ABAKAN, INC (CIK 1400000)
Form 10-Q
period 2012-08-31
filed 2012-10-15

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

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a large accelerated filer, an accelerated filer, a non-

accelerated filer, or a smaller reporting company as defined by Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act:

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

only class of voting stock), at October 12, 2012, was 61,672,945.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PART I – FINANCIAL  INFORMATION

Item 1.     Financial Statements ...................................................................................................................... 3

Condensed  Consolidated Balance Sheets for the period ended August 31, 2012

(Unaudited) and  May 31, 2012 ........................................................................................................ 4

Unaudited Condensed  Consolidated Statements of Operations for the three months

ended  August 31, 2012 and 2011, and cumulative amounts from development stage

activities (June 27, 2006 (Inception) through August 31, 2012)........................................................... 5

Unaudited Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows for the three months

ended  August 31, 2012 and 2011, and cumulative amounts from development stage

activities (June 27, 2006 (inception) through August 31, 2012).............................................................6

Condensed Notes to  Consolidated Financial Statements (Unaudited)...................................................8

Item 2.     Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of

PART II – OTHER INFORMATION

PART I – FINANCIAL  INFORMATION

ITEM 1.

FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

As used herein, the terms “Abakan”, “we,” “our,” and “us” refer to Abakan Inc., a Nevada corporation,

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

to be expected for the full year.

ABAKAN, INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

August 31,

May 31,

2012

2012

(unaudited)

ASSETS

Current assets

Cash and cash equivalents

$

608,818     $

859,566

Accounts receivable

163,928

22,854

Note receivable - related parties

4,076

4,500

Prepaid expenses (Note 7)

133,161

183,134

Total current assets

909,983

1,070,054

Non-current assets

Property, plant and equipment, net (Note 4)

3,281,645

3,021,088

Patents and licenses, net (Note 5)

7,733,564

7,776,315

Assignment agreement - MesoCoat (Note 6)

240,134

250,000

Investment - Powdermet (Note 8)

2,751,364

2,710,189

Goodwill

364,384

364,384

Total Assets

$

15,281,074     $

15,192,030

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY

Current liabilities

Accounts payable

$

616,383     $

425,868

Accounts payable - related parties (Note 12)

99,360

80,773

Capital leases - current portion

39,808

42,999

Loans payable, net of discounts of $323,819  (Note 9)

2,638,712

2,465,165

Accrued interest - loans payable (Note 9)

221,045

183,106

Loan payable- related parties (Note 12)

60,000

-

Accrued liabilities

401,632

310,997

Total current liabilities

4,076,940

3,508,908

Non-current liabilities

Loans payable, net of discounts of $554,290  (Note 9)

1,087,830

1,146,277

Capital leases - non-current portion

66,113

72,176

Total liabilities

5,230,883

4,727,361

Commitments and contingencies (Note 14)

Stockholders' equity (Note 10)

Preferred stock, $0.0001 par value, 50,000,000 shares

authorized, none issued and outstanding

-

-

Common stock, par value $0.0001, 2,500,000,000 shares

61,822,945 issued and outstanding – August 31, 2012,

61,465,445 issued and outstanding - May 31, 2012

6,183

6,147

Paid-in capital

14,430,650

13,321,527

Contributed capital

5,050

5,050

Accumulated deficit during the development stage

(7,729,748)

(6,322,365)

6,712,135

7,010,359

Non-controlling interest

3,338,056

3,454,310

Total stockholders' equity

10,050,191

10,464,669

Total liabilities and stockholders' equity

$

15,281,074     $

15,192,030

SEE ACCOMPANYING NOTES TO THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.

ABAKAN, INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

UNAUDITED CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS

Cumulative amounts

from  development

stage activities

For the three months ended

June 27, 2006

August 31,

(Inception) to

2012

2011

August 31, 2012

Revenue

Commercial

$

19,300     $

6,177     $

96,691

Contract  and grants

547,327

298,114

2,646,081

Other income

268,756

44,097

1,033,635

835,383

348,388

3,776,407

Cost of Revenues

336,774

170,084

1,385,972

Gross profit

498,609

178,304

2,390,435

Expenses

General and administrative

General and administrative

161,687

106,205

1,056,954

Professional fees

120,304

74,761

690,105

Professional fees - related parties

15,000

15,000

180,000

Consulting

363,932

225,372

2,068,227

Consulting  - related parties

99,427

76,577

1,339,407

Payroll and  benefits expense

182,976

137,607

1,181,281

Depreciation and amortization

85,500

82,059

417,584

Research and development

293,608

133,248

1,030,924

Impairment  of asset

-

-

180,000

Stock expense on note conversion

-

-

490,977

Stock options expense

459,784

338,517

3,048,568

Total expenses

1,782,218

1,189,346

11,684,027

Loss from operations

(1,283,609)

(1,011,042)

(9,293,592)

Other (expense)  income

Interest expense:

Interest - loans

(103,768)

(35,580)

(429,513)

Interest - related parties

-

-

(6,560)

Liquidated damages

-

-

(250,000)

Amortization of discount  on debt

(181,128)

(123,535)

(793,992)

Total interest  expense

(284,896)

(159,115)

(1,480,065)

Interest income

3,693

147

8,064

Loss on debt  settlement

-

-

(5,257)

Gain on debt  settlement

-

-

257,252

Gain on sale of assets

-

-

429,717

Unrealized gain on MesoCoat  acquisition

-

1,764,345

1,764,345

Equity in Powdermet  income

41,175

46,049

1,101,364

Equity in MesoCoat loss

-

(44,408)

(586,020)

Total Other (expense)  income

(240,028)

1,607,018

1,489,400

Net (loss) before non-controlling  interest

(1,523,637)

595,977

(7,804,192)

Non-controlling  interest  in MesoCoat Loss

116,254

53,892

74,444

Net (loss) attributable to  Abakan Inc.

(1,407,383)

649,868

(7,729,748)

Provision for income taxes

-

-

-

Net (loss)

$

(1,407,383)     $

649,868     $

(7,729,748)

Net (loss) per share - basic

$

(0.02)     $

0.01

Net (loss) per share - diluted

$

(0.02)     $

0.01

Weighted average  number of common

shares outstanding  - basic

61,615,065

59,330,468

Weighted average  number of common

shares outstanding  - diluted

61,615,065

67,485,701

SEE ACCOMPANYING NOTES TO THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.

ABAKAN, INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

UNAUDITED CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

Cumulative

amounts  from

development stage

activities

For the three  months ended

June 27, 2006

August 31,

(Inception) to

2012

2011

August 31, 2012

CASH FLOWS FROM DEVELOPMENT STAGE ACTIVITIES

Net profit/ (loss) before non-controlling interest

$

(1,523,637)     $

595,977     $

(7,804,192)

Adjustments to reconcile net (loss) to net

cash provided by (used in) development stage activities:

Depreciation and amortization

85,500

82,059

417,584

Amortization of discount on debt

181,128

123,535

793,992

Amortization of deferred financing fees

-

292

-

Stock options expense

459,784

338,517

3,048,568

Stock expense from note conversion

-

-

490,977

Stock issued for services

124,375

76,000

805,026

Equity in investee loss

-

44,408

514,365

Equity in investee profit

(41,175)

(46,049)

(1,029,707)

Unrealized gain on MesoCoat acquisition

-

(1,764,345)

(1,764,345)

Gain on sale of capital asset

-

-

(429,717)

Changes  in operating assets and liabilities:

Accounts receivable

(141,074)

44,839

7,529

Notes receivable -  related parties

-

-

(4,500)

Prepaid  expenses

49,973

10,023

(147,314)

Prepaid  expenses - related parties

424

1,485

14,576

Accounts payable

190,508

45,793

830,066

Accounts payable - related parties

18,587

37,554

182,091

Accrued interest - related parties

-

-

2,664

Accrued interest - loans payable

38,000

35,525

197,404

Accrued liabilities

90,635

39,865

268,826

Waste to Energy Group Inc.

