EXHIBIT 99.1

June 12, 2023 | VANCOUVER, BC

Sandstorm Gold Royalties ReSPONDS TO INDEX DELETION

Sandstorm Gold Ltd. (“Sandstorm Gold Royalties”, “Sandstorm” or the “Company”) (NYSE:SAND, TSX:SSL) is issuing a clarifying statement in response to the ICE Data Indices, LLC’s (the “Index Manager”) recent rebalancing announcement for the NYSE Arca Gold Miners Index (the “GDM” or the “Index”). On Friday June 9, 2023, the Index Manager announced that Sandstorm would be deleted from the Index effective for the rebalancing period ending June 20, 2023.

Sandstorm has no information on the rationale for the deletion and understands that the Index Manager does not release details on how its assessments are made. Based on the Index Manager’s published Index criteria below, it is unclear to the Company why it would not meet the inclusion requirements, but can provide no assurance if the Index Manager will reconsider their decision and retain the Company to the index.

According to the Index Manager’s index rules, the GDM is a rules-based index and includes constituents that meet the following criteria:

Market Capitalization

Index Manager’s index rules: Companies with market capitalization greater than US$750 million (not adjusted for free float). For companies already in the Index, the market capitalization requirement is US$450 million.

·	As at June 9, 2023 Sandstorm’s market capitalization was US$1.55 billion.

Average Daily Volume

Index Manager’s index rules: Companies with average daily trading volume of at least 50,000 shares over the past three months, or 30,000 shares for companies already included in the Index.

·	During the three months ended March 31, 2023, Sandstorm’s average daily trading volume on the New York Stock Exchange and Toronto Stock Exchange combined was approximately 3 million shares.

Average Daily Traded Value

Index Manager’s index rules: Companies that have an average daily trading volume of at least an average daily traded value of US$1 million over the past three months are eligible, or US$600,000 for companies already included in the Index.

·	During the three months ended March 31, 2023, Sandstorm’s average daily traded value on the New York Stock Exchange and Toronto Stock Exchange combined was approximately US$17 million.

Revenue Mix

Index Manager’s index rules: The index includes companies that derive at least 50% of their revenues from gold mining and related activities. There will be a 10% buffer built in so that companies already existing in the index will only be removed from the index in the next review if their gold mining revenues fall below the 40% level.

The Index maintains exposure to companies with significant revenue exposure to silver in addition to gold, defined as either: (i) companies with revenue from silver that is greater than 50%, or (ii) companies with greater silver revenues than gold revenues with combined gold and silver revenues of at least 50%. The Index Manager will ensure, solely through the company selections in the index rebalances, that the percentage of the index weight that will consist of these “silver-tilted” companies will not exceed 20%.

·	In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2022, 69% of the Company’s royalty revenues and sales came from precious metals, with over 49% deriving from gold. During the three months ended March 31, 2023, gold and silver accounted for 60% of the Company’s royalty revenues and sales, with 43% deriving from gold. Upon closing of the sale of the Antamina royalty to Horizon Copper Corp., the Company expects the percentage of royalty revenues and sales from gold to increase from current levels. Please refer to the Company’s audited consolidated financial as at, and for the year ended, December 31, 2022 and the unaudited condensed consolidated interim financial statements as at March 31, 2023, and for the three months ended March 31, 2023 and the related management’s discussion and analyses for additional financial information.

Contact Information

For more information about Sandstorm Gold Royalties, please visit our website at www.sandstormgold.com or email us at info@sandstormgold.com.

NOLAN WATSON	MARK KLAUSEN
PRESIDENT & CEO	INVESTOR RELATIONS
604 689 0234	604 628 1164

ABOUT SANDSTORM GOLD ROYALTIES

Sandstorm is a precious metals-focused royalty company that provides upfront financing to mining companies and receives the right to a percentage of production from a mine, for the life of the mine. Sandstorm holds a portfolio of 250 royalties, of which 40 of the underlying mines are producing. Sandstorm plans to grow and diversify its low cost production profile through the acquisition of additional gold royalties. For more information visit: www.sandstormgold.com.

CAUTIONARY STATEMENTS TO U.S. SECURITYHOLDERS

The financial information included or incorporated by reference in this press release or the documents referenced herein has been prepared in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards as issued by the International Accounting Standards Board, which differs from US generally accepted accounting principles (“US GAAP”) in certain material respects, and thus are not directly comparable to financial statements prepared in accordance with US GAAP.

This press release and the documents incorporated by reference herein, as applicable, have been prepared in accordance with Canadian standards for the reporting of mineral resource and mineral reserve estimates, which differ from the previous and current standards of the United States securities laws. In particular, and without limiting the generality of the foregoing, the terms “mineral reserve”, “proven mineral reserve”, “probable mineral reserve”, “inferred mineral resources,”, “indicated mineral resources,” “measured mineral resources” and “mineral resources” used or referenced herein and the documents incorporated by reference herein, as applicable, are Canadian mineral disclosure terms as defined in accordance with Canadian National Instrument 43-101 — Standards of Disclosure for Mineral Projects (“NI 43-101”) and the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (the “CIM”) — CIM Definition Standards on Mineral Resources and Mineral Reserves, adopted by the CIM Council, as amended (the “CIM Definition Standards”).

