Mainland Resources, Inc. 21 Waterway Avenue, Suite 300 The Woodlands, Texas 77380 info@mainlandresources.com

NEWS RELEASE

MAINLAND RESOURCES UPDATE ON SPUDDING BURKLEY PHILLIPS
No. 1 WELL, MISSISSIPPI

June 24, 2010 - Mainland Resources, Inc. (the "Company" or "Mainland") (OTCBB: MNLU, Frankfurt: 5MN) is pleased to announce the following update on progress of the Burkley Phillips No. 1 well on the Buena Vista Prospect in Mississippi:

To date, twelve (12) miles of road and drill site location have sufficiently dried after late and abnormal rains and flooding in the area from the runoff of the nearby Mississippi River. The location contractor (Boots Smith) has started work by adding gravel, where necessary, over the road to the well location. A bulldozer was also moved in on June 23, 2010 in final preparation of the well pad site.

Rapad Drilling (Jackson, Mississippi) is prepared to move in their Rig # 34, and Mainland intends to spud the well as soon as the work on the location and road is complete. The current anticipated spud date is between July 7 and July 15, 2010.

The Company's working interest in the Burkley-Phillips No.1 well is 72%. Mainland will fund 90% of the well costs to earn its 72% interest in the well. Guggenheim Energy Opportunities Fund will fund 10% of the well costs in order to earn an 8% working interest in the well.

Upon successful completion of Mainland's previously announced proposed merger with American Exploration Corp, Mainland will have a 92% working interest in the well, while Guggenheim will have an 8% working interest in the well.

The estimated dry hole cost is $8.65 million. These funds have been escrowed by Mainland and Guggenheim. The total estimated cost to complete the well is $4.9 million for a total drilled and completed well cost of $13.55 million.

Mainland currently holds interests in excess of 17,500 acres in the Buena Vista Prospect and intends to acquire additional acreage. In the event the Burkley Phillips No. 1 well is successful, there is potential for more than 220 net drilling locations using 80 acre spacing per well covering the 17,500 acres.

Mainland was able to obtain the drill cuttings from a well drilled by Chevron in 1981, which Mainland is offsetting with the Burkley-Phillips No. 1 well.

About Mainland Resources, Inc.

Mainland Resources is a company engaged in the exploration and development of oil and gas resources. The Company's current initiatives are focused on the acquisition and development of leases in emerging gas regions with the potential for discoveries including the Haynesville shale.

Symbol:	MNLU - OTCBB, Symbol: 5MN; Frankfurt, WKN No.: A0ND6N
Contact:	Investor Relations (USA) Toll-Free North America +1-877-662-3668 Investor Relations (Europe) Tel. +49-69-7593-8408

SAFE HARBOR STATEMENT -THIS NEWS RELEASE CONTAINS "FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS", AS THAT TERM IS DEFINED IN SECTION 27A OF THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES ACT OF 1933, AS AMENDED, AND SECTION 21E OF THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934, AS AMENDED. STATEMENTS IN THIS NEWS RELEASE, WHICH ARE NOT PURELY HISTORICAL, ARE FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS AND INCLUDE ANY STATEMENTS REGARDING BELIEFS, PLANS, EXPECTATIONS OR INTENTIONS REGARDING THE FUTURE.

