Exhibit 99.1

ChromaDex Appoints Kurt Gustafson to its Board of Directors

IRVINE, Calif., Oct. 27, 2016 – ChromaDex Corp. (NASDAQ: CDXC), an innovator of proprietary health, wellness and nutritional ingredients that creates science-based solutions for dietary supplement, food and beverage, skin care, sports nutrition, and pharmaceutical products, announced today that Kurt Gustafson has joined the Company’s board of directors. Mr. Gustafson will also serve as chair of ChromaDex’s audit committee.

Mr. Gustafson, age 48, has more than 25 years of diverse experience in corporate finance. He currently serves as chief financial officer, principal accounting officer and executive vice president of Spectrum Pharmaceuticals, Inc. He previously served as the chief financial officer of Halozyme Therapeutics, Inc. (2009 – 2013). From 1991 to 2009 he worked at Amgen, holding various financial roles as vice president finance, chief financial officer of Amgen International and treasurer. Prior to joining Amgen, he worked in public accounting as staff auditor at Laventhol & Horwath in Chicago. He has been an independent director of Xencor, Inc. since 2014. Mr. Gustafson holds a B.A. degree in Accounting from North Park University in Chicago and an M.B.A from University of California, Los Angeles.

About ChromaDex:
ChromaDex leverages its complementary business units to discover, acquire, develop and commercialize patented and proprietary ingredient technologies that address the dietary supplement, food, beverage, skin care and pharmaceutical markets. In addition to our ingredient technologies unit, we also have business units focused on natural product fine chemicals (known as "phytochemicals"), chemistry and analytical testing services, and product regulatory and safety consulting (known as Spherix Consulting). As a result of our relationships with leading universities and research institutions, we are able to discover and license early stage, IP-backed ingredient technologies. We then utilize our in-house chemistry, regulatory and safety consulting business units to develop commercially viable ingredients. Our ingredient portfolio is backed with clinical and scientific research, as well as extensive IP protection. Our portfolio of patented ingredient technologies includes NIAGEN® nicotinamide riboside; pTeroPure® pterostilbene; PURENERGY®, a caffeine-pTeroPure® co-crystal; IMMULINA™, a spirulina extract; and AnthOrigin™, anthocyanins derived from a domestically-produced, water-extracted purple corn. To learn more about ChromaDex, please visit www.ChromaDex.com.

Forward-Looking Statements:
This release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities and Exchange Act of 1934, as amended. Statements that are not a description of historical facts constitute forward-looking statements and may often, but not always, be identified by the use of such words as "expects", "anticipates", "intends", "estimates", "plans", "potential", "possible", "probable", "believes", "seeks", "may", "will", "should", "could" or the negative of such terms or other similar expressions. More detailed information about ChromaDex and the risk factors that may affect the realization of forward-looking statements is set forth in ChromaDex's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 2, 2016, ChromaDex's Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q and other filings submitted by ChromaDex to the SEC, copies of which may be obtained from the SEC's website at www.sec.gov. Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof, and actual results may differ materially from those suggested by these forward-looking statements. All forward-looking statements are qualified in their entirety by this cautionary statement and ChromaDex undertakes no obligation to revise or update this release to reflect events or circumstances after the date hereof.

ChromaDex Public Relations Contact:
Breah Ostendorf, Director of Marketing
949-537-4103
breaho@chromadex.com

ChromaDex Investor Relations Contact:
Andrew Johnson, Director of Investor Relations
949-419-0288
andrewj@chromadex.com

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