Exhibit 99.1
HeartWare Files PMA Application for FDA Approval of
the HeartWare® Ventricular Assist System for
a Bridge-to-Transplant Indication
Framingham, Mass. and Sydney, Australia, December 28, 2010- HeartWare International, Inc. (NASDAQ: HTWR; ASX: HIN) today announced that it has submitted a Pre-Market Approval (PMA) application to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for the HeartWare® Ventricular Assist System as a bridge to heart transplantation for patients with end-stage heart failure.
The PMA submission includes data from HeartWare’s pivotal ADVANCE clinical trial, an FDA approved IDE study designed to evaluate the HeartWare® Ventricular Assist System as a bridge to heart transplantation for patients with end-stage heart failure. Under ADVANCE, 140 patients at 30 hospitals in the U.S. received the HeartWare investigational device between August 2008 and February 2010. The final implant in ADVANCE was performed in February 2010, and the last follow-up evaluation at 180-days was in August 2010.
Previously announced results for ADVANCE showed that 92% of the investigational device patients met the per protocol primary endpoint of the trial, which was defined as alive on the originally implanted device, transplanted or explanted for recovery at 180 days. Additionally, ADVANCE demonstrated that 94% of the investigational device patients enrolled in the study achieved a survival endpoint at 180 days.
Results for the comparator arm of the study, derived from 499 contemporaneous patients from the Interagency Registry for Mechanically Assisted Circulatory Support (INTERMACS) demonstrated 90% success of the primary endpoint at 180 days. Based on these results for the primary endpoint of the ADVANCE study, noninferiority of the investigational device was established [p<0.0001].
About HeartWare International
HeartWare International develops and manufactures miniaturized implantable heart pumps, or ventricular assist devices, to treat Class IIIB / IV patients suffering from advanced heart failure. The HeartWare® Ventricular Assist System features the HVAD® pump, a small full-output circulatory support device (up to 10L/min flow) designed to be implanted next to the heart, avoiding the abdominal surgery generally required to implant competing devices. HeartWare has received CE Marking for the HeartWare System in the European Union. The device is currently the subject of United States clinical trials for two indications: bridge-to-transplant under a continued access protocol and destination therapy. For additional information, please visit www.heartware.com.
The HeartWare® Ventricular Assist System is an investigational device in the United States and not yet available commercially in the U.S.

HeartWare International, Inc. is a member of the Russell 2000® and its securities are publicly traded on The NASDAQ Stock Market and the Australian Securities Exchange.
Forward-Looking Statements
This announcement contains forward-looking statements that are based on management’s beliefs, assumptions and expectations and on information currently available to management. All statements that address operating performance, events or developments that we expect or anticipate will occur in the future are forward-looking statements, including without limitation our expectations with respect to the progress of, and presentation of data related to, clinical trials, expected timing of FDA regulatory filings, FDA acceptance of our filings and research and development activities. Management believes that these forward-looking statements are reasonable as and when made. However, you should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements because they speak only as of the date when made. HeartWare does not assume any obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise. HeartWare may not actually achieve the plans, projections or expectations disclosed in forward-looking statements, and actual results, developments or events could differ materially from those disclosed in the forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements are subject to a number of risks and uncertainties, including without limitation, the possibility the FDA does not accept our PMA application or approve the marketing of the HeartWare® Ventricular Assist System in the U.S., and those described in “Item 1A. Risk Factors” in our Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission. We may update our risk factors from time to time in “Part II, Item 1A “Risk Factors” in our Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q, or other current reports, as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.
For further information:
Christopher Taylor
HeartWare International, Inc.
Email: ctaylor@heartwareinc.com
Phone: +1 508 739 0864
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