United States Natural Gas Fund, LP (CIK 1376227)
Form 10-Q
period 2021-09-30
filed 2021-11-05

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

The registrant had 26,684,588 outstanding shares as of October 20, 2021.

United States Natural Gas Fund, LP

Part I. FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1. Condensed Financial Statements.

United States Natural Gas Fund, LP

Condensed Statements of Financial Condition

At September 30, 2021 (Unaudited) and December 31, 2020

	September 30, 2021	December 31, 2020
Assets
Cash and cash equivalents (at cost $290,109,363 and $342,942,967, respectively) (Notes 2 and 5)	$290,109,363	$342,942,967
Equity in trading accounts:
Cash and cash equivalents (at cost $94,114,168 and $97,539,600, respectively)	94,114,168	97,539,600
Unrealized gain (loss) on open commodity futures contracts	30,233,070	(14,454,899)
Dividends receivable	3,731	186
Interest receivable	5,916	14,186
Prepaid insurance*	27,992	13,584
Prepaid registration fees	—	103,290
ETF transaction fees receivable	—	1,000

Total Assets	$414,494,240	$426,159,914

Liabilities and Partners' Capital
Payable for shares redeemed	$—	$10,526,931
General Partner management fees payable (Note 3)	146,828	212,102
Professional fees payable	515,057	664,001
Brokerage commissions payable	163,720	143,993
Directors’ fees payable*	4,838	5,567
License fees payable	6,014	10,813

Total Liabilities	836,457	11,563,407

Commitments and Contingencies (Notes 3, 4 & 5)

Partners' Capital
General Partners	—	—
Limited Partners	413,657,783	414,596,507
Total Partners' Capital	413,657,783	414,596,507

Total Liabilities and Partners' Capital	$414,494,240	$426,159,914

Limited Partners' shares outstanding	20,384,588	45,084,588
Net asset value per share	$20.29	$9.20
Market value per share	$20.16	$9.20

*     Certain prior year amounts have been reclassified for consistency with the current presentation.

See accompanying notes to condensed financial statements.

United States Natural Gas Fund, LP

Condensed Schedule of Investments (Unaudited)

At September 30, 2021

			Fair
			Value/Unrealized
			Gain (Loss) on
			Open
		Number of	Commodity	% of Partners'
	Notional Amount	Contracts	Contracts	Capital
Open Commodity Futures Contracts - Long
United States Contracts
NYMEX Natural Gas NG November 2021 contracts, expiring October 2021*	$383,449,100	7,051	$30,233,070	7.31

	Shares/Principal		% of Partners'
	Amount	Market Value	Capital
Cash Equivalents
United States Money Market Funds
Goldman Sachs Financial Square Government Fund - Institutional Shares, 0.03%#	1,103,000	$1,103,000	0.27
Morgan Stanley Institutional Liquidity Funds - Government Portfolio - Institutional Shares, 0.03%#	166,300,000	166,300,000	40.20
RBC U.S. Government Money Market Fund - Institutional Shares, 0.03%#	7,540,000	7,540,000	1.82
Total United States Money Market Funds		$174,943,000	42.29

#Reflects the 7-day yield at September 30, 2021.

*Collateral amounted to $94,114,168 on open commodity futures contracts.

See accompanying notes to condensed financial statements.

United States Natural Gas Fund, LP

Condensed Statements of Operations (Unaudited)

For the three and nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020

	Three months ended	Three months ended	Nine months ended	Nine months ended
	September 30, 2021	September 30, 2020	September 30, 2021	September 30, 2020
Income
Gain (loss) on trading of commodity futures contracts:
Realized gain (loss) on closed commodity futures contracts	$132,039,470	$74,366,067	$196,360,570	$(152,858,513)
Change in unrealized gain (loss) on open commodity futures contracts	2,664,108	(20,009,146)	44,687,969	2,115,554
Dividend income	11,551	58,452	31,435	831,631
Interest income*	20,001	125,322	47,269	1,805,898
ETF transaction fees	21,000	32,000	72,000	118,070
Total Income (Loss)	$134,756,130	$54,572,695	$241,199,243	$(147,987,360)

