Exhibit 99.1

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Contact:
Katie Strohacker, Director of Investor Relations
(617) 796-8251
www.ta-petro.com

TravelCenters of America LLC Announces Second Quarter 2014 Results

Income Before Income Taxes up 45%

Westlake, OH (September 30, 2014):  TravelCenters of America LLC (NYSE: TA) today announced financial results for the three and six months ended June 30, 2014.

At June 30, 2014, TA’s business included 248 travel centers in 43 U.S. states and in Canada, 173 of which were operated under the “TravelCenters of America” or “TA” brand names and 75 of which were operated under the “Petro” brand name.  At June 30, 2014, TA also operated 34 convenience stores with retail gas stations, primarily under the “Minit Mart” brand name. TA’s results were:

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2014	2013	2014	2013
	(in thousands, except per share amounts)

Revenues	$2,076,109	$2,018,754	$4,043,418	$3,976,105
Income before income taxes	$22,622	$15,643	$22,841	$3,238
Net income	$13,634	$15,984	$13,831	$3,845

Net income per share:
Basic and diluted	$0.36	$0.54	$0.37	$0.13

Supplemental Data:
Total fuel sales volume (gallons)	517,205	521,086	1,012,052	1,016,799
Total fuel revenues	$1,658,172	$1,635,400	$3,247,818	$3,260,507
Fuel gross margin	$99,123	$89,812	$191,440	$166,740

Total nonfuel sales	$414,854	$380,041	$789,520	$709,235
Nonfuel gross margin	$222,887	$208,103	$429,137	$391,932
Nonfuel gross margin percentage	53.7%	54.8%	54.4%	55.3%

EBITDAR(1)	$97,003	$86,618	$171,844	$143,586

(1)   A reconciliation of earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, amortization and rent, or EBITDAR, from net income determined in accordance with U.S. generally accepted accounting principles, or GAAP, appears in the supplemental data below.

Business Commentary

TA’s EBITDAR for the second quarter of 2014 increased by approximately $10.4 million, or 12.0%, to $97.0 million, versus EBITDAR for the 2013 second quarter of $86.6 million.  The increase in EBITDAR is primarily attributable to an increase in fuel gross margin

per gallon, which averaged $0.192 during the 2014 second quarter versus $0.172 during the 2013 second quarter, and the continued improvements in the results of sites TA acquired in 2011 through 2013.

Income before income taxes for the second quarter of 2014 was $22.6 million, reflecting a $7.0 million, or 44.6% increase over income before income taxes for the 2013 second quarter of $15.6 million.  The dollar amount of this increase was less than the dollar amount of the increase in EBITDAR for the 2014 second quarter versus the 2013 second quarter due to increased depreciation associated with our investments in our new and existing sites and rent expense that principally is associated with sales of improvements to Hospitality Properties Trust, or HPT, our principal landlord.

Net income for the second quarter of 2014 was $13.6 million ($0.36 per share), reflecting a $2.4 million decrease from the net income for the 2013 second quarter of $16.0 million ($0.54 per share).  The decrease in net income for the 2014 period was due to increased income tax provision as a result of TA having reversed most of its valuation allowance against its deferred tax assets in the 2013 fourth quarter.  In the 2013 period, the income tax provision was small, largely because TA was able to offset income tax provision with deferred tax assets not previously recognized in light of TA’s then having a full valuation allowance against its deferred tax assets.

Capital improvements to recently purchased travel centers are often substantial and require a long period of time to plan, design, permit and complete, and once improvements are completed the improved travel centers require a period of time to produce stabilized financial results.  TA estimates that the travel centers it acquires generally will reach stabilization in approximately the third year after acquisition, but actual results can vary widely from this estimate due to many factors, some of which are outside TA’s control.  The 31 travel centers and 31 gas/convenience stores TA acquired during 2011 through 2014 generated gross revenues in excess of cost of goods sold and site level operating expenses as follows:

	Number of	Three Months Ended June 30,
(amounts in thousands, except numbers of properties)	Properties Acquired	2014	2013
Properties acquired in 2011	6	$3,858	$1,848
Properties acquired in 2012	14	5,434	4,208
Properties acquired in 2013	41(1)	4,646	593
Properties acquired in 2014	1	52	—
Total	62	$13,990	$6,649

