver  and issues abrdn Physical Silver Shares ETF (“Shares”) in minimum blocks of 50,000 Shares (also referred to as “Baskets”) in exchange for deposits of silver and distributes silver in connection with the redemption of Baskets. Shares represent units of fractional undivided beneficial interest in and ownership of the Trust which are issued by the Trust. The Sponsor is a Delaware limited liability company and a wholly-owned subsidiary of abrdn Inc., which is a wholly-owned indirect subsidiary of abrdn plc. The Trust is governed by the Trust Agreement.

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

The accompanying financial statements were prepared in accordance with the accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (“U.S. GAAP”) for interim financial information and with the instructions for Form 10-Q. In the opinion of the Trust’s management, all adjustments (which consist of normal recurring adjustments) necessary to present fairly the financial position and results of operations as of September 30, 2023, and for the three and nine month periods then ended have been made.

These financial statements should be read in conjunction with the Trust’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended Decembers 31, 2022. The results of operations for the three and nine months ended September 30, 2023 are not necessarily indicative of the operating results for the full year.

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

The Trust’s silver is held by JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. (the “Custodian”). The Trust's silver may also be held by another firm selected by the Custodian to hold the Trust's silver in the Trust's allocated account in the firm's vault premises on a segregated basis and whose appointment has been approved by the Sponsor. At September 30, 2023, none of the Trust's silver was held by a sub-custodian.

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

The categorization of the Trust’s assets is as shown below:

(Amounts in 000’s of US$)	September 30, 2023	December 31, 2022
Level 1
Investment in silver	$1,045,048	$1,113,348

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

2.6.    Investment in Silver

Changes in ounces of silver and their respective values for the three and nine months ended September 30, 2023 and 2022 are set out below:

	Three Months Ended September 30, 2023	Three Months Ended September 30, 2022
(Amounts in 000’s of US$, except for ounces data)
Ounces of silver
Opening balance	47,385,900.9	48,394,241.3
Creations	—	817,183.4
Redemptions	(2,061,089.9)	(2,259,957.2)
Transfers of silver to pay expenses	(35,613.4)	(35,889.2)
Closing balance	45,289,197.6	46,915,578.3

abrdn Silver ETF Trust

Notes to the Financial Statements (Unaudited)

	Three Months Ended September 30, 2023	Three Months Ended September 30, 2022
Investment in silver
Opening balance	$1,064,761	$987,968
Creations	—	15,336
Redemptions	(47,417)	(43,665)
Realized gain on silver distributed for the redemption of Shares	2,741	(4,936)
Transfers of silver to pay expenses	(841)	(722)
Realized gain on silver transferred to pay expenses	69	(50)
Change in unrealized (loss) on investment in silver	25,735	(61,597)
Closing balance	$1,045,048	$892,334

	Nine Months Ended September 30, 2023	Nine Months Ended September 30, 2022
(Amounts in 000’s of US$, except for ounces data)
Ounces of silver
Opening balance	46,496,067.9	43,119,101.1
Creations	4,558,938.0	11,645,539.9
Redemptions	(5,660,620.0)	(7,743,930.1)
Transfers of silver to pay expenses	(105,188.3)	(105,132.6)
Closing balance	45,289,197.6	46,915,578.3

Investment in silver
Opening balance	$1,113,348	$995,405
Creations	107,653	280,215
Redemptions	(130,200)	(162,440)
Realized gain / (loss) on silver distributed for the redemption of Shares	7,955	(4,157)
Transfers of silver to pay expenses	(2,474)	(2,355)
Realized gain on silver transferred to pay expenses	203	119
Change in unrealized (loss) on investment in silver	(51,437)	(214,453)
Closing balance	$1,045,048	$892,334

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

For the three months ended September 30, 2023 and 2022, the Sponsor’s Fee, net of fees waived by the Sponsor, was $835,103 and $699,126, respectively. For the nine months ended September 30, 2023 and 2022, the Sponsor’s Fee, net of fees waived by the Sponsor, was $2,451,934 and $2,321,212, respectively.

At September 30, 2023 and at December 31, 2022, the fees payable to the Sponsor were $258,084 and $280,384, respectively.

As a result of the waiver, the Sponsor’s Fee waived for the three months ended September 30, 2023 and 2022 was $417,551 and $349,563, respectively. The Sponsor's Fee waived for the nine months ended September 30, 2023, and 2022 was $1,225,967 and $1,160,606, respectively.