-

-

180,000

Total adjustments

1,056,665

(930,500)

4,378,085

NET CASH (USED IN) DEVELOPMENT STAGE ACTIVITIES

(466,972)

(334,524)

(3,426,107)

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES

Purchase of property, plant, equipment and website

(282,082)

(288,993)

(1,388,956)

Proceeds from sale of capital assets

-

-

470,000

MesoCoat - minority interest, net of  cash assumed in business  combination

-

307,650

(2,390,266)

Investment  in MesoCoat

-

-

(750,070)

Powdermet  - minority interest

-

-

(1,650,000)

Assignment agreement - MesoCoat

-

-

(100,000)

Capitalized patents and licenses

(11,358)

(2,195)

(109,543)

Waste to Energy Group Inc.

-

-

(180,000)

NET CASH PROVIDED BY/ (USED) IN INVESTING ACTIVITIES

(293,440)

16,462

(6,098,835)

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES

Proceeds from sale of common stock

525,000

245,465

6,456,841

Proceeds from loans payable

71,000

846,665

3,922,287

Payments on loans payable

(137,028)

-

(512,679)

Proceeds from loans payable - related parties

66,200

-

145,880

Payments on loans payable - related parties

(6,253)

-

14,810

Repayments of capital leases

(9,255)

(3,387)

(63,894)

Stock Issuable

-

-

165,465

Proceeds from capital  contributed

-

-

5,050

NET CASH PROVIDED BY  FINANCING ACTIVITIES

509,664

1,088,744

10,133,760

NET INCREASE (DECREASE)  IN CASH AND CASH

EQUIVALENTS

(250,748)

770,682

608,818

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, BEGINNING OF PERIOD

859,566

-

-

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, END OF PERIOD

$

608,818     $

770,682     $

608,818

SEE ACCOMPANING NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

ABAKAN, INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

UNAUDITED CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

Cumulative

amounts  from

development stage

activities

For the three months ended

June 27, 2006

August 31,

(Inception) to

2012

2011

August 31, 2012

Supplemental Disclosures:

Cash paid for income taxes

$

-     $

-     $

-

Cash paid for interest

$

-     $

-     $

964

Supplemental Non-cash Disclosures:

Notes and accounts payable converted to stock

Accounts payable - related parties

$

-     $

-     $

(205,971)

Loans payable

-

-

(650,169)

Accrued interest

-

-

(4,331)

Notes payable - related parties

-

-

(99,515)

Accrued interest - related parties

-

-

(9,724)

Common stock

-

-

974,460

Subscription payable

-

-

(3,000)

Subscription receivable

-

-

(1,750)

$

-     $

-     $

-

Stock issued for assignment agreement - MesoCoat

Assignment agreement - MesoCoat

$

-     $

-     $

(150,000)

Common stock

-

-

150,000

$

-     $

-     $

-

Capital lease equipment acquired

Property, plant and equipment

$

-     $

-     $

126,907

Capital lease payable

-

-

(126,907)

$

-     $

-     $

-

Non-cash write off of balances

Accounts payable - related parties

$

-     $

-     $

52,030

Loans payable

-

-

(156)

Accrued interest

-

-

(553)

Notes payable - related parties

-

-

(52,260)

Accrued interest - related parties

-

-

(811)

Subscription receivable

-

-

1,750

$

-     $

-     $

-

Beneficial  conversion valuation

Additional paid-in capital

$

-     $

505,873     $

1,241,449

Discount on convertible debts

-

(505,873)

(1,241,449)

$

-     $

-     $

-

Controlling interest purchase - Mesocoat

Accounts receivable

$

-     $

171,457     $

171,457

Property and equipment, net

-

1,899,598

1,899,598

Deferred financing fees

-

3,607

-

Patents and licenses, net

-

2,170,391

7,938,206

Total assets

-

4,245,053

10,009,261

Accounts payable

-

(268,398)

(268,398)

Capital leases

-

(42,906)

(42,907)

Loans Payable and accrued interest

-

(2,415,469)

(2,233,474)

Other accrued liabilities

-

(65,545)

(65,545)

Total liabilities

-

(2,792,318)

(2,610,324)

Net assets

-

1,452,735

7,398,937

Non-controlling interest equity

-

(1,468,023)

(3,412,500)

Goodwill

-

4,335,646

364,384

Investment  in Mesocoat

-

(1,849,665)

(1,849,665)

MesoCoat net assets received

$

-     $

2,470,694     $

2,501,156

SEE ACCOMPANYING  NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

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

Unless the context indicates otherwise, all references herein to  “Abakan”, “we,” “us,” and “our” refer to

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

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 1 – BUSINESS - continued

On July 27, 2012, Abakan formed a wholly owned subsidiary company named, AMP Distributors, Inc.

(“AMP  FL”), a Florida corporation. AMP Distributors was formed to distribute MesoCoat products to

consumer markets.

Abakan’s plan of operation is to acquire interests in early stage companies. Since those firms are typically

pre-commercialization, it is anticipated that each firm Abakan decides to acquire will need successive

rounds of financing to fund research & development, lengthy qualification periods, sales and marketing

efforts. However, this may not necessarily be the case if Abakan acquires a new technology company

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

results of its operations and cash flows for the three months ended August 31, 2012, have been made.

Operating results for the three months ended August 31, 2012 are not necessarily indicative of the results

that may be expected for the year ended May 31, 2013.

These condensed consolidated financial statements should be read in conjunction with the financial

statements and notes for the year ended May 31, 2012, thereto contained in Abakan’s Form 10-K.

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 2 – SUMMARY OF SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES - continued

Consolidation Policy

The accompanying August 31, 2012 financial statements include Abakan’s accounts and the accounts of its

subsidiaries. All significant intercompany transactions and balances have been eliminated in consolidation.

Abakan’s ownership of its subsidiaries as of August 31, 2012 is as follows:

Name of Subsidiary

Percentage of Ownership

AMP Distributors (Cayman)

100%

AMP Distributors (Florida)

100%

MesoCoat, Inc.

51%

Earnings (Loss) Per Common Share

Abakan computes net loss per share in accordance with FASB ASC 260-10, "Earnings per Share". FASB

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

potentially dilutive common shares outstanding are stock options and warrants from inception (Note 11).

Non-Controlling Interest

Non-controlling interest represents the minority members’ proportionate share of the equity of MesoCoat,

Inc.   Abakan’s controlling interest in MesoCoat requires that its operations be included in the

consolidated financial statements.  The equity interest of MesoCoat that is not owned by Abakan is shown

as non-controlling interest in the consolidated financial statements.

Development Stage Enterprise

At August 31, 2012, Abakan’s business operations had not fully developed and it is highly dependent

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

Notes Receivable

Notes receivable are stated at face value, plus any accrued interest earned. Abakan analyzes each note

receivable each period for probability of collectability. Notes are considered in default when payments

have not been received within the agreed upon terms, and are written off when management determines

that collection is not probable. As of August 31, 2012 management has determined that no occurrence of

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

research and development costs were $293,608 and $133,248 for the three months ended August 31, 2012 and

2011, respectively.

Advertising Expenses

Advertising costs are expensed as incurred. Advertising expenses are included in general and

administrative expense in the accompanying statement of operations. Total advertising expenses were

$1,125 and none for the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011, respectively.

