Exhibit 99.1

Ecopetrol S.A.’s Board of Directors Approves Membership of

its Committees

Ecopetrol S.A (BVC: ECOPETROL; NYSE: EC) (“Ecopetrol” or the “Company”) hereby reports that its Board of Directors has approved the membership of its committees, which will be as follows:

Audit and Risk Committee

• Jaime Ardila, as financial-accounting expert

• Joaquín Moreno

• Carlos Gustavo Cano

• Jorge Londoño

• Hernando Ramírez

Business Committee

• Joaquín Moreno

• Carlos Cure

• Jaime Ardila

• Carlos Gustavo Cano

• Mauricio Cabrera

• Claudia González

• Camilo Barco

• Hernando Ramírez

• Jorge Londoño

Corporate Governance and Sustainability Committee

• Claudia González

• Carlos Cure

• Jaime Ardila

• Carlos Gustavo Cano

• Mauricio Cabrera

• Camilo Barco

• Jorge Londoño

Compensation and Nomination Committee

• Mauricio Cabrera

• Carlos Cure

• Joaquín Moreno

• Claudia González

HSE Committee

• Carlos Gustavo Cano

• Joaquín Moreno

• Jaime Ardila

• Mauricio Cabrera

• Hernando Ramírez

Bogotá D.C., April 23, 2018

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This release contains statements that may be considered forward looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the U.S. Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the U.S. Securities Exchange Act of 1934. All forward-looking statements, whether made in this release or in future filings or press releases or orally, address matters that involve risks and uncertainties, including in respect of the Company’s prospects for growth and its ongoing access to capital to fund the Company’s business plan, among others. Consequently, changes in the following factors, among others, could cause actual results to differ materially from those included in the forward-looking statements: market prices of oil & gas, our exploration and production activities, market conditions, applicable regulations, the exchange rate, the Company’s competitiveness and the performance of Colombia’s economy and industry, to mention a few. We do not intend, and do not assume any obligation to update these forward-looking statements.

For further information, please contact:

Head of Capital Markets

María Catalina Escobar

Phone: (+571) 234 5190

E-mail: investors@ecopetrol.com.co

Media Relations (Colombia)

Jorge Mauricio Tellez

Phone: (+ 571) 234 4329

E-mail: mauricio.tellez@ecopetrol.com.co