	Number of	Twelve Months Ended June 30,
(amounts in thousands, except numbers of properties)	Properties Acquired	2014	2013
Properties acquired in 2011	6	$13,693	$6,018
Properties acquired in 2012	14	17,312	7,083
Properties acquired in 2013	41(1)	9,832	855
Properties acquired in 2014	1	(146)	—
Total	62	$40,691	$13,956

(1)              Includes 31 convenience stores acquired in December 2013; all other acquisitions are travel centers.

The amounts presented in the above tables are the amounts recognized during the periods presented (from the beginning of the period shown, or if later, the date TA began to operate such property for its own account).

Thomas M. O’Brien, TA’s CEO, made the following statement regarding the 2014 second quarter results:

“Our second quarter 2014 results included strong growth in key measures like EBITDAR and pre-tax income, and continued the growth of financial contributions from our recently acquired sites, including travel centers and convenience stores. Since the end of the second quarter, we closed the acquisitions of two additional travel center properties and entered agreements to acquire three travel centers and seven gasoline/convenience stores.”

Investment Activity

During the six months ended June 30, 2014, TA purchased a travel center for $3.2 million and made capital investments of $60.6 million, including $10.9 million to improve locations TA purchased since the beginning of 2011.  During the third quarter of 2014, TA completed two acquisitions of travel centers for an aggregate amount of approximately $22.6 million.  TA currently intends to continue its efforts to selectively acquire additional properties.

The table below shows the number of properties acquired by year, the amounts TA has invested through June 30, 2014, and the total estimated additional amounts TA currently plans to invest in the near term in these properties.

	Site Count	Acquisition Cost	Renovation Cost Incurred Through June 30, 2014	Additional Estimated Renovation Cost to be Spent
Properties acquired in 2011	6	$36,333	$47,737	$—
Properties acquired in 2012	14	46,910	33,603	—
Properties acquired in 2013(1)	41	111,602	25,259	26,060
Properties acquired in 2014 first quarter	1	2,999	1,706	4,012
Total	62	$197,844	$108,305	$30,072

(1)  Includes 31 convenience stores acquired in December 2013.

Supplemental Data

In addition to the historical financial results prepared in accordance with GAAP, TA furnishes supplemental data that it believes may help investors better understand TA’s business.  Included in this supplemental data is same site operating data for the locations that were operated by TA continuously since the beginning of the earliest applicable period presented and operating data for those sites that TA acquired since the beginning of 2011.  A presentation of EBITDAR, and a reconciliation that shows the calculation of EBITDAR from net income, the most directly comparable financial measure calculated and presented in accordance with GAAP, also appears in the supplemental data.

Conference Call:

On Tuesday, September 30, 2014, at 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time, TA will host a conference call to discuss its financial results and other activities for the three months ended June 30, 2014.  Following management’s remarks, there will be a question and answer period.

The conference call telephone number is (800) 230-1096.  Participants calling from outside the United States and Canada should dial (612) 332-0634.  No pass code is necessary to access the call from either number.  Participants should dial in about 15 minutes prior to the scheduled start of the call.  A replay of the conference call will be available for about a week after the call.  To hear the replay, dial (320) 365-3844.  The replay pass code is 337794.

A live audio webcast of the conference call will also be available in a listen only mode on our web site at www.ta-petro.com.  To access the webcast, participants should visit our web site about five minutes before the call.  The archived webcast will be available for replay on our web site for about one week after the call.  The transcription, recording and retransmission in any way of TA’s second quarter conference call is strictly prohibited without the prior written consent of TA.  The Company’s website is not incorporated as part of this press release.

About TravelCenters of America LLC:

TA’s travel centers operate under the “TravelCenters of America”, “TA”, “Petro Stopping Centers” and “Petro” brand names and offer diesel and gasoline fueling, restaurants, truck repair facilities, stores and other services.  TA’s nationwide business includes travel centers located in 43 U.S. states and in Canada.  TA also operates convenience stores with gasoline stations principally under the “Minit Mart” brand name, primarily in Kentucky.