Expenses
General Partner management fees (Note 3)	$427,786	$551,554	$1,338,050	$1,820,959
Professional fees	149,126	162,876	564,224	514,887
Brokerage commissions	147,620	369,980	583,750	1,538,224
Directors’ fees and insurance	20,166	19,075	58,149	63,273
License fees	10,694	13,789	33,451	45,524
Registration fees	—	101,400	103,290	281,400
Total Expenses	$755,392	$1,218,674	$2,680,914	$4,264,267
Net Income (Loss)	$134,000,738	$53,354,021	$238,518,329	$(152,251,627)
Net Income (Loss) per limited partner share	$7.54	$1.10	$11.09	$(5.56)
Net Income (Loss) per weighted average limited partner share	$7.00	$1.73	$9.10	$(4.77)
Weighted average limited partner shares outstanding	19,143,284	30,816,110	26,207,665	31,924,734

*     Interest income does not exceed paid in kind of 5%.

See accompanying notes to condensed financial statements.

United States Natural Gas Fund, LP

Condensed Statement of Changes in Partners’ Capital (Unaudited)

For the three and nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020

	Limited Partners*
	Three months ended	Three months ended	Nine months ended	Nine months ended
	September 30, 2021	September 30, 2020	September 30, 2021	September 30, 2020

Balances at beginning of period	$277,809,936	$383,377,266	$414,596,507	$444,573,254
Addition of 5,700,000, 8,000,000, 12,700,000 and 46,600,000 partnership shares, respectively	103,965,879	93,213,810	171,545,597	598,855,602
Redemption of (7,100,000), (17,500,000), (37,400,000) and (45,000,000) partnership shares, respectively	(102,118,770)	(213,421,967)	(411,002,650)	(574,654,099)
Net income (loss)	134,000,738	53,354,021	238,518,329	(152,251,627)

Balances at end of period	$413,657,783	$316,523,130	$413,657,783	$316,523,130

*     General Partners’ shares outstanding and capital for the periods presented were zero.

See accompanying notes to condensed financial statements.

United States Natural Gas Fund, LP

Condensed Statements of Cash Flows (Unaudited)

For the nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020

	Nine months ended	Nine months ended
	September 30, 2021	September 30, 2020
Cash Flows from Operating Activities:
Net income (loss)	$238,518,329	$(152,251,627)
Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to net cash provided by (used in) operating activities:
Change in unrealized (gain) loss on open commodity futures contracts	(44,687,969)	(2,115,554)
(Increase) decrease in dividends receivable	(3,545)	136,878
(Increase) decrease in interest receivable	8,270	(45)
(Increase) decrease in prepaid insurance*	(14,408)	(19,834)
(Increase) decrease in prepaid registration fees	103,290	281,400
(Increase) decrease in ETF transaction fees receivable	1,000	1,000
Increase (decrease) in General Partner management fees payable	(65,274)	(42,132)
Increase (decrease) in professional fees payable	(148,944)	(230,352)
Increase (decrease) in brokerage commissions payable	19,727	123,977
Increase (decrease) in directors' fees payable*	(729)	(5,732)
Increase (decrease) in license fees payable	(4,799)	7,163
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities	193,724,948	(154,114,858)

Cash Flows from Financing Activities:
Addition of partnership shares	171,545,597	602,167,708
Redemption of partnership shares	(421,529,581)	(564,300,356)
Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities	(249,983,984)	37,867,352

Net Increase (Decrease) in Cash and Cash Equivalents	(56,259,036)	(116,247,506)

Total Cash, Cash Equivalents and Equity in Trading Accounts, beginning of period	440,482,567	458,998,451
Total Cash, Cash Equivalents and Equity in Trading Accounts, end of period	$384,223,531	$342,750,945

Components of Cash and Cash Equivalents:
Cash and cash equivalents	$290,109,363	$281,249,136
Equity in Trading Accounts:
Cash and cash equivalents	94,114,168	61,501,809
Total Cash, Cash Equivalents and Equity in Trading Accounts	$384,223,531	$342,750,945

*     Certain prior year amounts have been reclassified for consistency with the current presentation.

