Enovis Announces Second Quarter 2023 Results and Raises Full-Year Outlook

•Continued strong momentum with second quarter sales growth of 8% and strong EBITDA margin expansion

•Organic growth of 17% in Recon and 4% in P&R

•Reported a second quarter net loss from continuing operations of $0.27 per share with adjusted earnings per diluted share of $0.61

WILMINGTON, DE, August 3, 2023 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE)—Enovis™ Corporation (NYSE: ENOV), an innovation-driven medical technology growth company, today announced its financial results for the second quarter ended June 30, 2023. The Company will host an investor conference call and live webcast to discuss these results today at 8:30 am ET.

Second Quarter 2023 Financial Results

Enovis’ second quarter net sales of $429 million grew 8% from the same quarter a year ago, including 9% organic sales per day growth, and reflecting a 0.7% sales days headwind which was slightly offset by currency and recent acquisitions. Sales in the Reconstructive segment grew 18%, with 17% organic growth, and the Prevention and Recovery segment grew 4%, both organically and as reported.

Enovis also reported a second quarter net loss from continuing operations of $15 million and adjusted EBITDA of $66 million, or 15.3% of sales, an improvement of 110 basis points versus the comparable prior year quarter.

The Company reported a second quarter 2023 net loss from continuing operations of $0.27 per share, and adjusted earnings per share of $0.61.

“We are very pleased with our first half 2023 results of high-single digit growth and strong margin expansion,” said Matt Trerotola, Chief Executive Officer of Enovis. “We continue to make progress on our strategic goals and have robust operating momentum in both of our business segments. As we look to the balance of the year, we will maintain our focus on innovation-driven share gain, operational improvement with EGX, and compounding impact from M&A.”

Second Quarter 2023 Business Highlights

•Strong double-digit Reconstructive growth across anatomies

•Gross margin improved yr/yr for the fourth quarter in a row

•Recognized as One of America’s Greatest Workplaces by Newsweek

2023 Financial Outlook

Enovis updated its financial expectations for 2023. Revenue is expected to organically grow 7-7.5% from the prior year versus prior expectations of 6-7% growth, and adjusted EBITDA is forecasted to be $262-$270 million as compared with the previous outlook of $259-$267 million. The Company also updated its full-year adjusted earnings per diluted share guidance from $2.18-$2.32 to $2.22-$2.36.

Conference call and Webcast

Investors can access the webcast via a link on the Enovis website, www.enovis.com. For those planning to participate on the call, please dial (833) 630-1956 (U.S. callers) or +1 (412) 317-1873 (International callers) and ask to join the Enovis call. A link to a replay of the call will also be available on the Enovis website later in the day.

ABOUT ENOVIS

Enovis Corporation (NYSE: ENOV) is an innovation-driven medical technology growth company dedicated to developing clinically differentiated solutions that generate measurably better patient outcomes and transform workflows. Powered by a culture of continuous improvement, global talent and innovation, the Company’s extensive range of products, services and integrated technologies fuels active lifestyles in orthopedics and beyond. The Company’s shares of common stock are listed in the United States on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol ENOV. For more information about Enovis, please visit www.enovis.com.

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release includes forward-looking statements, including forward-looking statements within the meaning of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, statements concerning Enovis’ plans, goals, objectives, outlook, expectations and intentions, and other statements that are not historical or current fact. Forward-looking statements are based on Enovis’ current expectations and involve risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those expressed or implied in such forward-looking statements. Factors that could cause Enovis’ results to differ materially from current expectations include, but are not limited to, risks related to the impact of the COVID-19 global pandemic; the war in Ukraine and escalating geopolitical tensions as a result of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine; macroeconomic conditions, including the impact of increasing inflationary pressures; supply chain disruptions; increasing energy costs and availability concerns, particularly in the European market; the impacts of the completed spin-off of ESAB Corporation into an independent publicly traded company (the “Separation”); the potential to incur significant liability if the Separation is determined to be a taxable transaction; the ability to realize the anticipated benefits of the Separation; the financial and operating performance of the Company following the Separation; other impacts on Enovis’ business and ability to execute business continuity plans; and the other factors detailed in Enovis’ reports filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”), including its most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K and subsequent Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q under the caption “Risk Factors,” as well as the other risks discussed in Enovis’ filings with the SEC. In addition, these statements are based on assumptions that are subject to change. This press release speaks only as of the date hereof. Enovis disclaims any duty to update the information herein.

