Exhibit 99.1

EyeGate Launches Social Media Pages to Enhance Investor and Trade Relationships

WALTHAM, Mass., September 11, 2017 — EyeGate Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (NASDAQ: EYEG) (“EyeGate” or the “Company”), a clinical-stage specialty pharmaceutical company focused on developing and commercializing products using two proprietary platform technologies for treating diseases and disorders of the eye, today announced its launch of a social media presence on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.

Because the information distributed through the social media channels may be deemed material, investors should follow or like the following pages in addition to monitoring EyeGate’s website, press releases, SEC filings and other traditional channels.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EyeGatePharma/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/EyeGatePharma (@EyeGatePharma)

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/135892/

“Social media is an increasingly effective way to enhance relationships within the investor and medical research communities,” commented Stephen From, EyeGate’s President and CEO. “Investors, development partners, employees, vendors and all EyeGate stakeholders will benefit from greater insight into our business that results from our posts on these pages”.

About EyeGate

EyeGate is a clinical-stage specialty pharmaceutical company focused on developing and commercializing products using its two proprietary platform technologies for treating diseases and disorders of the eye. EyeGate’s most advanced platform is based on a cross-linked thiolated carboxymethyl hyaluronic acid (“CMHA-S”), a modified form of the natural polymer hyaluronic acid (“HA”), which is a gel that possesses unique physical and chemical properties such as hydrating and healing when applied to the ocular surface. The ability of CMHA-S to adhere longer to the ocular surface, resist degradation and protect the ocular surface makes it well-suited for treating various ocular surface injuries.

EGP-437, EyeGate’s other product in clinical trials, incorporates a reformulated topically active corticosteroid, Dexamethasone Phosphate that is delivered into the ocular tissues through EyeGate’s proprietary innovative drug delivery system, the EyeGate II Delivery System. For more information, please visit www.EyeGatePharma.com.

EyeGate Social Media

EyeGate uses its website (www.EyeGatePharma.com), Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/ EyeGatePharma/), corporate Twitter account (https://twitter.com/EyeGatePharma), and LinkedIn page (https://www.linkedin.com/company/135892/) as channels of distribution of information about EyeGate and its product candidates. Such information may be deemed material information, and EyeGate may use these channels to comply with its disclosure obligations under Regulation FD. Therefore, investors should monitor EyeGate’s website and its social media accounts in addition to following its press releases, SEC filings, public conference calls, and webcasts. The social media channels that EyeGate intends to use as a means of disclosing the information described above may be updated from time to time as listed on EyeGate’s investor relations website.

Forward-looking Statements

Some of the statements in this press release are “forward-looking” and are made pursuant to the safe harbor provision of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These “forward-looking” statements include statements relating to, among other things, the commercialization efforts and other regulatory or marketing approval efforts pertaining to EyeGate’s products, including EyeGate’s EGP-437 combination product and those of Jade Therapeutics, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of EyeGate, as well as the success thereof, with such approvals or success may not be obtained or achieved on a timely basis or at all. These statements involve risks and uncertainties that may cause results to differ materially from the statements set forth in this press release, plus other risk factors described under the heading “Risk Factors” contained in EyeGate’s Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the SEC on February 23, 2017 or described in EyeGate’s other public filings. EyeGate’s results may also be affected by factors of which EyeGate is not currently aware. The forward-looking statements in this press release speak only as of the date of this press release. EyeGate expressly disclaims any obligation or undertaking to release publicly any updates or revisions to such statements to reflect any change in its expectations with regard thereto or any changes in the events, conditions or circumstances on which any such statement is based.

Contact:

Lee Roth / Janhavi Mohite

The Ruth Group for EyeGate Pharmaceuticals

646-536-7012 / 7026

lroth@theruthgroup.com / jmohite@theruthgroup.com

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