See accompanying notes to condensed financial statements.

United States Natural Gas Fund, LP

Notes to Condensed Financial Statements (Unaudited)

For the period ended September 30, 2021

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

UNG seeks to achieve its investment objective by investing primarily in futures contracts for natural gas that are traded on the NYMEX, ICE Futures Europe and ICE Futures U.S. (together, “ICE Futures”) or other U.S. and foreign exchanges (collectively, “Futures Contracts”) and to a lesser extent, in order to comply with regulatory requirements or in view of market conditions, other natural gas-related investments such as cash settled options on Futures Contracts, forward contracts for natural gas, cleared swap contracts, and non-exchange traded (“over-the-counter “ or ”OTC”) transactions that are based on the price of natural gas, crude oil and other petroleum-based fuels, as well as futures contracts for crude oil, heating oil, gasoline, and other petroleum-based fuels, Futures Contracts and indices based on the foregoing (collectively, “Other Natural Gas-Related Investments”). Market conditions that USCF currently anticipates could cause UNG to invest in Other Natural Gas-Related Investments include those allowing UNG to obtain greater liquidity or to execute transactions with more favorable pricing. For convenience and unless otherwise specified, Futures Contracts and Other Natural Gas-Related Investments collectively are referred to as “Natural Gas Interests” in the notes to the financial statements. As of September 30, 2021, UNG held 7,051 Futures Contracts traded on the NYMEX and did not hold any Natural Gas Futures Contracts traded on the ICE Futures US.

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

On January 4, 2018, after the close of trading on the NYSE Arca, UNG effected a 1-for- 4 reverse share split and post-split shares of UNG began trading on January 5, 2018. As a result of the reverse share split, every four pre-split shares of UNG were automatically exchanged for one post-split share. Immediately prior to the reverse split, there were 97,466,476 shares of UNG issued and outstanding, representing a per share NAV of $5.69. Immediately after the reverse share split, the number of issued and outstanding shares of UNG decreased to 24,366,619, not accounting for fractional shares, and the per share NAV increased to $22.76. In connection with the reverse share split, the CUSIP number for UNG’s shares changed to 912318300. UNG’s ticker symbol, “UNG,” did not change.

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

Revenue Recognition

Commodity futures contracts, swap and forward contracts, physical commodities and related options are recorded on the trade date. All such transactions are recorded on the identified cost basis and marked to market daily. Unrealized gains or losses on open contracts are reflected in the condensed statements of financial condition and represent the difference between the original contract amount and the market value (as determined by exchange settlement prices for futures contracts and related options and cash dealer prices at a predetermined time for swap and forward contracts, physical commodities, and their related options) as of the last business day of the year or as of the last date of the condensed financial statements. Changes in the unrealized gains or losses between periods are reflected in the condensed statements of operations. UNG earns income on funds held at the custodian or futures commission merchants (“FCMs”) at prevailing market rates earned on such investments.

Brokerage Commissions

Brokerage commissions on all open commodity futures contracts are accrued on a full-turn basis.

Income Taxes

UNG is not subject to federal income taxes; each partner reports his/her allocable share of income, gain, loss deductions or credits on his/her own income tax return.

In accordance with U.S. GAAP, UNG is required to determine whether a tax position is more likely than not to be sustained upon examination by the applicable taxing authority, including resolution of any tax related appeals or litigation processes, based on the technical merits of the position. UNG files an income tax return in the U.S. federal jurisdiction and may file income tax returns in various U.S. states. UNG is not subject to income tax return examinations by major taxing authorities for years before 2018. The tax benefit recognized is measured as the largest amount of benefit that has a greater than fifty percent likelihood of being realized upon ultimate settlement. De-recognition of a tax benefit previously recognized results in UNG recording a tax liability that reduces net assets. However, UNG’s conclusions regarding this policy may be subject to review and adjustment at a later date based on factors including, but not limited to, on-going analysis of and changes to tax laws, regulations and interpretations thereof. UNG recognizes interest accrued related to unrecognized tax benefits and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits in income tax fees payable, if assessed. No interest expense or penalties have been recognized as of and for the period ended September 30, 2021.

