1st Quarter 2012 Earnings Call
November 8, 2011

Disclaimer
This presentation may contain statements that relate to future events and expectations and, as such, constitute "forward
-looking statements" within the meaning of the federal securities laws. These statements can be identified by the use of
words such as “believes,” “expects,” “may,” “will,” “intends,” “plans,” “estimates” or “anticipates,” or other
comparable terminology, or by discussions of strategy, plans or intentions. These statements are based on
management’s current expectations and assumptions about the industries in which Globe operates. Globe disclaims any
intention or obligation to update publicly any forward-looking statements, whether in response to new information,
future events or otherwise, except as required by applicable law. Forward-looking statements are not guarantees of
future performance and are subject to significant risks and uncertainties that may cause actual results or achievements
to be materially different from the future results or achievements expressed or implied by the forward-looking
statements. These risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to, those risks and uncertainties described in
Globe’s most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K, including under “Special Note Regarding Forward-Looking
Statements” and “Risk Factors” and Globe’s quarterly reports on Form 10-Q. These reports can be accessed through
the “Investors” section of Globe’s website at www.glbsm.com.
All references to “MT” or “tons” mean metric tons, each of which equals 2,204.6 pounds.

1st Quarter 2012 Financial Highlights

 n EBITDA, on a comparable basis, of $42.5 million was only $1.3 million lower
 than the fourth quarter which was better than expected. Results were
 helped by ferrosilicon shipments and an unrealized foreign exchange gain.
 n Sales remained flat with the fourth quarter as higher selling prices and
 modest initial coal sales offset lower shipments.
 n As expected, gross profit declined slightly as a result of a mix shift towards
 ferrosilicon as we built silicon metal inventory for shipment in the second
 quarter.
 n DEPS, on a comparable basis, remained flat with the fourth quarter,
 primarily due to the unrealized foreign exchange gain and lower tax rate
 offsetting the gross profit decline from the mix shift.
 n We closed the acquisition of Alden Resources in July 2011 and are executing
 the integration strategy. We secured a $50 million term loan led by BNP
 Paribas.

1st Quarter 2012 Reported Results

1st Quarter 2012 Special Items

Sequential Pro Forma Adjusted Income Statement
Summary

Sequential Pro Forma Sales Bridge

Sequential Pro Forma EBITDA Bridge

Cash Flow Overview

1st Quarter 2012 Earnings Call
November 8, 2011