                                                                    Exhibit 99.1

President's Report

                                                               December 29, 2008

As a result of inclement weather and the Christmas holidays, operations of our
110 mgpy ethanol facility will begin shortly after the first of the year. The
project itself is essentially complete, including construction of the 6600 foot
steam line extending from MidAmerican Energy to SIRE. We have grain in the
silos, railcar equipment on site, and trained personnel prepared for first
grind.

A significant remaining task is cleaning and testing of the steam line, a
critical process which requires movement of thousands of gallons of steam and
condensate - a challenging task considering the severe temperatures. It is
important to proceed systematically through this start-up to ensure safety for
our workers and reduce the risk of damage to our equipment. We'll give you an
update when operations commence.

Here are a few notes from our CFO, Cindy Patterson, for your year-end tax
planning.

     •    Last year, we had earnings from interest on our equity and primarily
          capital expenses, so our equity holders reflected income on their
          Forms K-1 the tax year 2007.

     •    A number of the tax aspects of our project, including depreciation and
          an Iowa renewable energy tax credit, are triggered by when the project
          becomes operational. Generally, this is not just completion, but
          completed, tested and operating.

     •    Because the plant will not be operational until 2009, and because this
          year we had operating expenses to offset our interest income (which
          declined as our equity was invested in construction), our equity
          holders will have minimal activity reported on the K-1s for the tax
          year 2008.

     •    We anticipate that the K-1's will be mailed out mid-February.

Thanks again for your support throughout the year and please join me in thanking
our employees and our contractors' employees as they work so hard in difficult
weather to complete the plant. As always, please contact me directly at (712)
366-0392 if you have any issues or concerns regarding the project.

Mark Drake

                      SIRE Newsletter - Volume II Issue 8
This newsletter contains forward-looking statements. We undertake no
responsibility to update any forward-looking statement. When used, the words,
"believe," "expect," "will," "can," "estimate," "anticipate" and similar
expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements. Readers should
not place undue reliance on any forward-looking statements and recognize that
the statements are not predictions of actual future results, which could and
likely will differ materially from those anticipated in the forward-looking
statements due to risks and uncertainties, including those described in our
Securities and Exchange Commission filings.