WARNING CONCERNING FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS

THIS PRESS RELEASE CONTAINS STATEMENTS THAT CONSTITUTE FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE PRIVATE SECURITIES LITIGATION REFORM ACT OF 1995 AND OTHER SECURITIES LAWS.  ALSO, WHENEVER TA USES WORDS SUCH AS ‘‘BELIEVE’’, ‘‘EXPECT’’, ‘‘ANTICIPATE’’, ‘‘INTEND’’, ‘‘PLAN’’, ‘‘ESTIMATE’’ OR SIMILAR EXPRESSIONS, TA IS MAKING FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS.  THESE FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS ARE BASED UPON TA’S PRESENT INTENT, BELIEFS OR EXPECTATIONS, BUT FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS ARE NOT GUARANTEED TO OCCUR AND MAY NOT OCCUR.  ACTUAL RESULTS MAY DIFFER MATERIALLY FROM THOSE CONTAINED IN OR IMPLIED BY FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS AS A RESULT OF VARIOUS FACTORS.  AMONG OTHERS, THE FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS WHICH APPEAR IN THIS PRESS RELEASE THAT MAY NOT OCCUR INCLUDE:

·                  THIS PRESS RELEASE IMPLIES THAT THE OPERATIONS AT MANY SITES ACQUIRED SINCE THE BEGINNING OF 2011 HAVE NOT YET REACHED THE STABILIZED FINANCIAL RESULTS TA CURRENTLY EXPECTS AND STATES THAT TA ESTIMATES THAT ACQUIRED TRAVEL CENTERS GENERALLY WILL REACH STABILIZATION IN APPROXIMATELY THE THIRD YEAR AFTER ACQUISITION AND THAT THE IMPROVEMENTS IN EBITDAR FOR THE SECOND QUARTER OF 2014 AS COMPARED TO THE SAME PERIOD IN 2013 ARE PARTIALLY ATTRIBUTABLE TO THE IMPROVED RESULTS AT RECENTLY ACQUIRED SITES.  THESE STATEMENTS MAY IMPLY THAT TA’S EXPECTED STABILIZATION WILL IN FACT BE REALIZED AND WILL RESULT IN INCREASES IN TA’S EBITDAR AND NET INCOME IN THE FUTURE.  HOWEVER, TA’S ABILITY TO OPERATE THESE LOCATIONS PROFITABLY DEPENDS UPON MANY FACTORS, INCLUDING TA’S ABILITY TO SUCCESSFULLY INTEGRATE NEW OPERATIONS INTO ITS EXISTING OPERATIONS AND OTHER FACTORS, SOME OF WHICH ARE BEYOND TA’S CONTROL;

·      THIS PRESS RELEASE REFERENCES ACQUISITIONS THAT HAVE BEEN AGREED UPON BUT THAT HAVE NOT BEEN COMPLETED AS OF THE DATE OF THIS PRESS RELEASE.  IMPLICATIONS OF THESE STATEMENTS MAY BE THAT THESE ACQUISITIONS WILL BE COMPLETED AND THAT THEY MAY IMPROVE TA’S FUTURE PROFITS.  HOWEVER, THESE ACQUISITIONS ARE SUBJECT TO CONDITIONS AND MAY NOT BE COMPLETED OR MAY BE DELAYED OR THEIR TERMS MAY CHANGE. MOREOVER, MANAGING AND INTEGRATING OPERATIONS OF ACQUIRED TRAVEL CENTERS AND CONVENIENCE STORES CAN BE DIFFICULT TO CONDUCT, TIME CONSUMING AND/OR MORE EXPENSIVE THAN ANTICIPATED AND INVOLVE RISKS OF FINANCIAL LOSSES.  TA MAY NOT OPERATE ITS ACQUIRED LOCATIONS AS PROFITABLY AS IT NOW EXPECTS; AND

·                  THIS PRESS RELEASE STATES THAT TA CURRENTLY INTENDS TO CONTINUE ITS EFFORTS TO SELECTIVELY ACQUIRE ADDITIONAL PROPERTIES.  THE IMPLICATIONS OF THIS STATEMENT MAY BE THAT TA WILL BE ABLE TO IDENTIFY AND COMPLETE ADDITIONAL ACQUISITIONS.  HOWEVER, TA MAY NOT SUCCEED IN IDENTIFYING AND/OR ACQUIRING OTHER PROPERTIES OR PROFITABLY OPERATE ANY PROPERTIES IT MAY ACQUIRE.