For United States reporting purposes, the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) has adopted amendments to its disclosure rules (the “SEC Modernization Rules”) to modernize the mining property disclosure requirements for issuers whose securities are registered with the SEC under the Exchange Act, which became effective February 25, 2019. The SEC Modernization Rules more closely align the SEC’s disclosure requirements and policies for mining properties with current industry and global regulatory practices and standards, including NI 43-101, and replace the historical property disclosure requirements for mining registrants that were included in SEC Industry Guide 7. Issuers were required to comply with the SEC Modernization Rules in their first fiscal year beginning on or after January 1, 2021. As a foreign private issuer that is eligible to file reports with the SEC pursuant to the multi-jurisdictional disclosure system, the Corporation is not required to provide disclosure on its mineral properties under the SEC Modernization Rules and will continue to provide disclosure under NI 43-101 and the CIM Definition Standards. Accordingly, mineral reserve and mineral resource information contained or incorporated by reference herein may not be comparable to similar information disclosed by United States companies subject to the United States federal securities laws and the rules and regulations thereunder.

As a result of the adoption of the SEC Modernization Rules, the SEC now recognizes estimates of “measured mineral resources”, “indicated mineral resources” and “inferred mineral resources.” In addition, the SEC has amended its definitions of “proven mineral reserves” and “probable mineral reserves” to be “substantially similar” to the corresponding CIM Definition Standards that are required under NI 43-101. While the SEC will now recognize “measured mineral resources”, “indicated mineral resources” and “inferred mineral resources”, U.S. investors should not assume that all or any part of the mineralization in these categories will be converted into a higher category of mineral resources or into mineral reserves without further work and analysis. Mineralization described using these terms has a greater amount of uncertainty as to its existence and feasibility than mineralization that has been characterized as reserves. Accordingly, U.S. investors are cautioned not to assume that all or any measured mineral resources, indicated mineral resources, or inferred mineral resources that the Company reports are or will be economically or legally mineable without further work and analysis. Further, “inferred mineral resources” have a greater amount of uncertainty and as to whether they can be mined legally or economically. Therefore, U.S. investors are also cautioned not to assume that all or any part of inferred mineral resources will be upgraded to a higher category without further work and analysis. Under Canadian securities laws, estimates of “inferred mineral resources” may not form the basis of feasibility or pre-feasibility studies, except in rare cases. While the above terms are “substantially similar” to CIM Definitions, there are differences in the definitions under the SEC Modernization Rules and the CIM Definition Standards. Accordingly, there is no assurance any mineral reserves or mineral resources that the Company may report as “proven mineral reserves”, “probable mineral reserves”, “measured mineral resources”, “indicated mineral resources” and “inferred mineral resources” under NI 43-101 would be the same had the Company prepared the reserve or resource estimates under the standards adopted under the SEC Modernization Rules or under the prior standards of SEC Industry Guide 7.

CAUTIONARY NOTE REGARDING FORWARD-LOOKING INFORMATION

This press release contains "forward-looking statements", within the meaning of the U.S. Securities Act of 1933, the U.S. Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and “forward-looking information” within the meaning of applicable Canadian securities legislation, concerning the business, operations and financial performance and condition of Sandstorm Gold Royalties. Forward-looking statements include but are not limited to the expectation that the Company’s royalty revenues and sales from gold will increase beyond current levels; the future price of gold, silver, copper, iron ore and other metals, the estimation of mineral reserves and resources, realization of mineral reserve estimates, and the timing and amount of estimated future production. Forward-looking statements can generally be identified by the use of forward-looking terminology such as “may”, “will”, “expect”, “intend”, “estimate”, “anticipate”, “believe”, “continue”, “plans”, or similar terminology.

Forward-looking statements are made based upon certain assumptions and other important factors that, if untrue, could cause the actual results, performances or achievements of Sandstorm Gold Royalties to be materially different from future results, performances or achievements expressed or implied by such statements. Such statements and information are based on numerous assumptions regarding present and future business strategies and the environment in which Sandstorm Gold Royalties will operate in the future, including the receipt of all required approvals, the price of gold and copper and anticipated costs. Certain important factors that could cause actual results, performances or achievements to differ materially from those in the forward-looking statements include, amongst others, failure to receive necessary approvals, changes in business plans and strategies, market conditions, share price, best use of available cash, gold and other commodity price volatility, discrepancies between actual and estimated production, mineral reserves and resources and metallurgical recoveries, mining operational and development risks relating to the parties which produce the gold or other commodity the Company will purchase, regulatory restrictions, activities by governmental authorities (including changes in taxation), currency fluctuations, the global economic climate, dilution, share price volatility and competition.

Forward-looking statements are subject to known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other important factors that may cause the actual results, level of activity, performance or achievements of the Company to be materially different from those expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements, including but not limited to: the impact of general business and economic conditions, the absence of control over mining operations from which the Company will purchase gold, other commodities or receive royalties from, and risks related to those mining operations, including risks related to international operations, government and environmental regulation, actual results of current exploration activities, conclusions of economic evaluations and changes in project parameters as plans continue to be refined, risks in the marketability of minerals, fluctuations in the price of gold and other commodities, fluctuation in foreign exchange rates and interest rates, stock market volatility, as well as those factors discussed in the section entitled “Risks to Sandstorm” in the Company’s annual report for the financial year ended December 31, 2022 and the section entitled “Risk Factors” contained in the Company’s annual information form dated March 23, 2023 available at www.sedar.com. Although the Company has attempted to identify important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those contained in forward-looking statements, there may be other factors that cause results not to be as anticipated, estimated or intended. There can be no assurance that such statements will prove to be accurate, as actual results and future events could differ materially from those anticipated in such statements. Accordingly, readers should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements. The Company does not undertake to update any forward-looking statements that are contained or incorporated by reference, except in accordance with applicable securities laws.