Non-GAAP Financial Measures

Enovis has provided in this press release financial information that has not been prepared in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (“non-GAAP”). These non-GAAP financial measures may include one or more of the following: adjusted net income from continuing operations, adjusted net income per diluted share from continuing operations, adjusted EBITDA (earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization), adjusted EBITDA margin and organic sales growth.

Adjusted net income from continuing operations and Adjusted net income per diluted share from continuing operations excludes restructuring and other charges, European Union Medical Device Regulation (“MDR”) and other costs, amortization of acquired intangibles, inventory step up costs, strategic transaction costs, debt extinguishment costs, insurance settlement gain, gains and losses on the Company’s investments, stock compensation costs, and other income/expense. Adjusted net income adjusts interest expense for periods prior to 2023 to reflect pro forma interest from the Company’s term loan facility under the Company’s current capital structure after giving effect to the completing of the refinancing transactions in connection with the Separation, and it includes the tax effect of adjusted pre-tax income at applicable tax rates and other tax adjustments. Enovis also presents adjusted net income margin from continuing operations, which is subject to the same adjustments as adjusted net income from continuing operations.

Adjusted EBITDA represents net income or loss from continuing operations excluding taxes, depreciation and amortization, stock-based compensation costs and restructuring and other charges, MDR and other costs, strategic transaction costs, insurance settlement (gain) loss, and inventory step up costs. Enovis presents adjusted EBITDA margin, which is subject to the same adjustments as adjusted EBITDA.

Organic sales growth excludes the impact of acquisitions and foreign exchange rate fluctuations.

These non-GAAP financial measures assist Enovis management in comparing its operating performance over time because certain items may obscure underlying business trends and make comparisons of long-term performance difficult, as they are of a nature and/or size that occur with inconsistent frequency or relate to discrete restructuring plans that are fundamentally different from the ongoing productivity improvements of the Company. Enovis management also believes that presenting these measures allows investors to view its performance using the same measures that the Company uses in evaluating its financial and business performance and trends. Non-GAAP financial measures should not be considered in isolation from, or as a substitute for, financial information calculated in accordance with GAAP. Investors are encouraged to review the reconciliation of these non-GAAP measures to their most directly comparable GAAP financial measures. A reconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures presented above to GAAP results has been provided in the financial tables included in this press release. Enovis does not provide reconciliations of adjusted EBITDA or adjusted earnings per share on a forward-looking basis to the closest GAAP financial measures, as such information is not available without unreasonable efforts on a forward-looking basis due to uncertainties regarding, and the potential variability of, reconciling items excluded from these measures. These items are uncertain, depend on various factors, and could have a material impact on GAAP reported results for the guidance period.

Derek Leckow
Vice President, Investor Relations
Enovis Corporation
+1-302-421-1971
investorrelations@enovis.com

Enovis Corporation
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations
Dollars in thousands, except per share data
(Unaudited)

	Three Months Ended		Six Months Ended
	June 30, 2023	July 1, 2022	June 30, 2023	July 1, 2022