THESE AND OTHER UNEXPECTED RESULTS MAY BE CAUSED BY VARIOUS FACTORS, SOME OF WHICH ARE BEYOND TA’S CONTROL, INCLUDING:

·                  THE TREND TOWARDS IMPROVED FUEL EFFICIENCY BY TA’S CUSTOMERS MAY CONTINUE TO REDUCE THE DEMAND FOR FUEL AND MAY ADVERSELY AFFECT TA’S BUSINESS;

·                  THE IMPACT OF CHANGES IN THE ECONOMY AND THE CAPITAL MARKETS ON TA, ITS CUSTOMERS AND ITS FRANCHISEES;

·                  COMPLIANCE WITH, AND CHANGES TO, FEDERAL, STATE AND LOCAL LAWS AND REGULATIONS, ACCOUNTING RULES, TAX RATES, ENVIRONMENTAL REGULATIONS AND SIMILAR MATTERS;

·                  COMPETITION WITHIN THE TRAVEL CENTER AND CONVENIENCE STORE INDUSTRIES;

·                  FUTURE FUEL PRICE INCREASES, FUEL PRICE VOLATILITY OR OTHER FACTORS MAY CAUSE TA TO NEED MORE WORKING CAPITAL TO MAINTAIN ITS INVENTORIES AND CARRY ITS ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE THAN TA NOW EXPECTS;

·                  ACQUISITIONS MAY SUBJECT TA TO ADDITIONAL OR GREATER RISKS THAN TA’S CONTINUING OPERATIONS, INCLUDING THE ASSUMPTION OF UNKNOWN LIABILITIES;

·                  FUTURE INCREASES IN FUEL PRICES MAY REDUCE THE DEMAND FOR THE PRODUCTS AND SERVICES THAT TA SELLS BECAUSE HIGH FUEL PRICES MAY ENCOURAGE FUEL CONSERVATION, DIRECT FREIGHT BUSINESS AWAY FROM TRUCKING OR OTHERWISE ADVERSELY AFFECT THE BUSINESS OF TA’S CUSTOMERS. SOME OF THESE FACTORS MAY OCCUR OR CONTINUE EVEN IF FUEL PRICES DO NOT INCREASE;

·                  TA’S SUPPLIERS MAY BE UNWILLING OR UNABLE TO MAINTAIN TA’S CURRENT CREDIT TERMS FOR PURCHASES.  IF TA IS UNABLE TO PURCHASE GOODS ON REASONABLE CREDIT TERMS, TA’S REQUIRED WORKING CAPITAL MAY INCREASE AND TA MAY INCUR MATERIAL LOSSES.  IN TIMES OF RISING FUEL AND NONFUEL PRICES, TA’S SUPPLIERS MAY BE UNWILLING OR UNABLE TO INCREASE THE CREDIT AMOUNTS THEY EXTEND TO TA, WHICH MAY REQUIRE TA TO INCREASE ITS WORKING CAPITAL INVESTMENT.  THE AVAILABILITY AND THE TERMS OF ANY CREDIT TA MAY BE ABLE TO OBTAIN ARE UNCERTAIN;

·                  MOST OF TA’S TRUCKING COMPANY CUSTOMERS TRANSACT BUSINESS WITH TA BY USE OF FUEL CARDS, MOST OF WHICH ARE ISSUED BY THIRD PARTY FUEL CARD COMPANIES.  THE FUEL CARD INDUSTRY HAS ONLY A FEW SIGNIFICANT PARTICIPANTS.  FUEL CARD COMPANIES FACILITATE PAYMENTS TO TA AND CHARGE TA FEES FOR

