EXHIBIT 99.1


MAINLAND RESOURCES, INC.
17314 SH 249, Suite 306
Houston, Texas 77064
info@mainlandresources.com


NEWS RELEASE
________________________________________________________________________________

            MAINLAND RESOURCES PLACES FIRST HAYNESVILLE SHALE WELL ON PRODUCTION AT 23.3 MILLION CUBIC FEET NATURAL GAS PER DAY RATE


     Houston, Texas / PR Newswire - Feb. 3, 2009 -Mainland Resources, Inc., a Nevada corporation (the "Company") (MNLU-OTCBB, 5MN-Frankfurt) reports that the Company and its operator have placed the Griffith 11 #1 well in DeSoto Parish, Louisiana on production. The Griffith 11 #1(Section 11, 13N, 14W) had an initial production rate of 23.3 Mmcfe/d on a 28/64" choke with 7,550# flowing casing pressure.

     The Griffith 11 #1 is the first well to be drilled with the Company's operator in the Haynesville shale on its leases. Mainland owns a 40% Working Interest in this well and all subsequent Haynesville wells to be drilled on its leases.

     Mainland Resources is also formalizing plans to drill and complete in the Hosston/Cotton Valley formations on its Louisiana property. The Company received a Reserve Report in December 2008 that shows Proved Undeveloped Reserves of
2.143 Bcf in these formations from a single future twin to the current well. This estimate is based on 40-acre well spacing.

     Mainland holds a 100% Working Interest in all rights above the base of the Cotton Valley formation, including the Hosston, in 2,695 net acres.

     Company President, Mike Newport states, "We have validated our model to drill to the Haynesville shale on our DeSoto Parish leases and have our first producing Haynesville gas well on line. Our commitment now is to use this success across the entire project so that Mainland gets the maximum value from its unique position in this major gas play."

ABOUT MAINLAND RESOURCES, INC.

     Mainland  Resources  is a junior  company  engaged in the  exploration  and
development of oil and gas resources. The Company's current initiatives are focused on the acquisition and development of leases in emerging gas regions with the potential for discoveries including the Haynesville shale.

       Symbol:    MNLU - OTCBB, Symbol: 5MN; Frankfurt, WKN No.: A0ND6N
       Contact:   Investor Relations (USA)
                  Tel. Toll-free 866-590-6589

                  Investor Relations (Europe)
                  Tel. +49-69-7593-8408

SAFE HARBOR STATEMENT -THIS NEWS RELEASE CONTAINS "FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS", AS THAT TERM IS DEFINED IN SECTION 27A OF THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES ACT OF 1933, AS AMENDED, AND SECTION 21E OF THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934, AS AMENDED. STATEMENTS IN THIS NEWS RELEASE, WHICH ARE NOT PURELY HISTORICAL, ARE FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS AND INCLUDE ANY STATEMENTS REGARDING BELIEFS, PLANS, EXPECTATIONS OR INTENTIONS REGARDING THE FUTURE.

EXCEPT FOR THE HISTORICAL INFORMATION PRESENTED HEREIN, MATTERS DISCUSSED IN THIS NEWS RELEASE CONTAIN FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO CERTAIN RISKS AND UNCERTAINTIES THAT COULD CAUSE ACTUAL RESULTS TO DIFFER MATERIALLY FROM ANY FUTURE RESULTS, PERFORMANCE OR ACHIEVEMENTS EXPRESSED OR IMPLIED BY SUCH STATEMENTS. STATEMENTS THAT ARE NOT HISTORICAL FACTS, INCLUDING STATEMENTS THAT ARE PRECEDED BY, FOLLOWED BY, OR THAT INCLUDE SUCH WORDS AS "ESTIMATE," "ANTICIPATE," "BELIEVE," "PLAN" OR "EXPECT" OR SIMILAR STATEMENTS ARE FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS. RISKS AND UNCERTAINTIES FOR THE COMPANY INCLUDE, BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO, THE RISKS ASSOCIATED WITH PROPERTY DEVELOPMENT AND FUNDING AS WELL AS THE RISKS SHOWN IN THE COMPANY'S MOST RECENT ANNUAL REPORT ON FORM 10-KSB AND ON FORM 10-QSB AND FROM TIME-TO-TIME IN OTHER PUBLICLY AVAILABLE INFORMATION REGARDING THE COMPANY. OTHER RISKS INCLUDE RISKS ASSOCIATED WITH THE REGULATORY APPROVAL PROCESS, COMPETITIVE COMPANIES, FUTURE CAPITAL REQUIREMENTS AND THE COMPANY'S ABILITY AND LEVEL OF SUPPORT FOR ITS EXPLORATION AND DEVELOPMENT ACTIVITIES. THERE CAN BE NO ASSURANCE THAT THE COMPANY'S DEVELOPMENT EFFORTS WILL SUCCEED AND THE COMPANY WILL ULTIMATELY ACHIEVE COMMERCIAL SUCCESS. THESE FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS ARE MADE AS OF THE DATE OF THIS NEWS RELEASE, AND THE COMPANY ASSUMES NO OBLIGATION TO UPDATE THE FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS, OR TO UPDATE THE REASONS WHY ACTUAL RESULTS COULD DIFFER FROM THOSE PROJECTED IN THE FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS. ALTHOUGH THE COMPANY BELIEVES THAT THE BELIEFS, PLANS, EXPECTATIONS AND INTENTIONS CONTAINED IN THIS NEWS RELEASE ARE REASONABLE, THERE CAN BE NO ASSURANCE THOSE BELIEFS, PLANS, EXPECTATIONS OR INTENTIONS WILL PROVE TO BE ACCURATE. INVESTORS SHOULD CONSIDER ALL OF THE INFORMATION SET FORTH HEREIN AND SHOULD ALSO REFER TO THE RISK FACTORS DISCLOSED IN THE COMPANY'S PERIODIC REPORTS FILED FROM TIME-TO-TIME WITH THE UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION.

THIS NEWS RELEASE HAS BEEN PREPARED BY MANAGEMENT OF THE COMPANY WHO TAKES FULL RESPONSIBILITY FOR ITS CONTENTS. EACH OF THE NASD, THE SEC AND THE OTCBB NEITHER APPROVES NOR DISAPPROVES OF THE CONTENTS OF THIS NEWS RELEASE. THIS NEWS RELEASE SHALL NOT CONSTITUTE AN OFFER TO SELL OR THE SOLICITATION OF AN OFFER TO BUY NOR SHALL THERE BE ANY SALE OF THESE SECURITIES IN ANY JURISDICTION IN WHICH SUCH OFFER, SOLICITATION OR SALE WOULD BE UNLAWFUL PRIOR TO REGISTRATION OR QUALIFICATION UNDER THE SECURITIES LAWS OF ANY SUCH JURISDICTION.


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