Corporate Office	UK Office
150 King Street West, Suite 1500	70 Oathall Road, Haywards Heath
P.O. Box 38	West Sussex, RH16 3EN
Toronto, ON M5H 1J9	United Kingdom
Phone: +1 416 342 5560	Phone: +44 (0) 1444 411 900
Fax: +1 416 348 0303	Fax: +44 (0) 1444 456 901

NEWS RELEASE

OSC REVERSES TSX DECISION

Toronto, January 23, 2009 (TSX: LUN; OMX: LUMI; NYSE: LMC) Lundin Mining Corporation ("Lundin Mining" or the "Company") reports that the Ontario Securities Commission (the "OSC") has reversed the Toronto Stock Exchange's (the "TSX") December 10, 2008 decision granting conditional approval for the listing of the HudBay shares to be issued as consideration in connection with the acquisition by HudBay Minerals Inc. ("HudBay") of all of the issued and outstanding shares of Lundin Mining pursuant to an arrangement under the Canada Business Corporations Act.

In reversing the TSX's decision, the OSC determined that a HudBay shareholders' meeting is required prior to the completion of the previously announced plan of arrangement with Lundin.

Lundin Mining is reviewing the OSC decision and advises that the Lundin Mining Special General Meeting of Shareholders to consider the HudBay/Lundin Mining arrangement will proceed as scheduled on Monday, January 26, 2009. The Special General Meeting will be held 10:00 a.m. (Toronto time) at the Imperial Room at The Fairmont Royal York Hotel, 100 Front Street West, Toronto, Ontario, M5J 1E3.

Background on Lundin Mining

Lundin Mining Corporation is a diversified base metals mining company with operations in Portugal, Spain and Sweden producing copper, nickel, lead and zinc. In addition, Lundin Mining holds a development project pipeline which includes the world class Tenke Fungurume copper/cobalt project in the Democratic Republic of Congo and holds an extensive exploration portfolio and interests in international mining and exploration ventures.

On behalf of the Board,

Phil Wright
President and CEO

For further information, please contact:

Sophia Shane, Investor Relations North America: 604-689-7842
Josh Crumb, Senior Business Analyst: 416-342-5560
Robert Eriksson, Investor Relations Europe: +46 (701) 112615

Forward Looking Statements

Certain of the statements made and information contained herein is "forward-looking information" within the meaning of the Ontario Securities Act or "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 of the United States. Forward-looking statements are subject to a variety of risks and uncertainties which could cause actual events or results to differ from those reflected in the forward-looking statements, including, without limitation, risks and uncertainties relating to foreign currency fluctuations; risks inherent in mining including environmental hazards, industrial accidents, unusual or unexpected geological formations, ground control problems and flooding; risks associated with the estimation of mineral resources and reserves and the geology, grade and continuity of mineral deposits; the possibility that future exploration, development or mining results will not be consistent with the Company's expectations; the potential for and effects of labour disputes or other unanticipated difficulties with or shortages of labour or interruptions in production; actual ore mined varying from estimates of grade, tonnage, dilution and metallurgical and other characteristics; the inherent uncertainty of production and cost estimates and the potential for unexpected costs and expenses, commodity price fluctuations; uncertain political and economic environments; changes in laws or policies, foreign taxation, delays or the inability to obtain necessary governmental permits; and other risks and uncertainties, including those described under Risk Factors Relating to the Company's Business in the Company's Annual Information Form and in each management discussion and analysis. Forward-looking information is in addition based on various assumptions including, without limitation, the expectations and beliefs of management, the assumed long term price of copper, lead and zinc; that the Company can access financing, appropriate equipment and sufficient labour and that the political environment where the Company operates will continue to support the development and operation of mining projects. Should one or more of these risks and uncertainties materialize, or should underlying assumptions prove incorrect, actual results may vary materially from those described in forward-looking statements. Accordingly, readers are advised not to place undue reliance on forward-looking statements.

Cautionary Notes to Investors - Reserve and Resource Estimates

In accordance with applicable Canadian securities regulatory requirements, all mineral reserve and mineral resource estimates of the Company disclosed or incorporated by reference in this Annual Information Form have been prepared in accordance with Canadian National Instrument 43-101 - Standards of Disclosure for Mineral Projects ("NI 43-101"), classified in accordance with Canadian Institute of Mining Metallurgy and Petroleum's "CIM Standards on Mineral Resources and Reserves Definitions and Guidelines" (the "CIM Guidelines"). The definitions of mineral reserves and mineral resources are set out in our disclosure of our mineral reserve and mineral resource estimates that are disclosed or incorporated by reference in this Annual Information Form.

The Company uses the terms "mineral resources", "measured mineral resources", "indicated mineral resources" and "inferred mineral resources". While those terms are recognized by Canadian securities regulatory authorities, they are not recognized by the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (the "SEC") and the SEC does not permit U.S. companies to disclose resources in their filings with the SEC.

Pursuant to the CIM Guidelines, mineral resources have a higher degree of uncertainty than mineral reserves as to their existence as well as their economic and legal feasibility. Inferred mineral resources, when compared with measured or indicated mineral resources, have the least certainty as to their existence, and it cannot be assumed that all or any part of an inferred mineral resource will be upgraded to an indicated or measured mineral resource as a result of continued exploration. Pursuant to NI 43-101, inferred mineral resources may not form the basis of any economic analysis, including any feasibility study. Accordingly, readers are cautioned not to assume that all or any part of a mineral resource exists, will ever be converted into a mineral reserve, or is or will ever be economically or legally mineable or recovered.