THESE SERVICES.  COMPETITION, OR LACK THEREOF, AMONG FUEL CARD COMPANIES MAY RESULT IN FUTURE INCREASES IN TA’S TRANSACTION FEE EXPENSES OR WORKING CAPITAL REQUIREMENTS, OR BOTH;

·                  TA’S FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE ITS ANNUAL REPORT ON FORM 10-K FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2013, AND ITS QUARTERLY REPORTS OF FORM 10-Q FOR THE FISCAL QUARTERS ENDED MARCH 31, AND JUNE 30, 2014, AND ITS CONSEQUENT INABILITY TO USE ITS SHELF REGISTRATION STATEMENT ON FORM S-3 UNTIL IT HAS BEEN CURRENT IN ITS FILINGS UNDER THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT FOR A PERIOD OF AT LEAST ONE YEAR MAY NEGATIVELY IMPACT TA’S ABILITY TO ISSUE NEW DEBT AND EQUITY SECURITIES;

·                  TA IS ROUTINELY INVOLVED IN LITIGATION AND OTHER LEGAL MATTERS INCIDENTAL TO THE ORDINARY COURSE OF ITS BUSINESS.  DISCOVERY AND COURT DECISIONS DURING LITIGATION OFTEN HAVE UNANTICIPATED RESULTS.  LITIGATION IS USUALLY EXPENSIVE AND DISTRACTING TO MANAGEMENT.  TA CAN PROVIDE NO ASSURANCE AS TO THE OUTCOME OF ANY OF THE LITIGATION MATTERS IN WHICH IT IS OR MAY BECOME INVOLVED;

·                  ACTS OF TERRORISM, GEOPOLITICAL RISKS, WARS OR OTHER MANMADE OR NATURAL DISASTERS BEYOND TA’S CONTROL MAY ADVERSELY AFFECT TA’S FINANCIAL RESULTS;

·                  ALTHOUGH TA BELIEVES THAT IT BENEFITS FROM ITS CONTINUING RELATIONSHIPS WITH HPT, REIT MANAGEMENT & RESEARCH LLC, OR RMR, AFFILIATES INSURANCE COMPANY, OR AIC, AND THEIR AFFILIATED AND RELATED PERSONS AND ENTITIES, ACTUAL AND POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST WITH HPT, RMR, AIC AND THEIR AFFILIATED AND RELATED PERSONS AND ENTITIES MAY PRESENT A CONTRARY PERCEPTION OR RESULT IN LITIGATION;

·                  AS A RESULT OF CERTAIN TRADING IN TA’S SHARES DURING 2007, TA EXPERIENCED AN OWNERSHIP CHANGE AS DEFINED BY SECTION 382 OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE, OR THE CODE; CONSEQUENTLY, TA MAY BE UNABLE TO USE ITS NET OPERATING LOSS GENERATED IN 2007 TO OFFSET FUTURE TAXABLE INCOME TA MAY GENERATE AND MAY OTHERWISE SUFFER LIMITATION OF TAX BENEFITS.  IF TA EXPERIENCES ADDITIONAL OWNERSHIP CHANGES, AS DEFINED IN THE CODE, TA’S ABILITY TO USE ITS NET OPERATING LOSSES GENERATED AFTER 2007 COULD BE LIMITED OR ELIMINATED; AND

·                  TA’S LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY AGREEMENT AND BYLAWS AND CERTAIN OF TA’S OTHER AGREEMENTS AND BUSINESS LICENSES, INCLUDING LICENSES TO OPERATE GAMING ACTIVITIES, INCLUDE VARIOUS PROVISIONS WHICH MAY DETER A CHANGE OF CONTROL OF TA AND, AS A RESULT, TA’S SHAREHOLDERS MAY BE UNABLE TO REALIZE A TAKEOVER PREMIUM FOR THEIR SHARES.