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

period such changes are enacted.

Subsequent Events

In accordance with ASC 855-10 “Subsequent Events”, Abakan has evaluated subsequent events and

transactions for potential recognition or disclosure in the financial statements through the date the

financial statements were issued (Note 17).

NOTE 3 – GOING CONCERN

The accompanying financial statements have been prepared assuming that Abakan will continue as a

going concern.  Abakan has net losses for the period of June 27, 2006 (inception) to the period ended

August 31, 2012, of $7,729,748, and a working capital deficit of $3,166,957.  These conditions raise

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

August 31, 2012

May 31, 2012

Machinery and equipment

$

643,726

$

427,641

Construction in progress

2,681,354

2,617,196

Computer equipment and office furniture

37,208

35,369

Leasehold improvements

53,818

53,818

3,416,106

3,134,024

Less accumulated depreciation and amortization

(134,461)

(112,936)

$

3,281,645

$

3,021,088

Depreciation and amortization expense was $21,525 and $7,098 for the three months ended  August 31,

2012 and 2011, respectively.

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE  5  -  PATENTS  AND LICENSES

Patents and licenses consist of the following:

August 31, 2012

May 31, 2012

Patents

$

76,967    $

72,991

Website

21,000

21,000

Intellectual Property Research and Development

6,120,200

6,120,200

Licenses

1,850,582

1,843,200

8,068,749

8,057,391

Less accumulated amortization

(335,185)

(281,076)

$

7,733,564    $

7,776,315

Amortization expense was $54,109 and $74,961 for the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011,

respectively.  In the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011, we have capitalized an additional

$11,358 and $2,195, respectively, on patents and licenses, and have begun amortizing those according to our

policy.

Future amortization patents and licenses are presented in the table below:

For the years ended May 31,

2013

$

234,289

2014

288,398

2015

288,398

2016

288,398

2017 and beyond

502,523

$   1,602,006

Patent license agreement

Abakan has an exclusive commercial patent license agreement with a third party which requires it to

invest in the research and development of technology and the market for products by committing to a

certain level of personnel hours and $350,000 of expenditures.

The patent license agreement required a total of $50,000 in execution fees which are included in

intangible assets. The patent license agreements requires royalty payments equal to 2.5% of net sales of

the product sold by Abakan beginning after the first commercial sale. For the first calendar year after the

achievement of a certain milestone and the following two calendar years during the term of the

agreement, Abakan will pay a minimum annual royalty payment of $10,000, $15,000 and $20,000

respectively.

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 6 – ASSIGNMENT AGREEMENT – MESOCOAT

On March 25, 2011, Abakan entered into an assignment agreement (the Agreement) whereby it would

assume the exclusive rights to distribute MesoCoat’s products intended for applications specific to the oil

and gas pipeline industry in consideration of $250,000.  The Agreement was entered into with a company

who entered into an exclusive distribution agreement with MesoCoat dated October 10, 2008 which was

in effect for 10 years following the original date of the exclusive distribution agreement.  On May 31,

2011, Abakan completed the transfer of consideration and assumed all rights to the agreement.  We have

commenced amortization over the remaining term of 76 months, and have recorded $9,866 in

amortization expense as of August 31, 2012.

NOTE 7 – PREPAID EXPENSES

Prepaid expenses consisted of the following at August 31, 2012:

Name

Description

Amount

Better Investing

Prepayment retainer for services

$

3,000

IPFS Corporation

Prepayment  for insurance

6,052

Optiminera SA

Prepayment retainer for services

51,000

Financial Insights

Prepayment retainer for services

6,000

Crystal Research Associates

Prepayment retainer for services

26,042

Hall, Lamb, & Hall

Prepayment retainer for legal fees

29,572

Deposits

Prepayment retainer for services

11,495

Total

$

133,161

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

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 8 – INVESTMENT IN NON-CONTROLLING INTEREST

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

The terms and conditions of the stock purchase agreement required Abakan to pay an initial payment of

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

as a member of Abakan’s board of directors. Through Abakan’s purchase of 41% of Powdermet, we also

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

Equity in profit for period of March 21

through May 31, 2011

71,656

Investment balance, May 31, 2011

$   1,721,656

Equity in profit for year ended May 31, 2012

988,533

Investment balance, May 31, 2012

$   2,710,189

Equity in profit for three months ended August 31, 2012

41,175

Investment balance, August 31, 2012

$   2,751,364

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 8 – INVESTMENT IN NON-CONTROLLING INTEREST – continued

Powdermet’s ownership in MesoCoat was diluted when Abakan exercised its initial option to purchase

86,156 shares of common stock from MesoCoat. Powdermet’s ownership in MesoCoat as of August 31,

2012 is 47.50%.

Below is a table with summary financial results of operations and financial position of Powdermet:

Powdermet Inc.

For the three months

For the three months

ended

ended

August 31, 2012

August 31, 2011

Equity Percentage

41%

41%

Condensed income statement information:

Total revenues

$

685,432     $

580,664

Total cost of revenues

280,499

216,847

Gross margin

404,933

363,817

Total expenses

304,507

251,502

Net profit

$

100,426     $

112,315

Abakan’s equity in net profit

$

41,175     $

46,049

Condensed balance sheet information:

August 31, 2012

May 31, 2012

Total current assets

$

677,283     $

578,725

Total non-current assets

4,991,443

4,234,600

Total assets

$

5,668,726     $

4,813,325

Total current liabilities

$

327,483     $

395,614

Total non-current liabilities

2,928,476

2,105,370

Total equity

2,412,767

2,312,341

Total liabilities and equity

$

5,668,726     $

4,813,325

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 9 – LOANS PAYABLE

As of August 31, 2012 and May 31, 2012, the loans payable balance comprised of:

Description

August 31,

May 31,

2012

2012

Convertible demand note to an unrelated entity bearing  5% interest per annum which  matures on April

$

424,795    $

400,231

13, 2013. The note is shown net  of a discount of $75,205 and $99,769, respectively, attributable to the

beneficial  conversion feature, and an  effective interest rate of 30.19%.

Convertible demand note to an unrelated entity bearing  5% interest per annum which  matures on

1,292,900

1,214,917

March 17, 2013. The note is shown net of a discount of $207,100 and $285,083, respectively,

attributable to the beneficial conversion feature, and an effective interest rate of 31.19%.

Convertible demand note to an unrelated entity bearing  5% interest per annum which  matures on June

55,189

38,531

7, 2013. The note is shown net of a discount of $144,811 and $161,469, respectively, attributable to the

beneficial  conversion feature, and an  effective interest rate of 175.84%.

Convertible demand note to an unrelated entity bearing  5% interest per annum which  matures on July

113,628

70,671

14, 2013. The note is shown net  of a discount of $386,372 and $429,329, respectively, attributable to

the beneficial conversion feature, and an effective interest rate of 142.77%.

Uncollateralized demand note to an unrelated  entity bearing 8% interest per annum

70,000

70,000

Uncollateralized demand note to an unrelated  entity bearing 8% interest per annum

3,850

3,850

Uncollateralized demand note to an unrelated  entity bearing 8% interest per annum

303

303

Uncollateralized demand note to an unrelated  entity bearing 8% interest per annum

19,350

19,350

Uncollateralized demand note to an unrelated  entity bearing 8% interest per annum

20,000

20,000

Uncollateralized demand note to an unrelated  entity bearing 8% interest per annum

71,000

-

Uncollateralized demand note to a related entity bearing 8% interest per annum

60,000

-

Convertible demand note to an unrelated entity bearing  7.5% imputed interest per annum which

55,248

56,043

matures on July 10, 2018.