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

UNG pays all costs and expenses associated with the ongoing registration of its shares subsequent to the initial offering. These costs include registration or other fees paid to regulatory agencies in connection with the offer and sale of shares, and all legal, accounting, printing and other expenses associated with such offer and sale. For the nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020, UNG incurred $103,290 and $281,400, respectively, in registration fees and offering expenses.

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

Licensing Fees

As discussed in Note 4 below, UNG entered into a licensing agreement with the NYMEX on April 10, 2006, as amended on October 20, 2011. Pursuant to the agreement, UNG and the Related Public Funds, other than BNO, USCI and CPER, pay a licensing fee that is equal to 0.015% on all net assets. During the nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020, UNG incurred $33,451 and $45,524, respectively under this arrangement.

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

	Nine months ended	Nine months ended
	September 30, 2021	September 30, 2020
Total commissions accrued to brokers	$583,750	$1,538,224
Total commissions as annualized percentage of average total net assets	0.26%	0.51%
Commissions accrued as a result of rebalancing	$528,817	$1,370,685
Percentage of commissions accrued as a result of rebalancing	90.59%	89.11%
Commissions accrued as a result of creation and redemption activity	$54,933	$167,539
Percentage of commissions accrued as a result of creation and redemption activity	9.41%	10.89%

The decrease in total commissions accrued to brokers for the nine months ended September 30, 2021, compared to the nine months ended September 30, 2020, was due primarily to a lower number of natural gas futures contracts being held and traded.

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

All of the futures contracts held by UNG through September 30, 2021 were exchange-traded. The risks associated with exchange-traded contracts are generally perceived to be less than those associated with OTC swaps since, in OTC swaps, a party must rely solely on the credit of its respective individual counterparties. However, in the future, if UNG were to enter into non-exchange traded contracts, it would be subject to the credit risk associated with counterparty non-performance. The credit risk from counterparty non-performance associated with such instruments is the net unrealized gain, if any, on the transaction. UNG has credit risk under its futures contracts since the sole counterparty to all domestic and foreign futures contracts is the clearinghouse for the exchange on which the relevant contracts are traded. In addition, UNG bears the risk of financial failure by the clearing broker.

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

USCF invests a portion of UNG’s cash in money market funds that seek to maintain a stable per share NAV. UNG is exposed to any risk of loss associated with an investment in such money market funds. As of September 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, UNG held investments in money market funds in the amounts of $174,943,000 and $21,143,000, respectively. UNG also holds cash deposits with its custodian. As of September 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, UNG held cash deposits and investments in Treasuries in the amounts of $209,280,531 and $419,339,567 respectively, with the custodian and FCMs. Some or all of these amounts may be subject to loss should UNG’s custodian and/or FCMs cease operations.

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

	Three months ended	Three months ended	Nine months ended	Nine months ended
	September 30, 2021	September 30, 2020	September 30, 2021	September 30, 2020
	(Unaudited)	(Unaudited)	(Unaudited)	(Unaudited)
Per Share Operating Performance:
Net asset value, beginning of period	$12.75	$10.25	$9.20	$16.91
Total income (loss)	7.58	1.14	11.19	(5.43)
Total expenses	(0.04)	(0.04)	(0.10)	(0.13)
Net increase (decrease) in net asset value	7.54	1.10	11.09	(5.56)
Net asset value, end of period	$20.29	$11.35	$20.29	$11.35

Total Return	59.14%	10.73%	120.54%	(32.88)%

Ratios to Average Net Assets
Total income (loss)	47.64%	14.92%	80.90%	(36.50)%
Management fees#	0.60%	0.60%	0.60%	0.60%
Total expenses excluding management fees#	0.46%	0.73%	0.60%	0.81%
Net income (loss)	47.37%	14.59%	80.00%	(37.56)%

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

The following table summarizes the valuation of UNG’s securities at September 30, 2021 using the fair value hierarchy:

At September 30, 2021	Total	Level I	Level II	Level III
Short-Term Investments	$174,943,000	$174,943,000	$—	$—
Exchange-Traded Futures Contracts
United States Contracts	30,233,070	30,233,070	—	—

The following table summarizes the valuation of UNG’s securities at December 31, 2020 using the fair value hierarchy:

At December 31, 2020	Total	Level I	Level II	Level III
Short-Term Investments	$21,143,000	$21,143,000	$—	$—
Exchange-Traded Futures Contracts
United States Contracts	(14,454,899)	(14,454,899)	—	—

Effective January 1, 2009, UNG adopted the provisions of Accounting Standards Codification 815 — Derivatives and Hedging, which require presentation of qualitative disclosures about objectives and strategies for using derivatives, quantitative disclosures about fair value amounts and gains and losses on derivatives.

Fair Value of Derivative Instruments

	Statements of
	Financial	Fair Value At	Fair Value At
	Condition	September 30,	December 31,
Derivatives not Accounted for as Hedging Instruments	Location	2021	2020
Futures - Commodity Contracts	Assets	$30,233,070	$(14,454,899)

The Effect of Derivative Instruments on the Condensed Statements of Operations

		For the nine months ended		For the nine months ended
		September 30, 2021		September 30, 2020
			Change in Unrealized		Change in Unrealized
Derivatives not	Location of Gain	Realized gain (Loss)	Gain (Loss) on	Realized Gain (Loss)	Gain (Loss) on
Accounted for as	(Loss) on Derivatives	on Derivatives	Derivatives	in Derivatives	Derivatives
Hedging Instruments	Recognized in Income	Recognized in Income	Recognized in Income	Recognized in Income	Recognized in Income
Futures - Commodity Contracts	Realized gain (loss) on closed positions	$196,360,570		$(152,858,513)

	Change in unrealized gain (loss) on open positions		$44,687,969		$2,115,554

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

The accountability levels for the Benchmark Futures Contract and other Natural Gas Futures Contracts traded on U.S.-based futures exchanges, such as the NYMEX, are not a fixed ceiling, but rather a threshold above which the NYMEX may exercise greater scrutiny and control over an investor’s positions. The current accountability level for investments for any one-month in the Benchmark Futures Contract is 6,000 net contracts. In addition, the NYMEX imposes an accountability level for all months of 12,000 net futures contracts for natural gas. In addition, the ICE Futures maintains accountability levels, position limits and monitoring authority for its Henry Hub natural gas contracts. If UNG and the Related Public Funds exceed these accountability levels for investments in the futures contracts for natural gas, the NYMEX and ICE Futures will monitor such exposure and may ask for further information on their activities including the total size of all positions, investment and trading strategy, and the extent of liquidity resources of UNG and the Related Public Funds. If deemed necessary by the NYMEX and/or ICE Futures, UNG could be ordered to reduce its aggregate net futures contracts back to the accountability level. As of September 30, 2021, UNG held 7,051 NYMEX Natural Gas Futures NG contracts and did not hold any Natural Gas Futures Contracts traded on the ICE Futures US. UNG exceeded accountability levels of the NYMEX during the nine months ended September 30, 2021, when it held a maximum of 15,966 Natural Gas Futures NG Contracts. No action was taken by the NYMEX and UNG did not reduce the number of Natural Gas Futures Contracts held as a result.

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

OTC Swaps

If UNG engages in OTC swaps, the following may apply.

Margin Requirements

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

Price Movements

Natural gas futures prices were volatile during the nine months ended September 30, 2021. The price of the Benchmark Futures Contract started the period at $2.539 per million British thermal shares (“MMBtu”). The high of the period was on September 28, 2021 when the price reached $5.880 per MMBtu. The low of the period was on January 22, 2021 when the price dropped to $2.456 per MMBtu. The period ended with the Benchmark Futures Contract at $5.867 per MMBtu, an increase of approximately 131.08% over the period. UNG’s per share NAV began the period at $9.20 and ended the period at $20.29 on September 30, 2021, an increase of approximately 120.54% over the period. The Benchmark Futures Contract prices listed above began with the February 2021 contracts and ended with the November 2021 contracts. The increase of approximately 131.08% on the Benchmark Futures Contract listed above is a hypothetical return only and could not actually be achieved by an investor holding Natural Gas Futures Contracts. An investment in Natural Gas Futures Contracts would need to be rolled forward during the time period described in order to simulate such a result. Furthermore, the change in the nominal price of these differing Natural Gas Futures Contracts, measured from the start of the period to the end of the period, does not represent the actual benchmark results that UNG seeks to track, which are more fully described below in the section titled “Tracking UNG’s Benchmark.”