RESULTS THAT DIFFER FROM THOSE STATED OR IMPLIED BY TA’S FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS MAY ALSO BE CAUSED BY VARIOUS CHANGES IN TA’S BUSINESS OR MARKET CONDITIONS, AS DESCRIBED MORE FULLY IN TA’S PERIODIC REPORTS, INCLUDING TA’S ANNUAL REPORT ON FORM 10-K FOR THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2013, FILED WITH THE U.S. SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION, OR “SEC”, AND TA’S QUARTERLY REPORT ON FORM 10-Q FOR THE PERIOD ENDED JUNE 30, 2014, WHICH HAS BEEN OR WILL BE FILED WITH THE SEC, UNDER “WARNING CONCERNING FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS,” AND “RISK FACTORS” AND ELSEWHERE IN THOSE REPORTS.  COPIES OF THOSE REPORTS ARE OR WILL BE AVAILABLE AT THE WEBSITE OF THE U.S. SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION: WWW.SEC.GOV.

YOU SHOULD NOT PLACE UNDUE RELIANCE UPON FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS.  EXCEPT AS REQUIRED BY LAW, TA UNDERTAKES NO OBLIGATION TO UPDATE OR REVISE ANY FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS AS A RESULT OF NEW INFORMATION, FUTURE EVENTS OR OTHERWISE.

TRAVELCENTERS OF AMERICA LLC

CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS (UNAUDITED)

(in thousands, except per share data)

	Three Months Ended June 30,
	2014	2013
Revenues:
Fuel	$1,658,172	$1,635,400
Nonfuel	414,854	380,041
Rent and royalties	3,083	3,313
Total revenues	2,076,109	2,018,754

Cost of goods sold (excluding depreciation):
Fuel	1,559,049	1,545,588
Nonfuel	191,967	171,938
Total cost of goods sold (excluding depreciation)	1,751,016	1,717,526

Operating expenses:
Site level operating	203,526	190,646
Selling, general & administrative	25,100	24,482
Real estate rent	53,731	52,104
Depreciation and amortization	15,797	14,025
Total operating expenses	298,154	281,257

Income from operations	26,939	19,971

Acquisition costs	(149)	(205)
Interest income	45	307
Interest expense	(4,213)	(4,430)
Income before income taxes	22,622	15,643
Provision for income taxes	9,673	382
Income from equity investees	685	723
Net income	$13,634	$15,984

Net income per share:
Basic and diluted	$0.36	$0.54

These financial statements should be read in conjunction with TA’s Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2014, to be filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

TRAVELCENTERS OF AMERICA LLC

CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS (UNAUDITED)

(in thousands, except per share data)

	Six Months Ended June 30,
	2014	2013
Revenues:
Fuel	$3,247,818	$3,260,507
Nonfuel	789,520	709,235
Rent and royalties	6,080	6,363
Total revenues	4,043,418	3,976,105

Cost of goods sold (excluding depreciation):
Fuel	3,056,378	3,093,767
Nonfuel	360,383	317,303
Total cost of goods sold (excluding depreciation)	3,416,761	3,411,070

Operating expenses:
Site level operating	403,097	374,579
Selling, general & administrative	51,896	47,709
Real estate rent	107,935	103,988
Depreciation and amortization	31,925	27,248
Total operating expenses	594,853	553,524

Income from operations	31,804	11,511

Acquisition costs	(759)	(320)
Interest income	84	542
Interest expense	(8,288)	(8,495)
Income before income taxes	22,841	3,238
Provision for income taxes	9,949	552
Income from equity investees	939	1,159
Net income	$13,831	$3,845

Net income per share:
Basic and diluted	$0.37	$0.13

These financial statements should be read in conjunction with TA’s Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2014, to be filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

TRAVELCENTERS OF AMERICA LLC

CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS (UNAUDITED)

(in thousands)

	June 30,	December 31,
	2014	2013
Assets
Current assets:
Cash and cash equivalents	$105,394	$85,657
Accounts receivable, net	167,308	105,932
Inventories	187,414	199,201
Other current assets	72,555	79,604
Total current assets	532,671	470,394

Property and equipment, net	717,751	704,866
Goodwill and intangible assets, net	48,066	48,772
Other noncurrent assets	34,408	33,250
Total assets	$1,332,896	$1,257,282

