D I S C L O S U R E H O M E L A N D E N E R G Y S O L U T I O N S N E W S L E T T E R S E P T E M B E R 2 0 2 1 I N S I D E T H I S I S S U E : P R O D U C T I O N C O M M I T M E N T 2 Z A C H ’ S T H O U G H T S 2 F I N A N C I A L S 3 C A R B O N S E Q U E S T R A T I O N 4 A W A R D 2 This newsletter contains for- ward-looking statements. We undertake no responsibility to update any forward looking statement. When used, the words “believe”, “hope”, “expect”, “anticipate” and similar expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements. Readers should not place undue reliance on any forward-looking statements and recognize that the statements are not predictions of actual future results, which could and likely will differ materially from those anticipated in the forward -looking statements due to risks and uncertainties, including those described in our Securi- ties and Exchange Commission filings, copies of which are available through our web site or upon request. E X E C U T I V E U P D A T E After more than a year of ever-changing uncertainty amid the worldwide pandemic, the ethanol industry is seeing impressive margins. The Homeland team con- tinues to strive for continuous improvement and pro- duction efficiency. Production efficiency is key to max- imizing profitability in the competitive and fluctuating markets for both our inputs and our products. We are proud of the Homeland team and the effort, dedica- tion, and adaptability to change as markets and per- sonnel have shifted over the last several months. While we work hard in Lawler to turn corn into ethanol, we keep an eye on Washington as our Iowa legislators fight on behalf of Iowa farmers to ensure the Renewa- ble Fuels Standard is upheld. Homeland Energy Solutions welcomes our new full time CEO, Telly Papasimakis. Telly joins the Homeland team after more than 20 years with ADM. Telly’s ex- perience includes opera- tions, sales and manage- ment across a wide range of products within ADM. Edu- cated as a Chemical Engi- neer at North Carolina State University, Telly earned his Masters of Business Ad- ministration at the University of North Carolina at Wil- mington and completed a CEO Led Executive Develop- ment Program at Harvard Business School. We look forward to Telly joining the team at Homeland and leading us as we continue to adapt and improve our processing and sales of ethanol and co-products. -Beth Eiler, CEO Interim S T A N ’ S F I N A L T H O U G H T S It’s that time in life for me to retire. I have looked forward to retirement for a long time, but now that the time is here, I face it with mixed emotions as I realize I enjoy my work so much. On top of that, I will miss the hard-working employees at Homeland that make us so successful. It is this group of people that have made my job so enjoyable and so successful. I say “mixed emotions” as I am also looking forward to many things in my retirement. Fishing, hunting, camping, organizing a new shop, gardening, helping my son-in-law farm, working on my father’s Farmall tractor collection, spending time with grandkids, and some traveling with my bride of 45 years. She enjoys fishing as much as I do, so hopefully many trips to Canada will be in the future whenever Covid lays down. I hope to have a very active and busy retire- ment, all God willing. Again, I owe a Big Thanks to the employees I have worked with at Homeland. They are the best! I will miss interacting with them. I would also like to thank all the people that supported me by selling Homeland corn for the last 13 years. I have gotten to know so many hard-working producers and truckers. Many of you I have known and worked with all the way back to my days in McGregor. Thank you for turning those trucks in the direction of Homeland. Thank you for what you have done in helping make Homeland Ener- gy Solutions successful by selling your grain here. “It all starts with the corn at Homeland.” It’s time for me to move on. Thank you everyone. -Stan the man (no longer from Homeland)

P R O D U C T I O N C O M M I T M E N T Page 2 H O M E L A N D E N E R G Y S O L U T I O N S N E W S L E T T E R Harvest is around corner! For the most part, we have been blessed with timely rains and sunshine. Hopefully we can finish the growing season strong and absent of any major storm damage. As of this writing, our corn markets are working softer like we normally see during this time of year. Producers should be looking to take advantage of some early corn premiums in late Sep- tember or early October for corn that may be ready to harvest. This could add a nice bump to an already very good new crop price. Here at Homeland, we are getting ready to make the transition to new crop as well by cleaning out bins and readying equipment during our fall outage. Like last fall we are planning on running extended harvest hours to help accommodate your har- vest needs. Producers can expect Monday thru Friday 7am-7pm, Saturday 7am-6pm and Sunday noon-4pm for corn delivery, please watch our daily bid sheets for updates. I want to say a big THANK YOU to Stan Wubbena. Stan is retiring after a 40+ years in the grain industry. I have been blessed to sit next to Stan over the past 3 years and attempt to soak up the wealth of knowledge that he has. Homeland Energy has been lucky to have had Stan in their corner of the past 12 years. We wish Stan and Thea the best of luck in retirement!!!! -Zach Nosbisch, Commodity Risk Manager Z A C H ’ S T H O U G H T S As with many industries, our world has changed since the start of the 2020 pandemic. Uncertainty continues to bur- den us with difficulties securing parts, resources, and sup- plies. Although we have been successful in our leadership managing the health and safety of our plant and its employ- ees, we remain cautious. We have recently experienced periods in time competing to fill open roles with neighboring industries. During times like this, we must look to find possibilities within the opportuni- ties. The practice to disrupt old habits and methods allows us to apply technology and engineered systems improving the reliability and predictability of the plant. The results are longer periods of consistent steady state operations, im- proved uptime, reduced variable costs and predictable vol- umes all of which allows our marketing teams to attract the highest value for our products. Traditional roles will change with the advancement in our process monitoring and automation allowing our teams to develop higher valued skills that will continue to keep Home- land competitively advantaged and strategically positioned. -Mike Peterman, Plant Manager C O M M U N I T Y E N R I C H M E N T A W A R D Homeland was a recipient of the Community E n r i c h m e n t Award for 2020 by the Iowa- Illinois Safety Council in Au- gust. Homeland received this award for assist- ing employees and communities during the Covid-19 Pandemic by shifting production to provide alcohol-based disinfectant. In total, Homeland donated and distributed over 6,000 gallons of alcohol-based disinfectant to help surrounding communities.

