MEWBOURNE ENERGY PARTNERS 08-A LP (CIK 1436942)
Form 10-Q
period 2019-06-30
filed 2019-08-14

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

Securities registered pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Exchange Act: None

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

Yes ☐   No ☒

MEWBOURNE ENERGY PARTNERS 08-A, L.P.

2

MEWBOURNE ENERGY PARTNERS 08-A, L.P.

Part I - Financial Information

Item 1.

Financial Statements

CONDENSED BALANCE SHEETS

	June 30, 2019	December 31, 2018
	(Unaudited)
ASSETS
Cash	$3,439	$3,230
Accounts receivable, affiliate	226,755	379,765
Prepaid state taxes	1,195	897
Total current assets	231,389	383,892

Oil and gas properties at cost, full-cost method	69,896,850	69,889,036
Less accumulated depreciation, depletion, amortization
and cost ceiling write-downs	(64,559,670)	(64,403,172)
	5,337,180	5,485,864

Total assets	$5,568,569	$5,869,756

LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS' CAPITAL

Accounts payable, affiliate	$103,770	$141,825
Total current liabilities	103,770	141,825

Asset retirement obligation	1,647,652	1,608,866
Total liabilities	1,751,422	1,750,691

Partners' capital	3,817,147	4,119,065

Total liabilities and partners' capital	$5,568,569	$5,869,756

The accompanying notes are an integral part of the financial statements.

3

MEWBOURNE ENERGY PARTNERS 08-A, L.P.

CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS

(Unaudited)

	For the		For the
	Three Months Ended		Six Months Ended
	June 30,		June 30,
	2019	2018	2019	2018
Revenues:
Oil sales	$241,103	$337,673	$436,429	$631,306
Gas sales	177,368	438,699	458,700	826,402
Total revenues	418,471	776,372	895,129	1,457,708

Expenses:
Lease operating expense	208,538	204,795	439,705	458,756
Production taxes	20,174	41,163	50,467	79,000
Administrative and general expense	34,954	52,587	73,667	88,388
Depreciation, depletion, and amortization	77,509	109,717	157,254	198,321
Asset retirement obligation accretion	18,834	18,075	37,664	36,150
Total expenses	360,009	426,337	758,757	860,615

Net income	$58,462	$350,035	$136,372	$597,093

The accompanying notes are an integral part of the financial statements.

4

MEWBOURNE ENERGY PARTNERS 08-A, L.P.

CONDENSED STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN PARTNERS’ CAPITAL

For the six months ended June 30, 2019

(Unaudited)

Partners' Capital
Balance at December 31, 2018	$4,119,065

Cash distributions	(438,290)
Net income	136,372

Balance at June 30, 2019	$3,817,147

The accompanying notes are an integral part of the financial statements.

5

MEWBOURNE ENERGY PARTNERS 08-A, L.P.

CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

(Unaudited)

	Six Months Ended
	June 30,
	2019	2018
Cash flows from operating activities:
Net income	$136,372	$597,093
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash
provided by operating activities:
Depreciation, depletion, and amortization	157,254	198,321
Asset retirement obligation accretion	37,664	36,150
Plugging and abandonment cost paid from asset retirement obligation	(756)	—
Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Accounts receivable, affiliate	153,010	(10,959)
Prepaid state taxes	(298)	(520)
Accounts payable, affiliate	(38,055)	82,022
Net cash provided by operating activities	445,191	902,107

Cash flows from investing activities:
Development of oil and gas properties	(6,692)	(121,670)
Net cash used in investing activities	(6,692)	(121,670)

Cash flows from financing activities:
Cash distributions to partners	(438,290)	(789,542)
Net cash used in financing activities	(438,290)	(789,542)

Net increase (decrease) in cash	209	(9,105)
Cash, beginning of period	3,230	15,304
Cash, end of period	$3,439	$6,199

Supplemental Cash Flow Information:
Change to net oil & gas properties related to asset retirement
obligation liabilities	$1,878	$—
Changes to oil and gas property additions included in accounts payable, affiliate	$—	$—

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

	2019	2018
Balance, beginning of period	$1,608,866	$1,571,440
Liabilities incurred	1,122	360
Liabilities reduced due to settlements, plugging and abandonments and trades	—	(34,514)
Accretion expense	37,664	71,580
Balance, end of period	$1,647,652	$1,608,866

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

8

Substantially all the Partnership’s accounts receivable result from oil and natural gas sales to third parties in the oil and natural gas industry. This concentration of customers may impact the Partnership’s overall credit risk in that these entities may be similarly affected by changes in economic and other conditions. Historically, the Partnership has not experienced significant credit losses on such receivables. No bad debt expense was recorded for the six months ended June 30, 2019 or 2018. The Partnership cannot ensure that such losses will not occur in the future.