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

As of September 30, 2021, UNG had issued 2,179,600,000 shares, 20,384,588 of which were outstanding. As of September 30, 2021, there were 100,400,000 shares registered but not yet issued. UNG has registered 2,280,000,000 shares since inception.

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

For the Nine Months Ended September 30, 2021 Compared to the Nine Months Ended September 30, 2020

	Nine months ended	Nine months ended
	September 30, 2021	September 30, 2020
Average daily total net assets	$298,161,391	$405,396,008
Dividend and interest income earned on Treasuries, cash and/or cash equivalents	$78,704	$2,637,529
Annualized yield based on average daily total net assets	0.04%	0.87%
Management fee	$1,338,050	$1,820,959
Total fees and other expenses excluding management fees	$1,342,864	$2,443,308
Fees and expenses related to the registration or offering of additional shares	$103,290	$281,400
Total commissions accrued to brokers	$583,750	$1,538,224
Total commissions as annualized percentage of average total net assets	0.26%	0.51%
Commissions accrued as a result of rebalancing	$528,817	$1,370,685
Percentage of commissions accrued as a result of rebalancing	90.59%	89.11%
Commissions accrued as a result of creation and redemption activity	$54,933	$167,539
Percentage of commissions accrued as a result of creation and redemption activity	9.41%	10.89%

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

Average interest rates earned on short-term investments held by UNG, including cash, cash equivalents and Treasuries, were lower during the nine months ended September 30, 2021, compared to the nine months ended September 30, 2020. As a result, the amount of income earned by UNG as a percentage of average daily total net assets was lower during the nine months ended September 30, 2021, compared to the nine months ended September 30, 2020. To the degree that the aggregate yield is lower, the net expense ratio, inclusive of income, will be higher.

The decrease in total fees and other expenses excluding management fees for the nine months ended September 30, 2021, compared to the nine months ended September 30, 2020, was due primarily to an decrease in total commissions accrued to brokers and fees and expenses related to the registration or offering of additional shares.

The decrease in total commissions accrued to brokers for the nine months ended September 30, 2021, compared to the nine months ended September 30, 2020, was due primarily to a lower number of Natural Gas Futures Contracts being held and traded.

For the Three Months Ended September 30, 2021 Compared to the Three Months Ended September 30, 2020

	Three months	Three months
	ended	ended
	September 30, 2021	September 30, 2020
Average daily total net assets	$282,865,676	$365,704,039
Dividend and interest income earned on Treasuries, cash and/or cash equivalents	$31,552	$183,774
Annualized yield based on average daily total net assets	0.04%	0.20%
Management fee	$427,786	$551,554
Total fees and other expenses excluding management fees	$327,606	$667,120
Fees and expenses related to the registration or offering of additional shares	$—	$101,400
Total commissions accrued to brokers	$147,620	$369,980
Total commissions as annualized percentage of average total net assets	0.21%	0.40%
Commissions accrued as a result of rebalancing	$133,147	$329,683
Percentage of commissions accrued as a result of rebalancing	90.20%	89.11%
Commissions accrued as a result of creation and redemption activity	$14,473	$40,297
Percentage of commissions accrued as a result of creation and redemption activity	9.80%	10.89%

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

Average interest rates earned on short-term investments held by UNG, including cash, cash equivalents and Treasuries, were lower during the three months ended September 30, 2021, compared to the three months ended September 30, 2020. As a result, the amount of income earned by UNG as a percentage of average daily total net assets was lower during the three months ended September 30, 2021, compared to the three months ended September 30, 2020.