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

The Quarter Ended September 30, 2023

The Trust’s NAV decreased from $1,064,497,046 at June 30, 2023 to $1,044,790,151 at September 30, 2023, a 1.85% decrease for the quarter. The change in the Trust's NAV resulted from an increase in the price per ounce of silver, which rose 2.71% from $22.47 at June 30, 2023 to $23.08 at September 30, 2023, and a decrease in outstanding Shares, which fell from 49,400,000 Shares at June 30, 2023 to 47,250,000 Shares at September 30, 2023, as a result of 0 Shares (0 Baskets) being created and 2,150,000 Shares (43 Baskets) being redeemed during the quarter.

The NAV per Share increased 2.60% from $21.55 at June 30, 2023 to $22.11 at September 30, 2023. The Trust’s NAV per Share rose slightly less than the price per ounce of silver on a percentage basis due to the Sponsor’s Fee, net of waiver, which was $835,103 for the quarter, or 0.30% of the Trust’s ANAV on an annualized basis.

The NAV per Share of $24.14 at July 20, 2023 was the highest during the quarter, compared with a low of $21.48 at August 15, 2023.

The increase in net assets from operations for the quarter ended September 30, 2023 was $27,709,856 resulting from a realized gain of $69,215 on the transfer of silver to pay expenses, a realized gain on silver distributed for the redemption of Shares of $2,740,790 and a change in unrealized gain on investment in silver of $25,734,954, offset by the Sponsor's Fee, net of waiver, of $835,103. Other than the Sponsor's Fee, the Trust had no expenses during the quarter ended September 30, 2023.

The Nine Months Ended September 30, 2023

The Trust’s NAV decreased from $1,118,817,327 at December 31, 2022 to $1,044,790,151 at September 30, 2023, a 6.62% decrease for the period. The change in the Trust’s NAV resulted from a decrease in the price per ounce of silver, which fell 3.61% from $23.95 at December 31, 2022 to $23.08 at September 30, 2023, and a decrease in outstanding Shares, which fell from 48,650,000 Shares at December 31, 2022 to 47,250,000 Shares at September 30, 2023, as a result of 4,500,000 Shares (90 Baskets) being created and 5,900,000 Shares (118 Baskets) being redeemed during the period.

The NAV per Share decreased 3.87% from $23.00 at December 31, 2022 to $22.11 at September 30, 2023. The Trust’s NAV per Share fell slightly more than the price per ounce of silver on a percentage basis due to the Sponsor’s Fee, net of waiver, which was $2,451,934 for the period, or 0.30% of the Trust’s ANAV on an annualized basis.

The NAV per Share of $24.97 at April 16, 2023 was the highest during the period, compared with a low of $19.28 at March 10, 2023.

The decrease in net assets from operations for the nine month period ended September 30, 2023 was $45,730,581, resulting from a realized gain of $203,290 on the transfer of silver to pay expenses, a realized gain on silver distributed for the redemption of Shares of $7,955,135, offset by a change in unrealized loss on investment in silver of $51,437,072 and the Sponsor’s Fee, net of waiver, of $2,451,934. Other than the Sponsor’s Fee, the Trust had no expenses during the nine month period ended September 30, 2023.

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

Item 2(a). None.

Item 2(b). Not applicable.

Item 2(c). For the three months ended September 30, 2023:

0 Baskets were created.

43 Baskets were redeemed.

Period	Total Baskets Redeemed	Total Shares Redeemed	Average ounces of silver per Share
July 2023	—	—	—
August 2023	38	1,900,000	0.960
September 2023	5	250,000	0.960
	43	2,150,000	0.960

Item 3. Defaults Upon Senior Securities

None.

Item 4. Mine Safety Disclosures

Not applicable.

Item 5. Other Information

No officers or directors of the Trust have adopted, modified or terminated trading plans under either a Rule 10b5-1 or non-Rule 10b51 trading arrangement for the three months ended September 30, 2023.

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

abrdn ETFs Sponsor LLC

Date: November 8, 2023	/s/ Steven Dunn *
Steven Dunn **
President and Chief Executive Officer
(Principal Executive Officer)

Date: November 8, 2023	/s/ Brian Kordeck *
Brian Kordeck **
Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer
(Principal Financial Officer and Principal Accounting Officer)

*	The originally executed copy of this Certification will be maintained at the Sponsor's offices and will be made available for inspection upon request.
**	The Registrant is a trust and the persons are signing in their capacities as officers of abrdn ETFs Sponsor LLC, the Sponsor of the Registrant.