Capital leases payable to various  vendors  expiring in various  years through September 2016;

105,921

115,175

collateralized by certain equipment  with a cost of $205,157.

Uncollateralized demand note to an unrelated  entity for royalties shown net  of discount of $64,621 and

1,600,279

1,717,546

$82,454, respectively.

$      3,892,463    $

3,726,617

Less  current liabilities

2,738,520

2,508,164

Total long term liabilities

$      1,153,943    $

1,218,453

We also owed $221,045 and $183,106 in accrued interest for the above notes as of August 31, 2012 and

May 31, 2012, respectively. We also amortized $181,128 and $123,535 in discount on debt as of August

31, 2012, and 2011, respectively.

As of August 31, 2012 and May 31, 2012, we had no restrictive covenants attached to any of the above

referenced notes.

Future maturity of our notes payable is presented in the table below:

For the years ended May 31,

2013

$

2,738,520

2014

864,418

2015

228,969

2016

29,563

2017 and beyond

30,993

$   3,892,463

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 10 – STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY

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

directors of Abakan.

Common Stock Issuances

Private placements

For the three months ended August 31, 2012, we issued the following shares:

On July 30, 2012, we closed a private placement for $525,000, or 300,000 units consisting of one share of

our restricted common stock and one-half common stock warrant to purchase shares of our common

stock, with a purchase price of $2.00 per share and an expiration date of two years from the closing.  In

connection with this placement we had no offering costs for a net of $525,000.

Share based compensation

For the three months ended August 31, 2012, we issued the following shares for compensation:

On July 9, 2012, we issued 10,000 shares of our common stock for services performed valued at $20,000.

On June 1, 2012, we issued 12,500 shares of our common stock for services performed valued at $32,625.

On June 1, 2012, we issued 12,500 shares of our common stock for services performed valued at $27,750.

On July 1, 2012, we issued 12,500 shares of our common stock for services performed valued at $25,000.

On August 7, 2012, we issued 10,000 shares of our common stock for services performed valued at

$19,000.

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 10 – STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY - continued

Common Stock Warrants

In connection with the above private placement we valued the common stock warrants granted during

the three months ended August 31, 2012, using the Black-Scholes model with the following

assumptions:

July 30, 2012

Expected volatility (based on

154.31%

historical volatility)

Expected dividends

0.00

Expected term in years

2.00

Risk-free rate

0.23%

The expected volatility assumption was based upon historical stock price volatility measured  on a daily

basis. The risk-free interest rate assumption is based upon U.S. Treasury bond interest rates appropriate

for the term of Abakan’s warrants. The dividend yield assumption is based on our history and

expectation of dividend payments. All warrants are immediately exercisable upon granting.

A summary of the common stock warrants granted during the three months ended August 31, 2012 is

presented below:

Weighted

Average

Weighted

Remaining

Average

Contractual

Aggregate

Number of

Exercise

Terms

Intrinsic

Options

Price

(In Years)

Value

Balance at  June 1, 2011

2,670,233

$

0.85

Granted

1,696,063

1.67

Exercised

-

-

Forfeited or expired

(2,300,000)

0.75

Balance at  May 31, 2011

2,066,296

$

1.64

2.00 years

$

--

Exercisable at  May 31, 2012

2,066,296

$

1.64

2.00 years

$

--

Weighted average  fair  value of

options granted during the  year

ended May 31, 2011

$

1.64

Balance at  June 1, 2012

2,066,296

$

1.64

Granted

150,000

2.00

Exercised

-

-

Forfeited or expired

-

-

Balance at  August  31, 2012

2,216,296

$

1.66

2.00 years

$

--

Exercisable at  August  31, 2012

2,216,296

$

1.66

2.00 years

$

--

Weighted average  fair  value of

options granted during the three

months ended  August  31, 2012

$

1.66

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 10 – STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY - continued

The following table summarizes information about the warrants outstanding at August 31, 2012:

Options Outstanding

Options Exercisable

Range

Number

Weighted

Weighted

Number

Weighted

of

Outstanding

Average

Average

Exercisable

Average

Aggregate

Exercise

at August

Remaining

Exercise

Intrinsic

at August

Exercise

Intrinsic

Price

31,  2012

Contractual Life

Price

Value

31, 2012

Price

Value

$     1.25

706,600

2.00 Years

$    1.25

$

--

706,600     $    1.25

$

--

$     1.50

410,233

2.00 Years

$    1.50

$

--

410,233     $    1.50

$

--

$     2.00

1,099,463

2.00 Years

$    2.00

$

--

1,099,463     $    2.00

$

--

2,216,296

2.00 Years

$    1.66

$

--

2,216,296     $    1.66

$

--

NOTE 11 – EARNINGS-PER-SHARE CALCULATION

Basic earnings per common share for the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011 are calculated by

dividing net income by weighted-average common shares outstanding during the period. Diluted earnings

per common share for the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011 are calculated by dividing net

income by weighted-average common shares outstanding during the period plus dilutive potential

common shares, which are determined as follows:

For the three

For the three

months ended

months ended

August 31, 2012

August 31, 2011

Net earnings (loss) from operations

$

(1,407,383)

$  649,868

Weighted-average common shares

61,615,065

59,330,468

Effect of dilutive securities:

Warrants

-

2,710,233

Options to purchase common stock

-

5,445,000

Dilutive potential common shares

61,615,065

67,485,701

Net earnings per share from operations:

Basic

$

(0.02)

$   0.01

Diluted

$

(0.02)

$   0.01

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 11 – EARNINGS-PER-SHARE CALCULATION - continued

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

For the three months

ended August 31,

2012

Common Stock Equivalents:

Warrants

2,216,296

Options to purchase common stock

5,860,000

Total of Common Stock Equivalents:

8,076,296

NOTE 12 – RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS

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

options for his service. The stock options have an exercise price of $2.30 per share of common stock, and

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

per month for his services beginning July 1, 2012. We also granted him 50,000 stock options for his

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

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 12 – RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS – continued

Board of Advisors - continued

On August 1, 2012, we appointed a new member to our Board of Advisors and agreed to pay him $3,000

per month for his services beginning August 1, 2012. We also granted him 75,000 stock options for his

service. The stock options have an exercise price of $1.95 per share of common stock, and expire ten

years from the date of grant. These options vest in equal one-third parts beginning on August 1, 2013, and

every grant date anniversary for the next two years. The term of the Board of Advisors Agreement will be

in force until August 1, 2013, and shall renew automatically on an annual basis unless terminated in

writing. We also agreed to reimburse the advisor for all reasonable business expenses.

Board of Directors

On June 15, 2012, we appointed a new member to our Board of Directors. We agreed to pay him $15,000

per annum, payable in four equal payments.  We also agreed to issue him 10,000 restricted  shares of our

common stock and granted him 150,000 stock options for his service. The stock options have an exercise

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

10,000 restricted shares of our common stock and granted him 150,000 stock options for his service.  The

stock options have an exercise price of $1.90 per share of common stock, and expire ten years from the

date of grant. These options vest in equal one-third parts beginning on August 7, 2013 and every August 7

after that. This agreement will be in force until August 7, 2015, unless terminated with a sixty day notice.

We also agreed to reimburse the advisor for all reasonable business expenses.

Notes Payable – Related Party

For the three months ended August 31, 2012, we entered into two uncollateralized demand notes with a

company controlled by our Chief Executive Officer’s spouse, Proper Financial, bearing 8% interest per

annum for an aggregate total of $66,200. On August 31, 2012, we applied $6,200 of principal in

addition to $59.24 of accrued interest to advances owed to us by the same company. As of August 31,

2012 we owed $60,000, and no accrued interest.

