FS Investment Corporation 8-K

Exhibit 99.1

FSIC Reports First Quarter 2016 Financial Results and

Declares Regular Distribution for Second Quarter

PHILADELPHIA, PA, May 9, 2016 – FS Investment Corporation (NYSE: FSIC), a publicly traded business development company focused on providing customized credit solutions to private middle market U.S. companies, announced its operating results for the quarter ended March 31, 2016, and announced that its board of directors has declared its second quarter 2016 regular distribution.

Financial Highlights for the Quarter Ended March 31, 20161

·	Net investment income of $0.21 per share, compared to $0.21 per share for the quarter ended March 31, 2015.
·	Adjusted net investment income of $0.21 per share, compared to $0.23 per share for the quarter ended March 31, 2015.[2]
·	Total net realized loss on investments of $0.06 per share and total net change in unrealized depreciation on investments of $0.20 per share, compared to a total net realized gain on investments of $0.01 per share and a total net change in unrealized appreciation on investments of $0.06 per share for the quarter ended March 31, 2015.
·	Paid cash distributions to stockholders totaling $0.22275 per share.[3]
·	Total purchases of $55.6 million versus $169 million of sales and repayments, resulting in net proceeds of $113.5 million, which were primarily used to reduce borrowings.
·	Net asset value of $8.82 per share, compared to $9.10 per share as of December 31, 2015.

“During the first quarter, our primary focus was on managing through the market volatility and providing additional capital and operational support to our existing portfolio companies,” commented Michael C. Forman, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of FSIC. “By leveraging the capital base of the Franklin Square BDC platform and the resources and credit expertise of GSO / Blackstone, we continue to take advantage of investment opportunities and improve the liquidity of many of our existing portfolio companies.”

Declaration of Regular Distribution for Second Quarter 2016

FSIC’s board of directors has declared a regular cash distribution for the second quarter of $0.22275 per share, which will be paid on or about July 5, 2016, to stockholders of record as of the close of business on June 22, 2016.

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Summary Consolidated Results

	Three Months Ended
(dollars in thousands, except per share data) (all per share amounts are basic and diluted)[1]	March 31, 2016	December 31, 2015	March 31, 2015
Total investment income	$103,063	$114,763	$108,635
Net investment income	49,938	56,151	51,649
Net increase (decrease) in net assets resulting from operations	(12,097)	(78,468)	70,426

Net investment income per share	$0.21	$0.23	$0.21
Adjusted net investment income per share[2]	$0.21	$0.24	$0.23
Total net realized and unrealized gain (loss) on investments per share	$(0.26)	$(0.55)	$0.08
Net increase (decrease) in net assets resulting from operations (Earnings per Share)	$(0.05)	$(0.32)	$0.29
Stockholder distributions per share[3]	$0.22275	$0.22275	$0.22275
Net asset value per share at period end	$8.82	$9.10	$9.90
Weighted average shares outstanding	242,847,016	242,800,333	241,084,292
Shares outstanding, end of period	242,847,016	242,847,016	241,101,342

(dollar amounts in thousands)	As of March 31, 2016	As of March 31, 2015
Total fair value of investments	$3,866,748	$4,161,683
Total assets	3,992,829	4,364,352
Total stockholders’ equity	2,142,738	2,385,712

Portfolio Highlights as of March 31, 2016

·	Total fair value of investments was $3.9 billion.
·	Core investment strategies[4] represented 97% of the portfolio by fair value as of March 31, 2016, including 86% from direct originations and 11% from opportunistic investments. Broadly syndicated/other investments represented the remaining 3% of the portfolio by fair value.
·	Gross portfolio yield prior to leverage (based on amortized cost and excluding non-income producing assets)[5] was 10.4%, unchanged compared to December 31, 2015.
·	Total commitments to direct originations (including unfunded commitments) made during the first quarter of 2016 was $43.6 million in 5 companies, all of which were existing portfolio companies.
·	As of March 31, 2016, approximately 0.3% of investments were on non-accrual based on fair value.[6]

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Total Portfolio Activity

	Three Months Ended
(dollar amounts in thousands)	March 31, 2016	December 31, 2015	March 31, 2015
Purchases	$55,617	$563,346	$191,510
Sales and redemptions	(169,128)	(511,289)	(237,355)
Net portfolio activity	$(113,511)	$52,057	$(45,845)