Net sales	$428,502	$395,117	$834,653	$770,574
Cost of sales	180,143	179,211	351,229	348,768
Gross profit	248,359	215,906	483,424	421,806
Gross profit margin	58.0%	54.6%	57.9%	54.7%
Selling, general and administrative expense	207,881	193,657	415,046	382,137
Research and development expense	18,918	15,661	37,111	30,503
Amortization of acquired intangibles	32,249	31,824	64,289	62,610
Insurance settlement gain	—	(33,034)	—	(33,034)
Restructuring and other charges	3,805	2,245	6,440	4,664
Operating income (loss)	(14,494)	5,553	(39,462)	(25,074)
Operating income (loss) margin	(3.4)%	1.4%	(4.7)%	(3.3)%
Interest expense, net	4,076	4,546	9,728	11,610
Debt extinguishment charges	—	20,104	—	20,104
Unrealized gain on investment in ESAB Corporation	—	(135,537)	—	(135,537)
Other expense, net	753	—	92	—
Income (loss) from continuing operations before income taxes	(19,323)	116,440	(49,282)	78,749
Income tax benefit	(4,713)	(4,211)	(11,826)	(3,847)
Net income (loss) from continuing operations	(14,610)	120,651	(37,456)	82,596
Income (loss) from discontinued operations, net of taxes	4,797	(43,666)	4,485	10,690
Net income (loss)	(9,813)	76,985	(32,971)	93,286
Less: net income attributable to noncontrolling interest from continuing operations - net of taxes	182	130	374	397
Less: net income attributable to noncontrolling interest from discontinued operations - net of taxes	—	—	—	966
Net income (loss) attributable to Enovis Corporation	$(9,995)	$76,855	$(33,345)	$91,923
Net income (loss) per share - basic
Continuing operations	$(0.27)	$2.23	$(0.70)	$1.52
Discontinued operations	$0.09	$(0.81)	$0.08	$0.18
Consolidated operations	$(0.18)	$1.42	$(0.61)	$1.70
Net income (loss) per share - diluted
Continuing operations	$(0.27)	$2.21	$(0.70)	$1.51
Discontinued operations	$0.09	$(0.80)	$0.08	$0.18
Consolidated operations	$(0.18)	$1.41	$(0.61)	$1.69

Enovis Corporation
Reconciliation of GAAP to non-GAAP Financial Measures
Change in Sales
Dollars in millions
(Unaudited)

	Net Sales
	Prevention and Recovery		Reconstructive		Total Enovis
	$	Change %	$	Change %	$	Change %

For the three months ended July 1, 2022	$263.8		$131.3		$395.1
Components of Change:
Existing businesses(1)	9.6	3.6%	21.8	16.6%	31.4	7.9%
Acquisitions(2)	—	—%	0.9	0.7%	0.9	0.2%
Foreign currency translation(3)	0.1	—%	1.0	0.8%	1.1	0.3%
	9.7	3.7%	23.7	18.1%	33.4	8.4%
For the three months ended June 30, 2023	$273.5		$155.0		$428.5

	Net Sales
	Prevention and Recovery		Reconstructive		Total Enovis
	$	Change %	$	Change %	$	Change %

For the six months ended July 1, 2022	$508.6		$262.0		$770.6
Components of Change:
Existing businesses(1)	19.7	3.9%	46.9	17.9%	66.6	8.6%
Acquisitions(2)	—	—%	2.1	0.8%	2.1	0.3%
Foreign currency translation(3)	(4.1)	(0.8)%	(0.4)	(0.2)%	(4.5)	(0.6)%
	15.6	3.1%	48.4	18.5%	64.1	8.3%
For the six months ended June 30, 2023	$524.2		$310.4		$834.7
(1) Excludes the impact of foreign exchange rate fluctuations and acquisitions, thus providing a measure of growth due to factors such as price, product mix and volume.
(2) Represents the incremental sales as a result of acquisitions closed subsequent to the beginning of the prior year period.
(3) Represents the difference between prior year sales valued at the actual prior year foreign exchange rates and prior year sales valued at current year foreign exchange rates.

Enovis Corporation
Reconciliation of GAAP to Non-GAAP Financial Measures
Dollars in millions, except per share data
(Unaudited)

