Exhibit 99.1

Fitch Ratings improves Ecopetrol's credit rating outlook, granting BBB stable rating

Ecopetrol S.A. (BVC: ECOPETROL; NYSE: EC) (“Ecopetrol” or the “Company”) Reports that on March 14, 2017, rating agency Fitch Ratings improved the outlook for the company's rating from a negative to a stable outlook. At the same time it maintained the local and foreign currency long-term risk rating at BBB.

According to the Fitch Ratings report, the improved outlook for the rating of Ecopetrol S.A. incorporates the improvement to stable of the rating of the Republic of Colombia.

Bogota, March 15, 2017

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This release contains statements that may be considered forward looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the U.S. Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the U.S. Securities Exchange Act of 1934. All forward-looking statements, whether made in this release or in future filings or press releases or orally, address matters that involve risks and uncertainties, including in respect of the Company’s prospects for growth and its ongoing access to capital to fund the Company’s business plan, among others. Consequently, changes in the following factors, among others, could cause actual results to differ materially from those included in the forward-looking statements: market prices of oil & gas, our exploration and production activities, market conditions, applicable regulations, the exchange rate, the Company’s competitiveness and the performance of Colombia’s economy and industry, to mention a few. We do not intend, and do not assume any obligation to update these forward-looking statements.

For further information, please contact:

Head of Corporate Finance and Investor Relations

María Catalina Escobar

Phone: (+571) 234 5190

E-mail: investors@ecopetrol.com.co

Media Relations (Colombia)

Jorge Mauricio Tellez

Phone: + 571-234-4329

e-mail: mauricio.tellez@ecopetrol.com.co