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 13 – STOCK – BASED COMPENSATION

2009 Stock Option Plan – Abakan

Our board of directors adopted and approved our 2009 Stock option Plan (“Plan”) on December 14, 2009,

which provides for the granting and issuance of up to 10 million shares of our common stock.

On June 12, 2012, we granted 175,000 stock options to two consultants at an exercise price of $2.30 per

share. The options will expire ten years from the grant date, and will vest in equal one third  parts on the

anniversary of the option grant date.

On June 1, 2012, we granted 100,000 stock options to two consultants at an exercise price of $0.75 per

share. The options will expire ten years from the grant date, and will vest in completely on March 15,

2013.

On June 15, 2012, we granted 150,000 stock options to a consultant at an exercise price of $2.30 per

share. The options will expire ten years from the grant date, and will vest in equal one third  parts

beginning on September 15, 2012, and then every September 15th for the next two years.

On June 20, 2012, we granted 50,000 stock options to a consultant at an exercise price of $2.05 per share.

The options will expire ten years from the grant date, and will vest in equal one third parts on the

anniversary of the option grant date.

On July 27, 2012, we granted 75,000 stock options to a consultant at an exercise price of $1.95 per share.

The options will expire ten years from the grant date, and will vest in equal one third parts on the

anniversary of the option grant date.

On August 7, 2012, we granted 150,000 stock options to a consultant at an exercise price of $1.90 per

share. The options will expire ten years from the grant date, and will vest in equal one third  parts on the

anniversary of the option grant date.

After these grants there will be 4,140,000 available for future grant.

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

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 13 – STOCK – BASED COMPENSATION - continued

2009 Stock Option Plan – Abakan - continued

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

31, 2012 was estimated using the Black-Scholes model with the following assumptions:

June 1, 2012

June 12, 2012

June 15, 2012

June 20, 2012

Expected volatility (based

200.15%

154.39%

154.39%

154.39%

on historical volatility)

Expected dividends

0.00

0.00

0.00

0.00

Expected term in years

10

10

10

10

Risk-free rate

0.95%

1.67%

1.60%

1.65%

July 27, 2012

August 7, 2012

Expected volatility (based on historical volatility)

154.39%

154.39%

Expected dividends

0.00

0.00

Expected term in years

10

10

Risk-free rate

1.58%

1.66%

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

the year ended May 31, 2012 and the three months ended August 31, 2012 is presented below:

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 13 – STOCK – BASED COMPENSATION - continued

2009 Stock Option Plan – The-Abakan- continued

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

Balance at June 1, 2012

5,160,000

$

0.77

Granted

700,000

1.93

Exercised

-

-

Forfeited or expired

-

-

Balance at August 31, 2012

5,860,000

$

0.90

9.00 years

$

185,000

Exercisable at August 31, 2012

2,980,829

$

0.71

9.00 years

$

--

Weighted average fair value of

options granted during the year

ended August 31, 2012

$

1.06

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 13 – STOCK – BASED COMPENSATION - continued

2009 Stock Option Plan – Abakan - continued

The following table summarizes information about employee stock options under the 2009 Plan

outstanding at August 31, 2012:

Options Outstanding

Options Exercisable

Weighted

Range

Number

Average

Weighted

Number

Weighted

of

Outstanding

Remaining

Average

Exercisable

Average

Aggregate

Exercise

at August

Contractual

Exercise

Intrinsic

at August

Exercise

Intrinsic

Price

31,  2012

Life

Price

Value

31, 2012

Price

Value

$     0.60

1,945,000

8.00 Years

$

0.60

$

--

1,900,040     $    0.60

$

--

$     0.65

1,400,000

8.00 Years

$

0.65

$

120,000

394,968     $    0.65

$

--

$     0.75

200,000

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

250,000

10.0 Years

$

1.30

$

--

166,675     $    1.30

$

--

$     1.90

150,000

10.0 Years

$

1.90

$

--

--     $    0.00

$

--

$     1.95

75,000

10.0 Years

$

1.95

$

--

--     $    0.00

$

--

$     2.05

50,000

10.0 Years

$

2.05

$

--

--     $    0.00

$

--

$     2.30

325,000

10.0 Years

$

2.30

$

--

--     $    0.00

$

-

5,860,000

9.0 Years

$

0.90

$

185,000

2,980,829     $    0.71

$

--

The total value of employee and non-employee stock options granted during the three months ended

August 31, 2012 and 2011, was $1,315,619 and $30,553, respectively. During three months ended

August 31, 2012 and 2011 Abakan recorded $459,784 and $338,517, respectively, in stock-based

compensation expense relating to stock option grants.

At August 31, 2012 and 2011 there was $2,187,116 and $2,471,408, respectively, of total unrecognized

compensation cost related to stock options granted under the plan.  That cost is expected to be

recognized pro-rata through August 7, 2015. The following table represents the stock options expense

for the each of the next four fiscal years ended  May 31:

For years ended May 31,

Expense

2013

$

1,062,144

2014

706,184

2015

408,568

2016

10,220

$

2,187,116

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 13 – STOCK – BASED COMPENSATION - continued

Stock Option Plan - MesoCoat

MesoCoat accounts for equity awards using the grant-date fair value.

Abakan’s stock option plan (the Stock Option Plan) is intended to advance the interest of Abakan and its

shareholders. Options granted under the Stock Option Plan can be either incentive stock options or non-

qualified stock options. The Stock Option Plan authorized the issuance of a maximum of 9,000 shares of

Abakan’s common stock. These options have a term  of six years and will expire beginning August 2014

through November 2014.

A summary of Abakan’s stock option plan as of August 31, 2012, and the changes during the period then

ended is presented in the table below:

Options Outstanding

Number of

Weighted

Shares

Average Exercise

Price

Outstanding at May 31, 2012

4,450    $

2.68

Granted

-

Exercised

-

Forfeited

-

Outstanding at  August 31, 2012

4,450    $

2.68

Options exercisable at August 31, 2012

3,150    $

1.95

NOTE 14 –COMMITMENTS

Leases

In August 2011, Abakan entered into a non-cash leasing arrangement where services are provided in

exchange for an asset. Abakan has an obligation to provide 600 hours of services at a fair value of

$120,000 as consideration during the period from August 2011 to August 2017. Abakan has recorded this

capital lease at its fair value.

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

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 14 –COMMITMENTS - continued

Leases -continued

MesoCoat also leases machinery and equipment under various capital lease arrangements,  which expires

through September 2016. These leases are included in long-term and short-term debt and the related assets have

been capitalized.

Total expense related to the operating leases was $37,990 and $12,375 for the three months ended August

31, 2012 and 2011. Interest expense for the leases for the three months ended August 31, 2012 and for the

period of July 13 through August 31, 2012 was $383 and $1,173.

Minimum annual rental commitments are as follows at August 31, 2012:

For the years ended May 31,

Capital Leases

Operating Leases

2013

$

37,331      $

48,110

2014

23,181

80,400

2015

22,197

80,400

2016

21,273

80,400

2017 and thereafter

7,951

328,300

Total minimum lease payments

$

111,933      $

617,610

Less amount representing interest

(6,012)

Present value of net minimum capital lease payments

105,921

Less current maturities

(39,808)

Long-term obligations under capital leases

$

66,113

NOTE 15 - EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PLANS

Abakan has a 401(k) Plan (the Plan) covering substantially all of its employees who are at least age 21

and have completed three months of service.  Participating employees may elect to contribute, on a tax

deferred basis, a portion of their compensation in accordance with Section 401(k) of the Internal Revenue

Code. Additional matching contributions may be made to the Plan at the discretion of Abakan. For the

three months ended August 31, 2012, Abakan contributed $3,972.