EXCEPT FOR THE HISTORICAL INFORMATION PRESENTED HEREIN, MATTERS DISCUSSED IN THIS NEWS RELEASE CONTAIN FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO CERTAIN RISKS AND UNCERTAINTIES THAT COULD CAUSE ACTUAL RESULTS TO DIFFER MATERIALLY FROM ANY FUTURE RESULTS, PERFORMANCE OR ACHIEVEMENTS EXPRESSED OR IMPLIED BY SUCH STATEMENTS. STATEMENTS THAT ARE NOT HISTORICAL FACTS, INCLUDING STATEMENTS THAT ARE PRECEDED BY, FOLLOWED BY, OR THAT INCLUDE SUCH WORDS AS "ESTIMATE," "ANTICIPATE," "BELIEVE," "PLAN" OR "EXPECT" OR SIMILAR STATEMENTS ARE FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS. FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS INCLUDED IN THIS NEWS RELEASE CONSIST OF STATEMENTS RELATING TO THE COMPANY'S PLANS TO COMMENCE DRILLING OF UP TO THREE WELLS IN THE HOSSTON/COTTON VALLEY FORMATIONS OF THE EAST HOLLY FIELD, AS WELL AS THE BURKLEY-PHILLIPS NO. 1 WELL. RISKS AND UNCERTAINTIES FOR THE COMPANY INCLUDE, BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO, THE RISKS ASSOCIATED WITH PROPERTY DEVELOPMENT AND FUNDING AS WELL AS THE RISKS SHOWN IN THE COMPANY'S MOST RECENT ANNUAL REPORT ON FORM 10-K AND ITS QUARTERLY REPORTS ON FORM 10-Q, AND FROM TIME-TO-TIME IN OTHER PUBLICLY AVAILABLE INFORMATION REGARDING THE COMPANY. OTHER RISKS INCLUDE RISKS ASSOCIATED WITH THE REGULATORY APPROVAL PROCESS, COMPETITIVE COMPANIES, FUTURE CAPITAL REQUIREMENTS AND THE COMPANY'S ABILITY AND LEVEL OF SUPPORT FOR ITS EXPLORATION AND DEVELOPMENT ACTIVITIES. THERE CAN BE NO ASSURANCE THAT THE COMPANY'S DEVELOPMENT EFFORTS WILL SUCCEED AND THE COMPANY WILL ULTIMATELY ACHIEVE COMMERCIAL SUCCESS. THESE FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS ARE MADE AS OF THE DATE OF THIS NEWS RELEASE, AND THE COMPANY ASSUMES NO OBLIGATION TO UPDATE THE FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS, OR TO UPDATE THE REASONS WHY ACTUAL RESULTS COULD DIFFER FROM THOSE PROJECTED IN THE FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS. ALTHOUGH THE COMPANY BELIEVES THAT THE BELIEFS, PLANS, EXPECTATIONS AND INTENTIONS CONTAINED IN THIS NEWS RELEASE ARE REASONABLE, THERE CAN BE NO ASSURANCE THOSE BELIEFS, PLANS, EXPECTATIONS OR INTENTIONS WILL PROVE TO BE ACCURATE. INVESTORS SHOULD CONSIDER ALL OF THE INFORMATION SET FORTH HEREIN AND SHOULD ALSO REFER TO THE RISK FACTORS DISCLOSED IN THE COMPANY'S PERIODIC REPORTS FILED FROM TIME-TO-TIME WITH THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION.

THIS NEWS RELEASE HAS BEEN PREPARED BY MANAGEMENT OF THE COMPANY WHO TAKES FULL RESPONSIBILITY FOR ITS CONTENTS. EACH OF FINRA, THE SEC AND THE BRITISH COLUMBIA SECURITIES COMMISSION NEITHER APPROVES NOR DISAPPROVES OF THE CONTENTS OF THIS NEWS RELEASE. THIS NEWS RELEASE SHALL NOT CONSTITUTE AN OFFER TO SELL OR THE SOLICITATION OF AN OFFER TO BUY NOR SHALL THERE BE ANY SALE OF THESE SECURITIES IN ANY JURISDICTION IN WHICH SUCH OFFER, SOLICITATION OR SALE WOULD BE UNLAWFUL PRIOR TO REGISTRATION OR QUALIFICATION UNDER THE SECURITIES LAWS OF ANY SUCH JURISDICTION.

IMPORTANT ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WILL BE FILED WITH THE SEC

The Company and American Exploration Corporation intend to file certain materials with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission in connection with the proposed merger transaction between the parties announced on March 23, 2010, including the filing by the Company with the SEC of a Registration Statement on Form S-4, which will include a preliminary prospectus and related materials to register the securities of the Company to be issued in exchange for securities of American Exploration. The Registration Statement will incorporate a joint proxy statement/ prospectus that the Company and American Exploration plan to file with the SEC and mail to their respective stockholders in connection with obtaining stockholder approval of the proposed merger. The Registration Statement and the proxy statement/prospectus will contain important information about the Company, American Exploration, the merger and related matters. Investors and security holders are urged to read the Registration Statement and the

proxy statement/prospectus carefully when they are available. Investors and security holders will be able to obtain free copies of the Registration Statement and the proxy statement/prospectus when they become available, and other documents filed with the SEC by the Company and American Exploration, through the web site maintained by the SEC at www.sec.gov. The Company's security holders will also receive information at an appropriate time on how to obtain these documents free of charge from the Company. In any event, documents filed by the Company with the SEC may be obtained free of charge by contacting the Company at: Mainland Resources, Inc.; Attention: Mr. William Thomas, CFO; 21 Waterway Avenue, Suite 300, The Woodlands, Texas 77380; Facsimile: (713) 583-1162.

Each of the Company and American Exploration, and their respective directors and executive officers, also may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies from their respective stockholders in connection with the transaction described herein. Information regarding the special interests of these directors and executive officers in the transaction described herein will be included in the proxy statement/prospectus described above.