EXHIBIT 99.1

Kohlberg Capital Corporation Declares 2009 Third Quarter Dividend of $0.24 per Share

NEW YORK, Sept. 24, 2009 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Kohlberg Capital Corporation (Nasdaq:KCAP) ("Kohlberg Capital") today announced that its Board of Directors has declared a cash dividend of $0.24 per share on shares of its common stock for the quarter ended September 30, 2009. The dividend is payable on October 29, 2009 to shareholders of record as of October 9, 2009.

We have adopted a dividend reinvestment plan ("DRIP") that provides for reinvestment of our dividends on behalf of our stockholders, unless a stockholder elects to receive cash. As a result, if we declare a cash dividend, our stockholders who have not "opted out" of our dividend reinvestment plan will have their cash dividends automatically reinvested in additional shares of our common stock, rather than receiving the cash dividends. Please contact your broker or other financial intermediary for more information regarding the DRIP.

About Kohlberg Capital Corporation (KCAP):

Kohlberg Capital Corporation is a publicly traded, internally managed business development company. Our middle market investment business originates, structures, finances and manages a portfolio of term loans, mezzanine investments and selected equity securities in middle market companies. Our wholly-owned portfolio company, Katonah Debt Advisors, manages CLO Funds that invest in broadly syndicated corporate term loans, high-yield bonds and other credit instruments.

Kohlberg Capital Corporation's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, earnings releases, press releases and other financial, operational and governance information are available on the Company's website at www.kohlbergcapital.com.

The Kohlberg Capital logo is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=3121

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CONTACT:  Kohlberg Capital Corporation
          Investor Relations
          Denise Rodriguez
          (212) 455-8300
          info@kohlbergcapital.com