Exhibit 99.1

DANVERS BANCORP, INC.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Date:	May 24, 2010

Contacts:	Kevin T. Bottomley	L. Mark Panella
	President and CEO	Chief Financial Officer

Phone:	(978) 739-0263	(978) 739-0217
Email:	kevin.bottomley@danversbank.com	mark.panella@danversbank.com

Danvers Bancorp, Inc. Adopts Stock Repurchase Program

DANVERS, MASSACHUSETTS: Danvers Bancorp, Inc. (the “Company”) (NASDAQ: DNBK), the holding company for Danversbank, today announced that its Board of Directors has adopted a stock repurchase program to purchase up to five percent (5%) of the Company’s outstanding common stock.

Repurchases under this program will be made in open market transactions, through block trades, and pursuant to any trading plan that may be adopted in accordance with Rule 10b5-1 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (the “Exchange Act”).  This authority may be exercised from time to time and in such amounts as market conditions warrant and subject to regulatory considerations.  The timing and actual number of shares repurchased will depend on a variety of factors including price, corporate and regulatory requirements, trading plans adopted by the Company, market conditions, and other corporate liquidity requirements and priorities.  Open market purchases will be subject to the limitations set forth in Rule 10b-18 of the Exchange Act and other applicable legal requirements.  The stock repurchase program may be suspended or terminated at any time without prior notice.

Company Profile

Danvers Bancorp, Inc., the holding company for Danversbank, is headquartered in Danvers, Massachusetts.  The Company has grown to $2.5 billion in assets through acquisitions and internal growth, including de novo branching.  We conduct business from our main office located at One Conant Street, Danvers, Massachusetts, and our 25 other branch offices located in Andover, Beverly, Boston, Cambridge, Chelsea, Danvers, Hamilton, Malden, Manchester, Middleton, Peabody, Reading, Revere, Salem, Saugus, Topsfield, Waltham, Wilmington and Woburn, Massachusetts.  Our business consists primarily of making loans to our customers, including C&I loans, commercial real estate loans, owner-occupied residential mortgages and consumer loans and investing in a variety of investment securities.  We fund these lending and investment activities with deposits from our customers, funds generated from operations and selected borrowings. We also provide wealth management and trust services, treasury management, debit and credit card products and online banking services.  Additional information about the Company and its subsidiaries is available at www.danversbank.com.

Forward Looking Statements

Certain statements herein constitute “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995.  These statements are based on the beliefs and expectations of management, as well as the assumptions made using information currently available to management.  Since these statements reflect the views of management concerning future events, these statements involve risks, uncertainties and assumptions.  As a result, actual results may differ from those contemplated by these statements.  Forward-looking statements can be identified by the fact that they do not relate strictly to historical or current facts.  They often include words like “believe,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” and “intend” or future or conditional verbs such as “will,” “would,” “should,” “could,” or “may.”  Certain factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from expected results include changes in the interest rate environment, changes in general economic conditions, legislative and regulatory changes and

the risk factors described in the Company’s December 31, 2009 Form 10-K, issued March 16, 2010, as updated by our Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q, that adversely affect the business in which Danvers Bancorp, Inc. is engaged and changes in the securities market.  Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date of this release and the associated conference call.  The Company disclaims any intent or obligation to update any forward-looking statements, whether in response to new information, future events or otherwise.