NOTE 16 – RECENT ACCOUNTING PRONOUNCEMENTS

We have examined all recent accounting pronouncements and believe that none of them will have a

material impact on the financial statements of Abakan.

ABAKAN INC.

(A DEVELOPMENT STAGE ENTERPRISE)

CONDENSED NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)

For the three months ended August 31, 2012 and 2011

NOTE 17– SUBSEQUENT EVENTS

Management has evaluated subsequent events after the balance sheet date, through the issuance of the

financial statements, for appropriate accounting and disclosure.  Abakan has determined that there were no

such events that warrant disclosure or recognition in the financial statements, except for the below:

Consulting agreement

On September 18, 2012, we entered into a consulting agreement commencing September 18, 2012, with

an unrelated individual to provide investor public relations consulting. The terms of the consulting

agreement are that the consultant is paid $5,000 per month; in addition the consultant was issued 25,000

shares of our restricted common stock for the initial three month period. Then commencing December

18, 2012 and each quarter after Abakan will issue shares of our restricted common stock valued at

$60,000 per quarter. We also agreed to reimburse the consultant for all reasonable business expenses

incurred by him in the performance of his duties, with a term expiring September 18, 2013.

Private Placement

On September 28, 2012, we closed a private placement for $262,500, or 150,000 units consisting of one

share of our restricted common stock and one-half common stock warrant to purchase shares of our

common stock, with a purchase price of $2.00 per share and an expiration date of two years from the

closing.  In connection with this placement we had no offering costs for a net of $262,500.

Development Loan - MesoCoat

On October 2, 2012 we began drawing against a development loan from the State of Ohio with a

maximum amount of $1,000,000, and bearing an interest rate of one percent the first year after the

disbursement date, and then for years two through seven, the interest rate is seven percent. On October 2,

2012, we received our first payout from this loan of $584,066, and then we received on October 5, 2012 a

second payout of $316,477, for a total of $900,543. The loan is to be repaid over seven years, and is

collateralized the project equipment, one CermaClad system and automated pipe blasting equipment, and

all inventory, equipment, all fixtures, all intangibles and accounts receivables owned by MesoCoat.

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

Abakan has to date acquired a 51% controlling interest in MesoCoat, Inc. (“MesoCoat”) and a 41% non-

controlling interest in Powdermet,  Inc. (“Powdermet”). Since Powdermet owns 49% of MesoCoat,

Abakan’s interest in Powdermet represents a 20% indirect interest in MesoCoat.

MesoCoat

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

5

PComP™ Coating Services

Market Entry

3

CermaClad™ CR

Market Entry

5

CermaClad™ CR

Full Scale Production

14

CermaClad™ WR

Market Entry

8

CermaClad™ WR

Full Scale Production

18

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

July 1, 2013. The license agreement will end upon the last valid claim of licensed patents to expire, unless

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

commercial exclusive license, executed on March 7, 2011, that permits MesoCoat to conduct commercial

sales utilizing the licensed process and technology. The license is valid through the expiration of the last

patent in 2024 and required that MesoCoat invest in additional research and development of the

technology and the market for products that stem from the technology by committing to a certain level of

personnel hours and $350,000 in expenditures. MesoCoat has met the aforesaid conditions of the license

agreement.

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

expected to be successfully completed by the end of the second fiscal quarter with the tool mechanism

operating successfully while producing acceptable coatings.

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

development and manufacturing services.

AMP  Distributors Ltd./AMP Distributors, Inc.

AMP Distributors Ltd. (“AMP”) and AMP Distributors,  Inc. (“AMP FL”) were formed by Abakan in

June of 2011  and July 27, 2012 respectively as a Cayman Island company and a Florida corporation for

the primary purpose of negotiating, executing and administrating international sales of MesoCoat's

products. AMP and AMP FL will also be tasked with acquiring equipment and coating materials for

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

might be of interest to us.

•     Conferences, Events, and Tradeshows – Teams from Abakan, MesoCoat, and Powdermet attend

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

ultimately included in Abakan’s investments will have more than one market solution. We are therefore

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

Plan of Operation

Abakan’s plan of operation for the coming year is to assist MesoCoat to succeed in commercialization

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

quarter 2012.

o     Completing  construction  of  its  first  operating  plant  in  Euclid,  Ohio  by  the  fourth  quarter

of  2012  and  begin  producing  work  samples  for  certification  and  approval  by  potential

clients  by  the  first  quarter  2013,  with  work  to  be  split  60%/40%  between  samples  and

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

range of Abakan’s assumptions, the growth strategy depends largely upon the successful execution of

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

leasing or financing arrangement for the cost of the land and the building.  Abakan has also had

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

While Abakan explores each opportunity it is aware of the inherent risks that often come with operating

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

approaches to this market:

•     High Capital Intensity:  Abakan will continue to self-finance and act as owner-operator.

•     Medium Capital Intensity: Abakan intends to enter into joint venture partnerships, with it being

the operator at 51% ownership and the partner at 49% ownership.

•     Low  Capital  Intensity:  Abakan  expects  to  enter  into  joint  ventures  with  supply  chain  partners

which  would  act  as  operators  and  financiers  with  51%  ownership  while  it  would  act  as  the

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

Abakan. Should MesoCoat be unable to secure additional financing from outside sources or Abakan,

MesoCoat will most likely be unable to meet its milestones and may need to scale back operations.  Any

shortfall in minimum funding will adversely affect MesoCoat’s ability to expand or even continue

operations.

Results of Operations

During the three month period ended August 31, 2012:

•      We continued its search to identify prospective business opportunities for merger or acquisition.

•

We focused our efforts on our interest on the continued development of MesoCoat products.

•      We completed equity financing in the amount of $525,000.

•      We continued negotiations with prospective joint venture partners in regions, such as Russia, in

which we do not intend to operate on our own.

•      We continued negotiations with prospective joint venture partners in respect to technological

applications that we do not intend to develop on our own.

•

We added another independent director to the board of directors and adopted corporate

governance charters.

•      We continued our due diligence in respect to determining a suitable site for an additional

MesoCoat manufacturing facility in Brazil.

•

Secured a $1 million low interest loan from the State of Ohio to partially fund equipment for the

new 11,000 sq. ft CermaClad™ clad piping manufacturing plant in Euclid, Ohio.

Revenues

For the period from June 27, 2006 (inception) until August 31, 2012, Abakan realized revenues of

$3,776,407. Revenues for the three month period ended August 31, 2012 were $835,383 as compared to

$348,388 for the three month period ended August 31, 2011. Revenues over the comparative three month

periods can be wholly attributed to the operations of MesoCoat. Revenue in the current three month

period was derived from commercial revenues of $19,300 as compared to $6,177 in the prior comparative

period, contract and grant revenues of $574,327 as compared to $298,114 in the prior comparative period,

and other income of $268,756 as compared to $44,097 in the prior comparative period. Other income in

the respective three month periods is primarily comprised of amounts paid by Petrobras under the terms

and conditions of the Cooperation Agreement.

We expect revenue to continue to increase over the next twelve months as MesoCoat’s commercial and

government sponsored contracts that commenced in the last part of 2011 are completed and new products

under development are brought on line for commercial sales.

Gross Profit

For the period from June 27, 2006 (inception) until August 31, 2012, Abakan realized a gross profit of

$2,390,435. Gross profit for the three month period ended August 31, 2012 was $498,609 compared to

$178,304 for the three month period ended August 31, 2011. Gross profits in the current three month

periods can be wholly attributed to the operations of MesoCoat. The calculation of gross profit in the

current three month period offset revenue of $835,383 against cost of revenue of $336,774, as compared

to offset revenue of $348,388 against cost of revenue of $170,084 in the prior comparative three month

period.