	Three Months Ended		Six Months Ended
	June 30, 2023	July 1, 2022	June 30, 2023	July 1, 2022
Adjusted Net Income and Adjusted Net Income Per Share
Net income (loss) from continuing operations attributable to Enovis Corporation(1) (GAAP)	$(14.8)	$120.5	$(37.8)	$82.2
Restructuring and other charges - pretax(2)	3.8	2.6	6.7	5.5
MDR and other costs - pretax(3)	9.0	4.4	16.8	7.0
Amortization of acquired intangibles - pretax	32.2	31.8	64.3	62.6
Inventory step-up - pretax	—	4.9	0.1	10.0
Strategic transaction costs - pretax(4)	5.4	12.7	17.1	24.4
Debt extinguishment charges - pretax	—	20.1	—	20.1
Pro forma interest expense adjustment(5)	—	3.3	—	9.5
Insurance settlement gain(6)	—	(33.0)	—	(33.0)
Unrealized gain on investment in ESAB Corporation	—	(135.5)	—	(135.5)
Stock-based compensation	8.9	7.8	15.8	14.5
Other expense, net	0.8	—	0.1	—
Tax adjustment(6)	(12.0)	(7.4)	(25.5)	(14.9)
Adjusted net income from continuing operations (non-GAAP)	$33.4	$32.2	$57.5	$52.5
Adjusted net income margin from continuing operations	7.8%	8.2%	6.9%	6.8%
Weighted-average shares outstanding - diluted (in thousands)	54,934	54,522	54,885	54,459
Adjusted net income per share - diluted from continuing operations (non-GAAP)	$0.61	$0.59	$1.05	$0.96
Net loss per share - diluted from continuing operations (GAAP)	$(0.27)	$2.21	$(0.70)	$1.51
__________
(1) Net loss from continuing operations attributable to Enovis Corporation for the respective periods is calculated using Net loss from continuing operations less the continuing operations component of the income attributable to noncontrolling interest, net of taxes, of $0.2 million and $0.4 million for the three and six months ended June 30, 2023, respectively, and $0.1 million and $0.4 million for the three and six months ended July 1, 2022, respectively.
(2) Restructuring and other charges includes $— million and $0.3 million of expense classified as Cost of sales on our Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations for the three and six months ended June 30, 2023, respectively, and $0.3 million and $0.8 million for the three and six months ended July 1, 2022, respectively
(3) Primarily related to costs specific to compliance with medical device reporting regulations and other requirements of the European Union MDR. These costs are classified as Selling, general and administrative expense on our Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations.
(4) Strategic transaction costs includes costs related to the Separation and certain transaction and integration costs related to recent acquisitions.
(5) Adjusts interest expense in 2022 to reflect pro forma interest from the Company’s term loan facility after giving effect to the completion of the refinancing transactions in connection with the Separation.
(6) The effective tax rates used to calculate adjusted net income and adjusted net income per share were 17.8% and 19.1% for the three and six months ended June 30, 2023, respectively, and 8.9% and 17.1% for the three and six months ended July 1, 2022, respectively.

Enovis Corporation
Reconciliation of GAAP to Non-GAAP Financial Measures
Dollars in millions
(Unaudited)

	Three Months Ended		Six Months Ended
	June 30, 2023	July 1, 2022	June 30, 2023	July 1, 2022
	(Dollars in millions)
Net income (loss) from continuing operations (GAAP)	$(14.6)	$120.7	$(37.5)	$82.6
Income tax benefit	(4.7)	(4.2)	(11.8)	(3.8)
Other expense, net	0.8	—	0.1	—
Gain on investment in ESAB Corporation	—	(135.5)	—	(135.5)
Debt extinguishment charges	—	20.1	—	20.1
Interest expense, net	4.1	4.5	9.7	11.6
Operating income (loss) (GAAP)	(14.5)	5.6	(39.5)	(25.1)
Adjusted to add:
Restructuring and other charges(1)	3.8	2.6	6.7	5.5
MDR and other costs(2)	9.0	4.4	16.8	7.0
Strategic transaction costs(3)	5.4	12.7	17.1	24.4
Stock-based compensation	8.9	7.8	15.8	14.5
Depreciation and other amortization	20.8	19.5	40.7	38.0
Amortization of acquired intangibles	32.2	31.8	64.3	62.6
Insurance settlement gain	—	(33.0)	—	(33.0)
Inventory step-up	—	4.9	0.1	10.0
Adjusted EBITDA (non-GAAP)	$65.7	$56.2	$122.1	$103.9
Adjusted EBITDA margin (non-GAAP)	15.3%	14.2%	14.6%	13.5%
__________
(1) Restructuring and other charges includes $— million and $0.3 million of expense classified as Cost of sales on our Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations for the three and six months ended June 30, 2023, respectively. Restructuring and other charges includes $0.3 million and $0.8 million of expense classified as Cost of sales on our Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations for the three and six months ended July 1, 2022.
(2) Primarily related to costs specific to compliance with medical device reporting regulations and other requirements of the European Union MDR. These costs are classified as Selling, general and administrative expense on our Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations.
(3) Strategic transaction costs includes costs related to the Separation and certain transaction and integration costs related to recent acquisitions.

