Exhibit 99.1

INVESTOR RELATIONS:
John Merriwether, 866-248-3872
InvestorRelations@amctheatres.com

MEDIA CONTACTS:
Ryan Noonan, (913) 213-2183
rnoonan@amctheatres.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

AMC Entertainment Holdings, Inc. Announces $1.4 Billion Private Placement of USD and GBP Senior Subordinated Notes and Term Loans

New Financing in Connection with Anticipated Completion of the Acquisition

of Odeon & UCI Cinemas Holdings Limited and Carmike Cinemas, Inc.

LEAWOOD, KANSAS - (October 20, 2016) — AMC Entertainment Holdings, Inc. (“AMC” or “the Company”) today announced that it intends to offer, subject to market and other conditions, approximately $900 million aggregate principal amount of dollar-denominated Senior Subordinated Notes due 2026 and sterling-denominated Senior Subordinated Notes (together, the “Notes”) due 2024 through a private offering exempt from the registration requirements of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the “Securities Act”).  The Company also intends to offer approximately $500 million principal amount dollar-denominated “B” term loans due 2023 via a new “B” incremental term loan tranche under its existing credit agreement (the “New Term Loans”).

The net proceeds from the Notes offering, together with the borrowings under the New Term Loans, cash on hand and other sources are intended to be used to fund the acquisitions of Odeon & UCI Cinemas Holdings Limited (“Odeon & UCI”) and Carmike Cinemas, Inc. (“Carmike”) (NASDAQ: CKEC), repay certain outstanding debt of Odeon & UCI and fund related transaction fees and expenses.

This press release does not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy any of the Notes or any other securities, nor will there be any sale of the Notes or any other securities in any state or other jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such state or other jurisdiction.

The Notes and related subsidiary guarantees will be offered and sold in reliance on an exemption from the registration requirements provided by Rule 144A under the Securities Act to qualified institutional buyers and to investors who are non-US persons outside the United States pursuant to Regulation S under the Securities Act. None of the Notes and such guarantees have been registered under the Securities Act or the securities laws of any state or other jurisdiction, and the Notes and such guarantees may not be offered or sold in the United States absent registration or an

applicable exemption from the registration requirements of the Securities Act and the securities laws of any applicable state or other jurisdiction.

About AMC Entertainment Holdings, Inc.

AMC (NYSE:AMC) is the guest experience leader with 386 locations and 5,334 screens located primarily in the United States. AMC has propelled innovation in the theatrical exhibition industry and continues today by delivering more comfort and convenience, enhanced food & beverage, greater engagement and loyalty, premium sight & sound, and targeted programming. AMC operates the most productive theatres in the country’s top markets, including No. 1 market share in the top three markets (NY, LA, Chicago). www.amctheatres.com.

Website Information

This press release, along with other news about AMC, is available at www.amctheatres.com.  We routinely post information that may be important to investors in the Investor Relations section of our website, www.investor.amctheatres.com. We use this website as a means of disclosing material, non-public information and for complying with our disclosure obligations under Regulation FD, and we encourage investors to consult that section of our website regularly for important information about AMC. The information contained on, or that may be accessed through, our website is not incorporated by reference into, and is not a part of, this document. Investors interested in automatically receiving news and information when posted to our website can also visit www.investor.amctheatres.com to sign up for E-mail Alerts.

Important Additional Information Regarding the Merger

This communication may be deemed to be solicitation material in respect of the proposed merger of Carmike Cinemas, Inc. (“Carmike”) with and into a wholly-owned subsidiary of AMC Entertainment Holdings, Inc. (“AMC”). In connection with the proposed merger, a Registration Statement on Form S-4 (the “Registration Statement”) has been filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) containing a prospectus with respect to the AMC Class A common stock to be issued in the proposed merger and a proxy statement of Carmike in connection with the proposed merger (the “Proxy Statement/Prospectus”).  The proxy statement of Carmike contained in the Proxy Statement/Prospectus replaces the definitive proxy statement which Carmike previously filed with the SEC on May 23, 2016 and mailed to its stockholders on or about May 25, 2016.  Each of AMC and Carmike intends to file other documents with the SEC regarding the proposed merger.  The definitive Proxy Statement/Prospectus was mailed to stockholders of Carmike on or about October 13, 2016 and contains important information about the proposed merger and related matters.

BEFORE MAKING ANY INVESTMENT OR VOTING DECISION, CARMIKE’S STOCKHOLDERS ARE URGED TO READ CAREFULLY THE DEFINITIVE PROXY STATEMENT/PROSPECTUS IN ITS ENTIRETY (INCLUDING ANY AMENDMENTS OR SUPPLEMENTS THERETO) AND ANY OTHER RELEVANT DOCUMENTS THAT AMC OR CARMIKE HAS FILED OR MAY FILE WITH THE SEC IN CONNECTION WITH THE PROPOSED MERGER, OR WHICH ARE INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE IN THE DEFINITIVE PROXY STATEMENT/PROSPECTUS, BECAUSE THEY CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE PROPOSED MERGER.

Carmike’s stockholders may obtain, free of charge, copies of the definitive Proxy Statement/Prospectus and Registration Statement and other relevant documents filed by AMC and Carmike with the SEC, at the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov. In addition, Carmike’s stockholders may obtain free copies of the Proxy

Statement/Prospectus and other relevant documents filed by Carmike with the SEC from Carmike’s website at http://www.carmikeinvestors.com/.