Homeland’s ethanol sales for Q2 2021 in- creased more than 7% over Q1 2021 and 14% more than Q2 2020, which is largely a reflec- tion of more typical summer travel, which we certainly did not experience in 2020 amid the earlier months of the COVID-19 pandemic. We also realized increased sales volume in our co- products of DDGS and Corn Oil, almost 10% and 11% increases over Q1, respectively. In addition to increased volume of product sold, the revenue per respective unit of our products all increased as compared to Q1: ethanol by almost 29%, DDGS by almost 26% and Corn Oil by almost 25%. Overall, revenue was up 35% over Q1. Cost of goods sold increased 30% in Q2 vs Q1. The average cost of corn per bushel in- creased nearly 22% in Q2 as compared to Q1 and 85% more than the same quarter of 2020. Net income for Q2 2021 was $12.9 million, bringing year to date net income to nearly $18.8 million. A much nicer place to be halfway through the year when looking at our year-to-date loss at the same point in 2020! Please see a summary of the Company’s financial performance below. You may find a more detailed version of the 10-Q quarterly report available on the HES or SEC website. -Beth Eiler, Chief Financial Officer H O M E L A N D E N E R G Y S O L U T I O N S F I N A N C I A L S — Q 2 2 0 2 1 Page 3 S E P T E M B E R 2 0 2 1 “Net income for Q2 2021 was $12.9 million, bringing year to date net income to nearly $18.8 million.”

H O M E L A N D E N E R G Y S O L U T I O N S N E W S L E T T E R H O M E L A N D E N E R G Y S L U T I O N S N E W S L E T T E R Homeland is accepting applications for a full-time Pro- duction Operator, and Maintenance Tech to join our team. Full job descriptions are located on our website. A p p l i c a t i o n s a r e a v a i l a b l e o n l i n e a t www.homelandenergysolutions.com or apply in person. Homeland offers excellent benefits and competitive wages. If you know of a qualified candidate, please refer them to Katherine Balk, VP of HR.  d ,  E K > ͗  Z / s / E '   D  Z /   ͛ ^  & h d h Z  C A R B O N S E Q U E S T R A T I O N J O B O P E N I N G S Homeland, along with a number of other ethanol producers, recently signed a Carbon Dioxide Offtake Agreement with Summit Carbon Solutions Carbon, LLC (“SCS”). In the Carbon Dioxide Offtake Agree- ment, Homeland agreed to supply carbon dioxide generated by the ethanol plant to SCS. SCS plans to construct a pipeline connecting these ethanol plants to a sequestration well in North Dakota in order to store the carbon dioxide underground. This project will allow Homeland to reduce its carbon intensity score, which can be benefi- cial to market our ethanol in certain areas of the United States. Based on current market conditions, in some markets, ethanol which has a lower carbon intensity score, can be sold for a premium compared to ethanol that has a higher carbon intensity score. Fur- ther, additional markets may develop in the future which take car- bon intensity into account when deciding which ethanol can be sold in the market. Homeland is not contributing any capital to the project but may real- ize a return on the agreement due to this lower carbon intensity score for our ethanol. A number of other ethanol plants have signed on to participate in the project. Further, this project may be benefi- cial to Homeland in the future if carbon dioxide emissions regula- tions are adopted. While Homeland supports the SCS project, it has not elected to make a cash investment in the project. 1 0 Y E A R S O F S E R V I C E Homeland would like to recognize a couple more Homeland employees who have com- pleted 10 years of service. Please help us congratulate Katherine Balk and Ron Bramow. Thank you for your dedication to Homeland! ,I\RXZRXOGOLNHWRUHFHLYHIXWXUHQHZVOHWWHUVE\ HPDLOLQVWHDGRIPDLOSOHDVHVLJQXSRQOLQHDW ZZZKRPHODQGHQHUJ\VROXWLRQVFRPFRPSDQ\- QHZVOHWWHU