Liabilities and Shareholders’ Equity
Current liabilities:
Accounts payable	$196,346	$149,645
Current HPT Leases Liabilities	30,817	29,935
Other current liabilities	137,884	124,033
Total current liabilities	365,047	303,613

Noncurrent HPT Leases liabilities	338,126	343,926
Senior Notes due 2028	110,000	110,000
Other noncurrent liabilities	50,010	45,866
Total liabilities	863,183	803,405

Shareholders’ equity	469,713	453,877
Total liabilities and shareholders’ equity	$1,332,896	$1,257,282

These financial statements should be read in conjunction with TA’s Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2014, to be filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

TRAVELCENTERS OF AMERICA LLC

CONSOLIDATED SUPPLEMENTAL DATA

(in thousands)

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2014	2013	2014	2013
Calculation of EBITDAR:(1)
Net income	$13,634	$15,984	$13,831	$3,845
Add: income taxes	9,673	382	9,949	552
Add: depreciation and amortization	15,797	14,025	31,925	27,248
Deduct: interest income	(45)	(307)	(84)	(542)
Add: interest expense(2)	4,213	4,430	8,288	8,495
Add: real estate rent expense(3)	53,731	52,104	107,935	103,988
EBITDAR	$97,003	$86,618	$171,844	$143,586

(1)  TA calculates EBITDAR as earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, amortization and rent.  TA believes EBITDAR is a useful indication of its operating performance and its ability to pay rent or service debt, make capital expenditures and expand its business.  TA believes that EBITDAR is a meaningful disclosure that may help investors to better understand its financial performance, including comparing its performance between periods and to the performance of other companies.  However, EBITDAR as presented may not be comparable to similarly titled amounts calculated by other companies.  This information should not be considered as an alternative to net income, income from continuing operations, operating profit, cash flow from operations or any other operating or liquidity performance measure prescribed by GAAP.

(2)  Interest expense included the following:

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2014	2013	2014	2013
Interest related to TA’s Senior Notes and Credit Facility	$2,699	$2,742	$5,379	$5,115
HPT rent classified as interest	1,471	1,743	2,941	3,484
Amortization of deferred financing costs	170	170	339	325
Capitalized interest	(169)	(316)	(429)	(641)
Other	42	91	58	212
	$4,213	$4,430	$8,288	$8,495

(3)          Real estate rent expense recognized under GAAP differs from TA’s obligation to pay cash for rent under its leases.  Cash paid under real property lease agreements was $58,232 and $56,730 during the three month periods ended June 30, 2014 and 2013, respectively, while the total rent amounts expensed during the quarters ended June 30, 2014 and 2013, were $53,731 and $52,104, respectively.  Cash paid under lease agreements was $116,064 and $112,323 during the six month periods ended June 30, 2014 and 2013, respectively, while the total rent amounts expensed during the six months ended June 30, 2014 and 2013, were $107,935 and $103,988, respectively.  GAAP requires recognition of minimum lease payments payable during the lease term in equal amounts on a straight line basis over the lease term.  In addition, under GAAP, a portion of the rent TA pays to HPT is classified as interest expense and a portion of the rent payments to HPT is applied to amortize a sale-leaseback financing obligation liability.  Also, under GAAP, TA amortizes as a reduction of rent expense the deferred tenant improvement allowance that HPT paid to TA during the four years from 2007 through 2010 and the deferred gain realized on the sale of assets that TA leased back.  A reconciliation of these amounts is as follows.

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2014	2013	2014	2013

Cash payments to HPT for rent	$55,603	$54,139	$110,749	$107,125
Rent paid to others (A)	2,629	2,591	5,315	5,198
Total cash payments under real property leases	58,232	56,730	116,064	112,323
Change in accrued estimated percentage rent	(21)	(82)	597	584
Adjustments to recognize expense on a straight line basis – HPT	(559)	(523)	(900)	(900)
Less sale-leaseback financing obligation amortization	(594)	(512)	(1,183)	(1,022)
Less portion of rent payments recognized as interest expense	(1,471)	(1,743)	(2,941)	(3,484)
Less deferred tenant improvements allowance amortization	(1,692)	(1,692)	(3,384)	(3,384)
Amortization of deferred gain on sale-leaseback transactions	(96)	(77)	(192)	(153)
Adjustments to recognize expense on a straight line basis for other leases	(68)	3	(126)	24
Total amount expensed as rent	$53,731	$52,104	$107,935	$103,988

(A)    Includes rent paid directly to HPT’s landlords under leases for properties TA subleases from HPT as well as rent related to properties TA leases from landlords other than HPT.

