MEMO
TO:            DIRECTORS AND OTHER SECTION 16 REPORTERS

FROM:          Darren Crossett, Corporate Secretary

CC:
DATE:          March 31, 2009

RE:            Important Notice Concerning Limitations on
               Trading in Beacon Federal Bancorp, Inc. Equity Securities

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1.   As you may know,  a  "blackout  period"  will be  imposed  under the Beacon
     Federal ("Beacon") Employee Stock Ownership Plan (the "ESOP"). This blackout period, described in more detail below, is necessary in order for participants' accounts in the ESOP to be transferred from SBERA to BPA-Harbridge in connection with the change of the ESOP's recordkeeper. Under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 and SEC Regulation BTR, the executive officers and directors of Beacon will generally be prohibited from engaging in transactions involving Beacon equity securities (including options and other derivatives based on Beacon stock) during this blackout period.

2. As a result of the recordkeeper change from SBERA to BPA-Harbridge, during the blackout period participants in the ESOP will be temporarily unable to take distributions from the ESOP.

3. The blackout period for the ESOP is expected to begin on April 30, 2009, and end on or before May 31, 2009, provided, however, that the blackout period may be extended due to events that are beyond the control of Beacon. We will notify you of any changes that affect the dates of the blackout period. In addition, you can confirm the status of the blackout period by contacting Darren Crossett at dtcrossett@beaconfederal.com or (315) 433-0111, ext 1528.

4. Generally, during the blackout period, you are prohibited from directly or indirectly, purchasing, selling or otherwise transferring any equity security of Beacon that you acquired in connection with your service as an executive officer or director. "Equity securities" are defined broadly to include options and other derivatives. Covered transactions are not limited
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     to those  involving your direct  ownership,  but include any transaction in
     which you have a pecuniary interest.

5. The prohibition covers securities acquired "in connection with service as a director or executive officer." This includes, among other things, securities acquired under a compensatory plan or contract (such as under a stock option, or a restricted stock grant), as a direct or indirect inducement to employment or joining the Board of Directors, in transactions between the individual and the company, and as director qualifying shares. Securities acquired outside of an individual's service as a director or executive officer (such as shares acquired when the person was an employee but not yet an executive officer) are not covered. However, if you hold both covered shares and non-covered shares, any shares that you sell will be presumed to come first from the covered shares unless you can identify the source of the sold shares and show that you use the same identification for all related purposes (such as tax reporting and disclosure requirements).

6. The following are examples of transactions that you may not engage in during the blackout period:

          >>   Exercising  stock options  granted to you in connection with your
               service as a director or executive officer;

          >>   Selling Beacon stock that you acquired by exercising options;

          >>   Selling Beacon stock that you originally received as a restricted
               stock grant.

7.   There are certain exemptions, including:

          >>   Purchases or sales under 10b5-1(c)  trading plans (so long as you
               do not make or modify your election during the blackout period or
               at a time when you are aware of the actual or  approximate  dates
               of the blackout);

          >>   Bona fide  gifts,  bequests  and  transfers  pursuant to domestic
               relations orders.

8. If you engage in a transaction that violates these rules, you can be required to disgorge your profits from the transaction, and you are subject to civil and criminal penalties.

The rules summarized above are complex, and the criminal and civil penalties that could be imposed upon executive officers and directors who violate them could be severe.

We therefore request that you contact Darren Crossett before engaging in any transaction involving Beacon stock or derivatives based on Beacon stock during the blackout period, or if you believe that any such transaction in which you have a pecuniary interest may occur during the blackout period.