Portfolio Data	As of March 31, 2016	As of March 31, 2015
Total fair value of investments	$3,866,748	$4,161,683
Number of Portfolio Companies	111	110
Average Annual EBITDA of Portfolio Companies	$114,300	$151,400
Weighted Average Purchase Price of Debt Investments (as a % of par)	98.3%	97.8%
% of Investments on Non-Accrual (based on fair value)[6]	0.3%	0.5%

Asset Class (based on fair value)
Senior Secured Loans — First Lien	54%	53%
Senior Secured Loans — Second Lien	15%	17%
Senior Secured Bonds	5%	8%
Subordinated Debt	12%	11%
Collateralized Securities	2%	3%
Equity/Other	12%	8%

Portfolio Composition by Strategy (based on fair value)[4]
Direct Originations	86%	77%
Opportunistic	11%	18%
Broadly Syndicated/Other	3%	5%

Interest Rate Type (based on fair value)
% Variable Rate	66.2%	68.7%
% Fixed Rate	21.6%	23.1%
% Income Producing Equity/Other Investments	4.2%	3.1%
% Non-Income Producing Equity/Other Investments	8.0%	5.1%

Yields (based on amortized cost)[5]
Gross Portfolio Yield Prior to Leverage	9.6%	10.0%
Gross Portfolio Yield Prior to Leverage— Excluding Non-Income Producing Assets	10.4%	10.5%

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Direct Origination Activity

(dollar amounts in thousands)	Three Months Ended March 31, 2016	Three Months Ended December 31, 2015		Three Months Ended March 31, 2015
Total Commitments (including unfunded commitments)	$43,598	$604,203		$192,643
Exited Investments (including partial paydowns)	(113,615)	(318,719)		(146,077)
Net Direct Originations	$(70,017)	$285,484		$46,566
Direct Originations Portfolio Data		As of March 31, 2016		As of March 31, 2015
Total Fair Value of Direct Originations		$3,340,429		$3,210,225
Number of Portfolio Companies		70		53
Average Annual EBITDA of Portfolio Companies		$65,300		$50,700
Average Leverage Through Tranche of Portfolio Companies — Excluding Equity/Other and Collateralized Securities		5.0	x	4.8	x
% of Investments on Non-Accrual (based on Fair Value)[6]		0.1%		—

New Direct Originations by Asset Class (including unfunded commitments)	Three Months Ended March 31, 2016	Three Months Ended December 31, 2015	Three Months Ended March 31, 2015
Senior Secured Loans — First Lien	20%	60%	89%
Senior Secured Loans — Second Lien	—	6%	10%
Senior Secured Bonds	—	10%	—
Subordinated Debt	26%	12%	0%
Collateralized Securities	—	—	—
Equity/Other	54%	12%	1%
Average New Direct Origination Commitment Amount	$8,720	$37,763	$24,080
Weighted Average Maturity for New Direct Originations	11/23/2025	10/10/2021	12/26/2019
Gross Portfolio Yield Prior to Leverage (based on amortized cost) of New Direct Originations Funded during Period[5]	6.0%	10.6%	10.0%
Gross Portfolio Yield Prior to Leverage (based on amortized cost) of New Direct Originations Funded during Period — Excluding Non-Income Producing Assets[5]	10.9%	12.3%	10.1%
Gross Portfolio Yield Prior to Leverage (based on amortized cost) of Direct Originations Exited during Period[5]	9.0%	9.9%	8.5%

Leverage and Liquidity as of March 31, 2016

·	Debt to equity ratio was 82%, based on $1.76 billion in total debt outstanding and stockholders’ equity of $2.14 billion. FSIC’s weighted average effective interest rate (including the effect of non-usage fees) was 3.98%.
·	Cash of approximately $71.4 million and availability under its financing arrangements of $267.3 million, subject to borrowing base and other limitations.
·	Seventeen unfunded debt investments with aggregate unfunded commitments of $120.8 million, one unfunded equity investment with an unfunded commitment of $384 thousand and one unfunded debtor in possession investment with an unfunded commitment of $275 thousand.