This communication does not constitute an offer to buy or exchange, or the solicitation of an offer to sell or exchange, any securities, nor shall there be any sale of securities in any jurisdiction in which such offer, sale or exchange would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such jurisdiction.  This communication is not a substitute for any prospectus, proxy statement or any other document that AMC or Carmike may file with the SEC in connection with the proposed merger.

Participants in the Solicitation

This communication does not constitute a solicitation of a proxy from any stockholder with respect to the proposed merger. However, each of AMC, Carmike and their respective directors and executive officers may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies from Carmike’s stockholders with respect to the proposed merger. More detailed information regarding the identity of these potential participants, and any direct or indirect interests they may have in the proposed merger, by security holdings or otherwise, is set forth in the Proxy Statement/Prospectus.  Additional information concerning AMC’s directors and executive officers is set forth in the definitive proxy statement filed by AMC with the SEC on March 15, 2016 and in the Annual Report on Form 10-K filed by AMC with the SEC on March 8, 2016.  These documents are available to Carmike stockholders free of charge from the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov and from the investor relations section of AMC’s website at amctheatres.com.  Additional information concerning Carmike’s directors and executive officers and their ownership of Carmike common stock is set forth in the proxy statement for Carmike’s most recent annual meeting of stockholders, which was filed with the SEC on April 15, 2016 and in the Annual Report on Form 10-K filed by Carmike with the SEC on February 29, 2016.  These documents are available to Carmike stockholders free of charge from the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov and from Carmike’s website at http://www.carmikeinvestors.com/.

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release includes “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking statements may be identified by the use of words such as “forecast,” “plan,” “estimate,” “will,” “would,” “project,” “maintain,” “intend,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “strategy,” “future,” “likely,” “may,” “should,” “believe,” “continue,” and other similar expressions that predict or indicate future events or trends or that are not statements of historical matters. Similarly, statements made herein and elsewhere regarding the pending acquisitions of Odeon & UCI and Carmike Cinemas (collectively “the targets”) and the anticipated financing of the pending acquisitions are also forward-looking statements, including statements regarding the anticipated closing date of the acquisitions, the source and structure of financing, management’s statements about effect of the acquisitions on AMC’s future business,  operations and financial performance and AMC’s ability to successfully integrate the targets into its operations. These forward-looking statements are based on information available at the time the statements are made and/or managements’ good faith belief as of that time with respect to future events,  and are subject to risks, trends, uncertainties and other facts that could cause actual performance or results to differ materially from those expressed in or suggested by the forward-looking statements. These risks, trends, uncertainties and facts include, but are not limited to, risks related to: the parties’ ability to satisfy closing conditions in the anticipated time frame or at all; obtaining regulatory approval, including the risk that any approval may be on terms, or subject to conditions, that are not anticipated; obtaining the Carmike stockholders approval for the Carmike transaction; the possibility that these acquisitions do not close, including in circumstances in which AMC would be obligated to pay a termination fee or other damages or expenses; related to financing these transactions, including AMC’s ability to finance the transactions on acceptable terms and to consummate the financings described herein; responses of activist stockholders to the transactions; AMC’s ability to realize expected benefits and synergies from the acquisitions; AMC’s effective implementation, and customer acceptance, of its marketing

strategies; disruption from the proposed transactions making it more difficult to maintain relationships with customers, employees or suppliers; the diversion of management time on transaction-related issues; the negative effects of this announcement or the consummation of the proposed acquisitions on the market price of AMC’s common stock; unexpected costs, charges or expenses relating to the acquisitions; unknown liabilities; litigation and/or regulatory actions related to the proposed transactions; AMC’s significant indebtedness, including the indebtedness incurred to acquire the targets; execution risks related to the integration of Starplex Cinemas into our business; our ability to achieve expected synergies and performance from our acquisition of Starplex Cinemas; AMC’s ability to utilize net operating loss carry-forwards to reduce future tax liability; increased competition in the geographic areas in which we operate and from alternative film-delivery methods and other forms of entertainment; continued effectiveness of AMC’s strategic Initiatives; the impact of shorter theatrical exclusive release windows; our ability to attract and retain senior executives and other key personnel; the impact of governmental regulation, including anti-trust investigations concerning potentially anticompetitive conduct, including film clearances and participation in certain joint ventures; unexpected delays and costs related to our optimization of our theatre circuit; failure, unavailability or security breaches of our information systems; operating a business in markets AMC is unfamiliar with; the United Kingdom’s exit from the European Union; and other business effects, including the effects of industry, market, economic, political or regulatory conditions, future exchange or interest rates, changes in tax laws, regulations, rates and policies; and risks, trends, uncertainties and other facts discussed in the reports AMC has filed with the SEC. Should one or more of these risks, trends, uncertainties or facts materialize, or should underlying assumptions prove incorrect, actual results may vary materially from those indicated or anticipated by the forward-looking statements contained herein. Accordingly, you are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date they are made.

Forward-looking statements should not be read as a guarantee of future performance or results, and will not necessarily be accurate indications of the times at, or by, which such performance or results will be achieved. For a detailed discussion of risks, trends and uncertainties facing AMC, see the section entitled “Risk Factors” in AMC’s Annual Report on Form 10-K, filed with the SEC on March 8, 2016, and the risks, trends and uncertainties identified in their other public filings. AMC does not intend, and undertakes no duty, to update any information contained herein to reflect future events or circumstances, except as required by applicable law.