May 7, 2012
3rd Quarter 2012 Earnings Call

Disclaimer
This presentation may contain statements that relate to future events and expectations and, as such, constitute
"forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the federal securities laws. These statements can be
identified by the use of words such as “believes,” “expects,” “may,” “will,” “intends,” “plans,” “estimates” or
“anticipates,” or other comparable terminology, or by discussions of strategy, plans or intentions. These
statements are based on management’s current expectations and assumptions about the industries in which
Globe operates. Globe disclaims any intention or obligation to update publicly any forward-looking statements,
whether in response to new information, future events or otherwise, except as required by applicable law.
Forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance and are subject to significant risks and
uncertainties that may cause actual results or achievements to be materially different from the future results or
achievements expressed or implied by the forward-looking statements. These risks and uncertainties include,
but are not limited to, those risks and uncertainties described in Globe’s most recent Annual Report on Form 10
-K, including under “Special Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” and Globe’s
quarterly reports on Form 10-Q. These reports can be accessed through the “Investors” section of Globe’s
website at www.glbsm.com.
All references to “MT” or “tons” mean metric tons, each of which equals 2,204.6 pounds.

3rd Quarter 2012 Financial Highlights
n As expected, EBITDA in the third quarter declined due to the renewal of annual silicon
 metal contracts at lower prices
n Total shipments in the third quarter increased almost 20% from the second quarter
 following the completion of major maintenance on 6 of our 14 furnaces and the restart of
 the Bridgeport furnace after the fire
n Sales in the third quarter increased 5% from the second quarter despite a 10% decrease
 in average selling prices
n Cost per ton of goods sold declined 6% from the second quarter due to the restart of
 Bridgeport and completion of major maintenance at the end of calendar 2011
n EBITDA totaled $28.4 million in the quarter, which was a $2.4 million decline from the
 second quarter
n Generated cash from operations of $23.0 million in the third quarter, up from $12.3
 million in the second quarter

3rd Quarter 2012 Special Items

Sequential Quarter Pro Forma Sales Bridge

Sequential Quarter Pro Forma Sales Bridge, $m

Sequential Quarter Pro Forma EBITDA Bridge

Sequential Quarter Pro Forma EBITDA Bridge, $m

May 7, 2012
3rd Quarter 2012 Earnings Call