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Conference Call Information

FSIC will host a conference call at 11:00 a.m. (Eastern Time) on Tuesday, May 10, 2016, to discuss its first quarter 2016 results. All interested parties are welcome to participate. You can access the conference call by dialing (877) 443-2408 and using the conference ID 51806955 approximately 10 minutes prior to the call. The conference call will also be webcast, which can be accessed from the Investor Relations section of FSIC’s website at www.fsinvestmentcorp.com under Presentations and Reports.

A replay of the call will be available for a period of 30 days following the call by visiting the Investor Relations section of FSIC’s website at www.fsinvestmentcorp.com under Presentations and Reports.

Supplemental Information

An investor presentation of financial information will be made available prior to the call in the Investor Relations section of FSIC’s website at www.fsinvestmentcorp.com under Presentations and Reports.

About FS Investment Corporation

FS Investment Corporation (NYSE: FSIC) is a publicly traded business development company (“BDC”) focused on providing customized credit solutions to private middle market U.S. companies. FSIC seeks to invest primarily in the senior secured debt and, to a lesser extent, the subordinated debt of private middle market companies to achieve the best risk-adjusted returns for its investors. In connection with its debt investments, FSIC may receive equity interests such as warrants or options.

FSIC is advised by FB Income Advisor, LLC, an affiliate of Franklin Square Capital Partners (“Franklin Square”), and is sub-advised by GSO / Blackstone Debt Funds Management LLC, an affiliate of GSO Capital Partners (“GSO”). GSO, with approximately $78.7 billion in assets under management as of March 31, 2016, is the credit platform of Blackstone, one of the world’s leading managers of alternative investments. For more information, please visit www.fsinvestmentcorp.com.

About Franklin Square

Franklin Square is a leading manager of alternative investment funds designed to enhance investors’ portfolios by providing access to asset classes, strategies and asset managers that typically have been available to only the largest institutional investors. The firm’s funds offer “endowment-style” investment strategies that help construct diversified portfolios and manage risk. Franklin Square strives not only to maximize investment returns but also to set the industry standard for best practices by focusing on transparency, investor protection and education for investment professionals and their clients.

Founded in Philadelphia in 2007, Franklin Square quickly established itself as a leader in the world of alternative investments by introducing innovative credit-based income funds, including the industry’s first non-traded BDC. The firm managed approximately $16.8 billion in assets as of December 31, 2015, and is the largest manager of BDC assets with approximately $15.5 billion in BDC assets as of December 31, 2015. For more information, please visit www.franklinsquare.com.

Forward-Looking Statements and Important Disclosure Notice

This announcement may contain certain forward-looking statements, including statements with regard to future events or the future performance or operations of FSIC. Words such as “believes,” “expects,” “projects,” and “future” or similar expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements. These forward-looking statements are subject to the inherent uncertainties in predicting future results and conditions. Certain factors could cause actual results to differ materially from those projected in these forward-looking statements. Factors that could cause actual results to differ materially include changes in the economy, risks associated with possible disruption in FSIC’s operations or the economy generally due to terrorism or natural disasters, future changes in laws or regulations and conditions in FSIC’s operating area, and the price at which shares of FSIC’s common stock trade on the New York Stock Exchange. Some of these factors are enumerated in the filings FSIC makes with the SEC. FSIC undertakes no obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

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The press release above contains summaries of certain financial and statistical information about FSIC. The information contained in this press release is summary information that is intended to be considered in the context of FSIC’s SEC filings and other public announcements that FSIC may make, by press release or otherwise, from time to time. FSIC undertakes no duty or obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release. In addition, information related to past performance, while helpful as an evaluative tool, is not necessarily indicative of future results, the achievement of which cannot be assured. Investors should not view the past performance of FSIC, or information about the market, as indicative of FSIC’s future results.

Individual investors and endowments may have different investment horizons, liquidity needs and risk tolerances.  In addition, fees that may be incurred by an investor in a fund sponsored by Franklin Square may be different than fees incurred by an endowment investing in similar assets as those in which the funds invest.

