Exhibit 99.1

PRESS RELEASE
SOURCE: Neptune Technologies & Bioressources Inc.

Neptune Launches Patent Infringement Litigation against Aker Biomarine ASA, Enzymotec Ltd., and Others

Laval, Quebec, October 6, 2011 - Neptune Technologies and Bioressources Inc. (Nasdaq: NEPT; TSX: NTB), announced it has filed complaints in the U.S. District Court for the District of Delaware alleging infringement of its recently issued patent.

The action was filed by Neptune for infringement of its recently issued omega-3 composition patent against Aker Biomarine ASA, Aker Biomarine Antarctic USA, Inc., and Schiff Nutritional International. Neptune has launched a separate infringement action against Enzymotec Limited., Enzymotec USA, Inc., Mercola.com Health Resources, LLC and Azantis, Inc.

This US patent is robust and Neptune will move aggressively to enforce its intellectual rights in relation to our competition,” stated President & CEO Henri Harland. He added that, “a significant amount of money has been invested by shareholders to develop Neptune’s intellectual property and we will protect the company’s assets. Neptune is the pioneer of this field and intends to justly maintain its leadership.”

Neptune’s recently issued US patent (U.S. No. 8,030,348) covers, novel omega-3 fatty acid phospholipid compositions suitable for human consumption, synthetic and/or natural, including compositions extracted from marine and aquatic biomasses. The 8,030,348 patent protects Neptune Krill Oil™ (NKO®) and also covers amongst others, oils and powders extracted from krill, containing marine phospholipids bonded to EPA and/or DHA, distributed and/or sold in the U.S. market.

About Neptune Technologies & Bioressources Inc.

Neptune is an industry-recognized leader in the innovation, production and formulation of science-based and clinically proven novel phospholipid products for the nutraceutical and pharmaceutical markets. The Company focuses on growing consumer health markets including cardiovascular, inflammatory and neurological diseases driven by consumers taking a more proactive approach to managing health and preventing disease. The Company sponsors clinical trials aimed to demonstrate its product health benefits and to obtain regulatory approval for label health claims. Neptune is continuously expanding its intellectual property portfolio as well as clinical studies and regulatory approvals. Neptune’s products are marketed and distributed in over 20 countries worldwide.

About Acasti Pharma Inc.

Acasti Pharma (TSXV: APO) is developing a product portfolio of proprietary novel long-chain omega-3 phospholipids. Phospholipids are the major component of cell membranes and are essential for all vital cell processes. They are one of the principal constituents of High Density Lipoprotein (good cholesterol) and, as such, play an important role in modulating cholesterol efflux. Acasti Pharma’s proprietary novel phospholipids carry and functionalize the polyunsaturated omega-3 fatty acids EPA and DHA, which have been shown to have substantial health benefits and which are stabilized by astaxanthin, a potent antioxidant. Acasti Pharma is focusing initially on treatments for chronic cardiovascular and cardiometabolic conditions within the over-the-counter, medical food and prescription drug markets.

About NeuroBioPharm Inc.

NeuroBioPharm is pursuing pharmaceutical neurological applications, and a clinical study for a medical food product with a multinational partner is already initiated. The development of a prescription drug candidate is currently in progress. Advanced clinical development and commercialization is planned to be carried out with multinational partners.

"Neither Nasdaq nor the TSX Venture Exchange nor its Regulation Services Provider (as that term is defined in the policies of the TSX Venture Exchange) accepts responsibility for the adequacy or accuracy of this release."

Neptune Contact:
Neptune Technologies & Bioressources Inc.
André Godin, CFO
+1.450.687.2262
a.godin@neptunebiotech.com
www.neptunebiotech.com

CEOcast Contact:	Howard Group Contact:
Dan Schustack	Dave Burwell
+1 212-732-4300	(888) 221-0915
dschustack@ceocast.com	dave@howardgroupinc.com
www.ceocast.com	www.howardgroupinc.com

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Statements in this press release that are not statements of historical or current fact constitute "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and Canadian securities laws. Such forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties, and other unknown factors that could cause the actual results of the Company to be materially different from historical results or from any future results expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. In addition to statements which explicitly describe such risks and uncertainties, readers are urged to consider statements labeled with the terms "believes," "belief," "expects," "intends," "anticipates," "will," or "plans" to be uncertain and forward-looking. The forward-looking statements contained herein are also subject generally to other risks and uncertainties that are described from time to time in the Company's reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission and the Canadian securities commissions.