We expect gross profits to continue to increase over the next twelve months as the business moves

towards the commercialization of its product which when produced to scale is expected to decrease our

relative cost of sales.

Net Losses/Income

For the period from June 27, 2006 (inception) until August 31, 2012, Abakan incurred net losses of

$7,729,748. Net losses for the three month period ended August 31, 2012 were $1,407,383 as compared

to net income of $649,868 for the three month period ended August 31, 2011. The transition to net losses

in the current three month period as compared  to net income in the prior comparative three month period

can be primarily attributed to a book entry gain of $1,764,345 in the prior comparative three month period

that did not affect net losses relative to actual cash used  due to an unrecognized gain on the acquisition of

MesoCoat. We do not expect to return to net income in the near term as anticipated increases in revenue

and gross profit are likely to be parried by increases in operational expenses associated most significantly

with increases in general and administrative expenses, professional fees, payroll expenses, research and

development costs and depreciation and amortization of existing assets.

Despite management’s focus on ensuring operating efficiencies we do expect to continue to operate at a

loss through fiscal 2013.

Expenses

For the period from June 27, 2006 (inception) until August 31, 2012, Abakan incurred operating expenses

of $11,684,027. Operating expenses for the three month period ended August 31, 2012 were $1,782,218

as compared to $1,189,346 for the three month period ended August 31, 2011. The increase in operating

expenses over the comparative three month periods can be primarily attributed to increases in general and

administrative expenses which increased to $161,687 for the three month period ended August 31, 2012

from $106,205 over the comparative prior period, professional fees which increased to $120,304 for the

three month period ended  August 31, 2012 from $74,761 over the comparative prior period, consulting

costs which increased to $363,932 for the three month period ended August 31, 2012 from $225,372 over

the comparative prior period, related party consulting costs which increased to $99,427 in the three month

period ended August 31, 2012 from $76,577 over the comparative prior period, payroll and benefits

expense which increased to $182,976 in the three month period ended August 31, 2012 from $137,607

over the comparative prior period, research and development costs which increased to $293,608 in the

three month period ended August 31, 2012 from $133,248 over the comparative prior period and a book

entry expense due to stock options that increased to  $459,784 in the three month period ended August 31,

2012 that did not affect net losses relative to actual cash used as compared to $338,517 over the

comparative prior period.

We expect that operating expenses will continue to increase as our aggressive growth strategy over the

next five years will require significant increases in personnel and facilities along with significant research

and development to ensure that products nearing commercialization are brought to market as quickly and

as effectively as possible.

Other Income/Expense

For the period from June 27, 2006 (inception) until August 31, 2012, Abakan realized other income of

$1,489,400. Other expenses for the three month ended August 31, 2012 were $240,028 as compared to

other income of $1,607,018 for the three month period ended August 31, 2011. The transition to other

expense in the current three month period over other income in the prior three month period can be

primarily attributed to a book entry gain of $1,764,345 in the prior comparative three month period that

did not affect other income relative to actual cash used  due to an unrecognized gain on the acquisition of

MesoCoat.

We expect to continue to incur other expense in future periods due to the interest accruing on convertible

debt and the anticipated increase in the amortization of discount on debt over the next twelve months.

Income Tax Expense (Benefit)

Abakan may have a prospective income tax benefit resulting from a net operating loss carry-forward and

start up costs that will offset any future operating profit.

Impact of Inflation

Abakan believes that inflation has not had a material effect on operations for the period from June 27,

2006 (inception) to August 31, 2012.

Capital Expenditures

Abakan has spent significant amounts on capital expenditures for the period from June 27, 2006

(inception) to August 31, 2012 on plant, property and equipment in the construction of the manufacturing

facility in Euclid, Ohio, which amount was $988,053 as of August 31, 2012.

Liquidity and Capital Resources

Abakan has been in the development stage since inception, and has experienced significant changes in

liquidity, capital resources, and stockholders’ equity.

As of August 31, 2012 Abakan had current assets of $909,983 consisting of cash and cash equivalents of

$608,818, accounts receivable of $163,928, a note receivable from a related party of $4,076, and prepaid

expenses of $133,161. Abakan had total assets of $15,281,074 consisting of current assets, property, plant

and equipment of $3,281,645, patents  and licenses of $7,733,564, an assignment agreement of $240,134,

an investment in Powdermet of $2,751,364, and goodwill of $364,384.

As of August 31, 2012 Abakan had current liabilities of $4,076,940, consisting of accounts payable of

$616,383, accounts payable to related parties  of $99,360, capital leases of $39,808, loans payable of

$2,638,712, accrued interest of $221,045, loan payable to related parties of $60,000 and accrued liabilities

of $401,632. Abakan had total liabilities of $5,230,883 consisting of current liabilities, loans payable of

$1,087,830 and capital leases of $66,113.

Abakan had stockholders’ equity of $10,050,191 and a working capital deficit of $3,166,957 at August

31, 2012.

For the period from June 27, 2006 (inception) to August 31, 2012, Abakan’s net cash used in

development stage activities was $3,426,107.  Net cash used in development stage activities for the three

month period ended August 31, 2012 was $466,972 as compared to $334,524 for the three month period

ended August 31, 2011. Net cash used in development stage activities in the current three month period

can be attributed primarily to a number of items that are book expense items which do not affect the total

amount relative to actual cash used including depreciation, amortization of discount on debt, stock issued

for services and stock option expense offset by equity in investee profit. Actual cash items used, that are

not income statement related items, include accrued liabilities, accounts payable, accrued interest on loans

payable, and prepaid expenses offset by changes in accounts receivable.

We expect to continue to generate negative cash flow in operating activities until such time as net losses

transition to net income.

For the period from June 27, 2006 (inception) until August 31, 2012, Abakan’s net cash used in investing

activities was $6,098,835. Net cash used in investing activities for the three months ended August 31,

2012, was $293,440 as compared to net cash provided by investing activities of $16,462 for the three

month period ended August 31, 2011. Net cash used in investing activities in the current period can be

primarily attributed to  the purchase of property, plant and equipment, and capitalized patents and licenses.

We expect to continue to generate negative cash flow in investing activities as Abakan increases its

investment in property, plant and equipment through MesoCoat.

For the period from June 27, 2006 (inception) until August 31, 2012, Abakan’s net cash provided by

financing activities was $10,133,760. Net cash provided by financing activities for the three months

ended August 31, 2012 was $509,664 as compared to $1,088,744 for the three months ended August 31,

2011. Net cash flow provided by financing activities in the current period is attributable to proceeds from

the sale of common stock and loans payable, including related party loans, offset by payments on loans

payable, including those to related parties, and repayments on capital leases.

We expect to continue to generate positive cash flow from financing activities as Abakan seeks new

rounds of financing to build its business.

Our current assets are insufficient to meet our current obligations or to satisfy our cash needs over the

next twelve months and as such Abakan will require additional debt or equity financing. We had no

commitments or arrangements for financing at August 31, 2012 though we are pursuing a number of

prospective sources that include shareholder loans, the sale of equity, the procurement of long term debt

or the settlement of additional debt for equity. We face certain financial obstacles to attracting new

financing due to our historical record of net losses and working capital deficits. Therefore, despite our

efforts we can provide no assurance that Abakan will be able to obtain the financing required to meet its

stated objectives or even to continue as a going concern.

Abakan does not expect to pay cash dividends in the foreseeable future.