Other Information

The information in this press release is summary information only and should be read in conjunction with FSIC’s quarterly report on Form 10-Q for the quarterly period ended March 31, 2016, which FSIC filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) on May 9, 2016, as well as FSIC’s other reports filed with the SEC. A copy of FSIC’s quarterly report on Form 10-Q for the quarterly period ended March 31, 2016, and FSIC’s other reports filed with the SEC can be found on FSIC’s website at www.fsinvestmentcorp.com and the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov.

Certain Information About Distributions

The determination of the tax attributes of FSIC’s distributions is made annually as of the end of its fiscal year based upon its taxable income and distributions paid, in each case, for the full year. Therefore, a determination as to the tax attributes of the distributions made on a quarterly basis may not be representative of the actual tax attributes for a full year. FSIC intends to update stockholders quarterly with an estimated percentage of its distributions that resulted from taxable ordinary income. The actual tax characteristics of distributions to stockholders will be reported to stockholders annually on Form 1099-DIV.

The timing and amount of any future distributions on FSIC’s shares of common stock are subject to applicable legal restrictions and the sole discretion of its board of directors. There can be no assurance as to the amount or timing of any such future distributions.

FSIC may fund its cash distributions to stockholders from any sources of funds legally available to it, including proceeds from the sale of shares of FSIC’s common stock, borrowings, net investment income from operations, capital gains proceeds from the sale of assets, non-capital gains proceeds from the sale of assets and dividends or other distributions paid to it on account of preferred and common equity investments in portfolio companies. FSIC has not established limits on the amount of funds it may use from available sources to make distributions. There can be no assurance that FSIC will be able to pay distributions at a specific rate or at all.

Contact Information:

Investors:

Jim Ballan

Senior Vice President,

Investor Relations and Capital Markets

james.ballan@franklinsquare.com

267-439-4375

Media:

Franklin Square Media Team

media@franklinsquare.com

215-495-1174

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Income Statement

	Three Months Ended
	March 31,
	2016	2015
Investment income
From non-controlled/unaffiliated investments:
Interest income	$99,452	$103,939
Fee income	1,642	4,696
From non-controlled/affiliated investments:
Interest income	967	—
Dividend income	224	—
From controlled/affiliated investments:
Interest income	778	—
Total investment income	103,063	108,635

Operating expenses
Management fees	17,812	19,038
Capital gains incentive fees	—	3,748
Subordinated income incentive fees	12,485	13,905
Administrative services expenses	1,196	991
Accounting and administrative fees	228	276
Interest expense	18,894	17,299
Directors' fees	229	227
Other general and administrative expenses	2,281	1,502
Total operating expenses	53,125	56,986
Net investment income	49,938	51,649

Realized and unrealized gain/loss
Net realized gain (loss) on investments:
Non-controlled/unaffiliated investments	(13,779)	3,285
Net realized gain (loss) on foreign currency	84	110
Net change in unrealized appreciation (depreciation) on investments:
Non-controlled/unaffiliated investments	(54,703)	10,589
Non-controlled/affiliated investments	6,367	1,345
Controlled/affiliated investments	1,633	—
Net change in unrealized gain (loss) on foreign currency	(1,637)	3,448
Total net realized and unrealized gain (loss) on investments	(62,035)	18,777
Net increase (decrease) in net assets resulting from operations	$(12,097)	$70,426
Per share information—basic and diluted
Net increase (decrease) in net assets resulting from operations (Earnings per Share)	$(0.05)	$0.29
Weighted average shares outstanding	242,847,016	241,084,292

