February 6, 2012
2nd Quarter 2012 Earnings Call

Disclaimer
This presentation may contain statements that relate to future events and expectations and, as such, constitute
"forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the federal securities laws. These statements can be
identified by the use of words such as “believes,” “expects,” “may,” “will,” “intends,” “plans,” “estimates” or
“anticipates,” or other comparable terminology, or by discussions of strategy, plans or intentions. These
statements are based on management’s current expectations and assumptions about the industries in which
Globe operates. Globe disclaims any intention or obligation to update publicly any forward-looking statements,
whether in response to new information, future events or otherwise, except as required by applicable law.
Forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance and are subject to significant risks and
uncertainties that may cause actual results or achievements to be materially different from the future results or
achievements expressed or implied by the forward-looking statements. These risks and uncertainties include,
but are not limited to, those risks and uncertainties described in Globe’s most recent Annual Report on Form 10
-K, including under “Special Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements” and “Risk Factors” and Globe’s
quarterly reports on Form 10-Q. These reports can be accessed through the “Investors” section of Globe’s
website at www.glbsm.com.
All references to “MT” or “tons” mean metric tons, each of which equals 2,204.6 pounds.

2nd Quarter 2012 Financial Highlights
n Fiscal second quarter results declined from the first quarter due to several factors:
 Ø Bridgeport fire
 Ø Incremental costs from six planned maintenance and upgrade outages
 Ø Power hedge mark-to-market and foreign exchange
 Ø Lower volume shipped in quarter
n EBITDA totaled $30.8 million in the quarter, which was a $10.5 million decline from the
 first quarter.
n Adding back the impact of the Bridgeport fire and transaction-related expense, EBITDA
 on a comparable basis was $36.6 million, for a decline of $5.9 million.
n Sales in the second quarter declined 5% from the first quarter as shipments declined
 5%, or 3,000 MT, and average selling price remained approximately the same.
n Decreased shipments of silicon-based alloys accounted for approximately two-thirds of
 the volume decline and silicon metal shipments accounted for the other third.

2nd Quarter 2012 Special Items

Sequential Quarter Pro Forma Sales Bridge

February 6, 2012
2nd Quarter 2012 Earnings Call