Abakan has a defined stock option plan titled  “The Abakan Inc., 2009 Stock Option Plan” and contractual

commitments with all of its officers and directors.

Abakan has plans for the significant purchase or sale of any plant or equipment in connection with the

completion of the manufacturing facility under construction in Euclid, Ohio. MesoCoat has obtained

verbal commitments for future capital expenditures from Abakan and Powdermet to fund any shortfalls

(including plant and equipment) in the construction of the Euclid facility should it not be able to raise

funds in the normal course of business. Further, MesoCoat has secured a $1,000,000 loan from the Ohio

Third Frontier program that can be drawn down at any time in connection with the new manufacturing

facility. MesoCoat had drawn down $0 in connection with the loan as of August 31, 2012. Subsequent to

the period to date, October 12, 2012, MesoCoat has drawn down $900,543 of the $1,000,000 loan from

the Ohio Third Frontier program.

Abakan intends to increase the number of employees engaged by MesoCoat on completion of the new

Euclid, Ohio manufacturing facility.

Off Balance Sheet Arrangements

As of August 31, 2012, Abakan had no off-balance sheet arrangements that have or are reasonably likely

to have a current or future effect on our financial condition, changes in financial condition, revenues or

expenses, results of operations, liquidity, capital expenditures, or capital resources that is material to

stockholders.

Going Concern

Abakan’s auditors have expressed an opinion as to its ability to continue as a going concern as a result of

net losses of $7,729,748 and a working capital deficit of $3,166,957 as of August 31, 2012. Our ability to

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

Critical Accounting Policies

The notes to the audited financial statements for Abakan for the years ended May 31, 2012 and 2011,

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

effectiveness of Abakan’s disclosure controls and procedures (as defined in Rules 13a-15(e) and 15d-

15(e) under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (“Exchange Act”)) as of August 31, 2012. Disclosure

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

Since the end of Abakan’s prior reporting period on Form 10-K it has adopted an audit committee charter,

formed an audit committee comprised of independent members of its board of directors, and involved

said audit committee in overseeing the completion of this periodic report on Form 10-Q, thereby effecting

a change in internal control over financial reporting (as defined in Rule 13a-15(f) of the Exchange Act)

during the period ended August 31, 2012, that materially affected, or is reasonably likely to materially

affect, our internal control over financial reporting.

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

Abakan incurred net losses of  $7,729,748 for the period from June 27, 2006 (inception) to August 31,

2012. Since we have been without significant revenue since inception and have only recently transitioned

to producing limited revenue, as a result of the business combination with MesoCoat, historical losses

may continue into the future.

Abakan has a history of uncertainty about continuing as a going concern.

Abakan’s audits for the periods ended May 31, 2012 and 2011 expressed an opinion as to its ability to

continue as a going concern as a result of net losses of $6,322,365 and a working capital deficit of

$2,438,854 as of May 31, 2012 which had increased to $7,729,748 and $3,166,957 respectively as of

August 31, 2012. Unless Abakan is able to produce net revenue over successive future periods its ability

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

On September 28, 2012, Abakan authorized the issuance of 150,000 restricted common shares and 75,000

share purchase warrants, each warrant convertible into an additional share at an exercise price of $2.00 for

a two year period from the date of issue, for $262,500 or $1.75 a share to Ammon & Associates, Inc. in

reliance upon the exemptions from registration provided by Section 4(2) and Regulation D of the

Securities Act of 1933, as amended (“Securities Act”).

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

available to answer questions by the offeree; and (v) providing restricted common shares and warrants to

the offeree.

On September 18, 2012, Abakan authorized the issuance of  62,500 shares of restricted common shares to

the following entities for investor relations services rendered, in reliance upon the exemption from

registration provided by Section 4(2) of the Securities Act:

Name

Consideration      Basis

Shares

Exemption

Financial Insights

$85,375

Services

37,500

Sec 4(2)

Red Chip Companies, Inc.

$42,750

Services

25,000

Sec 4(2)

Abakan complied with the exemption requirements of Section 4(2) of the Securities Act based on the

following factors: (1) the issuance was an isolated private transactions by Abakan which did not involve a

public offering; (2) the offeree had access to the kind of information which registration would disclose;

and (3) the offeree is financially sophisticated.

On August 7, 2012, Abakan authorized the issuance of 10,000 shares of its restricted common shares

valued at $19,000 and the grant of  150,000 stock options with an exercise price of $1.90 per share that

expire ten years from the date of grant vesting  in equal one-third parts annually beginning on August 7,

2013 to Jeffrey Webb for services rendered as a director, in reliance upon the exemption from registration

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

On July 30, 2012 Abakan authorized the issuance of 300,000 restricted common shares and 150,000 share

purchase warrants, each warrant convertible into an additional share at an exercise price of $2.00 for a

two year period from the date of issue, for $525,000 or $1.75 a share to Ammon & Associates, Inc. in

reliance upon the exemptions from registration provided by Section 4(2) and Regulation D of Securities

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

available to answer questions by the offeree; and (v) providing restricted common shares and warrants to

the offeree.

On July 27, 2012, Abakan authorized the grant of 50,000 stock options with an exercise price of $2.05 per

share that expire ten years from the date of grant vesting in equal one-third parts annually beginning on

July 27, 2013 to Sam Thomas for services rendered as a member of the board of advisors, in reliance

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

On July 9, 2012, Abakan authorized the issuance of 10,000 shares of its restricted common shares valued

at $20,000 and the grant of  150,000 stock options with an exercise price of $2.30 per share that expire ten

years from the date of grant vesting in equal one-third parts annually beginning on September 15, 2012, to

David Charbonneau for services rendered as a director, in reliance upon the exemption from registration

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

On June 20, 2012, Abakan authorized the grant of 50,000 stock options with an exercise price of $2.05

per share that expire ten years from the date of grant vesting in equal one-third parts annually beginning

on June 20, 2013 to David Diehl for services rendered as a member of the board of advisors,  in reliance

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

On June 12, 2012, Abakan authorized the grant of 75,000 stock options with an exercise price of $2.30

per share that expire ten years from the date of grant vesting in equal one-third parts annually beginning

on June 1, 2013 to Anupam Ghildyal for employee services rendered, in reliance upon the exemption

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

On June 12, 2012, Abakan authorized the grant of 100,000 stock options with an exercise price of $2.30

per share that expire ten years from the date of grant vesting in equal one-third parts annually beginning

on June 1, 2013 to Morris Reid for services rendered as a member of the board of advisors, in reliance

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

MINE SAFETY DISCLOSURE

Not applicable.

ITEM 5.

OTHER INFORMATION

None.

ITEM 6.

EXHIBITS

Exhibits required to be attached by Item 601 of Regulation S-K are listed in the Index to Exhibits on page

58 of this Form 10-Q, and are incorporated herein by this reference.

SIGNATURES

Abakan Inc.

Date

/s/ Robert H. Miller

______________________

October 15, 2012

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

confidential treatment.)

14*

Code of Business Conduct & Ethics adopted on June 13, 2012 incorporated hereto by

reference to the Form 10-K filed with the Commission on September 13, 2012.

21*

Subsidiaries of Abakan incorporated hereto by reference to the Form  10-K filed with the

Commission on September 13, 2012.

31

Certification of the Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer pursuant to Rule

13a-14 of the Exchange Act as adopted pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of

2002, attached.

32

Certification of the Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer pursuant to 18

U.S.C. Section 1350 as adopted pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002,

attached.

99*

Powdermet audited financial statements for the period ended  May 31, 2012 incorporated

hereto by reference to the Form 10-K filed with the Commission on September 13, 2012.

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