The decrease in total fees and other expenses excluding management fees for the three months ended September 30, 2021, compared to the three months ended September 30, 2020, was due primarily to a decrease in total commissions accrued to brokers and expenses related to the increase/decrease in total net assets.

The decrease in total commissions accrued to brokers for the three months ended September 30, 2021, compared to the three months ended September 30, 2020, was due primarily to a lower number of Natural Gas Futures Contracts being held and traded.

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

For the 30-valuation days ended September 30, 2021, the average daily change in the Benchmark Futures Contract was 1.446%, while the simple average daily change in the per share NAV of UNG over the same time period was 1.442%. The average daily difference was (0.004)% (or (0.4) basis points, where 1 basis point equals 1/100 of 1)%, meaning that over this time period UNG’s NAV performed within the plus or minus 10% range established as its benchmark tracking goal.

Since the commencement of the offering of UNG’s shares to the public on April 18, 2007 to September 30, 2021, the average daily change in the Benchmark Futures Contract was (0.078)%, while the average daily change in the per share NAV of UNG over the same time period was (0.080)%. The average daily difference was (0.002)% (or (0.2) basis points, where 1 basis point equals 1/100 of 1)%, meaning that over this time period UNG’s NAV performed was within the plus or minus 10% range established as its benchmark tracking goal.

The following two graphs demonstrate the correlation between the changes in UNG’s NAV and the changes in the Benchmark Futures Contract. The first graph exhibits the daily changes in the last 30 valuation days ended September 30, 2021. The second graph measures monthly changes since September 30, 2016 through September 30, 2021.

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

For the nine months ended September 30, 2021, the actual total return of UNG as measured by changes in its per share NAV was 120.54%. This is based on an initial per share NAV of $9.20 as of December 31, 2020 and an ending per share NAV as of September 30, 2021 of $20.29. During this time period, UNG made no distributions to its shareholders. However, if UNG’s daily changes in its per share NAV had instead exactly tracked the changes in the daily total return of the Benchmark Futures Contract, UNG would have had an estimated per share NAV of $20.48 as of September 30, 2021, for a total return over the relevant time period of 122.61%. The difference between the actual per share NAV total return of UNG of 120.54% and the expected total return based on the Benchmark Futures Contract of 122.61% was a difference over the time period of (2.07)%, which is to say that UNG’s actual total return underperformed its benchmark by that percentage. UNG incurs expenses primarily composed of the management fee, brokerage commissions for the buying and selling of futures contracts, and other expenses. The impact of these expenses, offset by interest and dividend income, and net of positive or negative execution, tends to cause daily changes in the per share NAV of UNG to track slightly lower or higher than daily changes in the price of the Benchmark Futures Contract.

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

An alternative way to view the same data is to subtract the dollar price of the 13th month natural gas futures contract from the dollar price of the near month natural gas futures contract, as shown in the chart below. When the difference is positive, the market is in backwardation. When the difference is negative, the market is in contango. The natural gas market spent time in both backwardation and contango during the last ten years. The chart below shows the results from subtracting the average dollar price of the near 12-month contracts from the near month price for the 10-year period between September 30, 2011 and September 30, 2021. Investors will note that the natural gas market spent time in both backwardation and contango.

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

Natural Gas Market. During the nine months ended September 30, 2021, front month natural gas futures prices in the United States increased by 131.08%. Prices reached their low for the year on January 22, 2021 at $2.446 and peaked on September 28, 2021 at $5.867. The number of rigs dedicated to natural gas production rose from 83 at the start of the year to 99 by the end of the third quarter of 2021. Natural Gas stored in the United States stood at 3,170 billion cubic feet as of September 30, 2021, 15.6% lower than the same time last year. Both domestic demand and U.S. exports of natural gas have increased over the last five years. The robust ability of the U.S. energy industry to meet demand may constrain natural gas prices except during periods of extreme temperatures.