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

Future capital requirements and operations will be conducted with available funds generated from oil and gas activities. No bank borrowing is anticipated. The Partnership had net working capital of $127,619 at June 30, 2019.

During the six months ended June 30, 2019, the Partnership made cash distributions to the investor partners (including state tax payments for the benefit of investor partners) in the amount of $438,290 as compared to $789,542 for the six months ended June 30, 2018. Since inception, the Partnership has made distributions of $71,943,609, inclusive of state tax payments.

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

11

Results of Operations

For the three months ended June 30, 2019 as compared to the three months ended June 30, 2018:

	Three Months Ended June 30,
	2019	2018
Oil sales	$241,103	$337,673
Barrels produced	4,220	5,410
Average price/bbl	$57.13	$62.42

Gas sales	$177,368	$438,699
Mcf produced	87,770	143,376
Average price/mcf	$2.02	$3.06

Oil and gas revenues. As shown in the above table, total oil and gas sales decreased by $357,901, a 46.1% decline, for the three months ended June 30, 2019 as compared to the three months ended June 30, 2018.

Of this decrease, $28,581 and $148,961 were due to decreases in the average prices of oil and gas sold, respectively. The average prices fell to $57.13 from $62.42 per barrel (bbl) and to $2.02 from $3.06 per thousand cubic feet (mcf) for the three months ended June 30, 2019 as compared to the three months ended June 30, 2018.

Also contributing to the lower revenue were decreases of $67,989 and $112,370 from declines in the volumes of oil and gas sold, respectively, by 1,190 bbls and 55,606 mcf for the three months ended June 30, 2019 as compared to the three months ended June 30, 2018.

Lease operations. Lease operating expense during the three months ended June 30, 2019 increased to $208,538 from $204,795 for the three months ended June 30, 2018 due to more well repairs and workovers.

Production taxes. Production taxes during the three months ended June 30, 2019 decreased to $20,174 from $41,163 for the three months ended June 30, 2018. This was due to lower overall oil and gas revenue for the three months ended June 30, 2019.

Administrative and general expense. Administrative and general expense for the three months ended June 30, 2019 fell to $34,954 from $52,587 for the three months ended June 30, 2018 due to decreased administrative expenses allocable to the Partnership.

Depreciation, depletion and amortization. Depreciation, depletion and amortization for the three months ended June 30, 2019 decreased to $77,509 from $109,717 for the three months ended June 30, 2018 due to the prior period cost ceiling write-downs that reduced the balance of the full cost pool subject to amortization and to the overall decline in production.

12

Results of Operations

For the six months ended June 30, 2019 as compared to the six months ended June 30, 2018:

	Six Months Ended June 30,
	2019	2018
Oil sales	$436,429	$631,306
Barrels produced	8,332	10,239
Average price/bbl	$52.38	$61.66

Gas sales	$458,700	$826,402
Mcf produced	198,388	265,395
Average price/mcf	$2.31	$3.11

Oil and gas revenues. As shown in the above table, total oil and gas sales decreased by $562,579, a 38.6% decline, for the six months ended June 30, 2019 as compared to the six months ended June 30, 2018.

Of this decrease, $94,989 and $212,773 were due to decreases in the average prices of oil and gas sold, respectively. The average prices fell to $52.38 from $61.66 per barrel (bbl) and to $2.31 from $3.11 per thousand cubic feet (mcf) for the six months ended June 30, 2019 as compared to the six months ended June 30, 2018.

Also contributing to the lower revenue were decreases of $99,888 and $154,929 from declines in the volumes of oil and gas sold, respectively, by 1,907 bbls and 67,007 mcf for the six months ended June 30, 2019 as compared to the six months ended June 30, 2018.

Lease operations. Lease operating expense during the six months ended June 30, 2019 decreased to $439,705 from $458,756 for the six months ended June 30, 2018 due to fewer well repairs and workovers.

Production taxes. Production taxes during the six months ended June 30, 2019 decreased to $50,467 from $79,000 for the six months ended June 30, 2018. This was due to lower overall oil and gas revenue for the six months ended June 30, 2019.

Administrative and general expense. Administrative and general expense for the six months ended June 30, 2019 fell to $73,667 from $88,388 for the six months ended June 30, 2018 due to decreased administrative expenses allocable to the Partnership.

Depreciation, depletion and amortization. Depreciation, depletion and amortization for the six months ended June 30, 2019 decreased to $157,254 from $198,321 for the six months ended June 30, 2018 due to the prior period cost ceiling write-downs that reduced the balance of the full cost pool subject to amortization and to the overall decline in production.

13

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

14

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

15

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

16

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

17