Enovis Corporation
Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets
Dollars in thousands, except share amounts
(Unaudited)

	June 30, 2023	December 31, 2022
ASSETS
CURRENT ASSETS:
Cash and cash equivalents	$32,491	$24,295
Trade receivables, less allowance for credit losses of $8,158 and $7,965	298,976	267,380
Inventories, net	453,897	426,643
Prepaid expenses	26,758	28,550
Other current assets	75,117	48,155
Total current assets	887,239	795,023
Property, plant and equipment, net	260,754	236,741
Goodwill	2,034,087	1,983,588
Intangible assets, net	1,110,950	1,110,727
Lease asset - right of use	61,739	66,881
Other assets	88,784	80,288
Total assets	$4,443,553	$4,273,248

LIABILITIES AND EQUITY
CURRENT LIABILITIES:
Current portion of long-term debt	$—	$219,279
Accounts payable	147,180	135,628
Accrued liabilities	206,493	210,292
Total current liabilities	353,673	565,199
Long-term debt, less current portion	400,000	40,000
Non-current lease liability	47,567	51,259
Other liabilities	191,553	166,989
Total liabilities	992,793	823,447
Equity:
Common stock, $0.001 par value; 133,333,333 shares authorized; 54,534,111 and 54,228,619 shares issued and outstanding as of June 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively	55	54
Additional paid-in capital	2,944,094	2,925,729
Retained earnings	542,387	575,732
Accumulated other comprehensive loss	(37,898)	(53,430)
Total Enovis Corporation equity	3,448,638	3,448,085
Noncontrolling interest	2,122	1,716
Total equity	3,450,760	3,449,801
Total liabilities and equity	$4,443,553	$4,273,248

Enovis Corporation
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
Dollars in thousands
(Unaudited)

	Six Months Ended
	June 30, 2023	July 1, 2022

Cash flows from operating activities:
Net income (loss)	$(32,971)	$93,286
Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to net cash provided by (used in) operating activities:
Depreciation, amortization and other impairment charges	105,033	117,300
Stock-based compensation expense	16,981	19,793
Non-cash interest expense	1,481	1,658
Unrealized gain on investment in ESAB Corporation	—	(135,537)
Debt extinguishment charges	—	20,104
Deferred income tax expense (benefit)	(107)	2,174
Loss on sale of property, plant and equipment	533	352
Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Trade receivables, net	(25,912)	(33,123)
Inventories, net	(10,476)	(92,910)
Accounts payable	8,324	15,919
Other operating assets and liabilities	(27,326)	(48,329)
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities	35,560	(39,313)
Cash flows from investing activities:
Purchases of property, plant and equipment and intangibles	(67,248)	(47,796)
Proceeds from sale of property, plant and equipment	—	2,746
Acquisitions, net of cash received, and investments	(98,740)	(35,123)
Net cash used in investing activities	(165,988)	(80,173)
Cash flows from financing activities:
Payments under term credit facility	(219,468)	(785,000)
Proceeds from borrowings on revolving credit facilities and other	370,000	450,000
Repayments of borrowings on revolving credit facilities and other	(11,538)	(607,618)
Repayments of borrowings on Euro senior notes	—	(386,278)
Repayments of borrowings on Senior notes	—	(300,000)
Distribution from ESAB Corporation, net	—	1,143,369
Proceeds from issuance of common stock, net	1,385	1,727
Payment of debt extinguishment costs	—	(12,704)
Deferred consideration payments and other	(1,668)	(9,795)
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities	138,711	(506,299)
Effect of foreign exchange rates on Cash and cash equivalents	(87)	2,020
Increase (decrease) in Cash and cash equivalents	8,196	(623,765)
Cash and cash equivalents, beginning of period	24,295	719,370
Cash and cash equivalents, end of period	$32,491	$95,605