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

For the ten-year time period between September 30, 2011 and September 30, 2021, the table below compares the monthly movements of natural gas prices versus the monthly movements of the prices of several other energy commodities, such as crude oil, diesel-heating oil, and unleaded gasoline, as well as several major non-commodity investment asset classes, such as large cap U.S. equities, U.S. government bonds and global equities. It can be seen that over this particular time period, the movement of natural gas on a monthly basis was neither strongly correlated nor inversely correlated with the movements of large cap U.S. equities, U.S. Government bonds, global equities, crude oil, diesel-heating oil, or unleaded gasoline.

*PAST PERFORMANCE IS NOT NECESSARILY INDICATIVE OF FUTURE RESULTS

Natural Gas - 10 Years
	Large Cap US	US Gov't Bonds	Global Equities	Crude	Heating	Unleaded	Natural
Correlation Matrix 10 Years	Equities (S&P 600)	(BEUSG4 Index)	(FTSE World Index)	Oil	Oil	Gasoline	Gas
Large Cap US Equities (S&P 500)	1.000	(0.313)	0.966	0.446	0.347	0.540	0.107
US Gov't Bonds (BEUSG4 Index)		1.000	(0.299)	(0.325)	(0.357)	(0.300)	(0.088)
Global Equities (FTSE World Index)			1.000	0.491	0.414	0.573	0.086
Crude Oil				1.000	0.785	0.736	0.013
Heating Oil					1.000	0.673	0.033
Unleaded Gasoline						1.000	0.066
Natural Gas							1.000
Source: Bloomberg, NYMEX

The table below covers a more recent, but much shorter, range of dates than the above table. Over the one year period ended September 30, 2021, the movement of natural gas was neither strongly correlated nor inversely correlated with diesel-heating oil, crude oil and U.S. government bonds. The movement of natural gas was somewhat negatively correlated with large cap U.S. equities, global equities and unleaded gasoline.

*PAST PERFORMANCE IS NOT NECESSARILY INDICATIVE OF FUTURE RESULTS

Natural Gas - 1 Year
	Large Cap US	US Gov't Bonds	Global Equities (FTSE	Crude	Heating	Unleaded	Natural
Correlation Matrix 1 Year	Equities (S&P 500)	(BEUSG4 Index)	World Index)	Oil	Oil	Gasoline	Gas
Large Cap US Equities (S&P 500)	1.000	0.225	0.978	0.530	0.526	0.659	(0.561)
US Gov't Bonds (BEUSG4 Index)		1.000	0.218	0.045	0.057	(0.022)	(0.116)
Global Equities (FTSE World Index)			1.000	0.606	0.627	0.692	(0.623)
Crude Oil				1.000	0.965	0.851	(0.265)
Heating Oil					1.000	0.831	(0.288)
Unleaded Gasoline						1.000	(0.572)
Natural Gas							1.000
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

As of September 30, 2021, UNG held cash deposits and investments in Treasuries and money market funds in the amount of $384,223,531 with the custodian and FCMs. Some or all of these amounts held by a custodian or an FCM, as applicable, may be subject to loss should UNG’s custodian or FCMs, as applicable, cease operations.

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

As of September 30, 2021, UNG’s portfolio held 7,051 Natural Gas Futures NG Contracts traded on the NYMEX. For a list of UNG’s current holdings, please see UNG’s website at www.uscfinvestments.com.

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

(a)None.

(b)Not applicable.

(c)

UNG does not purchase shares directly from its shareholders. In connection with its redemption of baskets held by Authorized Participants, UNG redeemed 71 baskets (comprising 7,100,000 shares) during the third quarter of the year ending December 31, 2021. The following table summarizes the redemptions by Authorized Participants during the three months ended September 30, 2021:

Issuer Purchases of Equity Securities

	Total
	Number of
	Shares	Average Price Per
Period	Redeemed	Share
7/1/21 to 7/31/21	3,100,000	$13.38
8/1/21 to 8/31/21	2,700,000	$14.44
9/1/21 to 9/30/21	1,300,000	$16.64
Total	7,100,000

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

Date: November 5, 2021

By:	/s/ Stuart P. Crumbaugh
Stuart P. Crumbaugh
Chief Financial Officer
(Principal financial and accounting officer)

Date: November 5, 2021