Exhibit 99.1

GreenHunter Resources Announces

Intent To Form Master Limited Partnership

GRAPEVINE, TEXAS, July 22, 2014—GreenHunter Resources, Inc. (NYSE MKT: GRH and GRH.PRC), a diversified water resource, waste management, environmental services, and hydrocarbon marketing company specializing in the unconventional oil and natural gas shale resource plays, announced today that it has filed with the Internal Revenue Service a request for a ruling that income derived by a newly formed Limited Partnership (“MLP”) for the handling of fluid storage, treatment and disposal services, frac tank rental, water monitoring services, and environmental remediation services that constitute a part of the exploration, developmental, mining, processing, refining, and transportation of natural resources will in fact constitute “Qualified Income” under certain sections of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended.

Substantial growth experienced over the last couple of years that has caused GreenHunter Resources to quickly become the leader in Total Water Management Solutions™ in the Appalachian region, as well as the anticipated future growth from the various projects planned by the Company over the next three years, management and the board have determined that utilizing a MLP structure will be the most cost efficient way to fund our future capital needs.

About GreenHunter Resources, Inc.

GreenHunter Resources, Inc., through its wholly-owned subsidiaries, GreenHunter Water, LLC, GreenHunter Environmental Solutions, LLC, and GreenHunter Hydrocarbons, LLC, provides Total Water Management Solutions™/Oilfield Fluid Management Solutions™ in the oilfield and its shale plays of the Appalachian Basin. GreenHunter Water continues to expand its services package by increasing down-hole injection capacity with Class II salt water disposal wells and facilities, with the launch of next-generation modular above-ground frac water storage tanks (MAG Tank™), and with advanced water hauling – including a growing fleet of DOT rated 407 trucks, for hauling condensates and water with the presence of condensates. GreenHunter Water has also spearheaded the movement to barge brine water, as barging is the safest and most cost-effective mode of transport.

GreenHunter Environmental Solutions, LLC offers onsite environmental solutions at the well pad and facilities, with a service package that includes tank and rig cleaning, liquid and solid waste removal/remediation, solidification, and spill response. An understanding that an interconnected suite of services is key to E&P waste stream management shapes GreenHunter Resources’ comprehensive end-to-end approach to services.

GreenHunter Hydrocarbons, LLC offers transportation of hydrocarbons (oil, condensate, and NGLs) and will soon offer storage, processing, and marketing of hydrocarbons (oil, condensate, and NGLs) in the Appalachian region. Leveraging off of our existing asset base and infrastructure, which includes up to six different barge terminal locations, presently owned or leased by GreenHunter Resources.

For a visual animation of the Class II Salt Water Disposal well development and completion technique that is being utilized in GreenHunter Water’s Appalachia SWD program, navigate to the video by clicking on “Salt Water Disposal Animation” button on the Operations tab at GreenHunterEnergy.com or click here.

Additional information about GreenHunter Water may be found at www.GreenHunterWater.com

Forward-Looking Statements

Any statements in this press release about future expectations and prospects for GreenHunter Resources and its business and other statements containing the words "believes," "anticipates," "plans," "expects," "will" and similar expressions constitute forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Actual results may differ materially from those indicated by such forward-looking statements as a result of various important factors, including the substantial capital expenditures required to fund its operations, the ability of the Company to implement its business plan, government regulation and competition. GreenHunter Resources undertakes no obligation to update these forward-looking statements in the future.

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For Further Information Contact:

GreenHunter Resources, Inc.

Melissa Pagen

Assistant Vice President- Investor Relations

1048 Texan Trail

Grapevine, TX 76051

Tel: (972) 410-1044

Mobile: (310) 628-2062

mpagen@greenhunterwater.com