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Balance Sheet

	March 31, 2016
	(Unaudited)	December 31, 2015
Assets
Investments, at fair value
Non-controlled/unaffiliated investments (amortized cost—$3,911,138 and $4,027,950, respectively)	$3,648,768	$3,820,283
Non-controlled/affiliated investments (amortized cost—$91,363 and $91,248, respectively)	138,839	132,357
Controlled/affiliated investments (amortized cost—$76,765 and $75,988, respectively)	79,141	76,731
Total investments, at fair value (amortized cost—$4,079,266 and $4,195,186, respectively)	3,866,748	4,029,371
Cash	71,376	80,807
Foreign currency, at fair value (cost—$0 and $1,175, respectively)	—	1,180
Receivable for investments sold and repaid	7,614	66
Interest receivable	45,482	34,600
Deferred financing costs	1,139	1,420
Prepaid expenses and other assets	470	729
Total assets	$3,992,829	$4,148,173
Liabilities
Payable for investments purchased	$2,627	$—
Credit facilities payable	32,728	34,625
Unsecured notes payable (net of deferred financing costs of $1,404 and $1,490, respectively)	988,958	988,274
Repurchase agreement payable	725,000	800,000
Stockholder distributions payable	54,093	54,093
Management fees payable	17,812	18,415
Subordinated income incentive fees payable	12,485	13,374
Administrative services expense payable	978	946
Interest payable	13,696	22,061
Directors' fees payable	230	282
Other accrued expenses and liabilities	1,484	7,175
Total liabilities	1,850,091	1,939,245
Commitments and contingencies	—	—
Stockholders' equity
Preferred stock, $0.001 par value, 50,000,000 shares authorized, none issued and outstanding	—	—
Common stock, $0.001 par value, 450,000,000 shares authorized, 242,847,016 and 242,847,016 shares issued and outstanding, respectively	243	243
Capital in excess of par value	2,264,345	2,264,345
Accumulated undistributed net realized gain/loss on investments and gain/loss on foreign currency	(59,443)	(45,748)
Accumulated undistributed (distributions in excess of) net investment income	143,791	147,946
Net unrealized appreciation (depreciation) on investments and unrealized gain/loss on foreign currency	(206,198)	(157,858)
Total stockholders' equity	2,142,738	2,208,928
Total liabilities and stockholders' equity	$3,992,829	$4,148,173
Net asset value per share of common stock at period end	$8.82	$9.10

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Non-GAAP Financial Measures

This press release contains certain financial measures that have not been prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles in the United States (“GAAP”). FSIC uses these non-GAAP financial measures internally in analyzing financial results and believes that the use of these non-GAAP financial measures is useful to investors as an additional tool to evaluate ongoing results and trends and in comparing FSIC’s financial results with other BDCs.

Non-GAAP financial measures are not meant to be considered in isolation or as a substitute for comparable GAAP financial measures, and should be read only in conjunction with FSIC’s consolidated financial statements prepared in accordance with GAAP. A reconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures to the most directly comparable GAAP measures has been provided in this press release, and investors are encouraged to review the reconciliation.

Reconciliation of Non-GAAP Financial Measures1

	Three Months Ended
	March 31, 2016	December 31, 2015	March 31, 2015
GAAP net investment income per share	$0.21	$0.23	$0.21
Plus capital gains incentive fees per share	—	(0.01)	0.02
Plus excise taxes per share	—	0.02	—
Adjusted net investment income per share[2]	$0.21	$0.24	$0.23

1)	Per share data was derived by using the weighted average shares of FSIC’s common stock outstanding during the applicable period. Per share numbers may not sum due to rounding.

2)	Adjusted net investment income is a non-GAAP financial measure. Adjusted net investment income is presented for all periods as GAAP net investment income excluding (i) the accrual for the capital gains incentive fee for realized and unrealized gains; (ii) excise taxes; and (ii) certain non-recurring operating expenses that are one-time in nature and are not representative of ongoing operating expenses incurred during FSIC's normal course of business (referred to herein as one-time expenses). FSIC uses this non-GAAP financial measure internally in analyzing financial results and believes that the use of this non-GAAP financial measure is useful to investors as an additional tool to evaluate ongoing results and trends and in comparing its financial results with other business development companies. The presentation of this additional information is not meant to be considered in isolation or as a substitute for financial results prepared in accordance with GAAP. A reconciliation of GAAP net investment income to adjusted net investment income can be found above.

3)	The per share data for distributions reflects the amount of distributions paid on April 4, 2016, to stockholders of record as of the close of business on March 23, 2016.

4)	See FSIC’s quarterly report on Form 10-Q for the three months ended March 31, 2016, for a description of FSIC’s investment strategies.

5)	Gross portfolio yield represents the expected annualized yield of FSIC’s investment portfolio based on the composition of the portfolio as of the applicable date.

6)	Interest income is recorded on an accrual basis. See FSIC’s quarterly report on Form 10-Q for the three months ended March 31, 2016 for a description of FSIC’s revenue recognition policy.

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