Exhibit 99.1
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Melco Crown Entertainment Limited Announces Follow-on Public Offering
New York, April 28, 2009 — Melco Crown Entertainment Limited (NASDAQ: MPEL), a developer and owner of casino gaming and entertainment resort facilities focused on the Macau market, today announced that it is commencing a public offering of 15,000,000 ADSs (representing 45,000,000 ordinary shares) and an additional 56,250,000 ordinary shares. Each ADS represents three ordinary shares of Melco Crown Entertainment. In connection with the offering, Melco Crown Entertainment has granted an option to purchase up to an additional 3,750,000 ADSs (representing 11,250,000 ordinary shares) to the underwriters of the offering for the purpose of covering over-allotments. Deutsche Bank Securities Inc. is acting as sole bookrunner for the offering and Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Incorporated and Oppenheimer & Co. Inc. are acting as co-managers for the offering.
A special purpose vehicle that is fifty-fifty percent owned by Melco Crown Entertainment’s two largest shareholders, Melco International Development Limited and Crown Limited, has committed to purchase the 56,250,000 ordinary shares being offered, which will constitute 50% of the total transaction value if the underwriters’ over-allotment option is exercised in full.
Melco Crown Entertainment’s registration statement relating to the securities offered in the follow-on public offering was declared effective as of April 21, 2009 by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. This press release does not constitute an offer to sell or a solicitation of an offer to buy any securities, nor shall there be any sale of these securities in any state or jurisdiction in which such an offer, solicitation

or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such state or jurisdiction. The offering of these shares is being made only by means of a prospectus supplement and related prospectus. A copy of the prospectus relating to this offering may be obtained from Deutsche Bank Securities, Attn: Prospectus Department, 100 Plaza One, Jersey City, NJ 07311, telephone number: +1-800-503-4611, email: prospectusrequest@list.db.com.
Safe Harbor Statement
This announcement contains forward-looking statements. These statements are made under the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. In some cases, forward-looking statements can be identified by words or phrases such as “may,” “will,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “target,” “aim,” “estimate,” “intend,” “plan,” “believe,” “potential,” “continue,” “is/are likely to” or other similar expressions. Melco Crown Entertainment Limited (the “Company”) may also make written or oral forward-looking statements in its periodic reports to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, in its annual report to shareholders, in press releases and other written materials and in oral statements made by its officers, directors or employees to third parties. Statements that are not historical facts, including statements about the Company’s beliefs and expectations, are forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements involve inherent risks and uncertainties. A number of factors could cause actual results to differ materially from those contained in any forward-looking statement, including but not limited to the following: growth of the gaming market and visitation in Macau; finalization of credit facilities to finance construction of projects; the completion of the construction of our hotel casino resort projects; our acquisition and development of the Macau Peninsula site; increased competition and other planned casino hotel and resort projects in Macau and elsewhere in Asia; the completion of infrastructure projects in Macau; government regulation of the casino industry; our ability to raise additional financing; obtaining approval from the Macau government for an increase in the developable gross floor area of the City of Dreams site; the formal grant of an

occupancy permit for City of Dreams; our anticipated growth strategies; and our future business development, results of operations and financial condition. Further information regarding these and other risks is included in our Annual Report on Form 20-F filed on March 31, 2009 and other documents filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission. The Company does not undertake any obligation to update any forward-looking statement, except as required under applicable law. All information provided in this press release is as of the date of this release, and the Company undertakes no duty to update such information, except as required under applicable law.
About Melco Crown Entertainment Limited
Melco Crown Entertainment Limited is a developer, owner and through a Macau subsidiary which holds a gaming sub-concession, an operator of casino gaming and entertainment casino resort facilities. The Company’s first property, Altira Macau (www.altiramacau.com) (formerly known as Crown Macau), opened on May 12, 2007. Other development projects include City of Dreams, an integrated urban casino resort located in Cotai, Macau. The Company’s business also includes the Mocha Clubs (www.mochaclubs.com), which feature a total of approximately 1,300 gaming machines in eight locations and comprise the largest non-casino based operations of electronic gaming machines in Macau. The Company has entered into an agreement, subject to certain conditions, to acquire a third development site on the Macau Peninsula. For more information about the Company, please visit www.melco-crown.com.
The Company has strong support from both of its major shareholders, Melco International Development Limited (“Melco”) and Crown Limited (“Crown”). Melco is a listed company on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange and is substantially owned and led by Mr. Lawrence Ho, who is Co-Chairman, a Director and the CEO of the Company. Crown is a top-100 company listed on the Australian Stock Exchange and led by Executive Chairman James Packer, who is also Co-Chairman and a Director of the Company.

For further information, please contact:

Geoffrey Davis, CFA
Senior Vice President — Corporate Finance
Tel: +1 212 671 1936
Email: geoffreydavis@melco-crown.com