SUPPLEMENTAL SAME SITE OPERATING DATA

The following table presents operating data for the periods noted for all of the locations in operation on June 30, 2014, that were operated by TA continuously since the beginning of the earliest applicable period presented, with the exception of four locations TA operates that are owned by a joint venture.  This data excludes revenues and expenses that were not generated at locations TA operates, such as rents and royalties from franchises, and corporate level selling, general and administrative expenses.

TRAVELCENTERS OF AMERICA LLC

SAME SITE OPERATING DATA

(in thousands, except for number of locations and percentage amounts)

	Three Months Ended June 30,				Six Months Ended June 30,
	2014	2013	Change Fav/(Unfav)		2014	2013	Change Fav/(Unfav)
Number of company operated locations	207	207	—		205	205	—

Fuel sales volume (gallons)	484,207	509,312	(4.9)%		940,157	989,216	(5.0)%

Fuel revenues	$1,553,320	$1,599,072	(2.9)%		$3,022,221	$3,173,728	(4.8)%
Fuel gross margin	$93,224	$89,229	4.5%		$179,345	$165,142	8.6%

Nonfuel revenues	$384,735	$377,124	2.0%		$728,422	$702,916	3.6%
Nonfuel gross margin	$211,346	$206,405	2.4%		$405,051	$388,326	4.3%
Nonfuel gross margin percentage	54.9%	54.7%	20	pts	55.6%	55.2%	40	pts

Total gross margin	$304,570	$295,634	3.0%		$584,396	$553,468	5.6%
Site level operating expenses	$192,486	$188,609	2.1%		$378,933	$370,058	2.4%
Site level operating expenses as a percentage of nonfuel revenues	50.0%	50.0%	—	pts	52.0%	52.6%	60	pts
Site level gross margin in excess of site level operating expense	$112,084	$107,025	4.7%		$205,463	$183,410	12.0%

SUPPLEMENTAL RECENTLY ACQUIRED SITE DATA

The following table presents operating data for the periods noted for all of the properties that TA began to operate for its own account since the beginning of 2011, whether by way of acquisition from franchisees or others or takeover of operations upon termination of a franchisee sublease, from the beginning of the period shown or the date TA began to operate such property for its own account, if later.

TRAVELCENTERS OF AMERICA LLC

RECENTLY ACQUIRED SITE OPERATING DATA

(in thousands, except for number of locations and percentage amounts)

	Three Months Ended June 30,				Six Months Ended June 30,
	2014	2013	Change Fav/(Unfav)		2014	2013	Change Fav/(Unfav)
Number of company operated locations	62	26	36		62	26	36

Total fuel sales volume (gallons)	68,725	43,097	59.5%		132,935	79,674	66.8%

Total fuel revenues	$219,818	$136,747	60.7%		$423,279	$256,824	64.8%
Total fuel gross margin	$12,320	$7,384	66.8%		$23,668	$13,067	81.1%

Total nonfuel revenues	$62,739	$30,774	103.9%		$117,527	$53,983	117.7%
Total nonfuel gross margin	$29,176	$16,844	73.2%		$54,937	$29,661	85.2%
Nonfuel gross margin percentage	46.5%	54.7%	(820)	pts	46.7%	54.9%	(820)	pts

Total gross margin	$41,496	$24,228	71.3%		$78,605	$42,728	84.0%
Site level operating expenses	$27,506	$17,579	56.5%		$53,954	$32,304	67.0%
Site level operating expenses as a percentage of nonfuel revenues	43.8%	57.1%	1,330	pts	45.9%	59.8%	1,390	pts
Site level gross margin in excess of site level operating expense	$13,990	$6,649	110.4%		$24,651	$10,424	136.5%

(End)